just had a mc donald's for my tea tonite and it has been maybe 5mnths since i last had one so i decided to try the new big M burger and have to say it was pretty disappointing.
If only you could have a B.K. burger and Ronald's fries-best of both worlds
Just ate a double cheeseburger from McD's myself for 1$. I'm on the dollar menu for the rest of the month. :(
No contest. The King wins every time. Fries are tastier and the burgers actually taste like they are made from an animal! Having said that I'm partial to a Big Mac Meal when pushed.
both are rotten.
KFC isn't bad but I dont really like their chips.
Strawberry milkshake from Mc D's is hard to bate.........
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:59:47 PM
both are rotten.
Mmmm popcorn chicken is lovely though!
emergency food - but whopper cheese wins, follwed by 1/4 pounder with cheese. Thankfully a once a year meal max for me!
Quote from: Minder on October 16, 2008, 09:01:26 PM
Strawberry milkshake from Mc D's is hard to bate.........
Agreed Minder - the food is pure dung- if you burp after eating mcd's you're hungry again but the mcflurrys are nice too.
nothing beats a Supermac. it's about time they came across the border properly. wouldn't mind owning a franchise. in the right place it would make a bomb
Quote from: downgirl on October 16, 2008, 09:02:54 PM
both are rotten.
Mmmm popcorn chicken is lovely though!
Aye it's tasty, all the chicken is quite nice it's just hte chips which arent great.
nothing beats friar tucks!
Quote from: milltown row on October 16, 2008, 09:14:14 PM
nothing beats a Supermac. it's about time they came across the border properly. wouldn't mind owning a franchise. in the right place it would make a bomb
did I read sometime lately that they have an outlet in Tyrone somewhere?
Quote from: comethekingdom on October 16, 2008, 09:27:39 PM
No, thats
Super Mc- Where they produce our deadly footballers
Both rank, but of the two I suppose Burger King just about wins.
Super Mac is the best though. When are they coming north???
Pretty sure I seen a Supermacs in Foyleside in Derry last week.
Try getting a franchise in Omagh milltown.
sure thats not really north ;)
due to the current climate the money would be difficult to get off the banks :-[
around 80 grand depending on size. was up for it two years ago but pipe dream was extinguished. McDees in a good spot brings in 300 grand a year. may not be enough money about, but kids still want their burgers
Burger King is brutal their chips are awful..
I like Maccy D's every now and then
Aah the auld garlic cheese chips and a smokey bacon burger is hard to bate after a feed of beer
is abra-whatever the feck you call it- still going?
they used to do a deadly cheesy garlic chip
Quote from: maggie on October 16, 2008, 11:31:11 PM
Jesus, don't talk to me about that stuff. I used to live on the Strand Road in Derry and ate out of there one night. Wasn't cooked right and got sick. Pure mank stuff.
How can you not cook chips right and throw garlic sauce and cheese over it?
Abrakebabra always gave me fierce ring sting..Terrible place for food
mc dees if i am in a hurry but you be hungry a hour after eating it. never had a BK so i cann't comment.
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 11:37:38 PM
f**k sake, it seems your hole is always stingin'
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 11:37:38 PM
Lasted about 6 months in Newry which really says something as the townies would generally eat any old muck served up.
Quote from: Puckoon on October 16, 2008, 11:36:51 PM
How can you not cook chips right and throw garlic sauce and cheese over it?
How can u not?
De-lish
there is a super macs in lurgan. Taco fries... lovely :)
one in lurgan mr just at the turnoff for the m1, you could maybe take a detour on sunday adter a success in newry ;)
hate burger king only time would eat them is if pure starving and at the airport!!used work in mcd's partime when at school so when your getting 3 meals a week you sorta get sick of them. agree mcflurrys nice carmel sundae lethal 2.
true enough you spend at least a fiver and aren't full and you could get a chinese for less and couldnt move.
would also prefer kfc to the other 2
nothing beats friar tucks!
chicken burger unreal no doubt!!anyone from anywhere newry thinks that their chicken burgers are unreal personally cant see it
Bacon Double Cheese in Burger King is the business however I agree with Pints....Friar Tuck's Chicken Burgers are class.
BTW can anyone tell me why McD's dont do vinegar???
There is on in Dungannon, in what used to be Curleys/The Oaks Centre
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 17, 2008, 10:48:54 AM
Bacon Double Cheese in Burger King is the business however I agree with Pints....Friar Tuck's Chicken Burgers are class.
BTW can anyone tell me why McD's dont do vinegar???
Prob because they dont do chips, just cheap immitations ;)
As maggie stayed in the first post - BK burgers & McD's fries. Usually though I would go to McDonald's.
Have taken a major liking to KFC at the minute though. Used to never want to step foot inside one but by jees their meals fill ye fr the same price as one outa McD's/Bk.
