GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Reillers on August 01, 2008, 12:32:46 PM

Title: Cork V Kilkenny
Post by: Reillers on August 01, 2008, 12:32:46 PM
It's not for another week or so but when you're bored you're bored.

I've absolutely no idea who'll win this game. There are so many ifs and buts before the thing even starts. We'll be in a better position to judge when the teams are named but I think, I hope that Cork will shade it, barely. (But of course I'd say that.) It'll go down to the wire closer then Cork's last 2 games and harder then any that Kikenny have played since in the semi last season.
For years both teams seemed to cancel each other out.
A lot will depend on team selection, especially from Cork. Who plays FB and who plays up front being the main question. Cork have played some very difficult games all ready this season, and KK well, have played none really, time will tell if that will work for or against the teams.
It's a hard one to call, and Kilkenny will for some reason have the favorite tag but I think Cork will just shade it.
Title: Re: Cork V Kilkenny
Post by: EddieMerx on August 01, 2008, 12:36:01 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 01, 2008, 12:32:46 PM

Kilkenny will for some reason have the favorite tag but I think Cork will just shade it.

Probably because Kilkenny have won the last two All-Irelands and Cork haven't exactly been in a form that would beat the mighty Cats. I'll stick my head out here and go for a Kilkenny win of over 5 points
Post by: Reillers on August 01, 2008, 12:59:57 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on August 01, 2008, 12:36:01 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 01, 2008, 12:32:46 PM

Kilkenny will for some reason have the favorite tag but I think Cork will just shade it.

Probably because Kilkenny have won the last two All-Irelands and Cork haven't exactly been in a form that would beat the mighty Cats. I'll stick my head out here and go for a Kilkenny win of over 5 points
I know like for the last 2 games in the second half, what have they been doing. Kilkenny haven't proved themselves this season, their last actual test was their semi final  last season. Cork have proven themselves this season after been written off again and again and again.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 01, 2008, 01:08:08 PM
I suppose it's a case of where you rate Clare and Galway!! Clare I really don't rate as good as Kilkenny or Tipp and the same with Galway... Would Cork be able to steamroll past Kilkenny in a second half where they have got the stuffing knocked out of them in the first half.. I don't think so (just my opinion) Kilkenny I believe at present are possibly one of the greatest hurling teams of all time, Kilkenny have stepped it up to a new level and I just can't see Cork forcing the best out of this Cats team.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 01, 2008, 01:13:51 PM
I'll think more about this next week, but I would say a couple of things at this point.

Cork will put it up to Kilkenny, I have no doubt about that. Pride alone will take them along way. However, if Cork find themselves in the same situation against Kilkenny as they did against Galway (man down - 4 points down) or Clare (9 points down), they will not come back against the Cats. Of course they'll rally as you'd expect, but the Cats will be far more clinical and competitive against the comeback than either Clare or Galway.

If Diarmuid O'Sullivan plays at full back, I'd expect Kilkenny to score at least 3 goals, which would see them win, I think, by at least 5 points.

If Diarmuid O'Sullivan doesn't play at full back, I'd still think Kilkenny would be slight favourites, but maybe only by a point or two.

I wouldn't write off Cork at all, but Kilkenny have been the class of the championship for the past 2 years, and deserve to be up there as favourites. Whether Cork can knock them off their perch is up to Cork. I wouldn't rule it out, but I would be marginally surprised.
Post by: Reillers on August 01, 2008, 01:36:08 PM
The problem is, it'd be a lot easier if we knew the team but, Sully at fb, I think he has to start, simply because there is no one else.
If there's a problem if he's playing bad he most be taken off right there and then not ten minutes later when we're 3 goals down. I agree if we we're left in the same situation as we were against Galway or Clare at half time we might as well not come back out for the second half because they've the class to just keep the scoreboard ticking over.

If he struggles he's off but off fast, it's pointless of waiting till the 50 odd minute and Cork are 8 points down. But I think, I hope, that Sully will play well. The selectors really need to bite the bullet on this one though. If it's going wrong they need to change it and change it fast. But I feel that the team they started with against Clare is best to start with, sometimes you're better off making changes during the game then starting off with them, they tend to work better.
Like it was one thing when we were against Galway and Clare, we could move Gaa back into fb because there was where the immediate threat was, but against KK, he'll be needed there. The main threat came from one player when it was against Clare and Galway but against Kilkenny, it'll be from every where.

To be honest as much as I don't like saying it Waterford were the class of the championship last season, KK played one tough game and had way too much class for Limerick. KK in 06 all right were the "class of the championship" but that was 2 seasons ago. Their last serious test was the semi last season. Cork could well have heavy legs going into the game and KK, well it's the theory of untested v rested.
They will be favs all right, which isn't a bad thing because every single time these teams have met the underdogs have won. That and throw in the hoodoo of the 3 in a row paranoia. 3 words that will be banned from Kilkenny in the next week I'd say. Cork have proven that they still have that hunger in them, do KK, time will tell. I just think, that oh God I think we're in for a draw. Cork I think and I'm not just saying this, could shade it by a point or so once we play a full game and once the legs don't go. We'll know a lot more when the teams are named but like..
You couldn't get a more 50/50 match if you tried though.
Rebels abú!!
Post by: EddieMerx on August 01, 2008, 01:44:10 PM
Did Kilkenny not play Wexford in the semi last year??? from what I can remember that wasn't much of a test
Post by: Reillers on August 01, 2008, 01:52:26 PM
Was it Wexford, maybe it was the quarter final then. They'd a hard enough test there somewhere. Galway I think it could have been them, or was that the year before. I can't really remember, I thought they'd a hard test then but, clearly not.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 01, 2008, 02:21:17 PM
I think Galway played well last year for the first half but still got well beaten in the end, if this is what you consider a tough test then surely Kilkenny have been tested twice this year considering the first half displays by Wexford and Offaly.. I think this Kilkenny team is so good that on their day it's hard to find a team to test them.  It's a pity that Kilkenny are not given the credit they deserve by Munster folk as no matter what they do or who they beat ye always qualify their achievement by saying they had an easy path through. If Kilkenny go on to win the three in the row I see Munster folk saying "They beat a Cork/Waterford team at the end of it's cycle or a Tipp team full of youngsters)

Shame really as if the Cats do win the three in a row, they must be hailed as the greatest hurling team of the modern era (even all time)
Post by: INDIANA on August 01, 2008, 06:44:33 PM
i think cork on sunday week will face a cats team determined to get the 3 in a row. Apparently the cats are treating this as the defining match of their careers and the training is only savage with a capital s.  I've read the proposed cork teams taking sully out etc from the cork people here who know their team well, just that when i stack it up against the cats, i only see one winner.
The difference between the 2 teams is goals. The cats openly go for goals, cork don't in my view. cork will need at least 2-3 goals to beat the cats. 2 fine teams but i only see one result. the cats by 5/6.
Post by: Reillers on August 01, 2008, 07:04:45 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 01, 2008, 06:44:33 PM
i think cork on sunday week will face a cats team determined to get the 3 in a row. Apparently the cats are treating this as the defining match of their careers and the training is only savage with a capital s.  I've read the proposed cork teams taking sully out etc from the cork people here who know their team well, just that when i stack it up against the cats, i only see one winner.
The difference between the 2 teams is goals. The cats openly go for goals, cork don't in my view. cork will need at least 2-3 goals to beat the cats. 2 fine teams but i only see one result. the cats by 5/6.

