unmissable
Pure legend.His block in the '88 final i think it was, was pure class.
Legend of the game. Is there an interview with the man who realistically brought the curtain down. Peter Withnell
Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 11:27:00 AM
Legend of the game. Is there an interview with the man who realistically brought the curtain down. Peter Withnell
Big Pete tamed the Lyon alright....
Jaysus christ, can ye not just compliment the man without having a boast about some Nordie doing something in relation to him ::)
Do all Leinster men stick together?
Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 12:27:23 PM
Do all Leinster men stick together?
Just pointing out a fact.
Its like attention defecit disorder, if we aint talking about ye, ye jump up and down in front of us and try to change the subject to involve ye.
Just like your old avatar. IT had add all over it.
Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 12:34:53 PM
Just like your old avatar. IT had add all over it.
??? ??? ??? WTF ??? ??? ???
what the bouncy banana screaming and dancing wasnt add? Come on!
Im no chemist nor doctor but I do think that people should report their small problems to a resident appointed doctor / pharmacist on the board who coule diagnose. I believe you have A.D.D. This diagnosis could save you a fortune going through dublin doctors. Anyonme else with personality defects needing sortin' ? Bring it to the group lads.
i wonder will mick say anything about the time ambrose left him stretched out on the deck but no one really saw what happened. dont know what match it was, too young to remeber, just heard alot about it.
Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 12:40:52 PM
what the bouncy banana screaming and dancing wasnt add? Come on!
Didnt hear the screams ;)
I had the banana avatar for less than a month of my entire time on here.
Are you seriously comparing having an animated avatar with trying to change the subject on threads not involving your county so you are the topic of discussion?
Christ tonight.
Anyway, lets get back on topic, Mick Lyons!! (not from ulster)
long term memory loss. try more tuna in your diet and cut out the alcohol for as long as you can remember to.
Next?
Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 12:40:52 PM
I believe you have A.D.D. This diagnosis could save you a fortune going through dublin doctors.
Jaysus, I made a joking comment about Northern posters in general, no need to make specifically personal comments ::)
Worms
a roll of stickey tape and some e45
Next?
I'd say there'll be plenty of jackeens tuning in for that tonight ...
Quote from: red hander on January 31, 2008, 01:18:10 PM
I'd say there'll be plenty of jackeens tuning in for that tonight ...
Was actually planning to watch it, must be letting the side down :P
How exactly did Withnell finish Lyons? I don't remember much about that game except that Lyons was carrying an injury. What did Withnell score?
QuoteI'd say there'll be plenty of jackeens tuning in for that tonight ...
I'm sure Gerry McEntee will be watching ;)
I was at that game and never seen it in TV. From memory Lyons who was the hardest man in football and Withnell (the new boy with 2 goals in the semi) were getting physical and Withnell who was a martial arts expert threw lyons over his shoulder onto the turf. It gave Down a real lift and sent out the message that they would not be out physiqued and seemed to shake Lyons confidence.
It as the Dubbliner pointed out dosent take away at all from Lyons great career. hye would have been one of the elders in 1991, but it shifted the balance of power perhaps.
Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 01:48:20 PM
I was at that game and never seen it in TV. From memory Lyons who was the hardest man in football and Withnell (the new boy with 2 goals in the semi) were getting physical and Withnell who was a martial arts expert threw lyons over his shoulder onto the turf. It gave Down a real lift and sent out the message that they would not be out physiqued and seemed to shake Lyons confidence.
It as the Dubbliner pointed out dosent take away at all from Lyons great career. hye would have been one of the elders in 1991, but it shifted the balance of power perhaps.
Did this actually happen? Again I was only a nipper at the time but this all sounds new to me.
QuoteWithnell who was a martial arts expert
Back to the thread, Mick Lyons = Legend. Pity there isn't more like him playing football today.
Here here, no poncin' about with hair-dos or diving or other shite that you see some young players getting into these days.
