Lads i am thinking of getting Nokia N 95 on contract, have read a few reviews and the one constant seems to be poor battery life which i can live with, electricity is in plentiful supply where i live. Anyone have one? some reviews say it is the dogs gonads others not so good. Cheers
I've had a N95 for 4 months now & have had no problems & have no complaints about it, not even with the battery life. A very nice piece of kit really.
My brother has one. The bee's knee. Jealous of him.
Vodafone offered me one and stupid me opted for the Nokia N73! >:(
Only a fool would do that Hardstation.........
you thinking of the N95 8 gb ?
Got a 1GB about 5/6 months back. It's good. Battery life is shortish - depands on usage really. Lasts about 2 days for me but I'm not a yapper. Other than that, no hassles whatsoever.
Quote from: Gnevin on January 07, 2008, 02:50:36 PM
Yes the very one Gnevin
Quote from: Minder on January 07, 2008, 03:10:56 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 07, 2008, 02:50:36 PM
Yes the very one Gnevin
Nice phone , does everything but make the tea for you .
What you need is the new N95 8GB version. Better battery life and more memory.
Mine should be landing sometime this week.
Some good discussion on it on avforums - in this post http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=618915 and others
Quote from: ziggysego on January 07, 2008, 01:12:00 PM
My brother has one. The bee's knee. Jealous of him.
Vodafone offered me one and stupid me opted for the Nokia N73! >:(
I have a Nokia N73 Zigg i think their a grand phone
Mine's keep knocking itself off on me LL. >:(
I have mine about 3 months and have had it on buliding sites everyday,Its been coverd in dust,dropped down a stairwell and it's still in perfect working order,I think they are a great phone
Quote from: tram on January 07, 2008, 04:47:22 PM
Main complaint about the N95 is about the battery. You can help this by turning the Bluetooth off when you don't need it and if you don't use 3G features, set the phone to use GSM networks only.
I charge my phone every night regardless..I know people say this shortens battery life but if you continually charge it everynight anyway that won't be a problem
I have too have the bluetooth turned on as i have bluetooth in the van for hands free
I have had the Nokia n73 for almost a year and a half now, and it has broken on me about 4-5 times. Usually the speaker went in it, one time it turned itself off whenever someone called. I would not recommend this phone to anyone going on my experience.
What other phones out at the minute are worth a look? im due a upgrade next month. I found the n73 to be a bit bulky, i would prefer a smaller phone, something like the nokia 6300.
Is the n95 the phone with the GPS?
Quote from: stiffler on January 07, 2008, 05:53:25 PM
I have had the Nokia n73 for almost a year and a half now, and it has broken on me about 4-5 times. Usually the speaker went in it, one time it turned itself off whenever someone called. I would not recommend this phone to anyone going on my experience.
What other phones out at the minute are worth a look? im due a upgrade next month. I found the n73 to be a bit bulky, i would prefer a smaller phone, something like the nokia 6300.
Yeah would agree it's a bit bulky alright...Fingers crossed i won't have any of these problems other N73 users have had
I've had the Nokia 6280 for the last 18 months but today I upgraded to the N95. Should have it on Wednesday. A couple of friends have the phone and they have been very positive about it.
The N95 battery life is brutal, but the N95 8gig (Black version) is grand. Have had it about a month and no problems to date. It really is the 'dogs balls'!!!
Here's a review of the phone, warts and all.....all depends what you want from a phone. The GPS thing seems a bit of a gimmick to me....
http://www.mobile-phones-uk.org.uk/nokia-n95.htm (http://www.mobile-phones-uk.org.uk/nokia-n95.htm)
Quote from: Louis the Red on January 07, 2008, 06:18:14 PM
The N95 battery life is brutal, but the N95 8gig (Black version) is grand. Have had it about a month and no problems to date. It really is the 'dogs balls'!!!
The one im getting is "N95 + 8GB memory card", i take it this isnt the latest one,the black one is i think. Whats the difference? Forgive the ignorance........
So lads....did you receive your new N95's?
What are your thoughts on the phone, does it meet expectations?
Quote from: balladmaker on January 14, 2008, 08:32:49 PM
I got it on Friday, its a serious piece of kit. Still getting to grips with it, if you use the GPS,WI FI etc much the battery is gone but its not as if we live in Siberia so electricity shouldnt be a problem to charge it. The only issue i have is with the GPS, i got a fix on my location within a minute or two but when i open it again now it is always where i got the original fix (my house), i asked a fella in o2 shop today and he said the GPS can be temperamental and can take about 5 minutes to get your location.
