Who would have thought!
All the talk was of a Meath v Dublin Leinster Final...And how Laois wouldn't be good enough to beat Meath
Guess we'll never know now :)
I only caught bits of Meath v Wexford on the internet but what i saw was two very different Wexfords..The were awful in the first half but pulled back a 10 point lead to win in the 2nd
I do think we should have enough to beat them but Wexford have been knocking on the door for a Leinster Final for the past 4 years so i would be worried alright that this might be their year
wouldn't be so sure mate , they ain't half bad. i suppose dublin will be unbackable now, not a result that will dampen the hype unfortunately. this is the best chance wexford are ever gong to get.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 01, 2008, 05:17:07 PM
wouldn't be so sure mate , they ain't half bad. i suppose dublin will be unbackable now, not a result that will dampen the hype unfortunately. this is the best chance wexford are ever gong to get.
I not "so sure" thats why i said i be a bit worried this might be their year
On paper we are a better team and should win but i would never be as cocky to say we will win
It's decision time for GAA supporters in the county, as they will be forced to opt for either attending the Féile na nGael or following the county senior footballers to Croke Park on June 22nd. With the Leinster Council insisting the game go ahead at 2pm that day, it is in direct conflict with the Division 1 and Division 2 Féile finals which are scheduled for 2pm also.
With the Laois v Wicklow game drawing an official attendance of 10,661 in Dr Cullen Park, and Wexford v Meath pulling in roughly the same crowd at the same venue, the decision has left many people around the county wondering about the wisdom of the timing, date and venue of the Leinster semi-final clash. It has also left the organizers of the Féile in a tricky situation, as many of those penciled in to steward at the games will now no longer be available to do so as they opt to either travel to Croke Park or watch the game on TV3.
Chairman of the Féile na nGael organising committee Tom Jones, believes both the Leinster semi-final and the Féile will suffer as a result of the fixture clash, "I think there will be no atmosphere at the senior game, there will probably only be a crowd of about 10,000 in a stadium built to take 90,000, so that's a pity for players and supporters alike" "The Leinster Council have given brilliant support to the Féile, and any help or facilities that could make available to us has been made available, but it's awkward for people who will have to chose which they want to attend, because there will be plenty of people who will have to do that."
TV3 are in their first year of broadcasting live games, with the Laois v Wexford clash part of the package of championship matches they are due to broadcast. TV3 got in on the act to try and upset RTE's monopoly of free to air live GAA games. With neither the time nor the venue likely to be changed, it does seem odd that anybody with the interests of promoting the national games would allow a county co-hosting the showpiece underage GAA competition force it's supporters to choose between attending that or going to a mostly empty stadium to attend a provincial semi-final.
Your right, a nice compact stadium like Wexford Park would be the ideal venue for the match ;)
Looks like the replay of the Dublin v Wexford hurling match is going to be played at Croker next weekend with the football match. Should increase the crowd a bit anyway.
Quote from: boro on June 14, 2008, 08:24:28 PM
Looks like the replay of the Dublin v Wexford hurling match is going to be played at Croker next weekend with the football match. Should increase the crowd a bit anyway.
Football is on TV3 at 2pm so that should mean hurling is on after Football?
Kearns eager to make Laois a force for the future
-Irish Independent
Often blessed with talented footballers, Liam Kearns has made no secret of his desire to add some steel to the natural ability the current Laois squad undoubtedly possess.
It is an issue he has looked to address since taking the post back in September 2006 and pointed to last year's controversial Leinster final loss to Dublin as a prime example of that failing.
"We were too small — physically we were in trouble there," Kearns said.
"But we have been trying to build a team — and to do that in Division 1 wasn't easy but I was proud of the way the lads stood up to some of the best teams in the country."
That League campaign may have ended in relegation but Laois are undoubtedly building a team for the future. They started with six debutants against Wicklow last time out after Kevin Meaney replaced Padraig Clancy late on to add to the five new faces that had been named in the original team.
In keeping with the recent Laois trend, they have tasted success at underage level but Kearns believes that doesn't guarantee silverware at the senior grade.
"With all due respect to underage football, it just doesn't give you the experience you need for the championship. They have a good pedigree but it doesn't mean a thing (at senior) and it has been proven over and over again. All of those lads did well (against Wicklow) and we have a young, up-and-coming team. The average age of the squad is about 23 and the oldest are Tom Kelly and Joe Higgins at 29. Eight of the (Leinster title winning) 2003 team are gone for one reason or another."
