Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on November 16, 2007, 08:58:17 PM

Title: Best Comedy Series/Programme
Post by: 5 Sams on November 16, 2007, 08:58:17 PM
Something POG said on another thread got me thinking...he's a Frasier fan....myself I wouldn't give it a second glance....but IMHO the funniest things I have seen on telly over the the last locka years are: (Post examples of each lads if yiz can)

D'Unbelievables

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEwVpWFyy3M (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEwVpWFyy3M)

Only Fools

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=KLYvSWJUBb8 (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=KLYvSWJUBb8)

The Office

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=AKpybGYozeE (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=AKpybGYozeE)

The Two Ronnies

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=qu9MptWyCB8 (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=qu9MptWyCB8)

Title: Re: Best Comedy Series/Programme
Post by: Tankie on November 16, 2007, 09:01:33 PM
South Park is the best comedy on TV at the mo. (too many great example to post)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 16, 2007, 09:08:20 PM
It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia

trust me on this
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 16, 2007, 09:50:48 PM
I watch a lot of comedy and would be a fan of most of it but I've never found anything that even comes close to Frasier. 
Most of the comedy in it is very subtle and very clever, there aint many cheap laughs. 
A lot of comedy shows go for exaggeration of reality, Frasier doesn't, it's unique.
I do think to get the full affect of it you need be very familiar with the workings of the characters.  It takes a very special show to last 11 years. Can you imagine 11 years of the office?

Also I can't think of any actor in any comedy series that come close to the standard of David Hyde Pierce or Kesley Grammar.
(David Jason is the only one that would have any sort of an argument.) 

Everyone can come round to my house when I get Season 10 delivered from the US and we can watch it from series 1 right through. 
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 16, 2007, 10:01:29 PM
I'm with pints on this one.
Post by: ziggysego on November 16, 2007, 10:05:35 PM
I'm in agreement to. Fraiser is one of the best when it comes to situation comedy.
Post by: J70 on November 16, 2007, 10:06:04 PM
Frasier
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Arrested Development
Phil Silvers Show
Fawlty Towers
Seinfeld
Post by: J70 on November 16, 2007, 10:06:34 PM
Malcom in the Middle is excellent too.
Post by: tyroneboi on November 16, 2007, 10:15:13 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 16, 2007, 09:50:48 PM
I watch a lot of comedy and would be a fan of most of it but I've never found anything that even comes close to Frasier. 
Most of the comedy in it is very subtle and very clever, there aint many cheap laughs. 
A lot of comedy shows go for exaggeration of reality, Frasier doesn't, it's unique.
I do think to get the full affect of it you need be very familiar with the workings of the characters.  It takes a very special show to last 11 years. Can you imagine 11 years of the office?

Also I can't think of any actor in any comedy series that come close to the standard of David Hyde Pierce or Kesley Grammar.

Everyone can come round to my house when I get Season 10 delivered from the US and we can watch it from series 1 right through. 

and also the fact that it was essentially a spin off of Cheers (which was another great comedy) makes it even better in my opinion.

There aren't many spin off shows that are a success. As you say say Pints there aren't a lot of obvious and cheap jokes.

Other great shows:
My Name is Earl
Scrubs
Royle Family
Only Fools
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 16, 2007, 10:27:44 PM
Quoteand also the fact that it was essentially a spin off of Cheers (which was another great comedy) makes it even better in my opinion.

There aren't many spin off shows that are a success. As you say say Pints there aren't a lot of obvious and cheap jokes.
And of course, one of the greatest parts of the show...Maris Crane, I can't think off another show of any kind that arguably one of it's main characters never appeared and over the course of 11 years, the way that was done was just genius.

I also like
Black Books
The Detectives
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Thin Blue Line
Peep Show
Shameless 
Malcolm in the Middle
Spin City
My Family
Only Fools and Horses
The Office
One Foot in the Grave
The Royle Family (deserves a lot of credit for pulling off that idea)
Waiting for God
Seinfeld
That 70s Show
Fresh Prince
Vicar of Dibley
Teachers
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on November 16, 2007, 10:30:01 PM
Just after watching 2 episodes of South Park on Paramount channel.  After so many seasons these guys keep it original & funny every time.  Definitely don't want to be watching it with youngsters in the room though!!

Peep show up among the best as well.
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 16, 2007, 10:31:10 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on November 16, 2007, 10:15:13 PM

and also the fact that it was essentially a spin off of Cheers (which was another great comedy) makes it even better in my opinion.

Other great shows:
My Name is Earl
Scrubs
Royle Family
Only Fools

Forgot My Name is Earl - a decent runner-up.
Post by: Square Ball on November 16, 2007, 10:37:07 PM
A lot of what POG likes

My Family
Only Fools and Horses
One Foot in the Grave
That 70s Show
Fresh Prince
faulty Towers
any thing with Billy Connolly, funniest man in the world
Post by: stew on November 16, 2007, 11:35:39 PM
Square ball, pog hates billy connolly and that means that he has very little taste. :P

Saw Conolly live in Boston and he was the funniest man I have ever seen.

Frasier is a decent show but give me Blackadder, red Dwarf or only fools and horses any day.

Cheers is also a great show and Harry the hat was a tremendous character in that show, the episode where they finally get one over on the rival bar onwer was tremendous tv.

*Mash* is another wonderful show, the movie though was even better.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 16, 2007, 11:47:58 PM
QuoteSquare ball, pog hates billy connolly and that means that he has very little taste
Well remembered stew!

