With the competitive pre-NFL games now finished for Tyrone, any ideas on a team for this game on the 2nd February?
My stab:
1. J Devine
2. PJ Quinn
3. C Mc Carron
4. M Swift
5. D Carlin
6. C Gormley
7. P Jordan
8. C Holmes
9. S Cavanagh
10. E Mc Ginley
11. R Mulgrew
12. C Cavanagh
13. A Mc Carron
14. T Mc Guigan
15. S (Snowy) O'Neill
MH won't want to take too many chances in this game, but will want to blood as many as is 'safely' possible.
Is Mulligan not in the frame at this stage ?
That's a very inexperienced FB line. Ricey and McGee out? Both need game time.
I think we all know what mulligan is capable off and hes more a big match player. Come championship I think we will see Mulligan feature but in the mean time I would like to see the NFL as more experimenting. Love to see that full back line and see how they will cope with competitive games. The only concern I have is the experienced mentor for these guys. PJ Quinn looked great today getting forward.
PJ Quinn was very good going forward but what we need in the full back line are markers who can do a job on the opposition. Going forward is all very well but we saw last year that we need people who can cancel out the big names.
I'd like come SFC time (radical)
1. Pascal
2. Gourley
3. Gormley
4. McGee
5. Harte
6. Ricey
7. Jordan
8. Cavanagh
9. Hughes
10. Dooher
11. Mulgrew
12. McGinley
13. T McGuigan
14. St O'Neill
15. Mugsy
During the NFL, I'd like to see MH experimenting with Block at FB, Ricey at CHB, Mulgrew at CHF, Mellon at no. 5, Colm Cavanagh at MF, McCarron at FB as well.
youd still get beaten
Little old me against the 674 Tyrone Posters on this thread......
Kildare will win and win easy......
What about the university players?
I'd have thought McCaul and Colm Kavanagh would have made that team too. Potentially Boggs too.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2008, 10:16:11 PM
I doubt you are alone Dinny!
Quote from: Puckoon on January 13, 2008, 10:20:36 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2008, 10:16:11 PM
I doubt you are alone Dinny!
He's not
Quote from: ONeill on January 13, 2008, 09:52:28 PM
That's a very inexperienced FB line. Ricey and McGee out? Both need game time.
True ONeill, the subs would need to be on hot standby. It's do-or-die for that trio, the making or breaking.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 13, 2008, 09:44:46 PM
With the competitive pre-NFL games now finished for Tyrone, any ideas on a team for this game on the 2nd February?
My stab:
1. J Devine
2. PJ Quinn
3. C Mc Carron
4. M Swift
5. D Carlin
6. C Gormley
7. P Jordan
8. C Holmes
9. S Cavanagh
10. E Mc Ginley
11. R Mulgrew
12. C Cavanagh
13. A Mc Carron
14. T Mc Guigan
15. S (Snowy) O'Neill
MH won't want to take too many chances in this game, but will want to blood as many as is 'safely' possible.
That's not a bad selection, FOSB. Based on what I saw in the McKenna Cup, there are just a few changes I would make to that side for the opening NFL game. Swift is a fine defender but he blotted his copybook for me today, so I would give UUJ's Damien McCaul the nod ahead of him at number 4. Davy Harte is also more dependable in defence than Carlin, who is great going forward but not so good when put on the back foot. (Those changes won't make me very popular with the good folk of Killyclogher!!). Unfortunately, it appears that Sean may not be quite ready to come back for the start of the NFL, so who better to take his place at midfield than his brother Colm!
For what it is worth, here is my team for the Kildare match:
1) Pascal McConnell
2) PJ Quinn
3) Cathal McCarron
4) Damien McCaul
5) Davy Harte
6) Conor Gormley
7) Philly Jordan
8) Enda McGinley
9) Colm Cavanagh
10) Raymond Mulgrew
11) Tommy McGuigan
12) Ryan Mellon
13) Colm McCullagh
14) Shaun O'Neill
15) Owen Mulligan
Subs - J Devine, R McMenamin, M Swift, M McGee, D Carlin, B Boggs, C Holmes, Kevin Hughes, C McCarron (Omagh), P Rouse, A McCarron, Ciaran Donnelly (Brocagh).
Any update on the fitness of the McMahon brothers, Joe and Justin?
Don't think you can have too many new faces in for opener in the NFL
Assuming we will be without Sean Cav, Dooher, SON, Joe McMahon
Devine
PJ Quinn C McCarron Carlin
Ricey Block Model
Colm Cavanagh Hub
Enda Mulgrew Tommy
Mugsy Snowy McCullogh
what's the latest on Niall Gormley?
Quote from: tyroneman on January 14, 2008, 01:45:13 PM
Wouldn't be quite so sure
tyroneman, I'd be more of the opinion that you begin with the greatest number (no dispect to Kildare), then whittle them down and introduce the more established players as it progresses. We'll certainly need a critical mass of the big guns, the question is how many. Niall Gormley'd be worth a run out too.
I suppose it depends on what yr hoping for from the NFL campaign.
I was always of the mind that too many new players in a team detracts from the overall cohesion of the unit and Tyrone are all about the unit working together.
If you give too many a head against Kildare and they lose................................
Niall Gormley is currently injured .
Quote from: tyroneman on January 14, 2008, 01:45:13 PM
Assuming we will be without Sean Cav, Dooher, SON, Joe McMahon
Devine
PJ Quinn C McCarron Carlin
Ricey Block Model
Colm Cavanagh Hub
Enda Mulgrew Tommy
Mugsy Snowy McCullogh
what's the latest on Niall Gormley?
What's the story on Sean?
On the point of whether you should load an team in early NFL games with new or squad players, I think that the best policy is to always ensure that there is an established senior player on each line on the team (as a minimum), helping to maintain the shape and balance of the team and to give the newer players the best chance to bed-in and play to their potential. For that reason I would want to change the full-back line propossed by some posters as it is made up of 3 first season players. I think that Conor Gormley should begin the season at 3 and that the younger players such as C McCarron, D McCaul, PJ Quinn And Swift should be tried around him.
In midfield I would like to see Enda McGinley get a few games to try and establish a partnership with either Cavanagh. It's worrying that some posters are alluding to Sean being an early absentee, why is this?
Up front although it's painful to watch fumble around at times during early season games he needs to be played regularly to help him gain the fitness and sharpness needed for the championship as Mugsy at his peak will be vital particularly with the concerns surrounding Stevie.
My 15 for the Kildare match would be
1. Pascal
2. C McCarron 3. C Gormley 4. D McCaul
5. D Harte 6. Ricey or D Carlin 7. P Jordan
8. E McGinley 9. Sean or Colm Cavanagh
10. T McGuigan 11. R Mulgrew 12. R Mellon
13. C Mc Cullough 14. Colm Cavanagh or Shaun ONeill 15. Mugsy
Mix the old with the new
Dinny - How are the storm troopers we sent down to ye getting on?
QuoteDinny - How are the storm troopers we sent down to ye getting on?
The palyers are loving it at the moment, everyone is getting an equal opportunity to impress, doing a lot of circuit training and pool work. Seemingly the sessions are very varied and are a doing a lot of ball work. Kildare supporters are fickle but they'll get a easy ride this year it's next year that the knives will be out.
It will be interesting to see how they approach the League, the team against Tyrone will tell us a lot but they has a very tough year ahead of him..
Interesting he had a training weekend in the K-Club and surprisingly the players were allowed to have a few beers on the Saturday night, so far that side of things has been very relaxed.
The K club no less !!! That's how the other half live !!!!
sorry refresh my memory who's hub? i know but i don't know at the same time!
(http://uk.gizmodo.com/hub-main-thumb.jpg)
(usb) Hub Monster
anyone shed any light on niall mc ginn, just not good enuf for tyrone seniors or not bothered due to club and soccer wit dungannon?
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 15, 2008, 09:48:46 PM
anyone shed any light on niall mc ginn, just not good enuf for tyrone seniors or not bothered due to club and soccer wit dungannon?
Apparently he's giving it two years with the Dungannon Swifts to see if he can break into it across the water, if not he'll commit to the football again.
Would like to see Hub being given a good run out in the League from the start, on reflection, he showed his form of old in patches last year, and the games might bring more consistency.
Niall Mc Ginn's first love would seem to be soccer - gaelic comes second - that's his choice and it has to be respected - Donaghmore aren't paying his wages - Dungannon Swifts are !
He is a fantastic talent who I think could make it for Tyrone.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 15, 2008, 10:30:51 PM
Would like to see Hub being given a good run out in the League from the start, on reflection, he showed his form of old in patches last year, and the games might bring more consistency.
Yeah I thought he looked back to his old self at times. If they could get just get him to stop his shoot on sight policy...there was a game or two when he actually played well but people were slating him because he racked up a good few wides ;D. As for the forthcoming league games its surely imperative we use them to establish a real option at FB. Cormac McGinley and Peter Donnelly were there in the league last season but neither look like they are capable of doing a job. Cathal McCarron seems to have done well in the McKenna, it would be good to give him a run of games. Block could do a job there but hard not to feel he is best at no.6. Id also like to see Aidan McCarron get a few games, been a class act for a while who for a variety of reasons hasnt had an extended chance. Hopefully his decent McKenna Cup form will see him get a run.
For what its worth here's my stab at a team for Kildare. Any word on when Dooher might be fit?
1.Devine
2.McMenamin
3.C.McCarron
4.McCaul
5.Harte/Carlin
6.Gormley
7.Jordan
8.McGinley
9.S.Cavanagh if fit, otherwise Hub
10.T.McGuigan
11.Mulgrew
12.C.Cavanagh
13.A.McCarron
14.Shaun O'Neill
15.Mulligan
Niall Mc Ginn's first love would seem to be soccer - gaelic comes second - that's his choice and it has to be respected - Donaghmore aren't paying his wages - Dungannon Swifts are ! - Orangeman
Ha Ha ornageman ye old wind up merchant ye. You have a good point Mc Ginns choice is and has to be respected, but just like you give your opinion that his first love appears to be soccor over Gaelic Ill give my opinion that he can potentially make good short term money out of soccor, and who wouldnt take up his opportunity and that why hes playing soccor. The swifts appear to be marketing him well, looking their big price, looking a killer sale - Its really all about the money for them too isnt it. theres no poor county players about in Gaelic either. Do you disagree Orangeman?
Absolutely RRHF - The Swifts are investing in him and will want a return if that materialises - I'm not sure what you mean about poor county players ??
Mc Ginn is a fantastic talent and I'd love to see him play for Tyrone - I think he has the potential to have a very good inter county career.
Why do you reckon I'm winding you up ?? :D :D :D :D
Ulster council jobs for GAA stars, business opportunities are widely available, as well as the holiday mories dolled out and now the new grants scheme. ;) you have to see the bigger picture beyond a couple of hundred pound a week. Higher levels of fame and recognition are guaranteed then local soccor. Of course if any lad has an opportunity to proceed to pro sport then thats a different story altogether. The GAA has given lads like Mc Ginn, the Ohailpins and kyle Coney a great grounding in sport and we must wish them well if they get to the pro level. If not they;ll always be welcomed back to the auld amateur sports.
But is it not a bit like the premiership where only the top teams and the big stars are on the big money ?? The majority are usually less well off, have little or no security and rarely make the headlines.
Quote from: orangeman on January 16, 2008, 03:46:07 PM
The majority are usually less well off, have little or no security and rarely make the headlines.
That's life, always has been and always will be.
It's just not fair :'( :'(
what would be the chances of lining out as follows for the Mayo game?
Devine
PJ McCarron Carlin
Ricey Block Jordan
Hub Sean
Dooher God II Mulgrew
Mugsy SON Tommy
Genuine Options on the bench
Defence: McCaul, Harte, Gourley, McMahon x 2, McGee, Boggs
MF: C Cavanagh, Enda, McMahon x 2
Forwards: McCullogh, McCarron x 2, Donnelly, Gormley, O'Neill
So SON will miss the NFL and prob the Championship too.................. :(
(From Hoganstand)
QuoteSpeaking over the weekend the Tyrone team-manager Mickey Harte said that he was not optimistic of Stephen O'Neill making his comeback in the forthcoming NFL campaign.
"It's is something we have to get on with. However, it is a huge disappointment for the player himself who was looking forward to making his return to competitive action in the coming weeks.''
"What makes it even worse is that initially the set of exercises designed to help with the rehabilitation of the knee looked to be going well. Now, however, a new set of problems have appeared.
"There is still some pain and obviously we need to try and get to the source of the problem. Hopefully, we can get the problem solved sooner than later, and the player will get back to full fitness in the coming months,'' added Harte.
