Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: southdown on December 30, 2007, 10:48:49 AM

Title: Nintendo DS
Post by: southdown on December 30, 2007, 10:48:49 AM
Got one of these for Christmas with the Brain Training game, it is absolutely addictive.  Also got Mario Kart and it is brilliant too.

Anyone else suggest any other good games?  Iv heard Zelda is good??
Title: Re: Nintendo DS
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 30, 2007, 03:43:52 PM
I think you can get copied games for the DS. It'll save you a fortune.
Post by: Shortso79 on December 30, 2007, 03:59:02 PM
Brain Training Games are class !

Got the woman the Simpsons Game - she loves it.
Post by: David McKeown on December 30, 2007, 04:53:14 PM
You can indeed get copied games but you need a memory card reader for the ds and a memory card.  Its about 40 quid for both, best money I ever spent on my ds, honestly havent turned my psp on since i bought the ds last easter
Post by: An Fear Rua on December 30, 2007, 05:44:04 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 30, 2007, 04:53:14 PM
You can indeed get copied games but you need a memory card reader for the ds and a memory card.  Its about 40 quid for both, best money I ever spent on my ds, honestly havent turned my psp on since i bought the ds last easter

Can you post up a bit more info on this please, just got one myself
Post by: leenie on February 04, 2009, 05:13:25 PM

I have started playing hotel dusk....... only on chapter 2 and it is doing my head in!
don't really want to go and find cheats as there are a lot of spoiler pages

but if anyone knows how i can lift the cabinet with the crowbar in dunnings office without it banging the floor and the game ending please let me know!
Post by: leenie on February 04, 2009, 05:28:36 PM
would any nice caring posters like to go and look up the cheat for me...................?

i am hoping that it will be plain sailing from here on and don't want to see any  other cheats

chapter 2 .... dunnings office.... crowbar to lift cabinet and get the memo!

thanks
Post by: maggie on February 04, 2009, 05:30:17 PM
Any spelling games/grammatical challenges you could work on in the meantime on that DS?  ;)
Post by: Square Ball on February 04, 2009, 05:37:56 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on December 30, 2007, 05:44:04 PM

me too, I would like to know how to do it
Post by: Longshanks on February 04, 2009, 05:53:24 PM
Quote from: leenie on February 04, 2009, 05:28:36 PM

would any nice caring posters like to go and look up the cheat for me...................?

i am hoping that it will be plain sailing from here on and don't want to see any other other cheats

chapter 2 .... dunnings office.... crowbar to lift cabinet and get the memo!

thanks

Just pull back the Crowbar surely?
Post by: leenie on February 04, 2009, 05:56:12 PM

have been trying that!!!!!!!!!!!

but if you don't pull it in the right place it makes the cabinet fall making a bang and i get caught and the game is over.... driving me mental!
Post by: gawa316 on February 04, 2009, 06:37:29 PM
Professor Layton and the Curious Village is addictive as hell if your into puzzles and that type of thing.

Just got MArio Kart yesterday, hardly put the thing down. Love battle mode
Post by: Bensars on February 04, 2009, 06:48:44 PM

You need the DS card initially. Inside it you can place a micro sd card. The 2gb card allows about  30+ games.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/game-storage-card-2GB-micro/dp/B001PNHLTE/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1233773043&sr=8-4 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/game-storage-card-2GB-micro/dp/B001PNHLTE/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1233773043&sr=8-4)   £21.75

Download the software and copy folder onto  the micro sd card.   Select english.

http://www.ndstt.com/download.html (http://www.ndstt.com/download.html).

Create an empty folder called games for example on the SD card.   ( you should now have 2. One english(the software) and one games.

Download the DS roms (the games itself)  widely available (allegedly) with a quick search. Look for games followed by an "E" (european specific).Once roms downloaded and extracted simply copy and paste into the games folder on the SD card .If you dont have winrar to extract you can get a freecopy at www.downloads.com

Post by: FarneyMan on February 04, 2009, 07:51:55 PM
Bought a number of these last year for friends and relatives, super job, ive about 100 games on mine !
You need one of these.........
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10289

And then a micro sd memory card, ive an 8GB one, from here........
http://www.mymemory.co.uk/Micro-SDHC/Integral/Integral-Micro-SD-HC-Memory-Cards

Then just put on the latest firmware from the DSTT site and download all the games you want !!!!
Post by: downgirl on February 04, 2009, 08:01:51 PM
southdown...first a sat nav now a DS!!  :P

I got one of those multigame things off ebay, with it all set up and a load of games on it and all.  Don't think it was that expensive at all.  And he sent me discs with more games on them as well. 

I am quite addicted to Tetris DS at the minute and Trauma Centre and Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games...also like flash focus vision training, new super mario bros, cooking mama!
Post by: Square Ball on February 04, 2009, 08:48:43 PM
bloody hell and I have been paying full wack for these.

FarneyMan, yours is the cheapest option, credit crunch and all that, is that all you need to get them form your own computer onto the card and into the DS Lite?
Post by: Mac hinery on February 04, 2009, 08:55:46 PM
I got an R4 for the DS with a 2gb micro for £21 from memorybits and 10% cashback through quidco.  Good stuff.
Post by: The Iceman on February 04, 2009, 09:46:25 PM
how do you get more balloons in battle mode on mario kart?
my nephew let me borrow the game on sat - opened up the two extra players, all the karts and the mirror level but cant get the 3 balloons!!!!
HELP!>!?!?!?!?
Post by: David McKeown on February 05, 2009, 12:02:36 AM
Blow into the microphone.  From memory you get 5 ballons but only 3 can be inflated at any time.  Those Nintendo chaps they are a clever bunch

Post by: girt_giggler on February 05, 2009, 08:38:21 AM
bought the wee lad mario kart a few weeks back.  It's good but far far too easy
Post by: mick999 on February 05, 2009, 09:45:14 AM
I am using the Edge-DS card for the kids ds .... Works Great ..

http://www.edge-ds.cn/?lang=en&page=home (http://www.edge-ds.cn/?lang=en&page=home)

You can download all the games from here http://www.romsite.net/nds/1 (http://www.romsite.net/nds/1)

Or if you're lazy like me, just buy them already downloaded onto multiple DVDs from here :  http://www.ioffer.com/i/640-English-NDS-Game-Roms-R4-DSTT-35-Free-Shipping--56991851 (http://www.ioffer.com/i/640-English-NDS-Game-Roms-R4-DSTT-35-Free-Shipping--56991851)
Post by: Bensars on February 05, 2009, 10:14:19 AM
Forgot to say in previous post , format sd card in Fat 32 format before putting anything on it.
Post by: thebigfella on February 05, 2009, 12:14:46 PM
These are the games I would recommend and have on my rom card  ;)

Mario Kart DS - Probably one of the best versions yet since the SNES(still my favourite). Has some of the SNES tracks too. Better than the WII version.
Zelda - Excellent would put it up with one of my favourite games of last year (I know it was released the year before)
Final Fantasy IV - Love it
Yoshi's Island - Mario Bros style platformer.
Advanced Wars: Dual Strike - only get it if you like turn based strategy games
Mario Bros - need I say more
Brain/Sight Training - great just to pick up for 5 mins here and there, probably what makes the DS so good.