Can't stand connolly!  or faulty towers!

Have to say I've blackadder on DVD but never really got into it.
Bought arrested development some time ago but only started watching it today - quite funny. 
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 16, 2007, 11:51:05 PM
Only fools and Horses is the best in my opinion...

When i watch Fraiser i spend most of the time deciding on if id give Daphne one or not
Post by: theskull1 on November 17, 2007, 12:12:08 AM
Why does nobody else ever mention the League of Gentlemen anytime these threads come up. Has to be in the top 10 of all time comedy shows. Its my number one followed by black books and then still game
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 17, 2007, 12:24:12 AM
For me

1. Father Ted
2. Cheers
3. Steptoe and Son
4. Some Mothers Do 'Av Em
5. Fawlty Towers
6. Frasier
7. Halls' Pictorial Weekly
8. One Foot in the Grave
9. Terry and June
10. The Good Life
Post by: stew on November 17, 2007, 12:44:28 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 16, 2007, 11:51:05 PM
Only fools and Horses is the best in my opinion...

When i watch Fraiser i spend most of the time deciding on if id give Daphne one or not

If you have to think on that Laois you are confused sexually.

Daphne, I wouldnt think twice if I was you.
Post by: Puckoon on November 17, 2007, 12:56:52 AM
Frasier is funny, but it grates on me after a bit. My top three in no particular order:

1. Some mothers to 'ave 'em
2. Seinfeld
3. Only fools and horses.
Post by: stew on November 17, 2007, 01:28:18 AM
My Top Ten in Order.

1) Only fools and horses.

2) Blackadder.

3) Fr Ted.

4) Porrige.

5) Red Dwarf.

6) Open all Hours.

7) Steptoe and Son.

8) Citizen Smith.

9) Cheers

10) Everybody loves Raymond. (Debra does it for me).  :-[

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 17, 2007, 07:23:11 AM
she does it for a lot of folk stew
Post by: Hardy on November 17, 2007, 11:48:39 AM
I'm with pog on Frasier. And I'm delighted to see the mostly unsung Black Books being appreciated. I think Dylan Moran is something of a genius. 

For a change (this is hate week here at Hardy Towers), here are a few I can't stand:

League of Gentlemen
Little Britain
The Office
The Young Ones (or anything with the intolerable, deplorable, unbelievably unfunny Rik Mayall)
Thin Blue Line
Mr Bean (I'm sure we have unanimity on that)
The Fast Show

Post by: Doogie Browser on November 17, 2007, 12:04:40 PM
Great thread and in no particular order my top ten:
Larry Sanders
Cheers
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Taxi
Phoenix Nights
Porridge
Dad's Army
Father Ted
Happy Days
Blackadder

Also when growing up Channel 4 used to show some of the old 50's / 60's american sitcoms like Bewitched, Get Smart, Mr Ed which were fantastic - the Yanks really do have the upper hand (crap by the way) when it comes to sitcoms.

Post by: ONeill on November 17, 2007, 12:13:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 17, 2007, 11:48:39 AM
I'm with pog on Frasier. And I'm delighted to see the mostly unsung Black Books being appreciated. I think Dylan Moran is something of a genius. 

For a change (this is hate week here at Hardy Towers), here are a few I can't stand:

League of Gentlemen
Little Britain
The Office
The Young Ones (or anything with the intolerable, deplorable, unbelievably unfunny Rik Mayall)
Thin Blue Line
The Fast Show

Jays Hardy I like all of those. I like comedy that pushes boundaries/unique/slapstick. As for Frasier - it was funny once. However those American 'intellectual' comedies are a dime-a-dozen and have become irritably predictable and smarmy.
Post by: Hardy on November 17, 2007, 12:23:54 PM
I like comedy to be funny.

Couldn't resist that one.
Post by: ONeill on November 17, 2007, 12:34:57 PM
Suppose it's in the eye of the beholder. If I walked into a glass door I'd find it funny.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 17, 2007, 12:41:46 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 17, 2007, 11:48:39 AM

League of Gentlemen
Little Britain
The Office
Thin Blue Line
The Fast Show

The first series of black books is among the best out there but it started to go downhill very fast after that.
The first series of Little Britain was good but mid way through the second one it got very predictable. 

I started to to like the office when I learned to ignore Ricky Gervais though watch the American Office (which is woeful IMHO) and Gervais deserves a lot of credit for pulling it off.  He probably makes the show, probably because he's quite like the character.
I wouldn't normally be into the type of comedy like the Thin Blue Line but for some reason I find it hilarious.  I don't have a lot of respect for slap stick comedy though, you imagine it as being quite easy to write. 
Post by: ONeill on November 17, 2007, 12:48:14 PM
Slap stick isn't about writing. It's physical comedy which is entirely different and the hardest skill to master.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 17, 2007, 01:02:08 PM
While I do believe it takes a good actor to act an idiot I also think that any comedy actor worth his/her salt could pull off walking into a door. It's hard to imagine any actor not being fit to act in, for example, Little Britain.
Post by: stew on November 17, 2007, 02:30:56 PM
Ironically the masters of physical comedy were from the silent era, Harold Lloyd was tremendous as was Buster Keaton and Chaplin.

