Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Gs Man on August 14, 2008, 04:16:33 PM

Title: Whats sports would you like to see at the Olympics?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 14, 2008, 04:16:33 PM
Apart from Dwarf Throwing and Bog Snorkelling what would you like to see at London 2012?

Title: Re: Whats sports would you like to see at the Olympics?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 14, 2008, 04:19:48 PM
Snooker,Darts,Golf,Womens Boxing
Post by: full back on August 14, 2008, 04:20:45 PM
Football or Hurling
Post by: AZOffaly on August 14, 2008, 04:21:22 PM
I'd like to see a team gold event, like the Dunhill Cup, or even better, confined to amateurs.

Women's mud wrestling would be good too.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 14, 2008, 04:22:51 PM
Some form of car racing and Speedway
Post by: Square Ball on August 14, 2008, 04:23:35 PM
Beer drinking, individuals and teams
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 14, 2008, 04:24:18 PM
We used to have a stretdher race at the fleadh in Cross every year where a pint was gulped in one go at each corner by the "patient" on the stretcher.  I'd love to see that around a track ;D
Post by: Yes I Would on August 14, 2008, 04:27:59 PM
A Greasy Pig Contest, or maybe Russian Roulette.

By the way tennis or soccer should be no where near an olympics. Feckers earn enough during the year!!
Post by: The Gs Man on August 14, 2008, 04:29:47 PM
That one where they run down a big hill after a lump of cheese would be good craic.
Post by: Minder on August 14, 2008, 04:31:55 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 14, 2008, 04:27:59 PM

By the way tennis or soccer should be no where near an olympics. Feckers earn enough during the year!!

Armagh ladies do not have a team in the Olympics.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 14, 2008, 04:32:37 PM
kabadi
Post by: Yes I Would on August 14, 2008, 04:33:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 14, 2008, 04:31:55 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 14, 2008, 04:27:59 PM

Armagh ladies do not have a team in the Olympics.

No but they should have. Would be great craic!
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 14, 2008, 04:33:36 PM
Dodgeball
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 14, 2008, 04:34:50 PM
Sumo,
Post by: The GAA on August 14, 2008, 04:35:01 PM
20 20 cricket
Post by: Canalman on August 14, 2008, 04:39:16 PM
That most noble of Irish Martial Arts.........Chipper Fighting.
Post by: under the bar on August 14, 2008, 04:41:16 PM
c**k-fighting....
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 14, 2008, 04:47:06 PM
Quote from: under the bar on August 14, 2008, 04:41:16 PM
c**k-fighting....
You hardly need to * out the letters of c**k - it ain't a swear word in this sentance, unless you are saynig that we should have some sort of combat sport using our todgers. :D
Post by: ziggysego on August 14, 2008, 05:06:08 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 14, 2008, 04:16:33 PM
Apart from Dwarf Throwing and Bog Snorkelling what would you like to see at London 2012?

Fuckin' hell. Remind me not to attend one of your gigs.....

Anyway, back to the thread. Football and Hurling.
Post by: bingobus on August 14, 2008, 05:07:17 PM
WWE Wrestling, handball (not the olympic version) and bingo.
Post by: Lucius Fox on August 14, 2008, 05:08:47 PM
subbuteo
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 14, 2008, 05:51:25 PM
Tractor reversing under the 'ONeill' rules
Post by: Puckoon on August 14, 2008, 06:19:40 PM
Wife Carrying

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wife_carrying  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wife_carrying)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 14, 2008, 06:21:37 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 14, 2008, 06:19:40 PM
Wife Carrying

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wife_carrying  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wife_carrying)

Good man
Post by: The Gs Man on August 14, 2008, 06:54:06 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 14, 2008, 05:06:08 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 14, 2008, 04:16:33 PM

Fuckin' hell. Remind me not to attend one of your gigs.....

Post by: dec on August 14, 2008, 07:15:23 PM
Piggyback races
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 14, 2008, 07:17:59 PM
Chess.
Post by: under the bar on August 14, 2008, 08:05:38 PM
Quotec**k-fighting....
You hardly need to * out the letters of c**k - it ain't a swear word in this sentance, unless you are saynig that we should have some sort of combat sport using our todgers. Cheesy

I didn't.  The mods did!
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 14, 2008, 10:38:55 PM
Quote from: under the bar on August 14, 2008, 08:05:38 PM
Quotec**k-fighting....
You hardly need to * out the letters of c**k - it ain't a swear word in this sentance, unless you are saynig that we should have some sort of combat sport using our todgers. Cheesy

I didn't.  The mods did!

Dear mods.

A c**k is another name for a Rooster. In this sentance it does not mean penis. Penis fighting would be worth watching in the olympics though.
Post by: ziggysego on August 14, 2008, 10:40:42 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on August 14, 2008, 10:38:55 PM
Dear mods.

A c**k is another name for a Rooster. In this sentance it does not mean penis. Penis fighting would be worth watching in the olympics though.

Whatever floats your boat.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 14, 2008, 10:43:31 PM
 badger bating yes!!
penis fighting, No!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 14, 2008, 10:44:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 14, 2008, 10:42:02 PM
You'd need to be a hard f**ker for that.

