GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 01:40:22 PM

Title: Provincial affiliation
Post by: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 01:40:22 PM
How strong is yours. I felt no need to support Tyrone because they were from Ulster, but the majority did. There seems to be a strong affiliation amongst Ulster teams, I just don't see the reason for it. It is not as if we come out in force willing Ulster to win the Railway Cup.

Views?
Post by: 5 Sams on September 24, 2008, 01:49:48 PM
I have very strong views on this....

Why oh why should people from Ulster support whatever Ulster team is in Croke Park....I'm from Down...I have supported Down all my life, still do and always will....when it comes to county football I have have no grá for any other county...yes I admire some others but nobody else comes into the equation when it comes to roaring them on in an AIF. End of story.....would a Kerry man get behind Cork in Croker....or would a Meath man shout for the Dubs....not a f**king chance.
Title: Re: Provincial affiliation
Post by: naka on September 24, 2008, 01:55:13 PM
to be fair I think its a 6 county thing rather than a ptrovincial thing, I think nationalists from the north like to see their fellow kinsmen do well against teams from the 26 counties " partition and all that"
supported tyrone on sunday supported down in 91 and 94 as well as derry, but true allegiance would only be to the orchardcounty
s
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on September 24, 2008, 01:59:27 PM
Its not just a 6 county thing,

Every Cavan supporter i know would support an Ulster team in the latter stages against teams from other provinces.(Maybe Monaghan being the exception  ;) )
i supported Tyrone on Sunday, as i believe Kerry have won more than enough,
However for me thats more than enough for Tyrone to win,
we dont want them challenging the magical number of 5 held by Cavan and Down  ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on September 24, 2008, 02:03:06 PM
Yeah, I've noticed this partisan thing only happens in Ulster - everywhere else people use different criteria to favour teams in the latter stages of the championship.  I truly believe that for (say) a Tyrone-Sligo AI Final, all the supposedly neutral Ulster folk would support Tyrone (whether they'd admit it or not), even if they hadn't had a nark with Seanie.  :P
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2008, 02:08:29 PM
I think this very much depends on the history/ rivalry between your own county and the county involved and arrogance of rival team supporters. I took no joy in seeing Tyrone win on Sunday (thats not to say that Harte isn't a great manager or that they are not an excellent side) but I remember things like the failure of the Tyrone team to accord the customary welcome given to the then All Ireland Champions, in Omagh in March 2003,  Jordan getting Marsden sent off in 2003 etc, the crowing done after they got  asoft free to win the AI Semi Final oin 2005. What gets me most is the fickleness of the Tyrone supporters who deserted the side largely for the qtr final tie with Dublin, and would have had Harte removed instantly after the defeat by Down this year.

Similarly I can't be doing with Down crowing about 5 Sams either.

I suppose if any of the other 6 counties in Ulster appeared in an AI Final I would give them my support and would certainly like to see them win
Post by: Goats Do Shave on September 24, 2008, 02:11:14 PM
Quote from: naka on September 24, 2008, 01:55:13 PM
to be fair I think its a 6 county thing rather than a ptrovincial thing, I think nationalists from the north like to see their fellow kinsmen do well against teams from the 26 counties " partition and all that"
supported tyrone on sunday supported down in 91 and 94 as well as derry, but true allegiance would only be to the orchardcounty
s

Defo not a 6 county thing!

The Ulster team is normally, yes normally, the underdog!

I loved watching Donegal win the All Ireland, Derry too. Monaghan's advances of recent times too!

I supported Tyrone also, because I have a lot of good friends from there, not to mention my woman.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 24, 2008, 02:31:32 PM
maybe its because of the recent 'oppression' etc that the 6 counties have endured that has banded us together - and our near neighbours and provincial colleagues  too whohave shared or had a closer view of our 35 years plight!

I have been brought up to support all our provincial teams even the tyronies !

Looks like plenty of others have also. I think the 'troubles' plus the pathetic record of ulster teams in the championship outside of the ulster championship pre-qualifier times is the reason for this provincial backing.
Post by: Hardy on September 24, 2008, 02:35:22 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 24, 2008, 02:31:32 PM
maybe its because of the recent 'oppression' etc that the 6 counties have endured that has banded us together

Years of oppression could be the clue OK. It would also explain why the likes of Louth and Westmeath hate us!
Post by: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 02:39:45 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 24, 2008, 02:33:17 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2008, 02:08:29 PM
I think this very much depends on the history/ rivalry between your own county and the county involved and arrogance of rival team supporters. I took no joy in seeing Tyrone win on Sunday (thats not to say that Harte isn't a great manager or that they are not an excellent side) but I remember things like the failure of the Tyrone team to accord the customary welcome given to the then All Ireland Champions, in Omagh in March 2003,  Jordan getting Marsden sent off in 2003 etc, the crowing done after they got  asoft free to win the AI Semi Final oin 2005. What gets me most is the fickleness of the Tyrone supporters who deserted the side largely for the qtr final tie with Dublin, and would have had Harte removed instantly after the defeat by Down this year.

Similarly I can't be doing with Down crowing about 5 Sams either.

I suppose if any of the other 6 counties in Ulster appeared in an AI Final I would give them my support and would certainly like to see them win
So, the two Brians...