Quote from: balladmaker on January 14, 2008, 08:32:49 PM
Got the phone on Satuday and it is really good although I've been pretty busy and I haven't had time to see all that it can do. When I upgrade my phone I always insist that it has so many applications but I honestly end up only using half of them. I'm going to make a real effort this time to make full use of this phone!!
Lost the phone I had mid-contract and had been using a crappy little piece of crap that was in a drawer at home. Went to buy a new one last weekend, asked about the N95 8GB to buy new - AUS$1400.00 :o
Settled for something a little less fancy that still had the Bluetooth for connectivity to the new car radio
I can get a barely 2nd hand nokia N80 for £70. Is that value for money, and any views on the phone. I really only need it for ringing, and texting, but the wee add ons at that price sound value for.
What ye think?
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 07, 2008, 05:55:08 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 07, 2008, 05:53:25 PM
Yeah would agree it's a bit bulky alright...Fingers crossed i won't have any of these problems other N73 users have had
Oh no :'(...My phone is starting to give problems
Anyone that rings me says they can hear an echo as they speak,basically they can hear back what they are saying to me....
I shouldn't have cursed it my crossing my fingers :-[
Minder - To get the GPS to connect make sure you slide the phone into the open position. Hold it at a 45 degree angle to help speed up the initial GPS connection. If you are trying to use it in the car it will need to be in the windscreen to get a clear view of the sky. There is a diagram in the user manual which shows you the best way to use it.
Norf Tyrone - I had the N80 before the N95 and it was good enough phone. Make sure you get one with the latest firmware as the earlier versions had serious bugs in them which would try the patience of a saint.
Cheers Amallon, have you ever used any of the updates from the Nokia site? i was gonna do it the other day but dont want to balls the whole thing up....
What is the additional costs to use gps or the net or does it come off your monthly allowances?
Quote from: Uladh on January 17, 2008, 11:20:28 AM
What is the additional costs to use gps or the net or does it come off your monthly allowances?
GPS is free but is hard on the battery,on my tariff i get 1MB of internet usage free per month (they reckon its about 40 pages if your phone is 3G) or i can pay £7.50 a month for unlimited use.
I have an O2 XDA and the sister saw me using the Sat Nav on it - I installed Tomtom 6.0 on it. She wanted it on her N95 and when I tried to put it on I discovered that the N95 and Tomtom aren't compatible - not with the internal GPS anyway. You need to use an external bluetooth GPS to get it to work. Bit of a hassle!! >:(
Minder - I've done the update from the Nokia site 3 or 4 times now without any problem. Make sure you backup your phone to memory card first as everything is wiped during the firmware update.
The GPS is free but if you want turn by turn voice guideance then you need to pay a subscription. Its around £6 for a one off months subscription or £40ish quid for a years subscription. Download the maps using Nokia Map Load from your PC using your home broadband connection before using it. This way the phone will not need to be using its own GPRS or 3g connection to download maps for the area you are in when you are on the road. It costs nothing to download maps using Nokia Map Loader and the maps of Ireland, Uk and the US are fairly up to date from what I can see.
I was at the football last night and I spent ages looking for a stopwatch on my phone but couldn't find it. Am i just stupid or is there no stopwatch on this phone?
I dont think there is one on it but try this link........
http://mosh.nokia.com/content/40A3681248E90E46E040050A44303CFE
Thanks for the link. Of all the things they have on this phone and no bloody stopwatch. I miss it at football matches!
How are ye's getting on with your N95's after a month or so? Still in love with it?
Quote from: balladmaker on February 18, 2008, 03:40:08 PM
How are ye's getting on with your N95's after a month or so? Still in love with it?
Aye no problems whatsoever, going great guns. The WI FI capability is a great job, the only thing is sometimes when it is in my pocket it goes onto the internet without me knowing.
Lock the keypad then
You can get the N95 to autolock. Go into settings, general, security, phone and Sim card security. Set the keypad autolock period.
I was just on bestbuy.com looking at unlocked phones, 749$ for this phone you are all talking about?! Is it worth the dough?
QuoteI was just on bestbuy.com looking at unlocked phones, 749$ for this phone you are all talking about?! Is it worth the dough?