Post by: Karl Kennedy on February 05, 2009, 01:30:22 PM
I'm getting games sorted onto my new DS shortly, I was thinking of getting an 8GB Micro DS Card or is that too big?

Has anyone played Donkey Kong on DS? I remember it used to be class on the nintendo!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 05, 2009, 01:56:35 PM
Just got 73 games yesterday on the edge card, class.  ;D
Post by: criostlinn on February 05, 2009, 08:02:56 PM
I have a few of these at home if anyone is interested. they have 4 gb memory and are loaded with about 80 games. I got some for christmas presents and have a few left. Best gadget I ever got and saves a fortune.
Post by: gawa316 on February 05, 2009, 11:39:32 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on February 05, 2009, 08:02:56 PM
I have a few of these at home if anyone is interested. they have 4 gb memory and are loaded with about 80 games. I got some for christmas presents and have a few left. Best gadget I ever got and saves a fortune.

How much you lookin?
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2009, 12:47:33 AM
Corrie game planned for Nintendo DS
Thursday, February 5 2009, 16:26 GMT
By Kris Green, Soaps Editor

Video game publisher Mindscape is to release a Coronation Street title on the Nintendo DS platform later this year.

The product has been described as 'an adventure and task-based concept set within the theme of the famous fictional street'.

Consumer product licensee RTL Games have also green-lit a Corrie board game called 'Destination: Coronation Street'.

ITV Global Entertainment's international merchandise and licensing director Aysha Kidwai said of the venture: "Coronation Street is a national institution and was watched by over 78% of the UK television population in 2008."

She added: "We receive thousands of fan letters enquiring about the series every month. We're responding to this huge demand by developing a range of exciting and innovative family targeted products inspired by the show."

The Corrie video game is due to be released in Q4. A date for the board game, meanwhile, has yet to be confirmed.

In October last year, ITV announced plans to launch a new range of Coronation Street-related products to tie in with the show's 50th anniversary.

Sourced DS.co.uk: http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/gaming/a145811/corrie-game-planned-for-nintendo-ds.html (http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/gaming/a145811/corrie-game-planned-for-nintendo-ds.html)
Post by: criostlinn on February 06, 2009, 09:25:58 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 05, 2009, 11:39:32 PM

How much you lookin?

50 euro. Thats what I paid for them. PM me if your interested and we'll sort something out
Post by: full back on February 10, 2009, 08:36:02 AM

Got this yesterday from croistlinn
Great job
Prompt service as well considering where it was coming from ;)
Post by: gawa316 on February 10, 2009, 10:20:48 AM
Quote from: full back on February 10, 2009, 08:36:02 AM

Great job

Happy days, I've just ordered one of him
Post by: criostlinn on February 10, 2009, 05:40:45 PM
Quote from: full back on February 10, 2009, 08:36:02 AM

Great job

Good old an post. A service you can always rely on. Even out here in the wild west

Enjoy the games fullback.
Post by: maco on February 17, 2009, 11:26:52 AM
Lads - does anyone have any recommendations on which website to use (or avoid) to download the roms? I have searched and found quite a few, but I have heard that some of them contain viruses which will wreck your DS.

Thanks in advance.
Post by: full back on February 17, 2009, 12:20:20 PM
Buy it off croistlinn
Will save you all the hassle
Post by: maco on February 17, 2009, 12:31:07 PM
I know - I should have done that. But I ordered the memory card, etc. last week and they arrived yesterday, so I might as well make use of them now that I have them.
Post by: criostlinn on February 17, 2009, 01:54:51 PM
Thanks Full back for the plug. Are you enjoying the games.

Maco. I didnt download the games for these as it would take ages. The games came with them.

I still have a few left if you want one. You can then transfer the games onto the card you bought then sell it on or give as a present.
They are very easy to use and tranfer just like a normal memory card.

Post by: gawa316 on February 17, 2009, 01:57:41 PM
Quote from: full back on February 17, 2009, 12:20:20 PM
Buy it off croistlinn
Will save you all the hassle

I'll second that. Got mine on friday and haven't been off the thing since!

My brother might take one of your hands croistlinn, I'll let ye know
Post by: Bensars on February 17, 2009, 02:03:42 PM
Simple to download and does not take ages. Better still you get the specific games you want.    No offence croistlinn.
Post by: peterquaife on February 17, 2009, 02:05:58 PM
Mario Kart is fantastic

Got my wee girl guitar hero for the DS a few weeks ago, not as brilliant as it is on the Wii, but still some craic. Queen, Weezer, Foo Fighters, Lynrd Skynrd, Oasis..great laugh, and fierce handy for the travel

PQ
Post by: criostlinn on February 17, 2009, 02:09:48 PM
No offence taken bensars.

simple to download a few but to fill a card with 86 working games can be a lot of hassle. I tried it but just gave in.

Although in saying that maybe I was doing it wrong
Post by: full back on February 17, 2009, 02:27:00 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on February 17, 2009, 01:54:51 PM
Thanks Full back for the plug. Are you enjoying the games.

Its all good croistlinn
How do I/you add games to it?
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 17, 2009, 02:31:42 PM

have you got paypal? Can you ship to England? What games?
Post by: criostlinn on February 17, 2009, 02:37:37 PM
An Fera Rua,
Yep and Yep. Registered post is 8 euro. All latest games, ie mario, brain training, fifa, tiger woods, etc. 86 altogether.

