Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Quote from: ballinaman on August 01, 2013, 10:37:44 AM
Gallagher accuses Mayo of "colluding" with Monaghan
01 August 2013

Donegal selector Rory Gallagher with manager Jim McGuinnessSunday's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final between Donegal and Mayo is rapidly becoming the GAA's biggest grudge match in years.

It follows sensational claims made by Donegal assistant manager Rory Gallagher that Mayo offered advice to Monaghan on how to beat the All-Ireland champions when the counties met in a challenge match before the Ulster final. And this has led Gallagher to believe that the heavy challenge by Monaghan's Stephen Gollogly that forced Mark McHugh's early withdrawal, and which left the Kilcar man with concussion, a burst ear drum and a quad muscle injury, was pre-meditated.

"Maybe we suspect there was a bit of collusion between Monaghan and Mayo," Gallagher said in the Irish News.

"Bear in mind Lee Keegan's tackle on Mark McHugh at the start of last year's All-Ireland final. When Lee Keegan got booked, he came out and winked at a team-mate as if to say 'job done'.

"I don't believe for one minute that Gollogly went out to do the harm he did. He went out to hit him hard, but our player came out of it badly. I know Gollogly hurt himself as well.

"I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent any player out to 'do' anyone. That is not in his nature. But ask some of the top referees to view the incident. Was it a dangerous tackle? It was reckless and dangerous. At the end of the day, that deserves a red card."

The former Fermanagh star also claimed that well-known sports psychologist Kieran Shannon is advising Mayo manager James Horan on what to say to the media.

"I think Horan works to a pre-mediated script and I think Kieran Shannon is behind a good bit of it," Gallagher continued.

"I know Shannon fairly well. He was involved with Fermanagh when Malachy O'Rourke was there. I think Shannon is behind Horan's statements." - See more at: http://www.hoganstand.com/Mayo/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197876#sthash.sYWa3Iiq.dpuf

Right . . . there is absolutely no defending that!! Complete and utter shite of the highest order.

Next time Gallagher runs on to the pitch I hope somebody clotheslines the w**ker!!!

Quote from: sans pessimism on August 01, 2013, 08:17:36 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 01, 2013, 08:07:30 AM
Can't see Donegal losing this one.
based on......

Based on the fact that I actually reckon the best thing that happened to Donegal was losing to Monaghan.  Any complacency that existed in preparation or on a match day is completely eradicated now and if Karl Lacey and McHugh are back on board anywhere near their best then I can't see any reason as to why Mayo will beat them.  Mayo haven't played any top side this year yet and I would be worried that they don't really have anyone up front who will do a lot of damage from play.  I just feel that Donegal have been gearing towards Croke Park and now that they are there they will turn it on.

Maybe Gallagher forgets that Mayo didn't actually beat them... What a load of horseshit.

Mayo people seem very confident on this one which given they're playing the AI champions does seem a bit over the top.... However between McGuinness and Gallagher and their rubbish in the media I think the neutral will favour Mayo.

Donegal have been off and need a big game if they're to win this one but they're AI champions so it could be in them. Think Mayo may sneak it but far from a foregone conclusion.

shawshank

Its been along time that there has been as much shit sholved into each other faces publically between two teams. the scene is truely being set.

mayo favourites due to the form they have built up- it doesnt matter that they have not played wonderful teams, but getting their team ethic and playing style perfected is a huge thing.
Donegal are still finding their feet and this game has come one too soon for them.
Donegal are finding that having the same desire to win a second year in a row is easy to say but harder to actually do.
Individuals think they are giving their all, but invariably they are not. Close, but you need 100% to win the All Ireland.

The mayo lads are giving their 100%. They have a gameplan that they all know how to play. they have confidence and are scoring from outside the 21 yard line now.
Having a bigger panel to select from also helps mayo - as Barry moran is a huge loss to any team.
Mayo play on the edge - maybe a bit over it - this is what winning teams do. In decades gone by, mayo sides had talent but were too nice and clean and got bullied about.
ok this might not be entirely within the rules and the ref will therefore have a huge bearing on the game, but I still think that mayo are more of a cohesive unit right now than the stuttering Donegalmen.

