iPad unveiled

Started by ONeill, January 27, 2010, 07:52:25 PM

Quote from: J OGorman on October 24, 2012, 04:17:42 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 24, 2012, 03:50:12 PM
The A6 graphic capabilities are well ahead of the competition.
The Apple designed A6 used in the iPhone is under clocked.  The Geekbench figures probably give a better overview of cpu performance.

http://www.extremetech.com/computing/136291-iphone-5-benchmarks-slower-than-the-galaxy-s3-faster-than-the-nexus-7

the A6 is manufactured by the competition for Apple so Id say safely say it doesnt perform better than the competition

It does seem weird at first look, but I think Samsung is pretty well spun out into different groups now, the semiconductor foundry group wouldn't have anything to gain by manufacturing lower quality chips to somehow attempt to benefit their mobile group. Apple can go elsewhere eg. TSMC

Jonah

Quote from: Main Street on October 25, 2012, 04:33:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 25, 2012, 01:38:50 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 25, 2012, 10:16:08 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 24, 2012, 08:37:16 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 24, 2012, 06:39:46 PM
That's right, the A6 is an inhouse Apple design from start to finish.

I remember there were benchmarks where the headline screamed Samsung wipes Apple,  comparing the souped up processor used in Samsung's Chromebook versus the under clocked A6 in iPhone5 and naturally they forgot to mention that 'minor' detail  and also  that Samsung's battery has early exhaustion.
It will be interesting to see how the A6 in iPad 4 performs,

You're suggesting that people care more about the potential performance of a lump of silicon that the actual performance of something they forked out hundreds of dollars for. Ludicrous.
If you don't see the disingenuous nature of a comparison test, where  the performance of an over clocked processor used in a Tablet is compared to an under clocked processor used in a mobile phone, to prove one cpu is better than the other, then that's veering to you applauding bad science.

But when like for like is compared,  the A6 in the iPad 4 v the Chromebook, then I will be interested to see the results.

No, all I'm suggesting is that what really matters is the end user experience.
???
You opinionated that my post was ludicrous, so if all you are suggesting "is that what really matters is the end user experience",
may I humbly suggest you first comprehend a post before replying to it and should you reply to a post,  make an effort that your comment is (cough)... appropriate.

Quote from: tyssam5 on October 25, 2012, 05:28:28 PM
The Apple designed A6 used in the iPhone is under clocked.  The Geekbench figures probably give a better overview of cpu performance.

http://www.extremetech.com/computing/136291-iphone-5-benchmarks-slower-than-the-galaxy-s3-faster-than-the-nexus-7

the A6 is manufactured by the competition for Apple so Id say safely say it doesnt perform better than the competition

It does seem weird at first look, but I think Samsung is pretty well spun out into different groups now, the semiconductor foundry group wouldn't have anything to gain by manufacturing lower quality chips to somehow attempt to benefit their mobile group. Apple can go elsewhere eg. TSMC
Yes, quite absurd scenario if Apple went with a complete design for a chip to a manufacturer, the specs were then altered at the factory just to scuttle Apple's ambitions and bolster their own claims that their own product was better than Apple's.

I blame science fiction.

Quote from: Main Street on October 26, 2012, 02:25:20 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on October 25, 2012, 05:28:28 PM

Yes, quite absurd scenario if Apple went with a complete design for a chip to a manufacturer, the specs were then altered at the factory just to scuttle Apple's ambitions and bolster their own claims that their own product was better than Apple's.

I blame science fiction.

Also knowing Apple, they certainly wouldn't have quality control checks in place to confirm Samsung have tampered with the designs.

Right geeks, need some advice.

1. Would the 32Gb iPad be sufficient for an "average user"?
2. What else is needed if you buy the 3G model? Do you need a SIM card? Do you use data on a pay as you go basis? How much does this cost?
3. Would you better ignoring #2 above and just buy the 32Gb wifi model?

Cheers.

We ignored #2 and went with the Wifi. There is really no need for the 3G unless you are a traveller in which case where'd you get the money for an iPad?

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2012, 08:49:14 PM

1. Would the 32Gb iPad be sufficient for an "average user"?

I'd say so. I have the 64 and I still have loads of free space on it. I'd even say the 16 would be grand for the average user but it's always wise to leave yourself a bit extra than a bit less.

Smokin Joe

For anyone in NI, this sim card data package is hard to beat.

£11 for 3 months or 3GB (whichever expires first).  This is great for most people who just need occasional 3G access and don't want to be fleeced for £12 per month for the pleasure.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B004B71ZH0/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00

Herself completely banjaxed the ipad3 screen. The LCD is fine. Any fixers out there in the Greater Belfast region?

Quote from: hardstation on September 20, 2013, 07:06:42 PM
I got the screen on my phone fixed by Belfast Computer Repairs on Kennedy Way.
The screen was busted the whole way through. Cost about 40 quid.

Good job. I'll try that and get a Dominos.

Any tips on the wife as well?

Quote from: hardstation on September 20, 2013, 07:06:42 PM
I got the screen on my phone fixed by Belfast Computer Repairs on Kennedy Way.
The screen was busted the whole way through. Cost about 40 quid.
40 for a phone. Must be £80-100 for an iPad?

http://www.kjdcs.com/ipad-repair-belfast.html

Just going to stick this in here as can't find the other thread where this was discussed. But only just getting an Ipad for the first time and was wondering what's the best apps to stream movies and football? Do I have to get it jailbroken to be able to stream premiership games?