Full Back,
You have to download the games from a file sharing site. This is what I tried anyway. Maybe Bensars has a different suggestion. It was very hit and miss if the games worked or not. Then just transfer them onto the micro memory card thats in the cartridge. You need a memory card reader for this. You'll have to remove some games to make room for others.
Post by: gerry on February 17, 2009, 03:04:05 PM
when criostlinn  buying a card here (ebay) (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/4GB-GENUINE-SD-SDHC-MEMORY-CARD-FOR-CASIO-CANON-KODAK_W0QQitemZ320339622942QQihZ011QQcategoryZ18871QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem)  for £6.50 and then selling to you lads for 50 euro, its nice work if you can get it  ;D ;D
Post by: criostlinn on February 17, 2009, 03:11:50 PM
If only it was as simple as that gerry, If only. Ill tell you what have a go at it and see how you get on.
Post by: Square Ball on February 17, 2009, 09:05:01 PM
Quote from: Bensars on February 04, 2009, 06:48:44 PM

You need the DS card initially. Inside it you can place a micro sd card. The 2gb card allows about  30+ games.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/game-storage-card-2GB-micro/dp/B001PNHLTE/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1233773043&sr=8-4 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/game-storage-card-2GB-micro/dp/B001PNHLTE/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1233773043&sr=8-4)   £21.75

Download the software and copy folder onto  the micro sd card.   Select english.

Create an empty folder called games for example on the SD card.   ( you should now have 2. One english(the software) and one games.

Download the DS roms (the games itself)  widely available (allegedly) with a quick search. Look for games followed by an "E" (european specific).Once roms downloaded and extracted simply copy and paste into the games folder on the SD card .If you dont have winrar to extract you can get a freecopy at www.downloads.com

is that easy to use? how do you put in the micro sd card?
Post by: Bensars on February 17, 2009, 09:35:21 PM
Just insert the micro sd card inside the bigger tt/ds card ( which is the same size as existing ds games cards)
Post by: Square Ball on February 22, 2009, 07:08:29 PM
Quote from: Bensars on February 04, 2009, 06:48:44 PM

went to buy the bloody thing and they have moved the page!!!!
Post by: Square Ball on February 23, 2009, 10:56:37 AM
anyone point me to get the corrrect card?
Post by: wdusln on February 23, 2009, 11:53:28 AM
cheapest/best i've seen is http://www2.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10289 (http://www2.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10289) u can get a pack with the micro sd included (see bottom of page) but i always get these of play.com
Post by: Square Ball on February 23, 2009, 12:26:58 PM
this one?

http://www2.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10402 (http://www2.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10402)

seems fiddley to me
Post by: gerry on February 23, 2009, 01:58:31 PM
i ordered this last week

http://www2.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.15613 (http://www2.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.15613)
Post by: Square Ball on February 23, 2009, 02:11:18 PM
Quote from: gerry on February 23, 2009, 01:58:31 PM
i ordered this last week

http://www2.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.15613 (http://www2.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.15613)

Gerry

let me know when you get it and how easy or not it is to get the games onto it.
Post by: gerry on February 23, 2009, 02:57:15 PM
Will do
Post by: The Corporal on February 25, 2009, 02:21:22 PM
Can you play Battle Mode over the wi-fi in Mario Kart DS or is it just Vs mode?
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 25, 2009, 04:16:20 PM
what if any video format will the DS play? Do I need any additional software? is it top screen only etc?
Post by: Karl Kennedy on February 25, 2009, 10:33:28 PM
Anyone else playing Professor Layton and the Curious Village? Great game!
Post by: gawa316 on February 25, 2009, 10:35:57 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on February 25, 2009, 10:33:28 PM

Got it for xmas. Brill game but not long enough. Finished it after a few days, even though I hadn't completed every puzzle.
Post by: Karl Kennedy on February 25, 2009, 10:37:54 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 25, 2009, 10:35:57 PM

Got it for xmas. Brill game but not long enough. Finished it after a few days, even though I hadn't completed every puzzle.

Yea they should probably make you finish every puzzle before letting you move on.
Post by: gawa316 on February 25, 2009, 10:41:35 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on February 25, 2009, 10:37:54 PM

Yea they should probably make you finish every puzzle before letting you move on.

Did you get all the furniture for their rooms? If so what happens?
Post by: Karl Kennedy on February 25, 2009, 10:54:27 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 25, 2009, 10:41:35 PM

Haven't got it all yet. Did you just guess who to give each piece to? All the pieces have to be arranged to Luke and Layton's liking.
Post by: gawa316 on February 25, 2009, 10:57:26 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on February 25, 2009, 10:54:27 PM

Haven't got it all yet. Did you just guess who to give each piece to? All the pieces have to be arranged to Luke and Layton's liking.

Yeah you can guage how happy they are with it, but because I hadn't found all the puzzles i must've missed out on a couple of pieces of furniture
Post by: The Corporal on February 26, 2009, 09:12:01 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 25, 2009, 10:41:35 PM

There are roughly about 118 puzzles in the actual game, once you complete the painting it opens up 3 more puzzles in the Bonus's screen at the start of the game, then when you get all the furniture and make Layton and his sidekick happy you'll open up 3 more puzzles in the Bonus's section. Same happens when you collect all the gizmo's and that. These puzzles are much harder than the 1's in the actual game.
Post by: maco on March 01, 2009, 10:15:52 PM
Criostlinn - received the games on Friday and have to say I am very impressed. Some great games, although I have not had a chance to go through most of them yet. Glad to see Bubble Bobble there - this was an old favourite of mine on the Commodore 64.

Thanks.
Post by: bcarrier on March 02, 2009, 03:43:35 PM
Is there a PSP version of these memory cards ?
Post by: thebigfella on March 02, 2009, 04:41:45 PM
You used to be able to play games from memory sticks, depending on the version of the firmware you have. Problem is Sony keep updating it as soon as it gets hacked or games get released that are incompatible with older hacked firmware version.
Post by: gerry on March 02, 2009, 07:24:30 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on March 02, 2009, 03:43:35 PM
Is there a PSP version of these memory cards ?

There is, but you need to down grade your psp for it to work. You also might wreck your psp if it goes wrong which they call bricking it. A few google searches should sort you with all the info you need.
Post by: Square Ball on March 02, 2009, 07:38:31 PM
got my card earlier on today, having fun d/l games for the daughter, and not having to pay for them is even better, god bless the board
Post by: gerry on March 02, 2009, 08:08:24 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on March 02, 2009, 07:38:31 PM
got my card earlier on today, having fun d/l games for the daughter, and not having to pay for them is even better, god bless the board

Did you buy your card from the poster on here or did you do it yourself. I am still waiting on my to come from the states, it taken ages  >:(
Post by: Square Ball on March 02, 2009, 08:16:24 PM
got mine on line, Shortso 79 recommended a place for me, I will fire you on the pm. got it in 4 days and very simple to use. I was looking at some of the other ones and them seem a bit fiddley to use, this one was up and running with a few clicks
Post by: Shortso79 on March 02, 2009, 08:58:48 PM
You're Right Square Ball - God bless this Board !

got mine up and running two weeks ago - great job - see new DS out in April - think its called DSI