And what do ya think the Cork team been doing, crosswords and knitting??
If there is one team that wants to stop Kilkenny it's Cork, we all know why.
You want any proof of hunger from a team look at Cork, written off against Galway, down a man at half and we win it, written off again against Clare, down 9 points at half time and yet again we win it. We wanted it more.
KK will face a Cork team who will do absolutley anything to stop this KK team winning the 3 in a row, savagely hungry. Cork will want it more then Kilkenny. It is the defining match of a few Cork player's careers. KK haven't been tested in a long, long time. The hype circus will write itself about KK, they will be written up again and again and again, it'll piss the Cork team off even more and they'll face a beast that is Cork hurling at it's best.
We have players that can score us goals. Last season we didn't. This season though, Horgan, Naughton, Pa, Fraggy, Timmy, Ronan..etc even Ben, Deane. There's goals there and if we need them, like we did against Clare we'll get them.
I can't believe the amount of people, despite what we've seen in front of our own eyes in the past 2 weeks where we saw 2 of the games of the season, who keep writing this team off because of a myth that is Kilkenny hurling. They're a bloody good team, but they haven't had a serious game since last season. They've not proven themselves at all this season but yet again people continue to write us off.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 01, 2008, 08:18:52 PM
I don't think either game was game of the season to be honest, exciting maybe but I would put the Wexford Waterford game above it considering the two teams were neck and neck throughout not like the two Cork games where they were a game of two halves!! I really can't see how you say Cork are hungrier than Kilkenny ??? Both teams will be as hungry as each other but I think Kilkenny just have the better players.

Galway and Clare are not as good as Kilkenny, I'd go as far as saying the pick of both wouldn't be as good as the Cats! Cork to have a chance have to hurl for 70 minutes at a performance above anything they have produced this year. Kilkenny haven't been tested because they are so bloody good, in saying that I do think if the key players for Cork can roll back the years and give the games of their lives they are probably the best equipped team to do a smash and grab on Kilkenny.
Post by: INDIANA on August 01, 2008, 10:29:40 PM
reillers , you don't have a full back. You cannot win an all-ireland without one. gardiner is a super wing back, but even canning and gilligan caused him awful bother at Fb. You won't beat a team like the cats with that sort of a weakness. I also don't think the forward line is as good as it used to be. Ben O Connor and joe deane have to have absolute blinders on sun week. Naughton, horgan and cronin are fine hurlers but they lack experience. this is a huge step up. You think they can step up, i'm not so sure. they will in time, i just don't think it will be this year.  you'll have the likes of tommy walsh and hickey horsing into them. its a question of whether they can take the physical battering they are likely to get.
Post by: Reillers on August 02, 2008, 01:04:01 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 01, 2008, 10:29:40 PM
reillers , you don't have a full back. You cannot win an all-ireland without one. gardiner is a super wing back, but even canning and gilligan caused him awful bother at Fb. You won't beat a team like the cats with that sort of a weakness. I also don't think the forward line is as good as it used to be. Ben O Connor and joe deane have to have absolute blinders on sun week. Naughton, horgan and cronin are fine hurlers but they lack experience. this is a huge step up. You think they can step up, i'm not so sure. they will in time, i just don't think it will be this year.  you'll have the likes of tommy walsh and hickey horsing into them. its a question of whether they can take the physical battering they are likely to get.

We have a fb, if Sully doesn't play well we will accommodate that and have the depth to change it. Gaa did a bloody good job on hurlings new prodigy and a player who had an absolute blinder. Our forward line is better then it used to be. Ben has been playing blinders all season, in my mind player of the season so far. Deane played a blinder against Galway, didn't get any space against Clare, was subbed and what a sub it was, we've impact subs which is always handy, we have a stronger bench then KK. There is no evidence to say that they wont have blinders seeing as they have been all season. Naughton had zero experience in the semi final in 06, made his debut against Waterford in the semi, if you're memory's short I'll remind you, a point with his first touch, goal with his second, won us the game. The young lads have proven themselves in the most dire circumstances. They stood up. Horgan oozes with confidence, Naughton the same, Pa Cronin showed his real potential in the second half against Clare. These lads have stood up and down it, KK shouldn't be any different there might be a few jitters from both sides at the start but they'll settle.
Everything you've said that's been wrong with Cork, they've actually ended up showing otherwise.
You know there are actually, despite what you may think, bloody good players on the Cork team, we didn't accidently appear in 4 finals in a row and win 2 of them. We didn't come back against Galway and Clare by fluke. This team has proven itself, KK hasn't, not in a long time.

Kilkenny have done nothing in a long time to show that's been impressive, they haven't been tested and not because they've been that head and shoulders above good but because the opposition they've had was that bad. If you ask me we've proven ourselves this season, silenced our critics and answered the questions that have been asked. We came back, dug deep and found passion and heart and fight in us that everyone said was gone, the media insulted this team by completely righting them off, readying the gallows. We've played outstanding hurling against a KK side that has played none in weeks. If anyone should be questioned, it should be them, we've stepped up, proven ourselves when every single person said we couldn't, while they've sat back and watched. Yet we're still questioned, still written off, but yo know what, it'll only wind the lads up even more, like a wind up cog waiting to explode. While the media for the week will speak of KK on their way to winning the 3 in a row, they'll make them red hot favorites for doing nothing. Yet again we'll be written off and I've every confidence that we'll prove them wrong.
We've answered our questions this season, we've proven ourselves..they haven't.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 02, 2008, 01:37:03 AM
Sounds like you perceive yourselves to be favourites their Reillers.

You can only beat what's in front of you and Kilkenny have beaten teams who have either beaten or seriously threatened good Munster teams. Have they not been challenged or have they been too good for the challenge - that's the question.