Quote from: shawshank on August 01, 2013, 10:46:16 AM
Its been along time that there has been as much shit sholved into each other faces publically between two teams. the scene is truely being set.

And isnt it great, I would far rather see a bit of genuine bad blood that this pussy footing around each other with nothing statements to the media. Donegal been there and done and now have the confidence to back it up, Mayo growing in confidence and want to rile the champions sure isnt that what its all about.

BluestackBoy

01 August 2013

Donegal selector Rory Gallagher with manager Jim McGuinnessSunday's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final between Donegal and Mayo is rapidly becoming the GAA's biggest grudge match in years.

It follows sensational claims made by Donegal assistant manager Rory Gallagher that Mayo offered advice to Monaghan on how to beat the All-Ireland champions when the counties met in a challenge match before the Ulster final. And this has led Gallagher to believe that the heavy challenge by Monaghan's Stephen Gollogly that forced Mark McHugh's early withdrawal, and which left the Kilcar man with concussion, a burst ear drum and a quad muscle injury, was pre-meditated.

"Maybe we suspect there was a bit of collusion between Monaghan and Mayo," Gallagher said in the Irish News.

"Bear in mind Lee Keegan's tackle on Mark McHugh at the start of last year's All-Ireland final. When Lee Keegan got booked, he came out and winked at a team-mate as if to say 'job done'.

"I don't believe for one minute that Gollogly went out to do the harm he did. He went out to hit him hard, but our player came out of it badly. I know Gollogly hurt himself as well.

"I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent any player out to 'do' anyone. That is not in his nature. But ask some of the top referees to view the incident. Was it a dangerous tackle? It was reckless and dangerous. At the end of the day, that deserves a red card."

The former Fermanagh star also claimed that well-known sports psychologist Kieran Shannon is advising Mayo manager James Horan on what to say to the media.

"I think Horan works to a pre-mediated script and I think Kieran Shannon is behind a good bit of it," Gallagher continued.

"I know Shannon fairly well. He was involved with Fermanagh when Malachy O'Rourke was there. I think Shannon is behind Horan's statements." - See more at: http://www.hoganstand.com/Mayo/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197876#sthash.sYWa3Iiq.dpuf

For crying out loud. This is the greatest load of rubbish & proof that it is the media who are bigging this "feud"

1 Sunday's match is not "the biggest grudge match in years" Pure journalism of the worst type trying to stoke things up.

2 What is "sensational" about Mayo & Monaghan talking about Donegal. It would have been sensational if they hadn't!!

3 Nowhere does the article produce anything to support their assertion that Gallagher thought the "heavy challenge" on McHugh was pre-meditated. In fact Gallagher is quoted a couple of lines farther down "I don't believe for one minute that Gallogly went out to do the damage he did" and again "I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent anyone out to "do" anyone.

This is all crap of the highest order & I can now see all the usual suspects coming out "Donegal this & Donegal that". McGuinness will be landed on despite the fact that he isn't included in this at all & the most controversial thing in this article is that Mayo & Monaghan "discussed" Donegal. They even manage to fit in the loaded term "colluded" just for dramatic effect.

It's so comical & transparent that it's nearly funny. But I would rather spend time discussing the game that a whole day of fellas going off at the deep end about fiction like this.
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 01, 2013, 10:53:43 AM
01 August 2013

For crying out loud. This is the greatest load of rubbish & proof that it is the media who are bigging this "feud"

1 Sunday's match is not "the biggest grudge match in years" Pure journalism of the worst type trying to stoke things up.

2 What is "sensational" about Mayo & Monaghan talking about Donegal. It would have been sensational if they hadn't!!

3 Nowhere does the article produce anything to support their assertion that Gallagher thought the "heavy challenge" on McHugh was pre-meditated. In fact Gallagher is quoted a couple of lines farther down "I don't believe for one minute that Gallogly went out to do the damage he did" and again "I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent anyone out to "do" anyone.

