Ray Cosgrove retires.

Started by Sky Blue, May 14, 2008, 10:12:54 AM

I shall be forever grateful to Ray for hitting the post with that last second free against in the 2002 AISF. he was sublime that year and his career never again hit those heights. I wish him and his family all the best as I am sure most on here would. Feck the begrudgers.

I always thought he was an underrated player and has got a raw deal with recent Dublin Managers in particular Pillar.
His miss in 2002 will always be talked about and in one of those "what if" moments, had it gone over would we ever have seen the breakthrough of Armagh and possibly Tyrone who followed them in from the wilderness, and probably Kerry would have another few handy All irelands beating the Dubs along the way  ;)

Anyway fair play Ray for standing up for your principles and for also putting in the efforts and commitments of being a county player, a few Leinster medals is a scant reward for a long career in the Jackeen jersey.

Tatler Jack

QuoteHis miss in 2002 will always be talked about and in one of those "what if" moments

His missed goal chance last year v Kerry is an even bigger "what if" - might have meant that Kerry would be going for another one in a row this year.

I never rated him - he had one good year when everything went right for him but for the past few years should have been nowhere near a Dublin panel. Contributed little  in the games he played in and that goal miss last year summed up his efforts

had a very good year in 2003 as well, simply was badly managed by carr, and since 2003 hasn't been as consistent. if he had been born in kerry he'd have been better appreciated. because only diarmuid connolly has the sort of natural talent cosgrove had. he really was that talented, but was regarded as soft by certain managers despite the fact he could score better than most others. as for not rating him one good year or not 6-24 in a seaosn indicates he must have had some level of talent. In other words i wish personally i had been half as average a player. hope his retirement goes well.

Best of Luck to him ,yes had a great year in 2002 and 2003 ,also a good servant to his club .At 31 not many forwards will get a start at the top level