You're the only team with the personnel to challenge KK IMO but you write like KK will have to step it up and not Cork and that's quite a misguided opinion!

Cork, as I see it, have ~5/6 of real class and the rest are much of a muchness(not in a bad way but in a not all star material kind of way) while KK have class players who are not playing. That should pull them through with a bit to go.

(Don't get me wrong I'd like to see Cork win but I canny see it)
Post by: Reillers on August 02, 2008, 02:11:33 AM
No I just can't stand the fact that despite being written off twice, despite us coming back from almost immposible situations that not many teams would have, after being on strike, challenging the county board and having to start our preparations later then everyone else, we played bloody good hurling, we've shown our true class everywhere, I'd love to here you're only 5 or 6 players, I'd love to hear what you consider isn't all star worthy?? We've answered all our critics, all the question we've played some of the hurling of the championship, some being the best we've played in years, despite being written off every time to the point where it was almost insulting. Oh they're over the hill, oh the Galway game was their last kick, oh they wont be Clare, Clare will be hungrier, better..etc, and now oh aren't kk great. I've seen nothing in the last year to suggest that they're immortal. They're bench and depth is bluff and propaganda, Cody makes threats in the papers that scare the players, he's players thinking that anyone can be dropped which is bull. We've a stronger bench then they have and that's coming from Kk fans.

Whether I think we're favorites is irrelevant, do I think that we've earned the right not to be laughed off again, oh KK by 6 or 7 points, type attitude, ya I think we have. We have answered every single question we've been asked and some. Our team has played some of it's best hurling in years if you listen to the pundits. But that's not enough to even be considered by some people to be in with a shot. I think we've earned the rights to be favorites, I don't think KK have. They haven't had a serious test in a long time. We've had 2 in 8 days. So it wrecks my head completely when I hear things like sure Cork could stay with them, they might just win or they're 2 good teams but I only see one result, Kk by 5 or 6. Haven't we by now earned some respect from the media not to be completely written off, because according to them, we might as well not turn up because KK are so good.  ::) ::)
This team has beaten them before and they will again, they are not immortal, they're not that special and I cannot wait till the Leinster is somehow changed so they get a decent challenge. It isn't their fault who they get to play, they've been extremely lucky. They've had it extremely easy. It's not their fault but it doesn't make it any less true. 
You say that we have only 5 or 6 players who are all star material, but let me guess that you think the majority of the KK players are God like.
People keep saying we're done, over the hill..etc yet there's in no proof of that, or so called finished players look 5 years younger. They've been training and working their socks off all season, and the players, except Sully, look better then ever, the likes of Ben, Naughton, Kenny, there's speed we've never had before, Christ like Kenny at times looks like he's been training for the 100m in Beijing. They've been working so hard, they've been amazing and yet here we are. We've the ability to dazzle Kilkenny with the speed that we now have. God knows we have it-Naughton is a flyer and brilliant at carrying the ball,Ben is obvious as are tom and Jerry. This is a better Cork team then what we've seen in a few years. Yet like I said, here we are given maybes, ifs and I suppose if they're lucky, as our best chance of winning.

It just wrecks my head that a team that has pulled out all the stops, has played better hurling then ever this season, have gone above and beyond, has defied logic, has come back from the dead, is still written off because Kilkenny are Kilkenny. Who have it nice and easy and are of course superior to everyone else because 2 good games a season proves that. We've proven ourselves over and over this season, but no next to those God like characters we're only ordinary. I hope the Cork players read the newspapers, read the "neutrals" view because that will just rile them up more. They deserve more then maybe they might if they're lucky be in with a chance, for all they've done this season, they deserve more then that.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on August 02, 2008, 11:03:00 AM
Quote from: Reillers on August 02, 2008, 02:11:33 AM
No I just can't stand the fact that despite being written off twice, despite us coming back from almost immposible situations that not many teams would have, after being on strike, challenging the county board and having to start our preparations later then everyone else, we played bloody good hurling, we've shown our true class everywhere, I'd love to here you're only 5 or 6 players, I'd love to hear what you consider isn't all star worthy?? We've answered all our critics, all the question we've played some of the hurling of the championship, some being the best we've played in years, despite being written off every time to the point where it was almost insulting. Oh they're over the hill, oh the Galway game was their last kick, oh they wont be Clare, Clare will be hungrier, better..etc, and now oh aren't kk great. I've seen nothing in the last year to suggest that they're immortal. They're bench and depth is bluff and propaganda, Cody makes threats in the papers that scare the players, he's players thinking that anyone can be dropped which is bull. We've a stronger bench then they have and that's coming from Kk fans.

Whether I think we're favorites is irrelevant, do I think that we've earned the right not to be laughed off again, oh KK by 6 or 7 points, type attitude, ya I think we have. We have answered every single question we've been asked and some. Our team has played some of it's best hurling in years if you listen to the pundits. But that's not enough to even be considered by some people to be in with a shot. I think we've earned the rights to be favorites, I don't think KK have. They haven't had a serious test in a long time. We've had 2 in 8 days. So it wrecks my head completely when I hear things like sure Cork could stay with them, they might just win or they're 2 good teams but I only see one result, Kk by 5 or 6. Haven't we by now earned some respect from the media not to be completely written off, because according to them, we might as well not turn up because KK are so good.  ::) ::)
This team has beaten them before and they will again, they are not immortal, they're not that special and I cannot wait till the Leinster is somehow changed so they get a decent challenge. It isn't their fault who they get to play, they've been extremely lucky. They've had it extremely easy. It's not their fault but it doesn't make it any less true. 
You say that we have only 5 or 6 players who are all star material, but let me guess that you think the majority of the KK players are God like.
People keep saying we're done, over the hill..etc yet there's in no proof of that, or so called finished players look 5 years younger. They've been training and working their socks off all season, and the players, except Sully, look better then ever, the likes of Ben, Naughton, Kenny, there's speed we've never had before, Christ like Kenny at times looks like he's been training for the 100m in Beijing. They've been working so hard, they've been amazing and yet here we are. We've the ability to dazzle Kilkenny with the speed that we now have. God knows we have it-Naughton is a flyer and brilliant at carrying the ball,Ben is obvious as are tom and Jerry. This is a better Cork team then what we've seen in a few years. Yet like I said, here we are given maybes, ifs and I suppose if they're lucky, as our best chance of winning.

It just wrecks my head that a team that has pulled out all the stops, has played better hurling then ever this season, have gone above and beyond, has defied logic, has come back from the dead, is still written off because Kilkenny are Kilkenny. Who have it nice and easy and are of course superior to everyone else because 2 good games a season proves that. We've proven ourselves over and over this season, but no next to those God like characters we're only ordinary. I hope the Cork players read the newspapers, read the "neutrals" view because that will just rile them up more. They deserve more then maybe they might if they're lucky be in with a chance, for all they've done this season, they deserve more then that.