Who was the last county to win Sam without a "marquee" forward???
If O'Neill isnt fit for the championship its going to be very difficult for Tyrone to get the neccesary scores to win an all ireland. Id like to see Harte play McGinley and Colm Cavanagh in a game or 2 at midfield during the league, and try to turn Sean Cavanagh into a top class full forward. Its crucial that Tyrone improve their scoring options in the full forward line.
Mark my words Tyrone need to develop the talents of the best forward potentially in the county by a mile - Niall Mc Ginn to get to the top table again. It looks like Derry city are going to sign him though.
I heard also that Mc Ginn is going to Londonderry - £ 700 a week ???
'Apparently he's giving it two years with the Dungannon Swifts to see if he can break into it across the water, if not he'll commit to the football again.'
If he hasn't been snapped up by a team across the sheugh well before now I doubt very much he will be in the future...
1.Devine
2.McMenamin
3.C.McCarron
4.McCaul
5.Harte/Carlin
6.Gormley
7.Jordan
8.McGinley
10.T.McGuigan
11.Mulgrew
12.C.Cavanagh
13.A.McCarron
14.Shaun O'Neill
15.Mulligan
v
15. John Doyle :'(
Ah no I'm looking forward to going to Omagh and after the Louth game last week it's clear that we won't be taking a step back.
Although that's not saying we won't be pushed back as we still have too many lads who aren't big enough for inter-county.
If we get a draw or even keep it tight id say mcgeeney will be happy as in all fairness its very much a case of looking to next year.
Never been to Omagh, how long should i give myself for the travel time?
well you can get from omagh to dublin in bout 2-2 and half hours now, so depends on what part of kildare you comin from, prob best for you to get onto M1 take turn of for ardee/Derry and the n2/a5 straight to omagh, only need to go through two small villages now emyvale snd aughnacloy the rest are all by-passed. Only prob is healy park is the far side of omagh an traffic can be pretty bad gettin thro the town unless you know the back rounds out to that part of town!
be much the same for you leaving from johnstownbridge.
Trim, Navan, kingscourt, then the N2 DERRY road that brings you through monaghan then eventually omagh.
prob would be a good 2 hours on a sunday morning if no traffic - but expect you to still take 2 and a half hours and that road isnt great.
Dinny/Captain scarlet, any list of the current kildare panel aqnd their clubs - any from johnstown or the cloughs ?
http://www.squareball.com/club-county/pitch-finder/healy-park/ (http://www.squareball.com/club-county/pitch-finder/healy-park/)
all you need to know
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/1/1b/2007_09070126.JPG/250px-2007_09070126.JPG)
The road at the top of the picture is the Gortin Road. If you turn left it is just over a mile into the town. Entrance to the pitch is the top right corner and the bottom left corner. Some locals and those familiar with the area use the bottom left entrance. Advice for non locals is to park in the town and walk to the pitch. When you come to the Spar shop or Ice Off Licence you can turn right (on to the Killybrack Road) and this will take you to the bottom left entrance or go straight on for the top right hand entrance - also the entrance for the stand.
that was a quiet day, must have all being in clones
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on January 22, 2008, 11:37:09 AM
1.Devine
2.McMenamin
3.C.McCarron
4.McCaul
5.Harte/Carlin
6.Gormley
7.Jordan
8.McGinley
10.T.McGuigan
11.Mulgrew
12.C.Cavanagh
13.A.McCarron
14.Shaun O'Neill
15.Mulligan
v
15. John Doyle :'(
Ah no I'm looking forward to going to Omagh and after the Louth game last week it's clear that we won't be taking a step back.
Although that's not saying we won't be pushed back as we still have too many lads who aren't big enough for inter-county.
If we get a draw or even keep it tight id say mcgeeney will be happy as in all fairness its very much a case of looking to next year.
Never been to Omagh, how long should i give myself for the travel time?
As an Omagh exile living in Kilcullen I'd say give yourself 3 hours.
QuoteTyrone boss Mickey Harte has moved to quell rumours about the fitness of Stephen O'Neill, insisting suggestions that he was set for another knee operation are "exaggerated rubbish."
Harte admitted that he may be out for longer than initially thought, but dismissed out of hand stories circulating that injury may force the former All Star to retire from inter-county football.
"Stephen does not need another operation," Harte told the Irish Daily Mirror.
"All that has happened is that he is doing rehabilitation work and perhaps pushed a little too hard and got some extra pain in the knee.
"Initially we hoped he'd be back by the end of March, and while it may be later, we would certainly be thinking positively," he added.
Grand cheers lads, im not a speed merchant so ill give myself three hours.
Lynchboy here is the team and clubs from the Louth match
Enda Murphy (Leixlip), Emmett Bolton (Eadestown), Andrew McGloughlin (Ellistown), Morgan O'Flaherty (Carbury), Anthony Rainbow (Suncroft), Damien Hendy (Castledermot), Brian Flanagan (Johnstownbridge), Padraig Mullarkey (Round Towers), Killian Brennan (Suncroft), Michael Hartnett 0-1 (1f) (Suncroft), Michael Conway 0-4 (3f), James Kavanagh 1-1 (1f) (Ballymore), John O'Donoghue 0-1 (1f) (Kilcock), Dermot Earley (Sarsfields), Ken Donnelly (Ellistown)
Subs: Ronan Sweeney (Moorefield) Karl Ennis (Maynooth) Willie Heffernan (Nurney) Terry Rossiter (Carbury)
so we have flanno, his style would be suited to mcgeeney as he doesnt hold back and knows how to hit a good honest shoulder.
Still think we have no chance but Im lookin forward to the game.
Is flanno Dicks son or Niall's brother?
no relation. they are my crew!
his day is a galway man and he moved from confey when he was about 7.
has started well
Fifteen against Kildare from these, just three new faces:
Tyrone's National Football League squad 2008...
Dermot Carlin (Killyclogher)
Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
Sean Cavanagh (Moy)
Jonathan Curran (Coalisland)
John Devine (Errigal Ciaran)
Peter Donnelly (Coalisland)
Brian Dooher (Clann na nGael)
Conor Gormley (Carrickmore)
Niall Gormley (Trillick)
Ciaran Gourley (Rock)
Davy Harte (Errigal Ciaran)
Colin Holmes (Armagh Harps)
Kevin Hughes (Killeeshil)
Philip Jordan (Moy)
Cathal McCarron (Dromore)
Damian McCaul (Donaghmore)
Pascal McConnell(Newtownstewart)
Colm McCullagh (Dromore)
Michael McGee (Loughmacrory)
Enda McGinley (Errigal Ciaran)
Brian McGuigan (Ardboe)
Tommy McGuigan (Ardboe)
Joe McMahon (Omagh)
Justin McMahon (Omagh)
Ryan McMenamin (Dromore)
Ryan Mellon (Moy)
Raymond Mulgrew (Cookstown)
Owen Mulligan (Cookstown)
Shaun O'Neill (Dromore)
Martin Penrose (Aghyaran)
P J Quinn (Moortown)
Martin Swift (Killyclogher)
And this is what Teamtalk say about the game on Saturday:
Looking ahead to the Kildare tie, which actually falls on the fifth anniversary of Mickey Harte's first NFL assignment as Tyrone boss (which ended in a one-point defeat to Roscommon back in 2003), Tyrone look set to be without Sean Cavanagh, Peter Donnelly, Mickey McGee, Joe McMahon, Justin McMahon and team captain Brian Dooher for the visit of Kieran McGeeney's side.
Just heard on local radio this mornin that anthony rainbow made his debut in omagh in 1990.
some going to be still knocking around. anyone of those lads from tyrone still playing much, just out of curiosity.
That's some going indeed Captain, wouldn't be too many of the Tyrone lads still playing I'd say, bar in the over 40s!
What age is Rainbow - must be at least 36 or 37 if he was playing in '90. Dooher has been around the panel the longest - since 96. Holmes would have been around during that period as well then you've a gap of a couple of years until the Minor teams of 97 and 98 started to make the panel.
QuoteWhat age is Rainbow?
Just turned 36 before Christmas and is rumoured to be in the running for Kildare captain although he denies it any time I ask him.
Lynchbhoy stop pretending you know anything about Kildare football, it's nearly 20 years old man since you last played here :D
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 28, 2008, 04:27:37 PM
Fifteen against Kildare from these, just three new faces:
So no place for Aidan McCarron. He has been knocking on the door for a while now and could argue he hasnt had a proper chance to shine (certainly in comparison to the likes of Peter Donnelly who hasnt thus far convinced for Tyrone despite plenty of opportunities)...McCarron was worth a game or two in in the league in my opinion.
Agreed, the only really questionable omission, I'd suspect that he faded somewhat in the final trials.
Rumour has it this is the probable Kildare Team for Omagh...
Murphy
O'Flaherty
McLoughlin
Bolton
Rainbow
O'Neill
White
Brennan
Mullarkey
Doyle
Conway
Kavanagh
Sweeney
Earley
Donnelly
Would like to see a few things tried out on Saturday night but obviously still win the game. Would be pleased with a team like this (injury permitting):
P McConnell
C Gormley
C McCarron
M Swift
R Mellon
R McMenamin
P Jordan
K Hughes
E McGinley
C Cavanagh
R Mulgrew
T McGuigan
N Gormley
Snowy O'Neill
O Mulligan
Would prefer..........
Devine
PJ McCarron Carlin
Ricey Block Jordan
C.Cavanagh McGinley
Penfold Mulgrew Mellon
Tommy Snowy Mugsy
What about:
John Devine
(Errigal Ciaran)
P J Quinn
(Moortown) Conor Gormley (Carrickmore) Martin Swift (Killyclogher)
Davy Harte
(Errigal Ciaran) Dermot Carlin (Killyclogher) Philip Jordan (Moy)
Kevin Hughes (Killeeshil)
Enda McGinley (Errigal Ciaran)
Colm Cavanagh (Moy) Raymond Mulgrew (Cookstown) Ryan Mellon (Moy)
Colm McCullagh (Dromore) Tommy McGuigan (Ardboe) Shaun O'Neill (Dromore)
SUBSTITUTES:
Pascal McConnell
(Newtownstewart)
Niall Gormley
(Trillick)
Colin Holmes
(Armagh Harps)
Cathal McCarron
(Dromore)
Damian McCaul
(Donaghmore)
Owen Mulligan
(Cookstown)
From Teamtalkmag.com
The full teamtalk article :
Three league newcomers in Tyrone side to face Kildare
Mickey Harte has named three NFL debutants in his side for this weekend's opening division one fixture at home to Kildare, a county that the Tyrone boss has never before encountered as manager.
Moortown's P J Quinn and Killyclogher's Martin Swift have been handed the corner back duties for Saturday's floodlit encounter, with last year's senior club championship top scorer, Dromore's Shaun O'Neill, pencilled in at left corner forward.
The trio, who all had outstanding seasons for their respective clubs in 2007, have earned their league opportunities after promising displays in the recent McKenna Cup campaign.
Three more players will make their first Tyrone appearances of 2008 in Healy Park this Saturday night.
Kevin Hughes, who recently returned from honeymoon, will join forces with Enda McGinley (also recently married!) in an experienced midfield sector, with Colm Cavanagh and Raymond Mulgrew set to team up with Ryan Mellon in the half-forward line after representing Jordanstown in the McKenna Cup programme.
The UUJ pair contributed significantly to Tyrone's exit from the January competition as the students defeated the Red Hands in Omagh earlier this month, inflicting a first McKenna Cup loss on Mickey Harte's side in almost five years.
Conor Gormley, meanwhile, will make his first start of the year after a very brief showing as a substitute in the McKenna Cup and the Carrickmore man, who captained Ulster to the inter-provincial title towards the end of last year, will be at number three in direct opposition to Kildare veteran Dermot Earley. The 2007 Teamtalk county footballer of the year separates two of the Tyrone newcomers in the full-back line.
The third newcomer, Shaun O'Neill, will have his clubmate Colm McCullagh and Tommy McGuigan for company on his league introduction in the full-forward line.
At the other end of the field, John Devine is poised for his first league outing in nearly two years, his inclusion in the team bringing an end to Pascal McConnell's ten-game sequence as Tyrone's NFL goalkeeper.
Philip Jordan, named alongside Davy Harte and Dermot Carlin in the half-back department, is another player who missed last year's league campaign through injury.
Tyrone's injury problems of the last two seasons certainly haven't vanished as yet, with no fewer than ten members of the 32-man Tyrone panel unavailable for duty against the Lilywhites.
