GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 20, 2008, 07:49:09 PM

Title: HAS HE GOT A CLEW??
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 20, 2008, 07:49:09 PM
(http://www.sportsmanager.ie/uploaded/2/1/Image/webpetermcdonnell.jpg)

I dont think mr McDonnell noes what he at. Hes lost and doesnt no what to be at. if he doesnt get sum help soon the hole year will be lost. the NFL strats in 3 weeks an wee need him to no what his best team is. If were going to be there at the end of the sumer he has to get things rite now. Its no use waiting til the sumer.

What do youse think???
Title: Re: HAS HE GOT A CLEW??
Post by: Jinxy on January 20, 2008, 07:55:00 PM
Ar u drnk?
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 20, 2008, 08:12:08 PM
no. r u?? I only ever drink on sundays at christmas. Or if im at a match.
Post by: orangeman on January 20, 2008, 08:18:13 PM
I know they said that Big Joe would be a hard act to follow but at least give the man a chance - are you writing him off in January ??
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 20, 2008, 08:22:11 PM
orangeman am I seeing things or are you taking something armagh4sam says seriously?
Post by: irunthev on January 20, 2008, 08:25:14 PM
I don't know much about Armagh football at present, but if you are judging a guy after a few McKenna Cup matches in the depths of winter, then you are even more unrealistic than the average Newcastle Utd fan. It's way too early. At this stage of the year no manager knows what their best team is and if he does, then he is completely blinkered and not the sort of manager than many would want to play for. Just because a fella doesn't show up or look great  in sub zero temperatures in January when the pitches are heavy under foot and the wind and rain is beating around the place, doesn't mean he won't be of use come May and June. Every manager needs a bit of time to assess players, and figure out their attitude, strengths etc. Come back in June and if it's still the mess you claim it is at the moment, we can discuss it further and probably agree with you. In the meantime, give the guy a break.
Post by: ziggysego on January 20, 2008, 08:28:09 PM
Tyrone didn't have much better luck in the Dr. McKenna Gaelic Life Cup. I don't think the team is in meltdown. It was about experimenting and seeing what is available to teams for the following year.

Ye of little faith.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 20, 2008, 08:32:04 PM
But heres what he said!

Seniorfootball manager Peter McDonnell has warned his squad that he will be getting ruthless as he cuts his squad back following the end of their McKenna Cup campaign.

Armaghs interest in the competition ended following their 2-7 to 1-10 draw with St Marys at the weekend and McDonnell is ready to wield the axe.

We did what we said we would do in the competition, and gave everyone their chance, McDonnell said. They have all got a fair share of game time, and I can tell you there will be some serious reflection over the next 24 hours.

There will be cuts in the panel and that was always going to be the purpose of this - to give people the opportunity to see if they can step up to the mark. Some have, some havent.
Who>>
How long is it goin to take!
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on January 20, 2008, 09:13:47 PM
Give the man a chance for goodness sake!!
Post by: orangeman on January 20, 2008, 09:18:45 PM
Pints - I think he's serious ???
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 20, 2008, 09:23:15 PM
He's not to be taken seriously. 
Post by: Sandy Hill on January 20, 2008, 09:42:24 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on January 20, 2008, 07:49:09 PM
(http://www.sportsmanager.ie/uploaded/2/1/Image/webpetermcdonnell.jpg)

I dont think mr McDonnell noes what he at. Hes lost and doesnt no what to be at. if he doesnt get sum help soon the hole year will be lost. the NFL strats in 3 weeks an wee need him to no what his best team is. If were going to be there at the end of the sumer he has to get things rite now. Its no use waiting til the sumer.

What do youse think???

Pudsy Ryan is alive and well!
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on January 20, 2008, 09:44:33 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on January 20, 2008, 07:49:09 PM

What do youse think???

hav u gott an speelchekor?

As a Down man... I think he is the right man to take Armagh to where we'd all want them to be  ;D
Post by: gerry on January 20, 2008, 11:30:25 PM
its early days, yet if armargh had went on to win the mc kenna cup and being knocked out of the championship, would you be happier, i think not.