Quite a bit of difference there. Now you could say so, Joe Kernan as many, myself included, often called for his head on here. That would be more similar.
Post by: Candyman on September 24, 2008, 02:41:26 PM
I was supporting Tyrone because:

(1) My club-mate Collie Holmes was playing
(2) I hate that c*nt Spillane and couldn't wait to see what he had to say on the sunday game....

Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2008, 02:43:34 PM
Bummer what is this fixation with the two Brians? One of them lives beside me and I see him every day and will tell him there is a Tyrone geek who is obsessed with him.

There is no analogy between M Harte and the two Brians. M Harte had won one real All Ireland and one back door All Ireland yet there was practically universal clamour for his removal after the Tyrone defeat by Down this year.

The two Brians won two Ulster Championships and had failed (unluckily) in two All Ireland semi finals, hence the clamour (mainly from S Armagh) for their heads.

As I said no comparison whatsoever
Post by: J70 on September 24, 2008, 02:53:46 PM
Quote from: naka on September 24, 2008, 01:55:13 PM
s

Wouldn't necessarily see it as a strictly six-county thing. Down through the years, most people I knew in Donegal shouted for the Ulster team in the AI semis and (occasionally) final. Maybe there was a bit rooting for the underdog, but most people were also hoping for "one of their own" to do well, particularly as none of us made an impact on the national stage for so long.
Post by: Great Leap Forward on September 24, 2008, 02:56:48 PM
I am an Antrim man and I always would shout for the Ulster team. This may because Antrim's lack of success in football in recent times has left us without a bitter rival, apart from Derry for people who live in the country, and Down for the Belfast people in the county.

I was shouting my head off for Tyrone on sunday, the same way as I did for Down, Donegal, Derry and Armagh in the past.

I did however see people from Derry and Armagh shouting like hell for Tyrone, while one the other hand I saw ones from Down and Donegal shouting at the top of their voices for Kerry. It was quite surreal.

I did think Ross Carr made himself look a right dick on TV on Saturday night.
Post by: red hander on September 24, 2008, 02:57:59 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2008, 02:43:34 PM
Bummer what is this fixation with the two Brians? One of them lives beside me and I see him every day and will tell him there is a Tyrone geek who is obsessed with him.

There is no analogy between M Harte and the two Brians. M Harte had won one real All Ireland and one back door All Ireland yet there was practically universal clamour for his removal after the Tyrone defeat by Down this year.

The two Brians won two Ulster Championships and had failed (unluckily) in two All Ireland semi finals, hence the clamour (mainly from S Armagh) for their heads.

'there was practically universal clamour for his removal after the Tyrone defeat by Down this year'. BULLSHIT   The people calling for Mickey's head were a small minority, the same sort of people who abused his son when he played for the county. The Irish News had a front page plug jumping to its 'off the fence' column at the time (it may even have used the word clamour)... when you turned to read all about this 'clamour' it amounted to TWO phonecall to the IN calling for MH's head  ... TWO!    The vast majority of Tyrone fans backed MH after the Down games, this, afterall, was the man to who had brought us two All-Irelands (now three, which is TWO more than youse have) ...

Post by: Main Street on September 24, 2008, 02:58:23 PM
maybe its because of the recent 'oppression' etc that the 6 counties have endured that has banded us together - and our near neighbours and provincial colleagues  too whohave shared or had a closer view of our 35 years plight!

Looks like plenty of others have also. I think the 'troubles' plus the pathetic record of ulster teams in the championship outside of the ulster championship pre-qualifier times is the reason for this provincial backing.

It existed before you lot started moaning about the bit of oppression and as stated it's not confined to the 6 counties.
I remember one day Val Kane, crew cut Down player, came to town and even he had mythical status as a whole bunch of us kids crowded outside the B&B waiting to get his autograph and maybe a chance of a penny.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on September 24, 2008, 02:59:03 PM
QuoteI did think Ross Carr made himself look a right dick on TV on Saturday night.

Totally agree, couldn't believe he came out with that!
Post by: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 02:59:34 PM
Quote from: red hander on September 24, 2008, 02:57:59 PM

'there was practically universal clamour for his removal after the Tyrone defeat by Down this year'. BULLSHIT   The people calling for Mickey's head were a small minority, the same sort of people who abused his son when he played for the county. The Irish News had a front page plug jumping to its 'off the fence' column at the time (it may even have used the word clamour)... when you turned to read all about this 'clamour' it amounted to TWO phonecall to the IN calling for MH's head  ... TWO!    The vast majority of Tyrone fans backed MH after the Down games, this, afterall, was the man to who had brought us two All-Irelands (now three, which is TWO more than youse have) ...

Or maybe they just printed two.
Post by: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 02:59:58 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on September 24, 2008, 02:59:03 PM
QuoteI did think Ross Carr made himself look a right dick on TV on Saturday night.

Missed it , what happened?
Post by: Glensman on September 24, 2008, 03:02:08 PM
I generally support any team from Ulster but then as an Antrim man we have to get behind some form of cause with a hint of a possibility of success.
Was there in 91, 93, 94, 02, 03 yelling my head off for the Ulster men.

The Railway Cup, which is constantly derided, should be a bigger thing but I am not sure it ever will be in my lifetime.
I think there should be a provincial pride something which you pour scorn on TF.
You are pretty petty man with all your constant ramblings, have you nothing better to do? In the week of Tyrone stepping up to the mark again of being a great team with a great manager maybe it might be wiser to keep quiet and let them enjoy it, for god knows you did a few years back.