Brian Dooher, Joe McMahon, Justin McMahon, Peter Donnelly, Mickey McGee, Martin Penrose, Sean Cavanagh, Ryan McMenamin and Brian McGuigan have not made it into the squad for Saturday's game, while Ciaran Gourley is unavailable on account of his club Rock's involvement in the All-Ireland junior club final in Croke Park on Sunday 17th February.
The Tyrone bench includes experience in the form of Pascal McConnell, Collie Holmes and Owen Mulligan, with Niall Gormley, Damian McCaul and Dromore defender Cathal McCarron completing the list of fit players.
Quote from: never kickt a ball on January 31, 2008, 12:43:44 AM
John Devine
P J Quinn Conor Gormley Martin Swift
Davy Harte Dermot Carlin Philip Jordan
Kevin Hughes Enda McGinley
Colm Cavanagh Raymond Mulgrew Ryan Mellon
Colm McCullagh Tommy McGuigan Shaun O'Neill
SUBSTITUTES:
Another year kickstarts this Saturday night. A fairly strong spine in Gormley-Carlin-Hughes-Mulgrew. All eyes really will be on the performances of Quinn, Swift and O'Neill. Very much an attacking half back line so it looks like Swift and Quinn will receive enough exposure to gauge how good they are at this level although that also depends on the quality of the Lily corner forwards. I thought O'Neill would've started at FF with McGuigan at 15. Good to see Mulgrew at CHF - a position he could possible revel in long term. He's flanked by the Moy contingent. We know what Mellon can do on form (and what he can't too) but this is the second year for Colm - a chance to nail down a starting position - is 10 is best? With the injuries at the minute he's a stopgap in that position - probably like to see him dunging out around the middle with McGinley and Hughes. Hope the honeymoon was a relaxing time for Hub though in marrying a Hill woman he's in for a rough time of it.
I would imagine Colm Cavanagh will drop deep into the midfield leaving a bit of space in front Of McCullagh to give him the space to take his marker for a run.
Will be interesting to see how Tommy gets on at FF.
I can't believe CArlin is at CHB tho. Given that he's known for his runs into attacking positions will he be able to hold the line there. Thought McCaul would have made the starting team this year as I was kinda inpressed by him.
I would agree Mulgrew is a very able deputy for Brian at No11. Looks a solid enough team. I would imagine Mugsy will get a run out at some stage as well.
Glad to see Shaun finally getting his chance this weekend. Have watched him play with Queen's teams over the past few years and he's a real talent. Hell of a nice lad as well.
Kildare team to face Tyrone has been added to the Kildare website. You were only wrong with the goalkeeper Dinny.
1 Thomas Corley (Moorefield) T Mac Thoirealaigh
2 Emmett Bolton (Eadestown) E Ó Boltún
3 Andrew McLoughlin (Ellistown) A Mac Lochlainn
4 Morgan OFlaherty (Carbury) M Ó Flahartaigh
5 Anthony Rainbow (Suncroft) A Rainbow
6 Kevin ONeill (Moorefield) C Ó Neill
7 Gary White (Sarsfields) G De Faoite
8 Pádraig Mullarkey (Round Towers) P Maolairce
9 Killian Brennan (Suncroft) C Ó Braonáin
10 John Doyle (Allenwood) S Ó Dúghaill
11 Michael Conway (Nurney) M Mac Conmidhe
12 James Kavanagh (Ballymore) S Ó Caomhánach
13 Ronan Sweeney (Moorefield) R Mac Suibhne
14 Demot Earley(Sarsfields) D Ó Mochóir
15 Ken Donnelly (Ellistown) C Ó Donnaile
Throw in time is listed on County Website as 7.30pm but in papers as 7.00pm
Anyone got the right time???????????????
Not sure about McLoughlin at fullback, would prefer to see O'Neill there. That must be the biggest full-forward line Kildare have ever put out, average height of about 6'3 I reckon, looks like it will be high balls coming in with Conway and Doyle feeding off the front three. Actually that's just a big Kildare team period.
Quotelooks like it will be high balls coming in
That's what you get with an Armagh man managing you (us! :-X )
I must get the flag up! ;D
Is the game on TV?
tyrone men take not just because you see Mc Geeney again on the sideline at the end of the game, dosent mean you have just won the AI semifinal.
Any one want to predict a scoreline ??
Any odds from the gamblers out there ?
Jordan will need to show some of his old form, Doyle will take
some watching as always, very tidy footballer and great to watch.
I can see Conor having to put fires out again if Early isn't posing a threat
in the square. It'll be interesting to see if Hub can hit the ground running, other than
that a decent enough team.
Is it on T.V? I'd like to get a look at the new lads in action.
The Kerry / Derry match is on Setanta, nothing on TV3 (Do Setanta not have rights to ALL the NFL games now anyway?)
I would imagine that CG will be called into action all over the show on Saturday. Carlin for all his plus points is not a particularly great defender or man marker for that. With the big 6ft 2"+ FF line Kildare have I would rather have seen McCarron in at FB and CG sweeping as CHB.
Hub hitting the ground running is unlikely. Takes him a while to get up to speed and we have now been waiting over 4 years for him to get there.
Enda and Colm have been playing well, as has Mulgrew so MF should be ok and I'm not as downhearted about our attack as some.
The Tyrone v Kildare game isn't being televised unfortunately.
Quote from: tyroneman on February 01, 2008, 10:41:59 AM
The Kerry / Derry match is on Setanta,
its kerry v donegal on tg4 sat night
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 01, 2008, 12:00:02 PM
The Kerry / Derry match is on Setanta,
its kerry v donegal on tg4 sat night
I thought TG4 no longer had the rights for NFL?
According to the schedules............................
Donegal v Kerry is on Setanta Ireland live, not TG4 - Saturday night
TG4 is live on Sunday with Galway v Laois and deferred coverage of Armagh v Cavan
It's live on Q101.
Some change from this time last year. The all-singing all-dancing opener in Croke versus the Jackeens in front of 80'000 seems a distant memory. For the record, that team was -
P McConnell,
R McMenamin, C McGinley, M McGee,
D Harte, D Carlin, M Penrose,
M Murphy, S Cavanagh,
R Mulgrew, O Mulligan, C Cavanagh,
R Mellon, C Donnelly, E McGinley
Those in bold line out again.
Only Harte and Carlin hold position.
only 8 starting from last time out ??
6. Sorry, from which game?
Penrose at LHB - I'd just about blocked that one out from memory ::)
I think its going to be the pattern for the year, that all oppisition sides will field a big full forward line.
Unfortunately it has been causing significant problems
How tall is swift and PJ Quinn? What about C.McCarron (Back lawn)
Would have thought McCaul would have got a CB slot or even full back
Doesn't he play FB for the Poly?
Unreal the amount of players still out injured this time of year isn't it
Anyone know what shape Mugsy is in?
Noticed even his reliable accuracy was letting him down more and more last year with missing loads of frees and don't mention the Meath game.
At least though he didn't go into hiding in that game despite so many wides.
How will Tommy fair at 14?
I've saw him live? Is he fast?
Anyone know if Setanta Ireland will show the highlights of other matches later in the week
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 01, 2008, 02:13:57 PM
How tall is swift and PJ Quinn? What about C.McCarron (Back lawn)
Would have thought McCaul would have got a CB slot or even full back
Doesn't he play FB for the Poly?
Unreal the amount of players still out injured this time of year isn't it
Anyone know what shape Mugsy is in?
Noticed even his reliable accuracy was letting him down more and more last year with missing loads of frees and don't mention the Meath game.
At least though he didn't go into hiding in that game despite so many wides.
How will Tommy fair at 14?
I've saw him live? Is he fast?
Anyone know if Setanta Ireland will show the highlights of other matches later in the week
PJ Quinn would be approching 6ft, Swift is slightly smaller but would have a better physique, McCarron would be the tallest of the three and possibly the most powerful (PJ could do with a bit more power for county football in my opinion).
Dont think Tommy is best suited to the full forward line in county football and would like to see him out around the half forward line. I have saw him excel in the full forward line for Ardboe but I think he is more effective out the field in county football where there is slightly more space. Tommy is very, very quick and an excellent athlete - there would not be too many on the tyrone panel quicker than him I would think.
QuoteNoticed even his reliable accuracy was letting him down more and more last year with missing loads of frees and don't mention the Meath game.
Mugsy's free taking has been atrocious for the county. He's been dining out on 2 massive frees against Kerry in 2003 and has missed from 15yards in the mckenna this year alone.
Tommy has all the makings of a scoring forward - accurate, can take points from anywhere, is willing to try points from anywhere and is very nippy.
QuoteTommy is very, very quick and an excellent athlete - there would not be too many on the tyrone panel quicker than him I would think.
All the more reason for him in the full forward line. He's an ideal corner forward imo. It's also worth remembering that the best full forwards aren't necessarily good fielders but are good ball winners. A full forward catch technique is usually from a standing start where a midfield has a run-up. The best player for standing start catches are strong and not easy moved from their spot under the dropping ball and they don't necessarily need to be higher in the air to still win the ball. That's why I'd argue that Mugsy's best position is at full forward and not half forward. The way he won the ball in the 2005 All Ireland before feeding it off to Canavan is a good example of a good full forward.
QuoteHub hitting the ground running is unlikely. Takes him a while to get up to speed and we have now been waiting over 4 years for him to get there.
I know, it was wishful thinking on my part but if he doesn't i think he needs to be put out to pasture
and maybe take Donnelly and Holmes with him, just how many chances should some of these lads get :-\
Hughes will most likely never perform to the required level again imo and the other two are fantastic club footballers
but that's about it.
Harsh maybe but a team carrying passengers don't win Championships IMO.
QuoteThe Tyrone v Kildare game isn't being televised unfortunately.
of course not !! you dont seriously think this fixture could supplant Kerry v Donegal do you ?
'of course not !! you dont seriously think this fixture could supplant Kerry v Donegal do you ?'
See Kerry's obsession with Tyrone goes on...
In fairness, the AI Champs should always have top billing for the NFL opener.
Looking forward big time to this run out tomorrow night for our lads, specifically the new lads, though there are one or two of the not so new who've something to prove anew. Doubtless the Geezer will have the Lilywhites fired up like they've rarely been fired up before for a 'mere' League game, he has an eternal score to settle on that particular front, thankfully ;)
Bring it on, Tír Eoghain abú!
The likes of Mulgrew, Justy McMahon, PJ Quinn, Colm Cavanagh and Tommy McGuigan have now had a year or 2 to settle into the squad at senior level. Hopefully during this league some of these guys can step up to the next level and become key players and we no longer rely so much on the 03/05 players. Even the likes of Stevie O'Neill, Phily Jordan and Brian McGuigan took a year or 2 to become established on the team.
Any odds or predictions for Saturday night ? Is there any pre match entertainment ? ;)
MATCH
TYRONE 2/7
KILDARE 7/2
DRAW 8/1
HANDICAP BETTING
TYRONE -4 6/5
KILDARE +4 10/11
TIE 15/2
DOUBLE RESULT
TYR TYR 4/7
TYR DRAW 22/1
TYR KIL 7/1
DRAW TYR 11/1
DRAW DRAW 33/1
DRAW KIL 28/1
KIL TYR 7/2
KIL DRAW 25/1
KIL KIL 13/2
WINNING MARGINS TYRONE KILDARE
1-3 PTS 11/4 11/2
4-6 PTS 5/2 9/1
7-9 PTS 7/2 25/1
10-12 PTS 15/2 66/1
13-15 PTS 12/1 100/1
16PTS + 14/1 150/1
2/7 - are they really that big of favourites ?
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 01, 2008, 05:31:39 PM
QuoteHub hitting the ground running is unlikely. Takes him a while to get up to speed and we have now been waiting over 4 years for him to get there.
I know, it was wishful thinking on my part but if he doesn't i think he needs to be put out to pasture
and maybe take Donnelly and Holmes with him, just how many chances should some of these lads get :-\
Hughes will most likely never perform to the required level again imo and the other two are fantastic club footballers
but that's about it.
Harsh maybe but a team carrying passengers don't win Championships IMO.
"Mickey Harte's daughter Michaela predicted Tyrone's 2003 All-Ireland success as far back as 1997." Passenger.
Time for Mulligan to take the coveted 14 jersey alright.
When you consider that its a fairly decent 15 out tonight, the squad is pretty strong when you look at the team that could be picked from the rest of the players in squad:
P McConnell
R McMenamin
C McCarron
M McGee
D McCaul
C Gourley
Justy McMahon
Joe McMahon
C Holmes
B Dooher
B McGuigan
M Penrose
N Gormley
S Cavanagh
O Mulligan
Are biggest problems still remain - injuries and the loss of a top forward at 14 without O'Neill.