"Armargh 4 sam again" not this year
Post by: Bacon on January 21, 2008, 08:33:26 AM
The Armagh supporters are a demanding lot. Most of the young ones don't remember the bad times and expect their county to be competing for the All Ireland every year. I fear those days are gone for a while any way and it's not Peter McDonnell's fault.

I thought Armagh4SamAgain was right behind him when he was appointed? It doesn't take much for you to drop from hero to fool in Armagh football circles.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 21, 2008, 08:54:30 AM
Quote from: Bacon on January 21, 2008, 08:33:26 AM
I thought Armagh4SamAgain was right behind him when he was appointed? It doesn't take much for you to drop from hero to fool in Armagh football circles.

I still think O'Neill is the phantom menace behind A4SA - "So I do"  :P
Post by: Sky Blue on January 21, 2008, 09:23:46 AM
When did Armagh last win a match? They lost 2 McKenna Cup games and drew one. They lost 2 championship games in 2006. It must be a NFL game?

Realistically you have to give this new manager at least a year and may be 3 to prove his worth. Looking rid of him after to games in January is nonsense.
Post by: ziggysego on January 21, 2008, 10:21:55 AM
(http://www.cril.univ-artois.fr/~mazure/images/chewie.jpg)
Post by: Sky Blue on January 21, 2008, 02:15:09 PM
What ??  ???

I think Ziggy has lost it.   :-\
Post by: ziggysego on January 21, 2008, 02:28:58 PM
Chewie :)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on January 21, 2008, 02:36:00 PM
So if there is a bit of unrest over the new man do us simple Kildare folk have the better team in place with geezer/ grimley?

We have already had a different attitude in our early games. all we need now is a few more players :-\
Post by: Silky on January 21, 2008, 09:59:11 PM
Are they the wrong men for the job or ios it too soon?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 22, 2008, 01:18:59 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on January 21, 2008, 09:23:46 AM
When did Armagh last win a match? They lost 2 McKenna Cup games and drew one. They lost 2 championship games in 2006. It must be a NFL game?

Realistically you have to give this new manager at least a year and may be 3 to prove his worth. Looking rid of him after to games in January is nonsense.

I presume you mean competitive match... as we've beat Meath, Louth & some others...

Westmeath in Cross - last game in the League last year - saved us from relegation!  :-\
Post by: Blacksheep on January 22, 2008, 02:39:57 PM
From Hoganstand

McDonnell says raft of questions need to be answered
22 January 2008

Armagh football boss Peter McDonnell says that a whole host of questions need to be addressed ahead of his naming of his NFL panel inside the next 24 hours.

McDonnell insists that there will be no automatic inclusions but he is conscious of the need to introduce some new, fresh blood.

"I'm faced with a challenge now, with a number of questions I need to find answers to: are some of the more seasoned players just that wee bit beyond it now?

"Is the hunger still there: I can't answer those questions yet - the answers will become more obvious as time moves on.

"There was an expectation that there would be a mass exodus of senior players when Joe stepped down. That hasn't been the case. I have no aversion to experience, who might be in some quarters be referred to as an 'older player'; the one thing I'm interested in people who want to give it a lash, give it all they have."
Post by: mhacadoir on January 22, 2008, 03:09:08 PM
this is crazy. Mc donnell needed to see what sort of unearthed talent there is in the county, of course try them out in the mc kenna cup. everyone knows that only a few will make the county squad from them new players, but they have to be tried out before we can see who is going to be good enough. dont write off armagh or mc donnell yet. we had no cross players, none of the university players, no mc grane, mc donnell etc, we know what they can do, he had to try the younger players. i think players like finnian moriarty and marty ferris will benefit from a few games. also, with people like kieran toner not playin etc, we've loads to come back. lets see how the league goes before we judge
Post by: Silky on January 22, 2008, 05:51:07 PM
mhacadoir are you Peter McDonnell?  If you are I wouldn't worry too much about what Armagh4SamAgain says.
Post by: mhacadoir on January 22, 2008, 06:15:28 PM
no, no, far from it! just realistic!!
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 22, 2008, 10:06:49 PM
look im just sayin that he hasnt got a clew about county mangers job. H e needs a body who noses whats what to help. but he wont ask for help cause he hasnt gat a clew. Read that thing he sad before - its rubbish so it is and u all no it No clew at all. Armagh cant weat 3 yrs for a all Ireland! he needs to get it sorted now for the league an i dont think he has if were goin to be in wit a chance in sept
Post by: qub la la la on January 22, 2008, 11:08:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on January 22, 2008, 10:06:49 PM
look im just sayin that he hasnt got a clew about county mangers job. H e needs a body who noses whats what to help. but he wont ask for help cause he hasnt gat a clew. Read that thing he sad before - its rubbish so it is and u all no it No clew at all. Armagh cant weat 3 yrs for a all Ireland! he needs to get it sorted now for the league an i dont think he has if were goin to be in wit a chance in sept

