Gaels,
There may have been a thread on this in the past but I'm gonna go for it anyhow.. I'm curious to know what some of the names/aliases/monikers/pseudonyms mean of the folk who post on this board? There are some first class names on this board and I'd be interested to know their meaning/origin.. I know we are approaching the business end of the championship but it'd be a much needed break from chattin about Paul Galvin...
So here goes:
'GrandMasterFlash' (for those who don't know or weren't born until after the 70's) is the moniker of 'Joseph "Biggie Grand" Saddler', the hiphop DJ, better known as Grandmaster Flash. You've probably all head the tune 'The Message' at some point in your existence produced by GrandMaster Flash and the Furious Five.
well, mine is pretty obvious!! St. Pauls is the name of the club i am associated with!! ;D
I joined one of the prior incarnations of the board back in 1997 or 1998, and I was based in Arizona at the time. When I came back in 2001, I retained the name - AZOffaly.
I used to have a drink problem but I am ok now ;)
Mine is the name of the computer in Quantum Leap, which had a big ego.
Rock n Roll Hall of Fame
Named after Zeppelin.
I just love God's country. ;) ;D
A less offensive version of a phrase I've been oft heard to gowl at matches - i.e. "Fer fox ache referee sure i never touched him"
well mine is from my club Crossmolina Deel Rovers the 1st team to bring the Andy Merrigan cup to Mayo isn't that right Stephenite ;)
Mine pretty boring.
Corn = Cup
02- Armagh won the Cup in 02.
I had writers block that day.
I think these guys a pretty cool
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zapatista_Army_of_National_Liberation
bugleboy are a make of jeans the oul boy used to wear. used to slag him about them!!
Comic book 'hero' from my childhood - he couldn't kick snow off a rope without his magic boots. No idea why I picked it six years ago.
Mid Mon: reference to the location of my club, Cremartin, in county Monaghan
Mine is a bit of laugh because i always said to anyone arguing with me "ill decide"
The Heart of Ireland, say no more...
Refers to an accident I had at a priamry school challenge game against a school up near Inniskeen. I was goalie and as was my want I caught the crossbar as the other team scored( i was a big awkward fecker then too and the goals were no regulation height). Anyway the cross bar snapped and belted me staright in the gob. My lip still cracks open in really cold weather just to remind me.
Mine refers to the way one of our mates da's refers to his son Neil, he can't talk for shit!
So for any of those ones around lurgan who sometimes mistake me, I am not actually Our Nail!
ps illdecide thats shit!!
Took my name from my Grand-father, a legendary Westmeath footballer....
My real name is rory......genius, eh
I used to be Hardyarse The Fiddler. Then the brother announced that he was changing his name from Hardyarse The Farmer to Hardyarse The Homosexual and the family split on ideological lines. The liberal, rights-affirming wing all showed their support by changing their names to Hardyarse The Hairdresser, Hardyarse The Goat-Fancier and the like. The other side went for over-compensation, distancing themselves from our ancient lineage with new handles like Bruce the Lumberjack and Harry the Hound Of Hell and so on.
I just decided to steer a middle ground and remove some of the emphasis on arses.
Mine's a nickname of my father-in-law's workmate.
(Lár na páirce= midfield)
I was sitting beside an American military policeman watching a Railway Cup final, many years ago in the local pub. The games back then were broadcast as gaeilge.
Yer man wasn’t a sociable type of chap and just sat there eyes glued to the telly and getting steadily pissed.
The final whistle sounded and he turned to me and uttered his first comment since the game began.
“Look, I don’t understand that lingo and I have a clue about the rules but that Lar Napraka fella is one goddamn footballer.” :D
I haven't got a clue.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2008, 12:35:09 PM
Took my name from my Grand-father, a legendary Westmeath footballer....
My own grandfather played along side him
I just like the dalai llama :)
There's a song called Caoineadh Chill Cháis, or The Lament for Kilcash, and the second verse goes like this:
Ní cluinim fuaim lacha ná gé ann
Ná iolar ag éamh cois cuain
And that's where my handle comes from. This monobrowed buck from the Muppet Show across from me is an iolar himself, you know.