Post by: Medic on March 02, 2009, 09:30:58 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on March 02, 2009, 08:58:48 PM
see new DS out in April - think its called DSI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63Mcne5xHK4
Post by: thebigfella on March 02, 2009, 11:10:13 PM
Quote from: Medic on March 02, 2009, 09:30:58 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on March 02, 2009, 08:58:48 PM
see new DS out in April - think its called DSI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63Mcne5xHK4

I wouldn't get it, the DSi is now region locked and it stops you using the memory cards. Thats Nintendo's main driver for the upgrade of the hardware.
Post by: The Iceman on March 03, 2009, 07:24:29 PM
got the r4 chip there myself and a micro sd card - have about 150 games on my computer and then just drag and drop 30 at a time to play when i want
really enjoying some of the older games like bomberman and mario kart but the new stuff like spiderman and even the language coaching games are entertaining

ds is a great job
Post by: The Iceman on March 18, 2009, 06:45:52 PM
Lost in Blue
great wee game
Post by: thebigfella on March 23, 2009, 01:25:53 PM
Finally spent a bit of time playing GTA Chinatown Wars on the DS over the weekend. IMHO would say it's gonna be up there for game of the year, excellent reviews so far and instantly more adictive than GTA 4.
Post by: gerry on March 25, 2009, 07:51:47 PM
Quote from: gerry on February 23, 2009, 01:58:31 PM
i ordered this last week

i eventually received my card last week and have being tryng to no avail to get it to work and have finally admitted defeat.

i have formatted the micro card with fat 32 and dragged across the eng folder that i downloaded from the site and a games folder for my downloaded games but every time i load the ttds card i get a red menu icon with a question mark.

what am i doing wrong
Post by: thebigfella on March 25, 2009, 10:12:29 PM
what files are in the eng folder? I think the files in there need to in the root.

"Usage:download and unzip kernel file package, copy the " TTMENU " directory and TTMenu.dat and TTMenu.sys file from the necessary language directory to the root directory of TransFlash ( TF ) memory card (e.g. the simplified kernel file)."
Post by: leenie on March 26, 2009, 12:42:35 AM

i am on puzzle 100 on professor layton ... the one where you have to make 7 squares on the pin board and i cannot do it.... driving me mental and i really don't want to look up a walkthrough !!!!!!

Post by: gerry on March 26, 2009, 07:16:48 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 25, 2009, 10:12:29 PM
what files are in the eng folder? I think the files in there need to in the root.

"Usage:download and unzip kernel file package, copy the " TTMENU " directory and TTMenu.dat and TTMenu.sys file from the necessary language directory to the root directory of TransFlash ( TF ) memory card (e.g. the simplified kernel file)."

finally got it sorted all i had to do was open the eng folder and drag across the files inside it

cheers
Post by: Rossie11 on April 23, 2009, 02:00:15 PM
QuoteI have a few of these at home if anyone is interested. they have 4 gb memory and are loaded with about 80 games. I got some for christmas presents and have a few left. Best gadget I ever got and saves a fortune.

Got one of these cards from Croislinn this week. 80+ games for peanuts.
Cracking value and wouldnt have had the patience to go uploading them myself.
As someone said God bless the board..

Top job Criostlinn..
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 23, 2009, 02:08:11 PM
Playing Lego Batman atm, going grand, but there are these jobees that I keep building onto the walls (shaped like a rhombus with a wee flap that drops down when you approach it) I have no feckin idea what they are for or do - HELP please.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 23, 2009, 07:56:10 PM
Bump.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 24, 2009, 12:06:00 PM
Quote from: leenie on March 26, 2009, 12:42:35 AM

i am on puzzle 100 on professor layton ... the one where you have to make 7 squares on the pin board and i cannot do it.... driving me mental and i really don't want to look up a walkthrough !!!!!!

Stuck on this one also!  :-[
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 24, 2009, 11:30:56 PM
Ffs people, can anyone please help?!!!
Post by: gawa316 on April 25, 2009, 08:11:56 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 24, 2009, 11:30:56 PM

Do you want the answer of just a clue?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 25, 2009, 10:00:04 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 25, 2009, 08:11:56 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 24, 2009, 11:30:56 PM

Do you want the answer of just a clue?

Answer please.
Also help with thte Batman one.
Post by: Square Ball on April 25, 2009, 10:43:44 AM

(http://faqsmedia.ign.com/faqs/image/article/882/882222/professor_layton_100.jpg)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 25, 2009, 10:54:12 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 25, 2009, 10:43:44 AM

(http://faqsmedia.ign.com/faqs/image/article/882/882222/professor_layton_100.jpg)

Thanks, didn't realise that you could cut across lines!

Any idea on the Batman question?
Post by: Square Ball on April 25, 2009, 11:11:20 AM
Sorry GDA, no idea on the Batman one. My ones chreated on that one on Layton as well
Post by: gawa316 on April 26, 2009, 06:01:40 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 25, 2009, 10:54:12 AM

What is the batman question?
Post by: leenie on April 26, 2009, 06:34:08 PM
the squares sent me mental....

i thought i had finished the game but there is loads of hidden puzzles.... my mam has 136 puzzles done... i only did 109
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 27, 2009, 11:20:47 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 26, 2009, 06:01:40 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 25, 2009, 10:54:12 AM

What is the batman question?

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 23, 2009, 02:08:11 PM
Playing Lego Batman atm, going grand, but there are these jobees that I keep building onto the walls (shaped like a rhombus with a wee flap that drops down when you approach it) I have no feckin idea what they are for or do - HELP please.
Post by: gawa316 on April 27, 2009, 11:23:08 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 27, 2009, 11:20:47 AM

Oh right, sorry I thought you were still talking about Layton. Sorry can't help
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 27, 2009, 01:34:39 PM
Batman - do you mean the travel chutes? If so you need to use one of the smaller characters to travel them, walk up and hit one of the buttons (cant rem which one) and you will use the chute.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 27, 2009, 01:48:28 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on April 27, 2009, 01:34:39 PM
Batman - do you mean the travel chutes? If so you need to use one of the smaller characters to travel them, walk up and hit one of the buttons (cant rem which one) and you will use the chute.