We need more men like that, cut from rock so to speak. (and would take a cut out of rock, barney, that is). He was great, though i think he used his elbows more than his shoulders when checking his opponents. ill try watch this online if tg4.tv is still up and running.
Quote from: Jinxy on January 31, 2008, 01:56:40 PM
Did this actually happen? Again I was only a nipper at the time but this all sounds new to me.
Ah Jinxy you must remember it, i remember withnell hit the post one time and with one karate chop he cut the post in half, the game was delayed
for 15 minutes ;)
He had a lethal one inch punch too I'm sure.
Quote from: No1 on January 31, 2008, 01:59:49 PM
Back to the thread, Mick Lyons = Legend. Pity there isn't more like him playing football today.
i agree. There was none of this shit of rolling around, he gave hits and took them He was very good in the compromised rules also. I think he was a second generation mayoman to add to his value too !! ;)
Quote from: ildanach on January 31, 2008, 02:12:49 PM
i agree. There was none of this shit of rolling around, he gave hits and took them He was very good in the compromised rules also. I think he was a second generation mayoman to add to his value too !! ;)
I've had just about enough of the wild accusations being bandied about this thread!!
Quote from: Jinxy on January 31, 2008, 02:12:36 PM
He had a lethal one inch punch too I'm sure.
Aye he had jinxy and you should have seen him waxing cars
Quote from: Jinxy on January 31, 2008, 02:14:33 PM
Quote from: ildanach on January 31, 2008, 02:12:49 PM
I've had just about enough of the wild accusations being bandied about this thread!!
Sure jinxy thats why we like youse in meath sure youse are one of our own :D
I remember Mick Lyons playing full back for Meath against Offaly in the late 80s/early 90s. Offaly wore the white kit with green sleeves that only lasted one year. Anyway, Offaly were barely able to keep the ball kicked out to Meath, I'd say it hadn't crossed halfway in about 40 minutes.
The managerial geniuses on the line realised a change was needed, so they sent on Willie Reynolds of Clara. At Full Forward. To 'Run' Mick Lyons.
Willie was probably 19 or 20 at this stage and mad keen. He went in and stood beside Lyons down at the Canal End. Anyway after about 30 seconds of watching the ball bouncing around from Meath man to Meath man up in the forwards, Willie takes off at 100 mph over to the Hogan Stand sideline. Mick looks after him.
Willie sheepishly walks back into the square.
Another 2 or 3 minutes pass, and Willie dashes off to the Cusack stand sideline. Mick stands in the square, talking to Mickey McQuillan and looking at Wille over on the sideline, as the ball is kicked over the bar down in the Hill goal. Willie saunters back on over.
Another minute, and Willie gets pissed off, so he stamps on Lyon's foot, trying to enrage him so he'd follow, and tears off towards The Big Tree again. Lyons seems not to notice, and stands there sunning himself. Willie is bulling so he storms back into the middle and starts jostling Lyons. (remember Willie's naive).
Anyway, once he thinks he has at least made Lyon's acknowledge his existence, he runs off towards the Cusack. He makes it about 2 feet when a clothesline from Lyons catches him around the head and lays him out. Panned out on the ground, looking up dazedly into the sunlight.
Next thing a big Meath shadow comes into his eyeline and says
'Would you, for fcuk's sake, ever stand still. You're making me dizzy looking at you.'
Mick Lyons. Respect.
:D :D Very good AZ , his brother padraic ( i think) wasn't soft either
excellent
They just dont make them like Lyons any more. LEGEND !
Thats pure gold AZ! :D
Quote from: Jinxy on January 31, 2008, 01:56:40 PM
Can't remember that either. I remember them having a right physical battle, but as for Lyons getting thrown over his shoulder....
It happened all right , I think there is photo's of it in the book Son's of Sam . Someone might be able to post .
The Clare Mgt got Lyons down to Ennis before the Semi-final in '92 to talk to the backs about how best to mark Vinny Murphy.
Apparently his advice was to 'hit the cun* as soon as possible, and keep hitting him'!
