http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/euro75m-bonanza-1246496.html
QuoteBy Martin Breheny
Friday December 14 2007
The GAA is close to signing off on a Christmas bonanza which is likely to earn €75m from TV and sponsorship deals over the next three years.
It is very close to concluding the new €9.7m per year deal for a six-way sponsorship of the All-Ireland hurling and football championships while negotiations are at an advanced stage on the new TV arrangements which will see TV3 and Setanta sharing coverage with RTE for the first time.
The TV and the sponsorship deals are linked, with broadcasters required to use the various company names as part of their match day presentations, similar to what prevails for major international events.
Financial details of the various arrangements have not been made available publicly but according to a confidential promotional pack, seen by the Irish Independent, the GAA priced the All-Ireland football championship sponsorship at €5.1m per company for three years and hurling at €4.6m.
Six companies -- three for either code -- were being sought, bringing the total take for the 2008-2009-2010 seasons to €29.1m, more than three times the return from Guinness and Bank of Ireland who have sponsored the championships since the mid-90s.
The new TV deal, which ends RTE's monopoly of All-Ireland senior championship coverage, is expected to be worth at least €15m a year.
Figures for this year's media coverage are not available but the GAA's annual accounts for 2006 show that it yielded €6.9m. However, it's certain to be considerably higher under the new arrangements and may actually reach €15m. The new TV deal has been broken into a whole series of packages, including TV and radio rights at national and local level.
The top of the range package features TV rights for the All-Ireland finals, semi-finals and quarter-finals. Packages two and three feature various break-ups of 10 provincial and All-Ireland qualifier games, followed by packages four and five which are comprised of 10 picks from further down the line.
The National League and All-Ireland club championship feature on further packages while there are multi-packages involving lesser TV coverage such as news and on-the-spot reports and radio at national and local level.
Pay-per-view
TV3 has already secured the rights for a package which features seven provincial and three qualifier ties. The rest are still being negotiated although it's certain that RTE will retain its hold on the glamour games at the concluding stages of the championships.
Setanta's involvement has raised the spectre of pay-per-view although this has been vehemently denied by the company.
However, others insist that while it's not on the agenda at present, it could raise its controversial head if Setanta establish a firm foothold on GAA coverage over the next few years.
The break-up of RTE's monopoly is good news for the GAA who now stand to earn up to twice as much from TV coverage while radio at all levels is being targeted in a specific way for the first time. Local radio has provided an excellent service for the GAA over the past decade but since many of the stations are now hugely profitable and being sold for large amounts, their days of enjoying free access to Gaelic Games are almost certainly over.
Meanwhile, the new sponsorship proposals, which will see no overall titled backer for either hurling and football, has met with an enthusiastic response from the corporate world according to the GAA's Director of Marketing, Dermot Power.
He said that the football championships had been over-subscribed while there was plenty of interest in hurling too.
"It shows just how highly Gaelic Games are regarded right now," said Power, who has headed the sponsorship negotiations.
The GAA hopes to be able to announce details of the new sponsorship, possibly as early as next week.
The new TV/sponsorship deals will boost the GAA's coffers to unprecedented levels as, if all goes to plan, they can look forward to banking €25m a year over the next three years from those sources alone.
- Martin Breheny
So what are they going to do with the cash bonanza I hear you all say, well, apparently, they're going to have free admission to all games from now on, I want to be the first to commend the guys at the top on a great and visionary idea. What better promotion for our games could there be, using tv money to subsidise the attending supporter is a novel idea and not only promotes the game, but better atmosphere in packed grounds leads to a better product for tv purposes.
Brilliant
but the GPA lads now want 'company cars'
Music to Dessie's ears !!!!!!!!!!! Money,money,money, give us more money or else we'll go on strike !!
Some wedge of cash alright. They could reduce ticket prices a bit. Do up some of the more tired looking grounds.
A man could buy a couple of solid gold houses and a few rocket cars with that kind of scratch. :o
Lets build massive county grounds in every county in Ireland - Minimun 60k and a smaller one of 30k for County Jnr B finals.
Wait a minute....apparently thats been done.
Now Mr Farrell, to whom do I make this cheque out to... ;D
Quote from: bingobus on December 14, 2007, 01:00:27 PM
Lets build massive county grounds in every county in Ireland - Minimun 60k and a smaller one of 30k for County Jnr B finals.
build loads of all weather pitches so games can be played and training can occur all year round - more applicable for kids leagues/training to keep them interested, rather than have them bored all wnter long with unplayable pitches
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 14, 2007, 01:08:01 PM
build loads of all weather pitches so games can be played and training can occur all year round - more applicable for kids leagues/training to keep them interested, rather than have them bored all wnter long with unplayable pitches
i'd agree completely with you on that one lynchboy but then the player burnout brigade will come and say players are doing too much. These type of pitches would make a huge difference in increasing participation in urban areas. And in turn promote the games more than any tv station ever could. Hope the money isn't swallowed up by county board player expenses.