Maybe it was the troubles, the 'puke football' comments...but whatever it was it have worked on about 90% of people up here as I would say at least that wanted Tyrone to win.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on September 24, 2008, 03:04:08 PM
Quote from: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 02:59:58 PM

He was asked who he thought would win, and he said with the straightest face & the most dreariest voice I've ever heard -

"I've recently met Paul Galvin, & sincerely hope that Kerry beat Tyrone." - or something like that... can't remember the exact wording now!  ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 24, 2008, 03:06:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 24, 2008, 02:35:22 PM
maybe its because of the recent 'oppression' etc that the 6 counties have endured that has banded us together

Years of oppression could be the clue OK. It would also explain why the likes of Louth and Westmeath hate us!

Nothing but love for yous this year Hardy  :-* with the odd chuckle thrown in for good measure...  :P
Post by: Doogie Browser on September 24, 2008, 03:07:12 PM
No, he basically said Paul Galvin is the long lost son he wish he had or words to that affect  :-[, I was cringeing, thank god Grainne Seoige was there to help me through it.
Post by: red hander on September 24, 2008, 03:07:21 PM
Quote from: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 02:59:34 PM

Well, why hype something up on the front page if you're then going to sell the reader short?  Off the fence has many times in the past dedicated itself to one subject with several  people's views printed, why not then?
Post by: Bensars on September 24, 2008, 03:09:35 PM
I think it may have been a border thing prior to an ulster thing. I know many were delighted ( i wasnt around in the 60's) to see Down bring Sam across the border for the first time, followed then by their sudsequent success. Over the course of time it has evolved to an Ulster thing.

individuals should not be knocked for not following that line. For some the bitterness and nastiness that exits in Ulster football is so entrenched that this will never happen, however on the whole most gaels are supporting enough to recognise neighbours.

Candyman makes two very good points. Obviously many know others through work, university and just socially that they would like to see their county win just for their friends enjoyment.

The Dublin medias bias against Ulster football ( percieved or not ) and the likes of the aforementioned Mr Spillane all add to the seige mentality.
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 24, 2008, 03:10:54 PM
I won't support any other Ulster team as of right, other than my own. I can't see why fans who verbally and, in some cases, physically assault members of your family or your friends or club mates should be automatically given your allegiance because they are from the same province.

I am a purist and will favour the team that plays the game in the right spirit.

I tried really hard to support Tyrone on Sunday, and whilst I was happy for my work colleagues and friends and some of the posters on the board from Tyrone, I wouldn't have been any more or less excited had the result been different.

And no, it's not begrudgery.
Post by: Doogie Browser on September 24, 2008, 03:21:32 PM
Speaking of begrudgery, did anyone else think Paddy Doherty was far from magnanimous about Tyrone this year?  His attitude was 'it wasn't like that in my days, we had it much harder'.  I have great respect for the Down teams of the 60s and they certainly were trailblazers at the time.  I also recall him slating Oisin McConville after becoming all time scorer in the Ulster Championship, 'we had no back doors the etc'.  Lighten up man and enjoy the respect your team and generation has and be a bit more complimentary.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 24, 2008, 03:24:17 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on September 24, 2008, 03:04:08 PM

He was asked who he thought would win, and he said with the straightest face & the most dreariest voice I've ever heard -

"I've recently met Paul Galvin, & sincerely hope that Kerry beat Tyrone." - or something like that... can't remember the exact wording now!  ::)
Quote from: Doogie Browser on September 24, 2008, 03:07:12 PM
No, he basically said Paul Galvin is the long lost son he wish he had or words to that affect  :-[, I was cringeing, thank god Grainne Seoige was there to help me through it.

Why let the truth get in the way of a good story hey lads???

In fact what he said was that he had got quite friendly with Paul Galvin over the last 18 months and that he would like to see him lift Sam on Sunday.

What wrong with that? Is he not allowed an opinion....just because he didnt go along with all the other sheep and say "Come on Tyrone"...he has made a dick of himself in your eyes....wise up FFS. :-\
Post by: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 03:25:58 PM
Quote from: red hander on September 24, 2008, 03:07:21 PM

Well, why hype something up on the front page if you're then going to sell the reader short?  Off the fence has many times in the past dedicated itself to one subject with several  people's views printed, why not then?

In all my years reading off the fence I can never recall them covering just one subject. Would you want them to dedicate eight pages to it if there actually was acouple 100 calls about it?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 24, 2008, 03:26:06 PM
I have just enough support in me to support my club and my county but not enough to start supporting every other county in my province. I don't mind seeing Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo and Leitrim doing well but I wouldn't actively be shouting for them. I don't buy this "siege mentality" in Ulster either because of criticism from the Dublin media. No other province has got more brickbats thrown at it down through the years than Connacht but I still don't feel a need to rabidly shout for Mayo or Roscommon although I definitely wouldn't begrudge Mayo say an AI title win.

Seems to me like a lot of it is just basking in reflected glory.
Post by: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 03:41:45 PM
Quote from: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 03:25:58 PM

In all my years reading off the fence I can never recall them covering just one subject

. Would you want them to dedicate eight pages to it if there actually was acouple 100 calls about it?

