Things that make you go What the F**k?

Started by The Real Laoislad, November 19, 2007, 05:54:25 PM

LC

Quote from: JoG2 on August 12, 2025, 10:57:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 12, 2025, 07:18:50 PMI'm not sure where I fit in! Have a decent  combined income, both drive >10 year old cars, go on one holiday a year and still have no money! I'm doing something wrong but the missus won't tell me the password for the current account.

I could have written that post 😁

The one thing we've done that makes a fair wee difference is have a meal plan for the week and shop with it in mind. No daily stressing about dinner for that night and daily £20/£30 pound trips to the local mini-mart

Started saving using Moneybox, withdraw for the annual holiday and Christmas. Keep meaning to rekindle my love affair with the Credit Union, haven't darkened it's doors in 25 years

Same here.

I don't think we are doing anything wrong, more just being sensible.

Too many people stuck on a hamster wheel that they can neve come off:

https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/caught-in-a-loop-more-americans-are-unwittingly-ending-up-on-a-hamster-wheel-of-credit-card-debt-302309854.html

Might relate to the US but would have degree of relevance to here I believe.

What I do is my business and what other people do is their business. If people complain about what they don't have or can't afford I generally switch off. There are choices in life and people make them and live by them.

As best as possible I live by the mantra 'what other people think of me is none of my business'. Don't get me wrong I'd love a newer car but I am not gonna burst myself for it. I had been driving a Passat for 6 years there. Car was 11 years old. Had caused me no harm. She went on me so she decided to get a new yoke. Got a Passat 2 upgrades on that but not brand new with decent low miles. Will hopefully do me till it is 11-12 years old. Who cares?  Kid get safe to and from school/football/Camogie and we just enjoy our lives. People live the lives they want so we should just let them.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 13, 2025, 10:26:19 AMWhat I do is my business and what other people do is their business. If people complain about what they don't have or can't afford I generally switch off. There are choices in life and people make them and live by them.

As best as possible I live by the mantra 'what other people think of me is none of my business'. Don't get me wrong I'd love a newer car but I am not gonna burst myself for it. I had been driving a Passat for 6 years there. Car was 11 years old. Had caused me no harm. She went on me so she decided to get a new yoke. Got a Passat 2 upgrades on that but not brand new with decent low miles. Will hopefully do me till it is 11-12 years old. Who cares?  Kid get safe to and from school/football/Camogie and we just enjoy our lives. People live the lives they want so we should just let them.
Exactly that. Some people would maybe splash abit extra on a car if thats what theyre into, some might buy fancy stuff round the house and drive a cheap car, some might neglect the house and spend big on holidays every year, whatevers going to make you happy, who really gives a f**k what others think

Outside of mortgage and car repayments my biggest expenditure is my gu=ym membership which I wont compromise on and it is so important to my sobriety and I am not putting a price on that. She knows that and is happy about that. We go on a few weekend trips a year, mostly for gigs but will save up for a holiday abroad next year. We put money every month onto a revolut card which we use for them. It works for us. As mentioned above we also do a weekly menu for when we do the grocery shop

Would love to do an assessment on the figures and be disciplined enough to stick to it but..

I love holidays, food, going out, etc

You're a long time dead, as long as you can afford it, spend it on yourself
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 13, 2025, 01:00:52 PMWould love to do an assessment on the figures and be disciplined enough to stick to it but..

within reason we dont deny ourselves. We are for dublin for a weekend in October for a Billy Strings gig and want to do san sebastian next year so will save for those, but if other things come up in the meantime we will assess and see what we can do

Quote from: tonto1888 on August 13, 2025, 01:45:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 13, 2025, 01:00:52 PMWould love to do an assessment on the figures and be disciplined enough to stick to it but..

within reason we dont deny ourselves. We are for dublin for a weekend in October for a Billy Strings gig and want to do san sebastian next year so will save for those, but if other things come up in the meantime we will assess and see what we can do

A weekend in San Sebastián will be cheaper than your Dublin trip, hands down
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 13, 2025, 01:55:16 PM

Would it? Two stop flight or flying out Dublin, fuel, car parking, airport costs, wife maybe wants to bring bigger bag, transfers...

well we are hoping for a week but you could still be right haha

Quote from: JoG2 on August 13, 2025, 02:02:22 PM

Would it? Two stop flight or flying out Dublin, fuel, car parking, airport costs, wife maybe wants to bring bigger bag, transfers...

