The Fighting Irish of Bondi Junction

Started by GalwayBayBoy, January 18, 2011, 05:38:51 PM

Quote from: Galwaybhoy on January 19, 2011, 01:51:24 PM
http://www.timeoutsydney.com.au/venue/bar/the-clare-hotel.aspx

Thats it there.  Got an OK review here but to me it was a hole.  From the outside especially it looked like a run down kip.  Infact if the doors weren't open I would have thought the place was shut down.

Yeah, I know the spot. It was just up the street from where two of the lads lived but was always such a horrid looking place that we never went in. There was a decent pub just up the road on Broadway towards Central Station (on same side of the road) where we used to go. Decent spot, can't remember the name of it.

The c**k n'Bull sponsored our football team out there so I was on familiar terms with it. And also with Bondi, where I lived most of the time, mainly because it was the cheapest place and my reserves weren't long being blown. If I was there for more than a year (and in a half decent job) I'd live in Paddington or somewhere. But while parts of Bondi would drive you soft (crowded beach, wasted Irish, the Teagardens), the c**k n'Bull was always decent craic, espc on Thursday and Sunday nights when you wouldn't be inclined to go into the city. Bouncers were always way too aggressive though.

And as for the programme on Channel 9 there, it remains the worst tabloid like TV 'news' show I have seen in my life. Couldn't believe how low they would stoop while out there myself. Pure sensationalist, popular bull-shite.

The Clare hotel is smack bang opposite the UTS (University of Technology) and therefore is primarily a student bar/kip, with primarily a part time student work force. I am sitting at my desk just around the corner from it, and even from the outside it looks exactly like what it is - not sure what possessed you to venture into it

the bar you're thinking of is Bar Broadway RGS, think it's shut now.

Quote from: stephenite on January 19, 2011, 10:12:13 PM
The Clare hotel is smack bang opposite the UTS (University of Technology) and therefore is primarily a student bar/kip, with primarily a part time student work force. I am sitting at my desk just around the corner from it, and even from the outside it looks exactly like what it is - not sure what possessed you to venture into it

Bar Broadway, that's the one. Used be a good spot. Clare Hotel looks closed from the outside, hard to believe people go into it. I worked around there too once. But only for a week until my labouring skills were shown up!

Quote from: Pat Mustard on January 19, 2011, 12:33:31 PM

That ACA show is a load of tripe though. Typical Aussie shit.

Are you sure?  According to its self-promotion, it "is the voice of Perth".  Nah, Pat you're bang on the money there lad.  It is one of the worst shows ever.  It is fronted by self-righteous pricks who give an opinion on everything.  Over here one Louise Momba hosted the not very popular Perth version and she was on her fcukin soapbox every time (not often) I watched it.  Then it was axed as it was...well, um, shiiiiiite, and she went back to reporting.  But instead of reporting she began opining.  Cue the removal of Ms Momba from our screens recently in the west.  From what I can gather, neigher she nor alot of ACA reporters have any journalist qualifications worth mentioning.  Case of a pretty blonde (except in Momba's case - more who did she root?) will get the masses.  Lyla McKinnon is another dumbfcuk bimbo.
The show is funded by - wait for it - diet companies among others who pay to have their 5 minutes of infamy.  And don't get me started about the cowboy tradies.......grrrrrr.

In a nutshell, shite stories, by shite reporters on a shite show.

Quote from: Aerlik on January 20, 2011, 02:05:33 AM

Are you sure?  According to its self-promotion, it "is the voice of Perth".  Nah, Pat you're bang on the money there lad.  It is one of the worst shows ever.  It is fronted by self-righteous pricks who give an opinion on everything.  Over here one Louise Momba hosted the not very popular Perth version and she was on her fcukin soapbox every time (not often) I watched it.  Then it was axed as it was...well, um, shiiiiiite, and she went back to reporting.  But instead of reporting she began opining.  Cue the removal of Ms Momba from our screens recently in the west.  From what I can gather, neigher she nor alot of ACA reporters have any journalist qualifications worth mentioning.  Case of a pretty blonde (except in Momba's case - more who did she root?) will get the masses.  Lyla McKinnon is another dumbfcuk bimbo.
The show is funded by - wait for it - diet companies among others who pay to have their 5 minutes of infamy.  And don't get me started about the cowboy tradies.......grrrrrr.

Typical ACA story....

The hidden dangers behind ORANGE JUICE that could kill you!! :D

Galwaybhoy

Quote from: stephenite on January 19, 2011, 10:12:13 PM

Our first night in Sydney, we were waiting for a good friend who was coming in from Bondi, it was the first pub we came accross while walking and as it was dark we didn't pass much notice on what it looked like from the outside.  We hardly finished the one drink we got in the place before we left.  On another note, not knowing what to drink in my first time in Australia I tried Carlton beer.  Does it ever taste like piss.  Terrible stuff.

Quote from: ballinaman on January 20, 2011, 02:32:21 AM

Typical ACA story....

The hidden dangers behind ORANGE JUICE that could kill you!!

:D Ballinaman, we could start our own thread on that type of stunning journalism and research. ;)

Quote from: Aerlik on January 21, 2011, 02:02:32 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 20, 2011, 02:32:21 AM

Typical ACA story....

The hidden dangers behind ORANGE JUICE that could kill you!!

:D Ballinaman, we could start our own thread on that type of stunning journalism and research. ;)
:D They ain't joking when they say channel 9 is the home of laughter!

for example:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BR6DaBawsZI&feature=related