I'm Mayo myself, rather than Tipp, but I always liked the song so I went with that.
D4S is... Down for Sam as can be seen below
I picked it before we beat Tyrone as I thought we would win, and things would snowball from there. There was a blip against Armagh but we're back on track! Dont know if Sam will be delivered though but we can only hope...maybe I should change it to Down4quarter finals or Down4croker considering we haven't played a championship game there since 1994!
I joined the Board around 1999 (when football was invented) and I chose this name to annoy our neighbours....I hope to change it some day :-\ :-\
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 24, 2008, 12:47:41 PM
(Lár na páirce= midfield)
I was sitting beside an American military policeman watching a Railway Cup final, many years ago in the local pub. The games back then were broadcast as gaeilge.
Yer man wasn't a sociable type of chap and just sat there eyes glued to the telly and getting steadily pissed.
The final whistle sounded and he turned to me and uttered his first comment since the game began.
"Look, I don't understand that lingo and I have a clue about the rules but that Lar Napraka fella is one goddamn footballer." :D
BTW Larnaparka...I had a similar conversation with a Yank in Falcarragh once......he told me that "Trá Beach" was the best one he had ever seen!!
From a song covered by Horslips on their first album.
From my Da!
One of many nicknames I picked up in my school days, (tank, fozzie, the fonz being some of the others). I'm a big fecker and had a tendency to charge at lads head down during my sporting endeavours. After scattering a few fellas out of my path somebody came up with Rhino/Ryano.
My surname is Ryan so they stuck on "o" on the end and there ya go!
a person from armagh, in the same way a footballer is peiladoir etc. probably not particularly true but liked the idea at the time
The club badge depicts a woman with wings on her, could be erin go brea, don't really know...
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 24, 2008, 12:32:12 PM
Mine refers to the way one of our mates da's refers to his son Neil, he can't talk for shit!
So for any of those ones around lurgan who sometimes mistake me, I am not actually Our Nail!
James is a shit talker alright espicially when he rambles about Man U.
I usually do decide ;)
I live on the edge of Bandit Country.
Played full forward as a nipper and thats all i heard, well thats the printable part of it
I was Guillem a good few years ago. Had to change to Guillem2 when we moved to a new site. Guillem was the name of a French lad I used to work with. I alway laughed at the way he pronounced it.
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2008, 12:41:04 PM
I used to be Hardyarse The Fiddler. Then the brother announced that he was changing his name from Hardyarse The Farmer to Hardyarse The Homosexual and the family split on ideological lines. The liberal, rights-affirming wing all showed their support by changing their names to Hardyarse The Hairdresser, Hardyarse The Goat-Fancier and the like. The other side went for over-compensation, distancing themselves from our ancient lineage with new handles like Bruce the Lumberjack and Harry the Hound Of Hell and so on.
I just decided to steer a middle ground and remove some of the emphasis on arses.
Class! Zapatista's good too, sorta wish i'd put some thought into mine now.......
Mine comes from one of the most surreal team talks I've ever witnessed when a particular tactic and line of running was explained in terms of missiles...
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 24, 2008, 12:32:12 PM
and there was me thinkin that you were that lad a few years above me in st pats
I grew up on the most easterly county of Ireland but I am now exiled to Connaught 8)
Quote from: western exile on July 24, 2008, 03:34:33 PM
I grew up on the most easterly county of Ireland but I am now exiled to Connaught 8)
Was Hell an option?
Went throught a period of being able to catch a lot of puck-outs in hurling matches, one of the lads started referring to me as "the claw", hasnt stuck since (prob coz i'm not catching ball as much) but I like it.
mines club+county has evolved from lfdown-(1)-(2) through the ever changing face of the board
Absolutely no connection to may logon name - don't drive a bus, don't go to bingo or had any relative who done either. Was a complete random thought at time of registering.
I thought your name came from the saying that I've heard fairly frequently up around home, especially after a lad having a big feed (of porter or of spuds).
'Jaysus, I'm as full as a bingo bus'.