I see the u21 tyrone game in trillick today is off due to snow on the pitch, any snow about Omagh? It gives rain today so you'd imagine the game tonight will stil be on.
"Mc Geeney provides the X Factor on Saturday nights in Kildare"
On a snowy Saturday afternoon in early February a lily white team coach with Mc Geeney standing defiantly at the front will cross the border into Newry and South Armagh and make its way up to the Armagh City hotel for a light lunch. The lads are playing cards in the back, but he cant hear their chat. His minds in a different place, he can see the orange flags flanking the road, supporters straining their necks to see Armaghs newest and flashiest resident... so fcukin long ago yet so vivid a memory. Dermot Early pipes up, "can we stop at the Carrickdale for a piss." Mc Geeney tells him to step back and hold it, theres no way hes pulling in here, some things are better left as they are. Probably half full of Armagh men at this time, talking about Cavan and division 2 football.
Earley curses the new man but trudges back to his seat and lifts his cards again. Mc Geeney stands firm and surveys the scene as they pass the familiar landmark hotel, he recognises a few faces, some who stop and stare before they realise, and turn away before they offend. His jaw tightens defiantly as he recalls the Armagh men running inside the dressing room in 2003 as he studies Canavan, fuelling the passion for another couple of years.
The coach continues onto The Armagh city hotel and again Mc Geeney feels a stranger. He gave this hotel its biggest crowd but now he feels like hes the only Armagh man here. You'd have to be beside him to see that iced tear in his eye and for a moment he feels helpless as he recalls Canavan putting that last free over in 2005.
A tap on the back from Grimley takes him back to his senses as Earley jumps off the still moving bus desperate for some light relief....
Later that evening...
.....So why did he take the job. He stands in front of the camera and talks clichés about a new era for Kildare football. Deep down he knows that if there's an opening in the market for a new superpower in the GAA, its probably in Leinster where an unloved and impotent Dubs set up has achieved all they can, and a next best Meath are final fodder at best. "Collecting the point was important but the performance pleased me the most" Bullshit – Mc Geeney needs crowds and big wins, it drives him on, it makes him great.
It's a long way back to Newbridge, McGeeney tells the bus driver to head South, he only knows the direct route. There's loads of potential shortcuts through Armagh but Mc Geeney never took shortcuts. Theres potential for a Leinster title in Kildare in 2008 and Mc Geeney will deliver it but its going to be a long hard road to success. Mc Geeney knows little else.
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 02, 2008, 10:41:37 AM
I see the u21 tyrone game in trillick today is off due to snow on the pitch, any snow about Omagh? It gives rain today so you'd imagine the game tonight will stil be on.
Can't see any reason why the game will not be on tonight.
Will Kildare have to change their strip? Will we see the umpires? Wactch out for that Lily white bus? Its fcukin cold already. Imagine that icy sperrin breeze whistling around the ears. Thered better be no drawn out entertainment at the match.
Great stuff NKAB, ;D
6 mins no score.
2-1 to Tyrone
Don't know who scored
These Wireless headphones are a great job for Internet Radio
Apparently Colm Cavanagh got a big shoulder to the chest
2nd Yellow for Kildare
Q101 Commentators saying you can see McGeeneys Physical influence already on a usually clean Kildare team
Was a fisticuffs there now
Knees in chests etc so they say
Ryan Mellon booked now & Kildare No 9
Donegal beating Kerry 3-2 on Setanta
Hughes and McCullagh from a free.
If you had a choice to watch the Donegal Kerry game, or listen to the tyrone game, what would you go for?
4-1
McCullagh free
McGinley
5-1 now I think
Missed the scorer
Happy watching Kerry and listening to this at same time
Sounds good performance so far
with 4 or 5 wides as well
McCullagh again it was (from play)
5-2 now - Kildare playing with a strong wind......not good..
5-3 should have been a goal seemingly....
Kildare haven't a clue between been physical and given away frees......19 frees given away so far........Tyrone dominating midfield...
5-3 HT
22 frees in 35 minutes from Kildare and 2 yellow cards :o
Tyrone should be 7/8 points ahead no free taker seemimgly
Mugrew the star so far....
Donegal 0-3 Kerry 0-3 HT
Dinny, is it fair to say McGeeney/Grimley's influence is evident already regarding Kildare's physical approach?
QuoteDonegal 0-3 Kerry 0-3 HT
Sorry lads posted the above on the wrong thread.
QuoteDinny, is it fair to say McGeeney/Grimley's influence is evident already regarding Kildare's physical approach?
Yea that's fair to say, it's obviously a work in progress and from talking to the players they are doing a lot upper body work in training, it's a steep learning curve though but they're in the right division...
Kildare have upped the tempo...
now 5-4
Captaiin Brennan replaced by Flynn....
6-4
Kildare now dominating but not scoring
Mellon gone off, Mulligan in...
Sweeney off, Smith on.....commentators are dumbfounded....
Seemingly it's the worst game being played in Western Europe at the moment :-[
No score for 20 mins.....and countin.
Gormley (Niall) for Cavanagh (Colm)
7-4
Scrappy stuff everywhere this evening it appears. Though Down's tally bucks the trend.
GOALLLLLLLLLLLLL
Sides level. 34 mins.
Towers man Mullarkey buries it......
7pts - 1-4
Tyrone have a free to win it
Kildare had chance to sneak it. Tyrone have same chance now......
Mulligan steps up
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 02, 2008, 08:29:58 PM
Towers man Mullarkey buries it......
7pts - 1-4
Good man, need more of them too. ;)
......Mugsy hits crossbar.
Sounded like a very poor match and a poor display by Tyrone after a promising start.
All over Kildare escape with a point from Omagh
Kildare seemingly committed robbery......viva the Orange Revolution......
69 minutes: Kildare are sensationally on level terms as sub Alan Smith cuts inside from the left wing and puts the ball across goal where Padraig Mullarkey is waiting to palm it to the net (Tyrone 0-7 Kildare 1-4)
65 minutes: Tyrone's second score of the half is finally delivered by Tommy McGuigan who finishes superbly after great work by Damian McCaul and Enda McGinley, the Red Hands moving three points clear with five minutes to go (Tyrone 0-7 Kildare 0-4)
62 minutes: Damian McCaul and Niall Gormley are introduced to the action in place of PJ Quinn and Colm Cavanagh as scores continue to prove hard to come by, both teams now with nine wides apiece
53 minutes: Owen Mulligan makes his entrance to the league in place of Ryan Mellon as the game goes through a barren period in terms of scores
43 minutes: Tyrone's best move of the match results in a classy point from Raymond Mulgrew, who puts the finishing touch to great build-up play by Kevin Hughes, PJ Quinn and Tommy McGuigan, the Cookstown man then dummying his man before scoring with ease from a difficult angle (Tyrone 0-6 Kildare 0-4)
38 minutes: The first score of the second half comes from the Lilywhites as Padraig Mullarkey feeds John Doyle for his third point of the night, leaving just a single point between the sides (Tyrone 0-5 Kildare 0-4)
Half-time: Tyrone 0-5 Kildare 0-3
John Doyle's missed free brings the first half to a close with Tyrone holding a two-point lead, the wides count matching the scoreboard with Tyrone also ahead 5-3 in missed chances. Tyrone dominated for most of the first half but the visitors finished the first half strongly to halve the deficit from four points to two points. The Tyrone defence has generally been on top so far, limiting Kildare to just one score from play, while Tyrone will be disappointed that their promising approach work hasn't brought them more scores.
32 minutes: Kildare's Ronan Sweeney is handed a golden opportunity to tie the match when he fields a long ball from James Kavanagh to leave himself with only John Devine to beat but his shot rises over the bar (Tyrone 0-5 Kildare 0-3)
30 minutes: Conor Gormley blocks a Ronan Sweeney goal attempt and John Doyle lobs over the ensuing forty-five to narrow the gap to three points (Tyrone 0-5 Kildare 0-2)
26 minutes: Tyrone's impressive spell continues as Raymond Mulgrew passes superbly to Colm McCullagh out on the left wing and the Dromore man skillfully hits the point of the night so far to put four points between the teams (0-5 to 0-1)
24 minutes: Tommy McGuigan cleverly curls a forty-five out to the right wing towards Enda McGinley and the Errigal man turns and drills over Tyrone's fourth point of the proceedings (Tyrone 0-4 Kildare 0-1)
20 minutes: Raymond Mulgrew slips the ball inside to Colm McCullagh and the Dromore man is pulled down, leading to a minor skirmish. McCullagh picks himself up to record his second point of the night (Tyrone 0-3 Kildare 0-1)
14 minutes: Following some eye-catching defensive work by P J Quinn and Marty Swift in the opening stages, Kildare finally break their duck as John Doyle converts a free to leave the minimum between the sides (Tyrone 0-2 Kildare 0-1)
12 minutes: Sustained Tyrone pressure yields a free kick courtesy of Dermot Carlin and Colm McCullagh strokes the ball over from 25 metres to give Tyrone a two-point cushion (Tyrone 0-2 Kildare 0-0)
7 minutes: From the resultant '45' Dermy Carlin eventually sets up Kevin Hughes and the Tyrone midfielder opens the scoring with a neat left-footed point (Tyrone 0-1 Kildare 0-0)
6 minutes: After three Tyrone wides, Raymond Mulgrew sets up Enda McGinley for a great goal chance with a magnificent long ball over the Kildare defence but the shot is saved and goes out for a '45'
tyronegaa.ie
Physicality evidently is still the way to go against Tyrone..... :-\
According to the RTE reporter - 12 scores and 13 bookings.
A disappointing result for Tyrone while Kildare will be happy to get a point on the board.
Teams like Kildare - and us in Div 2- need to get points early before the big guns get warmed up - or are Tyrone now former big guns? :P
Total rubbish tonight in Omagh. Kildare should have won the game. Same old problems for Tyrone way to many passengers. Hub Hughes worst man on the pitch. Enda McGinley was more or less in the middle on his own and got up and down the pitch all night long. Defence played ok. Forwards well the least said the better. Its not looking good. Big Sean was in the stand and spent most of the time looking to the heavens.
Had a great accumulator going for the weekend & Tyrone just f*cked it up.
Quote from: Rudi on February 02, 2008, 10:34:15 PM
You mean Kildare ;D.
Was Fergal McCann at the match tonight?
Worst game of football I have seen for many many years, would almost put me off going back to the NFL if that is the sh**e served up. ;) Almost
Both sides chances to win it - Tyrone dominated first half, Kildare took 70% of the second.
The lack of a free taker for Tyrone is extremely worrying, espcecially for right footed kicks. (What did I say before about Mugsy's free taking?) It's something which has failed to be addressed for years now.
Still thought Tyrone would win it up until Nephews ridicuous shot (when 3 men were free waiting for the ball in beter positions) and the subsequent gallop up the field, unimpeded, by the big Kildare lad.
McGeeney certainly has put his own stamp (and I do mean stamp) to this Kildare team. Persistant "in yr face" attitude, fouling, niggling and some blatant thuggery, most of which went unpunished by the ref (awful for both sides - gave everything to Tyrone in 1st and Kildare in 2nd half.). His solution to everything was a hop ball FFS.Still if Kildare fans are happy that's the route to go then fair play to yis, I suppose you win feck all being nice.
Ratings
Devine (6/10): The little he had to to do, he did well.Kcik outs supect but you could put that down to wind and lack of movement in MF.
PJ Quinn (6/10) Solid enough - didn't break forward as much as you would have liked.
Block (8/10) -Excellent as usual, some great blocks and interceptions. Beaten to high ball a few times through and obviously not going to win everything against men 5-6" taller. Needs to be in CHB spot.
Swift (7/10) Did well, out in front of man a good bit, used ball well enough for most part.
Nephew (5/10) REaonsable performance overall. Still to easlily rounded by his man. Ridiculous choice to shoot which led to goal big black mark on performance.
Carlin (7/10) Solid game, good going forward swept up a lot at back but will get badlly caught out carrying ball into trouble at some point.
Jordan (5/10) spent more time worrying about Doyle than adding to the Tytone attack. Suppose that's primarily what he's there for.
Hub (3/10) Last chance saloon big lad. Less said the better.
Enda (8/10) One man show in MF for Tyrone. Worked his b*lls off.
