Ireland v Australia, Rules Test 1, Breffni Park, Saturday 19 October 2013

Started by BennyCake, October 02, 2013, 10:15:01 PM

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 22, 2013, 10:53:14 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 22, 2013, 10:49:21 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 22, 2013, 10:41:26 AM
He was targeted early in the match , whoever else got hit was after that.

That day, the Aussies systematically hit the nearest Irishman to them at the final whistle. Much as you would wish that it was some kind of moral crusade against racism, i'd be more inclined to think it was their pre-meditated attempt to physcially intimidate an Irish team that had beaten them week before in Galway, leading to a bit of abuse in the Irish press. If you dont believe me - listen to Anthony Moyles on Newstalk this week. He reckons it was the first time in his life that he went out onto a football pitch fearing for his safety.

Australia beat Ireland in Galway. Its not a cruasade he was targeted in Galway, he was a easy player to wind up

Did they? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_International_Rules_Series

Interesting article on that 2006 series. http://www.thescore.ie/2006-international-rules-1136712-Oct2013/

Quote from: BennyHarp on October 22, 2013, 10:59:30 AM

That day, the Aussies systematically hit the nearest Irishman to them at the final whistle. Much as you would wish that it was some kind of moral crusade against racism, i'd be more inclined to think it was their pre-meditated attempt to physcially intimidate an Irish team that had beaten them week before in Galway, leading to a bit of abuse in the Irish press. If you dont believe me - listen to Anthony Moyles on Newstalk this week. He reckons it was the first time in his life that he went out onto a football pitch fearing for his safety.

Australia beat Ireland in Galway. Its not a cruasade he was targeted in Galway, he was a easy player to wind up

In 2010 yes ;) ha yeah they did beat Ireland in that first test but there was obviously History with Geraghty  the before those test that and he was easily targeted,  which led to a scrap in Croke Parl

. If people can't see that then then they should lay off the herbal stuff.

Rodney, you would do yourself a favour if you stopped making stuff up and talking shite.

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 22, 2013, 11:08:34 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 22, 2013, 10:59:30 AM

In 2010 yes ;) ha yeah they did beat Ireland in that first test but there was obviously History with Geraghty  the before those test that and he was easily targeted,  which led to a scrap in Croke Parl

. If people can't see that then then they should lay off the herbal stuff.

Are you on the herbal stuff? The 2010 first test was in Limerick and Geraghty wasn't even on that squad?

Geraghty wasn't on the squad in 2010 was aware of that, anyways it was in Limerick ,and Australia won im aware of all that yep,

There is a thread for the international haters, Hardy, do yourself a favour and post on there like a good hardy
meath man.

There you go again, trying to dictate who should be allowed to comment and where. If it's an attempt to divert attention from your making stuff up and talking shite, it's not working.

Quote from: Hardy on October 22, 2013, 11:27:35 AM
There you go again, trying to dictate who should be allowed to comment and where. If it's an attempt to divert attention from your making stuff up and talking shite, it's not working.

Half the thread was based on negative stuff. Not making anything up, But maybe they just liked to target Geraghty. I know you were very defensive of Joe when he scored the touch down -try against  Leinster (louth). so no surprise

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on October 22, 2013, 11:27:54 AM
Is English ur first language Rodney?

Yes, what about you?

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 22, 2013, 10:25:53 AM
Geraghty got the massive hit in that game for giving Racial abuse in Australia the year before. It was Ott all the same. The Irish team on Saturday over were over all taller then the Australians  and there wasn't huge difference in S&C as is being made out.