Now that's what you call a fullback ! ;D ;D ;D ;D
fcukin Gladiators.
I heard a wee one about him breaking Vinneys finger as they shook hands as well. Any truth in that?
Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 04:10:50 PM
fcukin Gladiators.
I heard a wee one about him breaking Vinneys finger as they shook hands as well. Any truth in that?
Didn't hear of that, but wouldn't surprise me!
Vinny was/is no angel either mind you..
2 hard bastards just playing an aul game of football.
QuoteWithnell who was a martial arts expert threw lyons over his shoulder onto the turf
In fairness lads thats a bit of an exaggeration. I had a first class view of the incident from the hill that day. Withnell was on the ground with the ball in his hands and Lyons was standing over him with his arms out wide about to tackle him when he attempted to get up. However what Withnell did was he stuck his head through Lyons' legs and then attempted to stand up and he cowped Mick in the process. No jujitsu whatsoever involved.
That was a favourite move of Bruce Lees.
Talkin shite 5sams it was unmistakenly a Five-Point Palm - exploding heart technique that particular day.
:D :D He had a load of throwing stars down his togs as well!! He didnt need them in the end.
taken from the Down GAA site, Whitnel in the Red and black naturally, Mick in the green of course :P
(http://www.rvgfanatic.com/mediac/400_0/media/DIR_590301/FlashtheDragon.JPG)
;D ;D ;D
Fcuk its worse than I remembered.
For the Meath folk sitting down to watch this tonight, tune into Tg4 at half nine to see Hector interview Xabi Alonso about his time in Kells.
Watch the way Lyons runs into Mikey Sheehy and falls back on his hole when we met in the 80's.
And Sheehy had a lot of miles on the clock and a wonky knee or two at that stage of his career. The legend of Mick Lyons debunked in one split second, but I suppose it was the start his legendary career for Meath so we will forgive him one slip up.
Yerra 'tis no wonder Meath hammered 15 shades of shite out of us in 2001 as payback.
Lyons must have tripped over Mikey's medals ! ;) ;D ;D ;D
watch it here
www.tg4.tv
He put a few of those australians in their place too.
I never realised he ran up beside Keith Barr taking that penalty - that was funny especially as it was Keith Barr and the mouthing he'd been doing at him on the walk off prevously!
Robbie O'Malley looks like an old man now too!
Great stuff lads. AZ that's the best told story I've heard in a long time. If you have a few more like than can I book you to put your elbow on the bar in my local for a few hours some night?
Quote from: orangeman on January 31, 2008, 04:04:46 PM
Now that's what you call a fullback ! ;D ;D ;D ;D
Orangeman - Do you think did Benny go to the same school of full back play as Lyons? ;D ;D
Quote from: Hardy on February 01, 2008, 01:09:12 AM
Great stuff lads. AZ that's the best told story I've heard in a long time. If you have a few more like than can I book you to put your elbow on the bar in my local for a few hours some night?
Sure everyone has a few stories like that Hardy :D
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 31, 2008, 10:46:19 PM
He put a few of those australians in their place too.
I never realised he ran up beside Keith Barr taking that penalty - that was funny especially as it was Keith Barr and the mouthing he'd been doing at him on the walk off prevously!
Mick (an ex club teammate) told me that when Barr was about to take the penalty, he told him
'if you score this , I'll put you in f**king hospital'
then Gerry McEntee added -' yeah and I'll be responsible for fixing you , and it'll hurt more'
The Lyons Family have Mayo connections alright, not sure if its second gen or urther out - louisburgh I think.
Padraic Lyons would have punched his Granny in the face if she was marking him in a match, he was callous, and damn good - got inj in the second game the 1991 epic series v Dublin and never played outfield again.
The toughest and hardest Lyons of all was youngest brother Terry. He was same height as Mick (6' 0") and build like something out of the WWF. It is acknowledged that he was way too dirty to be on the meath team so was left to destroy people in club football.
