Recent posts

General discussion / Re: Sinn Fein? They have gone ...
Last post by screenexile - June 15, 2024, 11:13:07 PM
Has anyone been to these Ireland's Future yokes?? Any use?
Derry / Re: Derry Club Football & Hurl...
Last post by tbrick18 - June 15, 2024, 11:05:46 PM
A few players played well, glass, gilmore, Baker, clucky, mcfaul and mulholland.
Very poor showing from some. Murray (is he injured?),  mcguigan, paul cassidy, mckaigue, Rogers were all very poor. Handling errors, shot selection, effort just not there.

Tactics exactly the same and still not working. A better team would have took advantage.
That was just a stay of execution I feel.

And then no subs made when lads were obviously not performing .

Harte has to go.
Down / Re: Down Club Hurling & Footba...
Last post by AnDĂșnAbĂș94 - June 15, 2024, 11:05:34 PM
Quote from: Sheedy on June 15, 2024, 06:45:43 PMJob done, into the semi finals. Performance in the first half was poor, second half was good bit better.
Unless they're injured or carrying knocks, Liam Kerr, Ceilium Doherty and Ryan Johnston have to start imo

Sums it up perfectly. Second half was a big improvement.
Antrim / Re: Antrim Football Thread
Last post by bannside - June 15, 2024, 11:03:33 PM
PaddyJohn called it 100%.

Just home, tonight was one of my most memorable days watching Antrim in over 50 years. So proud of that second half display, the whole team stood tall when it counted most.

Kavan Keenan, just give him player of the season now, there's me wondering what the hell was he doing as a corner back. Or Eunan at full back. How wrong I was. Joe Finnegan immense too.

But tonight we toast the return of our leader. Peter Healy produced 30 minutes football that will live long in the memory, he turned tonight around almost single handedly, and lit the spark that everyone else bought into.

Proud night to be a Saffron, well done Andy, Tom, Terry and everyone involved. On we go.
Last post by PadraicHenryPearse - June 15, 2024, 10:43:49 PM
moscow mick - I unequivocally supported the sections of the resolution which condemn Russia's war of aggression and call on the Russian Federation to immediately terminate all military activities in Ukraine, unconditionally withdraw its forces, and fully respect Ukraine's territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence. I express my undivided solidarity with the ordinary people of Ukraine and call for urgent diplomatic efforts to secure a ceasefire, for negotiations to end the conflict and the withdrawal of Russian military forces.
Last post by armaghniac - June 15, 2024, 10:39:21 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 15, 2024, 07:28:24 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 15, 2024, 03:01:18 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 14, 2024, 08:09:22 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 14, 2024, 07:24:10 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 13, 2024, 10:24:31 PMNow sure where to put this but given the earlier discussions, Wallace is gone. Get the political obituaries written lads. A real titan has left the stage!

I suppose the funding from Moscow will stop now as well.

It lazy shite like that from media that lost him and Daly their seat. Zero evidence behind it unless you'd like to produce something shoeing putin funds them.

Fair enough I don't have the invoices. But why else would he support the invasion of Ukraine and the ending of its existence? Maybe like a business man in your neighbourhood he bought some Ukrainian property in a false name and the titleholders wouldn't give it back?

Can you provide a link to where he said that please?

He has continually failed to support votes condemning Russia or supporting Ukraine. Since Russia's intention to to end Ukraine's existence then he obviously agrees with that.

https://www.politico.eu/article/revealed-russias-best-friends-eu-parliament/
GAA Discussion / Re: All Ireland prelim QFs
Last post by RedHand88 - June 15, 2024, 10:20:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 15, 2024, 09:41:36 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 15, 2024, 09:31:08 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 15, 2024, 09:05:24 PMShould be top 2 through only. Pointless having groups where all teams nearly go through.

Problem with that is that you're gonna end up with dead rubbers for the 3rd game. Harsh expecting teams who have lost their first 2 games to hang around for a fortnight for a pointless game at the end.

It's just a slow death for so many counties. It's incredibly boring. And we have the 2nd and 3rd placed teams burned out with 3 games in 3 weeks, leaving the normally seeded teams with a handy quarter final game.

I agree the group stages have been a failure for the most part. Just no interest in them.
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 3 ...
Last post by SouthOfThe Bann - June 15, 2024, 10:18:33 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 15, 2024, 05:37:31 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 15, 2024, 05:09:14 PMAre you sure Tyrone can't play Cavan again?

I think it might only be avoidance of repeat pairings from Group Stage and provincial finals but could be wrong.
Open to correction on that!

I'm not sure myself.

On the Tailteann thread it says that there will be no draw.

As Antrim have played Down and Sligo so they've been drawn against Kildare or Laois.

So maybe you're right.
Laois / Re: 2024 Joe McDonagh Cup
Last post by Voice of tReason - June 15, 2024, 10:05:29 PM
Hard luck to the lads today. Wexford will probably feel they had us rather comfortably at arms length after 20 mins but there were a few positive performances. The loss of Conway was a huge blow as he had started well.

Some strange decisions from the line with lads not picked for the panel last weekend coming on ahead of players who started. That kind of inconsistency has been oddly common for the last couple of years.

Hopefully the bulk of the playing panel will recommit next year. No need for any of the more experienced lads to be contemplating stepping away. The new Div 2 will give us great games in the spring and another shot at Joe Mc is definitely there for us.
Down / Re: Down Club Hurling & Footba...
Last post by snoopdog - June 15, 2024, 09:58:11 PM
We will Play Sligo in the Semi final. Wicklow were never really threatening. Down would need to lift their game for Croke pk next Sunday.