Nah, Rodney, the incident got little pr no notice in the Aussie media; it was the Indo/Sindo in the main that made a big deal of it here. I know because I took a personal  interest in that story and in particular in the way the Indo went to town on it.
(My union, the INTO, were involved in a spat with the Dept. of Education at the time an I was incensed at the way the Indo covered the proceedings.)
I checked every Australian online source I could find and found no more than a passing reference to the incident in any of them.
Some weeks later, the Indo did carry an interview with Damian Cupido, the Aussie involved, who gave his version of what happened. However, it was buried on an inside page and it carried just the bare facts- none of "The Pope is Dead" headlines they used to vilify Geraghty in the first place.
Cupido said he didn't know what the fuss was about. He got far worse abuse when playing Aussie rules. He also admitted that he had been sent on to deliberately target Geraghty. He was ordered to go in "low, hard and dirty."
The Indo only carried this because the interview had already appeared in an Aussie paper.
I'm no fan of Geraghty but I think I'd have used worse language if I had been in his place and followed up with a good toe up the rock & roll and to hell with international relations and all that.

That's because it was the first time in his life he wasn't playing for Meath!  :D

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 22, 2013, 11:40:00 AM
Quote from: Hardy on October 22, 2013, 11:27:35 AM

Half the thread was based on negative stuff. Not making anything up, But maybe they just liked to target Geraghty. I know you were very defensive of Joe when he scored the touch down -try against  Leinster (louth). so no surprise

More diversion, still not working - just more shite talk and making up. (Joe didn't need any defending, not having done any misdeed.)

Quote from: Lar Naparka on October 22, 2013, 11:49:59 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 22, 2013, 10:25:53 AM
Geraghty got the massive hit in that game for giving Racial abuse in Australia the year before. It was Ott all the same. The Irish team on Saturday over were over all taller then the Australians  and there wasn't huge difference in S&C as is being made out.

Nah, Rodney, the incident got little pr no notice in the Aussie media; it was the Indo/Sindo in the main that made a big deal of it here. I know because I took a personal  interest in that story and in particular in the way the Indo went to town on it.
(My union, the INTO, were involved in a spat with the Dept. of Education at the time an I was incensed at the way the Indo covered the proceedings.)
I checked every Australian online source I could find and found no more than a passing reference to the incident in any of them.
Some weeks later, the Indo did carry an interview with Damian Cupido, the Aussie involved, who gave his version of what happened. However, it was buried on an inside page and it carried just the bare facts- none of "The Pope is Dead" headlines they used to vilify Geraghty in the first place.
Cupido said he didn't know what the fuss was about. He got far worse abuse when playing Aussie rules. He also admitted that he had been sent on to deliberately target Geraghty. He was ordered to go in "low, hard and dirty."
The Indo only carried this because the interview had already appeared in an Aussie paper.
I'm no fan of Geraghty but I think I'd have used worse language if I had been in his place and followed up with a good toe up the rock & roll and to hell with international relations and all that.

I think that was also the year Declan Browne was very cynically taken out during a warm-up game.
To be honest, there was a period of a few years where the aussies seemed to be going out of their way to genuinely hurt the irish lads.

Yes, what about you?

ha yeah they did beat Ireland in that first test but there was obviously History with Geraghty  the before those test that and he was easily targeted,  which led to a scrap in Croke Parl

Just wondering

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on October 22, 2013, 12:17:00 PM

Yes, what about you?

ha yeah they did beat Ireland in that first test but there was obviously History with Geraghty  the before those test that and he was easily targeted,  which led to a scrap in Croke Parl

Just wondering

Fair enough.  I was wondering about this too.Is English ur first language Rodney?

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 22, 2013, 11:17:32 AM
Geraghty wasn't on the squad in 2010 was awre, anyways it was in Limerick and Australia won im aware of all that yep,

Rodney - I've completely lost the run of what you are talking about? The Geraghty incident was in 2006 when Ireland won the first test in Galway, yet you are talking about the 2010 test in Limerick when Geraghty wasn't even on the squad as if it had some baring on what happened in 2006 in Croke Park.

You posted that Australia won the test in Galway 2006 before the Croke Park game that led to the Geraghty incident, yet when it is pointed out they lost you say, yes i know they won in Limerick, as if that was the game we were referencing.  :o

Fair play to you - you've managed to (Joe) mangle my head with utter nonsense. (I'm quite proud of my aussie pun there, by the way.  ;D)