GAA Demographics

Started by delgany, December 05, 2025, 10:30:52 AM

Quote from: armaghniac on December 06, 2025, 12:10:39 AMAntrim poor here, even given its demographics.

That table looks like a big heap of convoluted B*llocks. 

Quote from: From the Bunker on December 06, 2025, 03:53:00 PMThat table looks like a big heap of convoluted B*llocks. 

Perhaps. Presumably the guy who did it took the number of players in the report and divided by the population of the county in some way.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 06, 2025, 03:19:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 06, 2025, 12:39:18 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 05, 2025, 04:21:44 PMI shall indulge your "whataboutery" for the moment, by pointing out that soccer is played/supported/administered in all parts of NI, by all communities. The NI Schools Cup, for example, attracts over 100 entrants every year, comprising state and fee-paying schools, grammar, comprehensive, integrated, technical and Irish language schools from all areas. How does that compare eg with its GAA equivalent, the MacRory Cup?
Whilst all our representative sides, men and women, boys and girls are similarly mixed. The current Manager of the Senior Mens team, Michael O'Neill is ex-GAA, as is his Captain, Conor Bradley.
And I can tell you from my own, direct experience that there are more NI supporters from the Nationalist community than you might imagine - even if they don't broadcast it widely.

Anyhow, this is a GAA forum, so back to your Demographics, eh?

Soccer is based on an sectarian entity, any of the above is mere mitigation.
But more nationalists in the 6 play soccer than gaelic games...

Where did you get that stat from out of interest?

Munchie

Does this include fat over 40s running around made up local competitions?

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 05, 2025, 06:04:07 PMWhy even bother replying to that twat.

No one was ever turned away from the GAA on the basis of creed, colour or sexuality

Give Peadar Heffron a shout, see how he feels about that statement. Ignorant p***k.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Munchie on December 06, 2025, 09:21:04 PMDoes this include fat over 40s running around made up local competitions?

Similar stat was bandied about saying that soccer is the most played sport in the Republic.

Which is true when you include the group of mates playing 5 a side of a Tuesday.

Gaelic football most played competitively I would say but most gaelic footballers play a bit of soccer in the winter which inflates the soccer figure, plus the old lads playing to stay fit

Quote from: armaghniac on December 06, 2025, 09:15:26 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 06, 2025, 06:36:57 PMWhere did you get that stat from out of interest?

https://x.com/sheikhbarabas/status/1996885426242773454

Does it break down by ideology? It was the claim that more nationalists play soccer than football in NI?

Derry Man

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 06, 2025, 03:19:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 06, 2025, 12:39:18 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 05, 2025, 04:21:44 PMI shall indulge your "whataboutery" for the moment, by pointing out that soccer is played/supported/administered in all parts of NI, by all communities. The NI Schools Cup, for example, attracts over 100 entrants every year, comprising state and fee-paying schools, grammar, comprehensive, integrated, technical and Irish language schools from all areas. How does that compare eg with its GAA equivalent, the MacRory Cup?
Whilst all our representative sides, men and women, boys and girls are similarly mixed. The current Manager of the Senior Mens team, Michael O'Neill is ex-GAA, as is his Captain, Conor Bradley.
And I can tell you from my own, direct experience that there are more NI supporters from the Nationalist community than you might imagine - even if they don't broadcast it widely.

Anyhow, this is a GAA forum, so back to your Demographics, eh?

Soccer is based on an sectarian entity, any of the above is mere mitigation.
But more nationalists in the 6 play soccer than gaelic games...
That's just false, just like the south soccer dominates in the city like Derry & Belfast where the GAA are very outnumbered but the rest of the 6 counties are dominated by Gaelic games in nationalist areas.

Quote from: armaghniac on December 06, 2025, 06:19:45 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 06, 2025, 03:53:00 PMThat table looks like a big heap of convoluted B*llocks. 

Perhaps. Presumably the guy who did it took the number of players in the report and divided by the population of the county in some way.

There are plenty of people who live/work in Galway, Dublin, Cork and so on but play for their home club on the weekend. So you can often end up with skewed results.

The biggest problem is youngsters going to Australia, Canada etc or going to the big cities in their prime playing days and feck all of them coming back - on top of that you are losing their kids - the next generation. The replacement population of immigrants don't know the game and in general don't have any interest in playing.

On the other hand - Soccer teams are benefiting hugely from the onslaught of immigrants coming in. Although the proper ages of underage African lads is hugely questionable, hence their domination of the underage game.

Ethnicity wise we will be like the french national Soccer team in the next decade.

It's admiral that the GAA have highlighted this problem as our Government and public representative don't really give a f*ck and have not for a long time.

The Government do little to encourage youngsters to stay in rural Ireland.

They are too busy keeping the EU and our paymasters happy since 2009. I suppose when you are up to your tits in debt and lost your sovereignty you don't have much choice.

Munchie

Quote from: gallsman on December 06, 2025, 10:01:09 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 05, 2025, 06:04:07 PMWhy even bother replying to that twat.

No one was ever turned away from the GAA on the basis of creed, colour or sexuality

Give Peadar Heffron a shout, see how he feels about that statement. Ignorant p***k.

As opposed to just being a p***k?

Quote from: From the Bunker on December 06, 2025, 10:55:29 PMThe Government do little to encourage youngsters to stay in rural Ireland.

They are too busy keeping the EU and our paymasters happy since 2009. I suppose when you are up to your tits in debt and lost your sovereignty you don't have much choice.

Ireland has fairly balanced regional development, there are problems in all areas.
The bigger problem is that people do not have children even if they stay.
The country has to pay its way, and it is doing rather well.

onefineday

Quote from: From the Bunker on December 06, 2025, 10:55:29 PM

On the other hand - Soccer teams are benefiting hugely from the onslaught of immigrants coming in. Although the proper ages of underage African lads is hugely questionable, hence their domination of the underage game.

Wtf????
Posted on wrong chatboard maybe?? Meant to be on your gript account??

Quote from: gallsman on December 06, 2025, 10:01:09 PM

Jesus you really are one angry little man.

Does your wife bully you and you need to vent on here or whats the craic?

Quote from: onefineday on December 07, 2025, 02:07:10 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 06, 2025, 10:55:29 PM

Wtf????
Posted on wrong chatboard maybe?? Meant to be on your gript account??

Just the oul mask slipping.
"Onslaught of immigrants" - enough said.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.