Mick Lyons not the dirty player people say he was, I dont agree he used his elbows. Mick was and is a gentleman - esp off the field.
I wouldn't class him dirty, in fact I wouldn't really class any of the Meath lads I now, or know of, dirty.
Tough, yes. Physical, yes. Honest, yes.
I think Meath can play anyway. If you want a row, they'll fight. If you want to play football, they'll play football. They'll still hit hard, but there'll be very little, if any, dirt.
In my own humble opinion, there are far worse teams for sneaky dirt than Meath.
Orangeman - Do you think did Benny go to the same school of full back play as Lyons?
He must have been there for a wee while alright but not as long as Lyons - Lyons must have been the teacher in his day ! ;D ;D ;D :D :D
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 09:36:03 AM
I wouldn't class him dirty, in fact I wouldn't really class any of the Meath lads I now, or know of, dirty.
I think Meath can play anyway. If you want a row, they'll fight. If you want to play football, they'll play football. They'll still hit hard, but there'll be very little, if any, dirt.
I'd agree with you there Az just tough hard f**king footballers who gave 110%, would have a lot of respect for lyons never one to blow his trumpet and as your story shows Az did his talking on the pitch :D i'd love to see him on the sunday game and take the head clean off spillane just to see does he still have it ;)
Have to say I enjoyed that immensely. His reaction when Colm O'Neill boxes him never ceases to make me laugh. Just carrys on strolling with a little rub of his jaw. ;D I daresay there aren't too many lads togging out today who would react the same. Mores the pity.
Class the way he took the slap from the Cork lad...imagine how long Canavan or some of the fairies playing today would be on the deck after that one!!
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 01, 2008, 10:05:30 AM
Class the way he took the slap from the Cork lad...imagine how long Canavan or some of the fairies playing today would be on the deck after that one!!
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 09:36:03 AM
Cue Tyronies.. "Shut up Canavan was a saint and never dived in his life he is God and we are the best". and also "What about 96 when those rough Meath boys done Dooher Dinkie and God.... disgraceful when our boys were only trying to play a game of football and those bullys did that... bunch of Meath bullys that's what I say!"
I liked his story about how he apologised to Seán after the Cork game - "sorry, Seán - maybe I should have hit him - started a row - it might have woken us up".
I know some will scoff at the idea of anyone being too, ahem, robust, for the Meath team, but Lynchbhoy's story about a man being just too dangerous to let loose in county football is not unique. When I was a youngster on our team, our goalkeeper was far and away the best in the county but there was never the slightest chance that he would play for Meath. You couldn't risk staging his exploits to a wider audience and certainly not on television. Forwards in club football were genuinely afraid of him and anyone coming through one-on-one not only took his life in his hands but was also well warned on the way with roars of what was going to happen to him if he came any further.
Great days.
Quote from: Hardy on February 01, 2008, 10:18:28 AM
I liked his story about how he apologised to Seán after the Cork game - "sorry, Seán - maybe I should have hit him - started a row - it might have woken us up".
I know some will scoff at the idea of anyone being too, ahem, robust, for the Meath team, but Lynchbhoy's story about a man being just too dangerous to let loose in county football is not unique. When I was a youngster on our team, our goalkeeper was far and away the best in the county but there was never the slightest chance that he would play for Meath. You couldn't risk staging his exploits to a wider audience and certainly not on television. Forwards in club football were genuinely afraid of him and anyone coming through one-on-one not only took his life in his hands but was also well warned on the way with roars of what was going to happen to him if he came any further.
Great days.
To be honest I think it's more to do with the fact that you can't be sending out lads who are guaranteed to get the line. At club football, fellas kind of get used to them, and their suspensions are more or less expected. In intercounty, you can't get a lad sent off for butchery, and then expect to win the game, or have him back later on. Not much point picking a lad who's going to be suspended for the rest of the championship.