Just had a qucik scan through the Tyrone - V Down last few pages. A lot of qauestioning of Harte, so it was hardly two people.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 24, 2008, 03:43:20 PM
was definitely shouting for Galway in 1998 just wanted some team from connacht to bring SAM across the Shannon however a part of me was jealous of them considering they had finished the job and we couldn't in 1996 , 1997 i was still shouting for them in 2001 but not as loudly ;) as regards the minors was up for roscommon in 2006 and galway last year so I'd definitely would be shouting for a team from the province even though sligonian has put me off ever shouting for sligo again  :P ;) :D
Post by: Doogie Browser on September 24, 2008, 03:43:38 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 24, 2008, 03:24:17 PM

In fact what he said was that he had got quite friendly with Paul Galvin over the last 18 months and that he would like to see him lift Sam on Sunday.

What wrong with that? Is he not allowed an opinion....just because he didnt go along with all the other sheep and say "Come on Tyrone"...he has made a dick of himself in your eyes....wise up FFS. :-\

You were watching a different programme than me then as I would say the majority of people on the night opted for Kerry much the same as on the Road to Croker on Thurs night.  So most of the sheep went for Kerry too, unless ewe are kidding?
Post by: red hander on September 24, 2008, 03:46:41 PM
Quote from: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 03:41:45 PM
Quote from: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 03:25:58 PM

In all my years reading off the fence I can never recall them covering just one subject

. Would you want them to dedicate eight pages to it if there actually was acouple 100 calls about it?

Just had a qucik scan through the Tyrone - V Down last few pages. A lot of qauestioning of Harte, so it was hardly two people.

'A lot of questioning of Harte' There's a big difference between 'questioning' someone's tactics and a 'universal clamour for his removal' do you not think?
Post by: 5 Sams on September 24, 2008, 04:03:17 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on September 24, 2008, 03:43:38 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 24, 2008, 03:24:17 PM

You were watching a different programme than me then as I would say the majority of people on the night opted for Kerry much the same as on the Road to Croker on Thurs night.  So most of the sheep went for Kerry too, unless ewe are kidding?

I'm talking about the sheep on here Doogie
Post by: bennydorano on September 24, 2008, 04:07:45 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 24, 2008, 03:26:06 PM

How does that work then?  I was genuinely delighted for Holmes and Tyrone on Sunday, but it had wore off by 6 O' clock & I wouldn't have lost any sleep if they'd lost.  
Post by: downredblack on September 24, 2008, 04:08:32 PM
I remember the aul fella telling us to follow your county then your Province .  Obviously this was pre backdoor , so the winner of the Ulster championship would be the sole representative of Ulster football left in the Championship . I don't find anything strange in supporting your Province and certainly don't feel like a sheep for doing so .
Post by: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:16:10 PM
Quotethe crowing done after they got a soft free to win the AI Semi Final oin 2005.

So Armagh wouldn't have "crowed" if they had beaten Tyrone to go on & win Sam in 2005??

QuoteSimilarly I can't be doing with Down crowing about 5 Sams either.

5 Sams is some achievement and one that Armagh would crow about forever.  Thankfully we in Down & Tyrone are very unlikely to see it in our collective lifetimes.

Your endless rants and attempts to undermine the success of your considerably superior neighbours would indicate that it is you who has the problem dealing with the success  of Down & Tyrone, not the fans of those superior neighbouring counties.  

Keep the posts coming, they are keeping us in entertainment.  

;D :D
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2008, 04:20:51 PM
Actually I know a lot of people from Armagh who  were  not supporting Tyrone on Sunday last but were rooting positively for Kerry, so this is not just indifference but a case of ABT (Anybody But Tyrone). As I say the gloating after 2003 and 2005, the whinging done after their manly defeat in that year's (2005) Ulster Final, Marsden getting sent off after being set up by Jordan, the failure to provide a guard of honour in the NFL Game in Omagh in 2003 etc all adds up. Also many of us remember hundreds of Tyrone flags greeting every Laois score in the 2003 qtr final with Armagh

I never thought I would see the day when I saw eye to eye with 5Sams but there you go.

Post by: naka on September 24, 2008, 04:24:43 PM
tony most of my mates were rooting for tyrone on sunday but by 6pm it had worn off with the hope that they win no more and armagh put in place a management team that might get us another crack at sam( but that is for another day)
Post by: red hander on September 24, 2008, 04:30:15 PM
'Also many of us remember hundreds of Tyrone flags greeting every Laois score in the 2003 qtr final with Armagh'
And Armagh fans weren't cheering on Fermanagh for the two minutes they were competitive on that very same day?
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2008, 04:31:46 PM
Agreed Naka, here's hoping for a meeting with the Backstreet sorry Backdoor Boys in next year's Ulster Championship ;)
Post by: Puckoon on September 24, 2008, 04:33:00 PM
Most people support teams with which they have connections once their own team is knocked out.

That connection may be friends, family, or a healthy respect for players they played against at school/colleges level.

I have no qualms about seeing any ulster team win, if Tyrone are not to be in the honours.

Whats the big deal - or do you all enjoy being a bunch of begrudging grumpy crabbit auld hewers?