Chain of fast food places in Oz called Hungry Jacks,They were actually part of the Burger King group,but they had a burger called the Aussie Burger..It was the dags ballix of burgers
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 17, 2008, 11:07:02 AM
Chain of fast food places in Oz called Hungry Jacks,They were actually part of the Burger King group,but they had a burger called the Aussie Burger..It was the dags ballix of burgers
Correct saan, i lived in Hungary Jacks loved the grub and then going up to the self service ice-cream machine afterwards...Quality
Id go for KFC myself, i find i come out of the other two hungrier than when i went in, plus feeling like pure dort as well! Mc Flurrys are good tho...
Burger King or Maccy D`s? I`d prefer botulism
Do you prefer Superbites doublecross?
Quote from: full back on October 17, 2008, 01:04:38 PM
Top spot with the boss being a gent...
Its not in Ireland yet, but Wendy's is far, far nicer than either for me. Lovely chips and shakes, and very good spicy chicken burgers.
Quote from: full back on October 17, 2008, 01:04:38 PM
Cowboy supper and a bottle of fanta beats anything from McDonalds or Burger King.
Though a friar tucks chicken burger is very hard to beat with a strawberry milkshake.
Friar Tucks chicken burger is just alright. I find the chicken can be a bit dry at times though
You would need to take out a mortgage to feed a family in Friar Tucks as well
i wuz just gunna say that, friars is dear as fcuk, julies knickers was always nice back when i was in uni!
Another place thats dear as f**k and is also brutal is Eddie Rockets
Was in FT once, girl with us got a bout of food poisoning the next day.
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 17, 2008, 10:48:54 AM
I really don't know why people say stuff like that. There seems to be some sort of mythology built up in Newry, Banbridge etc around Friar Tucks like it is the law to say "Hi bi you can't beat a feed out of Friar Tucks after a session". It's average at best. If youse actually tasted a chicken burger elsewhere you'd know that!
wendys used to be on the Lisburn road, maybe 5/6 years ago. was decent enough.
dont think they have a place anywhere else
I think there is a Wendys on the Naas Rd that is part of the Apple Green petrol station
Can't beat Brights or Mannys on the Antrim Rd, Belfast. ;)
The Mannys on the Falls Rd is now closed, it was a hole though.
It's a well known fact that Belfast people eat only chips so it wouldn't be a shock that it has good chippies. Longs on the Antrim Road is nice and the Barracuda on the Ormeau Road was tasty too when I was living in the Holylands. The Barracuda famously had a porter up for 'The Healthy Option' which was pretty much a normal feed with chips apart from the addition of a bottle of water! ;D
Julie's Nags in bfast-forgot all bout that place. Rotten dot cotton
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 17, 2008, 04:30:28 PM
It's a well known fact that Belfast people eat only chips so it wouldn't be a shock that it has good chippies. Longs on the Antrim Road is nice and the Barracuda on the Ormeau Road was tasty too when I was living in the Holylands. The Barracuda famously had a porter up for 'The Healthy Option' which was pretty much a normal feed with chips apart from the addition of a bottle of water! ;D
The Sphinx in Stranmillis is the best place in Belfast I think. Jaysus Harry Ramsden's fairly went downhill very quickly. Bishops is decent as well.
Any of the Jacks on the board remember the chippers near Stephens Green that use to cook their chips in oil using the heat from a charcoal fire?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 17, 2008, 04:30:28 PM
aye and the country boys only eat spuds and carrots ;)
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 17, 2008, 01:55:05 PM
Another place thats dear as f**k and is also brutal is Eddie Rockets
Its not known as Empty Pockets for nothing. Food can be hit and miss, but it is very dear. Nice Milk shakes.
both are rotten.
KFC for mee too but not enough fries.. The gravy is delicious tho.
So I popped in to kfc this evening and was told they were cleaned out of chicken and it'd be a 10 minute wait - ok says I.
So I ordered 2 of the variety meals - got them upgraded to the large for nothing then I was fed the popcorn chicken for my ten minute wait and was given another drink for free. Then he says to me I'll give you some extra hot wings and strips - and got two more free drinks.
Now I'm sitting wtih two boxs full of chicken and I can't eat any more - does anyone want any?
10/10 for service.
Man im starving marving :(
Well I'm going to the pub now - so you've got from now till x factor starts to (cos I'll be back for xfactor) to come over to my house and eat my chicken.
Directions??
Sure i could stay for x-factor as well
Quote from: maggie on October 18, 2008, 06:29:12 PM
Directions??
Sure i could stay for x-factor as well
Sorry maggie, I've ate the rest of the chicken - and now I'm eating the mcflurry I picked up on the way home.
:-[
No wonder I'm big boned.
You're some boy
I never eat food that comes in a bucket.
Quote from: Hardy on October 18, 2008, 08:03:46 PM
I never eat food that comes in a bucket.
either would I, I'm far too posh.
it came in a box.