GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: screenexile on June 30, 2008, 09:00:00 AM

Title: Muineachán v Doire 19/20 July
Post by: screenexile on June 30, 2008, 09:00:00 AM
Well sportsfans a repeat of last year's Ulster Semi Final and the tie of the round as far as many are concerned.

I'm quite happy with this draw as it's a big team and a win against them would put our season back on track again. I always felt after last year that if we had to play Monaghan again we would beat them and now my theory can be tested. I think Monaghan played well above themselves with players like Dick Clerkin and Stephen Gollogly flourishing when reall I don't think they are that good. The wheels came off a bit for both sides against Fermanagh so it will be interesting to see who can put that behind them. A loss for either team would seem to indicate a new management team for next year but I think we have enough to beat them this time around.
Title: Re: Muineachán v Doire 19/20 July
Post by: timmyot501 on June 30, 2008, 09:28:23 AM
Both teams had poor outtings against Fermanagh in Ulster but for this game Derry will be boosted by Doherty's return whereas Monaghan will be minus Gary McQuaid and Paul Finlay.  I think Monaghan needed a less difficult opener if they were to put a run together.  Add last years win by Monaghan over Derry (the revenge factor) and it all points to a Derry win unfortunately.  I think every Ulster team would have been praying to avoid another Ulster team and most of them did - leaving Monaghan and Derry as the unlucky ones

By the way - what a waste of time the hurling draws were!!
Post by: Real Talk on June 30, 2008, 10:47:47 AM
In the Qualifiers Home advantage is a big plus and Paul Finlay was't playing against Derry lasy year.  Derry players would need an 'injury free' run in their Club championship and considering they don't have a Championship Manager !! I think this game could go either way
Post by: lloyd christmas on June 30, 2008, 11:00:08 AM
Traditionally derry find Monaghan a tough nut to crack and I don't think it will be any different this time!  Think the full back line will need to tighten up a little and i think mccloy is drinking in the last chance saloon! I think this is a major problem at the moment, and Monaghan will be out to expose his lack of speed! Not an easy tie! ::)
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on June 30, 2008, 12:47:35 PM
Great Tie. Do or Die. One game to rekindle Derry's fortunes or to put the nail in Paddy Croziers coffin.

If the Derry players can not get themselves motivated for this one they should hang up their boots. If we get passed Monaghan we are out in the open fields again.
Post by: donelli on June 30, 2008, 02:05:53 PM
Any chance this game will be moved forward a week.
The qualiifer is down for sat 19th July, but with the Ulster final on the following day, will the ulster council allow it be played 24 hours before their biggest game of the year???
Post by: lloyd christmas on June 30, 2008, 02:25:36 PM
Couldn't see it. Derry club championship games are this weekend so that would only give them a weeks preparation for monaghan.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 30, 2008, 02:27:05 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on June 30, 2008, 09:28:23 AM
By the way - what a waste of time the hurling draws were!!
Not as big a waste of time as the Tommy Murphy draw was, glad to see Antrim avoided the big guns though :D

I think Derry will come through, provided Devlin and Doc start.
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on June 30, 2008, 04:29:03 PM
Was over on the Monaghan hogan stand website and some poster says that Tommy Freeman is on clutches?
Any of you Monaghan lads know anything about that?
probably bullshit ......
Post by: Main Street on June 30, 2008, 05:50:30 PM
Shot himself in the foot with that nail gun :'(

Post by: Maguire01 on June 30, 2008, 05:57:17 PM
Match at 3pm on the Saturday afternoon. I predict a very small crowd. It's too early for me. Why not 6 or 7 in the evening?
Post by: INDIANA on June 30, 2008, 06:09:38 PM
at the end of the day its two teams that aren't going to effect the business end of the championship or get anywhere near Kerry for that matter. I can't see Derry losing, doherty with one arm will win midfield and that will be enough.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 30, 2008, 06:21:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 30, 2008, 06:09:38 PM
I can't see Derry losing, doherty with one arm will win midfield and that will be enough.
Yes, the way he did last year. Oh, wait...
Post by: southderryman on June 30, 2008, 07:21:21 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 30, 2008, 06:21:22 PM
I can't see Derry losing, doherty with one arm will win midfield and that will be enough.

he suffered an injury in the first half and didnt reappear for the second half.............this might have a bearing on why he didnt win midfield!
Post by: Maguire01 on June 30, 2008, 10:07:27 PM
Quote from: southderryman on June 30, 2008, 07:21:21 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 30, 2008, 06:21:22 PM

he suffered an injury in the first half and didnt reappear for the second half.............this might have a bearing on why he didnt win midfield!
He was substituted in the 59th minute. Maybe because he wasn't winning midfield?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6235252.stm

I'm not trying to be awkward - he may well win midfield in the next game, but the assumpton that he will clean up is a bit bold.
Post by: southderryman on June 30, 2008, 10:35:51 PM
fair enough. could have sworn he was taken of earlier. but apparently not. but he was definitely injured, of that i am certain. fergal doherty will always hold his own against any midfielder in ireland, and would never be substituted if not carrying an injury.
Post by: donelli on June 30, 2008, 11:54:02 PM
From a Monaghan perspective, i think this was the worst draw we could have got (well probably the game being played in celtic park would have been possibly that bit worse).
Unfortunatley, i see a defeat for our boys. Finlay and mcquaid will be big misses. I realise Finlay didnt play in Casement last year, but all things consdered that was Monaghans best performance of the year last and we still only beat derry by a couple of points (and derry reckoned that was their worst performance).

I'd love if i was proved wrong, but i cant see by a derry win.
Post by: timmyot501 on July 01, 2008, 12:57:43 PM
Game is live on TV3 I hear. That will leave an even smaller crowd.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 01, 2008, 01:10:40 PM
Quote from: donelli on June 30, 2008, 11:54:02 PM
From a Monaghan perspective, i think this was the worst draw we could have got (well probably the game being played in celtic park would have been possibly that bit worse).
Unfortunatley, i see a defeat for our boys. Finlay and mcquaid will be big misses. I realise Finlay didnt play in Casement last year, but all things consdered that was Monaghans best performance of the year last and we still only beat derry by a couple of points (and derry reckoned that was their worst performance).

I'd love if i was proved wrong, but i cant see by a derry win.
I would have though our best performance last year was v Donegal. Finlay is a bigger loss than McQuaid for this as Derry are strong at midfield. We managed well enough in the league McQuaid's replacements, so we should manage there.
And yes, we only beat Derry by a couple of points last year, but they did get a very soft goal near the end that put a better look on the scoreboard.
Post by: thebandit on July 01, 2008, 02:13:41 PM
Can Finlay take his appeal any further?
Post by: Will Hunting on July 01, 2008, 02:16:15 PM
What's the likely make-up of the Monaghan team going to be? Will they persist with Vincent Corey at full-forward or will they need him back in defence?
Post by: Uladh on July 01, 2008, 02:20:18 PM
I really find it hard to see a monaghan win here. the cards are stacked against them with the suspensions and the stories of unrest between players and management. if they can turn this around and produce a win it'll surpass anything they achieved last year imho.

From a derry perspective, surely there must be a reaction to their failure to perform against fermanagh and a fairly big one. i'd expect any semblence of character and fighting spirit to be chanelled into producing a performace against monaghan.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 01, 2008, 02:25:12 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 01, 2008, 12:57:43 PM
not much of derry gets tv3, our travelling support will still be strong!!
Post by: Will Hunting on July 01, 2008, 02:27:40 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 01, 2008, 02:25:12 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 01, 2008, 12:57:43 PM
Well hopefully there will be more than the 300 that travelled last year, when the game wasn't live on TV at all!!
Post by: lloyd christmas on July 01, 2008, 04:29:12 PM
Will be in Majorca for the derry game.Hope some of the bars will be fit till pick up tv3. A Derry victory may add a little merryment to my vacation,its the most likely outcome but i think itl be a close game,a point either way. Although the form of skinner will be an extra weapon we didnt have last year.  Give mceneany something else to ponder.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 01, 2008, 06:45:56 PM
jaysus a lot of confident Derry posters on here....I read in the paper today that this was the draw from hell for Monaghan. I'd say it is the draw from hell for Derry. I think Derry will really struggle to pull it together for this game. rumour has it all is not well in the camp with players doubting the manager and so forth. OK we will have Doc back...a huge plus for us...but unless we have a game plan I wouldnt be surprised at a repeat fermanagh game for us. Hope I'm wrong, as we have more good players than Monaghan and they are without their star in Finlay, but I'd be a far from confident. We have the  players to win, but not the tactics or gameplan. Monaghan have the gameplan...it will be interesting for a neutral but there'll be some serious nail biting for the respective fans.