This is all crap of the highest order & I can now see all the usual suspects coming out "Donegal this & Donegal that". McGuinness will be landed on despite the fact that he isn't included in this at all & the most controversial thing in this article is that Mayo & Monaghan "discussed" Donegal. They even manage to fit in the loaded term "colluded" just for dramatic effect.

It's so comical & transparent that it's nearly funny. But I would rather spend time discussing the game that a whole day of fellas going off at the deep end about fiction like this.

It was Gallagher that used the word "collusion" Bluestack, and you know well that's very different to saying they may have "talked about" Donegal. What is the point of the Keegan reference if Gallagher isn't trying to insinuate something?

goes to prove that the origins of Gaelic games happens to be the old faction fighting between rival clans.

if there was no one else to fight, we Irish would end up fighting among ourselves.

dont know if it is a healthy or good thing, but it certainly adds spice to a game.

Croker will be like the fecking Coloseum on Sunday (and indeed saturday).

it gets the blood going- especially during the 70 mins the game is on and you dont like (almost hate) your rival fan two seats away from you (with fleeting thoughts of punching each other in the mouth). Then you are more likely to end up having a pint after the gam withthe same fella!

I miss this madness from Oct-Feb!!!!

Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 01, 2013, 10:53:43 AM
01 August 2013

If the media are so "loaded" and driving this agenda why oh why does Jimmy and his pitch running sidekick Gallagher feed them so much nonsense to go on. Why does Gallagher feel the need to highlight Mayo and Monaghan discussed them? Of course a journalist will turn that into "collusion"
You are correct, of course Monaghan and Mayo will discuss Donegal, but Gallagher highlighting it is pathetic, paranoid and shit stirring.

Gallagher is an out and out antagonist on the pitch as he runs on shouting abuse and 'bumping' into players, now he's doing the same in the papers. Jimmy and Gallagher, a very unlikable duo!!!

No harm to ya Bluestack but you're just not capable of seeing it for what it is, it's natural to defend your own.

FFS man he even alludes to a wink Keegan gave a team mate after a challenge on McHugh in last years final.

- See more at: http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197876#sthash.0BusPaJf.dpuf

Donegal have let themselves down and are to put it simply, shittin their knickers over Mayo.

Trying to implicate Mayo in McHugh's injury received against Monaghan is one of the most ridiculous and pathetic things I've ever heard!

In the opening game of the league I was sooo annoyed with the former Erne Gaels/ Saint Brigids/ Crosserlough/ St. Gall's man when he was running all over the place like a blue arse fly. I know his role allows him to go on but there were times that he just ran on, roared a bit at the ref, and then ran off without even going near a Donegal man.
Also he is quoted on the word collusion so let's not go down the evil media route. Sure they will lap up any controversial thing that the former Fermanagah/ Cavan player will come out with.
McGuinness is a serious operator but these two little sideshows just may as well have MIND GAMES written on them. I liked Donegal but am for Mayo on this.
On a side note I just feel that the Donegal fans have become so arrogant in the last two years. For a county that won F all in the grand scheme of things it doesn't suit them.
And that is something that Mark McHugh spoke out against already this year before any fans come on here and attack me for saying it.

f**k McGuinness, f**k Gallagher and f**k their f**king agendas, let's tear into the shower of bullmanure-manufacturing shitehawks and bate the living daylights out of them.  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Seriously though, it is a massive massive game for Mayo, I hope to God we don't lose it. If we do, it's unthinkable of what could happen. :( Lose and we're gone, back to the pre-Horan days. Win and we've a semi-final coming up against a good side with no snide shite sideshows either.

I don't think any All-Ireland final Mayo have been involved in has had my blood pumping as much as this one. For the record, I wouldn't start McHale, he's a bit too slow to be thrown into the Donegal game. As for Donegal's 'injuries/unfit' talk...What injuries??? What unfitness???