FGs Michael Ring says Queen should get an apology on Dublin visit next year

Started by Minder, October 28, 2010, 08:12:38 PM

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/dails-halloween-horror-show-upstaged-by-lord-of-the-rings-2397797.html

Now look at the mess we're in, and look at the mess this country is in. Next year the queen is talking about coming to Ireland for a state visit, and maybe we should say to the queen when she comes, 'you know, we have our own independence now, we'll hand you back the country and we'll apologise for the mess that we're after making of it'. Because at least when they were running the country they didn't put it into the mess and the hock that we're in now.

Arthur_Friend

I agree with him, send over Wills and Harry to sort this mess out.

Actually never mind the Queen or giving us back to Britain, but we could get an international dreamteam to govern us. Anything would be better than what we have.

For starters how about:

Taoiseach: David Ike
Tainiste: Jessica Rabbit
Minister of Finance: George Dubya Bush
Minister of Health: Gazza

Quote from: muppet on October 28, 2010, 09:04:50 PM
Actually never mind the Queen or giving us back to Britain, but we could get an international dreamteam to govern us. Anything would be better than what we have.

For starters how about:

were they not in the running for the Mayo managers job too.

For starters how about:

No Roy Keane?
At least he would know when to walk when the pressure got too much.

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 28, 2010, 09:32:13 PM

For starters how about:

No Roy Keane?

2010 crisis and you want to go back to 2002. Kinda like the Civil war politics that we are stuck with.

Quote from: muppet on October 28, 2010, 09:35:23 PM

For starters how about:

No Roy Keane?

2010 crisis and you want to go back to 2002. Kinda like the Civil war politics that we are stuck with.
Everyone had more money in 2002 though.

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 28, 2010, 09:36:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 28, 2010, 09:35:23 PM

For starters how about:

No Roy Keane?

Everyone had more money in 2002 though.

By the time this lot are finished everyone in the Civil War will have had more money.

QuoteEveryone had more money in 2002 though.

We did, I even took me self off to Japan only to meet that Langer on the way home, tis all gone down hill since I tell you. At least I have completely gone off soccer since so thats good.

yeah the famine had nothing on this crisis
some people have had to stop taking a second foreign holiday

What a p***k.

He epitomises the reason why I can not bring myself to vote Fine Gael. Of all the brainless comparisons to make he picked the most brainless one. Indeed things were much better under british rule. Ring always strikes me as someone who opens his gob before his brain starts working. Where is mayogodhelpus to put up a defence for him?

(ps - I hate people who refer to the british monarch as the queen, as if there is no other queen in the world but the british one.)

Quote from: mylestheslasher on October 28, 2010, 10:06:10 PM
He epitomises the reason why I can not bring myself to vote Fine Gael. Of all the brainless comparisons to make he picked the most brainless one.

Fine Gael have a habit of appearing completely out of touch with the Irish psyche on this issue, this comment reminds of be when Bruton was Taoiseach and he said that Prince Charles visiting wsa the best day of his life.

Now, I'm not a Republican by any stretch of the imagination but even I know that comments like this offend most Irish people on a certain level. We are, in the main, proud of our history of anti British agitaion (hypocritically so when it's compared to our distaste for the modern campaign waged by the Provos) but that's the way most Irish people are 'wired' for want of a better phrase

Gay Byrne made a similar comment back in the early 80s on The Late Late Show.

Said the country was "banjaxed" and that we should hand it back to the UK.

Michael Ring is two ends of a bollox so if he told me tomorrow was Friday I'd run off and check. A classic example of people electing the politican that they deserve.

Quote from: stephenite on October 28, 2010, 10:47:19 PM
We are, in the main, proud of our history of anti British agitaion (hypocritically so when it's compared to our distaste for the modern campaign waged by the Provos) but that's the way most Irish people are 'wired' for want of a better phrase

I disagree. I see no evidence to suggest that Ireland has an anti British agitation history. I think people are proud of selected elements of Irish history and just choose to ignore the shamefull parts. Kind of like CJH did the Country some service.

Quote from: Zapatista on October 28, 2010, 11:19:00 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 28, 2010, 10:47:19 PM
We are, in the main, proud of our history of anti British agitaion (hypocritically so when it's compared to our distaste for the modern campaign waged by the Provos) but that's the way most Irish people are 'wired' for want of a better phrase

I disagree. I see no evidence to suggest that Ireland has an anti British agitation history. I think people are proud of selected elements of Irish history and just choose to ignore the shamefull parts. Kind of like CJH did the Country some service.

Which selected elements then?

Just re-reading my post it's possibly badly worded. By anti British agitation history I don't mean they were against those who agitated against the British but the opposite.

From Red Hugh O'Neill to Wolfe Tone and the 1798 Rebellion, from Daniel O'Connell to Parnell and all those in between and after - Irish people are proud of them, in the main. Most of it is based on the History curriculum in the Irish education system in fairness and not as a result of any in depth understading of the History itself