When I was a youngster on our team, our goalkeeper was far and away the best in the county but there was never the slightest chance that he would play for Meath. You couldn't risk staging his exploits to a wider audience and certainly not on television. Forwards in club football were genuinely afraid of him and anyone coming through one-on-one not only took his life in his hands but was also well warned on the way with roars of what was going to happen to him if he came any further.
We had one of them in our club as well - Big Raymond ! :D :D :D :D :D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Quote from: screenexile on February 01, 2008, 10:17:48 AM
Cue Tyronies.. "Shut up Canavan was a saint and never dived in his life he is God and we are the best". and also "What about 96 when those rough Meath boys done Dooher Dinkie and God.... disgraceful when our boys were only trying to play a game of football and those bullys did that... bunch of Meath bullys that's what I say!"
Erm, nope.
Quote from: ONeill on February 01, 2008, 10:31:31 AM
Quote from: screenexile on February 01, 2008, 10:17:48 AM
Erm, nope.
You're too experienced to fall into that trap O'Neill but many of your less learned Tyrone brethren usually do! ;)
We had 2 on our team, only one still plays. They were unpredictable. One lad, if anyone, the ref, his opponent or a team-mate even looked at him funny he'd lash out. A great player though. Seen him do stuff and get incredible scores but he'd be a loose canon if things werent going his way.
The other lad was a full back who's solution to marking a man was to make sure he wasnt physically capabe of running. You could tell that if his marker was getting the better of him or someone on the opposite team was having too good a game.
He suddenly got this look on his face, and you could instantly tell that he was no longer interested in the ball, and next ball coming in, wouldnt even have to be 50/50 usually resulted in one of the opposition lying stretched out on the grass.
But having said that, when he wanted to play football he was capable of being on the meath team, one of the best backs I've seen.
Have to agree with the earlier posters the way he reacted to O'Neill's punch shows how to play football, if you dish it out like a man, you have to take it like a man. I must say when I saw it last night I thought of Philly Jordan. >:( >:( >:(
Lyons was a class act, but he was into a lot of dirty stuff. O neill punched him because he was stupid but he was Cork best forward in the earkly stages and Lyons had had got to him. In that era refereees did not protect forwards so big men like Lyons could get away with what he wanted. He wasnt so hot against a bigger man in Withnell yet hes now a folk hero. Fine player much dirtier than Canavan but couldnt have laced Canavans boots if you want to compare. Also he was phsically a much stronger man, but he still didnt have a patch on him. Hes a hero because he was dirty.
I cant get the image of Martin O Rourke (AIsemifinal) v Tyrone in 1995 doing a special back flip for 80,000 people after Mugsy and him had words - it was unreal.
Definitely Mick has to be given credit - but then that was the way it was played back then - not like the lads in Cork who have spat out the dummy over just getting sandwiches after training ! :D :D ;D ;D ;D ;D :o :o :o
Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:02:37 AM
Lyons was a class act, but he was into a lot of dirty stuff. O neill punched him because he was stupid but he was Cork best forward in the earkly stages and Lyons had had got to him. In that era refereees did not protect forwards so big men like Lyons could get away with what he wanted. He wasnt so hot against a bigger man in Withnell yet hes now a folk hero. Fine player much dirtier than Canavan but couldnt have laced Canavans boots if you want to compare. Also he was phsically a much stronger man, but he still didnt have a patch on him. Hes a hero because he was dirty.
Even Mick Lyons needed 2 functioning legs in order to play the game. Did you even watch the programme? Go practice your roundhouse kicks somewhere else if this thread bothers you so much.
Mick Lyons is a legend, even outside Meath, because for 10 years or more he was a teak tough, no-nonsense full back. Strong as an ox, and never took a step backwards.
Some lads are legends to neutrals because of their skill. Men like Canavan, Fitzgerald, Sheehy, Connor and Egan.
Others are legends because of their heart, their attitude and their sheer will to win. Lyons is one of the latter.
Good man Mick, the game could do with a few more of you.
