The Poppy

Started by ONeill, October 28, 2009, 12:30:43 AM

Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 28, 2009, 08:15:54 PM
Quote from: Donagh on October 28, 2009, 06:32:45 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 28, 2009, 06:21:08 PM
FREEDOM includes the right of people to wear their poppy in peace. Is a symbol of the British killed in the World Wars so people are entitled to remember them as they see fit. As I am not British I don't feel inclined to wear one.

No it's not. From the British Legion website:

"The Royal British Legion safeguards the welfare, interests and memory of those who are serving or who have served in the Armed Forces."

There not being too many survivors hanging around from the world wars, I presume this would more likely include those responsible for the likes of Bloody Sunday and countless other atrocities in Iraq, Afghanistan, Falklands etc..., those involved in recruiting, arming and directing loyalist paramilitaries in the north, those who served with the murderous paramilitary force of the UDR/RIR. I object strongly to anyone that would have us sanitise that shower of shite.

OK-I thot it was to remember World War dead... still if people want to wear it, thats their business. I choose not to... freedom.
You've gotta give for what you take.

What do you mean Tony? sounds profound tho  :o

Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 28, 2009, 08:23:10 PM
What do you mean Tony? sounds profound tho  :o
Freedom you've gotta give for what you take. It's by one of the greatest philosophers of the 20th century. Google it.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 28, 2009, 06:40:18 PM
Well brave man let's see how many people you object to wearing a poppy. Let us know how you get on.

If people want to wear one it's none of your business. Agree with the other posters though that the BBC and UTV have no right to impose it.

Where did I say I object to anyone wearing it big man? I said I object to anyone trying to sanitise it i.e. the BBC forcing people to wear it. Doesn't bother me in the slightlest if some impressionable moron wants to wear hate symbols.

dillinger

But it isnt until 8th Nov, the poppies have been on show from last Thursday. It gets earlier by the year

I agree peoplw wear them too early, I wear one, but not till the start of November. In my mind im wearing it to rem not just the British and Irish soldiers who died but also others who did their countries bidding.

Quote from: dillinger on October 29, 2009, 12:38:32 AM

But it isnt until 8th Nov, the poppies have been on show from last Thursday. It gets earlier by the year

I agree peoplw wear them too early, I wear one, but not till the start of November. In my mind im wearing it to rem not just the British and Irish soldiers who died but also others who did their countries bidding.
what irish solider died to do their countries bidding? only traitors and remondites fighting for england. men who readily took the shilling to fight aginst their own countrymen. the type of f**ker that is killing children in Iraq/afghanistan now
but some how thinks he can justify his murder as it was only done for the money.
as as for your ealier assertion that the english were fighting germany in 1914 to keep the German out of Ireland ? do you really think that or are you on a wind up?

You do occasionally see the occasional oldie wearing a poppy on TV but among the masses it is not done.  ANZAC day is a big thing over here but it has been hijacked by the mob mentality and along with Australia Day is becoming a boorish propaganda stunt imo.  It's amazing how many Australians (I can't speak for the Kiwis) don't actually know what happened at Gallipoli, how they were sent to fight a losing battle by the British.

It is big in Perth but is inclusive of all the Aussie forces.  I took my son to see his Granddad parade two years ago and was disgusted to see a unit of the Apartheid S.African army, members of which now live in Perth, marching.  Fcukin disgusted me and I commented on that to some beside me.  They had no idea what the former S.African flag was, (which was being flown - not the modern flag). 

I'm no fan of the Australian flag but it is amazing how defiled it has become over here.  I think it is disgraceful that a nation should allow its flag to be on boxer shorts, beach towels, bikinis, sarongs etc.  the number of times you see a flag on the ground especially on Aus Day is amazing.

I watched a show here recently where one of Australia's foremost singers, from the Torres Strait Islands, found out that her grandfather who led forces against the Japanese (the facts of which were recorded by the Australian military too btw) was refused his pay because he wasn't considered an Aussie.  You wonder who the fascists really were!

Quote from: Aerlik on October 29, 2009, 06:48:50 AM
It's amazing how many Australians (I can't speak for the Kiwis) don't actually know what happened at Gallipoli, how they were sent to fight a losing battle by the British.

Where most of the loses at gallipoli not british?

Quote from: nifan on October 29, 2009, 09:52:16 AM
It's amazing how many Australians (I can't speak for the Kiwis) don't actually know what happened at Gallipoli, how they were sent to fight a losing battle by the British.