Doire Abu!
Post by: southderryman on July 01, 2008, 08:34:21 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 01, 2008, 06:45:56 PM
jaysus a lot of confident Derry posters on here....I read in the paper today that this was the draw from hell for Monaghan. I'd say it is the draw from hell for Derry. I think Derry will really struggle to pull it together for this game. rumour has it all is not well in the camp with players doubting the manager and so forth. OK we will have Doc back...a huge plus for us...but unless we have a game plan I wouldnt be surprised at a repeat fermanagh game for us. Hope I'm wrong, as we have more good players than Monaghan and they are without their star in Finlay, but I'd be a far from confident. We have the  players to win, but not the tactics or gameplan. Monaghan have the gameplan...it will be interesting for a neutral but there'll be some serious nail biting for the respective fans.

Doire Abu!

not gonna happen unless we pull a new manager out of somewhere in the next week!

Post by: Main Street on July 01, 2008, 10:15:12 PM
For both teams this is the curse of getting whipped by Fermanagh.

I don't like this tie of the round tag, I'd rather we get retired quietly for the year  or sneak in the next round without any fuss.

I don't know how anybody can say with any confidence which team is going to go into the game with the better attitude.
Which rumours are more true?  :)

Post by: glenullinabu on July 02, 2008, 12:15:07 AM
Quote from: Uladh on July 01, 2008, 02:20:18 PM
I really find it hard to see a monaghan win here. the cards are stacked against them with the suspensions and the stories of unrest between players and management. if

you wouldnt get that sort of thing in the derry camp ;)
Post by: Doire abú on July 02, 2008, 12:44:19 AM

You sure about that? I know the hallions around Screen don't get it, but never heard of anywhere that doesn't get it.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 02, 2008, 08:22:42 AM
Monaghan-Derry clash live on TV3
01 July 2008

Ulster rivals Monaghan and Derry will battle it out in a First Round qualifier of the GAA All Ireland Senior Football Championship, live on TV3, Saturday 19 July from 2pm.

GAA president Nickey Brennan pulled out the names of last season's All Ireland quarter finalists Monaghan and this season's National League Champions Derry, for a do-or-die match in Clones.

An average of 248,000 viewers tuned in to TV3's Championship Live for the Leinster Senior Football Semi-Final between Dublin and Westmeath, with a peak of 400,000 tuning in for the closing stages of the game at Croke Park.

TV3 Sports Editor, Kieran Holden said: "It shows how strong the Ulster Football Championship is that neither of these teams made the final, we're delighted to have first pick of the qualifiers and Monaghan versus Derry was the stand out game from the draw. With Fermanagh and Armagh contesting the Ulster Final the following day, it sets up a thrilling weekend of live GAA Championship action on TV3."

Monaghan v Derry; Live on TV3, Saturday July 19 from 2pm.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2008, 08:50:06 AM
Should be a great game, albeit a war of attrition - 2 teams with lofty ambitions at the start of May, now staring into a depressing abyss of chronic underachievement. The losers will be distraught. Although Monaghan have home advantage, I think Derry will prevail simply because they have better footballers in most sectors and only lost to Fermanagh by 2 despite playing shite for 50 mins. Doherty's return will reinvigorate the side. 3 point win for the in-breds.
Post by: bingobus on July 02, 2008, 10:06:34 AM
Can't see Monaghan getting within 5 points of Derry. Our squad was stretched for the Fermanagh game, with Banty showing he had little or no faith in the squad as a whole.

Well he is going to need to that squad now, 4 of the team that played against Fermanagh are gone with only one of those having any chance of playing. Eoin Lennon is still struggling for form and Dick Clerkin is not a Intercounty midfield or even half forward.

Where do Monaghan turn to? Only hope to is dour game and keeping the Bradleys quiet. Have to match Fermanaghs hunger and desire. In front of about 5/6,000 in clones, I don't think this will happen.
Post by: Will Hunting on July 02, 2008, 10:13:14 AM
Quote from: bingobus on July 02, 2008, 10:06:34 AM
Can't see Monaghan getting within 5 points of Derry. Our squad was stretched for the Fermanagh game, with Banty showing he had little or no faith in the squad as a whole.

Well he is going to need to that squad now, 4 of the team that played against Fermanagh are gone with only one of those having any chance of playing. Eoin Lennon is still struggling for form and Dick Clerkin is not a Intercounty midfield or even half forward.

Where do Monaghan turn to? Only hope to is dour game and keeping the Bradleys quiet. Have to match Fermanaghs hunger and desire. In front of about 5/6,000 in clones, I don't think this will happen.
So Bingo, what do you reckon the Monaghan team will be?
Post by: bingobus on July 02, 2008, 10:26:17 AM
What I think the team will be and what I would like it to be would be polls apart. Too early to be picking team and with the injuries hanging over the team there are a number of questions marks.

I would have liked to see Vinny Corey out of FF but with Ronaghan injured is their a replacement? JP moved to MF with Vinny or Paul McGuigan at FB. Dessie at wing back and Hanratty to start. Too many gaps in the forwards.
Post by: thebandit on July 02, 2008, 12:08:36 PM
I'd try Dessie at Centre Half, Hanratty is a cert to start - could get blown 3 times for overcarrying in the first 10 minutes, could run Derry ragged, who knows!

I would have liked to have seen Vinny at FB and JP at MF, but I think we will need Vinny in the forwards. Could Rory do the job at FF?

I'd try:
                Butsy

Morgan    Vinny     Flanagan
             D Freeman
Strimmer   Dessie   Darren Hughes

Lennon     JP

Jinxy        Paul McGuigan    Manzie
          Tommy       Rory         
Post by: Maguire01 on July 02, 2008, 01:07:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2008, 08:50:06 AM
Although Monaghan have home advantage, I think Derry will prevail simply because they have better footballers in most sectors and only lost to Fermanagh by 2 despite playing shite for 50 mins. Doherty's return will reinvigorate the side. 3 point win for the in-breds.
Monaghan played shite for a full 70 and only lost by 4, including 2 soft goals! We were the better losers against Fermanagh.  :P ;D
Do Derry really have better players? Make a combined starting 15 and see how many from each county.
Post by: Will Hunting on July 02, 2008, 02:16:35 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 02, 2008, 01:07:40 PM
Although Monaghan have home advantage, I think Derry will prevail simply because they have better footballers in most sectors and only lost to Fermanagh by 2 despite playing shite for 50 mins. Doherty's return will reinvigorate the side. 3 point win for the in-breds.
Monaghan played shite for a full 70 and only lost by 4, including 2 soft goals! We were the better losers against Fermanagh.  :P ;D
Do Derry really have better players? Make a combined starting 15 and see how many from each county.
Probably a lazy assumption, but it would generally be recognised that Derry have more talent in their squad. There are players with AI U-21 medals, AI Minor medals, AI Club medals, Ulster Club medals, Sigerson medals etc. Not that i agree this makes Derry a better team, because as we seen against Fermanagh last week and Monaghan last year, talent and individual flair can be nullified by a hard-working, organised unit. But we're sick to the teeth in Derry of discussing that particular issue.