Listen at the time Lyons was regarded as a thug. Talented player without doubt but a thug non the less. Dont ebven pretend its news to you. We could do with a few more Mick Lyons now. My question is it why do people fondly remember the bad guys and ignore the good guys or even attempt to tarnish their reputation.
Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:19:49 AM
Listen at the time Lyons was regarded as a thug. Talented player without doubt but a thug non the less. Dont ebven pretend its news to you. We could do with a few more Mick Lyons now. My question is it why do people fondly remember the bad guys and ignore the good guys or even attempt to tarnish their reputation.
By who? Give us examples of these thuggish incidents?
Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:19:49 AM
See my last post. We remember different people fondly for different reasons. Are you suggesting Colm O'Rourke, Matt Connor, Mike Sheehy or Maurice Fitzgerald are 'ignored'? A quick count of the Laochrí Gael would probably show a lot more 'good guys'.
Finally, Mick Lyons was not regarded by a thug by me, or by many others of my aquaintance at the time, and that includes lads who would have marked him, or been marked by him (in both senses :) ). He was regarded as what I've already said.
I'm sure some others regarded him as a thug, but I would respectfully suggest they are wrong.
QuoteI'm sure some others regarded him as a thug
Yeah, by eejits who know nothing about football. Lyons is a legend. Missed the programme last night but looking forward to viewing it on the laptop when I get home. Aside from his footballing ability he was genuine. EVERY punch isn't enough to put a lad to the ground or maybe gaelic footballers have become better boxers in recent times.
Lyon's was a great player - no doubt about it !
No doubt about it but when Witnell done the damage to him there was no comeback or setting the record straight - he had just met the bigger man and he knew it - ankle injury mehole.
Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:41:26 AM
No doubt about it but when Witnell done the damage to him there was no comeback or setting the record straight - he had just met the bigger man and he knew it - ankle injury mehole.
It was a knee injury.
exactly ;)
Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:41:26 AM
:D You are some WUM
Enjoyed the show last night.
Good hard, solid player who was dirty as fcuk when he had to be. Am not saying he was right or wrong but every team needs one or two boys like him (Meath had a lot more than this BTW)
Dont know if it has been mentioned yet, but the elbow Coyle hit the Dub in the fourth game was a f**king disgrace. Wasnt so long ago people were talking about players going out to deliberately injure an opponent - if this isnt an example of it I dont know what is
QuoteCoyle hit the Dub in the fourth game was a f**king disgrace.
Him I never liked as a player, to be honest. I always felt he had a bad streak in him. More Dub than Meath I'd say :D
Now Coyle was a different kettle of fish altogether. He was just plain mean. ;D
Lyons was hard but so were a lot of players in the 80s. Tyrone had, Sean Donnelly and John Lynch, Noel Mc Ginn, Harry Mc Clure, Eugene Mc Kenna. They were all hard men and there was no one harder than Frank Mc Guigan when he needed to be. I think to be a top footballer you need to physically impose yourself first and then play the ball in that era. I was at the Cork and Meath games of the late 80s. A lot of hard men about but the football was pure shite, but even then some 15 years before Tyrones Golden Years it was obvious that winning Sam was the most important thing of all and people where prepared to do anmything to get there.
I always thought to myself that Mc Entee was very unlucky to get sent oiff in 1988 final. All he was attempting was a surgical removal of the Cork mans head. :o a standard enough procedure carried out at the time.
Always had respect for Lyons. Tough and intimidating, but not a thug. Harnan, Coyle and Foley were the thugs!
Excuse me, Harnan and Foley were not thugs.
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 11:18:47 AM
Mick Lyons is a legend, even outside Meath, because for 10 years or more he was a teak tough, no-nonsense full back. Strong as an ox, and never took a step backwards.
Some lads are legends to neutrals because of their skill. Men like Canavan, Fitzgerald, Sheehy, Connor and Egan.
Others are legends because of their heart, their attitude and their sheer will to win. Lyons is one of the latter.
Good man Mick, the game could do with a few more of you.
Well said AZ.