No not them, robin and another character can use them.
The things you can build are the chutes, the tall thin lever which you pull, the circle things on the floor that batman can use his grapple hook from, the tergets on the walls, the buttons on the ground and then the thing I cannot work out the use of ; flat rhombus shaped object on the wall with a smallish block on the front that drops down when you approach it.
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 27, 2009, 01:56:31 PM
post up the level, room, location etc, and Ill dig out the game tonight and see if I can work out what your describing. Its a while since I finished it so memory isnt the best, or better still if you can find an image on the net
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 27, 2009, 02:17:22 PM
Do these things have diff colour panels on then Blue Gold or Silver?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 27, 2009, 02:24:54 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on April 27, 2009, 02:17:22 PM

Aye and the only one that I've gotten anything out of so far is a white panelled one in the Penguins section.
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 27, 2009, 02:28:43 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 27, 2009, 02:24:54 PM

Aye and the only one that I've gotten anything out of so far is a white panelled one in the Penguins section.

each of these require a key- You get the key by finding the corresponding Red Brick, and then purchasing the key in the Batcave with the studs you have collected, if you dont have the key the panel wont open.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 27, 2009, 02:38:02 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on April 27, 2009, 02:28:43 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 27, 2009, 02:24:54 PM

each of these require a key- You get the key by finding the corresponding Red Brick, and then purchasing the key in the Batcave with the studs you have collected, if you dont have the key the panel wont open.

Thanks, was doing my head in.
Post by: leenie on April 28, 2009, 03:54:16 PM
 i loved professor layton... was looking for something similar... any ideas?
Post by: SidelineKick on May 11, 2009, 09:13:14 AM
Almost bought one yesterday but the queue was too big and I have the flu and couldnt be bothered waiting.  Would it be worth getting one? What should I get and how much will it be?
Post by: mikasas on May 11, 2009, 10:47:14 AM
Criostlinn, do you sell the SD card and TT card toogether with all games downloaded or just the SD card, or even still just a DVD with all the games?
Do you have the GTA chinatown wars game on the package and how much is it again and do you have any left?
Thanks for any help!
Post by: Bainisteoir on May 11, 2009, 01:43:00 PM
My wee one has a DS and i wanna get some info on the "R4 card". What exactly is it, how does it work and where can i get one? Cheers
Post by: ceol agus peil on May 12, 2009, 05:54:18 PM
The R4 is a piece of hardware which requires very little knowledge on how to fit and use. You simply need to buy the r4 card and a micro SD card. If your computer does not support expandable memory slots you many need to buy an adapter but before doing so check if you could use your phone as an adapter using a micro SD slot and your phone's usb cable to drag and drop games onto it. You then remove the micro SD from you phone or adapter and place it into your r4 which is further place into your ds.
The R4 cards are available from:
www.dhgate.com
www.ishopvideogame.com
www.dealextreme.com

Micro SD Cards and adapters are readily available from most popular sites e.g play, amazon and ebay.

DSTT Cards are also available which are cheaper than the R4 and can be found by simply typing dstt into a google search.

Post by: SidelineKick on May 12, 2009, 06:01:58 PM
Do they work on the DSi???

Where's the best place to download the games?
Post by: thebigfella on May 12, 2009, 06:14:30 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on May 12, 2009, 06:01:58 PM

Not sure, one on the main drivers behind the DSi was to try and stop these cards from working. I suspect lots of the makers of these cards are already updating their cards/firmware to work.

Try the Cyclo DS evolution. They are usually quite good at updating their firmware
Post by: ceol agus peil on May 12, 2009, 08:27:50 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on May 12, 2009, 06:14:30 PM

Not sure, one on the main drivers behind the DSi was to try and stop these cards from working. I suspect lots of the makers of these cards are already updating their cards/firmware to work.

Try the Cyclo DS evolution. They are usually quite good at updating their firmware

If you go to dhgate you will find r4 cards compatible to work with the dsi. The best place to download games are from torrent sites and also megaupload and rapidshare.
Post by: Larry Duff on July 10, 2009, 10:18:16 PM
HELP NEEDED

Just dropped my DS and cracked the bottom screen. >:(  The surface is fine there's just a large crack underneath. How difficult is it to fit a replacement screen?  Any recommendations for where I would get one?
Post by: gerry on July 10, 2009, 11:39:48 PM
Quote from: Larry Duff on July 10, 2009, 10:18:16 PM
HELP NEEDED

Just dropped my DS and cracked the bottom screen. >:(  The surface is fine there's just a large crack underneath. How difficult is it to fit a replacement screen?  Any recommendations for where I would get one?

here (http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3175)

i have bought other stuff from this site, takes about two weeks for it to arrive though
Post by: Larry Duff on July 11, 2009, 11:03:27 AM
Cheers Gerry, checked out that site. Going to order one along with their dstt cards.  Any tips on fitting the screen. will I wreck the DS if I try to fit it myself?
Post by: Square Ball on July 11, 2009, 11:07:27 AM

I use http://www.romulation.net/ (http://www.romulation.net/) they have most games and they are usually downloaded within a minute.

only use the European ones
Post by: Shortso79 on July 11, 2009, 01:09:38 PM
Square Ball - what download software do you use ?
Post by: Square Ball on July 11, 2009, 01:20:34 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on July 11, 2009, 01:09:38 PM
Square Ball - what download software do you use ?

none, its downloaded in winraw and unzip it into a folder, easy peasy.

Post by: Shortso79 on July 11, 2009, 01:49:37 PM
Cheers - its a great job  :)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 12, 2009, 08:18:23 PM
I downloaded a few games, but when I try to load them up they won't load. Keep's trying to find the .sav file and then wont load the game. As the game hasn't been played yet, the DS doesnt get the chance to create the .sav file. Is there anywhere online to download the .sav file for that game so it can load up?
Post by: gerry on July 13, 2009, 12:01:18 AM
Quote from: Larry Duff on July 11, 2009, 11:03:27 AM
Cheers Gerry, checked out that site. Going to order one along with their dstt cards.  Any tips on fitting the screen. will I wreck the DS if I try to fit it myself?

this should help you (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fw4FJYWFwbg)
Post by: criostlinn on July 14, 2009, 11:08:46 AM
I still got a few dstt cards left which have 4gb micro sd and are loaded with about 80 games if anyone is interested. €30 + pp which is €5. Send me a pm if interested.
Post by: full back on July 14, 2009, 11:11:44 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 14, 2009, 11:08:46 AM
I still got a few dstt cards left which have 4gb micro sd and are loaded with about 80 games if anyone is interested. €30 + pp which is €5. Send me a pm if interested.