I don't think any phone is worth that price irrespective of what features it has. Contract would be the way to go.
i lost the back cover of the N95 and cant find any replacement, Anyone any ideas? the cellotape is looking a wee bit cheap
Quote from: ludermor on March 12, 2008, 11:02:30 PM
i lost the back cover of the N95 and cant find any replacement, Anyone any ideas? the cellotape is looking a wee bit cheap
Theres loads on Ebay
http://search.ebay.co.uk/search/search.dll?sofocus=bs&sbrftog=1&dfsp=32&from=R10&_trksid=m37&satitle=n95+back+cover&sacat=-1%26catref%3DC6&sargn=-1%26saslc%3D3&sadis=200&fpos=Postcode&sabfmts=1&saobfmts=insif&ga10244=10425&ftrt=1&ftrv=1&saprclo=&saprchi=&fsop=32%26fsoo%3D2&fgtp= (http://search.ebay.co.uk/search/search.dll?sofocus=bs&sbrftog=1&dfsp=32&from=R10&_trksid=m37&satitle=n95+back+cover&sacat=-1%26catref%3DC6&sargn=-1%26saslc%3D3&sadis=200&fpos=Postcode&sabfmts=1&saobfmts=insif&ga10244=10425&ftrt=1&ftrv=1&saprclo=&saprchi=&fsop=32%26fsoo%3D2&fgtp=)
cheers for that sammy
Was in O2 store today and Nokia N95 going to cost 329euro on contract :o
Lad there told me that the iPhone is coming in tomorrow and is a better deal at 399euro :o :o :o
The iPhone doesn't have a radio which is surprising. Is there any way to get these cheaper ?
Quote from: fearsiuil on March 13, 2008, 09:08:02 PM
Was in O2 store today and Nokia N95 going to cost 329euro on contract :o
Lad there told me that the iPhone is coming in tomorrow and is a better deal at 399euro :o :o :o
The iPhone doesn't have a radio which is surprising. Is there any way to get these cheaper ?
That couldnt be right, dunno what way it works down Mexico way but up here in the black north i got it free on an O2 contract, 1000 txts and 600 mins for £35 mth.
just picked up an 8 gig one of these boys. Vodafone are doing 129 on a business contract. A serious piece of kit.
Aye it is a great job,i got mine in January on an 18 month contract so hopefully when i am due for an upgrade they will be giving the i phone free as an upgrade
Check out the below link from Vodafone.....why do they say 'Get the improved N95 8Gb now'??? What have they improved about the 8gb?
Also, why do Vodafone claim 'Only available at Vodafone'.....sure O2 have them as well!
http://shop.vodafone.co.uk/index.cfm?go=phones.home (http://shop.vodafone.co.uk/index.cfm?go=phones.home)
They have improved the battery,one of the weak points of the first N95,also the original N95 did not have 8GB as standard,In fairness 02 were giving you a free 8GB san disk memory card anyway.
QuoteThey have improved the battery,one of the weak points of the first N95,also the original N95 did not have 8GB as standard,In fairness 02 were giving you a free 8GB san disk memory card anyway.
I read the advert as if they had improved the actual '8Gb N95' itself from an earlier 8Gb release. Why are Vodafone claiming that you can only get this phone on Vodafone when it is also available on the O2 website?
I am in the business and there are ways to save batery life, you can for example cut your back light time down, this can add as much as 15% to your battery life and then there is charging the phone the right way. We dont sell Nokia anymore because we use a CDMA system as opposed to GSM which is what you lot roll with but I am familiar with them and you should only charge your phone when it needs to be charged and at least once a month let it run completely dead and then charge it overnight, this also adds to battery life.
One other genius move, if you talk less you have plenty of battery life, send texts. :P
Turning off bluetooth will give you good battary saving.
There is an N96 coming soon from Nokia. Its supposed to be the new and improved version of the N95 and has 16GB of internal memory.
The new N96 16Gb looks the business.....
(http://www.cnet.co.uk/i/c/blg/cat/mobiles/nokia-n96-1.jpg)
The N96 is supposed to have a "DVB-H digital TV receiver" built into it. How would this work? Would you be able to get freeview?
Since i have had my Nokia 95 when checking my hotmail i have been able to look at it as you would on a PC but when i try and sign in now it has started asking me to "enable cookies", im not sure whether this has anything to do with hotmail becoming Microsoft Live but i am having to just use "mobile" Hotmail which as you can imagine is very basic. Anyone any ideas?
just got the n95 8gb last saturday in carphone warehouse last sunday and i think its the shit!best phone i have ever seen-even the guy in car phone warehouse said he would far rather have it than the i phone!so many features its brilliant but you are nearly afraid to take it out of your pocket in public in fear of some whore mugging ye!think it was valued at 600 squid on play.com
QuoteAny advice gratefully accepted.
Surfing and posting on the gaaboard from your mobile is quite sad but looking up work calendars!! What?
Thinking of getting a new Nokia on Vodafone but N95 is way out of my price range. Was looking at new 6500 or 6500 slider..Anyone any tips?