QuoteExcuse me, Harnan and Foley were not thugs
Ah now Jinxy cmon - Harnan was possibly the dirtiest player I've seen - Although as far as Lynchbhoy is concerned he's the template for a CHB ;)
Harnan was a very good footballer - he wasn't there to admire centre forwards !
Quote from: Declan on February 01, 2008, 01:32:48 PM
QuoteExcuse me, Harnan and Foley were not thugs
Ah now Jinxy cmon - Harnan was possibly the dirtiest player I've seen - Although as far as Lynchbhoy is concerned he's the template for a CHB ;)
Examples please.
Quote from: Jinxy on February 01, 2008, 01:22:26 PM
Excuse me, Harnan and Foley were not thugs.
I'm not so sure about Harnan but Kevin Foley did a "Francie Bellew" on Mickey Linden in 91. A case of one thug copying another.
Dry you eyes 5 Sams, Blue lights on Golden Boy Benny's pass did the damage.
Wee James could have taken a leaf out of Mick Lyons book and not be rolling around holding his gob like he was doing in one of the clips last night. Even back then you could see the way Ulster football was heading.
QuoteExamples please.
Think it was 1990 when he had Dave Barry stretched off unconscious. Seen him a few times for Moynalvey as well
Quote from: Jinxy on February 01, 2008, 02:11:30 PM
Wee James could have taken a leaf out of Mick Lyons book and not be rolling around holding his gob like he was doing in one of the clips last night. Even back then you could see the way Ulster football was heading.
Yeah up the steps of the Hogan stand .
Meath def. tried to soften Down up early doors in 91 , when they realised it wasn't going to work the damage was done .
Just be glad Colm O'Rourke had consumption and could only play a very limited role that day.
"And leaving Meath's victory aside, what we have today is friendship. We get older, we finish with football. But even in those times we had a very healthy respect for one another. Don't get me wrong, we'd still go through one another for a shortcut. But the two teams were littered with very fine footballers and with that comes that respect. If the opportunity arose we'd go for one another but out of that comes more respect. And now look. Martin O'Connell is a gentlemen among many. Mick Lyons, Padraic Lyons, Liam Harnan, all great guys. We socialise together and their wives and families are as nice people as you could meet."
Keih Barrs views on it sums it up for me.
Quote from: Jinxy on February 01, 2008, 02:18:25 PM
Just be glad Colm O'Rourke had consumption and could only play a very limited role that day.
That old chestnut ,what about the struggle to get over the Dubs that was bound to take it out of ya's as well ;)
Mick Lyons was always one of my favorite players, last night only served to elevate him in my estimation. If only more footballers were as manly as him, he gave it and took it without exception. Certainly a player everyone in Meath can be proud of.
reading some of these comments makes me laugh
there were so many players who had lost their battle going out to play meath and Lyons before the game even started because of the reputations these players had.
Mick wasnt a big man, he was six feet tall and quite thin. Strong and tough, but no giant.
Players feared his reputation more than him, and while he his brother P and cousin Liam Harnan were more than capable of using a bit of a dirty trick (no more dirty than lads pulling jerseys or feigning inj), a slap or whatever - it didnt hospitalise anyone.
Even still people just dont get it, the peny has still not dropped, Lyons biggest asset was not his footballing ability (and he was a very good player - although a midfielder at club level and where he prefered playing) but was the reputation he had.
the only time I ever saw Mick roasted was by a young 18 year old (barry Callaghan - dunderry) who simply had no fear, and his team had no fear of kicking the ball into him either. He scored 1-3 I think and set up more as Dunderry beat summerhill in the champinship.
In fairness Lynchbhoy for a man who made his county debut in '79 Mick would nearly have been drawing the pension by the time Barry Callaghan came on the scene.
Quote from: Jinxy on February 01, 2008, 03:22:40 PM
In fairness Lynchbhoy for a man who made his county debut in '79 Mick would nearly have been drawing the pension by the time Barry Callaghan came on the scene.
he was no spring chicken, but intercounty players could have exposed is lack of pace but their teams gameplan (dont kick it into lyons) and their own subconscious fear meant that Mick could have been in a plastercast and been almost as effective.