Colm (3/10) An aul fella behind me was waxing on all night about how everyone knows Sean can take the heat and punishment, get up and get on with it while Colm won't last the game with the same attention. How right he was.Spent more time on his ar*e or with his hands in the air moaning at the ref that doing anything useful. For such hype I have yet to see anything more than an average game out of him (best being Dublin lights last year). Aul fell a also reckoned it would take a serious bad game for him ever to be subbed.He was right - it did - he was.
Mulgrew (7/10) Flashes of brilliance mixed with some poor hand passing. Needed more from the FF line to give him someone to hit. Spent too much time in the Half Back Line.
Mellon (4/10) Sorry - what has happened here? Not one good game since 2005 final. Living on past glory. Time to be dropped.
McCullogh (6/10) Best of forwards on view. Free taking poor by his standards. Always showed for ball at least.
Tommy (5/10) Forgettable.
Snowy (4/10) The big step up looks a step too far on that showing. Needs more time. Will hopefully improve. Has to learn to hold onto the ball.
PJ / Niall (4/10) Not on long enough to rate.
Mugsy (3/10) Did nothing apart from miss the free at the end. Is he seriously the best we have?
Could be a very difficult NFL this year and just the wrong time to meet a resurgant Down in the Championship. Just can't see where scores will come from.
Terrible performance from Tyrone up against what appeared to be a very limited Kildare team. This and Laois are probably the 2 easiest games in the league and to only get a draw is a bit of a disaster. The only positive from the game was thats its only February and a long time to the start of the championship. None of the young boys really look like stepping up to take over from the more experienced players on the team at this stage. Would disagree that Hub was the worst player on the pitch. Thought midfield did well in the first half and he got a lot of ball. It was his first game of the season which probably showed in the 2nd half. Very difficult conditions in Omagh tonight - I dont think Tyrone ever play that well there and it lacks atmosphere. The county board have pumped a lot of money into it so cant see any games being played elsewhere. For all the money spent on the place its a pity they couldnt fix what always appears a heavy ptich.
On a different note I think the county board and the gaa in general quickly need to rethink there obsession with Saturday night matches. The novelty factor brought out the supporters last year but last night the attendance of 3600 was one of the worst at a league game for Tyrone in many years. The gaa has always tried to attract families to the games and fixing games at night time seems to do the exact opposite to this. People in parts of Tyrone wouldnt have been home until after ten last night never mind any away supporters who would have hoped to travel. Also people wont be as keen to start making journeys in the dark. The attendance in Donegal also appeared to be very low for such a fixture with Kerry. One or 2 games under lights in the league would be more than enough for any county. I know the Tyrone couty board wont want to back track but the Donegal game should definately be moved to a Sunday afternoon. Donegal isnt that far away and Im sure there'd be a decent away support prepared to travel if the game was on a Sunday afternoon who would be put of by the late finish on a Saturday night.
Quote from: Rudi on February 02, 2008, 10:34:15 PM
I hear you Rudi >:(
Tyroneman - dont think last night was a night for Jordan to be bursting up the field like he normally does. Doyle is one of the top forwards about and Kildares danger man. Thought Jordan did a decent enough job on him.
The only positive last night was a good defensive display - Kildare were restricted to 5 scores -
thought last night was very poor, think most of yous are being very harsh on hub, was actually impressed by his performance. him and mcginley battled well. quinn and swift were two best players at match for me. up front mccullough showed well in first while mcguigan played well second half after quiet first half, mulgrew also showed well. cant complain about free taker cos i dont think there was a scorable free chance for tyrone until last kick, mccullough took his chances first half. crowd was shocking, poor turnout and those who were there only got on the players backs, few behind me from moy were complaing whole game. need big step up for kerry lads. tyrone supporters too quick to critiscise own players
If the departure of Stephen O'Neill leaves Mugsy as our no 1 free taker then I think it's time we recalled Mark Harte. Yes he has the stature of a minor but so has Mulgrew and Mark will hit 9 out of 10 frees over from anywhere inside the 45. Had Mark Harte been playing against Meath last year we would have won that game.
Mugsy has about a 50% strike rate from dead balls and that includes ones from 20 yards! Desperate times need alternative thinking to be applied and Sparkey is the man to dig us out of the hole we are in.
Quote from: Shadylimp on February 03, 2008, 12:34:58 PM
few behind me from moy were complaing whole game.
never!
I wouldn't be as sore on Hub either, there were greater problems on the park. Leaking badly in defence in the 2nd half, particularly down da Nephew's side, he was too far off the pace far too often,too far off his man too often, and he should have been substituted before Quinn, whose uneviable position it was to attempt to thwart the attacks that were getting through the half-back line.
And I wouldn't agree that no scorable frees were missed, quite the reverse, and we're suffering in that area.
It looks we need a whole lot more than a freetaker ! That would be papering over the cracks - it looks like this season will be one where we might do well to hold our own.
Quote from: Over the Bar on February 03, 2008, 04:37:00 PM
Desperate times need alternative thinking to be applied
Hardly desperate times yet though. First round of the National League isnt the time to judge a team and whilst it was clearly a poor performace Tyrone looked likely winners right to the end and the concession of the goal. Plenty to work on but there shouldnt be any panic at this stage.
As for frees isnt Justy McMahon an excellent free taker?? He would need to force his way into the starting 15 but could be an option. I think we're past the stage of recalling Mark Harte just because of his free taking abilities, need to look to new options.
QuoteAs for frees isnt Justy McMahon an excellent free taker?? He would need to force his way into the starting 15 but could be an option. I think we're past the stage of recalling Mark Harte just because of his free taking abilities, need to look to new options.
The loss of Canavan was expected but to lose O'Neill at his prime, means we've lost 2 of the best forwards in Ireland in 3 years and I'd have to disagree with you, this makes for desperate times with no 7+ points a game players on the horizon. Haven't seen enough of JMcM to comment however we do need a player who easily converts frees from inside the 45 and Mark Harte is the only player I know who does that and the pressure doesn't seem to affect him the way it gets to Mugsy.
I'm not suggesting that Mark Harte's inclusion will turn things around overnight, but we are now no longer a team that scores 1-16 a game. Therfore I think there's room for a debate as to whether a man who will contribute 5 or 6 points each game from the dead ball is worth recalling.
I'm not so sure LDA. Performances since 2005 have been inconsistent, the games v Donegal in the USFC last year and Dublin in the NFL the paltry stand out. It almost is desperate times in terms of getting back to the top table.
Gormley, Cavanagh, Mulgrew and Jordan are indispensable. Beyond that things are looking decidedly average. Don't want to Mickey-bash again but I wonder if he honestly believes he has a side capable of winning major honours. He's a smart man so I assume he does. Simply cannot see it myself, unless he has something up his sleeve in terms of a change to his traditional system. Brolly used to extol the virtue of the Tyrone system, claiming we were the best at what we do, workrate in defence, breaking with speed and numbers and clinical in attack. I just feel that all three are weakening as the older personnel are showing wear and tear and the new boys are not at the level required to play that type of game.
I couldn't have put it any better myself O'Neill - my sentiments excatly - the team has started to break up for a variety of reasons - we need a lift and I just can't accept SON sitting in the house not playing for Tyrone at 27 years of age. I know we all hark back to the good times, but SON was a big part of those and I can't see us doing anything this year without him.
You are some man going on about McGeeney's influence Tyroneman. Obviously taking a leaf from the host's book.
There are plenty of players in the county who are good free takers but who aren't just good enough to start...from my own club Des Tracey never misses a free and is a very good forward but hasn't got a chance for tyrone
Unfortunately I did not make it to the game last night due to prior engagement.
I see that some people are saying that things are bleak in Tyrone at the moment, I myself think that is a bit over the top. Sure we aren't as healthy as we have been in previous years, but I still have high hopes for the future.
I don't see any trophies in Tyrone this year if I am being realistic, but I think Mickey is playing the long game. For too long he has been criticed for relying on the old guard of Tyrone football, the minors of 1998. Now he is looking to the future and wanting to rebuild the team, but that takes time. He is bringing in new players and working with them.
So no Ulster or Sam this year, but I definately think the future is still bright for Tyrone.
Last night was a shocker. A tenner in to watch that muck. The creamy pints of black in St. Endas afterwards the undoubted highlight of the evening. I really felt quite disillusioned during the match and indeed during the post match analysis. Some of the hand passing was frightening. Big high loopers, perfect for the lillywhite man to come in and nail the player receiving. Happened 2 or 3 times. Some of the distribution out of defense as well was awful. Swift and PJ were out first alot but booted the ball to a posse of Kildare men. As for Davy H, the head went straight into his hands after the net bulged, possibly his worst performance in the last 2 years. Another year, but still the same questions being asked. Who will hit frees, who'll be in midfield/full back and where will the scores come from? 6 weeks to the next game at Healy and there's a fair chance we'll still be sitting on 1 point. Galway and Laois looked decent today. I'll be expecting major improvement.
Quote from: ONeill on February 03, 2008, 07:51:36 PM
I'm not so sure LDA. Performances since 2005 have been inconsistent, the games v Donegal in the USFC last year and Dublin in the NFL the paltry stand out. It almost is desperate times in terms of getting back to the top table.
Gormley, Cavanagh, Mulgrew and Jordan are indispensable. Beyond that things are looking decidedly average. Don't want to Mickey-bash again but I wonder if he honestly believes he has a side capable of winning major honours. He's a smart man so I assume he does. Simply cannot see it myself, unless he has something up his sleeve in terms of a change to his traditional system. Brolly used to extol the virtue of the Tyrone system, claiming we were the best at what we do, workrate in defence, breaking with speed and numbers and clinical in attack. I just feel that all three are weakening as the older personnel are showing wear and tear and the new boys are not at the level required to play that type of game.
Im not suggesting all is rosy ONeill - there is clearly a lot of work to be done - but I certainly dont think its "desperate times" after a mediocre runout in the opening round of the league. What Id like to see addressed in the next few weeks is FB (leave Gormley at no.6 where he is at his best unless we really have no other option for FB) and finding a forward or two who can be relied on for a few scores (sorting out the aforementioned free taking issue is also important).
Id like to see something like this when (if ???) we have everybody available, this team could do some damage IMO. Devine, McMenamin, McCarron, McCaul, Carlin/Harte, C.Gormley, Jordan, McGinley, S.Cavanagh, Dooher, B.McGuigan, Mulgrew, N.Gormley, C.Cavanagh/T.McGuigan, Mulligan.
Way too early for the post mortem lads, we don't have a corpse yet, much less rigor mortis having set in. Suffice it to say at this point that improvements must be made, and in the management we'll place our unbounded faith ;)
FoSB, the post mortem has confirmed that the decline began here (http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0205/dublin.html).
In 2003 we knew we had a side capable of taking the title.
In 2005 we knew we had a side capable of taking the title.
In 2008, we have a forward unit that will put the fear into few inter-county sides.
May I ask why you pinpointed that match ONeill, a league match with very little significance I would of thought? I know it was a violent game but did that impact on the side?
Tyrone had an almost full strength team out that day, the first post PC game.
P McConnell,
R McMenamin, C Gormley, M McGee,
D Harte, C Gourley, D Carlin,
B Meenan, C Holmes,
R Mulgrew, G Cavlan, S Cavanagh,
R Mellon, S O'Neill, O Mulligan.
Dublin set the marker for how to deal with this Tyrone side - later that year we exited the Championship and relinguished Sam with a similar display from Laois - low-scoring and mighty physical (as was the Derry Championship game).
fair points.
Kildare traditionally play great stuff in February, and disappear totally as the days get longer. So it is hard to draw a conclusion from a game like this.
I think you may be overstating the importance of that match ONeill, just as everything about that match was overstated in the aftermath! The three Armagh matches the previous year were just about as physical and as intense as it is possible to get in the modern game. Tyrone's first league match in '04 was also against Dublin, in Parnell Park, it actually wasn't an awful lot different to the game you mention, Dublin also ran out winners by a point! I have my own views and do think that this Tyrone team's best days are behind them, but will hold the obituary for a few years yet! This time last year the whole of Tyrone were starting to ponder the scramble for All-Ireland tickets on the back of a victory over an unfit Dublin in the first round of the league! Although I believe their best is behind them, their best might not be needed to achieve something.
I disagree - the 04 game was in Tyrone's hands until O'Neill got the line. It was evenly matched and Dublin, who won by one point, by no means outmuscled or outfought Tyrone.
Tyrone haven't won a championship match outside of Ulster since 2005.
QuoteYou are some man going on about McGeeney's influence Tyroneman
You telling me Kildare were always that cynical and dirty then????????