Gallipoli casualties
Source: Australian Department of Veterans' Affairs[28]   

Died           Wounded          Total
Total Allies                           44,092        96,937              141,029
- United Kingdom                  21,255        52,230             73,485
- France (estimated)             10,000        17,000              27,000
- Australia[4]                         8,709        19,441              28,150
- New Zealand[4]                   2,721          4,752                7,473
- India                                  1,358          3,421                4,779
- Newfoundland                         49              93                   142
Ottoman empire (estimated) 86,692       164,617            251,309
Total (both sides)              130,784        237,290            336,048

In terms of percentages of total populations on the Allies side, Australia and poss New Zealand lost a hell of a lot more then UK.

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 29, 2009, 11:27:21 AM

Gallipoli casualties

Total Allies                           44,092        96,937              141,029
- India                                  1,358          3,421                4,779

In terms of percentcentages of total populations on the Allies side, Australia and poss New Zealand lost a hell of a lot more then UK.

Ya but those British figures hide massif Irish losses. I visite the War Memorial in Canberra, the most interesting I have ever seen & its massif. It also looks at the losses of non-Birtish Empire allies such as Franch or opposing forces such as The Ottomans, Japanese and Germans. There was one part where I did get a slight bit irritated however when a tour guide pointed to the overall numbers of dead from different countries or parts of the Empire, he pointed out the British figure & I mumbled ("and Irish") he asked what and I repeated it should have the Irish figures seperate as they had listed the Indians, Australians, New Zealand etc. seperate and I said are less British than all of them.

Eastern_Pride

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 29, 2009, 06:25:18 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 29, 2009, 11:27:21 AM

Gallipoli casualties

In terms of percentcentages of total populations on the Allies side, Australia and poss New Zealand lost a hell of a lot more then UK.

Ya but those British figures hide massif Irish losses. I visite the War Memorial in Canberra, the most interesting I have ever seen & its massif. It also looks at the losses of non-Birtish Empire allies such as Franch or opposing forces such as The Ottomans, Japanese and Germans. There was one part where I did get a slight bit irritated however when a tour guide pointed to the overall numbers of dead from different countries or parts of the Empire, he pointed out the British figure & I mumbled ("and Irish") he asked what and I repeated it should have the Irish figures seperate as they had listed the Indians, Australians, New Zealand etc. seperate and I said are less British than all of them.
In the grand scheme of things it dosen't matter of the flag on their  sleeve, what matters is that millions of young men died for what they thought was right and there is no point blaming the British.
Men died from all corners of the earth, not just Ireland and people like yer man above have to accept this. One must only look at the extraordinary numbers of Russians who perished in the Great War. Even if Irish people did die every man helped to defeat the greater good and that's what must be remembered. The poppy symbolises this, and even if you'd like to believe it is just for the British it is the most truly universal symbol of "our boys" who gave their ife for freedom.
Do you think Usain Bolt could replace Thomas Walsh?

Myles Na G.

Quote from: rosnarun on October 29, 2009, 02:43:19 AM
Quote from: dillinger on October 29, 2009, 12:38:32 AM

what irish solider died to do their countries bidding? only traitors and remondites fighting for england. men who readily took the shilling to fight aginst their own countrymen. the type of f**ker that is killing children in Iraq/afghanistan now
but some how thinks he can justify his murder as it was only done for the money.
as as for your ealier assertion that the english were fighting germany in 1914 to keep the German out of Ireland ? do you really think that or are you on a wind up?
Horseshit. While only a couple of thousand men took part in the Easter Rising, tens of thousands were off serving in the trenches, most in the uniform of the British Army. Hard one for republicans to swallow, but absolutely true.

QuoteMen died from all corners of the earth, not just Ireland and people like yer man above have to accept this.

Indeed they did and it is right and proper that Ireland take its place among the nations of the world in commemorating this. However commemoration of the First World War is not the main object, otherwise you wouldn't have people coming on here advocating the use of a paper lapel poppy, a symbol of British nationalism, as the form of commemoration. If commemoration was the main objective a neutral approach would be taken so that everyone could join in. These poppyists are pushing their own colonial political agenda at the expense of the commemoration of the First World War. 
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

dillinger

British and Irish soldiers who died but also others who did their countries bidding.

Alot of Irishmen from the north in WW2 seen themselves as British. Do you really think Germany would have left Ireland do what they wanted had Britain lost the war? pl!easssse! There would have been no independent 26 county Ireland for a start.

Quote from: dillinger on October 29, 2009, 11:13:38 PM

British and Irish soldiers who died but also others who did their countries bidding.

Alot of Irishmen from the north in WW2 seen themselves as British. Do you really think Germany would have left Ireland do what they wanted had Britain lost the war? pl!easssse! There would have been no independent 26 county Ireland for a start.
Germany never did f**k all against the Irish. they had no interst goodbad or indifferent.  And sorry no even alowing for the dubious logic of anIrish man cosidering himself British he definetly was not doing his countries bidding unless you condifer the Irish republic to be an illegitimate state. and if you do i think you lost in cyber space.