Post by: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:33:59 PM
My aunt and uncle were a at threshing fair near Mullabawn on Sunday.  At it they had 2 big screens up and described the cheers that went up when Tyrone won.   I've head similar stories about clubs & pubs from other neighbouring counties, in areas where decent Gaels live.  Thankfully the minority bone-idle buckfast swillers from Craigavon / Lurgan don't represent the whole of the county of Armagh.

We feel your pain Tony, We love your pain!   Keep hurting!  ;D :D   ;D

TYRONE ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS 2003, 2005 & 2008!   - Live with it!!
Post by: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 04:37:55 PM

Quote from: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:33:59 PM
My aunt and uncle were a at threshing fair near Mullabawn on Sunday.  At it they had 2 big screens up and described the cheers that went up when Tyrone won.   I've head similar stories about clubs & pubs from other neighbouring counties, in areas where decent Gaels live.  Thankfully the minority bone-idle buckfast swillers from Craigavon / Lurgan don't represent the whole of the county.

We feel your pain Tony, We love your pain!   Keep hurting!  ;D :D   ;D

TYRONE ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS 2003, 2005 & 2008!   - Live with it!!

i fully supported tyrone on sunday but now im rememberin why i used to take pleasure in them losing. i still admore the team but cant understand why red hander wont admit that there was a large section of "supporters" wanting mickey harte to go. in case u hadnt noticed the irish news can only print so much and im sure they wudnt want to dedicate the entire off the fence to putting down one individual. unless maybe red hander u were one of the non believers after the down game??
Post by: bcarrier on September 24, 2008, 04:44:58 PM
I can see the logic of the Ulster thing in the pre 91 days but  now that Ulster are reasonably competitive it just smacks of inferiority complex. The media hates us thing is also pure nonsense.

Outside my own county I just like to watch talented and clean ( hard but fair)  footballers. Galway, Kerry, Meath and Dublin would be the most consistently entertaining teams in my view...and I certainly wouldnt begrudge Mayo an all ireland.

I can admire individual Tyrone players but I dont like the diving/trash talking / time wasting/ Gerry McDermott PR etc . I am sure I am not alone in being happy enough for McGinley and Gormley who have been super and generally honest players . Less so for the rest of them. Dooher has to my eye made more of the ability he was given than just about any footballer I have ever seen but his legacy is coloured for well discussed reasons. Jordan and Cavanagh also excellent if inclined to moments of cynicism. Not that they give a feck what I think.
Post by: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:48:17 PM
I was at the Down game and some ppl were questioning MH's decision to move the players around and leave it late to introduce Tommy McGuigan.   I heard no-one say that Mickey had to go as the crowd knew that injuries more than the mgt team were responsible for Down sneaking a win.    

Can no-one else see that Paddy Heaney is deflecting from his woeful predictions re: Tyrone by trying to say it was the fans who were wrong (and not him).  
Post by: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:56:21 PM
QuoteDooher has to my eye made more of the ability he was given than just about any footballer I have ever seen but his legacy is coloured for well discussed reasons. Jordan and Cavanagh also excellent if inclined to moments of cynicism. Not that they give a feck what I think.

Probably not,. What's your view on players from within your own county who are inclined to "moments of cynicism"?
Post by: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 04:57:51 PM
Quote from: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:48:17 PM
I was at the Down game and some ppl were questioning MH's decision to move the players around and leave it late to introduce Tommy McGuigan.   I heard no-one say that Mickey had to go as the crowd knew that injuries more than the mgt team were responsible for Down sneaking a win.    

Can no-one else see that Paddy Heaney is deflecting from his woeful predictions re: Tyrone by trying to say it was the fans who were wrong (and not him).  

did u read off the fence that thursday??? i remeber that one of the letters basically said "Thanks for the 2 All Irelands Mickey but now its time to move on"
Post by: clootfromthe21 on September 24, 2008, 04:59:03 PM
Quote from: Glensman on September 24, 2008, 03:02:08 PM
I generally support any team from Ulster but then as an Antrim man we have to get behind some form of cause with a hint of a possibility of success.
Was there in 91, 93, 94, 02, 03 yelling my head off for the Ulster men.

What about the Ulstermen in 92??????

Personally, I would always shout for the Ulster team in any final. To me, the rules are the same for any of the 9 counties.

Remember with much pleasure many years ago going out to dinner with the then girlfriend's uncle who was home on holidays from America. A proud son of Kingscourt, he informed his niece who was from 10 miles away in Meath that he had more in common with a North Antrim man than he had with her!!

Think possibly a number of things influence this provincial loyalty lark:

a.)  the troubles/partition to an extent - whether we like it or not, there is a slight sense of otherness about us, to which to a greater or lesser degree Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal are lumped in with the rest of us ("youse are all the same up there" - particuolary the further south you go). Us against the rest and all that.

b.) probably the most significant reason is the traditional lack of success on the national stage - whoever came out of Ulster, everybody would row in behind them because (generally) we were shite. I think the recent consistent success of Armagh and Tyrone has put considerable pressure on the provincial loyalty thing.

c.) the same point sort of - the way in which the Ulster championship has (traditionally) been shared around has a lot to do with it. If I was a Waterford man, there's no way I'd shout for Kerry in football. Same in Connacht with Galway/Mayo.

Think the other important point is that, while I was happily shouting my lungs out for Tyrone on Sunday, if they had lost it wouldn't have been the cause of any distress whatsoever. Now if it was Antrim . . . . . .