Oi Croistlinn ya fecker ye
I was robbed :'( ;)
Post by: criostlinn on July 14, 2009, 11:46:55 AM
Sorry mate. These recessionary times gotta find buyers to get rid of these yokes. Maybe you'd like another one, I could do you a deal
Post by: full back on July 14, 2009, 11:54:30 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 14, 2009, 11:46:55 AM
Sorry mate. These recessionary times gotta find buyers to get rid of these yokes. Maybe you'd like another one, I could do you a deal

:D :D
Maybe you could

What games have you got?
Post by: criostlinn on July 14, 2009, 12:00:10 PM
I downloaded more upto date games recently. It has stuff like GTA Chinawars, Professor Layton, etc
Post by: full back on July 14, 2009, 12:03:17 PM
Wouldnt know anything about the games
Are most of the games on the other card?
Post by: criostlinn on July 14, 2009, 12:07:54 PM
Yea more or less. Just a few new ones released in the last few months. Its easy enough for you to put them on the card you already have.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 27, 2009, 09:54:59 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 14, 2009, 11:08:46 AM

criostlinn do those cards work with the dsi ?
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 28, 2009, 09:29:06 AM
bump
Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 23, 2009, 09:39:23 PM
Any one use the M3 Simply DS cards for the Nintendo DS? Have had a problem recently playing downloaded games. When I try and add a new game to the memory card, it wont seem to play through the DS. Would it just be that I need to update the firmware on the memory card. Nothing else that I can think of as the game seemed to have downloaded fine and was from a good source.
Post by: criostlinn on November 24, 2009, 12:02:45 AM
Sorry Deelrover,

Was away for a few days.

The ones I have dont work with the dsi.

I think they can be got thou

Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 24, 2009, 09:36:31 AM
Try http://www.dsihacker.com (http://www.dsihacker.com)
Post by: takeyourownpath on November 24, 2009, 08:09:35 PM
i LOVE my ds, bought her preowned out of game, 60quid qith two games, love it! best buy ever!
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 05:40:51 PM
Was looking at these this evening and going to get one, then thought I'd leave it and ripping now I didnt. 
Def going in to get one tomorrow.  But my question - what games do yous recommend. 

I've got Mario Kart (got it cheap on ebay couple of weeks back) and I'm pretty sure I'll get Super Mario Bros as part of the package.  What else is good?  Everyone seems to enjoy these professor layton games? What about GTA chinatown wars, anyone play that because I love GTA on the Xbox.  Are any of these murder mystery type games any good, I like the sound of them?
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 07, 2009, 10:27:21 PM
Help................
Post by: BenDover on March 01, 2010, 09:24:07 AM
Can any of you guys help me? Got myself an R4 card and I'm trying to download the firmware to allow it to work in my DS. So here's the steps i've followed from: http://www.ndstt.com/download.html
1)Download >>        TTi_14_Check v2.0   
2)Download >>        TTiCheck v2.1                           md5 tool
3)Download >>        Refixed TTMenu Kernel v1.17a12, 2009-12-21 new 
4)Download >>        Multi Media Software - MoonShell 1.71 

but when i start my DS up I get the following error message "couldn't find_DS_Menu.dat

any ideas what I have done wrong? Any of you have a dummies guide on hom to get this working  :)

Post by: illdecide on March 01, 2010, 09:45:31 AM
My daughters DS is messing about. Last week out of the blue it said it couldn't read the R4 card so i took the memory card out and checked it out on my laptop and the games were fine on it so i ordered a new R4 card. It came and still it wont work so i ordered a new memory card for it, it came and i downloaded the games on it and put it in and it boots up with the we DS noise at the start and touch the screen to start and then it just goes to a black screen which say's "Loading..." but thats as far as it goes.

Does anyone know what else i can try or what am i doing wrong?
Post by: BenDover on March 01, 2010, 11:44:30 AM
I had the exact same problem illdecide, mine had stopped reading official DS games so I sent it off to Nintendo to get repaired and when i got it back i was getting the 'Loading' screen when trying to play my R4 card games so I tried to update the firmware just in case it was that  but as you can see I'm having trouble doing that  ???
Post by: illdecide on March 01, 2010, 12:02:25 PM
Quote from: BenDover on March 01, 2010, 11:44:30 AM
I had the exact same problem illdecide, mine had stopped reading official DS games so I sent it off to Nintendo to get repaired and when i got it back i was getting the 'Loading' screen when trying to play my R4 card games so I tried to update the firmware just in case it was that  but as you can see I'm having trouble doing that  ???

BD the difference with mine is when i put in an offical game it works like a clock but for some reason it doesn't like the R4 card. It worked fine from Christmas but all of a sudden it decided to stop with the R4...dunno what to do now as the official games are really expensive and couldn't afford to buy a load of them at the mo ???
Post by: BenDover on March 01, 2010, 01:57:29 PM
Should have said mine now plays the offical games no bother but like yours the R4 card is being completely ignored hopefully someone on here can help us
Post by: theskull1 on March 01, 2010, 02:35:52 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 01, 2010, 12:02:25 PM
BD the difference with mine is when i put in an offical game it works like a clock but for some reason it doesn't like the R4 card. It worked fine from Christmas but all of a sudden it decided to stop with the R4...dunno what to do now as the official games are really expensive and couldn't afford to buy a load of them at the mo ???

Does your daughter play games online illdecide? Wonder has nintendo secretly sent a firmware update to stop R4s working on the ds?
Post by: illdecide on March 01, 2010, 03:01:46 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on March 01, 2010, 02:35:52 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 01, 2010, 12:02:25 PM

Does your daughter play games online illdecide? Wonder has nintendo secretly sent a firmware update to stop R4s working on the ds?

No Skull, the DS has never been on line so there is no way that could have happened unless when the games where downloaded onto the card there was a corrupt file in one of the games and when the game was played or tried to play it raised it's ugly head...just a thought?
Post by: Aerlik on March 01, 2010, 03:06:41 PM
I see some lad sold a 1980s Nintendo game in its original packaging and shrink wrapping for $43K.  He bought it for $29.99.  That's one helluva profit in 30 years.
Post by: leenie on April 15, 2010, 12:16:52 AM
anyone play zelda spirit tracks.... feckin head wreckin but addicted to it, have an exam 2moro but have spent all night on it... 
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 07:58:30 PM
Quote from: leenie on April 15, 2010, 12:16:52 AM
anyone play zelda spirit tracks.... feckin head wreckin but addicted to it, have an exam 2moro but have spent all night on it...
No but I was looking at buying that, what exactly do you do, is it puzzles etc? 

The housemate has a serious addiction to "101 in 1"
Post by: leenie on April 15, 2010, 08:11:37 PM
its not puzzles as such.... its a proper game with battles and all different lands/levels but it's more logic, ya have to remember things and know when to use your different tools, its wile addictive!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2010, 10:10:45 PM
I am going to be completey stupid.

Where can you download DS games? I tried some of the sites that people pointed to a few pages back and can't seem to dload anything from there!
Post by: gerry on July 29, 2010, 01:43:22 AM
here you go

ds games (http://thepiratebay.org/search/nds/0/99/0)

maybe you should read this

Game copiers for Nintendo DS ruled illegal in UK (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-10790835)  thank feck we are not part of the uk then 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on September 16, 2010, 04:19:41 PM
Does anyone know anywhere to pick up R4 cards these days? They are short supply following the ruling above.