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2008, 04:18:52 PM
I thought your name came from the saying that I've heard fairly frequently up around home, especially after a lad having a big feed (of porter or of spuds).
Never heard that one Az the one used down west is " jaysus, i'm as full as a tick, horse on another pint there "
p.s apologies to Rossfan ;) :D
An homage to 1970's American TV detective shows...I'm called neither Quinn nor Martin
That dosent sound right is it:
an homage
a homage
or even
an 'omage
I believe either is acceptable
Tierworker (theres disagreement on the spelling...everyone spells it as i do but it's officially Teevurcher on the map...) is a wee place near bailieborough in cavan thats half in cavan and half in meath...an odd auld place to be honest, but ojus craic and full of brilliant characters. in the cavan part theres a shop, a post office and some fuel pumps (that used to be full of smuggled 'blue' diesel back in the day!) and in meath there's a pub (the 'royal breffni'...geddit?!) a church, a hall, a pitch and putt course and half a tennis court! technically my house is in meath but i was brought up 'blue' (thats in cavan supporter terms, not that i was unhappy as a child!)...hence tierworker blue!
As Lloyd and Harry once agreed, Im just full of shit!
Spike Milligans legendary Puckoon. My dad gave me a worn copy about 15 years ago and I thought it was the funniest/silliest thing Id ever read. Never fails to bring a smile.
As the late great M O Hehir useta say, "the sides are level with
time ticking away.
Of course he only said that if the sides were level
Quote from: JohnDenver on July 24, 2008, 05:11:44 PM
As Lloyd and Harry once agreed, Im just full of shit!
classic line
Quote from: feetofflames on July 24, 2008, 04:52:39 PM
That dosent sound right is it:
an homage
a homage
or even
an 'omage
Back in my chalk pushing days, I had to deal with stuff like this.
IMO, there are no set rules, generally accepted practices okay; but nothing is set in stone.
In deciding whether to use ‘a’ or ‘an,’ the rule of thumb is to first decide whether the ‘h’ at the start of the following word is silent or not.
So you’d say ‘a human being’ but ‘an hour’s time.’
The craic starts when you get some words that can be a bit iffy, such as ‘hotel.’
If you go by the so-called convention it should be proceeded by an ‘a’ but in practice we usually make the ‘h’ in hotel silent when it is not placed at the beginning of a sentence. Therefore you generally use ‘an hotel.’
So; I’d be inclined to go with the last one in fof’s list.
[Does it really matter? No; I thought not. ;)]
when i was on a school trip to old trafford, i got to get a photo taken with Fred the Red which hangs up in my bedroom. My old school mates still call me it the odd time!
self explanatory, I really am Harrison Ford.
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 24, 2008, 04:23:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2008, 04:18:52 PM
Never heard that one Az the one used down west is " jaysus, i'm as full as a tick, horse on another pint there "
p.s apologies to Rossfan ;) :D
Shtick on one for me too as long as Deel is payin'. :P
Of course my name signifies cool breezy sensible comments among all the hot air on this board. :D
A little GAA club in South-West Kerry. Micko country.
mines is usually referred to after a night on the drink. losing my bag, coat, mobile, shoe, you name it. miss mess ;D
I'm a lad and I'm from Laois and I'm Real
Quote from: INDIANA on July 24, 2008, 06:52:02 PM
self explanatory, I really am Harrison Ford.
I'm actually quite disappointed with this one i always assumed it was something a lot more exciting..Don't know why but Indiana Jones never crossed my mind :-[
Mike from Kerry, though not to be confused with that Sheehy fellow.
I am thinking of changing mine "Coomaciste Ruaile Buile"
http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0724/newzealand.html (http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0724/newzealand.html)
Fairy refers to being a female with magical powers, and smelly rhymes w my name indirectly sorta.. ::)
Rough translation: Man from Strabane but not living there (literally Man of/out of Strabane), whereas Man from Strabane and actually living there would be Fear as an tSrath Bán, from where all great things come, of course (as any Urney man or Derry man will readily testify to, and not including the road to either).