wise up u muppet! armagh can wait 3 years, by jaysus we waited a lot longer for one and have waited 5 years under joe!! Peter McDonnell was and is the best man for the job. He won an Ulster title last year with the u21s and was unlucky not to beat cork in my opinion. Obviously with these close ties to the younger talent in the county he is undoubtedly the man to work at it and bring them on to become the star players over the next few years.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 23, 2008, 06:09:36 AM
Quotelook im just sayin that he hasnt got a clew about county mangers job. H e needs a body who noses whats what to help. but he wont ask for help cause he hasnt gat a clew. Read that thing he sad before - its rubbish so it is and u all no it No clew at all. Armagh cant weat 3 yrs for a all Ireland! he needs to get it sorted now for the league an i dont think he has if were goin to be in wit a chance in sept

You may have a point there Armagh4samAgain. I must say, you have a refreshingly honest view and more power to you for stating it despite criticism from your more one-eyed countymen.
Maybe they should sack this fella and bring back Joe Kernan...what do you think ?
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on January 23, 2008, 02:40:01 PM
Maybe he means he should lift the telephone and seek advice from an experienced inter-county manager. Nothing wrong with that. He could do worse than speak to Joe I suppose.

I actually think Armagh4SamAgain has a bit of a point when you get past all the rubbish and poor spelling.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 23, 2008, 06:46:40 PM
Heres the panel for the league just putout by Mr Mcdonnell. He hasnt a clew hwhat hes at. No clew at all. Look at the names? He hates cross for a good reason but he hasnt picked ANY of them!!!
No cross players at all!! the man is mad if he thinks Armagh can win the all Ireland with nun of the Cross players.

I bet u youse all no im rite now when youse seen this!

Peter McDonnell Announces NFL Panel
Date : 23/01/2008 09:17 

New Armagh manager Peter McDonnell has announced his NFL Panel for 2008 exclusively to to Armaghs Official Website. 

This panel will be subject to change at any stage throughout the League campaign

NAME CLUB
CONOR CLARKE PEARSE OG
RONAN CLARKE PEARSE OG
PAUL COURTNEY BALLYHEGAN
BRENDAN DONAGHY CLONMORE
PAUL DUFFY PEARSE OG
STEFAN FORKER MAGHERY
JAMES LAVERY MAGHERY
GREGORY LOUGHRAN PEARSE OG
PHILIP LOUGHRAN CLADY
BRIAN McCONE BALLYMACNAB
GERARD McCOY PEARSE OG
STEVEN McDONNELL KILLEAVEY
PAUL McGRANE BALLYHEGAN
CIARAN McKEEVER ST. PATRICKS
PADDY McKEEVER BALLYHEGAN
CIARAN McKINNEY PEARSE OG
ENDA McNULTY NA FIANNA
ANDY MALLON PEARSE OG
BRIAN MALLON TIR NA NOG
FINNIAN MORIARTY WOLFE TONES
LIAM OHARE ST. PATRICKS
GARETH ONEILL DROMINTEE
AIDAN OROURKE DROMINTEE
MARTIN OROURKE DROMINTEE
MICHEAL OROURKE DROMINTEE
MARK QUINN MULLABAWN
PADRAIG RODGERS LISSUMMON
BARRY SHANNON DROMINTEE
GARETH SMYTH MULLABAWN
CHARLIE VERNON HARPS

Post by: full back on January 23, 2008, 06:54:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on January 23, 2008, 06:46:40 PM
Heres the panel for the league just putout by Mr Mcdonnell. He hasnt a clew hwhat hes at. No clew at all. Look at the names? He hates cross for a good reason but he hasnt picked ANY of them!!!
No cross players at all!! the man is mad if he thinks Armagh can win the all Ireland with nun of the Cross players.