Jesus, if the team take these percieved slights on their ability as seriously as you then they will have all the motivation in the world! If i were you, id be delighted that Kilkenny are bring tipped to win by 5+ points! "Deserve" doesnt it.....you dont deserve AI titles, you earn them. If they have another Celtic Cross they'll not give a shite for what  pundits or neutrals think and neither will you im sure
Post by: Reillers on August 02, 2008, 12:11:21 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on August 02, 2008, 11:03:00 AM
Quote from: Reillers on August 02, 2008, 02:11:33 AM

Jesus, if the team take these percieved slights on their ability as seriously as you then they will have all the motivation in the world! If i were you, id be delighted that Kilkenny are bring tipped to win by 5+ points! "Deserve" doesnt it.....you dont deserve AI titles, you earn them. If they have another Celtic Cross they'll not give a shite for what  pundits or neutrals think and neither will you im sure
Earn being the main word here.
Post by: INDIANA on August 02, 2008, 03:05:32 PM
Reillers its simply the general arrogance that Cork have . I'm not knocking it, but cork can't bear to be second best at anything. Man to man your team doesn't stack up to kilkennny. and i'll argue that all day, and i'll win the argument too. But that doesn't mean cork can't beat kilkenny on sunday week. Of course they can, but in my view they won't.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 02, 2008, 03:35:37 PM
I thought it was the ulster boys with the persecution complex too...

You're the only team with the personnel to beat Kilkenny. Everyone gets written of against Kilkenny so not so sure why you take it so personally.

With regard to the last two games the only time you've been written off is when you yourselves have left yourselves a big hole to get out of so no one else can be blamed for that. 15 against 15 in the last two games when you were level no one who knew anything about hurling was writing you off.

Then again, how dare we write cork off...
Post by: Square Ball on August 02, 2008, 07:23:57 PM
I take it that this game is in Croke?
Post by: orangeman on August 02, 2008, 11:40:32 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on August 02, 2008, 07:23:57 PM
I take it that this game is in Croke?

Why not do the sensible thing and take this game to Semple Stadium ?
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 12:05:26 AM
for the umpeenth time, all ireland semis have to be played in croke park due to the premium tickets.
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 12:17:10 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 12:05:26 AM
for the umpeenth time, all ireland semis have to be played in croke park due to the premium tickets.

Gotcha now - sorry !

Is there any other incentive you could give to the premium ticket holders ?
Post by: Square Ball on August 03, 2008, 12:59:40 PM
trying to get tickets for a friend, there are none on Ticket Master, are they out yet?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 04, 2008, 10:58:56 PM
Kilkenny by at least 6 points....
The only team that can stop the Cats this year are Tipp in my opinion
Post by: orangeman on August 05, 2008, 10:28:44 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 04, 2008, 10:58:56 PM
Kilkenny by at least 6 points....
The only team that can stop the Cats this year are Tipp in my opinion

I'd agree with you there - I think Kilkenny will take Cork - Tipp then have to beat Waterford to set up an old style AI final between Tipp who won't be in the slightest afraid of the Cats or their record.
Post by: timmykelleher on August 06, 2008, 10:06:16 AM
Cork team named.

CORK (SH V KILKENNY): D Óg Cusack; S O'Neill, D O'Sullivan, B Murphy; J Gardiner, R Curran, S Óg Ó'hAilpín; T Kenny, J O'Connor; B O'Connor, N McCarthy, P Cronin; C Naughton, J Deane, P Horgan.

Diarmuid O'Sullivan is kept at full back. Will he be picked for the final also?  8)
Post by: EddieMerx on August 06, 2008, 11:33:49 AM
Could be a costly mistake, hen you consider he has been cleaned out in the last two games it's a risky decision to start him against the quality of the Cats attack.
Post by: orangeman on August 06, 2008, 02:26:14 PM
Big call to put the Rock back in again ! But will he start ???
Post by: slow corner back on August 06, 2008, 06:49:27 PM
As far as I remember Martin Comerford took the Rock for 1-4 in an all ireland final a year or two back when the Rock was playing well. It could all be a ruse but if its not it is a big gamble.
Post by: The Wedger on August 06, 2008, 07:12:48 PM
I wouldn't rule out O'Sullivan lifting his game and performing well again Kilkenny.
He has had his warning already I'm sure!
Post by: orangeman on August 06, 2008, 11:08:44 PM
Father time is calling him - no shame - he was a great servant to Cork - maybe he has stayed on too long ?

Maybe he can lift his game for Kilkenny ?

Time will tell !  ;)
Post by: Lecale2 on August 07, 2008, 12:45:52 AM
I'm surprise O'Sullivan is named at no 3. He has been found out in the last 2 games. Do the Cork Selectors think that Cody & co have not seen the videos?

If he's named I think he will play (rightly or wrongly). McCarthy couldn't humiliate an all time Cork hero by naming him in the team and then dropping him before the game. Or could he?

Cork could have run this very close, and maybe even won, it but I have no confidence in their selection and I'm afraid the Cats will tank them.
Post by: Reillers on August 07, 2008, 01:22:03 AM
I'm pretty happy with the selection. Sully I think will come up big for us on the day, MOTM preformance I'd say. That's not a wild hope, it's sense. Sully is a very, VERY proud lad. He will not want to go out like that, the way he's been going. He'll have a blinder on Sunday..if he doesn't, the management have shown they're ruthless enough to change things if they need to. This team could well beat the Cats.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 07, 2008, 08:32:41 AM
I'm a very proud man but still doesn't mean I could put the schackles on the Kilkenny attack. The legs have gone for Sully and no matter how much he tries that will only get him so far, with the right ball into the forward line then the Cats more than likely will take him for a few goals
Post by: The Wedger on August 07, 2008, 08:34:37 AM
McCarthy will whip him off after 20 minutes if he is getting the runaround!
Post by: orangeman on August 07, 2008, 10:51:32 AM
Quote from: Reillers on August 07, 2008, 01:22:03 AM
I'm pretty happy with the selection. Sully I think will come up big for us on the day, MOTM preformance I'd say. That's not a wild hope, it's sense. Sully is a very, VERY proud lad. He will not want to go out like that, the way he's been going. He'll have a blinder on Sunday..if he doesn't, the management have shown they're ruthless enough to change things if they need to. This team could well beat the Cats.