'Weaver of Armagh' with all hail to my dad. I have also been known to weave a few yarns especially after one or two wee piontai
no real significance, thought it was funny at the time..
joemamas sounds like yohmama
I have no idea whatsoever
After the 4th Prime Minister of Northern Ireland.
Number Five as gaeilge - thats the number i wear when on the pitch.
Nowt to do with computing treasurer.
Tangential reference to my current playing abilities (toyed with neverreallygotthereinthefirstplace, but too long) and the biggest mistake I ever made on the football pitch. (shouda bagged meself)
Quote from: Take Your Points on July 24, 2008, 08:13:38 PM
I often end up shouting this in sheer frustration.
At teachers looking for promotion?
Could he afford me?
And he'd also know my gaaboard log-in habits. Too risky.
Myles the Slasher was a Irish rebel in the 1641 rebellion in Ulster. He laid siege to a couple of English garrisons in my home town back then. Is most famous for a battle at the bridge of Finea (Cavan/W'Meath Border) when his elite men kept an english army with 10x men at bay. The bridge in Finea bears a plaque in his memory. As far as I know clubs with "slasher" in their name are called after his memory. Longford Slashers and Cavan Slasher (now Cavan Gaels) being two of them.
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 24, 2008, 05:08:19 PM
Tierworker (theres disagreement on the spelling...everyone spells it as i do but it's officially Teevurcher on the map...) is a wee place near bailieborough in cavan thats half in cavan and half in meath...an odd auld place to be honest, but ojus craic and full of brilliant characters. in the cavan part theres a shop, a post office and some fuel pumps (that used to be full of smuggled 'blue' diesel back in the day!) and in meath there's a pub (the 'royal breffni'...geddit?!) a church, a hall, a pitch and putt course and half a tennis court! technically my house is in meath but i was brought up 'blue' (thats in cavan supporter terms, not that i was unhappy as a child!)...hence tierworker blue!
grand little spot. I had not heard of it until I was at a wedding there last year
Obviously is wasnt the speediest corner back in the glens of antrim
Quote from: lfdown2 on July 24, 2008, 04:01:46 PM
mines club+county has evolved from lfdown-(1)-(2) through the ever changing face of the board
Allegedly the oldest club in the county too. But shhhhhhhhhhhhh! The Mayobridge lads might hear you ;D
Quote from: western exile on July 24, 2008, 10:02:56 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 24, 2008, 05:08:19 PM
grand little spot. I had not heard of it until I was at a wedding there last year
a wedding, eh?...and you're still around to tell the tale?!!...fair play! you must have had all your paperwork in order...getting through tierworker immigration can be tough sometimes!
From the TV show was watching it when i logged in . i used to frequently appear in it in a former even more skint life.
Also from my love of all things Roscommon thought theres an emptiness in beating them now :'(
A play on the TV show from the early 90's.
Was Mournesider in a previous life on the previous board but at the time of the 'change' could not switch users for some reason.
Have lived beside the river most of my life. And my second most favorite obsession is trying to coax a few salmon/trout away from their natural residence. Thing is I dont know which is more frustrating, Mayo football or fishing? There s always more bad days than good in both but the better days make up for the bad ones. Ok I know thats sounds awful wussy stuff but I m not a religious man and need distractions and somethings to believe in.
I and Pangur Bán, my cat
'Tis a like task we are at;
Hunting mice is his delight
Hunting words I sit all night
Was Fear Ciun on previous board
Mayo Gaels will tell ya that it should be green and red, not red and green but I just left it be. Sniper? Well the eyesight ain't the Mae West so it'd be the last thing I'd be any good at. Clearly didn't put huge thought into it but we don't all have the luxury of multiple aliases :P
Like AZOFFALY, the FL is for Florida where I now reside and the Mayo is where I grew up. I also lived in Donegal as a teenager but the parents moved back to Mayo again so I consider myself a Mayo man, though life would have been less traumatic if I was a Donegal man due to their great feat in 1992.
no alledgedly about it western exile think they have enough titles without (falsely) claiming another one!
Quote from: bingobus on July 24, 2008, 04:17:40 PM
Absolutely no connection to may logon name - don't drive a bus, don't go to bingo or had any relative who done either. Was a complete random thought at time of registering.
