All Ireland Championship 2025.

Started by Blowitupref, April 27, 2025, 06:12:46 PM

Quote from: smort on June 29, 2025, 11:07:42 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 29, 2025, 11:05:49 PMThat Galway keeper had the ball out before the hooter. How come they couldn't play on?

Yeah didn't like how that game ended. Think there could be controversy, imagine that was the final

or even a quarter final?

He doesn't have to kick it beyond  the arc, he kicked it to himself in the Dublin game a couple of times.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Easttyrone23 on June 30, 2025, 12:32:40 AM
Quote from: Olly on June 29, 2025, 10:29:38 PM
Quote from: DaleCooper on June 29, 2025, 10:25:07 PM
Quote from: Olly on June 29, 2025, 10:02:04 PMKerry defeated Armagh to book their place in the All Ireland semi final. They will be joined by Meath who defeated Galway in the match before that. They joined Donegal and Tyrone who made it through yesterday by beating Monaghan and Dublin respectively.

This has created a headache for the GAA as Meath and Donegal play in the same colours. Meath opted to play in their away top which is white with a green trim. Donegal will play in their home colours of green and yellow. In the second game Kerry and Tyrone will play in their own colours.

The last time Tyrone played Kerry in the All Ireland semi final, Tyrone won by maiming David Clifford before extra time. Clifford was left reeling by a punch to the face by Morgan and then Hampsey came in and kicked the Kerry man full on the thigh. This was the latest installment in heinious attacks by Tyrone men on Kerry forwards. Colm the Goochie Cooper lost the sight in one eye in 2005 when Ricy McMenamin tried to remove his eye during a heated exchange. In 1986, Jon Lynch tried to scalp Mikey Sheehy.

Is there video evidence? Always thought Clifford was carrying an injury or cramp. Or maybe I've misread the tone.

That's the clever thing. There was no video evidence. Tyrone knew all the camera black spots.
Quote from: Olly on June 29, 2025, 10:29:38 PM
Quote from: DaleCooper on June 29, 2025, 10:25:07 PM
Quote from: Olly on June 29, 2025, 10:02:04 PMKerry defeated Armagh to book their place in the All Ireland semi final. They will be joined by Meath who defeated Galway in the match before that. They joined Donegal and Tyrone who made it through yesterday by beating Monaghan and Dublin respectively.

This has created a headache for the GAA as Meath and Donegal play in the same colours. Meath opted to play in their away top which is white with a green trim. Donegal will play in their home colours of green and yellow. In the second game Kerry and Tyrone will play in their own colours.

The last time Tyrone played Kerry in the All Ireland semi final, Tyrone won by maiming David Clifford before extra time. Clifford was left reeling by a punch to the face by Morgan and then Hampsey came in and kicked the Kerry man full on the thigh. This was the latest installment in heinious attacks by Tyrone men on Kerry forwards. Colm the Goochie Cooper lost the sight in one eye in 2005 when Ricy McMenamin tried to remove his eye during a heated exchange. In 1986, Jon Lynch tried to scalp Mikey Sheehy.

Is there video evidence? Always thought Clifford was carrying an injury or cramp. Or maybe I've misread the tone.

That's the clever thing. There was no video evidence. Tyrone knew all the camera black spots.

Hampsey ran into the crowd and punched one of the Kerry players granny and spat on a Kerry infant but he was clever knowing it was in a camera black spot and threatened those who videoed it with their phones to delete it so there'd be no evidence.

Another player threatened to give David a tittie twister and give his brother a wedgie if he played in extra time which led Clifford no choice but to pretend he had cramp.

Jaysus , that's mad. Dirty Tyrone hoors.

Nelson Muntz wouldn't be at it.

Quote from: Main Street on June 29, 2025, 06:20:47 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 29, 2025, 06:06:50 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 29, 2025, 05:45:09 PM
Quote from: clarshack on June 29, 2025, 05:43:54 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 29, 2025, 05:39:21 PMDick Clerkin was right about this Armagh team.

What did he say about them?

Weakest team to ever win the AI.
Clerkin is a gobshite and is bit rich coming out with that from Monaghan.
A team can do no more than win the All Ireland in a given year.. Tyrone constantly had to listen to that begrudgery. . Puke football.. covid All Ireland..    :D
Did Clerkin actually say that? Before the Ulster final  he wrote 'as reigning All-Ireland champions, they demand respect' and thought they could beat Donegal. He also said that Armagh still have a lot to prove before being ranked as serious AI contenders this year.
Dick has being proved absolutely correct, Armagh like Monaghan went out without a whimper

Nope. Yer man is taking shite as usual. Clerkin wasn't exactly being effusive about Armagh winning last year but he didn't say that.

Quote from: Mourne Red on June 29, 2025, 06:07:22 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 29, 2025, 06:01:54 PMThis Kerry team got 3/4 passengers and rely on 3/4 special players. They missing their midfield, so nobody under or over rated them, just better team on the day.

