Leinster Senior Football Championship 2025

Started by Shamrock Shore, March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AM

Thank God for the Leinster Championship  8)

Kildare came good in the end but didn't see it coming after the 1st half.

Leinster giving a few exciting games unlike the Ulster and Connacht strolls.
Teams of similar level playing each other will give you that.
That's why in every County you have graded Championships.

Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 08:29:06 PMLeinster giving a few exciting games unlike the Ulster and Connacht strolls.
Roscommon and Galway had a stroll after their opponents gave a competitive display in the 1st halves.  Mayo 1st in Div 1 only ended up beating Sligo 5th in Div 3 by 3 points and any graded inter county championships probably wouldn't allow  that match to happen similar with Meath v Offaly with 3rd in Div 2 faring off against 2nd in Div 3?

Ballinameen don't get to play St Bridgets.
Probably just as well.

LarryStiles

Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 09:29:45 PMBallinameen don't get to play St Bridgets.
Probably just as well.

Leave the hurley stuff at home Pat

LarryStiles

Meath and Kildare final.  WAatch this space

Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 08:29:06 PMLeinster giving a few exciting games unlike the Ulster and Connacht strolls.
Leinster would the most competitive of the provincials only for the obvious crowd.

Fair play to Wicklow, seems like a respectable enough scoreline?

Leinster semi finals

Sunday 27th

2pm in O'Connor Park Kildare v Louth

4pm in O'Moore Park  Dublin v Meath

Quote from: LarryStiles on April 13, 2025, 10:18:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 09:29:45 PMBallinameen don't get to play St Bridgets.
Probably just as well.

Leave the hurley stuff at home Pat

Last time a hurley was seen round Ballinameen was back in 1918 - that famous day when the Brits banned hurling and of course there were thousands of games organised😁.

Meanwhile I see Tullamore and Portlaoise getting the 2 Leinster semis.

Fogarty

Wicklow had the first half wind and we didn't use it well enough. The 2nd half effort was better.
Wicklow are closing the gap on Dublin and others. Take out Con O'Callaghan and Wicklow had the measure of Dublin.

Dunneroyal

Great performance by Meath at the weekend. Some shocking injuries on the panel morris (one of best corner forwards in country ) jones , kinlough , mcentee , and on and on. Great to have Conlon and coffee back after injury. The 2 coaches departure while extremely disappointing hasn't affected the team as much as some would have thought or hoped . Duke has been a revelation and is showing standards beyond his early years .
I am actually looking forward to playing Dublin. First time in many years I believe we will not only give them a game but may just beat them. We have made huge strides since Brennan took over. Yes there has been hiccups and errors and mistakes. But we are 10 times better than we were last year. Definitely a coming team. I'm excited about heading to portlaois.
Hon the royal

Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 15, 2025, 10:09:47 PMGreat performance by Meath at the weekend. Some shocking injuries on the panel morris (one of best corner forwards in country ) jones , kinlough , mcentee , and on and on. Great to have Conlon and coffee back after injury. The 2 coaches departure while extremely disappointing hasn't affected the team as much as some would have thought or hoped . Duke has been a revelation and is showing standards beyond his early years .
I am actually looking forward to playing Dublin. First time in many years I believe we will not only give them a game but may just beat them. We have made huge strides since Brennan took over. Yes there has been hiccups and errors and mistakes. But we are 10 times better than we were last year. Definitely a coming team. I'm excited about heading to portlaois.

Whole country would love to see it. Don't know if yous are there yet but the gap isn't what it was. Would need everything going right for Meath and them hitting their full potential, if yous give the Dubs the start Offaly got forget about it.

Dunneroyal

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 15, 2025, 10:12:58 PM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 15, 2025, 10:09:47 PMGreat performance by Meath at the weekend. Some shocking injuries on the panel morris (one of best corner forwards in country ) jones , kinlough , mcentee , and on and on. Great to have Conlon and coffee back after injury. The 2 coaches departure while extremely disappointing hasn't affected the team as much as some would have thought or hoped . Duke has been a revelation and is showing standards beyond his early years .

Whole country would love to see it. Don't know if yous are there yet but the gap isn't what it was. Would need everything going right for Meath and them hitting their full potential, if yous give the Dubs the start Offaly got forget about it.
Definitely agree with giving dub the same start as Offaly an we would be goosed , can't just play for 35 minutes and expect them to win. Has to be 100% from start to finish
Hon the royal

Looking forward to the weekend and great to be out of Croke Park.
Kildare v Westmeath was a little cracker in fairness, even if the quality was up and down. With a young Kildare team we'd hope that this would be a big boost and some of our key players like Feely and McCormack really stood up in the latter stages.

Our kickouts were ABYSMAL. I know it's not all on the keeper but he kicked 2 frees from his hands as high and hard as he could - it was Go Games stuff!
We are still very open at the back and our forwards do not demand the ball or pull lads out of position, which is a concern.

Only listened to Meath match on Midlands, but Offaly are a very good outfit and Meath did well in the end. I just hope they bring some noise and intensity to it.

Louth v Dublin the likely outcome mind.

SouthOfThe Bann

You'd imagine for Meath to have any chance they need to be on song in the 2 point department.

The underdogs seem to be the only teams willing to take them on as we've seen with Antrim, Cork and Monaghan.