Cheap at that price. The two best field sports in the world? A f**king bargain!
The GPA will swallow a good sized cheque alright.
Quote from: bailestil on December 14, 2007, 01:34:15 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 14, 2007, 01:08:01 PM
i'd agree completely with you on that one lynchboy but then the player burnout brigade will come and say players are doing too much. These type of pitches would make a huge difference in increasing participation in urban areas. And in turn promote the games more than any tv station ever could. Hope the money isn't swallowed up by county board player expenses.
planing and supervision of players and a structure that is set out will see that this shouldnt happen
as for the pitches, we opened ours in dublin last year and started the minor training last early Nov - and kept going until the lads had to stop for the leaving cert exams.
I will say now that it was the biggest single factor in winning the Dub Minor championship.
Dublin Senior Div 1 league final was played on it last Jan too under floodlights. Even without lights its a fantastic pitch to have to allow kids to train in football and especially hurling.
If yer going to Ko samui I may be able to give you a few tips - less so bangkok, only there 3 days - if you need any tips on anything in particular.
You wouldn't wanna see the sporting facilities in derry. They must be the worst in ireland for its population. Two floodlit grass pitches. One is the brandywell the other city of derry rfc. Our minors were training in the dark with the spill of streetlighting. Or on stupid sliding sand astroturf. But I'll not be using that as an excuse for our exit at semi finals. I've heard that the ulster council are going to utilise 'soccer and rugby' dividend to improve pitches. I hope this money is similarly invested. Won't be getting to anything on the east coast of thailand. Will be at krabi etc down the west coast.
What way will it work with Setanta?
"Setanta's involvement has raised the spectre of pay-per-view although this has been vehemently denied by the company."
I am quite sure that you have to pay to view Setanta ???
As has been mentioned before has gaa got any commitment from tv3 with regards to coverage in large areas of the north. Where even if u have sky you can't get it.
Quote from: full back on December 14, 2007, 02:03:14 PM
What way will it work with Setanta?
"Setanta's involvement has raised the spectre of pay-per-view although this has been vehemently denied by the company."
I am quite sure that you have to pay to view Setanta ???
Pay-per-view is not the same as paying a subscription for a sports channel. Pay-per-view works on the basis of each event. Like the way Sky did Hattons fight last weekend. If they introduced pay-per-view for football it would mean having to pay seperately for each game you watched.
You are paying to watch on Setanta, it's most definitely somehting that I dont not agree with, but until a free to air channel is prepared to give some serious airtime to the GAA I dont have a problem with. Pay-per-view on a match by match basis is beyond the pale, the day and hour it happens is the day I'll walk away from county football.
Quote from: bailestil on December 14, 2007, 02:07:05 PM
As has been mentioned before has gaa got any commitment from tv3 with regards to coverage in large areas of the north. Where even if u have sky you can't get it.
have to agree there Bailestil, very poor or no reception of RTE and worse for TV3. This should have been addressed in the negotiations for this deal - perfect time to get some commitment from the hoors.
But sure the northeners are nothing but a small rump of malcontents and a bundle of jealous f--kers !!!!!! Get your own TV station ! ;D ;D ;D ;D
Quote from: orangeman on December 14, 2007, 02:36:13 PM
But sure the northeners are nothing but a small rump of malcontents and a bundle of jealous f--kers !!!!!! Get your own TV station ! ;D ;D ;D ;D
We would only we keep complaining about where they want to put the masts up :D
I was thinking maybe 120K capacity, just for county finals like. We should also make sure that they're built exclusively for capacity and not have too many creature comforts, like ladies toilets and the like, hell, we maybe shouldn't even bother putting up the zinc lean-to for the men either?
Remember, you can never have too much concrete (Sean Quinn is Peter's brother, right??).
Quote from: offtheground on December 14, 2007, 02:26:18 PM
have to agree there Bailestil, very poor or no reception of RTE and worse for TV3. This should have been addressed in the negotiations for this deal - perfect time to get some commitment from the hoors.
Where are you that you can't pick up RTE or TV3? I'm in Belfast and have RTE, TV3 and TG4 all with perfect pictures coming from the aerial
no tv3 in large parts of derry/n. antrim.....
Quote from: take_yer_points on December 14, 2007, 02:49:09 PM
Quote from: offtheground on December 14, 2007, 02:26:18 PM
Where are you that you can't pick up RTE or TV3? I'm in Belfast and have RTE, TV3 and TG4 all with perfect pictures coming from the aerial
Neither RTE or TV3 in large tracts of Down (mournes block them out)
If you would pay your TV licences it would fit ya better ! ;D ;D ;D
As much of the money as possible should be spent promoting hurling in all counties not at Liam McCarthy Cup level and for all counties in the Tommy Murphy Cup....It should be used to boost the weaker counties in the long run not the stronger ones...
Artificial pitches, hurling walls, alleys etc...
Nothing to be spent on stadiums - we have enough already...