My view is Tyrone management aren't going to sicken the players with too much football at this time of the year and I'm' sure they are doing a lot of experimenting. Who wants the Mc Kenna cup really its all about Sam. It will give them ample time to gradually up the anti as the year progresses. Good to keep players fresh if possable before launching the big assult. If Tyrone can get it right they won't be too far a way at the end of the year. The talent is there. I'm actually glad to see them start sluggish you learn more about your weaknesses as well also if teams think your gone of the boil they wont be prepared as well for the wrath to come. ;)
Its easy for boys like o'neill to be experts when they dont actually go to the games. Tyrone may have only scored 7 points the other night but for all o'neill knows the pitch could have been like a swimming pool with a 100mph wind blowing across the pitch.
I said it before and Ill say it again. Tyrone havent got the stuff this year. We are all conductors and no orchestra. No forwards = No scores. Mulligan is our biggest hope this year, and he seems to have lost a lot of weight and was very unlucky with that last free. Hub had a good first 15 and was anonymous after., has maybe had one good game from 2003. Mellon and Cavanagh,? Mulgrew was awful. Our corner men will not count any further down the line as well. I would respectfully ask our footballers not to wave to linemen during the game with the hands in the air. its embarassing your supporters. I didnt think the loss of the 2 best forwards in Tyrone would be felt so early. Its going to be a short year for Tyrone and looking ahead to next year. Wheres the forwards, Mc Ginn gone. The most important man in Tyrone football in Stevie O Neill, nothing else matters.
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 04, 2008, 08:45:31 AM
Its easy for boys like o'neill to be experts when they dont actually go to the games. Tyrone may have only scored 7 points the other night but for all o'neill knows the pitch could have been like a swimming pool with a 100mph wind blowing across the pitch.
Do you understand what a discussion board is?
No one here is an expert but everyone can have an opinion. My history teacher definitely didn't fight in the second world war but he was a damn good teacher on that subject.
Wrong there were a few mistakes - VD day as opposed to VE day.
Fair point, and I haven't heard of homo sapien sapiens since.
I agree woth FOSB - it is far too early for a post mortem on the entire season - but if I were MH I'd b sending a delegation to SON to get him out again - without Canavan, Mc Guigan, Cavlan and SON we have lost too many players who can't be replaced - certainly those who tried failed on Saturday night - no disrespect but the new boys simply aren't in the same league as the aforementioned players.
Orangeman we fundamentally disagree on a lot of things howver I agree with you on this one. Tyrone supporters need to picket SON house until he comes out to Tyrone training again. ;)
As for Tyrone. I fear that we could have fallen back 20 years pre Cush and Canavan era with our forward line at the moment.
Jesus RRHF I didn't realise we disagreed on so many things ????? I though we had a good relationship ! :-[ :-[ :-[ >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
I see Mickey's still pinning his hopes on the old guard. From today's IN:
"I would be happy now if the likes of Sean Cavanagh, Brian Dooher, Brian McGuigan, Joe McMahon, Mickey McGee and Ryan McMenamin were back on board. If we had them and we got the same effort that went in tonight, then we would still be a force.''
If we had all of those back he has a point.
McConnell
McMenamin
McMahon
McGee
Harte
Gormley
Jordan
Cavanagh
Hughes
Dooher
McGuigan
Mulgrew
McCullagh
?
Mulligan
If that team lines out and stays fit I'd say we'll find out whether the hunger is still there.
There'd be a mad hunger in McGuigan and that would spur the rest of the team on.
But are there not a lot of IFS in this scenario ? :(
Quote from: orangeman on February 04, 2008, 12:08:49 PM
But are there not a lot of IFS in this scenario ? :(
Yes, even with the minimum 6-game championship run, you'll get 2-3 key players injured.
However, In Mickey We Trust. Say it three times before meals and as a family at night.
Along with SON who is also a scoretaker !
You need to get over your SON obsession orangeman.... ;)
Maybe yer man in Datsun Donaghy's correct. Big Chewtobacco (http://laspoliticas.files.wordpress.com/2007/04/chewbacca.jpg) would be the man for the job at FF.
Mulgrew is a very good player who knows where the posts are - did he get a trial with the seniors ?
Sorry about going on about SON Ziggy, but outside of him, I don't know where else we go. ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2008, 11:50:53 AM
McConnell
McMenamin
McMahon
McGee
Harte
Gormley
Jordan
Cavanagh
Hughes
Dooher
McGuigan
Mulgrew
McCullagh
?
Mulligan
If that team lines out and stays fit I'd say we'll find out whether the hunger is still there.
i think that teams a bit harsh on big Enda, who i think has been our best performer this year, surely he deserves to figure somewhere in the 1st 15?!!!
The difficulty we face has been evident for the best part of 4 years now, ever since 2003.
We need a MF partner for Sean. We scrapped around it to win in 2005 but to progress now we need a big 6ft 2 player to actually compete in the fielding stakes. Too often you see Devine looking here, there and everywhere for someone to kick out to in an attempt to avoid the big lads up the middle.
Up front SON was much more than just a point scorer. He took the heat off all the other forwards, just like Canavan did. With SON or PtG playing Mugsy was free to slip responsibility off his shoulders and just go out and play - when was the last time Mugsy delivered in a game without SON or PtG playing alongside him?
We also need a FB - the NFL will not be won this year - I wouldn't even care if we go down as along provided we solve the FB,MF and Forward problems for the Championship. To my mind McCarron needs to play the next 4 games in a row at FB and see how he fares - we all know what Block can do.
Is it not high time we looked at Damian Mc Caul at no 3. He has the height over Mc Carron. An exceptional talent, Good do a job at 3 or at 6. Fastest on the field and a great man marker.
any word on recovery time for sean cavanagh? just after watchin sam 05, real stirring stuff, goin to take an unbelievable effort to scale those heights anytime in near future, some of the football played that year was sensational, my own personal favourite score, brian mc guigans 1st point in AI final, dummies 2 kerry defenders hits it of the right foot from under the cusack splits the posts, hard to beat!!!
Damian McCaul has not got the height over McCarron for god sake and would Shane Mulgrew not be better to be tested at U21 level first. It is very rare that someone of his height makes it at county level, I am not saying it is impossible but more unlikely.
A wee man with good feet is better than a big man with bad feet ! ;) ;)
Jay $u$ lads ye've really gone to town with this defeat I mean Draw on Sat night.
I wasnt at it so can only comment on what I heard on Q101 and in the papers etc but I think ye've all gone away OTT here.
Yeah I think we're not as good as were were in 2003 or 2005 but we won Ulster last year without Stevie and McGuigan and Mugsy the same aul hot and cold story.
Amazingly we still have a HUGE injury list and as we know wet heavy pitches in Feb never suits young new players so don't hit the panic button yet.
I agree we should try McCaul at FB and Block at CB.
What about Holmes/McGinley/Hub at MF with big Sean and maybe Colm Cavanagh or Hub at FF and switch to much faster long balls and stop being predictable now with this running possession game where teams just SWARM us and fould persistantly. With much faster ball into the FF line it will cut out all this congestion around the middle where we overplay and often lose possession.
With McCaul, Block, Sean, McGinley, McGuigan and Cavanagh Jnr all up the middle I think we could be quite strong and change our style of play.
My 1st choice team would be
McConnell...Makes the odd mad decision but has more presence I think
Ricey.........Was a bit suspect last season but still out psyches most Corner forwards
McCaul.......Plays here for UUJ and is tall and fast
Gourley......Good man marker if stays fit and played here 2003 final
Carlin.........Is getting better and more he plays the more he'll learn when to defend and when to attack and lay it off
Block.........is Block
Jordan.......Typical modern day attacking wing back
Sean......... Drives the team forward and can be unstoppable
McGinley.....Think he can be the best support for Sean and works so hard all the time.
Dooher...... Workhorse if he can stay fit
B.McGuigan. God II if he can regain sight and fitness OK please God
Mulgrew...... Great passer and score taker and might get more room out on wing
Colm Cavanagh.Tall younger brother who has been getting a rough time since his debut last year. Still plenty to learn though
Hub.............Seems to have fallen back a lot but can still be a good robust target man and played here most of his U-21 days. Can't miss from the 21 yard line or can he?
Mugsy.........With 2 other BIG men beside him he might not get so much special attention and can come wandering out if being held tight
Maybe Holmes again at Full back but maybe getting a bit slow now
McCullagh and Niall Gormely looked promising last year to get the odd run out
Can Mulgrew not take some frees?
BTW, all this talk of folk watching 2003 and 2005 Dvds is making me miss such games.
Anyone got any 2003 and 2005 or any other games or highlights of BIG games on DVD they could send me?
PM me if you have.
Too many ifs and maybes there for my liking Fuzzman !
Maybe Orangeman but sure with recent trends come June nobody might be fit.
Just saying we have still the nucleus of a strong team there even if we no longer have a star forward to score us 5+ points a match unless big Sean moves back to FF
Hub at FF.. :o :o :o, you must be joking Fuzz
Whats the story with pictures of naked young lads there HS :-*
No doubt that there is the nucleus but it takes an awful lot to compete in August.
If rrhf fan was the manager Cush would be out of retirement to play at chf, shane mulgrew and mcginn would be in the corner forward positions, kelvin hughes would be in midfield, McCaul would be at full back and Im sure a few others from Donaghmore would be on to.
O'Neill I know its a discussion board and people are entitled to opinions but I just feel that the opinions of people who dont attend the games are devalued as they are relying a lot on second hand information at this time of year when games (except the Donegal one) arent on tv. You cant really judge what the problems are or whether the manager is at fault unless you actually see the games for yourself. I cant understand how anyone can question the future of Harte without seeing the team play this year. Last year Tyrone won the ulster with a severly depleted squad so surely you couldnt be questioning Hartes future based on this?
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 04, 2008, 05:51:51 PM
O'Neill I know its a discussion board and people are entitled to opinions but I just feel that the opinions of people who dont attend the games are devalued as they are relying a lot on second hand information at this time of year when games (except the Donegal one) arent on tv. You cant really judge what the problems are or whether the manager is at fault unless you actually see the games for yourself. I cant understand how anyone can question the future of Harte without seeing the team play this year. Last year Tyrone won the ulster with a severly depleted squad so surely you couldnt be questioning Hartes future based on this?
I've seen Tyrone play twice this year out of their four games.
I haven't given any critique whatsoever on the Kildare match so I don't know where you're getting that from. Are you reading something I'm not? I'm basing my opinion on watching this Tyrone side and management from their early days down in Wexford and Leitrim to their development right up until now.
A little tip - just because someone doesn't share the same sentiments as yourself doesn't mean they should be discounted. You may believe 'Sam will be parading around Omagh in September' as you stated (without stating how you envisage that apart from blind faith) I disagree completely and openly display my views logically on why I believe that. I could also spout nonsense that I cannot take you seriously as you included McNally, Swift etc as players you hadn't seen before/how 'good' they were but that would be rude, wrong and insulting. Just a tip.
BURN
(http://www.adorocinema.com/personalidades/atores/ashton-kutcher/ashton-kutcher02.jpg)
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 04, 2008, 05:23:04 PM
Jay $u$ lads ye've really gone to town with this defeat I mean Draw on Sat night.
I wasnt at it so can only comment on what I heard on Q101 and in the papers etc
Then you've no business in this thread. Shove off.
Quote from: hardstation on February 04, 2008, 07:42:30 PM
What is that about?
Anyway, ziggy. You were not at the game and therefore should not be posting in this thread..................apparently.
It's from the 70's Show. Pop culture hardstation.
Didn't actually analysis the game, for as stated, didn't go to the game. I'm just stating that I don't think Tyrone is at the end of the road, just no wins this year.
Quote from: ONeill on February 03, 2008, 11:32:32 PM
FoSB, the post mortem has confirmed that the decline began here (http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0205/dublin.html).
In 2003 we knew we had a side capable of taking the title.
In 2005 we knew we had a side capable of taking the title.
In 2008, we have a forward unit that will put the fear into few inter-county sides.
Still don't think this is the time for such fatalistic analyses Shane: first game of the League is the time to judge nothing bar the game itself, defeatist prognoses for the coming season are not constructive, with respect. NFL semi-final 2005, dirty old day (not too unlike Healy Park on Saturday night), and a bad, bad loss to Wexford (no offence to the Model County): did you hold firm in your belief at that time that we were destined for great things in '05,
that close to the beginning of the Championship?
I'll accept that if we achieve anything of significance this season it will appear to have been more divine inspiration at this juncture than cold, dispassionate, rational analysis, but I'll hold my definitve until there's a bounce in the ball, a spring in the sod, and a grip on the leather, with perhaps a sun vaguely visible higher in the sky above.