Laurel and Hardy were also brilliant, for me the older generations were better at physical comedy than the current crop of comedians.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 17, 2007, 03:55:32 PM
Quote from: stew on November 17, 2007, 02:30:56 PM
Ironically the masters of physical comedy were from the silent era, Harold Lloyd was tremendous as was Buster Keaton and Chaplin.

Laurel and Hardy were also brilliant, for me the older generations were better at physical comedy than the current crop of comedians.
Brillant for their generation but that's where it belongs.

Watching Arrested Development since this morning - definitely gets the thumbs up!
Post by: ONeill on November 17, 2007, 04:38:56 PM
Two of the best physical comedians in recent years have been Jim Carrey and Chevy Chase, also two of my favourite actors.
Post by: Rav67 on November 17, 2007, 04:56:27 PM
In no order

Father Ted
The Office
South Park
Brass Eye
Peep Show
Shameless
Post by: Louth Exile on November 17, 2007, 05:12:14 PM
1. Father Ted
2. Fawlty Towers
3. Family Guy
Post by: stew on November 17, 2007, 05:54:57 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 17, 2007, 03:55:32 PM
Quote from: stew on November 17, 2007, 02:30:56 PM

Brillant for their generation but that's where it belongs.

Watching Arrested Development since this morning - definitely gets the thumbs up!

laurel and Hardy, Lloyd and co were brilliant in any generation.

Chevy chase is over rated and carrey is an over actor in the william shatner mode.
Post by: Hardy on November 17, 2007, 07:06:01 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 17, 2007, 04:38:56 PM
Two of the best physical comedians in recent years have been Jim Carrey and Chevy Chase, also two of my favourite actors.

Good God Almighty O'Neill, there's something seriously wrong with your comedy antennae. Chevy Chase? Actor? But whatever about that, Jim Carrey is one of the few people who can make my skin creep. A poor man's Jerry Lewis. Who was a poor man's poor ... something poor ...
Post by: ludermor on November 17, 2007, 09:19:50 PM
The worlds greatest comedy characters is on Channel 4 now, some good stuff!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 17, 2007, 09:21:32 PM
Hitler?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 17, 2007, 10:32:46 PM
When it comes to comedy, the absolute masters for me are Laurel and Hardy and the Marx Brothers - comic genius in their own time, comic genius now and comic genius fifty years from now, i.e. timeless. There is nothing comes close, absolutely nothing.

As for comedy series, the best by a country mile for me was/is The Phil Silvers Show and the Simpsons (if it counts). Other classics were Cheers, Fawlty Towers, Only Fools and Horses, Red Dwarf, Blackadder, Porridge and three I haven't seen mentioned here, What Ever Happened To The Likley Lads, Dads Army and Yes (Prime) Minister.

I would also have thought of Citizen Smith as an absolute classic, but having seen it relatively recently, I thought it had not dated as well.

Post by: ludermor on November 17, 2007, 10:55:16 PM
Duck Soup was on sky movies last night
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 17, 2007, 10:32:46 PM

I would also have thought of Citizen Smith as an absolute classic, but having seen it relatively recently, I thought it had not dated as well.

When did you see it when it had dated well?
Post by: ONeill on November 17, 2007, 11:06:16 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 17, 2007, 07:06:01 PM

Good God Almighty O'Neill, there's something seriously wrong with your comedy antennae. Chevy Chase? Actor? But whatever about that, Jim Carrey is one of the few people who can make my skin creep. A poor man's Jerry Lewis. Who was a poor man's poor ... something poor ...

Carrey is a genius.
Post by: Driver long on November 17, 2007, 11:37:37 PM
Carrey is indeed a genius but Chevy Chase needs shot!

Yes Minister is up there with the best of them! My Faves:-

1.  Phoenix nights
2.  Yes Minister
3.  The office
4.  Frasier
5.  Father Ted
6.  Royle Family
7.  Fawlty Towers
8.  Cheers
9.  OFAH
10. Thin Blue Line (Don't know why i like it but i do)

Don't count shameless and teachers as i don't think of them as comedies, more drama, or any of the animated stuff.

Can't believe some people are mentioning the vicar of dibley and One foot in the grave!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 17, 2007, 11:51:16 PM
Shameless is down as "Comedy/Drama" on IMDB and "Comedy Sitcom" on DVD Aficionado (a site I frequent)
Teachers is known as the same - who are we to argue.

I like Chevy Chase but he's no genius. 
As for Carrey, as I said earlier it takes a good man to act the idiot but as Carrey is an absolute idiot it's not too difficult for him.
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2007, 12:14:32 AM
From the underrated Cable Guy to the clever and provocative Truman Show, Carrey is the only comedian who'd get me off the illegal downloading and into the cinema.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 12:24:31 AM
Never liked the cable guy so can't really comment but Carrey does nothing for the Turman show (great film) and several actors could have done the part, IMHO it would have been twice the film it was with someone like Tom Hanks or Nicolas Cage in the lead. 
Post by: balladmaker on November 18, 2007, 11:27:11 AM
On the home front, would have to go for PJ Gallagher in Naked Camera.  Some of the sketches are hilarious:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHGcSMtyQ-E&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHGcSMtyQ-E&feature=related)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmRCWb393yE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmRCWb393yE)

Gallagher does a top class stand up show as well.
Post by: Square Ball on November 18, 2007, 12:08:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 17, 2007, 07:06:01 PM

agree with Hardy here , I cannot stand the guy just an adult version of Macauly Culkin, and I cant stand him either
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2007, 12:12:58 PM
Some psychologist probably has made a study of these things but a person's likes and dislikes in terms of film/tv must say a lot about them.  I come down firmly on the side of Lost in Translation/Jim Carrey - two subjects that divide people bitterly.
Post by: Hardy on November 18, 2007, 12:29:41 PM
I haven't seen Lost in Translation, but I think I'd like it - if there's not too much of women crying in it.