Anyway, based on the team against Fermanagh last week (and in no way indicative of my thoughts on what the team should actually be) here is a possible Derry starting 15 for you to compare against:

B Gillis
K McGuckin
K McCloy
M McGoldrick
G O'Kane
N McCusker
M McIvor
F Doherty
J Diver
M Lynch
P Murphy
E Muldoon
E Bradley
P Bradley
C Gilligan
-----

Others:
SM Lockhart
J Conway
C Devlin
F McEldowney
B McGoldrick
L Hinphey
Post by: Real Talk on July 02, 2008, 05:51:48 PM
I think PC is going to shock everyone incuding the Derry panel and the team will be:
S McGuckin
K McGuckin N McCusker Eunan O'Kane
G O'Kane John O'Kane Joe O'Kane
F Doc and J Diiiver
E Muldoon E Bradley Patsy Bradley
Paul Bradley Paddy Bradley Seamus Bradley
There something about the O'Kane's and the Bradley's that PC likes  :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\ and that's about as much preparation as the actual starting team will get.   It'll give the TV3 pundits something to figure out (I don't think the other PC ...... Canavan that is !!!! will worry much about it)
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2008, 11:26:07 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 02, 2008, 01:07:40 PM

Do Derry really have better players?

In my opinion they do. Of the combined forward units available for the game, I'd only have Tommy as a definite starter, with the 2 Bradleys, Muldoon and Lynch. That'd leave the last place for either Gilligan, Murphy (Derry) or Corey.

In midfield it'd be Doherty and Diver for me.

Defensively, McCloy seems to have gone backwards since late-championship '07, but I'd still start him McGuckin, McCusker and McIvor with Damien Freeman and one of either corner back.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 02, 2008, 11:47:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2008, 11:26:07 PM
In my opinion they do. Of the combined forward units available for the game, I'd only have Tommy as a definite starter, with the 2 Bradleys, Muldoon and Lynch. That'd leave the last place for either Gilligan, Murphy (Derry) or Corey.
No place for Finlay or Woods in the forwards? I'd also consider McManus, although he has a lot of potential for the future, if not straight away - same with Hanratty.

In midfield it'd be Doherty and Diver for me.
Yes, Derry generally stronger in midfield. However, although Lennon is having a poor patch, he's usually pretty reliable.

Defensively, McCloy seems to have gone backwards since late-championship '07, but I'd still start him McGuckin, McCusker and McIvor with Damien Freeman and one of either corner back.
D Mone, JP Mone and McQuaid would have to feature at the back (in addition to Freeman). McGuigan also lookin good during the league as an attacking half-back.
Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2008, 12:19:45 AM
I didn't think Finlay was available for the game.
Title: derry lads
Post by: Uladh on July 03, 2008, 10:45:18 AM

I've only really seen him in the two championship games this year but am i missing what's good about michael McIvor?
Post by: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 11:50:24 AM
Like bingobus, the teams we want and the teams we think may start are polls apart.
What id like from a derry point of view (but know wont happen);

Deighan

McGoldrick
McCusker
Lockhart

McGuckin
G O'Kane
Hinphey

Doherty
Diver

Lynch
E Bradley
P Murphy

C Devlin
E Muldoon
P Bradley

the blanket defence could be bypassed by long high balls into Muldoon with Devlin and Paddy underneath him. Eoin Bradley running direct from CHF would be hard to stop without fouling.
Hinphey adds a bit of steel to the half back line. McGuckin is decent attacking and good height for kick outs. McCloy may have to bite the bullet for the good of the team.
Post by: whiskeysteve on July 03, 2008, 12:44:23 PM
Wouldn't have murphy at wing forward. Either CHF or on the bench
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on July 03, 2008, 01:09:37 PM
Lads just read this over in the Hogan stand - is that story about michael mcgoldrick true - has he tore his hamstring. Can any of you Bellaghy boys confirm this tale?

Hinphey set to return to Derry fold

Liam Hinphey 
03 July 2008

Derry's Liam Hinphey made a shock return to the playing field on Monday night when he lined-out for his club side St Canice's, Dungiven in their four-point victory over Bellaghy in the Derry county championship.

The defender was expected to miss the rest of the Championship for the Oak Leafers after he had suffered a pelvic injury, but his rapid recovery will no doubt come as welcome new for Paddy Crozier ahead of the team's crunch All-Ireland qualifier with Monaghan on July 19.

Other pluses for the Derry boss ahead of the clash are Barry McGoldrick, Joe O'Kane, John Deighan and James Conway, with the latter still making himself available to play despite getting married the Friday before the game.

Michael McGoldrick has been ruled out of the meeting with the Farney men after tearing his hamstring and veteran defender Sean Marty Lockhart also remains a doubt as he is struggling to overcome a thigh muscle injury.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 03, 2008, 01:30:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 03, 2008, 12:19:45 AM
He isn't. I was just trying to compare strength of players and who would make a combined starting 15.
Post by: Will Hunting on July 03, 2008, 01:34:49 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 03, 2008, 01:30:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 03, 2008, 12:19:45 AM
He isn't. I was just trying to compare strength of players and who would make a combined starting 15.

Ok Maguire, you seem to have taken issue with the view that Derry have better players than Monaghan, so what would your combined starting 15 be?
Post by: gaagaa on July 03, 2008, 01:59:20 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 11:50:24 AM
Like bingobus, the teams we want and the teams we think may start are polls apart.

Deighan

McGoldrick
McCusker
Lockhart

McGuckin
G O'Kane
Hinphey

Doherty
Diver

Lynch
E Bradley
P Murphy

C Devlin
E Muldoon
P Bradley

the blanket defence could be bypassed by long high balls into Muldoon with Devlin and Paddy underneath him. Eoin Bradley running direct from CHF would be hard to stop without fouling.
Hinphey adds a bit of steel to the half back line. McGuckin is decent attacking and good height for kick outs. McCloy may have to bite the bullet for the good of the team.

not a bad eam but im not sure about lockharts mental attitude anymore - he always seems to have excuses not to play
Post by: screenexile on July 03, 2008, 02:34:45 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on July 03, 2008, 01:59:20 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 11:50:24 AM

Deighan

McGoldrick
McCusker
Lockhart

McGuckin
G O'Kane
Hinphey

Doherty
Diver

Lynch
E Bradley
P Murphy

C Devlin
E Muldoon
P Bradley

not a bad eam but im not sure about lockharts mental attitude anymore - he always seems to have excuses not to play

::) ::) ::) ::) What a stupid comment to make!
Post by: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 04:10:24 PM
i presume gaagaa is on the wind up.

Lockhart is one of derry's finest defenders and has been for a decade.
he didnt play in the club championship this week so his injury may rule him out. Had a deadly game coming on in the National league final against Kerry

I think the team i have named would take some beating providing all fully fit! But for the monaghan game this is unlikely.
Post by: southderryman on July 03, 2008, 08:16:05 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on July 02, 2008, 12:44:19 AM

You sure about that? I know the hallions around Screen don't get it, but never heard of anywhere that doesn't get it.

you watch your mouth!  ;) your really a tyrone man anyway!  :P
Post by: Doire abú on July 03, 2008, 09:23:12 PM
Now there's no call for that.
Post by: southderryman on July 03, 2008, 09:55:13 PM
maybe not, but not all screenians are hallions! hows the loughshore flies behavin?
Post by: southderryman on July 03, 2008, 10:02:09 PM
Should be a great game, albeit a war of attrition - 2 teams with lofty ambitions at the start of May, now staring into a depressing abyss of chronic underachievement. The losers will be distraught. Although Monaghan have home advantage, I think Derry will prevail simply because they have better footballers in most sectors and only lost to Fermanagh by 2 despite playing shite for 50 mins. Doherty's return will reinvigorate the side. 3 point win for the in-breds.

