2008 Ulster Club Championships

Started by Our Nail Loney, August 22, 2008, 11:22:14 AM

Quote from: aroundincircles on November 16, 2008, 04:20:55 PM
broken cross how do you make ballinderry favorites is crossmaglen not going for three in a row.

On current form Ballinderry are putting up stronger performances against stronger opposition.  They have the revenge factor from 2006, and looking at today, a lot of the lads looked tired.  But then again Brewster Park was never a favourite pitch for us and we always seemed to struggle there, Clones or Casement are a different propositon and as you say they are going for 3 in a row.  Cross like making history so that will be a small factor.

aroundincircles

Plus ballinderry never beat mayobridge. st galls beat them.

You're right, my mistake.  They still came through the stronger side in any event.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 16, 2008, 04:27:54 PM
broken cross how do you make ballinderry favorites is crossmaglen not going for three in a row.

Codology. He's barely backed them for a game all year.  ;)

As for you TAC I saw what you typed on orchardcounty.com.  You're love of Cross is nearly as strong as pints!!!

john mcgill

Ballinderry looked awesome in the second half.  Wilkinson had a great game.  Gilligan was substituted as Forde had a good game on him.  
The smoke from Drumarg chimneys looked to be co-ordinated.  During the first game there were only two chimneys smoking.  At the start of the senior game at least 15 started tp spew smoke.  Is this osme kind of statement about the floodlights?

boojangles

Quote from: Carmen Stateside on November 16, 2008, 05:00:04 PM
Trillick won

By much,game was only up the road from me but wasnt that interested.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 16, 2008, 04:42:24 PM
You're right, my mistake.  They still came through the stronger side in any event.

As for you TAC I saw what you typed on orchardcounty.com.  You're love of Cross is nearly as strong as pints!!!
You're awful insecure.

I like Cross a lot more than I like Cullyhanna, does that make you feel better?

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 16, 2008, 04:42:24 PM

In fairness BC I did say I was entirely neutral today.

I just don't buy into the way some people expect everybody in Armagh to pander to Cross. There weren't too many Cross people supporting us last Sunday, so why should they expect the rest of us to jump on their bandwagon.

I want to see an enjoyable competitive county championship and Cross' domination has been bad for the Armagh championship. People have lost interest and the low attendances at many games proove this. It has turned into a procession of games to determine who Cross beat in the final.

That's not to say I don't expect that Cross are superb team, far from it - in fact I'd agree that they are probably the best club team in history.

Heard the final is in tow weeks. Anyone know the venue yet? Casement or Omagh I'd guess?

Tac I'm only winding you, and that Bridge fecker too!  It is nice though that he hates you more than he hates us!!!  I don't think the Cross players are looking for universal approval, i know I certainly don't want, nor expect it.  It is up to everyone else in Armagh to get up to the level that has been set.  if they can do it fine, if they can't tough shit.  Cross can paly nice football, but given the stakes in every game they play in Armagh in particular, whatever is necessary to win is what is the order for the day.  I personally don't see anything wrong with that.  As they showed against Clans they can run up big scores and play lovely football when they want to.  Teams set out to spoil them to try to beat them, and to be fair that is a silly tactic, as there is no team better in a battle than Cross.

Quote from: under the bar on November 16, 2008, 06:36:51 PM
Quotebroken cross how do you make ballinderry favorites is crossmaglen not going for three in a row.

Exactly.  It doesn't matter how fast & beautiful the foolball you play is.  Cross have a knack of dragging everyone down to dredge football and then beating them on experience at it.

Whatever you thing, if you think that we have won what we have in the last 12 years by this alone than you knock yourself out with that thought.

milltown row

B'derry came into the last game at Casement as favourites, think the score that day was 4 -- 3 to Cross. B'derry racked up a good score today. any reports on the game?  how did the great defender Lyng ;) get on? did Seanie play? heard he had an injury

Johnston clearly not fit and went off early on just after hitting a great score despite hamstring injury.
Lyng done very little.

5-3 to Cross I think it was that day, with the floodlights needed near the end.
Brutal day for a game, the wind moreso than the rain and the darkness setting in ruined it.

BC
QuoteTac I'm only winding you, and that Bridge fecker too!  It is nice though that he hates you more than he hates us!!!
my feelings towards cross are no different than your feelings towards the 'bridge or mullaghbawn - I certainly don't hate them.
As for universal approval, were you or were you not a bit sore on the armagh club thread when there wasnt a round of applause after the county final?

Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 16, 2008, 07:52:30 PM
BC
QuoteTac I'm only winding you, and that Bridge fecker too!  It is nice though that he hates you more than he hates us!!!
my feelings towards cross are no different than your feelings towards the 'bridge or mullaghbawn - I certainly don't hate them.
As for universal approval, were you or were you not a bit sore on the armagh club thread when there wasnt a round of applause after the county final?

I was sore, but can't a man change his mind to suit his agenda :P

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 16, 2008, 08:07:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 16, 2008, 07:52:30 PM
BC

I was sore, but can't a man change his mind to suit his agenda :P
At least you'll admit it.
Now, why didn't yous support Cullyhanna? What possible reason would yous have for  not supporting Cullyhanna?    :)