A proposed system to replace the International Rules

Started by Dangleberrys, November 04, 2011, 09:46:07 PM

Quote from: Hardy on November 10, 2011, 03:25:21 PM
Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on November 10, 2011, 12:45:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 10, 2011, 10:56:10 AM
I trust the above should have been followed by a   ;D or a  :D.

Total ráiméis .
Sure why not call  every county after some part of the world  - then we could have a World Cup.

Lads it wasn't very along ago that the county of Kilkenny couldn't/wouldn't field a football team for the national leagues.  ???

Rossfan has the best idea so far. I think Down should represent England - a faded nation that thinks it is still at the "Big Table"  ;D

On that basis, I propose we represent Abyssinia.

Antrim?

Siberia ... or should that be Donegal?
Laythrum could be Haiti while Mayo could be Nagasaki .
Roscommon would be Paradise of course  8)

Quote from: Hardy on November 10, 2011, 03:25:21 PM

Total ráiméis .
Sure why not call  every county after some part of the world  - then we could have a World Cup.

Lads it wasn't very along ago that the county of Kilkenny couldn't/wouldn't field a football team for the national leagues.  ???

Rossfan has the best idea so far. I think Down should represent England - a faded nation that thinks it is still at the "Big Table"  ;D

On that basis, I propose we represent Abyssinia.

Antrim?

Tyrone could be Japana(see Japan rugby team for comparisons), a shower of slanty eyed midgets, who wear red and white as their main colours, who never stop buzzing around like a group of claggs and whose women have really high pitched squeaky voices but I don't know if Japan would like to be associated to people like that!

Armagh could be like England, a one hit wonder - seems so long ago, a constant trail of excuses and blaming combined with a legacy of very painful defeats against their arch rivals. 

Jez, we have under 21 and senior. we have Club, inter-county and for some college. We have Regional leagues of FBD, McKenna Cup etc. We have the league and Chamionship. We are up to our oxters with competitions. How can you fit in another one. What is needed is more quality competitions than quantity of competitions.

Because of our cocoon games there will never be an (straight forward) international option.

Quote from: From the Bunker on November 10, 2011, 10:47:47 PM
Jez, we have under 21 and senior. we have Club, inter-county and for some college. We have Regional leagues of FBD, McKenna Cup etc. We have the league and Chamionship. We are up to our oxters with competitions. How can you fit in another one. What is needed is more quality competitions than quantity of competitions.

Because of our cocoon games there will never be an (straight forward) international option.

The oversupply of competitions is a good point.

Does anyone take the national leagues seriously? Because I'd be all in favour of abandoning that and expanding the championship, and depending on how you do it it could make a bit of room for more international participation in the championship.

A short sharp League to get teams warmed up finished by the end of March/first weeekend in April,.
Followed by the Provincials in a shorter time frame - say finish by 3rd Sunday in May.
Then a National championship perhaps seeded depending on progress in the Provincials with sufficuent gaps between games to allow club championships to progress in tandem.

There is no scope for meaningful international "competition" at a serious ( i.e Inter County Senior)  level.

Total ráiméis .

Rossfan has the best idea so far. I think Down should represent England - a faded nation that thinks it is still at the "Big Table"   ;D

Down have balls. England don't. 

Quote from: seafoid on November 11, 2011, 09:23:35 AM

Total ráiméis .

Rossfan has the best idea so far. I think Down should represent England - a faded nation that thinks it is still at the "Big Table"   ;D

Down have balls. England don't.

Ye think so? ???

I agree with a previous point that we have too many competitions. If you're a good hurler and footballer at 17 years of age your screwed! College Football and Hurling, Club and County Minor and Under 21 Football and Hurling and possibly Club Seniors as well. All in your most important year at school when you're doing your Leaving or A Levels.

It needs changed. Not that I have an idea what can be done but it most definitely needs changed!

Quote from: screenexile on November 11, 2011, 09:36:06 AM
. If you're a good hurler and footballer at 17 years of age your screwed! College Football and Hurling, Club and County Minor and Under 21 Football and Hurling and possibly Club Seniors as well. [/quote

On the other hand if you're an everage 16 year old or 25 year old you don't get enough games on a regular basis .
One way is not allowing underage players to play at a higher level but have plenty of games at their own age group.
Small rural clubs may have to bit a few bullets like not having a second team or amalgamate with their dreaded neighbours  :-\