Russia invades Ukraine Feb 2022

Started by Main Street, February 12, 2022, 09:38:45 PM

Gerard O’Neill

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 05:22:54 PMhttps://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cz994d6vqe5o

What's with the recent MSM love in lads? ;) Storylines matching up with your preconceived worldviews?

See my earlier comments about conscription. No one is denying Ukraine uses conscription. When you're facing annihilation from the much larger brutal neighbour next door, desperate measures are called for.

Where are all the comments criticising Russia for using conscription (to destroy another nation) from ye lads?

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: Gerard O'Neill on June 18, 2024, 05:31:21 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 05:22:54 PMhttps://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cz994d6vqe5o

What's with the recent MSM love in lads? ;) Storylines matching up with your preconceived worldviews?

See my earlier comments about conscription. No one is denying Ukraine uses conscription. When you're facing annihilation from the much larger brutal neighbour next door, desperate measures are called for.

Where are all the comments criticising Russia for using conscription (to destroy another nation) from ye lads?

you spent the last numbers of posts calling it Russian propaganda so I shared another source.. and then you have the nerve to make comments about my preconceived worldview.

if someone was denying that he Russians was using conscription and kidnapping citizens or denied they released people from prison I would share a link to show them it was wrong. I haven't seen people deny that.

the occupation should end, Russia should withdraw and there should be peace... more weapons, more Ukrainians dead won't result in that, in my opinion.

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 05:43:27 PM

you spent the last numbers of posts calling it Russian propaganda so I shared another source.. and then you have the nerve to make comments about my preconceived worldview.

if someone was denying that he Russians was using conscription and kidnapping citizens or denied they released people from prison I would share a link to show them it was wrong. I haven't seen people deny that.

the occupation should end, Russia should withdraw and there should be peace... more weapons, more Ukrainians dead won't result in that, in my opinion.

less weapons will simply result in Russia occupying the whole country.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: armaghniac on June 18, 2024, 05:49:15 PM

less weapons will simply result in Russia occupying the whole country.

not if there is peace, where are your calls for other occupied countries to get more weapons..  or sorry its more complex isn't it!!! 

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 05:53:10 PMnot if there is peace, where are your calls for other occupied countries to get more weapons..  or sorry its more complex isn't it!!! 

In a thread about Ukraine, I don't need to justify the situation in every other conflict in the world and asking for this is merely whataboutery.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: armaghniac on June 18, 2024, 07:23:39 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 05:53:10 PMnot if there is peace, where are your calls for other occupied countries to get more weapons..  or sorry its more complex isn't it!!! 

In a thread about Ukraine, I don't need to justify the situation in every other conflict in the world and asking for this is merely whataboutery.

Should I have used one of your hypothetical scenarios instead..

I think you should to able to justify why in one occupation its ok to arm the occupied and in another its not.

Gerard O’Neill

Russia and Ukraine both use conscription. No one here is arguing the point as far as I'm aware. Ukraine to defend itself from annihilation, Russia to wipe the Ukrainian state off the map and forcibly make the Ukrainians realise they are really Russian (genocide).

I've no problem with you using the BBC for a source, I just find it amusing to see the biased untrustworthy western MSM being cited by someone with an obvious anti-US/NATO position on Ukraine. Are the western MSM to be trusted now?

As for the purported videos of press gangs. They are completely useless as a source for anything for the reasons I've already outlined.

I find your stance on arms either completely naive or disingenuous. As others have stated - without western arms Russia would have already defeated Ukraine and set about destroying their society.

As for peace - no Russian invasion -> peace. Russian withdrawal from Ukraine -> peace. They can end it tomorrow.

Quote from: Gerard O'Neill on June 18, 2024, 11:37:49 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 18, 2024, 11:17:53 AMWalk through the scenario of senior Russian politicians handing out food on Jan 6th .... "wasn't a coup"  ::)

The US have no issue supporting despotic regimes as long as they're in alignment with their strategic goals so lets not infer that America is motivated by "protecting democracy". It's not unreasonable to suggest as you say that Russia plays the same game. Ukraine is the chessboard and Ukrainian/Russian soldiers are the pawns for what ultimately is a US proxy war with Russia. We are living in an ugly world.

Of all the (incorrect) arguments I've seen people make towards the (incorrect) coup hypothesis, handing out sandwiches to protestors as proof of a coup is the most bizarre take I think I've heard. Seriously.

Do you have any evidence of this coup, other than 'sandwiches'?

As usual westerners completely and arrogantly dismiss the opinions and aspirations of Ukrainians. The US/CIA does not have the power to make hundreds of thousands of Ukrainians take to the streets.