after discussing the merits of derry and monaghan, for no apparent reason you make a prediction on the tyrone game?  ??? :P
Post by: Real Talk on July 03, 2008, 10:43:13 PM
Lads what about my team
I think PC is going to shock everyone incuding the Derry panel and the team will be:
S McGuckin
K McGuckin N McCusker Eunan O'Kane
G O'Kane John O'Kane Joe O'Kane
F Doc and J Diver
E Muldoon E Bradley Patsy Bradley
Paul Bradley Paddy Bradley Seamus Bradley
I read on the Tyrone thread that Clonoe beat Errigal in th Championship, is that the team Damian Cassidy manages????  Its time to give him the Derry job before he 'goes off the boil'

Post by: gaagaa on July 03, 2008, 11:28:48 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 04:10:24 PM

sorry kentucky im not and i dont believe im the only person to express this opinion (off the board)
lockhart was good in his day and did well in league final
sometimes i think hes more worried about preserving his reputation than trying to play in the hard matches
sorry but that how i and some others feel
Post by: jimbob123 on July 04, 2008, 12:53:30 AM
monaghan isnt the worst draw we could have got! aslong as we avoided meath, westmeath and tyrone i didnt really mind who we got as we have the team there after taking the defeat to fermanagh to get bak 2 winnin ways  ;D as for monaghan... kevin mcguckin was the star performer against fermanagh in our defence and if he is on tommy freeman we wil b secure enough  :) paul finlay is a massive loss to monaghan which should give us a huge advantage in midfield and with doherty and conway ready to take advantage of his absence we should go to clones with 100% confidence to do the job! our forward line the last day could have beaten fermanagh if they hada taken ther scores but its easier sayin it in the stands than it is to do when yur on the pitch :o if we take the points when we can get them and stop freeman as much as possible we should go through to round 2 with a good win  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Doire abú on July 04, 2008, 09:32:01 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 03, 2008, 09:55:13 PM
maybe not, but not all screenians are hallions! hows the loughshore flies behavin?

They're ating me alive this weather, but sure ye wouldn't have it any other way!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 04, 2008, 05:54:58 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on July 03, 2008, 01:59:20 PM
if you had gone through some of the family problems due to illness that he experienced at the start of this year (and is still doing so) - you might be in the same boat.
Dont put yer foot in your mouth
Post by: jodyb on July 04, 2008, 10:10:12 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on July 03, 2008, 11:28:48 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 04:10:24 PM

sorry kentucky im not and i dont believe im the only person to express this opinion (off the board)
lockhart was good in his day and did well in league final
sometimes i think hes more worried about preserving his reputation than trying to play in the hard matches
sorry but that how i and some others feel
You're entitled to your opinion gaagaa, but aside from his years of magnificant service to the Derry cause, his return to his proper position after the monaghan debacle last year  was a major part of getting our season back on track! Under a decent manager he would undoubtedly have won at least one Celtic cross and is deserving of same.
Family difficulties coupled with injury have kept him away for most of this year, when many of his vintage are retiring from the county scene. I fervently hope he gets to play championship football far Derry this year, cos the only reputations he thinks about are those of the forwards he puts in his pocket!
Post by: the green man on July 04, 2008, 11:44:31 PM
In all due respect to gaagaa, there is a perception that SM has been picking his games, this last few years. I don't say that I'm close to the Derry camp at all, but, the rumour went out in 06 at Omagh that he was fully fit, but declined to play. Maybe this is where gaagaa is coming from.

Knowing Sean from school days, I doubt that this was the case. In fact i would have to applaud him for playing so long. There's not many county players, playing past 30 in the modern game. I'll back SML to the hilt, all the way. His life is GAA, maybe gaagaa could pm me, and I tell him about the things he does, behind the scenes
Post by: gaagaa on July 05, 2008, 12:38:45 PM
Quote from: the green man on July 04, 2008, 11:44:31 PM
Maybe this is where gaagaa is coming from.

I'll back SML to the hilt, all the way. His life is GAA, maybe gaagaa could pm me, and I tell him about the things he does, behind the scenes

dont get me wrong i have full admiration for what he achieved
,maybe i could have worded it more diplomatically GM but i was writing in context
of who was available to derry ant their current ability to play a part thisyear
Post by: Real Talk on July 05, 2008, 06:21:42 PM
Although over the years he has actually played less game that others he has been a tremendous servant to Derry.  He would also still have ambitions of playing for Ireland again in the Compromise Series (and of being Ireland'd most capped player) and that is one of the reasons he is generally availble for higher profile matchs.
Post by: bannside on July 05, 2008, 07:01:02 PM
SML still the best man to man marker Derry have. Was heading for another all star last year but for one bit of indecision whether to go first to the ball, or try to wrap up Alan Brogan when he got it, in last years QF.

This year a lot of injuries have hampered him this year, among them a major surgery to get a twisted finger fixed, the like of which I never saw the like of!

Now its a bad shoulder, and thats no surprise the way he goes about his tackling drills even in training.

Post by: redcard on July 05, 2008, 07:20:15 PM
Muineachán minors beat Doire this evening by 4 pts
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2008, 09:20:56 PM
5 points! We're in the Ulster Final after all! Some turn around from last year's semi-final in Casement.

QuoteMonaghan 1-14 1-9 Derry 

Monaghan will meet Tyrone in the Ulster MFC final on 20 July following their win over Derry at Omagh on Saturday.

Monaghan, with two points each from Kieran Hughes, Aaron McCarey and Christopher McGuinness, led by 0-8 to 0-6 at half-time.

They had stretched the advantage to four before Lee Moore netted penalty for Derry in the 45th minute.

Scores from Kieran Hughes saw Monaghan regain control, and a brilliant solo goal by Pete Dooney capped a fine win.
Post by: Rois on July 05, 2008, 09:44:00 PM
The goal that sealed it at the end was a fantastic effort, he carried it from around the far forty line right through.  

It was an exciting game for a neutral to watch.   It was even graced by the attendance of the Director General Paraic Duffy who was sitting behind me.
Post by: Rois on July 05, 2008, 09:56:19 PM
One gripe - it cost me £8 to get in!!!
Post by: Rois on July 05, 2008, 10:54:03 PM
There was a hurling match (no interest for me) and the minor match.  Neither counties were my own and I was going to keep my dad company, who got in free cause he was doing something for the Ulster Council. 

But then Omagh facilities are so good, it wasn't much of a hardship at least  ;D

Post by: tbrick18 on July 06, 2008, 01:25:47 PM
Quote from: jimbob123 on July 04, 2008, 12:53:30 AM
monaghan isnt the worst draw we could have got! aslong as we avoided meath, westmeath and tyrone i didnt really mind who we got as we have the team there after taking the defeat to fermanagh to get bak 2 winnin ways  ;D as for monaghan... kevin mcguckin was the star performer against fermanagh in our defence and if he is on tommy freeman we wil b secure enough  :) paul finlay is a massive loss to monaghan which should give us a huge advantage in midfield and with doherty and conway ready to take advantage of his absence we should go to clones with 100% confidence to do the job! our forward line the last day could have beaten fermanagh if they hada taken ther scores but its easier sayin it in the stands than it is to do when yur on the pitch :o if we take the points when we can get them and stop freeman as much as possible we should go through to round 2 with a good win  ;D ;D ;D

Are you serious???? McGuckian let stood off his man for the entire match and then tried to shephard him out with the ball...a defender should be trying to get the ball first day and if that fails then shephard the forward out...he seems to be doing it all wrong IMO. Niall McCusker was by far our best player on the pitch against fermanagh, let alone best in defence.
Post by: An Laoch on July 08, 2008, 12:32:49 PM
Quote from: jimbob123 on July 04, 2008, 12:53:30 AMpaul finlay is a massive loss to monaghan

Is Finlay out?

Hoganstand says:
Apart from Raymond Ronaghan, who has a broken bone in his foot, McEnaney currently has no injury problems ahead of Saturday week's first round qualifier with the Oak Leafers after the Monaghan boss last week rubbished claims that star forward Tommy Freeman could miss the game with an ankle problem.
Post by: bingobus on July 08, 2008, 12:50:37 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on July 08, 2008, 12:32:49 PM
Quote from: jimbob123 on July 04, 2008, 12:53:30 AMpaul finlay is a massive loss to monaghan

Is Finlay out?