I'm a very proud lad as well but I don't think I could handle Martin Comerford or Henry Shefflin  and I think Fast Eddie would be just a wee bit too fast for me !  ;) ;) :D
Post by: Reillers on August 07, 2008, 11:54:26 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 07, 2008, 10:51:32 AM
Quote from: Reillers on August 07, 2008, 01:22:03 AM

I'm a very proud lad as well but I don't think I could handle Martin Comerford or Henry Shefflin  and I think Fast Eddie would be just a wee bit too fast for me !  ;) ;) :D

You're not Sully though are you. He's a big game left in him, he's too proud to go down with a whimper. If he doesn't do it though they'll take him off quickly.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 07, 2008, 12:04:07 PM
But Sully isn't exactly the Sully of old, he is more like a junior B full back now - no pace and trying to take forwards out to stop them scoring! Problem is though by the time they realise the mistake Comerford could have a goal or two to his name
Post by: Reillers on August 07, 2008, 03:10:20 PM
He's played 2 bad games this season. The selectors and Gerald Mac, who know what they're doing have picked him to play. That's good enough for me.
If it goes wrong then he'll be off fast.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 07, 2008, 03:17:22 PM
I've no doubt that Sully will lift himself, and turn in the best performance he is capable of. As Reillers says, he will not go quietly into the night. However, the burning question is whether Diarmuid O'Sullivan's best, at the moment, will be good enough. I suspect it won't, and I'm standing by my guess/prediction that if he stays on the field for longer than 30 minutes, Kilkenny will build up a decent lead, and will go on to win.
Post by: slow corner back on August 07, 2008, 04:04:35 PM
Corks best chance is to hit the cats early and have a lead built up by half time. KK are a long time without a match and may take 20 mins to reach top pace. Offally and wexford stayed with them for 35 minutes so if Cork can go in 5 points up say they will have a real chance of taking them. However KK have the ability to kill any team in a 10 min spell such is the power of the forward line. Goals win games and KK have the biggest goal threat around.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 07, 2008, 05:19:58 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 07, 2008, 03:10:20 PM
He's played 2 bad games this season. The selectors and Gerald Mac, who know what they're doing have picked him to play. That's good enough for me.
If it goes wrong then he'll be off fast.

Against the Cats you don't have the luxury of making mistakes, if they leave him on for 30 minutes or so against the likes of Comerford, King Henry, Fast Eddie etc then it could be very costly
Post by: Bacon on August 09, 2008, 08:16:50 PM
Kilkenny will destroy the once great Cork team. It will be a massacre. I go for The Cats by at least 12 pts.
Post by: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 03:38:08 PM
Kilkenny (SH v Cork): PJ Ryan; M Kavanagh, N Hickey, J Tyrell; T Walsh, B Hogan, JJ Delaney; J Fitzpatrick, D Lyng; E Brennan, M Comerford, E Larkin; R Power, H Shefflin, A Fogarty.

Looks like a quite a strong team, With everyone in the forward line interchangable Cork could find themselves in a spot of bother. Im very excited!
Post by: Orior on August 10, 2008, 04:17:08 PM
Nice close up of the fans by RTE, and one Cork fan using both hands to give Kilkenny the fingers. Nice. If my granny could catch him she'd beat the daylights out of him.
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 04:37:42 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 10, 2008, 04:17:08 PM
Nice close up of the fans by RTE, and one Cork fan using both hands to give Kilkenny the fingers. Nice. If my granny could catch him she'd beat the daylights out of him.

I saw that as well. I'd bans idiots like that from our games, there's no place for it.

Kilkenny have really turned the screw in the last 15 mins of the 1st half.
Post by: dodo on August 10, 2008, 04:44:26 PM
Great start to the match, Kilkenny class coming out on top.

Why does Cyril Farrell have to always come out with corny comments about us having the best game in the world ? Is he trying to convince us or something, it takes away from his commentry.
Post by: aontroim on August 10, 2008, 04:58:52 PM
Can you post score updates lads - cant listen on RTE on the web anymore - feckin Olympics!
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:00:32 PM
Kilkenny 1-14 Cork 0-09    41mins
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 05:03:35 PM
6 in it now
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:04:08 PM
1-14 - 0-11   44 mins

The Rock arguably Corks best defender today
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:05:57 PM
Pa Cronin missed a great goal chance there but back to 5
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:08:21 PM
Penalty for KK, controversial, looked like the foul was outside the square
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:09:09 PM
Changed his mind to a free, back to 6. Ref gave wrong signal is all
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:10:45 PM
1 - 15  0 - 13   52 mins
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:13:26 PM
1-16 0-13
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:14:38 PM
1-17 0-13   55 mins

Cork need goals...where is Neil Ronan??
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 05:21:14 PM
8 to go, 8 in it
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:21:55 PM
1-19 0-14  62 mins

Kilkenny just make it look so easy
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 05:24:22 PM
5 to go, kk 1-20 ck 0-15
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 05:25:07 PM
another kk point, too good
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:27:53 PM
Cha looks in serious pain, sore flick though from Tom Kenny
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 05:31:10 PM
kk 1-22 ck 0-17, almost over
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 05:31:35 PM
another kk point
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:32:23 PM
1-23  0-17  Full Time

Kilkenny are a different class. Tipp or Waterford will have the hunger to match their intensity but hardly their skill and strength. 3 in a row looking very likely.
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 05:33:53 PM
over, kk 1-23 to ck 0-17, too good, cork never looked like getting close enough, I don't think they had a single goal chance all game
Post by: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 05:39:05 PM
mind blowing from the cats, I wanta go and watch one of there training games.
Post by: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:46:53 PM
Ya while the legend about these ferocious sessions has grown over the years there is obviously a strong element of truth to them. Its amazing how they could be so intense and competitive having been idle for five weeks and having not been tested for more than 60 minutes of championship in over a year.
Post by: slow corner back on August 10, 2008, 06:39:55 PM
In fairness to Cork they gave it their best shot today however their best was not good enough. When KK got on top for 10-15 mins before half time they went from 06-06 to 1-12-07. Cork had a dominant 10 or 15 minute spell after half time and brought the gap down to five. However that is the difference between KK and all other teams at the minute when they are on top of you they bury you. Corks famed half back line struggled today I thought. gardener was taken for 1-3 by Eoin Larkin, Henry gave Sean Og his fill and Ronan Curran was never allowed to dominate. When watching the replay of Larkins goal I thought Curran was very slow/ lazy in his reaction, the corner back had no chance. The cork full back line were not too bad although Fogarty and Eddie both scored 3 or four from play each. Given the amount of ball going in to these two that was about the best you could expect from any corner back. The Rock did OK in what was an overrun, at times, defence however a lot of the time KK played a two man full forward line and left him marking space while his supposed opponent was outside disrupting Curran. The rotation of the KK forwards is almost bewildering at times. Eoin Larkin was the only one who did not swap positions all day. Very hard to mark although some day it will go wrong and they will loose their shape, probably 2012 or some time like that.
It is easy to see why Leinster counties like Wexford and Offally drop the heads against the Cats, getting that done to you year in year out would demoralise most teams. Cats back in the final and well deserved its up to Tipp and waterford now to see if anyone can stick with them for 70 minutes.
Post by: orangeman on August 10, 2008, 08:04:20 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on August 10, 2008, 05:27:53 PM
Cha looks in serious pain, sore flick though from Tom Kenny