I think all a person's preferences in comedy says about them is what makes them laugh. The laugh test is the only reasonable criterion, I'd say, when it comes to stuff designed to .. ehh ... make you laugh. And when I'm watching anyone Rufus mentioned, there's a lot of laughing going on. Real, continuous, out-loud laughing. (I can't disagree with a word in Rufus's post). Same for Tommy Cooper, Frasier, Blackadder, Fawlty Towers and a whole lot of others I won't bother listing.

But when I'm watching Carrey gurning, or Little Britain characters parroting catchphrases (catchphrases should be funny - why didn't someone tell them?) or Mayall carrying on at something I'd have given my kids a clip in the ear for - when I'm watching that shite, there's never even a snigger, never mind a laugh. Just staring incomprehension, mostly.

I think people get mixed up between comedy and ... well, whatever it is you'd call, say Little Britain and forget that you should be laughing if it's funny. Cringing doesn't count.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 01:05:43 PM
I think people get mixed up between comedy and ... well, whatever it is you'd call, say Little Britain and forget that you should be laughing if it's funny. Cringing doesn't count.
Acting the Idiot.

I'd say characters like Carrey are aimed towards children.
Post by: Square Ball on November 18, 2007, 02:28:05 PM
Great, and there was me thinking that I was the only person that didn't find little britain funny.

As Hardy points out the laugh test is the only one, and little britain doesn't even get a titter, nor IMHO does the office, Dads Army was funnier for gods sake.
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2007, 02:57:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 18, 2007, 12:29:41 PM
I haven't seen Lost in Translation, but I think I'd like it - if there's not too much of women crying in it.

I think all a person's preferences in comedy says about them is what makes them laugh. The laugh test is the only reasonable criterion, I'd say, when it comes to stuff designed to .. ehh ... make you laugh. And when I'm watching anyone Rufus mentioned, there's a lot of laughing going on. Real, continuous, out-loud laughing. (I can't disagree with a word in Rufus's post). Same for Tommy Cooper, Frasier, Blackadder, Fawlty Towers and a whole lot of others I won't bother listing.

But when I'm watching Carrey gurning, or Little Britain characters parroting catchphrases (catchphrases should be funny - why didn't someone tell them?) or Mayall carrying on at something I'd have given my kids a clip in the ear for - when I'm watching that shite, there's never even a snigger, never mind a laugh. Just staring incomprehension, mostly.

Perhaps the difference is then that I'd find all the things you listed as funny but I also find Office/Carrey etc funny too. Maybe I'm easily amused!!!
Post by: Puckoon on November 18, 2007, 05:07:06 PM
Jim Carrey is very good at what he does. It might not be your cup of tea, but I find Jim Carrey on form is very very funny.

Im real glad no one is on here preaching the ability of Will Ferrell. A 10 minute will ferrell cameo in a comedy movie is just about 5 minutes too many.

Edit: I mean when he is the main "Star" of the movie.
Post by: ziggysego on November 18, 2007, 05:10:06 PM
Will was fantastic in Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back back Puckoon. His deleted scenes were excellent too.
Post by: stew on November 18, 2007, 05:50:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 18, 2007, 05:10:06 PM
Will was fantastic in Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back back Puckoon. His deleted scenes were excellent too.

Ferrell is very, very funny.
Post by: Hardy on November 18, 2007, 06:19:41 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 18, 2007, 02:57:19 PM
Maybe I'm easily amused!!!

Well there's nothing wrong with that.
Post by: balladmaker on November 18, 2007, 06:26:20 PM
Anyone see that so called comedian on the Late Late on Friday night towards the very end.  If ever anyone died a death on RTE, it was that fella.  Can't remember his name..wasn't remotely funny and had to resort to gutter jokes in an attempt to raise a bit of a laugh, which also back fired on him.  You could just see Pat Kenny wishing the ground would open up with every word the fool uttered.
Post by: J70 on November 18, 2007, 06:35:43 PM
I cannot stand Will Ferrell! He sometimes good in small doses, such as his cameo in Starsky & Hutch, but any movies I've seen where he has been the star have been appalling. Have there been worse comedies in recent years than that Ricky Bobby/Talladega Nights thing or Anchorman?

On the other hand, I love Jim Carrey (he's the middle one in my avatar for the eagle-eyed!). How could you not find stuff like him doing the "Cuban Pete" or the other scenes in The Mask entertaining?
Post by: stew on November 18, 2007, 06:51:09 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 18, 2007, 06:35:43 PM
I cannot stand Will Ferrell! He sometimes good in small doses, such as his cameo in Starsky & Hutch, but any movies I've seen where he has been the star have been appalling. Have there been worse comedies in recent years than that Ricky Bobby/Talladega Nights thing or Anchorman?

On the other hand, I love Jim Carrey (he's the middle one in my avatar for the eagle-eyed!). How could you not find stuff like him doing the "Cuban Pete" or the other scenes in The Mask entertaining?