Please tell me you are taking the f**king p1ss?
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 23, 2008, 06:59:25 PM
why? he hates cross. every body down are way nose it. Look at the names its a disscress.

an i forgot to say im not a big fan of Crossmaglen Rangers ether but fairs fair
Post by: Guillem2 on January 23, 2008, 07:05:38 PM
Nun of the cross players perhaps?

(http://www.geraintlewis.com/reportage/Nuns_Football.jpg)
Post by: full back on January 23, 2008, 07:08:48 PM
Im starting to think pog was right about you all along a4sa
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 23, 2008, 07:14:23 PM
Quote from: full back on January 23, 2008, 07:08:48 PM
He never liked me an i never like him. thats just the way it is sum times.
Post by: topgun on January 23, 2008, 07:18:26 PM

are u a fcking muppett or what, wat part of the universe do u come from!!!!!!!! the cross payers are not to be considered until their involvment in the all ireland club is over. before u post something think twice thats 2 times before u fcking post it, where u considered for the armagh job i doubt not from ur posts do u even no wat an o'neills ball looks like!!!!!!
Post by: Sandy Hill on January 23, 2008, 07:21:02 PM
Quote from: topgun on January 23, 2008, 07:18:26 PM

are u a fcking muppett or what, wat part of the universe do u come from!!!!!!!! the cross payers are not to be considered until their involvment in the all ireland club is over. before u post something think twice thats 2 times before u fcking post it, where u considered for the armagh job i doubt not from ur posts do u even no wat an o'neills ball looks like!!!!!!

Topgun, I see that you write in the same language as AS4SA!
Post by: Guillem2 on January 23, 2008, 07:23:09 PM
Now you've ruined it by telling him! I was looking forward to weeks of outrage!
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on January 23, 2008, 07:26:44 PM
Quote from: topgun on January 23, 2008, 07:18:26 PM

Rite well as long as there ok with that. if he still doesnt pick them after the club final well all no what hes at an i was still rite early on.
Post by: topgun on January 23, 2008, 07:28:03 PM
i am not a4sm in disguise read my posts, look now he nos the full story!! sandy uv mail
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 23, 2008, 07:35:04 PM
Quote from: full back on January 23, 2008, 07:08:48 PM

:o

Post by: full back on January 23, 2008, 07:43:09 PM
Alright, alright pog

That wee line underneath your posts is very close to what I am thinking now  ;)
Post by: Blacksheep on January 24, 2008, 12:19:08 PM
Interesting article on Peter McDonnell in todays Irish News.

http://www.irishnews.com/irishnews/2008/1/597/5776/578381_334524580162Orchardri.html (http://www.irishnews.com/irishnews/2008/1/597/5776/578381_334524580162Orchardri.html)
Post by: Silky on January 24, 2008, 02:33:54 PM
Here's the relevant info A4SA - "The 30-man panel excludes the Crossmaglen contingent, who are still involved in the All-Ireland club championships but should be reinstated for the later stages of the league."

Now settle down!  :D :D
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on January 25, 2008, 09:10:23 AM
Idiot!
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 02, 2008, 02:06:53 PM
This is a test for Mr McDonnel; hes the team what hes picked. well no on sunday afternoon if there good or not and well no more about Mr McDonnell to as the manager

Armagh team to play Cavan on Sunday 

ARMAGH TEAM V CAVAN NFL 3/2/2008

1.      Ciaran McKinney            Pearse Og

2.      Enda McNulty                  Na Fianna

3.      Brendan Donaghy           Clonmore

4.      Finnian Moriarty              Wolfe Tones

5.      Gareth Smyth                   Mullabawn

6.      Aidan O'Rourke              Dromintee

7.      Paul Duffy                         Pearse Og

8.      Gareth O'Neill                  Dromintee

9.      Paul McGrane                 Ballyhegan

10     Martin O'Rourke              Dromintee