RTE are speeding up pay for play

Started by Mike Sheehy, June 17, 2010, 03:50:07 PM

QuoteKerry players threaten RTE boycott

Kerry footballers prior to their Munster SFC tie with Tipperary
17 June 2010

Kerry's footballers are considering boycotting RTE in protest over what they regard as unfair treatment of Paul Galvin on 'The Sunday Game'.

According to the Irish Independent, the Kerry players are furious with what they see as the scapegoating of Galvin, who has decided to accept his eight-week ban, and may withdraw cooperation with RTE for pre and post-match interviews. However, a senior Kerry player told Newstalk Radio this morning that it was the first he'd heard of any such action.

The Kerry camp is blaming 'The Sunday Game' for covering the incident involving Galvin and Cork's Eoin Cadogan so extensively that it led directly to the CCCC proposing the ban for the current Footballer of the Year.

Referee Pat McEnaney took no action during the game, but reacted once he was asked to review the incident.

"If RTE think they can act as judge and jury on a player, yet continue to get cooperation from his team-mates when it comes to interviews, they're living on a different planet. They can't have everything their own way," a Kerry source said.

Kerry are particularly angry with panellist Anthony Tohill who described the incident as "unacceptable". And there has even been suggestions that Galvin and a number of Kerry players will boycott the International Rules series later this year as a result of the Ireland manager's comments.

I think this is an interesting development. The scrutiny on Paul Galvin last Sunday was ridiculous with cameras on him all the time and lads yapping about him taking on water during the warm up. People say that Paul Galvin should "control" himself but with the Cork players obviously targetting him from the get go (especially that gobshite Cadogan) and the crowd booing him and every pair of eyes and every camera watching his every move its obvious that something was bound to happen. He has to put up with more pressure and provocation than any other player in the history of Gaelic games. The dirty little truth here is that everybody (except Kerry folk) WANT him to do something for their own selfish reasons whether it is the opposing team who want to see him sent off, RTE so that ratings will go up or Neutrals who just love the controversy.

There is a worrying commercial interest here.How many people watched that game last Sunday...I'd hazard a guess that the ratings were probably more than any other game this year, also , I'd say alot of people would stay tuned in once they saw Paul Galvin was playing. RTE have a strong commercial interest in keeping any Paul Galvin controversy going and they have a direct means of influencing the CCCC to protect their commercial interests. This is not an acceptable situation.

I'm fairly neutral on the pay for play issue. I wouln't like to see it but I can see where the players are coming from......but when it comes to RTE I am coming to the conclusion that the players should screw the D4 bastards for every penney they can get  if they (RTE) want access to them.

Also, I dont think that the manager of the International rules team should be making money commentating on the championship. There is a long summer ahead of us and he has already alienated some potential players. If he is consistent (and by god, he'd better be consistent) then it is highly likely that he will alienate more players from other counties. This is hardly the preparation that you want before a series.

OverThePostsAWide

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 17, 2010, 03:50:07 PM
Also, I dont think that the manager of the International rules team should be making money commentating on the championship.

Bizarre!   ;D ;D ;D

Nice one and the slagging we got from Sheehy when Harte threatened the same during the league. If Galvin behaved himself it wouldn't be an issue. Get over it  :P

Agreed. Some set of double standards here. When Tyrone were being hauled up for the baul Pat to review his decisions there was a definite 'quit yappin and accept it' vibe from the kerry contingent. What goes around I guess.............

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 17, 2010, 03:50:07 PM
There is a worrying commercial interest here.How many people watched that game last Sunday...I'd hazard a guess that the ratings were probably more than any other game this year, also , I'd say alot of people would stay tuned in once they saw Paul Galvin was playing. RTE have a strong commercial interest in keeping any Paul Galvin controversy going and they have a direct means of influencing the CCCC to protect their commercial interests.

Brilliant. So we can assume RTE will use their influence to ensure he isn't banned after all, becuase then he'll be able to play in the games they're televising, and thus make them lots of money?

Kerry look like winning the All Ireland Chip on the shoulder title in a canter this year.
What a fcukin whinge by Sheehy  :D
Ye Ulster bies have no hope this year after that.  ;)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

What a whinge by kerrymen. Galvin steps out of line and they complain? Likes of Daragh O Se have made themselves look like twats trying to defend the undefendable. Kerry think that because they win all-irelands they are beyond reproach when it comes to discipline.

Get the violins out.

This cracks me up: railing against Tohill because he described Galvin's attempt to rearrange Cadogan's face as "unacceptable". You'd swear he (Tohill) was demanding the stocks FFS!  :D

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2010, 09:16:40 PM
This cracks me up: railing against Tohill because he described Galvin's attempt to rearrange Cadogan's face as "unacceptable". You'd swear he (Tohill) was demanding the stocks FFS!  :D

Criticising Toohill is wrong he is entitled to call it as he sees it . Rte need high profile games and players inorder to keep the ratings up . I must admit I thought Micley Hartes suggestion of banning cameras was crazy earlier on in the year but what will be the impact on the Tyrone and Derry players who received bans earlier in the year if they step out of line will there bans be doubled ? My only doubt is that I am not sure of Anthony Toohills management experience to date ?.

I believe they will John, they'll have to be doubled if they're guilty of repeat offfences (and The Sunday Game highlights them, of course).

Regarding Anthony Tohill's management experience, he's been on the IR backroom staff with the previous incumbent, Seán Boylan.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2010, 11:13:51 PM
I believe they will John, they'll have to be doubled if they're guilty of repeat offfences (and The Sunday Game highlights them, of course).

Regarding Anthony Tohill's management experience, he's been on the IR backroom staff with the previous incumbent, Seán Boylan.

no longer a fan of that enterprise so I wont lose any sleep over his performance . I am dissapointed with the CCC not putting in place its own system .