I thought it might have been from the classic statement 'I'm as full as a Bingo Bus, or that lad was as full as a Bingo Bus last night' ;D
...greatest soccer player ever
Quote from: Maradona on July 25, 2008, 10:12:05 AM
This is a GAA message board
It all started in college. One of my 1st days in college we were playing indoor football and I put in a tackle on a fella, who as it turned out was a great player but since that day wasnt the player he used to be due to persistant knee problems. I got the name 'Bruce' after bruce lee, after yer man I tackled described what I had done to him.
But Bruce became The Juice when they learned of my fondness for a drop o' the craetúr and the black stuff.
Quote from: Mid Mon on July 25, 2008, 10:16:26 AM
Quote from: Maradona on July 25, 2008, 10:12:05 AM
This is a GAA message board
Would it be mentioned if he called himself Ali?
Jes lads some of yee should have put a bit of thought into your names.
Spent ages over mine.
Think I'll change it after me holidays so I can come back on this thread with a good story ;D
kick it hard
Over = 1 end in cricket
The = total home entertainment
Bar = unit of measurement of pressure
Its the nickname of Antrim hurlers and footballers as Antrim has 9 glens.
Though there is some debate on this at present on our couunty website so it may change...
I actually don't live in the Glens themselves.
From the little townland I live in in the northern tip of the parish Knockmore.
Screen - The short version of my club team Ballinascreen
Exile - I was living in Dublin when I first joined
In hindsight probably not the best moniker to develop as it was fairly easy for people to find out who I am... the fact I did an awful lot of winding up didn't help me in a few situations either.
My name is so good though that it became a verb. "You'd need to be careful who you're slagging or they'll do a 'screenexile' on you"... my claim to fame!
Quote from: hardstation on July 25, 2008, 04:12:44 PM
He got the shite screenexiled clean out of him.
I like that one!
Boojangles-The name of the nightclub in the Austrailian film Chopper.One of my favourite films of all time.A loosely based true story about an Austrailian serial killer who commits 18 homicides but was never convicted of murder.Eric Bana(The Hulk,Troy) plays the lead role Chopper and plays it quite brilliantly.Any Movie fans out there should check it out.
Nothing too odd about mine, club is owenmore gaels, a river which is called the owenmore flows through the parish, so there you are. Kinda borrowed the idea off a few limerick posters on AFR.
My origional name was Fishead_Sam and a Fishead is the name used by Westport (Covies) people to refer to Castlebar people. Sam is the obsession of all Mayo people. I got a little pissed off over a bit of slagging of my hometown, which I clearly love & canceled my account. A bit childish on my part & a bit over-the-top on the part of the others involved, but thats history.
Son_of_Sam is just a reference to my origional monkier so people knew it was me, but alos the fact that SonOfSam is a quite well known name.
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 25, 2008, 05:44:59 PM
My origional name was Fishead_Sam and a Fishead is the name used by Westport (Covies) people to refer to Castlebar people. Sam is the obsession of all Mayo people. I got a little pissed off over a bit of slagging of my hometown, which I clearly love & canceled my account. A bit childish on my part & a bit over-the-top on the part of the others involved, but thats history.
Son_of_Sam is just a reference to my origional monkier so people knew it was me, but alos the fact that SonOfSam is a quite well known name.
Jez Sam, is that you back. Was it that we said Tuam was a better town than Castlebar that put you over the edge. You should have known we were only kidding, welcome back.
Mine is a variation of the greatest TV football pundit of all time.
Not the best footballer of all time though, that of course would go to your pick of any number of Down men!
Character name from the 80's television show Moonlighting. My brother used to call me this when he was riling me when we were kids. (Don't look like her though......swear!)
Mine is so brilliant & so original! My name is Steve so = steve & im from Carlow & our short version & car reg of Carlow is always CW so me = cw
Amazing stuff i know, but thats how i became Stevecw :)
Armagh supporter in Irish. Fierce unoriginal.