I've an N73 and regret it terribly.
do you have any signal in greencastle?
Vodafone, yes.
Stumbled across this last week. Its working like a charm so far
http://thepiratebay.org/tor/4138348/UPDATED_Garmin_Mobile_XT_v4.10.80_UK_-_Route66_TomTom_Alt. (http://thepiratebay.org/tor/4138348/UPDATED_Garmin_Mobile_XT_v4.10.80_UK_-_Route66_TomTom_Alt.)
Sometimes the Gps can be a bit slow in picking up the phone but thats it really.
Follow the instructions exactly, especially the bit about saving the file as a UNL file, not UNL.txt.
Sat Nav for free, great job.
Have not tried getting the traffic updates because you have to pay for that
Pm'd you there Ferm
was thinking of gettin a Nokia 6110n anyone have one? its quite a bit cheaper then the n95 and sounds pretty good
More Nokia N95 8GB queries
Anyone got the yoke to use internet radio.
Have the application installed and using home wireless network as main access point but the millisecond I ask it to search for stations it tells me that the connection has timed out.
Any ideas?
youtube won't work either. It can access the 'picture' of said required clip but won't actually play it.
FermGael - When you have download the 15k Toerrnt file what do you need to do to get it to download the rest of the application?
Phone contract coming up for renewal. Have been advised to go for the latest Blackberry phone the blackberry "boost" ? or something like that need a great personal organiser phone so want to know the best available. Anybody trodded this path
Thinking of getting that too rrhf when I'm up for renewal. Let me know how you get on with it, if you decide to get it.
Quote from: rrhf on October 20, 2008, 04:38:45 PM
Phone contract coming up for renewal. Have been advised to go for the latest Blackberry phone the blackberry "boost" ? or something like that need a great personal organiser phone so want to know the best available. Anybody trodded this path
Got a letter from vodafone offering me this phone when my upgrade is due next month..
Wondered what they are like myself
I want to do away with my paper diary for the most part so that was my criteria ziggy. its eh not apparently called a boost but a Bold. Heres the beef!!!
BlackBerry Bold 9000
After months of waiting and speculation, Research In Motion (RIM), recently announced the stunning new BlackBerry Bold 9000, which will be launched in the UK sometime in the summer (2008).
The BlackBerry Bold is in a class of it's own, featuring: HSDPA (3G) functionality, Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/, Half-VGA, 480 x 320 pixel screen, Built-in GPS, next-generation 624 MHz mobile processor and 128MB Flash memory. This is BlackBerry at it's best and the unprecedented performanceof this handset will be perfect for business and power users. Nearly forget...the BlackBerry Bold has the DataViz® Documents to Go® suite preloaded, giving on-the-move access to Word, Excel or PowerPoint files.
how do you get the nokia 95 to remember your wireless key settings when you use the wlan to connect to the web. Everytime i use the phone on the wireless router it keeps asking me for the password, which is driving me mad
Quote from: gerry on November 27, 2008, 11:07:47 AM
how do you get the nokia 95 to remember your wireless key settings when you use the wlan to connect to the web. Everytime i use the phone on the wireless router it keeps asking me for the password, which is driving me mad
The first time i entered it to connect to my WLAN it remembered it and has never asked me again.
Same here Minder, ive never encountered that problem myself.
it keeps asking me ever time. Its fecking annoying
When i access the WLAN Wizard at home to get on my home wireless connection it is not showing up. I was messing about with it last night and i managed to "tick" my home network which seems to have removed it from my list of available networks. Any ideas anyone?
Anyone any clues to why I can't view youtube videos via my mobile? When i try to connect to them via a link on the board real player launches and tries to connect for a while with no joy. I.ve downloade the youtube application to my phone and tried viewing via that. I can access the site but when i click watch video after a while it returns could not connect to video streaming server
Do you not have a computer?
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 29, 2008, 09:53:28 PM
Do you not have a computer?
Yes I do but crucially I don't have broadband nor can I get it. Youtube is no fun on dialup!
I used to have the same problem Tony but lately it has been working dead on,maybe the fact that you dont have a 3G connection in Armagh might have something to do with it.
Broke the bastard last night when i was blocked, anyone know how much for a new one on O2 contract?
http://www.o2online.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/O2ProductDisplayView?storeId=10001&langId=-1&enableAddToCartBtn=true&catalogId=10001&phoneId=92009&flowType=P&productId=92009&newFlag=&partNumber=35206102
i used to think it was a good phone.
but recently its now a heap of shit. takes forever to open a txt message.
tried resetting the firmware. still no joy.
can't wait for my contract to expire. Possibly progress to iphone.
def wouldn't buy another one if i lost mine!
