Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

Cosmo Kramer

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 22, 2010, 02:12:56 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 21, 2010, 07:50:33 PM
18 pages so far, and the game still weeks away :o

If they handed out All-Irelands for talking about football Mayo lads would be carting them about in wheelbarrows.

Old joke I know but worth recycling on occasion. ;)

In fairness they put a lot of effort in. In Galway people don't seem to get half as worked up about the fortunes of the football team. If they win nice. If not there's always the hurlers, or the races or the rest of the Summer to look forward to. Living up to the laid back stereotype a bit too much. A pity really.

The lack of interest in the sport in Galway always surprised me when I lived there - and I was there in 2001. The majority of people just didn't care about the All -Ireland, not in an arrogant way or anything, they just weren't interested. It's a pity because if Galway brought the crowds and interest that Mayo did it would be some rivalry, but as it is Mayo always seem to outnumber Galway fans regardless of where matches between the two are played.

If Mayo get past Sligo, how many fans would Galway bring to a Connacht Semi in Castlebar this year? 5000 maybe - would they even bring that many?

Was in Hollymount. Hard to know how JOM is thinking but I think we've a good idea about our six backs anyway. Cafferkey at 3, Higgins at 4, Cunniffe at 6 and McLoughlin at 7 look nailed on. Battle then between Vaughan and Gardiner for 5 and between Howley, Barrett and Vaughan for 2. Vaughan wasn't togged so Gardiner started at 5. Didn't do well. Then it depends what was wrong with Vaughan.

McGarrity looks nailed on for 8 - he played the whole game, but then JOM might be just trying to see how he is after 70 mins. Parsons started and worked reasonably well. Seamie O'Shea came on at half-time and did okay without being spectacular. A battle between O'Shea and Parsons perhaps. Personally I think it has to be O'Shea but who knows. Certainly it is a long time since O'Mahony played O'Shea in the half-forward line so it looks like its two from three at midfield.

Andy Moran did well at wing-forward, one awful kick pass to Conor notwithstanding. Billy Joe was only so so on the 40. Can't see him starting. Trevor got through a lot of work and didn't turn over as much ball as he normally does but, but, but can we have confidence? It would be a big call to drop  him and I'd be inclined to see Johnno starting him.

Alan Freeman was veyr lively in corner forward, kicked three great points and did the hard work for Trevor's goal. Barry Moran was good, a threat, without being brilliant. Looks in-form though and confident. Conor was okay, kicked his frees but didn't bust a gut either.

Aidan O'Shea came on with fifteen to go. Did okay. Himself and Barry Moran beside each other. Might be how JOM is thinking. Might not either. Varley didn't get much game time either. Ronaldson came on at half-time but wasn't able to prove much out in the half-forward line.

On revision, and I know this might have to be revised again, but this is probably JOM's team at the minute

Clarke
Howley Caff Higgins
Vaughan Cunniffe McLoughlin
McGarrity Parsons
A Moran A Dillon T Mort
C Mort A O'Shea B Moran.
That depends on Dillon's injury. I'm worried Seamie O'Shea won't make it. I think he should be in ahead of Parsons. I would worry about Howley's pacein the corner but think JOM will start him before Barrett.

Thanks for that Sniper. I d say you wont be too far out with that. It ll be ironic if two of our best league performers lose out. Did Harte get a run at all?

Quote from: moysider on May 22, 2010, 03:31:51 PM

Thanks for that Sniper. I d say you wont be too far out with that. It ll be ironic if two of our best league performers lose out. Did Harte get a run at all?

It'll be beyond ironic. Our three best league performers were, in my opinion, S O'Shea, Vaughan and Varley so it looks like Va Va doom for Vaughan and Varley! Seriously though there ought to be no doubt about Vaughan and O'Shea. I could somewhat understand Varley losing out if, tactically, JOM went for two big inside men and one smaller man and that man was Mortimer the younger. But Varley could consider himself very hard done by. If JOM decides to go with only one of B Moran and A O'Shea inside, then Varley absolutely has to start. If the above team I have touted start, well it begs a lot of questions about a willingness for change.

Harte came on centre-half forward for about 15 mins. Kicked one beaut off  outside of his left but his main involvement outside of that was body checking Dublin runners, which he seemed very preoccupied with! No harm in that though.
I don't think even he thinks he'll start but he's a great option to have off the bench for the half-forward line.

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 22, 2010, 05:32:12 PM

It'll be beyond ironic. Our three best league performers were, in my opinion, S O'Shea, Vaughan and Varley so it looks like Va Va doom for Vaughan and Varley! Seriously though there ought to be no doubt about Vaughan and O'Shea. I could somewhat understand Varley losing out if, tactically, JOM went for two big inside men and one smaller man and that man was Mortimer the younger. But Varley could consider himself very hard done by. If JOM decides to go with only one of B Moran and A O'Shea inside, then Varley absolutely has to start. If the above team I have touted start, well it begs a lot of questions about a willingness for change.

Harte came on centre-half forward for about 15 mins. Kicked one beaut off  outside of his left but his main involvement outside of that was body checking Dublin runners, which he seemed very preoccupied with! No harm in that though.
I don't think even he thinks he'll start but he's a great option to have off the bench for the half-forward line.

And Chris Barrett has hardly put a foot wrong every time he has played.

GBXII

Quote from: moysider on May 22, 2010, 10:26:27 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 22, 2010, 05:32:12 PM

And Chris Barrett has hardly put a foot wrong every time he has played.

S O'Shea will start in my opinion, has been important for Mayo all this year and I'd say O'Mahony will start him somewhere. In relation to Vaughan and Varley, well Vaughan will definitely be unlucky if he doesn't start against Sligo, especially if it's to a player who has barely played this year, however if O'Mahony feels that the half-backs will be too young and inexperienced without Gardiner then you'd have to trust him there. Varley, while having played well when he's played, will find it hard to start because Barry Moran is back and playing well by all accounts and that pretty much fills the FF line. I don't think is unfair, ironic maybe but Moran is a better/safer option and Varley, I think, hasn't even started a game of Championship football for Mayo before.

criostlinn

Is Vaughan injured at the moment. He has missed the last two challenge games

QuoteHowever, with Bernard Brogan struggling to get any change out of Mayo full-back Ger Cafferkey, Dublin struggled for scores.

wouldnt it be great to see that line later in the summer

Quote from: rosnarun on May 23, 2010, 06:10:13 AM
QuoteHowever, with Bernard Brogan struggling to get any change out of Mayo full-back Ger Cafferkey, Dublin struggled for scores.

wouldnt it be great to see that line later in the summer

You needn't worry you won't. We'll be long gone by then.

Howley limped out of the game last night between Knockmore and Ballintubber. Tightened hamstring, he should be ok though.

McGarrity and Cafferkey missed the league match last evening.

Lads, how is Ronaldson travelling this weather? He had a massive league by all accounts, and if I was to play the 2 big men FF line with a nippy corner forward, his pace would be excellent, in the same way Kilcoyne was last year.

Conor is a great man to bring off the bench, and can make an impact in a game, esp with tiring defenders, but he's not as quick as Kilcoyne/Ronaldson....

Quote from: Never beat the deeler on May 24, 2010, 12:09:00 AM
Lads, how is Ronaldson travelling this weather? He had a massive league by all accounts, and if I was to play the 2 big men FF line with a nippy corner forward, his pace would be excellent, in the same way Kilcoyne was last year.

Conor is a great man to bring off the bench, and can make an impact in a game, esp with tiring defenders, but he's not as quick as Kilcoyne/Ronaldson....

And our lads showed serious signs of tiredness in Croke park a few weeks ago. ::)