I stand by my general point O'Neill about people's opinions on the current status of the Tyrone team being devalued if the person in question hasnt attended games - Hughes in the Tyrone Times being a prime example. You quoted me saying about Tyrone parading sam through Omagh but that wasnt meant to be to serious. You also pointed out that I said about not having seen much of Swift or McNally but I wouldnt have made an opinion on either player without having watched them play a few times for Tyrone unlike a few posters regarding Tyrones prospects this season. Im sure Ive seen McNally playing numerous times for Carrickmore without realising who he was.
Getting back to the earlier talk of some posters about it being time for Harte to move on - I think its far to early in the season for for that kind of talk. Look at the teams put out in the McKenna Cup - you can judge nothing on Tyrones prospects based on this. Saturdays perfomance was more worrying but the conditions were awful and there was still 5 top players missing. 2006 was a bad year but I still think an ulster title last year was a decent achievement considering the well documented injury problems. I do agree Tyrone have a number of potentially serious problems that need sorting. Id definatley would like to see Sean Cavanagh tried at 14 for a few league games when fit to see if he can be converted into a top class full forward. Hughes and McGinley showed signs that they may be able to play midfield together which would allow Cavanagh to be tried further up. Im not sure if we have any other player with the potential to be a really good 14 at the minute and Im not even convinced if it would really be the best position for Cavanagh.
Have to disagree there - Sean is far and away at his most effective running onto the ball from breaks in MF / KOs then running at defenders. He creates loads of space for others and weighs in with at least 2-3 scores per game.
IMHO he would be wasted at FF
I wouldnt disagree with you Tyroneman. Midfield has always been his best position and were Tyrone get most out of him. Although at the minute are options are extremely limited at 14 and I feel it is a very important position. On Saturday if the ball was kicked in long we didnt compete and to often we were forced to kick to the corners. Just think he might be worth a try at 14 - he seems to have the attributes to be a very good full forward although doesnt seem to have really produced there when tried in the past - although he did score 1-2 from play (1-1 of Francie Bellew) on his debut for Tyrone at corner forward in the ulster championship.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 04, 2008, 09:53:57 PM
Still don't think this is the time for such fatalistic analyses Shane: first game of the League is the time to judge nothing bar the game itself, defeatist prognoses for the coming season are not constructive, with respect. NFL semi-final 2005, dirty old day (not too unlike Healy Park on Saturday night), and a bad, bad loss to Wexford (no offence to the Model County): did you hold firm in your belief at that time that we were destined for great things in '05, that close to the beginning of the Championship?
I'll accept that if we achieve anything of significance this season it will appear to have been more divine inspiration at this juncture than cold, dispassionate, rational analysis, but I'll hold my definitve until there's a bounce in the ball, a spring in the sod, and a grip on the leather, with perhaps a sun vaguely visible higher in the sky above.
That's missing the point again - this has not to do with the Kildare game alone. This is a culmination of a variety of factors which have emerged over the last 12 months or so. I've been a massive Harte fan as anyone who reads this board will know. I'll not rhyme off why he was our greatest manager. Things change though. Staleness can set in gradually. Other factors (with new board rules mean can't go there) raise their head. As for the Wexford game - Tyrone had a mountain of players to return including Canavan, McGuigan, Dooher and O'Neill and we knew that. I was perhaps a little doubtful immediately after the Cavan drawn game.
You have every right to hold you
definitive until summer - I'll state mine now without any hesitation.
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 04, 2008, 10:22:46 PM
I stand by my general point O'Neill about people's opinions on the current status of the Tyrone team being devalued if the person in question hasnt attended games - Hughes in the Tyrone Times being a prime example. You quoted me saying about Tyrone parading sam through Omagh but that wasnt meant to be to serious. You also pointed out that I said about not having seen much of Swift or McNally but I wouldnt have made an opinion on either player without having watched them play a few times for Tyrone unlike a few posters regarding Tyrones prospects this season. Im sure Ive seen McNally playing numerous times for Carrickmore without realising who he was.
Getting back to the earlier talk of some posters about it being time for Harte to move on - I think its far to early in the season for for that kind of talk. Look at the teams put out in the McKenna Cup - you can judge nothing on Tyrones prospects based on this.
Again, I disagree. I'm sure you'll agree that a sizeable amount of fans who may attend every game of every season are completely unable to rationally analyse a game with any sense of cool detachment. There are those who attend games sporadically but see enough to know when a slippery slope is ahead. I know at least two (aged) Tyronnies who have not attended as many games in the last season but whose opinions are worth a thousand times more to me than a fanatical attendee and have a remarkable ability of being spot-on. But, to you they're devalued.
As for Mickey...time will tell. As said before, he's a smart man. Maybe no one could get more out of them.
Just curious but........given we have talked about Hub, Colm, Sean etc all at 14........could Enda not do a job there?
Hi,
Just out of curiostiy who was the captain on Saturday night?
Caragh
Quote from: tyroneman on February 04, 2008, 11:40:02 PM
Just curious but........given we have talked about Hub, Colm, Sean etc all at 14........could Enda not do a job there?
Depends on what kind of job. McGinley wouldn't be a noted scorer at this level and if anything lacks that killer touch.
Enda could certainly win his fair share of ball and lay it off to McCullogh / O'Neill / whoever.
(http://www.tyronegaa.ie/image?tn=Block&key=blockID&colname=blkContents&keyval=1178)
That guy on the left looks like Conor Gormley.
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 04, 2008, 12:41:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2008, 11:50:53 AM
McConnell
McMenamin
McMahon
McGee
Harte
Gormley
Jordan
Cavanagh
Hughes
Dooher
McGuigan
Mulgrew
McCullagh
?
Mulligan
i think that teams a bit harsh on big Enda, who i think has been our best performer this year, surely he deserves to figure somewhere in the 1st 15?!!!
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2008, 12:08:30 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 04, 2008, 11:40:02 PM
Depends on what kind of job. McGinley wouldn't be a noted scorer at this level and if anything lacks that killer touch.
Relatively reluctant to post on this thread as I unfortunately havnt made a Tyrone game since last years Ulster Final (commuting issues).
Having seen most of the players on the team above playing, I still feel that even at full flight, that team will not compete for the highest honours. As someone else posted, it is too many conductors, no orchestra. IMHO, the entire tyrone panel which was named for the NFL contains few, if any, clinical finishing forwards who when named on a team sheet will strike fear into the defence of opponents in 2008. This is completely understandable as few teams can lose players of the calibre of PTG and SON, have players like Brian McGuigan coming back from an anhiliation of an injury and expect to be competing for top class honours on top of existing defensive problems. In 2003 and 2005, we had experience, hunger, and guile, all meshed in with an immense arsenal of talent and scoring options - and we needed every bit of it to win that first all ireland! Mugsy was feeding of the master, and SON was clinical. Ger Calvans golf swing was in step and Dooher and Enda were flying. To top it all off, Brian was picking holes in every team that came to play.
This year so far it appears that the burden of carrying a team to success will be unevenly spread among some remaining soilders of the Class of '98, '03 and '05. I think (although I would dearly love to be proven wrong in september) that this year is a bridge to far for Mugsy and Brian McGuigan to lead the way. Conor Gormley, he needs to play FB and CHB and CB all at the same time! The same level of class is not there, and IMHO there has been a hunger problem for the past 12+ months. Can the tumultuous departure of SON and the subsequent speculation be that far off the mark? This will be an interesting season, one I cant wait for, however if Mickey Harte can win an all ireland with this squad, he has no managerial peers. If you care Mickey, Im right behind you - but its all up hill from here.
With that team, there'll be days when most of the forward unit as well as Cavanagh, Harte and Jordan will weigh in with 0-3/0-2/0-1 each. Last year against Donegal was a prime example of that - scores in chronological order: Dooher, Mulligan(free), Dooher, Mulligan(free), Mulligan, Harte, McCullagh goal, Dooher, Hughes, Dooher, McCullagh(free), Dooher, Mulgrew goal, Cavanagh, O'Neill, O'Neill, Mulgrew.
It's the days when defences are watertight that I'd be worried about - have we anyone in the county who can do an O'Neill (or something near it) against Armagh? Do we have anyone who can approach a 35/40/45 free with confidence?
I suppose your last sentiment is correct. Mickey's in charge for the year - we should be right behind him.
I dont see one anti management comment on this thread, so I question that comprehension by some of our posters. Of course everybodys is behind the team and mgt. However it is logical to describe Saturdays perfomance as terrible, the thought of holding out until some of our chronically injured players may or may not manage to come back is an act of faith. Im not sure I share that faith. To act now is to at least take control of matters. I cant see Tyrone winning their next 2 games and where this the case I fear that relegation could be inevitable, whether anybody can do anything about it is another matter. I hope to God Im proved wrong and laughed off the board.
Was that tongue in cheek or do you think he's the dog's boll*x.
Cavlan is no friend of winter football as he likes a nice dry ball and hard pitch, just like a lot of our better footballers.
Who is that picture off with all the Kildare men around him? Is it Mellon?
I think the comments of never kickt a ball shows that you don't need to actually be at loads of matches to have a sensible intelligent view on the current state of play
Of course it helps as you see things with your own eyes that U miss on TV or from the papers etc.
Totally of the topic but do you remember Mugsy's fisted point backwards over his head in 2003 I think against Kerry or was it Armagh
Can anyone else remember a similar style point in Croker in a high profile game.
I think it was against Kerry at the start of the second half in the 2005 final.
Haven't seen it before or since.
Colum Cav was blown up for doing the same type of hand pass on Saturday night.
Quote from: caraghtyrone on February 04, 2008, 11:45:18 PM
Hi,
Caragh
Philip Jordan
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2008, 09:28:13 AM
With that team, there'll be days when most of the forward unit as well as Cavanagh, Harte and Jordan will weigh in with 0-3/0-2/0-1 each. Last year against Donegal was a prime example of that - scores in chronological order: Dooher, Mulligan(free), Dooher, Mulligan(free), Mulligan, Harte, McCullagh goal, Dooher, Hughes, Dooher, McCullagh(free), Dooher, Mulgrew goal, Cavanagh, O'Neill, O'Neill, Mulgrew.
It's the days when defences are watertight that I'd be worried about - have we anyone in the county who can do an O'Neill (or something near it) against Armagh? Do we have anyone who can approach a 35/40/45 free with confidence?
I suppose your last sentiment is correct. Mickey's in charge for the year - we should be right behind him.
Thats a fair enough example, but we need to have all our ducks in a row for that kind of success against the big guns. Donegal arent the most defensively sound team - and would you bet on McCullagh and Mulgrew getting that kind of room against Kerry or a hungry Dublin? Of course Im not saying it cant happen, but again - ducks in a row, Dooher fully fit and Mugsy brimming with confidence. :-\ Now trying to be pessimistic, infact im upbeat about the future - I just feel that the quality of the squad has gone from exceptional, to good. Anyways, onwards and upwards.
Dooher was incredible that day as well, we cant be relying on him to knock over 0-5 on a regular basis! I take the point that there are players throughout the team who are capable of getting 0-1/0-2 but as a few people have said a consistent scoring forward is required. Would like to see Tommy McGuigan or Niall Gormley given a run to see if they can get the scores.
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 05, 2008, 03:07:26 PM
Dooher was incredible that day as well, we cant be relying on him to knock over 0-5 on a regular basis! I take the point that there are players throughout the team who are capable of getting 0-1/0-2 but as a few people have said a consistent scoring forward is required. Would like to see Tommy McGuigan or Niall Gormley given a run to see if they can get the scores.
Have to agree RE Dooher. There is little chance of him ever scoring 5 points from play in a championship game for Tyrone again. For every spectacular score he may get it is more often then not followed by a handful of wides.
Also, Tommy has undoubted ability but he tends to blow hot and cold. There is no doubt he knows where the posts are but can often follow a fantastic score with what looks in comparison to be a relatively easy miss.
Would Mark Harte still be considered as the most prolific marksman from dead balls in club football?
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2008, 03:22:40 PM
Would Mark Harte still be considered as the most prolific marksman from dead balls in club football?
O Neill he wouldnt even be in the top 20!!!!!!
Quote from: amigo on February 05, 2008, 03:32:54 PM
Find that hard to believe.
Quote from: Puckoon on February 05, 2008, 03:34:53 PM
I am fairly sure there was a list of top scorers for each division in the teamtalk magazine!! He didnt even feature in the top 20 in his division !! Never mind the county !!
Quote from: amigo on February 05, 2008, 03:48:27 PM
I am fairly sure there was a list of top scorers for each division in the teamtalk magazine!! He didnt even feature in the top 20 in his division !! Never mind the county !!