Post by: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 05:03:45 PM
Quotedid u read off the fence that thursday??? i remeber that one of the letters basically said "Thanks for the 2 All Irelands Mickey but now its time to move on"

A few dick-heads who write into a paper does not represent the views of a majority or even a sizeable minority of a counties support.  Is everyone in Armagh represnted by Fearon?
Post by: Billys Boots on September 24, 2008, 05:10:16 PM
I agree with bcarrier.
Post by: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 05:10:42 PM
Quote from: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 05:03:45 PM
Quotedid u read off the fence that thursday??? i remeber that one of the letters basically said "Thanks for the 2 All Irelands Mickey but now its time to move on"

A few dick-heads who write into a paper does not represent the views of a majority or even a sizeable minority of a counties support.  Is everyone in Armagh represnted by Fearon?

in terms of his mass he represents a large majority yes  :D

no what im saying is it wasnt a non existent thing and i dont know why alot of tyrone people are trying to ignore it. the only reason i can think of is if u r feelin guilty of bein one ureself! the irish news said that day that that was one of the hot topics they received calls and emails about. its fact. im not sayin these people represent all of tyrone or the majority (did i say majority earlier perhaps???) but they did represent a sizeable portion of the support. it was common knowledge that alot of people had thought mickey harte had outstayed his welcome. im glad he proved them wrong.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on September 24, 2008, 05:16:27 PM
To be honest corn02, I have no provincial affiliation at all.  I like to see Antrim do well in the oul stick fighting as I live there now but other than that, it's Armagh for me alone.  One county is enough to support.  The reason I don't like to see Tyrone do well is i played against Tyronies many times and never liked to see them do well.  On top of that, I watched the 2002 final in a pub in the Moy and all the locals were yelling for Kerry!
Post by: red hander on September 24, 2008, 05:32:25 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 04:37:55 PM

Quote from: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:33:59 PM
My aunt and uncle were a at threshing fair near Mullabawn on Sunday.  At it they had 2 big screens up and described the cheers that went up when Tyrone won.   I've head similar stories about clubs & pubs from other neighbouring counties, in areas where decent Gaels live.  Thankfully the minority bone-idle buckfast swillers from Craigavon / Lurgan don't represent the whole of the county.

We feel your pain Tony, We love your pain!   Keep hurting!  ;D :D   ;D

TYRONE ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS 2003, 2005 & 2008!   - Live with it!!

i fully supported tyrone on sunday but now im rememberin why i used to take pleasure in them losing. i still admore the team but cant understand why red hander wont admit that there was a large section of "supporters" wanting mickey harte to go. in case u hadnt noticed the irish news can only print so much and im sure they wudnt want to dedicate the entire off the fence to putting down one individual. unless maybe red hander u were one of the non believers after the down game??

SK, this is a forum for the discussion of GAA topics.  I have over 550 posts on this forum.  If I was one of the 'non believers' then surely I'd have given my opinion on this forum. If you can find one post on this forum in which I criticise MH or call for his resignation, I will run naked down Royal Avenue with a traffic cone shoved up my arse.  I will not admit there was a large section of supporters wanting MH to go because it isn't true ... it was a minority of gobshites.
Post by: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 05:38:20 PM
so i guessed, was doin a bit of windin up. but u have alot of trouble even admitting that the issue existed! it actually doesnt make sense for me to be arguing about this with u cos im sure u back MH all along, but i personally know people who said he should have went while he was ahead. a minority can still be a hell of alot of people.

u can only be as sure that there werent alot of people calling for his head as i can that there were! unless of course u have done a survey.
Post by: red hander on September 24, 2008, 05:44:19 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 05:38:20 PM
so i guessed, was doin a bit of windin up. but u have alot of trouble even admitting that the issue existed! it actually doesnt make sense for me to be arguing about this with u cos im sure u back MH all along, but i personally know people who said he should have went while he was ahead. a minority can still be a hell of alot of people.

u can only be as sure that there werent alot of people calling for his head as i can that there were! unless of course u have done a survey.

I have no trouble admitting the issue existed ... i'd have a lot more trouble fitting a traffic cone into my hole
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 24, 2008, 05:47:25 PM
At last some sense. CONNACHT counties are the greatest joke of all. I always get heavily critised by other connacht county lads on here for not supporting them when they get out of connacht. ::)

Take the minor final i wasnt shouting for Mayo in fact i rather see them lose, people talk shite and say but "there representing connacht" sorry but there wearing the red and green of mayo so no there just representing Mayo ok have people in connacht got that yet. Do I give a shite who they support if sligo are playing no, do i get offended if they support the opposition no. The worse state of football the other counties are playing in connacht the better for Sligo like 07.

Its all down to personal choice, im sure some people in sligo support other connacht counties and i dont agree with but i wont lose any sleep. Id have a soft spot for Waterford all down the yrs in hurling but thats about it.

I support connacht in the interprovincial rules and the rugby team, because they do in fact represent the province and wear the jersey too.
Post by: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 05:47:46 PM
Quote from: red hander on September 24, 2008, 05:44:19 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 05:38:20 PM

I have no trouble admitting the issue existed ... i'd have a lot more trouble fitting a traffic cone into my hole

:D :D
Post by: Glensman on September 24, 2008, 05:53:33 PM

What about the Ulstermen in 92??????