We did 5 nights, Ryan air to Biarritz, the bus from the airport to centre of San Sebastián was 8 Euro each, 40 mins it took. Food is cheap drink is cheap, the place we had breakfast each morning bar one cost us €7.50 between us, not each, that's was coffee the best toasted croissant with jam you'll ever taste.

Most if not all areas for food is small plates, smaller than tapas, most of the cold dishes were €2.90 and beer wine or cider was similar price.. you ain't not knocking up a big bill that's for sure.

Flights we have the Tripp bags which fit well

No need for car hire, bus service brilliant

Parked at red car park, further away but cost us 70 quid, going to Dublin at the weekend you'll still need to get there so the fuel would still be needed.

If I did 5 nights in Dublin, and ate out every night, few drinks and lunch I'm thinking, it be a lot more expensive, the biggest extra expense is the flight, but not from memory was it dear, you can have expensive hotels or cheaper ones in San Sebastián, but they are far cheaper than your Dublin hotels

Not San Sebastien but did 3 nights in Bilbao and we had a 4 star hotel, the food is class and we were blessed with weather. Flights and hotel wouldn't cover 2 nights hotel in Dublin and the pinxtos and beer are great value.

I am going to Athlone in 2 weeks for a lads night away and sharing a room with no breakfast for 240! I honestly have no idea how people with families can afford to holiday here.

Back to the WTF aspect of this and the article it's amazing how many full-on stupid people are floating now. I am sure they were always there, but they don't seem to hide it anymore. Maybe it's not studpidty but zero self-awareness.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on August 13, 2025, 04:54:17 PMNot San Sebastien but did 3 nights in Bilbao and we had a 4 star hotel, the food is class and we were blessed with weather. Flights and hotel wouldn't cover 2 nights hotel in Dublin and the pinxtos and beer are great value.

I am going to Athlone in 2 weeks for a lads night away and sharing a room with no breakfast for 240! I honestly have no idea how people with families can afford to holiday here.

Back to the WTF aspect of this and the article it's amazing how many full-on stupid people are floating now. I am sure they were always there, but they don't seem to hide it anymore. Maybe it's not studpidty but zero self-awareness.

You just need to look at  different options . 

Most people I speak to  these days  seem to want to live  in the lap of luxury  on holidays. Yes, I get that you need some comforts , with  adequate sleep/cook/wash facilities etc.  But what do  you remember about holidays? How much craic you had , or how  many chocolates were left  on your extra fluffy pillows?

We've stayed in  mobile homes,  hostels , apartments and glamping  pods  in Ireland, and  all of them were more than adequate. Sure , you have to  make your own breakfast but  you do that every  morning at home

It's choice, Ive done both and I prefer to have the 5 star now, over the clamping tents mobile homes shitty hotels that we did when the kids were you, brilliant times but to think they are better than what you experience in decent hotel is silly.

And you remember everything the same in hols, whether you make your own breakfast or go to the buffet and have it made for you.

Hotel very recently, I'd said nothing about my wife birthday nor those with us brought it up, came back to the room, bottle of champagne two glasses and a chocolate mousse cake! With a lovely birthday card! Think it was better than the personalised number plate  ;D ..

Mind yer fuckin business lads. Christ what a gurn session on how other people are living their lives. Live yours by all means within all your means if that's what floats your boat but what difference does it make to you if someone has a PIP motor, new teeth or a bleached fuckin arsehole. You probably all spent money on something your grandfather would turn in his grave over.

Probably also the same shower that enjoyed gurning about Ciaran McDonald being a show off or having a "look at me" attitude back in the day but will be claiming him a legend now.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 13, 2025, 06:05:20 PMIt's choice, Ive done both and I prefer to have the 5 star now, over the clamping tents mobile homes shitty hotels that we did when the kids were you, brilliant times but to think they are better than what you experience in decent hotel is silly.

And you remember everything the same in hols, whether you make your own breakfast or go to the buffet and have it made for you.

Hotel very recently, I'd said nothing about my wife birthday nor those with us brought it up, came back to the room, bottle of champagne two glasses and a chocolate mousse cake! With a lovely birthday card! Think it was better than the personalised number plate  ;D ..

Jesus , a personalised  number  plate would have been cheaper than all that!

I hope she shared  the cake  with you  ;D

Hotels are overrated. Feels like you're trapped in your own bedroom. I like  a bit of a  living area ,  own kitchen etc. But  each to their own.