Mark is an excellent free taker but for what ever reasons (injury etc I am not sure?) he has not played to much for Errigal seniors over the past 2 seasons so maybe that explains why he is not on the list of top scorers.
Would say there are not too many who have scored more than Frank McGuigan over the last 10 years in Tyrone club football.
Fair point, because he is not making the team. However, from the dead ball Mark is very very accurate, and very calm under pressure.
I'd say over the last 10 yrs you would be hard pushed to find a better free taker than Fergal Coyle of Cookstown. He has hung them up now but it is a shame he only made 1 or 2 National League appearances for Tyrone.
Quote from: Puckoon on February 05, 2008, 04:21:46 PM
Fair point, because he is not making the team. However, from the dead ball Mark is very very accurate, and very calm under pressure.
It's difficult to play for a club in Tyrone when you're living in Australia!! :D
Whos in Australia?
Could've sworn Harte was at the Scor in Eskra last weekend.
Its Michael who's in OZ that Mark!
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2008, 09:28:13 AM
Hallelujah! ;)
I took your point earlier ONeill, but my point was simply that we have what we have, no point in mulling over what is no more or what might have been (complicating factors notwithstanding), and the last thing that this current team needs is an aura of defeatist negativity emanating from the county supporters -- it transmits. Here's to Mickey the magician!
As I said in my post earlier in the thread, draft Mark Harte back in now, bulk him up with a bit of beef dripping and come the summer he'll be knocking them over with both feet with his eyes closed.
Quote from: wdusln on February 05, 2008, 02:15:22 PM
Quote from: caraghtyrone on February 04, 2008, 11:45:18 PM
Hi,
Caragh
Philip Jordan
Thanks for that!
Just my observation and I dont mean to undermine Jordan who has been a good servant and who always gives his best when he pulls on the Tyrone jersey but surely Conor Gormley should have got the nod ahead of him?
Lets face it I think we all know that Gormley is our most crucial player at the present time and has continually produced the goods when it matters most in the late summer. I wonder how he feels about being overlooked once again? So now he sees himself 5th in line behind Dooher, Cavanagh, Ricie and Jordan surely this is not the way to treat one of your most important players and a man who apparently doesnt drink or smoke and would be the perfect example to others around him, not too mention the younger generation? Every player who is good enough and who excels at his sport deserves the chance to lead out his team out someday and surely that has to be a highlight in that players career no matter what they have won? I suppose Gormley will have to keep plodding away and get used to being continually moved position to save the day when the s**t hits the fan come August or September (Come to think of it on the 8th June) Well on the other hand, suppose he can always look forward to leading out his province in the railway cup for 2 in a row!
Here Here!! :D
This latest addition to the squad should drive on the Tyrone team:
(http://www.tyronegaa.ie/image?tn=Block&key=blockID&colname=blkContents&keyval=1183)
Good to see Mickey Moynagh finally getting what he deserves.
Definitely - Mickey does some sterling work which goes unnoticed a lot of the time. Fair play to him.
He'd be some man for directions about Tyrone. I worked with his daughter for years.
Who's birthday it is today as well Puckoon!!
Havnt been on bebo in a while - must send her an appropriate message.
Quote from: never kickt a ball on February 05, 2008, 11:18:35 PM
This latest addition to the squad should drive on the Tyrone team:
(http://www.tyronegaa.ie/image?tn=Block&key=blockID&colname=blkContents&keyval=1183)
???
Seen Fermanagh at this Kit Van carry on lately. At least we can say we took the lead on something, I think.
I enjoy reading back on these threads. Wasnt much hope being given by a lot of posters at this stage of the year.
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2008, 07:06:58 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 04, 2008, 05:51:51 PM
I've seen Tyrone play twice this year out of their four games.
I haven't given any critique whatsoever on the Kildare match so I don't know where you're getting that from. Are you reading something I'm not? I'm basing my opinion on watching this Tyrone side and management from their early days down in Wexford and Leitrim to their development right up until now.
A little tip - just because someone doesn't share the same sentiments as yourself doesn't mean they should be discounted. You may believe 'Sam will be parading around Omagh in September' as you stated (without stating how you envisage that apart from blind faith) I disagree completely and openly display my views logically on why I believe that. I could also spout nonsense that I cannot take you seriously as you included McNally, Swift etc as players you hadn't seen before/how 'good' they were but that would be rude, wrong and insulting. Just a tip.
Give me blind faith over logic any day!
A wee bit sad, Tyronne Dreamer?
I've said before on here. There are two sets of posters on here. Those who stick their necks out and air their honest views. Sometimes they're right, sometimes wrong. That's the nature of everything in life. Even the most successful in all guises will do that. It's a colourful way.
Then there are those who don't and snipe from behind the wire.
I'll always stand over everything I write and I'll hold my hands up when I'm wrong. I was far, far out then, but called it honestly as FoSB stated in his reply.
So why are you gaining pleasure from this? Not loved, or in need of a boost? You could have quoted the likes of this, but then again, it wouldn't cheer you up. - http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=6303.msg239715#msg239715
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2008, 12:24:07 PM
Maybe yer man in Datsun Donaghy's correct. Big Chewtobacco (http://laspoliticas.files.wordpress.com/2007/04/chewbacca.jpg) would be the man for the job at FF.
Ya weren't far off the mark here O'Neill with yer bearded parade
And a prize for one of the most prescient contributions of the year, take a bow
Baile an tuaigh ;)
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on February 04, 2008, 03:54:19 AM
My view is Tyrone management aren't going to sicken the players with too much football at this time of the year and I'm' sure they are doing a lot of experimenting. Who wants the Mc Kenna cup really its all about Sam. It will give them ample time to gradually up the anti as the year progresses. Good to keep players fresh if possable before launching the big assult. If Tyrone can get it right they won't be too far a way at the end of the year. The talent is there. I'm actually glad to see them start sluggish you learn more about your weaknesses as well also if teams think your gone of the boil they wont be prepared as well for the wrath to come. ;)
Quote from: ziggysego on February 03, 2008, 09:04:33 PM
Unfortunately I did not make it to the game last night due to prior engagement.
I see that some people are saying that things are bleak in Tyrone at the moment, I myself think that is a bit over the top. Sure we aren't as healthy as we have been in previous years, but I still have high hopes for the future.
I don't see any trophies in Tyrone this year if I am being realistic, but I think Mickey is playing the long game. For too long he has been criticed for relying on the old guard of Tyrone football, the minors of 1998. Now he is looking to the future and wanting to rebuild the team, but that takes time. He is bringing in new players and working with them.
So no Ulster or Sam this year, but I definately think the future is still bright for Tyrone.
I think Ziggy needs taken out and shot.
Quote from: ONeill on November 27, 2008, 11:36:45 PM
I think Ziggy needs taken out and shot.
I'll keep the engine running :D
Kildare were robbed that night >:(
Quote from: ONeill on November 27, 2008, 10:43:11 PM
I've said before on here. There are two sets of posters on here. Those who stick their necks out and air their honest views. Sometimes they're right, sometimes wrong. That's the nature of everything in life. Even the most successful in all guises will do that. It's a colourful way.
I'll always stand over everything I write and I'll hold my hands up when I'm wrong. I was far, far out then, but called it honestly as FoSB stated in his reply.
So why are you gaining pleasure from this? Not loved, or in need of a boost? You could have quoted the likes of this, but then again, it wouldn't cheer you up. - http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=6303.msg239715#msg239715
I just happened to be reading through a few older threads and came accross that comment. Wasnt being too serious, just thought it was funny on reflection. No need to be so grumpy!
Quote from: ONeill on November 27, 2008, 10:43:11 PM
I seem to remember you having a go at me for this after the Tyrone Dublin match. Tis OK though emotions were high ;) :D
Eh?
You boys have awful long memories on here. I can't even remember last week's posts.
The measure of the man lies in his humility.
Listen its quite obvious that Mickey took on baord what we are saying to mould the team of the millenium, I think its a classic case for us all to learn that if you had looked at a Van Gogh after one day it looks like a bit of a mess really probably a bit like my own painting in Primary - shite, the difference is the finished product. By the same time having blind faith and praising and crooning over the Van Gogh after one day is as ridiculous as criticising it - at least the comments are valid on the day - its honest and its current. Tyrone dreamer did you ever hear the story of the emperor with no clothes?
Quote from: ExiledGael on February 06, 2008, 05:18:54 PM
Seen Fermanagh at this Kit Van carry on lately. At least we can say we took the lead on something, I think.
Apparantely the Down Kit Van was stopped heading to Clones last season to play Armagh, and was stopped and done for having Red Diesel, shocking!
I tell you what rrhf - one thing that this year has taught us is that if Tyrone lost every McKenna game, got relegated from Division 1 and there was an outbreak of foot and mouth in late April, Mickey Harte should never be underestimated when it comes to getting a side together that can peak at the right time. That core - Gormley/Ricey/Harte/Jordan/Cavanagh/McGinley/McGuigan - is a special unit when free from injury. Add in the McMahons/McCullagh/Penrose/Hughes/McGuigan etc and we'll always have a chance. It's a nice feeling to have, and without being arrogant, it's a bit like Kerry before the SFC starts.
The question has to be asked - has Mickey bought himself a Boylan ticket? It's his as long as he wants it? Is he immune now to the same-voice syndrome accusations?
Them lads and Mickey Harte are all winners. Compare Tyrone's roll of honour pre 97 to now - unreal. Wonder how long Harte would be prepared to stay? Its a very time consuming job but he does seem to enjoy it. Would like to think he'll stay for a long time yet.
No man is an island and Mickey certainly isn't bloody Ibiza.
Like PTG Harte is only Human and like us all he makes mistakes but mainly he makes a lot of good calls.
So much is said after a match in won or an AI is lost but often it does come down to so many small things.
I met Mickey after the Galway game in 2005 and he made a good point.
Before the match all talk was the winner of this will have a great chance of the AI and how they are 2 top teams.
Then when Tyrone hammered them it was all about how galway are a spent force.
Had Packie not saved that chance at the end of the final would ye all be still so full of praise for Mickey.
Its too easy to say Who are we on a discussion board to critise Harte's decisions the odd time but that's the nature of the beast
Managers do it to their staff or players to make improvements and to correct errors that they've made
In my book Mickey makes more good decisions than bad ones and certainly has earned the title of the most shrewd tactically aware manager of recent years.
I never wanted him to resign this year and hope he stays as long as he can but I still think he's not untouchable now just cos he's won 3 AI's.
He's entitled to his opinion like everyone else but I was glad to see Big Sean being man enough to stand up and say he enjoys the International Rules and thinks there is a place for it.
Finally I have to say that I was wrong along with many others on my judgement of Davy Harte. He had a great season since the start of the championship and didn't get exposed like I thought he would. Mickey stuck to his guns on this one and he also impressed me with his dropping of Mulgrew who he had laid so much praise on his door before.
I think Mickey has learned a lot since his 1st year and like the team has matured with him.
From what I hear about the man he's very driven and passionate about Tyrone football and I can see him staying for a long time to come.
I see Dooher had surgery on his groin. He's ruled out for the McKenna Cup (wasnt much chance of him playing it anyway) but sounds hopeful that he shouldnt be out for too long. No word of retirement at this stage so hopefully we'll get to see him in a Tyrone shirt once more. Would imagine he'll not see much action until late in the league at the earliest.
Will be interesting to see what sort of a squad is named for the McKenna Cup. As I said else where there has been no word of trials so its hard to know what players are in Harte's minds. Would be suprised if a good few players not on last years panel dont get called up for it. Should be a few places up for grabs in the squad. If Stevie O'Neill is injury free he will get some game time during it no doubt and after Mugsy missing so much of last season would expect him to play a part. Brian McGuigan is another player who may get game time. The likes of Cathal McCarron and PJ Quinn are also likely participants.
No doubt Harte is planning for next year already - sounds like he started at the final whistle of the All Ireland final. Straight away he was stressing that the players had to come back and defend the title. He was also quick to tell Dooher not to retire. My big worry for 2009 is that in 2004 and 2006 things looked good pre season and we all no what happened then.
Fair summary there TD, and not wrong to allude to 2004 & 2006, though I'm sure MH has taken those years into consideration, and maybe, just maybe, he has a plan...
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on November 28, 2008, 09:35:58 PM
My big worry for 2009 is that in 2004 and 2006 things looked good pre season and we all no what happened then.
Absolutely no place for such defeatist talk. You should be ashamed.
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=RnvOZO7Dv50
That's deadly.
Come on Tyrone, a millenium of dreams, di di di di.