Hoganstand says:
Apart from Raymond Ronaghan, who has a broken bone in his foot, McEnaney currently has no injury problems ahead of Saturday week's first round qualifier with the Oak Leafers after the Monaghan boss last week rubbished claims that star forward Tommy Freeman could miss the game with an ankle problem.

Finlay is suspended rather than injured. McQuaid also suspended.
Post by: An Laoch on July 08, 2008, 12:53:24 PM
good man bingobus
Post by: Main Street on July 08, 2008, 03:34:50 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 05, 2008, 09:44:00 PM
The goal that sealed it at the end was a fantastic effort, he carried it from around the far forty line right through.  

It was an exciting game for a neutral to watch.
Strange times we live in, the BT had a lengthy enough report on the game.
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/article3871511.ece (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/article3871511.ece)

I had thought the reporter got carried away with the description of the goal,
"In the last minute, Pete Dooney ran all of 80 yards, beating four defenders in the process before crashing to the bottom right-hand corner of the Derry net for a goal that reflected Monaghan's classy performance on the day".

Post by: billy the kid on July 08, 2008, 04:55:23 PM
The Monaghan CHF was the star player with 4/5 points and was above anything else on the pitch.  Think he may have been Hughes but not sure.
Post by: thebandit on July 08, 2008, 05:24:03 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on July 08, 2008, 04:55:23 PM
The Monaghan CHF was the star player with 4/5 points and was above anything else on the pitch.  Think he may have been Hughes but not sure.

That would be Kieran Hughes from Scostown. Mattie O'Reilly and Sam Dooney played very well at the back. The U16s Pete Dooney and Aaron McCarey also played well.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 08, 2008, 11:15:56 PM
"From Monaghan's point of view it was a great team performance that was liberally sprinkled with some fine individual efforts, none more so than Mark Connolly in midfield and well supported by Ciaran Hughes, Pete Dooney and Aaron McCarery at full forward."

This young lad's signed for Wolves and will be a big miss to Monaghan GAA..
Post by: whiskeysteve on July 09, 2008, 12:26:15 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on July 08, 2008, 04:55:23 PM

Any derry boys show up well?
Post by: fer fox ache on July 09, 2008, 01:28:16 PM
The two lads up front McGeehan and Moore looked dangerous but then we knew that already. Problem was we couldn't the ball to them, I thought Emmett Mcguckin showed well. Your lad Mullan scored a nice point but wasn't a consistent threat
Post by: thebandit on July 09, 2008, 02:43:40 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 08, 2008, 11:15:56 PM
"From Monaghan's point of view it was a great team performance that was liberally sprinkled with some fine individual efforts, none more so than Mark Connolly in midfield and well supported by Ciaran Hughes, Pete Dooney and Aaron McCarery at full forward."

Aaron McCarey is going for trials as well .... as a goalkeeper
Post by: bingobus on July 09, 2008, 02:45:47 PM
Quote from: thebandit on July 09, 2008, 02:43:40 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 08, 2008, 11:15:56 PM

Aaron McCarey is going for trials as well .... as a goalkeeper

Expect Pete Dooney to follow suit as well. In same Irish squad as McCarey and has been over already apparently.

thebandit, you get the PM i sent you?
Post by: ExiledGael on July 09, 2008, 06:29:20 PM
Monaghan seems to be a hotbed of english clubs recruiting, is there a scouting link up in the area? Seem to lose a fair bit of local talent to soccer, and rugby to an extent.
Post by: haranguerer on July 09, 2008, 06:35:00 PM
Maybe its a hotbed of talent Exiled Gael, did you not consider that?   ;)

Aye, theres a loada scouts in the area, and the young fellas cant wait to get away.  :P
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 09, 2008, 10:05:52 PM
The Monaghan vs Derry game will be decided as soon as the referee is announced. Hopefully (and I speak as a purist) the GAA will appoint a referee who is wise to skullduggery and common thuggery that Banty McEnaney has instilled into his Monaghan side. Any right thinking Gael would welcome a Derry win.
Post by: ExiledGael on July 09, 2008, 10:48:36 PM
Sure half of Derry are secretly hoping for a Monaghan win.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 09, 2008, 11:14:17 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on July 09, 2008, 10:05:52 PM
The Monaghan vs Derry game will be decided as soon as the referee is announced. Hopefully (and I speak as a purist) the GAA will appoint a referee who is wise to skullduggery and common thuggery that Banty McEnaney has instilled into his Monaghan side. Any right thinking Gael would welcome a Derry win.

Can't get a rise on any other threads SS2?   ::)

Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2008, 12:00:14 AM
Sure it's a well known fact that Derry's only purpose is to play the beautiful game, if only the other teams would let them. ::)
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 10, 2008, 09:54:18 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 09, 2008, 11:14:17 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on July 09, 2008, 10:05:52 PM

Can't get a rise on any other threads SS2?   ::)

Not on the wind-up. Monaghan are often described as playing on the edge of what is acceptable physically. I think they have gone beyond that. Hence I do believe that the referee will have a massive bearing. Someone who picks nits is likely to suit Derry, one who prefers to let the game flow will favour yourselves. I will state the winner on this thread as soon as the referee is announced.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 11, 2008, 12:28:16 AM
So please do share with us a list of potential referees and the likely outcome.....
I'll start the list:
B Crowe
D Fahy
J Bannon
P Russell
M Hughes
J McQuillan
S Doyle
F Flynn
M Duffy
J McKee
M Deegan
D Coldrick
Post by: billy the kid on July 11, 2008, 02:19:11 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 10, 2008, 12:00:14 AM
Sure it's a well known fact that Derry's only purpose is to play the beautiful game, if only the other teams would let them. ::)

Exactly! nice to see a good honest analysis of the game ;)

And lets not forget Monaghan, sure all they want to do is hit people if only the ref would let them :o ;)
Post by: billy the kid on July 11, 2008, 02:21:38 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on July 09, 2008, 06:29:20 PM
Monaghan seems to be a hotbed of english clubs recruiting, is there a scouting link up in the area? Seem to lose a fair bit of local talent to soccer, and rugby to an extent.

Dick clerkin should try out for Rugby, never seen a man as good at kicking for touch.  Apparently Declan Kidney is looking him for cover for Ronan O'Gara for Autumn Tour.
Post by: ExiledGael on July 11, 2008, 05:13:23 PM
Post by: marty88 on July 12, 2008, 01:05:52 AM
Could anyone please tell me if this game is on the tele and if you can watch it stateside!? Thanks..
Post by: Maguire01 on July 12, 2008, 01:08:04 AM
Quote from: marty88 on July 12, 2008, 01:05:52 AM
Could anyone please tell me if this game is on the tele and if you can watch it stateside!? Thanks..
It's on TV3. That's as much as i know. Doubt it's online. Best bet is probably online radio - northernsound.ie or another local/regional station broadcasting on the net. That's my plan.
Post by: marty88 on July 12, 2008, 01:11:14 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 12, 2008, 01:08:04 AM
It's on TV3. That's as much as i know. Doubt it's online. Best bet is probably online radio - northernsound.ie or another local/regional station broadcasting on the net. That's my plan.

if its on tv3 does that not mean that setanta are covering it worldwide?
Post by: Oak Leafer on July 15, 2008, 10:14:40 AM
Heard a whisper that the game has been moved from Clones.....Anyone confirm??
Post by: thebandit on July 15, 2008, 10:54:09 AM
Wouldn't think so Oakleafer
Post by: Uladh on July 15, 2008, 11:04:05 AM
If it's a wet weekend will the clones pitch be fit for two games?
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 15, 2008, 11:51:16 AM
folks , how far is it from clones to enniskillen?
Post by: glenullinabu on July 15, 2008, 12:00:33 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on July 11, 2008, 02:21:38 PM
Dick clerkin should try out for Rugby, never seen a man as good at kicking for touch.  Apparently Declan Kidney is looking him for cover for Ronan O'Gara for Autumn Tour.

