Armagh v Derry. Group 4

Started by bennydorano, May 13, 2025, 09:47:30 PM

tyrone08

Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.

In all seriousness good luck to the gaa trying to enforce retrospective action again in future when they clearly turned a blind eye to what can only be described as assault to a donegal player.
Cry me a river.
Immature reponse. I personally dont believe any action would make any difference to Armagh's season but I think it is ridiculous that nothing is being done here. It was assault in broad daylight. I dont believe its a conspiracy that Burns isnt looking into it just because its Armagh. But it does make you wonder where his priorities lie

Setting aside the teams involved for a minute we all have heard numerous stories over the years of lads killing each other with one punch. If this ever happened on a GAA pitch I think it would have serious repercussions for the GAA. I know of at least 2 incidents where young lads were killed by one punch never mind that punch coming from a 13-14 stone athlete.

Before Burns was voted in I had hoped that the GAA would clear up the rule book and close the numerous loop holds where players were getting off with technicalities, unfortunately he seems to have other priorities although I have not a clue what they are supposed to be.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.

In all seriousness good luck to the gaa trying to enforce retrospective action again in future when they clearly turned a blind eye to what can only be described as assault to a donegal player.
Cry me a river.
Immature reponse. I personally dont believe any action would make any difference to Armagh's season but I think it is ridiculous that nothing is being done here. It was assault in broad daylight. I dont believe its a conspiracy that Burns isnt looking into it just because its Armagh. But it does make you wonder where his priorities lie

maybe he is looking into the comments by said Donegal player????

The reality is
1 the ref nor linesmen saw it
2 it was a poor quality mobile phone video
3 people weren't even sure who actually struck as 2/3 names bandied about

A fine was the only thing that could stick as a good lawyer would have certainly gotten any suspensions revoked .

jmcgdoire

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AM

Cry me a river.
Is Burns expected to personally over see all cases of rows at games?
Another silly response. All cases? No. Major ones like this in the intercounty championship? Yes.

Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:41:48 AM

Cry me a river.
Another silly response. All cases? No. Major ones like this in the intercounty championship? Yes.
Has any president ever previously? Genuine question, is there not a whole separate committee who deal with incidents like that? Would you be expecting Jarlath to get involved if it was Cork and Clare in a row?

tyrone08

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:43:37 AM

Cry me a river.
Has any president ever previously? Genuine question, is there not a whole separate committee who deal with incidents like that? Would you be expecting Jarlath to get involved if it was Cork and Clare in a row?

Anytime the guards have to get involved in a match the president should be looking into it. This wasnt some flash in the pan row on the pitch during a game. This was a large group of players going at it at the end of a match with supporters on the pitch as the same time. The potential for serious injury was huge due to kids being on the pitch.

Yes in this instance I would expect the GAA president to speak out as this was a seriously poor reflection on Gaelic games in general.

We can poke a bit of fun at our neighbors now and again but I would have expected some response given how bad it looked.

jmcgdoire

Cry me a river.
Im not sure if there was ever a precedent for the president telling clubs who they should and shouldnt hire, so maybe thats not the best angle to approach this form.
Regardless if it is Jarlath himself or some separate committee, incidents like this need to be investigated. "Cry me a river" is a ridiculous response to assault.

Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:51:06 AM

Cry me a river.
Im not sure if there was ever a precedent for the president telling clubs who they should and shouldnt hire, so maybe thats not the best angle to approach this form.
Regardless if it is Jarlath himself or some separate committee, incidents like this need to be investigated. "Cry me a river" is a ridiculous response to assault.
Knew that would be mentioned and for the record Jarlath was 100% wrong there imo but he had his reasons and is sticking to them in fairness to him.

"Assault" Jesus it was a boy mouthing off getting a deserved box, nothing more to it, the world would be a better place if more got it.

jmcgdoire

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 09:01:05 AM
Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:51:06 AM

Cry me a river.
Knew that would be mentioned and for the record Jarlath was 100% wrong there imo but he had his reasons and is sticking to them in fairness to him.

"Assault" Jesus it was a boy mouthing off getting a deserved box, nothing more to it, the world would be a better place if more got it.

And i knew this would be mentioned.
The victim was 100% acting the fool and I dont defend his actions, but that doesnt warrant an assault. I really dont know how anyone could defend this.

sensethetone

Quote from: tyrone08 on May 21, 2025, 08:48:50 AM

Cry me a river.

Anytime the guards have to get involved in a match the president should be looking into it. This wasnt some flash in the pan row on the pitch during a game. This was a large group of players going at it at the end of a match with supporters on the pitch as the same time. The potential for serious injury was huge due to kids being on the pitch.

Yes in this instance I would expect the GAA president to speak out as this was a seriously poor reflection on Gaelic games in general.

We can poke a bit of fun at our neighbors now and again but I would have expected some response given how bad it looked.

When Casement re-opens will the Guard's scoot up the road to manage the Armagh crew?

Quote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 08:10:25 AM

Cry me a river.

I've seen this narrative gathering legs and I'm calling bullshit on it. I know 2 Derry men v close to the player, both army men based in Finner. OMF is surrounded daily by men from Derry and Tyrone and has served overseas with these men.
He goaded the Armagh bench, much like Armagh men had during the game on several occasions. Did the Donegal men assault these Armagh players, no, they behaved like adults.
The defending of this thuggery has to stop, it's an absolute blight on the game

statto

Quote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:13:00 AM

Cry me a river.

I've seen this narrative gathering legs and I'm calling bullshit on it. I know 2 Derry men v close to the player, both army men based in Finner. OMF is surrounded daily by men from Derry and Tyrone and has served overseas with these men.
He goaded the Armagh bench, much like Armagh men had during the game on several occasions. Did the Donegal men assault these Armagh players, no, they behaved like adults.
There was no need for him to celebrate in front of the bench go celebrate with your team mates and be a good winner if he does this the incident doesn't escalate simple.  Because he works with people from Derry/Tyrone does that mean he wouldn't be capable of saying something inappropriate? 

Armagh players should have not reacted and used that as fuel should they meet Donegal later on in the year. 

Looking forward to the game should bring a good crowd especially with no TV coverage.  Probably difficult at this stage to know where Derry are at and who they have/haven't available.  The results and performances of teams last weekend against the provincial losers should give them confidence, 

Quote from: statto on May 21, 2025, 10:41:26 AM

Cry me a river.

There was no need for him to celebrate in front of the bench go celebrate with your team mates and be a good winner if he does this the incident doesn't escalate simple.  Because he works with people from Derry/Tyrone does that mean he wouldn't be capable of saying something inappropriate? 

Armagh players should have not reacted and used that as fuel should they meet Donegal later on in the year. 

Looking forward to the game should bring a good crowd especially with no TV coverage.  Probably difficult at this stage to know where Derry are at and who they have/haven't available.  The results and performances of teams last weekend against the provincial losers should give them confidence, 

Join the club! We'll know shortly after throw in

Cry me a river.

Possibly not - but he did take it on himself previously to get involved in a case of alleged wrongdoing, whereas in this case there was obvious televised assault which you could argue tarnishes the reputation of the organisation. Why should he not get involved this time to call out how unacceptable this is?

It's absolutely ridiculous that nothing has been done about this. As someone else said, if it's not clear how the players were the counties should be asked for their names, and should be kicked out if they refuse to comply. As it is now, its ok for subs to run on and deck someone if they don't like what they're doing on the pitch.

Quote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:45:37 AM
Quote from: statto on May 21, 2025, 10:41:26 AM

Cry me a river.

Join the club! We'll know shortly after throw in

Can it go to penalties?  ;D