Carrey was at his very best in me, myself and Irene. That is a wonderful movie and some of the lines are absolute crackers.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 08:30:37 PM
QuoteI cannot stand Will Ferrell! He sometimes good in small doses, such as his cameo in Starsky & Hutch, but any movies I've seen where he has been the star have been appalling. Have there been worse comedies in recent years than that Ricky Bobby/Talladega Nights thing or Anchorman?
You can't blame Ferrell for the quality of the film (I'm a fan of Ferrell's and I loved Talladega Nights).  If Carrey was in those films would you have liked them?

I couldn't stand the Mask but enjoyed other Carrey films. 
Post by: J70 on November 18, 2007, 08:35:01 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 08:30:37 PM
QuoteI cannot stand Will Ferrell! He sometimes good in small doses, such as his cameo in Starsky & Hutch, but any movies I've seen where he has been the star have been appalling. Have there been worse comedies in recent years than that Ricky Bobby/Talladega Nights thing or Anchorman?
You can't blame Ferrell for the quality of the film (I'm a fan of Ferrell's and I loved Talladega Nights).  If Carrey was in those films would you have liked them?

I couldn't stand the Mask but enjoyed other Carrey films. 

I just don't find Ferrell's form of comedy very funny. If films such as Anchorman, Talladega Nights and that Elf one are atypical, then I'll keep an open-mind, but as far as I could see, they were basically vehicles for him.
Post by: Orior on November 18, 2007, 10:14:55 PM
My favourites are:

1.   The Office
2.   Alan Partridge
3.   The Royle Family
4.   Father Ted
5.   Fawlty Towers
6.   Blackadder
7.   Steptoe and Son
8.   Dad's Army
9.   The Young Ones
10.   Some Mothers Do Av'Em

Post by: dodo on November 19, 2007, 12:21:27 AM
The Dodo selection in no particular order:

Only Fools and Horses
That 70's Show
Frasier
Shameless
Mork and Mindy
Cheers
Porridge
Blackadder
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Fr. Ted

The most irritating guy I've ever seen on TV is that knob Tom Green. He was presenting an awards show recently that was on in a house I was visiting. Not vaguely or remotely funny.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 19, 2007, 09:39:42 AM
I wouldn't really watch many comedy tv shows, mainly a film man.  The women started collecting the Only Fools and Horses magazines a few years ago with the DVD's of every episode, so I watched them all in a farily short period of time - amazing.  Seen a few episodes here and there of Men Behaving Badly and Father Ted, and they are good.  The one I have watched over the past year (started catching it in the morning on CH4) is Everybody Loves Raymond, which is unbelievable.  Great characters is it and as someone previously mentioned the wife Debra is in some nick considering she is 50 odd.
Post by: full back on November 19, 2007, 09:58:07 AM
Everybody Loves Raymond is superb
Men Behaving Badly was decent good craic
The Office would make you cringe but was v funny
Shameless is very good
And although perhaps not classed as a comedy Ari Gold in Entourage gets me every time
Post by: Puckoon on November 19, 2007, 05:38:58 PM
I think its hard to see past D'unbelieveables

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrujV0PG_7k&mode=related&search= (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrujV0PG_7k&mode=related&search=)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEAmtauCdsE&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEAmtauCdsE&feature=related)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=guT76kAPYs0&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=guT76kAPYs0&feature=related)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UC6kcDYOPls&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UC6kcDYOPls&feature=related)

Heres one of my favourite Robin Williams sketches - Robin Williams on Golf.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPiCoATHn9w (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPiCoATHn9w)

Post by: stew on November 20, 2007, 12:12:31 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 19, 2007, 09:39:42 AM
I wouldn't really watch many comedy tv shows, mainly a film man.  The women started collecting the Only Fools and Horses magazines a few years ago with the DVD's of every episode, so I watched them all in a farily short period of time - amazing.  Seen a few episodes here and there of Men Behaving Badly and Father Ted, and they are good.  The one I have watched over the past year (started catching it in the morning on CH4) is Everybody Loves Raymond, which is unbelievable.  Great characters is it and as someone previously mentioned the wife Debra is in some nick considering she is 50 odd.

Debra is 48 not 50 odd, she has four childer and is as you said in great nick. :)
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 20, 2007, 12:59:42 AM
Does anyone agree that Little Britain was the most objectionable, predicable  overrated rubbish ever to darken oiur TV screens
Post by: nrico2006 on November 20, 2007, 09:52:05 AM
Patricia Heaton is actually 49, hence the statement 50 odd.  She was looking fine this morning!
Post by: Balboa on November 20, 2007, 10:00:22 AM
Started watching Family Guy at the weekend,fecking brilliant & Ari Gold (Entourage) is probably the funniest character on the box at the minute, he has a few temper issues.
Post by: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 10:09:12 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 20, 2007, 12:59:42 AM
Does anyone agree that Little Britain was the most objectionable, predicable  overrated rubbish ever to darken oiur TV screens

Here Here. Hate the way people put League of Gentlemen in the same sentence as it
Post by: corn02 on November 20, 2007, 11:20:16 AM
Carreys best film was Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless mind, first class.

Also agree Little Britain is the most over rated show of all time.