good one ;D
Post by: glenullinabu on July 15, 2008, 12:04:14 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 06, 2008, 01:25:47 PM
kevin mcguckin was the star performer against fermanagh in our defence

Are you serious???? McGuckian let stood off his man for the entire match and then tried to shephard him out with the ball...a defender should be trying to get the ball first day and if that fails then shephard the forward out...he seems to be doing it all wrong IMO.

be careful - some people think yuve got a pick on him if you dont hail him as the best man we have ::)
Post by: mhacadoir on July 15, 2008, 02:08:17 PM
is the game all ticket or just the gerry arthurs?
Post by: ExiledGael on July 15, 2008, 06:20:30 PM
On a normal day without any major delays you'd do Enniskillen to Clones in about 45 minutes, certainly well less than an hour.
Post by: haranguerer on July 15, 2008, 06:51:48 PM
Monaghan weren't great to start with, and now they've lost two key players. Their manager demonstrated perfectly their strength in depth by putting Rory Woods back on against Fermanagh. Last year, they built a lot of confidence up on their run, which carried them to victories. That confidence is bound to have being shattered after going down tamely to Fermanagh.
Derry were  missing Doherty against Fermanagh, and it showed. They were realistic contenders, and one loss doesnt change this. Theres a lot of pressure off them, and they have a lot to prove.

I'm thinking convincing Derry win. Anyone any reasons why not?
Post by: ExiledGael on July 15, 2008, 07:09:09 PM
Hunger is the only reason I'd worry about that. For me there's no question Derry are the better side, and Monaghan were outrageously over-hyped after last year. But I'm not sure that Derry will be really up for this game, going by posters on here the Crozier term has almost already been written off. If Monaghan come out fired up I don't know if Derry will have the heart for it, Doherty or not.
Despite the hype of Banty in today's papers we don't really know how how fired up Monaghan will be either, but the home influence should ensure some degree of heart.
Don't think it's too clear cut but wouldn't be surprised to see one or the other drop the heads big time. We'll find out an awful lot about these teams and their character on Saturday.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 15, 2008, 08:22:45 PM
Quote from: glenullinabu on July 15, 2008, 12:04:14 PM

Are you serious???? McGuckian let stood off his man for the entire match and then tried to shephard him out with the ball...a defender should be trying to get the ball first day and if that fails then shephard the forward out...he seems to be doing it all wrong IMO.

be careful - some people think yuve got a pick on him if you dont hail him as the best man we have ::)

Well let me set the record straight....I've got no pick on him I just think he hasnt had a good game since he broke his leg. Maybe the head isnt right or maybe its fitness...I dont know but he's not the player he was a year and a half ago.
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 15, 2008, 08:51:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 11, 2008, 12:28:16 AM
So please do share with us a list of potential referees and the likely outcome.....
I'll start the list:

D Coldrick

A three point Farney win in a niggly, foul ridden game, spoilt by the pernickety Mr Coldrick blowing for the slightest infringement, yet showing a marked reluctance to issue second yellow cards to individual players, preferring instead to wait for word from the CCC about who they want suspended. This will suit Monaghan for three reasons:

1. More fouls = more frees = more scoring chances. Monaghan have more reliable free takers (even in the likely absence of Finlay).
2. More frees = lesser requirement to shoot from open play. Will suit Monaghan who rely heavily on scores from the placed ball.
3. No second yellows, means Monaghan's 'aggression' won't be sufficiently punished.

Hope this helps.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 15, 2008, 09:30:39 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on July 15, 2008, 06:20:30 PM
On a normal day without any major delays you'd do Enniskillen to Clones in about 45 minutes, certainly well less than an hour.

thanks EG
will be pulling out the stops to get to this game on the crutches whether it kills me or not!
Post by: Main Street on July 15, 2008, 09:39:55 PM
Rent a wheelchair for the day and get the first class treatment that Ziggy usually gets.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 15, 2008, 09:43:04 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 15, 2008, 09:39:55 PM
Rent a wheelchair for the day and get the first class treatment that Ziggy usually gets.
nah, there'd be too many hoors lookin to push me back down the big hill !
Post by: mc_grens on July 16, 2008, 11:17:48 AM
That'll not be too hard when you're on crutches either!

Derry to win narrowly, with Paddy Bradley running up a big score due to his frustration last day out. Was it 2 or 3 years ago he scored 1-1- against the same opposition?
Post by: Estimator on July 16, 2008, 12:41:34 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 16, 2008, 11:17:48 AM

Derry to win narrowly, with Paddy Bradley running up a big score due to his frustration last day out. Was it 2 or 3 years ago he scored 1-1-against the same opposition?

Thats not a massive tally for someone of Paddy's calibre ;D ;D
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 16, 2008, 04:25:29 PM

Derry to win narrowly, with Paddy Bradley running up a big score due to his frustration last day out. Was it 2 or 3 years ago he scored 1-1- against the same opposition?

bit of a typo there MrG, it was in fact 1-10, not the best game for a Monaghan supporter, but that was a few years ago.. It really comes down to mid-field, PB hardly got a touch of the ball in the same tie last year, apart from a fortuitous goal near the end. Clerkin and Lennon were immense in that game, both fired up to the hilt and winning everything came near them.. That's what we need on Saturday, it's that simple but I have my doubts as to whether it'll happen or not!
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 16, 2008, 04:25:38 PM

not it wont, but you'd better jump away quickly if ya do, as the range of 'swingback' of them crutches is quite impressive!

Just been caught in a game of 'tig' between croke park and the ulster council.
Having convinced myself that I am nearly an invalid, I chanced my arm phoning them to ask if I could park nearer the ground on match day.
Croke park told me it was an ulster council issue, the ulster council told me it was a croke park issue as croker wer in charge of the tickets etc

I put it to the ulster council lad that croker put me on to them...he put me on hold for a while and the pearl of wisdon and advice he came back with was
" you'd best get to clones early so you can park nearer the ground"

For fux sake, with brainpower like that behind them, the ulster council will hardly enter the realm of politics!
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2008, 06:16:48 PM
I don't know how long you have been on crutches, if you haven't done the training and you need the full support of both crutches with one foot of the ground, then that hill will have you rightly fécked.

And you can always stick a 3" nail right through the rubber stop at the bottom of the crutch, useful accessory should you need to "assert" yourself with a swingback :)

Post by: lynchbhoy on July 16, 2008, 09:16:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 16, 2008, 06:16:48 PM
I don't know how long you have been on crutches, if you haven't done the training and you need the full support of both crutches with one foot of the ground, then that hill will have you rightly fécked.

And you can always stick a 3" nail right through the rubber stop at the bottom of the crutch, useful accessory should you need to "assert" yourself with a swingback :)

nah am ok, just trying to play the sympathy card with th eulster council - badly!

just need the crutches to ensure I dont put too much stress on the hip when walking just yet!

Post by: twotwocharlie on July 16, 2008, 10:24:08 PM
anyone got access to a family ticket for ulster final.
genuine family in need.
Post by: peterquaife on July 17, 2008, 11:40:55 AM
Quote from: mhacadoir on July 15, 2008, 02:08:17 PM
is the game all ticket or just the gerry arthurs?

no tickets at all i heard through the club...pay into GA stand as well.

Post by: timmyot501 on July 18, 2008, 08:48:09 AM
I hear Monaghan have named big Benny McKenna in their starting line-up for Saturday. Did anyone get the full team. 
Post by: FarneyMan on July 18, 2008, 10:21:20 AM
P McBennett
D Mone
JP Mone
D McArdle
D Freeman
D Hughes
P McGuigan
E Lennon
B McKenna
C McManus
D Clerkin
S Gollogly
R Woods
V Corey
T Freeman
Post by: thebandit on July 18, 2008, 10:32:26 AM
Quote from: FarneyMan on July 18, 2008, 10:21:20 AM
P McBennett
D Mone
JP Mone
D McArdle
D Freeman
D Hughes
P McGuigan
E Lennon
B McKenna
C McManus
D Clerkin
S Gollogly
R Woods
V Corey
T Freeman

Good to see Butsy back
Post by: bingobus on July 18, 2008, 11:10:11 AM
Not the wholesale changes I would have thought were needed. Only changes are enforced bar Butsy in goals which is only right. He may shuffle the pack a bit by the time the teams take to the field.