Mine is the same. Takes ages to open a text and is a bit of a pain in the arse. Are you covered by any type of insurance Minder? What did you do to it exactly?
Vodafone have been annoying my head with the N73 all year. I've decided to f--k them and leaving the contract asap. I'm going to move to O2 and get an iPhone 3D.
Quote from: ziggysego on January 04, 2009, 09:10:15 PM
Vodafone have been annoying my head with the N73 all year. I've decided to f--k them and leaving the contract asap. I'm going to move to O2 and get an iPhone 3D.
I hear the iphone 3G is better ;)
What have vodafone been doing? the N73 is the worse phone ever made
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2009, 09:38:16 PM
What have vodafone been doing? the N73 is the worse phone ever made
They tricked me into taking that phone a year ago, when I originally wanted the N95. They told me that there was nothing but complains coming in about the N95 and everyone loved the N73.
Well you know as well as I do, no-one liked the N73. I've had nothing but headaches over it. Had to replace the phone several times and each time they've replaced it with the same model. As for the N95, anyone I know that has it, loves it. Vodafone must have been trying to get rid of the N73s they had and palmed one off to me.
Rang them two months ago looking for a different phone as the N73 was still arsing about giving me problem. They wouldn't. I said that I didnt care if they give me a lower model, all I wanted was a phone that works. Still got no. I said I'd leave them if they didn't and they told me to go on ahead.
Brother-in-Law said that he went to Phone 4U and they brought out the rest of his Vodafone contract when he moved to O2, so I'm thinking of doing the same.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2009, 09:05:44 PM
Mine is the same. Takes ages to open a text and is a bit of a pain in the arse. Are you covered by any type of insurance Minder? What did you do to it exactly?
I had the same problem TB and it is easily solved by deleting all the text messages in your inbox and sent items. Once I did this I could open all new messages immediately. I had a huge amount of messages saved in the inbox which was slowing the whole thing down.
Quote from: FermPundit on January 04, 2009, 10:13:35 PM
I had the same problem TB and it is easily solved by deleting all the text messages in your inbox and sent items. Once I did this I could open all new messages immediately. I had a huge amount of messages saved in the inbox which was slowing the whole thing down.
Aye I cleared out the Inbox last week to try to speed it up but now you mention it I didn't clear sent items. I never clear them out so prob thousands!
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2009, 10:24:05 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on January 04, 2009, 10:13:35 PM
Aye I cleared out the Inbox last week to try to speed it up but now you mention it I didn't clear sent items. I never clear them out so prob thousands!
I have changed my settings so that I can only keep a maximum of 40 messages in my sent items. I haven't looked but you can probably do the same with your inbox.
No insurance, i have it on an 18 month contract that does not expire for 6 months so i will be getting the same phone again...........Cant remember what i did to it.
I wouldn't stump up big money for a handset for 6 months. I'd slip the sim from the N95 into any old handset and then get a good phone on my free upgrade in 6 months.
Yes you might be paying 25 quid a month or whatever for a less fancy phone but if you only need it for calls and text then I'd keep my money in my pocket.
No i wont be paying big money, if i ring O2 and tell them its broke they send me another Nokia N95 and put it on the next bill. I think it might be £35 and they then make you take insurance..........
i keep getting this message when i try to reply to a post on here" your session timed out while posting. please re-sumit your message".
its works ok when i use the wlan settings at home.
any ideas?
Quote from: gerry on February 13, 2009, 10:26:51 AM
i keep getting this message when i try to reply to a post on here" your session timed out while posting. please re-sumit your message".
its works ok when i use the wlan settings at home.
any ideas?
Had the same problem Gerry. Download MiniOpera to your phone,just google it, it will then be stored in your "applications" folder and access the board from there. Bob is your uncle........
Cheers minder. Hopefully this will be my first post using the phone
only thing now is to get this to work and i will be laughing.
http://thepiratebay.org/torrent/4138348/UPDATED_Garmin_Mobile_XT_v4.10.80_UK_-_Route66_TomTom_Alt. (http://thepiratebay.org/torrent/4138348/UPDATED_Garmin_Mobile_XT_v4.10.80_UK_-_Route66_TomTom_Alt.)
Gerry,
the old version is still working well for me.
Headin Skiing tommorrow so will check it out when i get back.
Using the old versions Europeans sat nav so will not mess with it the night before i head just in case.
will check it out next weekend
my brother has an N95 and absolutely loves it - I would go for it if you can afford it
Why would you for it if I could afford it vicky?