On the good comedy from I thought Peep Show would get more of a mention?
Post by: red hander on November 20, 2007, 12:25:35 PM
Canadian show Trailer Park Boys ... no contest

Post by: Balboa on November 20, 2007, 12:34:21 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 20, 2007, 12:25:35 PM

Forgot about it, pure gold. You remind me a bit of Bubbles.......
Post by: Billys Boots on November 20, 2007, 12:55:33 PM
Pints, if you liked Seinfeld, you'll probably like Curb Your Enthusiasm.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 01:38:36 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 20, 2007, 12:55:33 PM
Pints, if you liked Seinfeld, you'll probably like Curb Your Enthusiasm.
I do billy, love it!
Post by: pedro on November 20, 2007, 01:44:41 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 20, 2007, 12:25:35 PM

Aha!! Trailer Park Boys most definitely, I was sick last year for a week and i got through about 5 series in one day, classics!

Also:

Scrubs
Family Guy
Only Fools...
Father Ted
Seinfeld
Old Simpsons (if that counts)
Frasier
fair City (for the laughable acting  ;D )

Probably a few more I can't think of.

And 'comedy actors' I can't stand:
Jack Black (over exaggerates everything, I just feel like throwing the telly out the window when he's on)
Tom Green
Sarah Silverman for any of the US exiles
Post by: red hander on November 20, 2007, 01:47:54 PM
'Forgot about it, pure gold. You remind me a bit of Bubbles.......'

I think of myself more as 'The Green Bastard'
Post by: lfdown2 on November 20, 2007, 01:58:25 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 16, 2007, 09:08:20 PM

trust me on this

absolute quality, cant understand why it didnt get past bravo this side of the atlantic!!
Post by: stew on November 20, 2007, 02:34:17 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on November 20, 2007, 01:58:25 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 16, 2007, 09:08:20 PM

trust me on this

absolute quality, cant understand why it didnt get past bravo this side of the atlantic!!

cracking show. Some of the scenes in this show are absolutely brilliant. de Vito is amazing altogether.

my favourite show at the minute is boston legal, Shatner is as bad an actor as i have ever seen but in this he is superd and James Spader is always excellent.
Post by: easytiger on November 20, 2007, 03:28:21 PM
Anyone ever watch "Spaced"?

As far as I'm concerned, it is up there with the best sitcoms ever.

Try this for size

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_P7dileY9sY
Post by: Canalman on November 20, 2007, 06:56:42 PM
For me it has to be Phoenix Nights.

Honorable mentions to:-

Married with Children
The Phil Silvers Show (aka Sgt Bilko)
Trailer Park Boys
The Family Guy

Despise the following:-

Friends
Only Fools and Horses (must be the only person on the planet who dislikes it)
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 20, 2007, 07:01:51 PM
Managed to purchase the entire Phil Silvers series on E Bay. Very cheap too
Post by: Lecale2 on November 21, 2007, 08:27:10 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 20, 2007, 12:59:42 AM
I agree. Hateful stuff altogether.
Post by: Great Leap Forward on November 21, 2007, 08:35:08 AM
My wee borther has bought all the DVD's of Family Guy recently and he has offloaded them to me as soon as he watched them. I never thought I would like it but it is class.

I also like Still Game. It is a Scottish sitcom about pensioners. It is a very funny show but it can take a while to pick up the lingo.
Post by: Roseyland on November 21, 2007, 07:51:34 PM
The IT crowd on C4 I think is one of the best comedies in the last few years.
Post by: ONeill on November 21, 2007, 08:02:53 PM
Quote from: Roseyland on November 21, 2007, 07:51:34 PM
The IT crowd on C4 I think is one of the best comedies in the last few years.

A bit hit-and-miss but their 'Dragon's Den' scene in the penultimate programme of this year's series was the comedy scene of the year.
Post by: red hander on November 22, 2007, 11:05:29 AM
England 2 Croatia 3... funniest thing i've seen in ages
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 22, 2007, 12:07:42 PM
'smell my cheese you mother!'
Post by: nashville on November 22, 2007, 02:51:35 PM
J70 are you actually being serious?

"I cannot stand Will Ferrell! He sometimes good in small doses, such as his cameo in Starsky & Hutch, but any movies I've seen where he has been the star have been appalling. Have there been worse comedies in recent years than that Ricky Bobby/Talladega Nights thing or Anchorman?

On the other hand, I love Jim Carrey (he's the middle one in my avatar for the eagle-eyed!)."

You obviously were not eagle-eyed enough to notice that the man sitting to Jim Carrey's left in your avatar is Will Ferrell! For someone who "cannot stand" him, thats a bit strange...

By the way, that is a clip from the Saturday Night Live sketch that Will and Chris Kattan did with Jim Carrey, re-enacting their GREAT film A Night at the Roxbury..

I agree that nowadays Will's big lead roles aren't that good, but his older films/cameos are class!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 22, 2007, 03:30:08 PM
I've just gone through 2 seasons of "It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia"

I've never thought a show with Danny DeVito could be funny - but by god I've been proved wrong
Post by: 5 Sams on April 30, 2011, 10:40:57 PM
Classic episode of Only Fools anois Sky ch 110....The Jolly Boys Outing :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 30, 2011, 10:48:04 PM
"Friday Night Dinne"r is good.
Post by: gallsman on April 30, 2011, 10:53:04 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 30, 2011, 10:40:57 PM