Can't see that team defeating Derry unless Derry really have thrown the towel in and show up to get a feed after the game!

Also, think that it is massively unfair that club games for 8 of the senior teams have been fixed for Sunday if they get beat on Saturday. These teams won't have the full benefit of their county players and once again a club game is fixed to "get it done and out of the way". This doesn't affect our  club but still think it is massively unfair. May as well have played star games.
Post by: timmyot501 on July 18, 2008, 11:47:33 AM
rumour has it Finlay's appeal has failed.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 18, 2008, 02:00:46 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 18, 2008, 11:47:33 AM
rumour has it Finlay's appeal has failed.

I would have thought that was a non-starter anyhow. Couldn't ever see him playin in this one..

Regarding the line out I'd reckon it'll be something along the lines of:

P McBennett

D Mone                          JP Mone

D Hughes

D Freeman                          P McGuigan

D Clerkin E Lennon B McKenna D McArdle

R Woods

S Gollogly                             C McManus

V Corey   T Freeman

with McManus, Gollogly, D Freeman & McGuigan alternating between defense and attack. If we can compete in mid-field then it's not dramatically different to last year. As I said before though, if they don't believe they can do it then I reckon will end our interest..

Post by: glenullinabu on July 18, 2008, 11:53:33 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 15, 2008, 08:22:45 PM
Quote from: glenullinabu on July 15, 2008, 12:04:14 PM

Well let me set the record straight....I've got no pick on him I just think he hasnt had a good game since he broke his leg. Maybe the head isnt right or maybe its fitness...I dont know but he's not the player he was a year and a half ago.

i totally agree
Post by: glenullinabu on July 18, 2008, 11:54:46 PM
derry to win and paddy & eoin to run riot
Post by: Uladh on July 19, 2008, 12:19:05 AM

still no derry team announced?
Post by: marty88 on July 19, 2008, 02:26:06 AM
Quote from: marty88 on July 12, 2008, 01:11:14 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 12, 2008, 01:08:04 AM

if its on tv3 does that not mean that setanta are covering it worldwide?

Just to let folks know, the kevar in san francisco are showing all three gaa games live tomorrow morning.
Post by: Paddy1804 on July 19, 2008, 10:05:17 AM
Eoin shouldn' start - he's a huffy, selfish wee shite and he really isn't that good - overrated in my humble opinion.  Devlin should start... 

A spell on the line would do him good.  Also the biggest mistake Crozier made was making McCloy Captain, he's another who shouldn't make the team, been woeful all year.  Think Sean Marty & Mickey McGoldrick are big, big losses.  Plus, he needs to work out once and for all where to play Lynch to get the best out of him.  I don't blame Lynch, I blame Crozier for not knowing where to play him.

Also, rumour has it that McCloskey's doing everything at training, with Crozier looking on..  Any truth in it?
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 02:50:16 PM
Eoin Bradley is as good a player as there is in the country at the minute - he might be a lot of other things, I don't know, but I do know that he is a fantastic footballer - maybe even better than Paddy.

Any word of the Derry team - talk of 8 changes ??
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2008, 03:24:11 PM
Disgraceful play-acting by Dick Clerkin. Maybe the CCC should start looking at this craic.
Post by: J70 on July 19, 2008, 03:25:53 PM
Doherty would want to learn to keep his hands to himself. He was lucky.
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 04:41:22 PM
Well done to Monaghan -

Question : Why did Paddy Crozier NOT play his best side ??

Did he want to get beat ?

Does this signal the end of Paddy's reign in Derry ?

Yet again, being National League champs means nothing !
Post by: haranguerer on July 19, 2008, 04:43:22 PM
Didnt see that coming! Well done mhan, they clearly used their time off well.
Post by: glens73 on July 19, 2008, 04:46:14 PM
John Morrison on Radio Ulster said that Derry were brittle.

Another miserable championship for a county that should be doing so much better.

Post by: joemamas on July 19, 2008, 04:48:47 PM
how many total wides for derry
Post by: glens73 on July 19, 2008, 04:52:09 PM
I think Monaghan had more, especially in the first half
Post by: glens73 on July 19, 2008, 04:52:56 PM
Chris Brown on Radio Ulster blames it on bad luck.
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 04:57:47 PM
Quote from: glens73 on July 19, 2008, 04:52:56 PM

10 Derry wides in the 2nd half

Derry bossed the midfield in the 2nd half but come out beaten - I thought there was a score for Derry but umpire waved it wide ??

Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 04:59:36 PM
The commentary on that TV3 is shocking bad !
Post by: J70 on July 19, 2008, 05:00:18 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 04:57:47 PM
Quote from: glens73 on July 19, 2008, 04:52:56 PM

10 Derry wides in the 2nd half

Derry bossed the midfield in the 2nd half but come out beaten - I thought there was a score for Derry but umpire waved it wide ??

It looked over on the tv, although the replays from behind the goal were useless.

The umpire appeared to have waved it wide before it even crossed the endline though.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2008, 05:02:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 04:59:36 PM

You're very harsh on Joe Kernan. ;D
Post by: Uladh on July 19, 2008, 05:05:01 PM

jaysus but they're bad. don't really know what the commentator is like cos he can't get a word in over "summeriser" joe
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 05:25:07 PM
Thw whole package is brutal - the pundits are cat as well ! It's a competition to see who can use the most cliches.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2008, 05:28:21 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 05:25:07 PM
Thw whole package is brutal - the pundits are cat as well ! It's a competition to see who can use the most cliches.

Yeah didn't think it was possible for tv3 coverage to be as bad as the job they done on the rugby but fair play to the boys the have excelled themselves , Cooper is a brutul host but when you have hayes, our own Db and a few others thrown in it reallly is brutul
Post by: glenullinabu on July 19, 2008, 05:43:33 PM
I have sat on the sofa (not normally an armchair supporter but i couldt make this particular match) for a while since the match was over.  I wasnt gonna say anything negative until I heard PC post match interview but...

f**k YOU PC - you admit MF was poor but you still name and blame your best forward for missing a free near the end of the game.  How big a coward are you that you hide behind your players who have tried their best for you all year.  Most members on this board are of the one opinion that you are not good enough for the county job.  I have tried to remain diplomatic but in my opinion your interview was the most blatant act of cowardice I have seen for some time.   If you want to get my details from the board and sue me go ahead but in my opinion you arre despicable for what you have tried to do.  My conscience is clear.  You deserve no loyalty for the may you have behaved this year.

Goodbye and good riddance :-[
Post by: J70 on July 19, 2008, 05:48:46 PM
Its amazing how different people perceive things. I thought it was a run of the mill interview and he mentioned Bradley's free as an example of some of Derry's wides (he also mentioned the one that looked over). I certainly did not interpret it as blaming Bradley, more that it was a free that he would normally score, but was unlucky on this occasion. But there you go!
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 05:52:49 PM
Quote from: glenullinabu on July 19, 2008, 05:43:33 PM
I have sat on the sofa (not normally an armchair supporter but i couldt make this particular match) for a while since the match was over.  I wasnt gonna say anything negative until I heard PC post match interview but...

f**k YOU PC - you admit MF was poor but you still name and blame your best forward for missing a free near the end of the game.  How big a coward are you that you hide behind your players who have tried their best for you all year.  Most members on this board are of the one opinion that you are not good enough for the county job.  I have tried to remain diplomatic but in my opinion your interview was the most blatant act of cowardice I have seen for some time.   If you want to get my details from the board and sue me go ahead but in my opinion you arre despicable for what you have tried to do.  My conscience is clear.  You deserve no loyalty for the may you have behaved this year.