Tried loads of sites but none shipping here or in the 'Free state'!!

Post by: lolafrola on September 16, 2010, 05:00:39 PM
http://www.r4ds-r4i.co.uk/ (http://www.r4ds-r4i.co.uk/)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on September 16, 2010, 07:21:27 PM
Quote from: lolafrola on September 16, 2010, 05:00:39 PM
http://www.r4ds-r4i.co.uk/ (http://www.r4ds-r4i.co.uk/)

Doesn't like my address...!
Post by: lolafrola on November 01, 2010, 12:51:28 PM
Quote from: gerry on July 29, 2010, 01:43:22 AM
here you go

ds games (http://thepiratebay.org/search/nds/0/99/0)

maybe you should read this

Game copiers for Nintendo DS ruled illegal in UK (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-10790835)  thank feck we are not part of the uk then

Does anyone know if you download games of Pirate Bay and you have "Peer Block" on is that the best way to stop the authorities tracking your IP address and sending you a bill?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 09, 2010, 02:53:53 AM
Do you need to download the latest software for the R4 cards to play the latest DS games?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 22, 2010, 10:27:57 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 09, 2010, 02:53:53 AM
Do you need to download the latest software for the R4 cards to play the latest DS games?

Bump de bump.
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 10:32:17 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 22, 2010, 10:27:57 AM

Bump de bump.

Those R4 cards are very strange, there no longer seems to be an official firmware for them but loads of unofficial ones that all claim some kind of officialness.  Long story short is yes you do but its not the simplest thing to find the right one you are after.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 22, 2010, 10:50:23 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 10:32:17 AM

Bump de bump.

Those R4 cards are very strange, there no longer seems to be an official firmware for them but loads of unofficial ones that all claim some kind of officialness.  Long story short is yes you do but its not the simplest thing to find the right one you are after.

True. The site I bought the card off has firmware on it from 2008, but looking to update for the latest games Toy Story 3 etc.
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 11:33:12 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 22, 2010, 10:50:23 AM

Bump de bump.

True. The site I bought the card off has firmware on it from 2008, but looking to update for the latest games Toy Story 3 etc.

I updated mine around the start of the summer and touch wood havent had a problem playing anything since.  That said it took me ages to get the correct firmware and I havent played much since anyway.  Ill see if I can find the firmware I used and pm you with it
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 22, 2010, 11:41:30 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 11:33:12 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 22, 2010, 10:50:23 AM

Bump de bump.

I updated mine around the start of the summer and touch wood havent had a problem playing anything since.  That said it took me ages to get the correct firmware and I havent played much since anyway.  Ill see if I can find the firmware I used and pm you with it

Good man. Thanks.
Post by: StGallsGAA on December 22, 2010, 01:31:42 PM
Just bought the wee one a DSi. 

Anyone know where I can pick up one of those cards with pre-loaded games for it?

thanks
Post by: Megaman on December 22, 2010, 02:15:00 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on December 22, 2010, 01:31:42 PM

Anyone know where I can pick up one of those cards with pre-loaded games for it?

thanks

Where & what price did you get it for st galls, heading now to get one for my son.

also interested in the card if anyone knows.
Post by: StGallsGAA on December 22, 2010, 03:41:04 PM
£94 in Sainsburys for a black one.
Post by: illdecide on January 03, 2011, 07:21:02 PM
How do u play the DS on line? i got my daughter SuperMario and i believe there is an option on it to play against Mario or Luigi depending who u pick and I'll assume with other games you can play against others on line.

If someone could guide me on what settings is needed to play on line (if possible)...
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 03, 2011, 07:40:02 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on December 22, 2010, 01:31:42 PM

thanks

http://www.consolemodz.com/productmain.asp?ID=173 (http://www.consolemodz.com/productmain.asp?ID=173)
http://www.m3adapter.com/Products.htm (http://www.m3adapter.com/Products.htm)
Post by: tbrick18 on January 03, 2011, 09:01:27 PM
The R4 cards have evolved along with the DS.
There is an R4 which works with the DS Lite, and the new R4i which works with DSi and DS Lite.
If you have a DSi with an R4 card it wont work no matter what firmware you have.

Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 03, 2011, 10:17:32 PM
Lads is it worth getting a DS??

Very tempted to purchase these last few days.

I dont have the excuse of having any children.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 04, 2011, 12:18:25 AM
I've a black one which I'd sell you for £65 + p&p. It's in perfect nick
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 12:27:32 AM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 03, 2011, 10:17:32 PM
Lads is it worth getting a DS??

Very tempted to purchase these last few days.

I dont have the excuse of having any children.
Depends.
Mine's rarely looked at when I've the xbox within reach but it clocked up some hours over the last week or so when I was at home particularly since there was nothing on the tv!
Post by: mikasas on January 04, 2011, 10:09:28 AM
Anyone able to give me direction to the new professor layton game and how to download it onto one of those card jobbies?
Post by: illdecide on January 04, 2011, 11:35:29 AM
And getting back to my query :P

How do u play on-line. Is there a cable u plug into the DS and then into the router or is there wireless settings on the DS that I'm not aware off?
Post by: Megaman on January 14, 2011, 12:01:42 PM
Where do you guys download the games to use with the R4i ??

any reccommendations for games i shoudl get....for the kids.......and me ::)
Post by: illdecide on January 14, 2011, 12:22:56 PM
Quote from: Megaman on January 14, 2011, 12:01:42 PM

Download Peerblock which blocks your IP Address then Pirate Bay and download to your hearts content. You will have extract tehm after downloaded.
Post by: Megaman on January 14, 2011, 12:30:00 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 14, 2011, 12:22:56 PM
Quote from: Megaman on January 14, 2011, 12:01:42 PM

Download Peerblock which blocks your IP Address then Pirate Bay and download to your hearts content. You will have extract tehm after downloaded.

thanks
Post by: paco on January 14, 2011, 05:30:05 PM
I'd say you wait until the 3DS comes out. Not sure what price it'll be but it looks like it's gonna be great, some class games to be released with it and I'm sure it'll have backwards compatiblity of some sort.
Post by: gerry on December 30, 2011, 02:43:24 PM
Quote from: paco on January 14, 2011, 05:30:05 PM
I'd say you wait until the 3DS comes out. Not sure what price it'll be but it looks like it's gonna be great, some class games to be released with it and I'm sure it'll have backwards compatiblity of some sort.

santa brought one last week, can't say that i am impressed
Post by: southdown on December 30, 2011, 04:52:10 PM
i have one of the first DS's, id say i used the thing twice if anyone wants to buy it, have  af ew decent games including mario kart
Post by: Puckoon on December 30, 2011, 04:58:14 PM
Quote from: gerry on December 30, 2011, 02:43:24 PM
Quote from: paco on January 14, 2011, 05:30:05 PM

santa brought one last week, can't say that i am impressed

Replaced the DS lite that fell in the bath tub with the 3DS for the wife for Christmas and I can't get her to come to bed early for love nor money. She's very impressed with it. Or maybe it's a relative scale when weighed up with the option of coming to bed.
Post by: gerry on December 30, 2011, 05:48:38 PM
It sounds like a win, win situation all round puck.  The great thing about the ds is that the games are free via the pirate bay.
Post by: Puckoon on December 30, 2011, 05:50:25 PM
Yes, she was complaining that the R4 card she used for games for the DS is not going to work with the 3DS.