What exactly happened Cha at the end ?
Post by: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 08:07:57 PM
Your man hit him, the balls under the nose of the ref and got away with it. Cha wheeled of the pitch, no sex for a few weeks
Post by: orangeman on August 10, 2008, 08:21:54 PM
Quote from: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 08:07:57 PM
Your man hit him, the balls under the nose of the ref and got away with it. Cha wheeled of the pitch, no sex for a few weeks

I'm sure he would be abstaining in any case in the run up to the AI !  :D :D :D
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2008, 08:34:25 PM
went the way we expected. this is the greatest team of alltime. its just a machine.you have to consider what they did today.they played the other greatest team of the era and the game was over after 28mins. thats simply awesome.sad way for it to end for Cork,but while some of themhave years left,it most definitely is the end of an era.
kenny should get 6 months, an absolutely filthy belt .disgraceful. couldn't beat cha , so he hit him.nice!
Post by: blasmere on August 10, 2008, 08:48:50 PM
QuoteSome of Reillers various quotes throughout this thread about this tie? -:

I've absolutely no idea who'll win this game  It was never in doubt, like a lot of people were saying before the game

Kilkenny will for some reason have the favorite tag I wonder why that was ::)

Kilkenny haven't proved themselves this season Are you happy they've proved themselves now?, they've not had a test until today as they're just too good, not really their fault

You couldn't get a more 50/50 match if you tried though  for the first 20 minutes it was, but thereafter it was never in doubt

Cork will want it more then Kilkenny I don't think there is any team with a greater workrate than Kilkenny, allied to their undeniable skill and class, they are a team with a serious work ethic

The hype circus will write itself about KK, they will be written up again and again and again, it'll piss the Cork team off even more and they'll face a beast that is Cork hurling at it's best.  Kilkenny aren't interesting in hype just winning and winning and winning

We have players that can score us goals
. Last season we didn't. This season though, Horgan, Naughton, Pa, Fraggy, Timmy, Ronan..etc even Ben, Deane. There's goals there and if we need them, like we did against Clare we'll get them  I don't think the Kilkenny keeper had a save to make today

Kilkenny have done nothing in a long time to show that's been impressive  So their 3rd AI Final in a row is not impressive, and if they win it'll be their 5th  out of 7

We've answered our questions this season, we've proven ourselves..they haven't. Some of your comments get funnier as I read them more,

I think we've earned the rights to be favorites, I don't think KK have I'm not sure how you came up with some of these comments  ::)

All in all, Cork are and have been a very good team whereas Kilkenny are a truly great team, that was the difference. There is no shame in Cork losing to a team like this Kilkenny one, they are a colossal force and will go down in history (if they haven't already) as one of the greatest ever hurling teams.

Some of the Cork players such as Sully, Curran, O'Hailpin, Kenny, Deane and the O'Connors have been marvellous servants to the GAA and if it wasn't for such a gloriously talented generation of hurlers in Kilkenny then they would probably have had a couple more medals in their back pocket.

I think generally the one thing that sets Kilkenny apart from all other counties is their dedication to hurling, they're not interested in the political stuff or any other off-the-field shenanigans that some of their rivals fall foul of (Galway, Waterford and Cork to name but three). Cody has to take great credit for getting them focussed year in and year out bearing in mind they are amateurs.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 10, 2008, 09:20:37 PM
It's almost like Kerry - when they have ascendancy they really make it count on the scoreboard and they have multiple players who can rack up big totals whereas most other teams only have one / two.

Has to be said - fair play to Diarmuid O'Sullivan. To take the stick he got, and the roastings he's had the last 2 games and to stand upand be counted against Kilkenny was most impressive and shows immense character.

Kenny should get a long time too. A dirty stroke which, to be fair, seemed out of character but it was sad to see someone leave the pitch in that kind of pain from a dirty act.

I can not see Tipperary or Waterford beating this team or to be honest getting close. Despite Tipperary beating Cork earlier in the year I still think Cork are a better team and the only one with the class to beat Kilkenny. Hope I'm wrong but don't think so.
Post by: orangeman on August 10, 2008, 10:20:37 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 10, 2008, 09:20:37 PM
It's almost like Kerry - when they have ascendancy they really make it count on the scoreboard and they have multiple players who can rack up big totals whereas most other teams only have one / two.

Has to be said - fair play to Diarmuid O'Sullivan. To take the stick he got, and the roastings he's had the last 2 games and to stand upand be counted against Kilkenny was most impressive and shows immense character.

Kenny should get a long time too. A dirty stroke which, to be fair, seemed out of character but it was sad to see someone leave the pitch in that kind of pain from a dirty act.

I can not see Tipperary or Waterford beating this team or to be honest getting close. Despite Tipperary beating Cork earlier in the year I still think Cork are a better team and the only one with the class to beat Kilkenny. Hope I'm wrong but don't think so.

Definitely O'Sullivan deserves a lot of credit for coming back from the brink - he had a great game today.

Looking at the Tom Kenny / Cha incident on TV I genuinely don't think he meant it, but he can expect a couple of months all the same.

Pete Finnerty was lost for the proper word to use and in the end described it as "unfortunate" !  ;) ;) :D :D ;D ;D ;D Good old Pete !
Post by: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 10:23:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 10, 2008, 10:20:37 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 10, 2008, 09:20:37 PM

Definitely O'Sullivan deserves a lot of credit for coming back from the brink - he had a great game today.

Looking at the Tom Kenny / Cha incident on TV I genuinely don't think he meant it, but he can expect a couple of months all the same.