Goodbye and good riddance :-[

I thought Derry bossed the midfield in the 2nd half and Derry icked themselved out of it in the 2nd half with 10 wides - I didn't really take out of the interview that he was being hard on Paddy Bradley - I merely thought that he was pointing out that it was in the melting pot and the result could have been SO much different had Derry not kicked 10 wides and had Paddy not missed the easy free - he also pointed out that the umpire had a big influence on the outcome as well.

I know you're disappointed and angry but I genuinely don't think he was blaming Paddy for getting beat.
Post by: glenullinabu on July 19, 2008, 06:16:16 PM
see my reply in derry football section
Post by: tbrick18 on July 19, 2008, 08:25:45 PM
Congratulations Monaghan...deserved the win today. Played the better football and played as a team.
Yous should make it to the quarters I think so good luck.
Post by: peterquaife on July 19, 2008, 08:36:23 PM
good luck to the Farney men, may the draw be good for yous...hit some sweet points today

PQ
Post by: Maguire01 on July 19, 2008, 08:41:10 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on July 11, 2008, 02:21:38 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on July 09, 2008, 06:29:20 PM

(http://dynimg.rte.ie/000199f0189r.jpg)
Dick Clerkin, not kicking for touch, earlier today.  :D

Great result for Monaghan, and perfect for getting the season back on track. Another nice win would save any accusations of 2007 being a fluke. There are surely potentially easier games in round 2 than today's and with Finlay and McQuaid back, expectations will be high.
Post by: johnpower on July 19, 2008, 09:02:53 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2008, 05:02:29 PM

I dont think it is that bad big Joe or Martin from Mayo .? Big Joes much better
Post by: orangeman on July 19, 2008, 09:04:36 PM
Quote from: johnpower on July 19, 2008, 09:02:53 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2008, 05:02:29 PM

I dont think it is that bad big Joe or Martin from Mayo .? Big Joes much better

It's chronic - I don't know who is worse !  ;)
Post by: Minder on July 19, 2008, 09:24:10 PM
Tohill nailed it after the fermanagh match, some of the derry players are not as good as we are led to believe or as good as they think they are,the great pretenders. But hey blame the manager when you lose and applaud the players when you win . . . . . .
Post by: J70 on July 19, 2008, 09:31:45 PM
You can lay that charge at any county, bar the select exceptions such as Kerry. Have a good league or string one or two decent wins together and the hype starts. Lose one and the backlash begins because everyone feels foolish or cheated after hyping you e.g Monaghan - they were the next big thing after last year. Then they lose to Fermanagh and people say it was all hype. Now they beat Derry and once again no one will want to draw them in the next round.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 19, 2008, 09:52:11 PM
I do think (as do many others), that Derry have definitely under achieved in recent years. Maybe some of the players are as good as people think, but as a team, they haven't managed to nail it.

As for Monaghan, hopefully we are showing that 2007 was not a fluke (helped not just by today, but by some good league performances earlier in the year).  I wouldn't have been overtly confident before today's game, but i was pretty sure we'd give it a better performance than against Fermanagh (which was one of our worst performances in recent years, despite only losing by 4 points).
I'm not saying that Monaghan are as great as some people have said, and i wouldn't see us as AI contenders at this stage (and i'm still disappointed that we didn't go all the way in Ulster), but i'm hopeful that we have another couple of games left in us this year.
Post by: southderryman on July 19, 2008, 11:47:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 19, 2008, 03:25:53 PM

doherty was singled out by dick clerkin. the constant physical abuse of the ball was quite frankly disgusting. no doubt doherty was targeted is our best player imo and banty seen how he re-acted to kavangh in ballybofey. but i agree he was lucky, could easily have walked for that.
Post by: johnpower on July 19, 2008, 11:53:33 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 19, 2008, 09:31:45 PM
You can lay that charge at any county, bar the select exceptions such as Kerry. Have a good league or string one or two decent wins together and the hype starts. Lose one and the backlash begins because everyone feels foolish or cheated after hyping you e.g Monaghan - they were the next big thing after last year. Then they lose to Fermanagh and people say it was all hype. Now they beat Derry and once again no one will want to draw them in the next round.

Oh dont worry we do backlashes in Kerry too .
Post by: Maguire01 on July 19, 2008, 11:53:48 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 19, 2008, 11:47:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 19, 2008, 03:25:53 PM

doherty was singled out by dick clerkin. the constant physical abuse of the ball was quite frankly disgusting. no doubt doherty was targeted is our best player imo and banty seen how he re-acted to kavangh in ballybofey. but i agree he was lucky, could easily have walked for that.
Yes, just like Galvin, Doherty's the poor victim.  ::)
Post by: Main Street on July 20, 2008, 12:00:05 AM
I wasn't able to watch it live, just finshed looking at the  recording. My heart is still beating like a pneumatic drill.
Delighted for Monaghan of course, after such a run of 3 poor performances and plenty of obituaries being read out.
I wouldn't read too much about Monaghan's worth inbeating Derry on the day.
We were on the rack in the second half, Derry had the game dominated.

Credit to the whole team for a never say die last 10 minutes and out slugged Derry..
Special mentiont to the stalwart experienced players who needed to stand up and did, like Rory Woods, Clerkin and Lennon.
Post by: jimbob123 on July 20, 2008, 01:11:23 AM
dont worry folks cuz dick clerkin will get the punch 2 the face and the broken nose e deserves! i only wish that wen doherty seemed 2 hit his neck 2day that e wuda hit him full suck on the face 2 shut the prat up! as 4 monaghan.. theyr a fluke! only 4 bad shootin 2day derry wuda won the game by 10 points  :o
Post by: Maguire01 on July 20, 2008, 01:13:21 AM
I can see you being an invaluable contributer here.  :D
Post by: Oriel Man on July 20, 2008, 09:56:49 PM
Yea jimbob123, you're obviously a child..... can't write properly (text speak is against most forum rules), and throw childish tantrums.

As for Derry and Monaghan. Derry should have won at least 3 Ulster titles in the last 10 years. They have the players but obviously not the team spirit or tactical awareness.
Monaghan have a long way to go. It was good to see them wining some ball in midfield, but that dried up in the second half. Banty has to address this issue as a priority. I don't care if it's clean ball, breaking ball, or even short kicks to the half backs and playing from there.... we must improve on our current 10% to 20% possession from kickouts.

Donegal now... another tough game, but absolutely winnable. I'm hoping it will be shown on RTE as I won't be able to make it next weekend. TV3 have first choice and will probably show the Tyrone/Westmeath game... RTE have second choice, which should be Donegal/Monaghan.
Post by: Rossfan on July 20, 2008, 10:17:28 PM
Will TV3 be allowed to do a game in the 6 Cos?
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 10:49:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 20, 2008, 10:17:28 PM

Do they now not call it the "Island of Ireland" ?  ;) :D ;D
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2008, 11:23:06 PM
The Derry story is a bit of a conundrum. Tohill hinted at it tonight when he said that Derry won the NFL because the players could show how good they were without the pressure of Championship football.
Post by: Mid Mon on July 21, 2008, 07:13:27 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 10:49:39 PM

Do they now not call it the "Island of Ireland" ?  ;) :D ;D

Don't tell me we've gave them Donegal as well!!!
Post by: Oriel Man on July 21, 2008, 11:22:55 AM

Who will stop them??? They have the rights for "first choice" for each round in the qualifiers.....no matter where the game is played. This will probably be Tyrone vs Westmeath in Omagh.
Sky Sports regularly come into "the 26 Cos" and cover soccer friendlies from Lansdowne/Croke Part, and nobody stops them.

As i said before RTE have second choice, which should be Donegal Vs Monaghan. (unless they are lazy and don't want to waste the Diesel driving to Ballybofe - in that cast they might decide on the shorter drive to Portlaois and cover Laois vs Down)
Post by: Maguire01 on July 21, 2008, 01:10:34 PM

Sure the BBC broadcast from RoI, and TV3 are commercial, rather than state TV anyway.