He was still mobile and fit at that stage.
Declan, Harnan was, is and will be my model for CHB position. Outstanding stopper who could play football, defend, intimidate,hit hard, still not give away many frees and was a decent 'actor' in those leo red /yellow adverts !
(though he's a sh*te coach now by all accounts - from three diff clubs no less)
Repeated tonight at 11.10pm on Tg4. Just did the ould Sky+.
I missed the bit the first time around where Micks father was talking about how the kids would all be out in the garden in the summer playing hurling or football or tennis!
I'd say Mick and Paraic had some serious rallys. ;D
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1990000/images/_1990114_tennis_ap.jpg)
There wouldn't have been enough contact in the auld tennis ! ;D ;D ;D
That man gets better every time you watch that !
Not really. I'd rather have the ball-playing FB. Lyons was the last of that breed that Fay and Bellew attempted to maintain. Neanderthal FB play, romanticised but not wished for.
I thgink your well off the mark there O'Neill, he was a full back of his time and a great one at that. And how I much would I love to see more players take a belt or punch like he did and just get on with it. He was a great player and a credit to the game.
of his time is correct.
Yes the game has moved on and no more than a full back 20 years before him would have done in his time a full back now wouldn't survive 20 years from now (probably). But his stand up manly honour is something the modern game could badly do with.
Quote from: ONeill on February 02, 2008, 12:03:43 AM
Not really. I'd rather have the ball-playing FB. Lyons was the last of that breed that Fay and Bellew attempted to maintain. Neanderthal FB play, romanticised but not wished for.
Fay and Bellew are arguably the better full backs of the present era, Fay in my opinion has been the stand out over the last decade.
you'd be hard pressed to see a better block than the one he made against cork, just brilliant!!
A full back that pummels his man into submission ahead of a football playing Moynihan style full back, Now Im a fan of Lyons but Ill not have that. (I can see this arguement in 15 years over the Laochra Gael Franci Bellew programme.) Theres too many rosy tainted specs on here. Lyons was what he was... A BRUTE WHO WOULD HAVE TRAMPED THROUGH THE SMALL TALENTED CORNER FORWARD AT EVERY OPPORTUNITY. That was what he was, and it was good fun to watch at times, as a neutral, but it must have been shit to play against if say you were a talented footballer. There was hardly a decent game in the championship from 1987 - 1990. It was brutal defensive football that for the most part was extremely hard to watch. I know Id much rather see a talented corner forward weaving his magic than a hack of a back as much as I like Lyons but sigh then again Im from Tyrone. ( To be perfectly honest I seen him as an honest Meathman a man who would hit ye and take the punishment, not one of the class of 96 who would maul ye on the sly, get away with it and cry at the press afterwards for demonising them) The obvious question on everyones lips this morning after reading through this thread is "Are we becoming a generation of revisionistic hyperbolarians?" By Jesus I hope not!
as I said, the mans reputation has many fooled , the likes of oneill who cant see past the facade :D - it proves what SS2 says when he says you couldnt kick a ball straight yerself! ;).
Lyons was a footballer, a full back AHEAD of his time. He used the 'hard man' image to psyche out opponents. like colm oneill who went for him and tried to take him on , and when he threw the punch, what did Mick do, rub his jaw and poor colm got the line!
I cant understand how people see what they hear and dont see what they are watching.
Lyons was no saint, but he has most of you fooled (esp the tyonies it seems)
My first memory of Lyons fighting was the first internatioal no-rules series where he ran the length of the pitch to get stuck in and help defend poor wee 6' 4" Eoin liston from getting a battering. :)
No Meath man from 88-96 should feature on thon programme. Ever. Cavemen.
Catch yourself on Lynchboy, this is no place for truths. Keep that to the pub.
Tyrone use that many bandages in a game they've had to hire an Egyptian fella full-time.