Started by ross4life, September 11, 2012, 11:09:54 PM

Feck Moyna, we're signing a new player:

QuoteConor.mortimer ‏@Conmort
@donie_89 up the rossies @rossieforsam

cadence

the path to glory can be paved with farce, as long as you eventually get it right, it's well worth it. 2008 up in donegal was an awful shambles too, maybe even more so, with bonner & mulgrew vs doherty. but to me, that had to happen for us to become humble enough to accept our recruitment was chaotic and how we were running things was just plain wrong. without the shambles, there wouldn't have been the openmindedness and humility to give mcguinness his chance and accept the approach he wanted to take.

who cares how long it takes, as long as you get the right man that's the main thing. be interesting to see who youse go with though. better off with a young buck i'm thinking. football's changed.

Quote from: cadence on November 03, 2012, 02:00:05 PM
the path to glory can be paved with farce, as long as you eventually get it right, it's well worth it. 2008 up in donegal was an awful shambles too, maybe even more so, with bonner & mulgrew vs doherty. but to me, that had to happen for us to become humble enough to accept our recruitment was chaotic and how we were running things was just plain wrong. without the shambles, there wouldn't have been the openmindedness and humility to give mcguinness his chance and accept the approach he wanted to take.

who cares how long it takes, as long as you get the right man that's the main thing. be interesting to see who youse go with though. better off with a young buck i'm thinking. football's changed.

Very true and hopefully the next manager can bring us on. Guys like Peter Domican,Niall Carty,Donal Shine are still only 23 this years under 21s especially Donie Smith,Paddy Brogan,Niall Daly,Cathal Shine all have bright futures ahead & it would be criminal if they are developed through another shambles.

cadence

Quote from: ross4life on November 03, 2012, 02:29:23 PM
Quote from: cadence on November 03, 2012, 02:00:05 PM

Very true and hopefully the next manager can bring us on. Guys like Peter Domican,Niall Carty,Donal Shine are still only 23 this years under 21s especially Donie Smith,Paddy Brogan,Niall Daly,Cathal Shine all have bright futures ahead & it would be criminal if they are developed through another shambles.

yeh, talent isn't the issue. get this one right, and things can turn around sharpish.

Big issue is fitness, we clearly need to improve and while we've been managerless we've been severely hampered. Players, particularly all our college and u21 ones, will be staying fit I'm sure but when Mulholland had the whole conditioning regime for his panel in place three months ago it's clear we have plenty of ground to make up.

Not alone have we to catch up on other teams' fitness this year but we also have to catch up on last year's too after Des Newton's disastrous reign.
It would be nice to think the delays are due to our "Committee" sifting through the options till we find  the  right man to lead us to the Promised Land but it seems we're just stumbling from one leak to another rather than anything concrete.

Well Galway are getting themselves in shape to get back to Div 1 & in mid May they face All Ireland finalist plus Mulholland will have his work cut out as he's also the U21 manager next year. Training ban in place now for another month but the players can do their own work in the gyms. I can't imagine many teams in Div 3 will be super fit & we are one of the last teams out in next years championship so maybe we can make up for any lost time in April,May.

Des Newton was officially appointed on November 17th last year i wonder will we beat that date this year.

Orchardman

i see moyna has joined the down backroom team, very strange

Moyna ruled out taking over Roscommon, because of Ryan Cup O Byrne Cup ,Sigerson commitments with DCU.. but agrees to be part of the back room with Down a few days later. Stange alright,

Was it becuase he isn't going to be managing Down, and wouldn't be as hands on as actually managing Roscommon.

Orchardman

i would assume that's what he will be saying, i'm sure the manager job would entail a lot more hours, but even so he's still taking on a fair bit. I would have been interested to see how he would have done as a proper manager, as he talks a good game in terms of sports science. He would have had far more connections with the ross players i would say, none of the northern lads would go to college in dublin at all

Quote from: Orchardman on November 03, 2012, 09:37:34 PM
i would assume that's what he will be saying, i'm sure the manager job would entail a lot more hours, but even so he's still taking on a fair bit. I would have been interested to see how he would have done as a proper manager, as he talks a good game in terms of sports science. He would have had far more connections with the ross players i would say, none of the northern lads would go to college in dublin at all

Yeah I think 8 or 9 of this years Roscommon panel were part of the DCU panel that won the Sigerson back in feburay. Roscommon have had a big number of players in Dcu squads in the last couple of years.

He was part of the Dubs set up under Gilroy, He does talk a good game, this will probaly be James McCartens last year with Down, he could be in for that job in the future.

Quote from: ross4life on November 03, 2012, 09:17:39 PM
Well Galway are getting themselves in shape to get back to Div 1 & in mid May they face All Ireland finalist plus Mulholland will have his work cut out as he's also the U21 manager next year. Training ban in place now for another month but the players can do their own work in the gyms. I can't imagine many teams in Div 3 will be super fit & we are one of the last teams out in next years championship so maybe we can make up for any lost time in April,May.

Des Newton was officially appointed on November 17th last year i wonder will we beat that date this year.

It's not likely we'll be out-classed but we should be better than we are. The fact the rest of D3 aren't super fit is only one more reason for us to try to be. D3 is likely to be the same as always, lots of teams giving each other black eyes and the two marginally better teams sneaking up into D2.

I see stories of Banty being in the running niw having been interviewed last week.
FFS the whole thing is gone beyond a bloody joke at this stage. >:( >:( >:(

Someone needs to give Mark Dowd a ring and sweet-talk him into the job. And then do just about anything  to get Barry Solan on board too. Really don't see any other option that even come close to being sensible.

Dowd is a good young Ros manager and Solan is one of the finest trainers/strength and conditioning coaches in the country. No point ignoring the talent on your doorstep, especially given that we've made such a hash of the job thus far.

John Evans to be appointed the next Roscommon manager tonight. Wouldn't be first choice but a decent choice i feel, he had poor year but the good work he did with Tipp shouldn't go unnoticed.

Best of luck to him.