Conway take over in Kerry

Started by Kerry Mike, December 11, 2007, 09:45:14 PM

No its not that Tyrone fellow.

Laune Rangers' Jerome Conway has succeeded the long-serving Sean Walsh as chairman of the Kerry county board.

Conway, a former referee and vice-chairman, was elected unopposed to the position which had been occupied by Walsh for the past decade. Conway was one of seven new officers elected at Monday night's county convention in Killarney.

On the financial front, the board recorded a profit of EUR84,517 on a turnover of over EUR4 million.

Election of officers - chairman: J Conway; vice-chairman: P O'Sullivan; secretary: E O'Sullivan; assistant secretary: P Twiss; joint treasuers: J McMahon and JJ Carroll; Central Council delegates: W O'Connor and T O'Sullivan; PRO: M O'Shea; youth officer: M O'Mahony; cultural officer: D O'Shea; coaching officer: M McCarthy; development officer: G Galvin; hurling officer: J Walsh.

Big turnover of the board personel, lets hope the new board keep the Kingdom on track for 3-in-a-row and also puts a huge emphasis on the hurlers.

Best wishes to Sean Walsh, he has served the Kingdom well for the 10 years, seeing 4 All Irelands landed in his reign.
A turnover of over EUR4 million with only a profit of 84k is a major concern , lets hope the new baord keeps a tighter rein on the purse.

What could Kerry spend thon 84'000 on?

1. Cages for the animals
2. Goggles for Cooper v Tyrone NFL
3. Put it on Cork to win Sam '08.

I hope the boul Jerome is a wee bit more magnanimous than his predecessor, and not as stupid to come out with the sort of guff the boul Sean came out with...

2003: Tyrone All Ireland Champions (Kerry humiliated in semi-final)

2004: "Twelve months ago, pundits were proclaiming the death of football as we knew it. We're delighted it took Kerry to restore the pride in our game." Sean Walsh.

2005: Tyrone All Ireland Champions (Kerry humiliated in final)

SuperDooperCooper

Quote from: red hander on December 12, 2007, 01:31:07 PM
We lost a classic all-ireland final (that finished a minute early) by three points - hardly humiliated - time to move on from '03 & '05 boys.
Best of luck to Jerome - Sean Walsh will be a tough act to follow his enthusiasm was infectious.
Sean must now sort out the Munster football dates for 2009 and end the 6 week breaks.........

Mouthing about how great you are and then going out of the AI- quarter finals 2 years in a row.....

...now thats a REAL humiliation.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on December 12, 2007, 07:45:16 PM
Mouthing about how great you are and then going out of the AI- quarter finals 2 years in a row.....

...now thats a REAL humiliation.

Yeah........................  :-[

2004: "Twelve months ago, pundits were proclaiming the death of football as we knew it. We're delighted it took Kerry to restore the pride in our game." Sean Walsh.

While I hold no brief for Kerry  (ya couldnt bate the hoors enough ) I think it's only fair to point out 2 things
1- Football didnt begin in 2003
2- Football didnt end in 2005.

By the way Mike - what's the feeling down Kingdom way about th'oul grants that are causing a lot of our Northern Gaels to get twisted knicks ?
Is it a case of "sure what's another couple a grand to lads who have plenty already"?

I hope the boul Jerome is a wee bit more magnanimous than his predecessor, and not as stupid to come out with the sort of guff the boul Sean came out with...

I love how Tyrone guys say Kerry were "humiliated" in the games they lost to Tyrone, is every defeat for Kerry a humiliation?
The only logic in calling it a humiliation is that you thought Tyrone were shite, thus the shame on Kerry  :-\

Seems to be a real inferiority complex with Kerry (and rightly so) when you feel the need to keep pointing that out.

I thought Kerry were humilated in 2003 against Tyrone, as they didn't know how to play against us. They did their homework for 2005 and I don't feel Kerry were humilated on the day.

However the better team on the day won ;)

QuoteHowever the better team on the day won

They did.

And the larger GAA world is grateful for Canavan's goal and to a lesser extent the thumb of McConnell. We might be away for 5-in-a-Row next year otherwise and me and Mike Sheehy and our other Kingdom colleagues would be just unbearable if that happened  :P

Quoteyou do realise that you're mentioned in this years Tyrone GAA Annual?

Yerra I was delighted to contribute this year, they had little else to talk about. T'will be a rather small Annual again this year I suppose.

"All Ireland Builders' Triathlon"

I am in talks with the powers that be about running off some of the remaining heats and finals before the end of the year. Watch this space.

Kerry Group can't go on funding Kerry football for ever. We're into millions nowadays.
Club Tyrone is the Abramovich of the GAA.

Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on December 12, 2007, 01:58:56 PM
We lost a classic all-ireland final (that finished a minute early) by three points - hardly humiliated - time to move on from '03 & '05 boys.
Best of luck to Jerome - Sean Walsh will be a tough act to follow his enthusiasm was infectious.
Sean must now sort out the Munster football dates for 2009 and end the 6 week breaks.........

i'm still pissed off about that minute and a half. all we needed was one score  :-[

Walsh was the fella that wanted the rules changed after 2003 right?
The same rules seem to be working out OK for Kerry now.