Cloot, I was at home watching the TV the day Donegal won but the others I was there derpiving some other poor b@stard from the respective county of a ticket.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on September 24, 2008, 06:06:15 PM
Personally I never understood why people should feel compelled to support another team they perhaps didnt like just because they are from the same province, surely that kind of thing is personal choice.

My own feeling has always been to support the Ulster teams in All-Ireland finals, it was fantastic when Down, Donegal and Derry came to prominence in the 90's and I was also delighted for Armagh in 2002. It might be different if an Ulster side came up against an underdog like Leitrim in a final but in the main I would support the Ulster sides in major finals.

All that doesnt mean to say that I dont have a good laugh when Derry and Armagh etc are dumped out of the championship ;D.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on September 24, 2008, 07:33:35 PM
You weren't the only one to be accused of that AFS.  It happens when sheep see someone deviating from their narrow-minded script.
Post by: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 09:17:30 PM
To suggest there was not a failry strong number calling for Harte's head is as crazy as suggesting the whole county wanted him to get the boot.

It may be a neighbour thing too. I want Tyrone and Down to go out as early as possible, yet when they are in a final I am meant to suddenly turn full circle? Louth would be the third neighbour yet I will them to win Leinster every year. I know it is because they don't come up against Armagh but if they met Down in a final I am meant to support Down? No chance, nothing bitter about it. I support club, county and occasionally Province. If Railway Cup games begin to sell out Croker and their is a real rivarly, only then can people talk about provinces and loyalty.
Post by: puskas on September 24, 2008, 11:28:43 PM
Watching Tyrone against Meath 07 and Laois 06, I roared on Meath and Laois. No-one wants the neighbours getting ahead of themselves. Tyrone against Kerry however and it's the lesser of 2 evils. Kerry arrogance is a beast that you can never attack enough, schadenfreude and all that, Tyrone winning another All-Ireland is unfortunate but they're still peasants like the rest of us in Ulster, peasnats who had to be shown how to win an Al-Ireland by the rest of Ulster first. Pity the slow learners.
Post by: Pangurban on September 25, 2008, 03:03:37 AM
It would be a very Dog in the Manger attitude to with-hold support from a team emanating out of your own province, in the concluding stages of the championship. I can never understand why anyone from Cork should support an Ulster team opposes Kerry, or anyone from Meath support an Ulster team opposes Dublin, yet i have seen this happen. It would be rare for any supporter in Ulster not to give whole-hearted support to the Ulster team from whichever County faced with opponents from another Province. Of course we have a few Dogs in the Manger but they are generally despised
Post by: ziggysego on September 25, 2008, 08:52:13 AM
Makes us weirder? I really wouldn't be using soccer as a benchmark for us. We're Ulster people and GAA people, that's what binds us together. Whatever of the other 8 counties make it to an All-Ireland Final, I'd be giving them my full support... even Derry!
Post by: bcarrier on September 25, 2008, 08:55:58 AM
I agree with everything AFS said there. 
Post by: full back on September 25, 2008, 08:59:16 AM
I dont know why it is, but I take great pleasure in seeing the neighbours beaten, unless it is in an All Ireland Semi or Final ???
When Tyrone played Down I was hoping the game would be abandoned or something similar, yet when Tyrone got to the semi I was hoping they would get a result.
During the Ulster c'ship I would usually shout for the underdogs (unless it is Down)
Maybe it is just some silly mentality of the North against the rest but that is the way it is....
Post by: ziggysego on September 25, 2008, 08:59:18 AM
That makes the two of you wrong then ;)
Post by: Who me on September 25, 2008, 09:10:03 AM
Hi lads just new but have to get stuck in here.I have to say as a tyrone man i would support any Ulster team in an all Ireland and that means 9 counties not just 6.I watched the game on Sunday night over here in oz with Donegal,Derry,Monaghan and Armagh men and every one was roaring for Tyrone,it was great.Had to meet up with a few Kerry man the next day for what was supposed to be their "victory" drink.Oh what a day.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 25, 2008, 09:53:01 AM
Quote from: Main Street on September 24, 2008, 02:58:23 PM

It existed before you lot started moaning about the bit of oppression and as stated it's not confined to the 6 counties.
I remember one day Val Kane, crew cut Down player, came to town and even he had mythical status as a whole bunch of us kids crowded outside the B&B waiting to get his autograph and maybe a chance of a penny.
I certainly didnt mean it to sound like it was a 6 county only thing !
I know Cavan,Monaghan and Tir Connaill support Ulster and the six county teams - and vice versa.

What do you mean 'before' Gaelic football wasnt amalgamated 800 odd years ago!

Anyhow, if your point is correct - that just means we band together due to the annual failure of the Ulster champions pre qualifier times.
I suppose since then its just habit, or the reaction to southern media's tendency to roast any ulster sides 'failure' to win the AI in recent years (obv fed up with the transition from whipping boys to competitive).

Also look at munster ruby fans - there were handfuls of these 'fans' up until they started becomming successful - and now being 'munster' transcends being from cork, kerry, limerick....
bandwagon jumpers though !
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on September 25, 2008, 10:11:40 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 24, 2008, 03:26:06 PM
I have just enough support in me to support my club and my county but not enough to start supporting every other county in my province. I don't mind seeing Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo and Leitrim doing well but I wouldn't actively be shouting for them. I don't buy this "siege mentality" in Ulster either because of criticism from the Dublin media. No other province has got more brickbats thrown at it down through the years than Connacht but I still don't feel a need to rabidly shout for Mayo or Roscommon although I definitely wouldn't begrudge Mayo say an AI title win.