Don't know about that now, there was Armagh fans thinking they'd beat Kerry by 8 points or more.

As long as Kerry have Clifford they have a chance

All under the age of 20 probably, or possibly from Kerry. Anyone with cop on weren't writing Kerry off.

EoinW

Just finished watching Armagh v Kerry.  Can we conclude 2024 was a fluke?  Or maybe they should just burn those black jerseys.  Armagh is the only county with orange colours.  Wear them and be proud!  The tough black sure didn't frighten the Kerrymen.

EoinW

Quote from: WT4E on June 29, 2025, 07:21:44 PMWill they just put the minors back a week and do a double header. Would make sense and give the lads a bigger day out!

That's a neat idea.  But I won't hold my breath.

EoinW

To be fair to Armagh, they lost because they couldn't win their own kickout.  2024 rules they would not have gotten blitzed the way they did.  Didn't someone suggest a while back that the rule changes were tailor made for Kerry?  I know that's sour grapes but I had to write it.

I've been struggling with the kickout rules for over 5 months(since Kerry scored two goals off Derry kickouts at the end of their league game).  The team being scored on shouldn't be penalized the way the new rules punish them.  I've seen too many games in which one team goes on a 5-10 minute scoring spree because the opponent can't get any possession.

Yes I know each ball is 50/50, however if anyone has been keeping count I bet that the team winning its kickout immediately get a scoring opportunity maybe 10% of the time, or much less.  Whereas when a team loses it's kickout it seems to be under immediate threat at least 50% of the time.

Games shouldn't be won and lost just on kickouts.  The FRC needs to fix this.

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: EoinW on June 30, 2025, 03:08:03 AMTo be fair to Armagh, they lost because they couldn't win their own kickout.  2024 rules they would not have gotten blitzed the way they did.  Didn't someone suggest a while back that the rule changes were tailor made for Kerry?  I know that's sour grapes but I had to write it.

I've been struggling with the kickout rules for over 5 months(since Kerry scored two goals off Derry kickouts at the end of their league game).  The team being scored on shouldn't be penalized the way the new rules punish them.  I've seen too many games in which one team goes on a 5-10 minute scoring spree because the opponent can't get any possession.

Yes I know each ball is 50/50, however if anyone has been keeping count I bet that the team winning its kickout immediately get a scoring opportunity maybe 10% of the time, or much less.  Whereas when a team loses it's kickout it seems to be under immediate threat at least 50% of the time.

Sorry but that is utter codswallop. A big part of the game is fielding the ball. The new rules were to encourage that. You can't keep changing the rules because it doesn't suit you.

Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on June 30, 2025, 05:58:49 AM
Quote from: EoinW on June 30, 2025, 03:08:03 AMTo be fair to Armagh, they lost because they couldn't win their own kickout.  2024 rules they would not have gotten blitzed the way they did.  Didn't someone suggest a while back that the rule changes were tailor made for Kerry?  I know that's sour grapes but I had to write it.

Sorry but that is utter codswallop. A big part of the game is fielding the ball. The new rules were to encourage that. You can't keep changing the rules because it doesn't suit you.

New rules encourage the element of luck to dictate passages of play. Some days it'll go your way, some days it won't, unless you've an 8 foot midfielder

PS: rest of the rules are great, I love football (the football v of do you condemn....?)

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 30, 2025, 12:16:10 AMHe doesn't have to kick it beyond  the arc, he kicked it to himself in the Dublin game a couple of times.

Apologies, you're correct on that front. The other points remain clear:

1) He didn't kick the ball before the hooter

2) The ball was moving when he kicked it

3) The ball was kicked from the wrong place

Dunneroyal

People still going on about the hooter for Meath great win. Nonsense. As he grabbed the ball the hooter went he kicked it to himself from the wrong spot. Stop this nonsense. Meath won get over yourselves. Actually I don't think many Galway people have a complaint, they were beat by the better hungrier fitter team on the day.
Hon the royal

Quote from: JoG2 on June 30, 2025, 06:19:15 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on June 30, 2025, 05:58:49 AM

New rules encourage the element of luck to dictate passages of play. Some days it'll go your way, some days it won't, unless you've an 8 foot midfielder

PS: rest of the rules are great, I love football (the football v of do you condemn....?)

This was Kerry on their own kick outs against Meath,  a match they lost by 9 points and only scored 0-16 compared to 0-32 yesterday.

Yesterday they showed how much they learnt and improved from that defeat.  from the 40th to the 55th minute, Armagh had 14 kickouts and won three. Kerry won 9 of them and 2 went over the sideline. 0-14 unanswered points by Kerry in that 15 minute period.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 29, 2025, 11:05:49 PMThat Galway keeper had the ball out before the hooter. How come they couldn't play on?

In his hurry to get going the ball was moving when he kicked it. Needed a retake which there was no time for.

Well yesterday was a big disappointment. Sometimes you have to hold your hands up and say you were beaten by a much better team in the day. It was a pleasure to watch Sean O'Shea yesterday. Well done Kerry