Surnames in Irish

Started by amallon, May 03, 2008, 05:53:42 PM

The rule is archaic.....I'm as a big a gaelgoir as they come but theres no point in continuing with this shit.

I used to have great fun replying to letters from the Co Board i nGaeilge amhain. Used to get phone calls saying " What the fcuk did you say in that letter" ;D ;D ;D

Chim anois....meancóg beag ya hoor ye!!

:D :D :D Cad e an ghaeilge ar "pedatic cnut"  ;) ;) ;)

Go mo leithsceal.... nil me abalta siniu fada a dheanamh ar an  méarchlár seo!!

neilthemac

if your secretary was organised, they'd just have a laminated list of all players' names in Irish

then just fill in the teamsheet. handy as...

amallon

We have the team sheet on the computer and just print 2 copies for each game and write the numbers beside the players names.  Handier than writing the names out every time.
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.

Real Talk

Quote from: amallon on May 05, 2008, 12:18:41 PM
We have the team sheet on the computer and just print 2 copies for each game and write the numbers beside the players names.  Handier than writing the names out every time.
[/quote
Well said, it's hardly rocket science and I also believe that there's nothing wrong with the tradition of keeping the Irish version of the players names

scalder

The idea that you can't Gaelisise foreign names is just bollix, look at many of the Anglo-Irish names and indeed the biblical names which have been rendered into a Gaelic format over the centuries. To say this can no longer take place is in ways to admit the language is dead or atleast static and not something evolving and alive.
As for the GAA, well I think we need a more active promotion of the use of Irish and not just the use of names, tokenism is not enough.

I don't see anything wrong with it. I can see how people say its just tokenism and maybe it is but there's no harm in it surely? If there's no Irish version of a name then that's just the way it is. The GAA should be doing more to promote the language though.

Quote from: hardstation on May 05, 2008, 03:18:49 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 05, 2008, 02:56:27 AM
Cad e an ghaeilge ar "pedatic cnut"
No idea but "pedantic cnut" is "Pit shaoithíneach".

Touche....le siniu fada ar an e

Quote from: scalder on May 06, 2008, 11:09:51 AM
many of the Anglo-Irish names and indeed the biblical names which have been rendered into a Gaelic format over the centuries.

Of course ALL our Gaeilic names have been anglicised but no one seems to think there was anything wrong with that.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

My name hasn't been "anglicised". It was given to me by my parents. Then, when I went to school, the teacher roared a different name at me. Of course I didn't even know that the noise he was making was a name, never mind that it was my name, nor that it was me he was yelling it at. So I carried on colouring or picking my nose or whatever I was doing, until he started swiping at me with a lump of a stick, all because he (and, presumably, the government) had decided that the name I had wasn't up to scratch and they were going to give me a new one.

Strongly influenced by the size of the stick and the master's indifference as to what part of you he aimed it at, I quickly got over my sense of injustice (not so much about the new name as about being expected to know it when I had nothing to do with choosing it) and to give myself a sporting chance of preventing my head being staved in, I soon learned to respond like the lad in An Béal Bocht -  "Jams O'Donnell, Sur", but with my own brand new name.

It's strange that it's only in my own country that my name has ever been deemed unacceptable. In fact I can't even think of the most extreme totalitarian state where people in authority assume the right to change other people's names for ideological or any other reasons and when I go to other countries they never try to "translate" my name into their language. I don't think that's because there's no German or Chinese version of Hardyarse The Fiddler. I'd say it's because most people understand that names are not meant to be translated.

Quote from: Hardy on May 07, 2008, 08:55:16 PM

It's strange that it's only in my own country that my name has ever been deemed unacceptable.

Those of us who use the (original) Irish version of our names meet that every day of the week when we try and do businesswith official Ireland - especially the Gardai. Give them you ainm/sloinne as Gaeilge and you can cancel all appointments as they go through you with a fine comb as if to say - "who does this Cnut/Provo/Fanatic/Gobshite think he is"
Anyway Hardy get rid of the bag of spuds -you'll walk far better without it
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 07, 2008, 09:54:38 PM
Anyway Hardy get rid of the bag of spuds -you'll walk far better without it

Could I ask you to explain this?

Quote from: Take Your Points on May 03, 2008, 07:20:05 PM
I know it has been said before but this nonsense both in terms of the tokenism towards Irish and the idea that a name can be translated.  As far as I'm concerned I have one name which doesn't change regardless of the language or country I live in.  Is there another language or country that translates the given names of its residents into another language?

With all due respect TYP, but is your name not already a translation/transliteration of its original? And therefore is it not just reverting to its original form in the (then) native tongue? The idea that we have one English version of an Irish as Gaeilge name, that in all probability was arrived at and derived by some anglophonic gaelophobe of a functionary is ridiculous to me -- there's only one true version, and that's the native version, and if you have an English version then that's only a crude approximation of your original name, nothing more, nothing less. For every Gaelic name there rarely exists only one variant in the English tongue, the reverse, however, is most definitely not the case. Rant over  ;)