IS that the one with the "ear infection"?!  :D
Post by: laceer on April 30, 2011, 11:36:56 PM
Just finished watching entourage. Funny show. The 8th and final series starts in July
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2011, 11:48:47 PM
Quote from: laceer on April 30, 2011, 11:36:56 PM
Just finished watching entourage. Funny show. The 8th and final series starts in July
There is talk of a film afterwards but based on the past few series I don't know if there would be much interest in it.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 01, 2011, 12:30:05 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 30, 2011, 10:53:04 PM

That's the one Gallsman...the disease ;D :D \FAF
Post by: onefaircounty on May 01, 2011, 12:16:34 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 01, 2011, 12:30:05 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 30, 2011, 10:53:04 PM

That's the one Gallsman...the disease ;D :D \FAF

Ruud Guillit everytime!
Post by: Armaghtothebone on May 01, 2011, 09:45:50 PM

Pints.
the entire box set is available on DVD for £50 in HMV Rushmere if that is of any interest to you.
In my opinion the last series is not one of the strongest but its still great.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 23, 2011, 10:13:55 PM
On Sky 110 anois. The one where Rodney meets the posh bird. Never laughed as much in my life when Del boy turns up at the opera.
Post by: ziggysego on July 24, 2011, 09:57:51 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 23, 2011, 10:13:55 PM
On Sky 110 anois. The one where Rodney meets the posh bird. Never laughed as much in my life when Del boy turns up at the opera.

A classic episode, but then again a lot of them are. Very close to the perfect sitcom.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 24, 2011, 03:20:21 PM
Can't believe there's no mention of inbetweeners, absolutely laugh out loud comedy
Post by: Bogball XV on August 09, 2011, 12:41:41 PM
Just watched an episode of 'the thin blue line' last night as I decided to give it another chance after having a look through this thread recently and being surprised at how many people rated it.

My opinion hasn't changed in the years since I first decided it was crap, what do people see in it?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 09, 2011, 02:33:09 PM
I have no idea, it's awful shite, the gay lad would do your nut.

Started watching Gavin and Stacey, excellent show
Post by: 5 Sams on August 09, 2011, 03:58:12 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 09, 2011, 02:33:09 PM
I have no idea, it's awful shite, the gay lad would do your nut.

Started watching Gavin and Stacey, excellent show

Post by: onefaircounty on August 09, 2011, 04:00:14 PM
There is a shocking lack of Alan Partridge in this thread, shocking!

Best comedies...

Alan Partridge
Father Ted
The Office (superb)
US Office (after season one it is fantastic)
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Arrested Development
Frasier
Only Fools and Horses

The best season of comedy ever produced is the Simpsons season six. Noone will ever convince me otherwise.

Little Britain and Bo Selecta are horrible shows.
Post by: Boycey on August 09, 2011, 04:08:11 PM
Recently discovered Modern Family on a long haul flight, not a weak character in it.

Manny cracks me up
Post by: DuffleKing on August 09, 2011, 04:29:56 PM
I don't get gavin + stacey at all
Post by: Canalman on August 09, 2011, 04:33:13 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 09, 2011, 04:08:11 PM
Recently discovered Modern Family on a long haul flight, not a weak character in it.

Manny cracks me up

Beat me to it Boycey. A imo very good comedy.

Serious eye candy in it also in Ed O'Neill's wife.

Have to say I never bought into that Only Fools and Horses show......... massively overrated imo. I know I am in the minority here.

Probably posted by me already but you should watch out ( oot) for Trailer Park Boys late at night. Brilliant.
For a good laugh type in "Ricky in Court Trailer Park Boys "into Youtube.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 09, 2011, 04:51:32 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 09, 2011, 04:08:11 PM

Manny cracks me up
discovered it on a long haul myself - can be very funny, though a few weaker episodes in season 2 - highly recommend it all the same.

Gavin and Stacey well worth a watch, but the christmas specials were rubbish - overlong.

I see your point about Only Fools, it hasn't aged well from the few episodes I've been bothered to look at (not as badly as the Young Ones mind).
Post by: screenexile on August 09, 2011, 05:06:13 PM
I'll pick a few that maybe people aren't that familiar withMy favourites:

Extras
Royle Family (Probably my favourite)
Big Bang Theory
Cougar Town
Man Stroke Woman
The Thick of it (Not a lot of people know about it but a complete gem)
Sirens
How I Met Your Mother
Nurse Jackie
Malcolm in the Middle (just brilliant)
My Boys
Trailer Park Boys
The League (If you like the Inbetweeners you'll like this)
Post by: Orangemac on August 09, 2011, 09:21:44 PM
Quote from: onefaircounty on August 09, 2011, 04:00:14 PM
There is a shocking lack of Alan Partridge in this thread, shocking!

Would agree. Series 1 of I'm Alan Partridge (where he is stuck in the travel lodge)is one of the best comedy shows ever made.

Especially episode where he meets his biggest fan -"You're a mentalist".
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2011, 09:35:33 PM
Miranda Hart ain't bad for a comedienne.
Post by: ziggysego on August 09, 2011, 10:16:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2011, 09:35:33 PM

Can't see why people think she's funny. Would sooner listen to Jo Brand or Joan Rivers.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2011, 10:22:28 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 09, 2011, 10:16:35 PM

Can't see why people think she's funny. Would sooner listen to Jo Brand or Joan Rivers.

Because she fcukin is, right?
Post by: maggie on August 09, 2011, 10:24:13 PM
Was just about to say different people have said how funny the Miranda show is.
IMO, its dung.
Post by: ziggysego on August 09, 2011, 10:27:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2011, 10:22:28 PM

Says you!!
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2011, 10:29:34 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 09, 2011, 10:27:55 PM

Says you!!