Ahead
"I'm not saying that we can't beat Wexford or even go on and win a Leinster, but what I will say is that the best years are ahead of this side, there is no doubt about that," added Kearns.
The O'Moore County face Wexford in a Leinster semi-final for the second year in a row at Croke Park on Sunday and had a goal to spare (1-13 to 0-13) that day. Kearns described the Slaneysiders heroic comeback against Meath as "the greatest I have ever seen" and knows his side have their hands full.
"If we were playing Meath, they would be favourites. They (Wexford) are unbeaten all year and Jason Ryan has obviously done great work with them," he said.
"But I knew Wexford had beaten Meath the last four times they met and that we had a hard time against them last year. They are an experienced team who have been together for quite a while whereas we are a coming side."
Laois are looking to reach their fifth Leinster final in six years while this is also the fifth successive year Wexford have been to the last four — though they haven't reached a provincial decider since 1956.
Laois injury worries should have eased by throw-in with midfielder Padraig Clancy available to start again, but Brendan Quigley has not yet taken full part in training. However, MJ Tierney — who withdrew after just 20 minutes of the Wicklow match, having kicked two points — is touch and go for the weekend.
"We have only won one match and Michael Nolan made a few saves that kept us in it," Kearns reflected. "If he hadn't done that we could very well have lost. Now, we have to pick up and do it all again for the Wexford game."
-Irish Independent
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 01, 2008, 05:58:24 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 01, 2008, 05:17:07 PM
I not "so sure" thats why i said i be a bit worried this might be their year
On paper we are a better team and should win but i would never be as cocky to say we will win
Dunno about that. You have the edge at midfield but for my money Wexford have the better forwards.
Tierney ok for O'Moore's
By Cóilín Duffy - www.laois.stoked.ie
The Laois team to face Wexford at Croke Park in this Sunday's Leinster Championship semi-final shows one change from the side that beat Wicklow last time out.
Emo's Paul Lawlor replaces Colm Parkinson in attack, with talented midfielder Brendan Quigley still recovering from a work accident which ruled him out of the Wicklow clash.
Meanwhile free-taker Michael John Tierney who tore his hamstring in the early stages of that game and had to be withdrawn after just 20 minutes is fit to start and is named at.
Senior Championship debutants in the win over Wicklow, John O'Loughlin and Kevin Meaney continue to hold down their places in the midfield sector.
LAOIS (Leinster SF v Wexford): M Nolan; C Healy, M Timmons, J Higgins; T Kelly, D Rooney, P McMahon; K Meaney, J O'Loughlin; R Munnelly, B McCormack, B Sheehan; MJ Tierney, C Kelly (St. Joseph's), P Lawlor.
who's favourites for this game?
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 11, 2008, 04:14:35 PM
It's decision time for GAA supporters in the county, as they will be forced to opt for either attending the Féile na nGael or following the county senior footballers to Croke Park on June 22nd. With the Leinster Council insisting the game go ahead at 2pm that day, it is in direct conflict with the Division 1 and Division 2 Féile finals which are scheduled for 2pm also.
Sorry for hi-jacking this thread but I didn't want to start a new thread on the feile. Laoislad our club (Slaughtneil, Co.Derry) are being hosted by Rathdowney/Errill, just wondered what kind of club they are and if they have a good wee team, any players to watch out for?? Hopefully it will be a great weekend.
Quote from: Derry Daisy on June 18, 2008, 10:50:42 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 11, 2008, 04:14:35 PM
Sorry for hi-jacking this thread but I didn't want to start a new thread on the feile. Laoislad our club (Slaughtneil, Co.Derry) are being hosted by Rathdowney/Errill, just wondered what kind of club they are and if they have a good wee team, any players to watch out for?? Hopefully it will be a great weekend.
I sent you a pm
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on June 18, 2008, 12:51:27 AM
who's favourites for this game?
Paddy Power have Laois @ evens...........Wexford @11/10
I think any real betting men will put a serious wad on Laois..............very good odds!
QuoteSorry for hi-jacking this thread but I didn't want to start a new thread on the feile. Laoislad our club (Slaughtneil, Co.Derry) are being hosted by Rathdowney/Errill, just wondered what kind of club they are and if they have a good wee team, any players to watch out for?? Hopefully it will be a great weekend.