Quote from: stevecw on July 25, 2008, 11:48:59 PM
Mine is so brilliant & so original! My name is Steve so = steve & im from Carlow & our short version & car reg of Carlow is always CW so me = cw
God help ya :P
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 25, 2008, 11:58:09 PM
No need Laois head, come back to me when u win something worthwhile. Love this thing about Laois fans when it takes a guy from Carlow & played for many years here being the Laois hero. Down will make bits of ye anyway im sure,
Do you curse, stevecw, that Carlow town is so compromised* by the Laois County border? Not a unique situation by any means, but can't be comfortable!
Real Laoislad might otherwise classify that as 'blessed', though that perspective notwithstanding ;)
Quote from: stevecw on July 26, 2008, 12:34:51 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 25, 2008, 11:58:09 PM
No need Laois head, come back to me when u win something worthwhile. Love this thing about Laois fans when it takes a guy from Carlow & played for many years here being the Laois hero. Down will make bits of ye anyway im sure,
Haha I like you stevecw!!! ;D
Thank you very much lads and lassies.. Some great entertainment there. Now let's get back to talkin about Paul Galvin... :o
I just like the name Roger.
fear glas mór
man green big
....and since everything Irish is arse about face.............
big green man
Club colours are green
I'm a man
I used to be big......at u-16 / minor
Not big any more....
Well actually I am..... In fact I am bigger...
But in a different plane...... if you know what I mean.
QuoteBoojangles-The name of the nightclub in the Austrailian film Chopper.One of my favourite films of all time.A loosely based true story about an Austrailian serial killer who commits 18 homicides but was never convicted of murder.Eric Bana(The Hulk,Troy) plays the lead role Chopper and plays it quite brilliantly.Any Movie fans out there should check it out.
Brilliant film, Bana plays your man well - never seen a character like Chopper.
ross4life........... Roscommon for life no matter what :o or once a rossie always a rossie(unlike my friend that married a Mayo man then she started supporting them >:()
Quote from: ross4life on July 28, 2009, 04:18:17 PM
ross4life........... Roscommon for life no matter what :o or once a rossie always a rossie(unlike my friend that married a Mayo man then she started supporting them >:()
i thought u were a down fan!
Quote from: fred the red on July 28, 2009, 04:26:40 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 28, 2009, 04:18:17 PM
i thought u were a down fan!
lol nope Ross carr was a gud auld player all the same ;)
A small tribute to the great Olcan McFetridge
Cause my favourite film is Pulp Fiction.
Quote from: Keyser soze on July 28, 2009, 04:42:19 PM
Cause my favourite film is Pulp Fiction.
you hoping for a 20 pounder with that bait?
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on July 24, 2008, 11:39:41 AM
I used to have a drink problem but I am ok now ;)
Yeah, and I used to be a werewolf but I guess I'm alright nooooooow! ;D
I used to be unable to overcome the delusion that I was a biblical character, but now I'm Abel.
I used to have anger management issues and Ill slap the next man that reminds me.
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 28, 2009, 03:41:08 PM
QuoteBoojangles-The name of the nightclub in the Austrailian film Chopper.One of my favourite films of all time.A loosely based true story about an Austrailian serial killer who commits 18 homicides but was never convicted of murder.Eric Bana(The Hulk,Troy) plays the lead role Chopper and plays it quite brilliantly.Any Movie fans out there should check it out.
Brilliant film, Bana plays your man well - never seen a character like Chopper.
He has become quite a cult figure-Mark 'Chopper' Read.For the making of the film Bana and the Director spent a weekend with the man out in his ranch in Tazmania.Brave men!
Recall singing (badly) the well know tune by Smokie at a family wedding at 6 yrs old. Am still reminded of it by some folk. Fortunately therapy and alcohol have helped erase most of the memories.
Was in Western Australia for a while and an Aussie mate of mine couldn't quite pronounce Amhran na bhFiann and instead pronounced it as "I run the v". A tribute to one great guy.
the name of my twin babies ;D Cadhla and Cian, now living in san diego, so they will be tortured the rest of their lives, here in the states!! man u should hear some of the pronuciation when we go the doctors!