How would MSM define it if senior Russian diplomats/politicians were around Washington in Jan 2021, speaking with pro trump Republicans? You're some craic  ::)

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: Gerard O'Neill on June 18, 2024, 09:44:07 PM

Russia and Ukraine both use conscription. No one here is arguing the point as far as I'm aware. Ukraine to defend itself from annihilation, Russia to wipe the Ukrainian state off the map and forcibly make the Ukrainians realise they are really Russian (genocide).

I've no problem with you using the BBC for a source, I just find it amusing to see the biased untrustworthy western MSM being cited by someone with an obvious anti-US/NATO position on Ukraine. Are the western MSM to be trusted now?

As for the purported videos of press gangs. They are completely useless as a source for anything for the reasons I've already outlined.

I find your stance on arms either completely naive or disingenuous. As others have stated - without western arms Russia would have already defeated Ukraine and set about destroying their society.

As for peace - no Russian invasion -> peace. Russian withdrawal from Ukraine -> peace. They can end it tomorrow.

forcibly make the Ukrainians realise they are really Russian = wrong  forcibly make the Ukrainians fight In the war = ok

I am pro peace which in many ways makes me anti nato/anti Us/anti Russia/ anti Israeli.

I used the BBC as its a source I felt you wouldn't  dispute, but I agree they can be deeply untrustworthy, you can believe what you want that suits your worldview!

Again peace would end the war, its naive imo to think more weapons will end the war.

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 05:43:27 PMmore weapons, more Ukrainians dead won't result in that, in my opinion.

No more weapons would tend toward a lot more dead Ukrainians imo
i usse an speelchekor

Gerard O’Neill

Quote from: theskull1 on June 18, 2024, 09:54:11 PM
Quote from: Gerard O'Neill on June 18, 2024, 11:37:49 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 18, 2024, 11:17:53 AMWalk through the scenario of senior Russian politicians handing out food on Jan 6th .... "wasn't a coup"  ::)

The US have no issue supporting despotic regimes as long as they're in alignment with their strategic goals so lets not infer that America is motivated by "protecting democracy". It's not unreasonable to suggest as you say that Russia plays the same game. Ukraine is the chessboard and Ukrainian/Russian soldiers are the pawns for what ultimately is a US proxy war with Russia. We are living in an ugly world.

Of all the (incorrect) arguments I've seen people make towards the (incorrect) coup hypothesis, handing out sandwiches to protestors as proof of a coup is the most bizarre take I think I've heard. Seriously.

Do you have any evidence of this coup, other than 'sandwiches'?

As usual westerners completely and arrogantly dismiss the opinions and aspirations of Ukrainians. The US/CIA does not have the power to make hundreds of thousands of Ukrainians take to the streets.

How would MSM define it if senior Russian diplomats/politicians were around Washington in Jan 2021, speaking with pro trump Republicans? You're some craic  ::)

I don't really care how the MSM would define your hypothetical scenario tbh.

Do you have any evidence for the purported 'coup' yet apart from a few hang sangwidges? Your sandwich thing is completely bizarre btw.

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on June 18, 2024, 10:17:32 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 05:43:27 PMmore weapons, more Ukrainians dead won't result in that, in my opinion.

not if there are efforts towards peace, now over 2 years in...

are you calling for more weapons for palestinans to prevents their deaths or are you calling for a ceasefire?

Gerard O’Neill

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 10:05:01 PM
Quote from: Gerard O'Neill on June 18, 2024, 09:44:07 PM

forcibly make the Ukrainians realise they are really Russian = wrong  forcibly make the Ukrainians fight In the war = ok

I am pro peace which in many ways makes me anti nato/anti Us/anti Russia/ anti Israeli.

I used the BBC as its a source I felt you wouldn't  dispute, but I agree they can be deeply untrustworthy, you can believe what you want that suits your worldview!

Again peace would end the war, its naive imo to think more weapons will end the war.

Conscription is a really horrible thing but let's be clear, it only exists in Ukraine because of the desperate situation Ukraine finds itself in.

Russia is responsible for that situation.

If Ukraine has no army they will lose the war, simple as that - we've all seen what that means, more torture, more rapes, more abduction of children, more murders. Ukraine will cease to exist.

Peace would end the war, sure. But Russia isn't interested in peace, just Ukrainian surrender.

You're blaming the victim. For someone who claims to be anti-Russia you do seem to spend a lot of time attacking Ukraine.

Gerard O’Neill

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on June 18, 2024, 10:25:41 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on June 18, 2024, 10:17:32 PM

not if there are efforts towards peace, now over 2 years in...

are you calling for more weapons for palestinans to prevents their deaths or are you calling for a ceasefire?

Russia recently expressed their PRECONDITIONS for peace talks - Ukrainian surrender. They aren't even pretending to be serious.