Ah the Féile - pity it's clashing with Sunday's games at Croke Park. I was looking forward to going to the finals on Sunday but going to take in as many games as I can over the weekend - I always get a real kick out of going to these games. I've even butterflies in my stomach here in anticipation of tomorrow's parade (and I'm 23!) - always a great event.
Laois youngster set for AFL trial
Rising Laois football star Conor Meredith could soon by joining fellow countyman Colm Begley at the Brisbane Lions after being offered a trial by the AFL club.
The O'Dempsey's youngster, who was a member of the Laois minor team that claimed Leinster honours last year, is expected to jet out to Brisbane next month for a one-month trial.
"I'm meant to be going out there in a couple of weeks," he said. "I don't know much about dates or anything like that at the moment, though. I would love to go out and see what it's like."
Was just looking at that reservoir dubs site as i do from time to time for a laugh...Jesus they are delusional over there :D
Anyways they have a thread on as they call it "The other semi final" And most of the posts are about who from Laois and Wexford they'd rather beat in the Final ::) nevermind the fact they aren't even in the final yet
Christ they don't like Laois people over there :D Imagine a Dub calling Laois fans wankers.... ;D
Talk about a Pot Kettle Black situation
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 07:56:09 PM
Was just looking at that reservoir dubs site as i do from time to time for a laugh...Jesus they are delusional over there :D
Anyways they have a thread on as they call it "The other semi final" And most of the posts are about who from Laois and Wexford they'd rather beat in the Final ::) nevermind the fact they aren't even in the final yet
Christ they don't like Laois people over there :D Imagine a Dub calling Laois fans wankers.... ;D
Talk about a Pot Kettle Black situation
That site is really descending into the mire .Maybe it is the lack of Games to date
failry good comment i would have said, i mean a dublin gaa website being pro dublin? christ hold the backpage, you can read the same stuff in a laois context on any laois gaa website which is equally self -delusional.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 21, 2008, 11:48:49 PM
failry good comment i would have said, i mean a dublin gaa website being pro dublin? christ hold the backpage, you can read the same stuff in a laois context on any laois gaa website which is equally self -delusional.
I think you totally missed the point...I'm not really surprised though
Wexford 0-15 Laois 0-11 , 6 mins to go. On TV3 lve.
Matty Forde is a class player but has had a bag of wides on top of his 6 points.
16-11 to the Pikeys
17-12 and a red card for Paidraig Clancy. Adrian Morrissey gets MOTM. 3 mins extra time.
Laois have gone back alot but fair fucks to Wexford its a great result for them and hopefully they can take the Jackeens down a peg in the final, assuming they get over Westmeath first.
Fair play to Wexford. Thoroughly deserving winners!!
Well done Wexford, fantastic result. Westmeath won't fancy them in the Leinster final ;)
Final result 0-18 to 0-12 , Matty again.
A great day for Wexford , their fiirst Leinster final since 1956. Poor looking crowd in Croke Park. Its the year of shocks, C'mon Sligo.
Laois join all the other losers in the qualifiers. Some big egos now in that draw.
Fair play to Wexford. They were superb all over the field today. Well deserved victory.
The standard of football in leinster is fairly poor. Its really a struggle to know how good Dublin really are with the standard of opposition is so pure!
Fair play to wexford tho!
i thought the standard was well above the tripe served out yesterday in healy park (those grapes are still very bitter), obviously a totally different style of football, but at least it was a bit entertaining for the neutral.
TV3's commentary and analysts are pretty good too.
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 22, 2008, 03:47:40 PM
i thought the standard was well above the tripe served out yesterday in healy park (those grapes are still very bitter), obviously a totally different style of football, but at least it was a bit entertaining for the neutral.
??? Yesterday's game was highly entertaining.
Plenty of long, accurate footpassing into the forward line today. The problem with Matty is if he doesn't get a score early on he will shoot from everywhere until he does get one. Then he tends to settle down and make better use of the ball. I'd agree with the panellists that Jason Ryan will secretly be delighted that Matty was kept relatively quiet in the last 2 games. I think there is a seriously big game in him for the final.
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2008, 04:06:05 PM
obviously i didn't find it entertaining at all, i genuinely thought it was poor fare, it may have been a good result for fermanagh and the neutrals, but there wasn't a pile of football played (bar skinner's goal).
fair play to wexford a good side and fully deserve to there, they are a lot more than just matty forde. Laois were very poor though and are firmly back in the pack .