Im living in Mayo now so ill be in O'Briens in Claremorris on Saturday for the minor replay. Ill sup away on a few pints of Guinness and watch the match with the locals. I won't be vocal in my support of Mayo. Neither will I be mouthin if they lose. I take no satisfaction out of Mayo doing poorly (the Rossies are a different story  ;)).....my primary satisfaction comes from my own county/club successes.

Any success for Connacht should be welcomed as it can only improve the standards and in that respect, I hope Mayo win on Saturday on the grounds that it will be a Connacht 3 in a row at minor level and heightens the possibility that in the next decade we will be having dingers of Connacht Championships rather than the two horse show it currently is......
Post by: Over the Bar on September 25, 2008, 10:14:00 AM
My support will always go the the Ulster team first, then to the under-dog.  Always has always will.  

Tir Eoghain agus Uladh Abú!!
Post by: 5 Sams on September 25, 2008, 10:19:50 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on September 25, 2008, 03:03:37 AM
It would be a very Dog in the Manger attitude to with-hold support from a team emanating out of your own province, in the concluding stages of the championship. I can never understand why anyone from Cork should support an Ulster team opposes Kerry, or anyone from Meath support an Ulster team opposes Dublin, yet i have seen this happen. It would be rare for any supporter in Ulster not to give whole-hearted support to the Ulster team from whichever County faced with opponents from another Province. Of course we have a few Dogs in the Manger but they are generally despised

I respect your opinion Pangurban but IMHO that is an awful load of bollix.....substitute the word "rare" in your statement above with "quite common"....then you'll be making sense.
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 25, 2008, 10:29:49 AM
I have always supported Ulster teams when they have progressed past Ulster. Even Monaghan ;). To be honest, Meath would be my most "hated" rival in football - never to be supported - even though I was born and bred in the north of Cavan. I don't think it is a 6 county/oppression thing either. A while pack I had some lads from Tyrone down fitting a pump at my house. I got talking to the lad that drove the van about football. He told me that his father used to follow Cavan (when Tyrone got knocked out) back in the days when we won everything. He seen them in All Ireland semis etc. He said his father used to bring back the Cavan newspapers to the people at home as the northern papers wouldn't cover the game. It seems that the clanishness in Ulster goes back along way. Personnally, I don't see anything wrong with it.
Post by: Hardy on September 25, 2008, 11:48:07 AM
I suppose it depends on what the idea of a province means to you. It means nothing to me. It makes as much sense to me to support a team because it comes from the same province as my team as it does to support them because their name starts with the same letter as my team. It's a good job Monaghan don't meet Mayo very often or I'd be in an awful puzzle.

Tyrone people, why were you not in Croke Park roaring on Declan Browne and his T-team when they won the Tommy Makem Cup? Shame.
Post by: Main Street on September 25, 2008, 01:16:53 PM
The ramifications of the border splitting the province is not a theory but an experience shared and a strong enough solidarity develops.
It's not that difficult to appreciate some of the reasons why there is a greater level of solidarity in Ulster.
Supporting another team from Ulster in the All Ireland final for example is not to be confused at all with the intensity of supporting ones own county.
There is no pain if that team loses.
As for the wearing of other county shirts >:(

Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 25, 2008, 09:53:01 AM
Also look at munster ruby fans - there were handfuls of these 'fans' up until they started becomming successful - and now being 'munster' transcends being from cork, kerry, limerick....
bandwagon jumpers though !
Many family members of mine in Kerry, staunch GAA trad, regard themselves as an integral part of brand Munster in rugby.
I must ask them, how do they pronounce that fine Munster name Federico Pucciariello? ::)

Post by: Bogball XV on September 25, 2008, 01:47:45 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 24, 2008, 02:03:06 PM
Yeah, I've noticed this partisan thing only happens in Ulster - everywhere else people use different criteria to favour teams in the latter stages of the championship.  I truly believe that for (say) a Tyrone-Sligo AI Final, all the supposedly neutral Ulster folk would support Tyrone (whether they'd admit it or not), even if they hadn't had a nark with Seanie.  :P
In my experience that's utter nonsense Billy, as many posters go on to comment Connaught teams will normally back each other, as will munster supporters and teams (this being nordieboard we can't verify that).  Leinster teams and supporters don't particularly, but then not many have reached finals since I've been south ;)
Personally a team's province used to mean little to me, but hearing the utter nonsense spouted by people (not the media surprisingly, though probably people influenced by the media) about the dirt and physicality of ulster teams would make set aside my hatred of tyrone and support them - it does depend who they are playing however, and having suffered the arrogance of many, many kerry supporters over the years, I wouldn't support them against anybody.  I remember sitting in croker 2 years ago, absolutely devastated for mayo after 10 mins of the senior final (and that wasn't just because moran was the manager).
I attended a tipp hurling shindig 2/3 years ago when Cork played Galway in the hurling final, I was shocked by the amount of them who were up for cork, not because of galway's proximity (nor the aftermath of the '88 final), but because Cork were munster!!