Should they be named and shamed?

Started by copperz, July 13, 2010, 04:02:33 PM

caughtredhanded

Bit more than threatening behaviour maybe......

www.quirke.ie/catalog/photolibrary_info.php?id=82665&first=48

Hand them over to the Gárds and publicly humiliate them, that sort of thuggery belongs in the dark ages.

http://www.quirke.ie/catalog/photolibrary.php?galery=2935&first=48

Mark Ward gets assaulted title to photo- 25 euro cost!!!

They would maybe want to take that photo down...

copperz

I'm glad you said it Matt because i was dumbstruck by moysiders comment. It's a rediculous arguement and probably the most bizarre comparison I ever heard. Just a bit of info I learned today and I'm more than happy to share is that the bloke who ran after the ref and almost tripped himself up in the process is actually a referee himself.. Don't know what to make of it myself tho I thinks it's kinda ironic. It hasn't altered my opinion that he's a bell-end at all 

Quote from: copperz on July 16, 2010, 06:42:20 AM
I'm glad you said it Matt because i was dumbstruck by moysiders comment. It's a rediculous arguement and probably the most bizarre comparison I ever heard. Just a bit of info I learned today and I'm more than happy to share is that the bloke who ran after the ref and almost tripped himself up in the process is actually a referee himself.. Don't know what to make of it myself tho I thinks it's kinda ironic. It hasn't altered my opinion that he's a bell-end at all

You might be new here. Just in case you are, I'll advise you that such an action could leave the board open to possible legal action! Particularly given that your information is wrong. The GAA will name them and it is for them to take action and no one else. I thought the point of thread was to do that! You may of course just be a gutter journalist looking to quote a source for your misinformation!

copperz

Louth exile what are you talking about, I would happily take your point if I mentioned any names which I blatantly didn't so at the risk of falling foul to your legal sword, shut the *##* up. And yes I am new to this forum but I am not new to this world so keep your pointless condescending comments to yourself. 

All of a Sludden

Quote from: Louth Exile on July 16, 2010, 08:56:00 AM
Quote from: copperz on July 16, 2010, 06:42:20 AM

You might be new here. Just in case you are, I'll advise you that such an action could leave the board open to possible legal action! Particularly given that your information is wrong. The GAA will name them and it is for them to take action and no one else. I thought the point of thread was to do that! You may of course just be a gutter journalist looking to quote a source for your misinformation!

Definitely not a ref, if we are talking about the same person, but he was an umpire at a game in the week leading up to the Leinster final and he signalled a point that was clearly wide. He then had a row with the ref and stormed off the field. He has previous.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Some of those pikeys were named and shamed in the Mail on Sunday today - the guy who allegedly assaulted Ward is a Juvenile mentor & referee!

cornafean

Quote from: All of a Sludden on July 14, 2010, 07:36:21 PM
If I had read the Argus before I registered I would have used the name Dick Turpin. There is a great pic of Mr Sludden on the front page wearing a Turpin style hat, minus the mask. He robbed us of a Leinster title plain and simple. He should never be allowed to referee another game at any level.

Somebody put copies of the Dick Turpin pic and headline on lamp posts and hoardings around Clones yesterday.  ;D
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Can someone riddle me this from a legal standpoint?  In the Independent yesterday two journos were hell bent on making sure that their enquiries to the Gardai and Croke Park were going to work by way of keeping this thing going. "the Gardai confirmed that they will be looking at charges under the Near Fatal Offence Act and Croke Park said this and Peter McKenna said that....

There was nobody killed or lost a tooth but I will tell you what, in my own county in Laois a player was knocked unconcious and in Armagh young Nugent had both jawbones and his teeth and gums/chin broken so where is the consistency in Croke Park agreeing that charges should be brought.

Apart from the fact that the only charges that should be brought for this episode are charges under the Larceny Act  :) the only way charges for assault and battery can be brought is if the persons assaulted report them to the Gardai and not the Sunday Independent or Croke Park and only if the person assaulted wants to persue the matter.  What happened happened and it should be left at that on the grand scale of things and Croke Park would be better off advertising games and getting more people into Croke Park. 

Many a drinking session started at 2pm, the played the Dublin Armagh game at 5pm and the Dublin hurlers before it against Antrim. Most Dubs didnt turn up until the hurling was over and it was played before an almost empty stadium.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 19, 2010, 01:05:19 PM
Can someone riddle me this from a legal standpoint?  In the Independent yesterday two journos were hell bent on making sure that their enquiries to the Gardai and Croke Park were going to work by way of keeping this thing going. "the Gardai confirmed that they will be looking at charges under the Near Fatal Offence Act and Croke Park said this and Peter McKenna said that....

There was nobody killed or lost a tooth but I will tell you what, in my own county in Laois a player was knocked unconcious and in Armagh young Nugent had both jawbones and his teeth and gums/chin broken so where is the consistency in Croke Park agreeing that charges should be brought.
Apart from the fact that the only charges that should be brought for this episode are charges under the Larceny Act  :) the only way charges for assault and battery can be brought is if the persons assaulted report them to the Gardai and not the Sunday Independent or Croke Park and only if the person assaulted wants to persue the matter.  What happened happened and it should be left at that on the grand scale of things and Croke Park would be better off advertising games and getting more people into Croke Park. 

Many a drinking session started at 2pm, the played the Dublin Armagh game at 5pm and the Dublin hurlers before it against Antrim. Most Dubs didnt turn up until the hurling was over and it was played before an almost empty stadium.

Bud, the difference was that the Laois incident wasn't on TV and GAA have a vested interest in not allowing spectators on to the pitch in Croke Park.. Last week's incident was the answer to all of Padraig Duffy and Peter Mc Kenna's novenas !!