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 22, 2008, 04:12:41 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2008, 04:06:05 PM
obviously i didn't find it entertaining at all, i genuinely thought it was poor fare, it may have been a good result for fermanagh and the neutrals, but there wasn't a pile of football played (bar skinner's goal).
Pathetic, have you watched the game again? Hope the Derry management and players don't have the same attitude as you or Derry have no chance of re-grouping and maximising their potential.
Delighted for Wexford, and agree about Forde. He'll be bursting himself for the final.
Just can never understand Laois and all this underage potential, must be a bastard of a team to support.
Lads, leave last nights game to the other thread!
I thought it was an alright game, typical Leinster fayre, some decent football and a lot of wides, but difficult to judge just how good either side are in the greater scheme of things. This is not to take anything away from Wexford, fair play to them and I was delighted to see another team in Leinster get their day in the limelight.
It has to give them great hope that Mattie kicked 8 wides and they still won comfortably. Maybe the media will start giving some recognition to some of the other fine players that this team has. I was very impressed with PJ Banville for example, he covered some ground and was still flying at the end of 70 mins.
Just as the same man was left on Munnelly for the whole game the last day, the same man was left on Parkinson for the full 70 today ??? I don't understand this and both Micko and new guy in Wexford (who's name escapes me at the moment) are clearly good managers. I didn't once see Wallace getting close to Parkinson who was head and shoulders above every other Laois player on display.
Nothing against Iarmhi or the Jacks but I think it would be great to see Wexford winning Leinster.
wexford are a right good team and today is the first day i have seen them as a genuine threat. they have a strong panel with good subs and are genuine contenders. Fair play to them. Laois weren't let play today, and wexford should be given credit for it.
Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 22, 2008, 03:26:54 PM
16-11 to the Pikeys
Your a ****
Great day for Wexford, fantastic win, first final since 1956!
Come on the yellabellies
Fair play to Wexford but to be honest i thought they were the better of two bad teams
As someone posted a few posts back Laois are a bastard of a team to follow,Every time you think they have finally turned a corner they let you down,We were awful today,Only Colm Parkinson was anyway decent
Here's hoping its a Westmeath v Wexford final
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2008, 10:56:02 PM
Fair play to Wexford but to be honest i thought they were the better of two bad teams
As someone posted a few posts back Laois are a b**tard of a team to follow,Every time you think they have finally turned a corner they let you down,We were awful today,Only Colm Parkinson was anyway decent
Here's hoping its a Westmeath v Wexford final
A day that nothing went right for Laois .Parkinson and Cahir Healy were the only 2 that played well . Laois have a young team and I hope they regroup . The only bright side for Laois is that it was not the Dubs that they faced today . Well done to Wexford I hope they do well . Their full back line will have to improve Dessie Dolan ,Denis Glennon ,Alan Brogan ,Conal Keaney will punish them if they defend like they did today
QuoteWexford - The strawberries and cream of Leinster football.
With the cream coming from Wexford creamery!
Absolutely gutted after that game today. Thank God it took 20 minutes for the interviews to start - was finding it hard to bring myself to ask any questions. I'm afraid to say I saw this one coming, along with Fermanagh's win over Derry. As Laois Lad said Parkinson was really the only one that tried hard. We should have had Colm Kelly (Stradbally) on from the start. I was happy enough with Mark Timmons also, disappointed though with the rest - particularly Clancy. It's not in his character to do things like that but every dog has its day.
Talking to Mattie Forde after the match and put it too him that he kicked six points and seven wides. His reply - 'we'd love to kick 20 wides in a game and still win it' - no silverware won yet for Wexford but this is the Summer for it to happen. They'll beat Westmeath in the final!! You heard it here first!
Every time I see thon balax Parkinson I think of me brother who had the misfortune of working on the same site with him in Australia for one day. He says Parky quit after 2 hours as he was told to dig a hole and couldn't do it. How can a man who cannot dig a hole expect to win an All-Ireland?
We really love to talk about food don't we. Last week it was Ice-cream, this week strawberries, cream and cheese.
I thought there seemed to be a real lack of hunger and fight in Laois, something which Wexford seem to have in abundance.
Quote from: AN other on June 23, 2008, 01:19:10 PM
I thought there seemed to be a real lack of hunger and fight in Laois, something which Wexford seem to have in abundance.