But sure if she's happily battling Voldermort in 3D then who am I to argue.
Post by: gerry on December 30, 2011, 11:56:40 PM
not sure on the r4 cards but i was able to update the software on an acekard 2i, to get it to work on the 3ds
Post by: illdecide on October 04, 2012, 11:28:29 PM
it hasn't been talked about in a while so thought i'd bounce a few ideas of you guys before the rush...i plan to get my daughter a 3DS for Christmas and was wondering are they worth the money? is there a new model due out? and can i download games onto a memory card like i did for the old DS (R4 cards)
Post by: illdecide on November 14, 2012, 12:24:19 AM
Have any of you guys bought a 3DS? Should be ordering one this week for my daughter and was wondering what the quality is like and value for money. Done a bit of research on them and it appears an R4 card with copied games work fine!!!can anyone confirm this before i buy.
Post by: BenDover on November 14, 2012, 09:49:46 AM
Quote from: illdecide on November 14, 2012, 12:24:19 AM
Have any of you guys bought a 3DS? Should be ordering one this week for my daughter and was wondering what the quality is like and value for money. Done a bit of research on them and it appears an R4 card with copied games work fine!!!can anyone confirm this before i buy.
Think my younger bro has this on Santa's List as well, so if the R4 is confirmed as working for this a simple how to guide of whats needed and where best to download the games  from and how to install onto R4 card would be well appreciated
Post by: johnneycool on November 14, 2012, 10:08:47 AM
Is the 3DS any good?

Santa is looking into one for the young fella, he's only 6, so not so sure about it!!
Post by: illdecide on November 16, 2012, 09:51:50 AM
Same operation as DS or DSi console.
1. Download latest r4 kernel to computer, and unzip it.
2. Copy all kernel files to the root of MicroSD card.
3. Download some games to computer, and unzip it.
4. Copy the game file to the MicroSD card.

then you can play the games on 3DS console with r4 3ds card. (3ds games is not available).
Do step by step as below link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6L02jnp49...
Source(s):
http://r4town.com/products/R4i-SDHC-3DS-...

I found a more detailed report on how to do it but just can't put my finger on it at the mo but when i do i'll post it up.

On a serious note i have read and heard from a few that the new 3ds is causing headaches when used for 30 mins or more in kids and adults...so need to look into this too...
Post by: tbrick18 on November 16, 2012, 10:06:43 AM
Quote from: illdecide on November 16, 2012, 09:51:50 AM
Same operation as DS or DSi console.
1. Download latest r4 kernel to computer, and unzip it.
2. Copy all kernel files to the root of MicroSD card.
3. Download some games to computer, and unzip it.
4. Copy the game file to the MicroSD card.

then you can play the games on 3DS console with r4 3ds card. (3ds games is not available).
Do step by step as below link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6L02jnp49...
Source(s):
http://r4town.com/products/R4i-SDHC-3DS-...

I found a more detailed report on how to do it but just can't put my finger on it at the mo but when i do i'll post it up.

On a serious note i have read and heard from a few that the new 3ds is causing headaches when used for 30 mins or more in kids and adults...so need to look into this too...

Heard that too.
Santa was playing with the idea of getting my 3 oldest (6,5,4) 3DS's but price was a bit of an issue!
Instead Santa opted for cheapy Android Tablets (as they're always feckin about with Santa's phone downloading games etc). I think they'll get as much use out of them and they were £70 each.
Post by: BenDover on November 16, 2012, 10:09:29 AM
Thanks for that illdecide, was chatting to my mum about this R4 business for the 3DS Santa is bringing and she told me she found the following site http://www.3dsigames.co.uk/index.asp seems that they do it all for ye. How legit could this site be?
Post by: illdecide on November 16, 2012, 10:33:03 AM
Judging by many of the comments made on Twitter, it seems clear that the 3D effect in Nintendo's new 3DS has caused more than a handful of headaches. Nintendo has responded, claiming that a short break is usually more than enough to alleviate any such symptoms.

Responding to a MaxConsole story which compiled complaints made on Twitter about eye strain or headaches caused by the 3DS, Nintendo U.K.'s Robert Saunders stated, "We have shown Nintendo 3DS at multiple events around the world to literally hundreds of thousands of people and have received very few negative comments. As with anything that requires focus, from reading to staring at a computer screen, taking breaks frequent breaks is always recommended.

"When viewing any kind of 3D images (TV, movies etc.), some people might experience minor discomfort. The effects are short term and have no lasting effect, in fact most players can continue after taking a short break. The Nintendo 3D was designed with a 3D depth slider that lets users adjust the 3D effect to a level that suits them for optimum enjoyment."

The depth slider can completely turn off the 3D effect, which should be able to completely eliminate the potentially headache-inducing aspect of the system. Of course, that's a potentially frustrating choice to have to make for people who had looked forward to enjoying their $40 launch titles in 3D.

Nintendo issued a warning about children playing games in 3D last year, although eye experts seemed to think it was unnecessary. Nintendo has since said it was intended to protect the company against lawsuits, and just recently, the possibility was suggested that the 3DS could be used to help identify children with vision problems.
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 07, 2012, 11:42:04 AM
Lads where can you by a r4 card for a ds ?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 07, 2012, 10:10:24 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 07, 2012, 11:42:04 AM

I find them a pain to find online as they are illegal afaik.

If you're stuck I might have a spare one somewhere. I'd need to check though.
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 08, 2012, 10:03:57 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 07, 2012, 10:10:24 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 07, 2012, 11:42:04 AM

I find them a pain to find online as they are illegal afaik.

If you're stuck I might have a spare one somewhere. I'd need to check though.

Thanks for the offer Norf Tyrone appreciate, it but i'm sure i'll track one down somewhere you might need it again yourself.