(http://www.extrememortman.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/Rim%20Shot%20Johnny%20Utah.jpg)
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 15, 2008, 09:45:34 PM
25 card games should be allowed...
Post by: Arthur on August 16, 2008, 09:57:52 AM
I'd love to see someone win a medal at the athletics not full of drugs.
Post by: rosnarun on August 17, 2008, 12:12:58 AM
c**k
Post by: rosnarun on August 17, 2008, 12:15:01 AM
sorry just had  to see if  your really couldnt' say c**k never knew that .
how abou **** f**k bastard shit thats it im our except for w**ker
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 17, 2008, 09:30:44 AM
Muff diving
Post by: fred the red on August 17, 2008, 09:53:55 AM
Pot noddle eating
Post by: Puckoon on August 17, 2008, 11:41:48 AM
Quote from: fred the red on August 17, 2008, 09:53:55 AM
Pot noddle eating

I know a fella that would take Bronze, Silver and Gold. He'd maybe try and eat the flag pole too.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 17, 2008, 02:10:18 PM
Pro Evo
Post by: nifan on August 17, 2008, 02:24:20 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 17, 2008, 02:10:18 PM
Pro Evo

Now you are talking!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 17, 2008, 02:53:09 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 17, 2008, 02:24:20 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 17, 2008, 02:10:18 PM
Pro Evo

Now you are talking!

Record number of northern irish entrants, particularly students from the holyland area! We used to just sit and play this from the morning to the night!!
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on August 17, 2008, 08:47:36 PM
Horse racing -proper horse racing!  None of this dancing about in top hats and tails!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 17, 2008, 08:48:15 PM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on August 17, 2008, 08:47:36 PM
Horse racing -proper horse racing!  None of this dancing about in top hats and tails!

Would you give the horses the medals!!?
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on August 17, 2008, 08:58:01 PM
Best off chucking the medal to the jockey (AP).

Think at the last olympics on Irelands only medal they credited the jockey and the horse (waterford Crystal) before the shifty horse got caught out.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 17, 2008, 08:59:51 PM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on August 17, 2008, 08:58:01 PM
Best off chucking the medal to the jockey (AP).

Think at the last olympics on Irelands only medal they credited the jockey and the horse (waterford Crystal) before the shifty horse got caught out.

Thats right the horse was a junkie!! The horses do all the work in those events at the minute, stupid posh people anyway.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 17, 2008, 09:08:38 PM
Muff Diving
Post by: ziggysego on August 17, 2008, 09:13:48 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 17, 2008, 09:08:38 PM
Muff Diving

Donegal's the place for that.
Post by: rolloutking on August 19, 2008, 12:58:40 AM
HANDBALL

However it looks highly unlikely in its current form given the requirements set down by the IOC. Something like 75 countries have to be playing before it can be put forward for proposal

At the 2006 world championships in canada there was something like 29 participating countries but that was including one wall

If the game can be adapted to form a universal code throughout the world then it could be included. This would more than likely mean one wall

The host country did have a choice of showcasing non competition demonstration sports up untill 1992 but this was taken away due to the sheer amount of organization the Olympics takes already. This would have been possibility in London 2012 with the Eton fives version of the game having a good case for being the demonstration sport.

Some demonstration sports that have been displayed are:

Tennis
Badmington
Baseball
Rugby
Squash
Netball
Karate
Golf

Some sports of
Post by: youngfella on August 19, 2008, 01:04:48 AM
20:20 cricket would be good craic.

Tug of war...... on ice
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 19, 2008, 02:27:54 AM
7's Rugby

Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 19, 2008, 03:55:37 AM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on August 17, 2008, 08:47:36 PM

Its tough for the horses to keep that top hat on unless they have a long chin strap.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 19, 2008, 03:56:28 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 17, 2008, 09:08:38 PM
Muff Diving

Already suggested ;)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 19, 2008, 07:08:59 AM
Did you see that Russian Gal at the pole vault?  AWESOME 

Post by: The Gs Man on August 19, 2008, 10:24:56 AM
Horseback Archery!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 19, 2008, 11:09:51 AM
Darts! It would be hillarious to see big fat fu*kers getting Olympic medals. I'm sure they'd never pass drugs tests with all the shite they must be eating. Arm wrestling would be good craic too.
Post by: Evil Genius on August 19, 2008, 11:46:32 AM
I think somebody else mentioned it, but I'd revive a sport which used to feature in the Games. No, not Live pigeon Shooting( :o), but Tug of War!
Seriously. I remember our local "Sports" used to have it, and it was deadly. I know, people may laugh, lumping it in with darts or snooker etc, as something for fat, middle-aged men with beer bellies etc. In fact, there is a huge amount of techniique, tactics and teamwork involved, as well as pure strength.
Nor are the smaller guys excluded, since it is contested in weight categories; nor does it need much technical equipment, or special facilities, either. My local team used to practice tugging against a tractor, or hauling concrete weights over the bough of a big tree.
And it's a great spectator sport, too, since it's easy to see who's winning and it arouses great excitement, without taking so long to complete that it keeps you away from the beer tent!
Besides, it's always useful for Pub Qiuizzes, since it's the only sport in the world where the winner goes backwards... ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 11:50:55 AM
What about Rowing or the Backstroke? (for the winner going backwards thing)
Post by: Onion Bag on August 19, 2008, 11:52:05 AM
Have been keeping an eye out for the womans volleyball, any word
Post by: Evil Genius on August 19, 2008, 12:10:14 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 11:50:55 AM
What about Rowing or the Backstroke? (for the winner going backwards thing)

Re. rowing, isn't there a difference between facing backwards and travelling backwards? Besides, the cox gets to sit facing forward i.e. in the boat's direction of travel.

And as regards swimming, backstrokers are still proceeding forward, it's just that they are prone rather than supine (or is it the other way round?). Anyhow, all the competitors are racing together in the same direction.

Whereas, in T o W, the winner MUST be going backwards, since the loser is clearly going forward!  ;)

I think my Quiz Question still stands!  :D