Act of blasphemy in Galway today.

Started by T Fearon, January 22, 2017, 10:34:55 PM

You use it whatever you want and I will correct you if necessary.

Quote from: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 10:42:56 PM
You use it whatever you want and I will correct you if necessary.

That's a no then....but I will oblige

Quote from: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 10:37:17 PM
So not only do you cling to ET like a tennybobber you steal his silly terms as well to deflect from something you brought up.

FACT!

It's teenybopper not teenybobber. So.... wrong again.

my apologies...

So not only do you cling to ET like a teenybopper you steal his silly terms as well to deflect from something you brought up.
FACT!

BTW I actually had tennybobber

Also when was I wrong the first time?

Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 09:09:50 PM
The core doctrine has never changed even if some practices have.The basic fact is that Jesus came to save sinners and to persuade people to believe in him and turn away from sin.That means his compassion and love is very much conditional.
Not if he's a Christian, it isn't!  ;D
His love is supposed to be unconditional; going after the lost sheep and all that craic.
BTW, I went into Knock Basilica lately and I saw a notice on the way in that stopped me in my tracks. This notice exhorted "pilgrims" to say a few Howse-yer-fathers or Our Fathers or whatever to the Sacred Heart of Jesus; in return for which, the soul of an aborted baby would be saved.
That to me is an abomination; a travesty of all Holy Mother Church's teachings.
So whether the soul of an innocent, unborn child wound up in Purgatory or was to be seated at the right hand of the Father depended on me mumbling a few prayers or incantations or the likes. If I didn't some poor little might would be denied the joys of everlasting life etc. etc.

Bejaysus, Martin Luther started the Reformation for less.

TYP has ripped Tony to shreds here. I'm sure he didn't set out to do so, and doesn't want to, but he eloquently has managed it fairly swiftly.

Has he? Have I changed my views one iota? Faith is not logical therefore cannot be defeated by logical argument.

But if God's love was unconditional and his mercy the same,why did he send his Son into the world to be crucified?

Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 11:48:09 PM
Has he? Have I changed my views one iota? Faith is not logical therefore cannot be defeated by logical argument.

But if God's love was unconditional and his mercy the same,why did he send his Son into the world to be crucified?

HE wasnt challenging your faith ye eejit.

He challenged your understanding of doctrine which is logical and there in black and white, do you even have a copy?

Does your first line not answer the second? That is, it's completely illogical.

Take Your Points

Quote from: ONeill on January 25, 2017, 11:36:09 PM
TYP has ripped Tony to shreds here. I'm sure he didn't set out to do so, and doesn't want to, but he eloquently has managed it fairly swiftly.

Oh yes I did. It's funny what a bit of time to relax and think will do to someone in terms of clarifying their thinking. Tony should try it.

I was fed up with his interpretation of the Church teaching according to its documents, the Gospels and the Catechism while claiming to be some sort of Catholic avenger going after all of us sinning Catholics and condemning Protestants while espousing an understanding of Catholic teaching that is fully in line with the Protestant denominations.  He clearly does not understand that a fundamental difference between Catholic and Protestant Christianity is the God of unconditional love on one hand and the righteous God who will strike fear into sinners (i.e. all) and condemn them to an eternity in hell unless they repent. How often has he heard the parable for the Prodigal Son and not understood its them of unconditional love?

Also he has exhibited a total and unconditional loyalty to the clerical hierarchy of the modern Catholic church which is based on the hierarchy's attachment to the canonical law above and beyond the ideals set out in the teachings of Jesus in the Gospels which is the foundation of all Christianity.  In other words, from his postings, it is fairly clear that he holds the belief that the Church hierarchy and its reputation should be held above all else and can be excused of any of its actions current or past.

Again - thanks to TYP's for that clinical destruction of Tony's completely incorrect assertion. You make your points on this thread really well and I think you for taking the time to do so.

Sounds like you are turning against the teaching of the church with this blasphemous post. You should be expelled or at least moved to another parish.

Faith is not logical

Finally a few words of truth from Tony. There's hope for you yet.

Am very impressed with Barry Mc Guigan's fearless profession of his faith and his long standing attachment to Poor Clare nuns and acknowledging the enoromous help and comfort they've been to him for decades

No wides

Quote from: omaghjoe on January 27, 2017, 08:44:10 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 27, 2017, 08:24:45 PM
Faith is not logical

Finally a few words of truth from Tony. There's hope for you yet.

Perhaps you could enlighten us as to what is logical Eammon?

For Eammon it is hating anything not in his world, small children for example playing with their toys at Christmas and not giving the adopted yank the space and tranquility he needs to spout shit when visiting over the festive period.  Maybe if he ever gets a woman he'll change his views of children, though his stance on the not born that way doesn't bode well for that situation to change.