Pete Finnerty was lost for the proper word to use and in the end described it as "unfortunate" !  ;) ;) :D :D ;D ;D ;D Good old Pete !
Post by: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 10:24:16 PM
are you serious?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 10, 2008, 10:25:55 PM
well having seen it again he seemed concerned and didn't entirely mean it but he will probably get sanctioned...
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2008, 10:26:10 PM
a dangerous stroke. there are people who lost a testicle from such an incident.its easy to gloss over it, but thats as bad a belt as i've seen. If the analysts are going to trivialise such an incident then why bother having a ref. Typical Sunday game -sit on the fence job.
Post by: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 10:35:18 PM
jaysus boys, it doesnt matter what jersey hes wearing on his back. He was hit fair on in the nads and the boyo meant it alright. how can you fellas defend that kinda behaviour? That boy shouldnt be allowed to hold a hurl again til next year.
Post by: orangeman on August 10, 2008, 10:42:24 PM
Quote from: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 10:35:18 PM
jaysus boys, it doesnt matter what jersey hes wearing on his back. He was hit fair on in the nads and the boyo meant it alright. how can you fellas defend that kinda behaviour? That boy shouldnt be allowed to hold a hurl again til next year.
[/b]

How many games will he miss for Cork then if you suspend him until January ?

Oh and by the way, they're supposed to be good mates  - I reckon Cha has stolen his girlfriend at college at some time or another !  ;) ;) ;D ;D
Post by: slow corner back on August 10, 2008, 10:45:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 10, 2008, 10:26:10 PM
a dangerous stroke. there are people who lost a testicle from such an incident.its easy to gloss over it, but thats as bad a belt as i've seen. If the analysts are going to trivialise such an incident then why bother having a ref. Typical Sunday game -sit on the fence job.

I know an Antrim hurler who lost one against Cork in an all ireland semi, right few years back. As far as I remember the Cork player did not even get booked. Seems to be a popular habit down leeside.
Post by: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 10:54:30 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on August 10, 2008, 10:45:22 PM

I know an Antrim hurler who lost one
against Cork in an all ireland semi, right few years back. As far as I remember the Cork player did not even get booked. Seems to be a popular habit down leeside.

Aye it was ssssammbo, He developed a stutter afterward ;D
Post by: orangeman on August 10, 2008, 11:10:14 PM
Quote from: youngfella on August 10, 2008, 10:54:30 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on August 10, 2008, 10:45:22 PM

I know an Antrim hurler who lost one
against Cork in an all ireland semi, right few years back. As far as I remember the Cork player did not even get booked. Seems to be a popular habit down leeside.

Aye it was ssssammbo, He developed a stutter afterward ;D

What sort of a stutter ? Was he hard to start in the moring ?  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 11, 2008, 01:12:05 AM
I said earlier in the thread Cork would not be within 6 points of Kilkenny,I think also Waterford won't be within 6 points of Tipp

I can't call a winner in a Tipp v Kilkenny final though if it happens,I really think though Tipp are the only team capable of beating the Cats
Post by: youngfella on August 11, 2008, 06:51:55 AM
Laois lad Tipp are one of only two teams to beat the cats this this year, the other is antrim. But thats nethier here nor there, the curcumstances are that different, between and AL final and league semi.
I cant honesty see how the cats can be beaten by traditional tactics.

It makes great watching when the cats are at there best, no angle is too much, no distance too far.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 09:15:05 AM
Awesome, Cork tried their hardest but the Cats showed just how good they are! Cork ran at them as the pundits advised yet Kilkenny just closed down the spaces... Begs the question, now that we can't clutch at straws about that weakness does this Kilkenny team have any chink in the armour??
Post by: milltown row on August 11, 2008, 10:51:34 AM
No, the intensity the Kilkenny lads put into the tackles on 72 minutes was the same in the first. The hunger they have to win all their games was evident on the final whistle when they celebrated so much.

Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2008, 11:02:37 AM
Fair play to Diarmuid O'Sullivan, he was not given the run around and was, at times, the real defiant 'rock' in the backs for Cork. Credit where it's due, and it reminded me of Brian Lohan's dramatic display against Cork I think, towards the end of his career. Lohan stayed on another year and was all at sea, so I hope Diarmuid has a good look to see if he can replicate that effort again, and if he can't, to call it a day. He isn't actually that old though, in fairness to him. I think Lohan was older.

Kilkenny are fantastic though. In all fairness to them, they met a whirlwind from Cork in the first 25, and outlasted them before turning the screw as only they can. They also started the second half with a couple of scores, which meant that, unlike Clare, they always looked composed even when Cork got 4 or 5 on the trot. Noel Hickey was brilliant, as was JJ Delaney, and the likes of Cavanagh, Tyrell, Walsh and Hogan just kept things tight and competitive.

Tipperary or Waterford may catch Kilkenny on the day, that's why we play the games after all, but if they do it will take an almighty effort from them, and an off day from Kilkenny. They are the best team I've personally seen, and from 1-30, and beyond, they have quality in every jersey. Quite simply they were just too good for Cork, and that's that.

Tom Kenny's stroke on Cha was filthy at the end. Lets be honest here, we've all taken belts, usually accidentally, in that area, and it is a right sickener. Some people, as has been pointed out, have lost testicles in more innocuous challenges than that, so for him to do what he did was completely out of order. I realise it was probably borne out of frustration, and he did seem a bit upset himself afterwards, but that's just not on.

Hopefully Cha is okay, but the sight of the 'hurling brigade' on the Sunday Game closing ranks behind Kenny was a bit hard to take when you compare it to the Football equivalent. Maybe the hurling lads were more correct, now that I think of it, 'Wrong, unfortunate and will be looked at, but out of character'. It was a bit less like the baying mob that sometimes analyse the football, especially when they look at similar incidents.

Still wrong though, and Kenny deserves a month.
Post by: theskull1 on August 11, 2008, 11:20:50 AM
Some boys are great fella's when they're winning or have a chance of winning the game right up until the end. Did yesterdays slap only bring out a trait in Kenny that we haven't seen before but was always there all along? A terrible sneeky stroke
Post by: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 11:47:23 AM
I can't believe the so called experts were saying there was no intention behind it ??? So he he didn't intend to hit Cha with the hurley even though play had stopped the scuffle had ended and his hurl hit Cha right smack in the sack!!!
Post by: the colonel on August 11, 2008, 12:00:20 PM
that will be classed with striking with minimal force so he will only get a month, deserves more. previous character shouldnt come into it. disgusting stroke that we have seen cork at more of this year.
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2008, 02:19:21 PM
I was listening to the experts on the radio leaving as I was leaving Croke Park yesterday and it made me sick that this whole incident with Cha and Kenny was glossed over.  Minimal force my arse, from where I was sitting it was one of the dirtiest strokes seen in a hurling game in Croke Park for a long time and something has to be done about it.  Kenny should be ashamed of himself and not let near a gaa pitch for six months and that whelp John Gardiner deserved another red card.  I came on here to see had any of you lads posted on it hoping that I was not on my own and thankfully this DB has more lads with cop on than the gobshites like John O'Shea who was lmore concerned about having two referees and teams reduced to 13 than he was about this incident.