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 14, 2007, 03:21:23 PM
I agree.
I think Belfast (don't know about other large towns/cities) definitely needs more (better) pitches though. Although I gather the Antrim board are looking to buy the woodlands playing fields (or at least get a long term rent on them) and develop the facilities. A definite bonus.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 14, 2007, 03:21:23 PM
As much of the money as possible should be spent promoting hurling in all counties not at Liam McCarthy Cup level and for all counties in the Tommy Murphy Cup....It should be used to boost the weaker counties in the long run not the stronger ones...
Well fcuk me !
QuoteIt should be used to boost the weaker counties in the long run not the stronger ones...
Has the GPA changed their elitest policy
Never been anymore elitist than the GAA has even been.....
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 14, 2007, 04:26:45 PM
Never been anymore elitist than the GAA has even been.....
Interesting comment!
In what regards Dubs?
Holiness - Not in order
1 - Senior/Junior/Intermediate club competitions - Why are they not all played at the same level.
2 - Tommy Murphy Cup - removal of weaker teams from the All-Ireland series
3 - Nicky Rackard/Christy Ring cups and limiting the number in the Liam McCarthy Cup.
4 - Seeding of Munster Football championship
5 - Treatment of Antrim in the hurling championship
6 - Player suspensions at latter end of championships being less than earlier in championship.
7 - Rewards to All-Ireland winners
8 - All-Stars scheme and awards
9 - International Series trips
10 - Funding to counties (open to correction on this one but for current spending success is the main criteria)
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 14, 2007, 04:38:15 PM
2 - Tommy Murphy Cup - removal of weaker teams from the All-Ireland series
3 - Nicky Rackard/Christy Ring cups and limiting the number in the Liam McCarthy Cup.
4 - Seeding of Munster Football championship
5 - Treatment of Antrim in the hurling championship
Good answer, and each of the issues raised is a disgrace.
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 14, 2007, 04:38:15 PM
1 - Senior/Junior/Intermediate club competitions - Why are they not all played at the same level.
?? What do you mean here? Surely, like every single team sport, theres different levels / leagues?
How does this indicate elitism? ???
People are going mad about the players getting a few pound but I blame the people at the top in the gaa for introducing an obsession with money into the gaa. Thats all they seem to care about these days. Despite the huge increase in money generated over the last few years ticket prices for big games have still increased dramatically and alienating some supporters. Id like to see the money used to promote the games, with cheaper tickets for county games to improve attendances and so that everyone and in particular families can afford to attend - cut price family tickets for games in croke should be a priority and make them widely available. Also for a lot of money to be pumped into gaa development in urban areas were there is a major problem.
Agree totally with Tyrone Dreamer, but sadly it is only a dream, ticket prices set to increase next year. Pay per View not ruled out. I must admit to feeling uncomfortable about the large amount of monies being generated through sponsorship, while the immediate benefits are obvious, the long term effects are less so. Money generated should never the measure of success, its what we do with it that counts
1. buy out Shamrock Rovers and wind them down
Are you saying that all they get to watch on tv on the north coast is that English shite?
Quote from: tram on December 15, 2007, 01:37:40 AM
While it would be foolish for the GAA not to try and get the best deals for itself, money should not be the number 1 motive. It should come after what package, presentation and coverage each broadcaster is willing to offer, a beauty contest if you will, not a bidding war.
With the exception of the North Derry and North Antrim coasts (which rely on the Moville relay), TV3 coverage in N.Ireland is almost the same as that as RTÉ on terrestrial, especially in areas where RTÉ is on UHF. In places like Tyrone, Fermanagh and Armagh city where VHF is used to receive RTÉ, another UHF aerial would be needed which would give the bonus of TG4 as well.
And east down
Well yis havent missed a whole lot not getting TV3, biggest pile of shit ever. until next year of course.
Quote from: thejuice on December 17, 2007, 09:55:42 AM
Well yis havent missed a whole lot not getting TV3, biggest pile of shit ever. until next year of course.
I'm already looking forward to the 20 minute ad breaks they'll have during their GAA coverage.
Quote from: tram on December 15, 2007, 01:37:40 AM
While it would be foolish for the GAA not to try and get the best deals for itself, money should not be the number 1 motive. It should come after what package, presentation and coverage each broadcaster is willing to offer, a beauty contest if you will, not a bidding war.
With the exception of the North Derry and North Antrim coasts (which rely on the Moville relay), TV3 coverage in N.Ireland is almost the same as that as RTÉ on terrestrial, especially in areas where RTÉ is on UHF. In places like Tyrone, Fermanagh and Armagh city where VHF is used to receive RTÉ, another UHF aerial would be needed which would give the bonus of TG4 as well.
Tram (Bummer???) its not possible to get TV3 or TG4 in North Tyrone either due to the Sperrins. Its a shame that the GAA are more worried about money than getting the games to a wider audience. The promotion of the GAA should be a bigger priority.
They could spend a slice of the cash on marketing the leagues.