Cork v Tipperary - 2025 All Ireland Final

Started by Joeythelips, July 08, 2025, 10:39:34 AM

AustinPowers

Quote from: tbrick18 on July 21, 2025, 09:59:23 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 20, 2025, 10:30:23 PMI noticed DJ wasn't  lined out with the Kilkenny jubilee  team today. Probably a  wise decision

It would have taken some nerve for him to show his face at that. Did they call his name even?

Not sure. The pundits were talking  when the team was introduced to the crowd.

Saffrongael

Quote from: tbrick18 on July 21, 2025, 09:59:23 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 20, 2025, 10:30:23 PMI noticed DJ wasn't  lined out with the Kilkenny jubilee  team today. Probably a  wise decision

It would have taken some nerve for him to show his face at that. Did they call his name even?

Yeah they called his name, there were a few whistles but nothing too hectic. Called Cody's name and James McGarry too who was also absent, family members no longer allowed to stand in.
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Truthsayer

That jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
Otherwise was a fantastic occasion and brilliant game.. skill level just increases every year.

Cork were so poor at keeping it away from the sweeper all day. I was saying this to a Tipp man and he reckoned the fact Cork were up 6 at the break meant it could be said Cahill got it wrong, BUT their shooting was awful at times and if they tagged on the scores it'd be much tighter.

All day the Tipp forwards were in front and down the other end their backs drove out and got in front of their men. I mean every 60/40 in the second half was won by Tipp.

I am sure Noel McGrath was due on, but the fact he came on straioght after Horgan was off was another psychological blow. Delighted he got his point too.

Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2025, 06:04:56 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.

Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!

I like Jarlath.

He's a bollix. 

"Today is the icing not the cake. You are the cake".  ::)

Treats every speech like it's a graveside oration.

A good speech by Jarlath. Congrats Tipp.

It's way too much at this stage , I warmed to it at first but it's too much , hand the cup to the captain with a little few words , not everything has to be like something out of the Michael Collins movie ffs get over yourself Jarlath

Quote from: larryin89 on July 21, 2025, 10:52:43 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2025, 06:04:56 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.

Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!

I like Jarlath.

He's a bollix. 

"Today is the icing not the cake. You are the cake".  ::)

Treats every speech like it's a graveside oration.

A good speech by Jarlath. Congrats Tipp.

It's way too much at this stage , I warmed to it at first but it's too much , hand the cup to the captain with a little few words , not everything has to be like something out of the Michael Collins movie ffs get over yourself Jarlath

I think Maher thought Jarlath had finished his speech at 1 point and he was ready to accept the cup but Jarlath put his arm across a bit as if to say to Maher, I'm not finshed my speech yet....lol.

Too much. Needs to tone it down a bit.

Quote from: Truthsayer on July 21, 2025, 10:39:32 AMThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
Otherwise was a fantastic occasion and brilliant game.. skill level just increases every year.

I don't remember it being at half time, it used to be between the minor final and the Senior final IIRC.

And for those lads bemoaning the lack of a minor game, I used to get into the stadium for the minor game and the crowd was paltry even on a few occasions the minors were playing with their seniors on later that day and that's for a few counties.

Truthsayer

Quote from: johnnycool on July 21, 2025, 10:57:57 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on July 21, 2025, 10:39:32 AMThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.

I don't remember it being at half time, it used to be between the minor final and the Senior final IIRC.

And for those lads bemoaning the lack of a minor game, I used to get into the stadium for the minor game and the crowd was paltry even on a few occasions the minors were playing with their seniors on later that day and that's for a few counties.

Ok. Maybe ure right. I certainly remember there was a big crowd in the stadium when the Jubilee team was introduced.. maybe because they came in to see the minor game first (or at least most of it).
I'd definitely have the minor game back in Croke Park with the senior final... the nonsense they put on now. Some lad firing t-shirts into the crowd and trying to engage supporters to cheer...

AustinPowers

QuoteThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.

Ok. Maybe ure right. I certainly remember there was a big crowd in the stadium when the Jubilee team was introduced.. maybe because they came in to see the minor game first (or at least most of it).
I'd definitely have the minor game back in Croke Park with the senior final... the nonsense they put on now. Some lad firing t-shirts into the crowd and trying to engage supporters to cheer...
Jaysus, we could have another Maud Flanders on our  hands with that craic

Truthsayer

Quote from: AustinPowers on July 21, 2025, 11:40:38 AM
QuoteThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.

Jaysus, we could have another Maud Flanders on our  hands with that craic
Ive no idea who Maud Flanders is so not sure if you're a fan of that circus or not?
Restore the minor final and spare us that nonsense.

Poor Maud...

Flanders went through a rough period after

OH Yeah!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2025, 01:43:39 PMPoor Maud...

Flanders went through a rough period after

OH Yeah!
I'll pray for her 🙏

AustinPowers

Ive no idea who Maud Flanders is so not sure if you're a fan of that circus or not?
Here you go , ya philistine :D

Truthsayer

Quote from: AustinPowers on July 21, 2025, 03:01:21 PM

Here you go , ya philistine :D

That is so tragic. Is that back of the Hogan Stand? 🙏

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.