Does anyone have any update on Cha?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2008, 02:25:33 PM
I know he left Croker with the rest of the team afterwards, although he was struggling, apparently. I feared for him when I saw him being carted off. How would Tom Kenny feel if Cha had to lose a testicle? That's almost assault in fairness. There used to be an unwritten rule that striking with a hurley in a row was not on, it was acknowledged that a hurl is potentially a deadly weapon. Sadly there's been a few incidents (Carton on Curren last year, Watson from Antrim, and various other things like butts of hurleys into the face) in the last few years. That has to be stamped out.
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2008, 05:15:45 PM
....and don't mention Castletown and Camross.

Are you sure Cha went in the bus? I thought he went away in an ambulance because the golf caddy/trolley thing went out the gate but the bus didn't go 'till twenty past six anyway.  Post any updates if ye hear anything.
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 05:17:42 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2008, 02:19:21 PM
I was listening to the experts on the radio leaving as I was leaving Croke Park yesterday and it made me sick that this whole incident with Cha and Kenny was glossed over.  Minimal force my arse, from where I was sitting it was one of the dirtiest strokes seen in a hurling game in Croke Park for a long time and something has to be done about it.  Kenny should be ashamed of himself and not let near a gaa pitch for six months and that whelp John Gardiner deserved another red card.  I came on here to see had any of you lads posted on it hoping that I was not on my own and thankfully this DB has more lads with cop on than the gobshites like John O'Shea who was lmore concerned about having two referees and teams reduced to 13 than he was about this incident.

Does anyone have any update on Cha?

What did Gardiner do yesterday ? He's an angel !  ;)
Post by: slow corner back on August 11, 2008, 08:44:12 PM
In the last few years there have been a few nasty incidents at the end of semi finals, Gerry Quinn of Clare got a hand broke and missed a final, then Gerry himself did something similar on Shefflin now the Tom Kenny incident. It appears with the back door players are scared of a suspension while still in the championship but if you are getting beat sure take some guy out for the final.
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 08:46:25 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on August 11, 2008, 08:44:12 PM
In the last few years there have been a few nasty incidents at the end of semi finals, Gerry Quinn of Clare got a hand broke and missed a final, then Gerry himself did something similar on Shefflin now the Tom Kenny incident. It appears with the back door players are scared of a suspension while still in the championship but if you are getting beat sure take some guy out for the final.

I don't think any of this is premeditated at all.
Post by: slow corner back on August 11, 2008, 08:50:07 PM
I would class any dirty blow as premeditated, as in I am not going for the ball I am gonna nail that *@!". Players do not start the game intending to injure someone as they expect to be winning the way to the final however when the final is out of sight and the championship year over then an attitude of at least leave a mark on one or two appears to take over.
Post by: INDIANA on August 11, 2008, 10:29:50 PM
the sunday analysts though are a disgrace. What is glossed over on tv gives licence to some little toerag in a junior club game to maim somone for life. played hurling for years myself, loved it , but there is a line you can't cross with a hurl in your hand and that was crossed yesterday. We pay ou tv licence ofr analysis and calling a spade a spade , not for sitting on the fence.
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 09:09:34 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 11, 2008, 10:29:50 PM
the sunday analysts though are a disgrace. What is glossed over on tv gives licence to some little toerag in a junior club game to maim somone for life. played hurling for years myself, loved it , but there is a line you can't cross with a hurl in your hand and that was crossed yesterday. We pay ou tv licence ofr analysis and calling a spade a spade , not for sitting on the fence.

They're scared of their lives now - afraid to say anything that might enflame the situation - get Brolly on - he's not afraid to say his piece ( only when it doesn't involve a Derry player mind you ) !
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 10:48:29 AM
I see Kilkenny county chairman has called for the GAA NOT to target Tom Kenny for a suspension.

Very gracious - the biggest of rivals obviously but the best of friends off the pitch.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 11:25:42 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 10:48:29 AM
I see Kilkenny county chairman has called for the GAA NOT to target Tom Kenny for a suspension.

Very gracious - the biggest of rivals obviously but the best of friends off the pitch.

I suppose it's nice to see, but at the same time what Tom Kenny did was completely wrong. I think it's a no-brainer.
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 11:28:21 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 11:25:42 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 10:48:29 AM

I suppose it's nice to see, but at the same time what Tom Kenny did was completely wrong. I think it's a no-brainer.

But then did you see what Cullinanne did on the Gooch on Saturday - I don;t hear much about this - he swung a boot at the Gooch's head !
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 11:31:02 AM
That's true. I just think every male in Ireland probably subconsciously reached for their crotch in sympathy pain when they saw Kenny's action. It's a very low blow (no pun intended) and right  up there (or down there) with spitting in my view.
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 11:40:20 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 11:31:02 AM
That's true. I just think every male in Ireland probably subconsciously reached for their crotch in sympathy pain when they saw Kenny's action. It's a very low blow (no pun intended) and right  up there (or down there) with spitting in my view.

Have to agree with you - if Kenny got suspended now, would it really effect him ?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 11:45:44 AM
Can they suspend in the same competition? i.e. So that he'd get a month PLUS miss a championship game next year? I think they can.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 12, 2008, 12:07:05 PM
This is Cork we are talking about so it's highly likely he will get off on a technicality, did Kenny not strike the ball with his hurl? Is that not the aim in hurling? I rest my case Sir.
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 12:34:41 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on August 12, 2008, 12:07:05 PM
This is Cork we are talking about so it's highly likely he will get off on a technicality, did Kenny not strike the ball with his hurl? Is that not the aim in hurling? I rest my case Sir.

Funny now but not funny at the time !  ;) :D :D

Post by: blasmere on August 12, 2008, 06:14:16 PM
Where is Reillers?

Has he got the good grace to admit the Cats were just too good?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 08:56:04 PM
In fairness he can't really be sure, because they still haven't been tested :D
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 12, 2008, 09:11:11 PM
Quote from: blasmere on August 12, 2008, 06:14:16 PM
Where is Reillers?

Has he got the good grace to admit the Cats were just too good?
Reillers was last spotted heading for Cloyne with a trailer load of Kleenex  ;)
Post by: blasmere on August 12, 2008, 09:19:25 PM
Tis only a wind-up really, he was deluding himself all along!