Totally agree,I wonder is there a lack of faith in the manager? I know certain individuals in Laois haven't much time for Keirns
He didn't seem to have a plan B yesterday.The thing is i believe the players are there in Laois in compete with anyone,Maybe thats just me being biased but i think there is enough talent there,but the hunger isn't and without hunger and fight in a team talent means nothing
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 23, 2008, 02:18:06 PM
Quote from: AN other on June 23, 2008, 01:19:10 PM
Totally agree,I wonder is there a lack of faith in the manager? I know certain individuals in Laois haven't much time for Keirns
He didn't seem to have a plan B yesterday.The thing is i believe the players are there in Laois in compete with anyone,Maybe thats just me being biased but i think there is enough talent there,but the hunger isn't and without hunger and fight in a team talent means nothing
Some of the senior players on the Laois panel are allegedly quite open about their dislike of Kearns, to journalists..
Doesnt seem like a lack of talent, more that Kearns isn't getting the best out of them...whether thats down to the players or the Mgt, I don't know..
Regarding Jason Ryan's persistance with leaving Wallace on Parkinson, I can sort of explain that. Philip Wallace has been our ever-present full-back for about 8 years now, and is a lion-heart of a man. However, on the hard ground against a tricky mobile FF he can really struggle. The most he can hope to do is stay goal-side of him, which in fairness he did apart from the time he lost him at the end and Clancy played that gorgeous flick straight into his hands. That could really have turned the game for Laois if Wooly had stuck it. But I guess we'll never know ... I thought Masterson was out very quickly to him and didn't really get the credit he deserved for putting him off. We don't have many options at no. 3 during a game, and strange as it may sound, it may have had a psychological effect on the other defenders to see Philip called ashore (he doesn't really play anywhere else!)
Generally Philip guards his square very well, in the traditional mode, and has been a hero down the years. He loves a dog-fight and if the opposition do have to resort to high balls into his area he loves nothing more, and he is the man to have there when the chips are down toward the end a close game - as indeed he showed in the Meath game, despite the roasting big Joe had given him. BUT ... we may have to consider pulling Red back as a sweeper in the final, to help him deal with the threat of a Dolan or Brogan or Keaney. That would be a big call considering the damage Red did in the Laois half of the field yesterday. Alternatively we could drop Wallace and move Malone (our best defender all year) over to no. 3 and bring Walsh in to the corner. But to drop Philip for a Leinster Final would be just about unthinkable .....
I'm so thrilled for the lads to have broken the semi-final hoo-doo. I've followed them up and down the country over the years and it feels very sweet to see them getting the rewards this year. They'll be underdogs in the final either way, and can go out and give it a right lash. They certainly can play better than yesterday, though I would have concerns about how they'll deal with the pace of the game the next day, but for stamina and spirit they will not be found wanting.
Of course let's blame the mananger, I mean it's not as if the Laois players hounded Tom Cribben, Colm Browne or Micko out the job either. For whatever reason the attitude of the Laois players is more of a problem and sacking Kerarns will only set Laois football back even more.
agreed Dinny. There is a lot of talent in Laois but a lot of egos as well. The problem in Laois is that the players themselves cannot understand the basic concept of the transition to senior from minor and u21. These players seem to think that the world owes them an all-ireland based on previous success. The otehr problem as well is that the fans celebrated minor success like a senior all-ireland. As a result a lot of these players were feted like heroes and were conferred a status that their senior careers can't cash.
If Laois don't want Kearns, he's quite welcome up in Dublin next season. What he did with Limerick is for me one of the great managerial feats in the last 15 years. Laois have this idea that due to underage success that they are some type of a superpower. the reality is westmeath and kildare have been far more successful in the last decade with limited underage success. It's something i'm acutely aware of in relation to dublin underage hurling teams because i don't want our young hurlers to develop like the Laois players have in recent years.
I wouldn't want to get involved in any internal issues they have in Laois, but from the outside I thought Kearns' Keegan-esque outburst after the Wickla game exposed a man that was under serious pressure. I would expect that the Wexford camp would have got an inkling from hearing that tape that all was not well in their opponents setup and would have taken heart from the fact when preparing for the battle ....
I would echo the sentiments of both Dinny and Indiana, big time. From the outside looking in there definitely seems to be some overinflated egoes in there. If Kearns can get a performance like last Sunday's out of Colm Parkinson (a gifted footballer, but a wild man!) then he must have some chance of getting Laois right. There needs to be a wake up call in the county, a good bit of hard graft and backing given to the manager. He did do a super job with Limerick.
None of this should take away from the excellent job that Ryan has done with Wexford though, who clearly won the game on merit and certainly have the potential now to go all the way in the province.