I know where you live (general area).
Post by: barelegs on August 09, 2011, 11:28:45 PM
Just to pick out two

The Thick of It- absolutely brilliant it's alot closer to the truth of politics than almost any other tv series ever made.

The League- started watching it after someone mentioned it here and ended up watching every episode in a matter of days. Great show
Post by: ziggysego on August 09, 2011, 11:31:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2011, 10:29:34 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 09, 2011, 10:27:55 PM

Says you!!

I know where you live (general area).

I've friends that live near you
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 10, 2011, 12:04:22 AM
20,000 posts = no friends
Post by: ziggysego on August 10, 2011, 12:23:52 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 10, 2011, 12:04:22 AM

I've 800 Facebook friends.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2011, 12:28:51 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 10, 2011, 12:23:52 AM

We having a party for the 20k?!
Post by: ziggysego on August 10, 2011, 12:35:18 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2011, 12:28:51 AM

Didn't even realise until Mayo4Sam pointed it out.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2011, 12:46:27 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 10, 2011, 12:35:18 AM

You could use the 20,000th post to call him a ****.
Post by: ONeill on August 10, 2011, 12:55:37 AM
Well, it better be good.
Post by: onefaircounty on August 10, 2011, 12:31:20 PM
Going to take a wild guess that O'Neill does not like Carey or Chase.
Post by: ONeill on August 10, 2011, 03:00:26 PM
Massive fan of both
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2011, 03:16:16 PM
They're actors, not comedians.
Post by: fearbrags on August 10, 2011, 04:14:50 PM
fall and rise of reginald perrin
Post by: ONeill on August 10, 2011, 04:15:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 10, 2011, 03:16:16 PM

....? I thought this thread was to do with comedic acting/comedies/and the like
Post by: ziggysego on August 10, 2011, 04:18:07 PM
Quote from: fearbrags on August 10, 2011, 04:14:50 PM

I didn't get where I am today, by watching programmes like The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin.
Post by: ONeill on August 10, 2011, 04:18:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 10, 2011, 04:18:07 PM
Quote from: fearbrags on August 10, 2011, 04:14:50 PM

I didn't get where I am today, by watching programmes like The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin.

Greencastle?
Post by: ThatsTheFootball on August 10, 2011, 04:21:19 PM
Film - Dumb and Dumber
TV Series - The Office

IMO the office is right up there with Only Fools etc as one of the best. Dave Brent is a genius
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2011, 04:30:24 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 10, 2011, 04:15:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 10, 2011, 03:16:16 PM

....? I thought this thread was to do with comedic acting/comedies/and the like

Did you?
Post by: ONeill on August 10, 2011, 04:34:56 PM
Best comedy series/programme....you're on the wrong thread.

I've noticed your level of accuracy wobbling in recent days. I suggest you either take a long holiday to Mayo or Leitrim or crank up the romance.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 10, 2011, 04:47:59 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2011, 12:46:27 AM

You could use the 20,000th post to call him a ****.

That would be a complete waste,  he could call me way worse than 4 stars?
Post by: borderfox on August 10, 2011, 04:49:04 PM
Hard to beat Citizen Smith. Come the revolution and all that..
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2011, 05:51:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 10, 2011, 04:34:56 PM
Best comedy series/programme....you're on the wrong thread.

I've noticed your level of accuracy wobbling in recent days. I suggest you either take a long holiday to Mayo or Leitrim or crank up the romance.

We must both be on the wrong thread, then.

I have gratefully noted your observation. I don't foresee being able to implement any of your recommendations any of these days.

Post by: Orangemac on August 10, 2011, 11:47:14 PM

Fair play to you Ziggy, shows some dedication. I have been a member for a year with 500 posts or so. A quick bit of mental arithmetic would mean you have been posting for 40 years. Some going!
Post by: ziggysego on August 11, 2011, 12:02:32 AM
(http://johnsifferman.com/img/caveman_computer.jpg)
Post by: screenexile on August 11, 2011, 01:12:27 AM
Just remembered 3 more . . .

Saved by the Bell
Hang Time
2 Guys a Girl and a Pizza Place (Don't watch any more after Season 2 when the abandoned "the pizza place")
Post by: Don Johnson on August 11, 2011, 01:33:52 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 11, 2011, 01:12:27 AM
Just remembered 3 more . . .

Saved by the Bell
Hang Time
2 Guys a Girl and a Pizza Place (Don't watch any more after Season 2 when the abandoned "the pizza place")

Screech seems a little bitter since the good times have ended.

http://www.11points.com/TV/11_Most_Scandalous_Saved_by_the_Bell_Revelations_in_Screech%27s_Autobiography
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 11, 2011, 01:49:18 PM
dont know if its classed as a comedy, but I love auf weidersen pet
Post by: lawnseed on August 11, 2011, 09:32:17 PM
dave allen- best of or dave allen any of.. funniest man ever and from dublin dave o mahoney. banned for taking the piss out of the catholic church 35 years ago.. prophetic into the bargain
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 08, 2011, 10:46:48 PM
Only Fools and Horses - 30 years old today !!
Post by: ziggysego on September 08, 2011, 10:48:31 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 08, 2011, 10:46:48 PM
Only Fools and Horses - 30 years old today !!

and still as funny as ever.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 09, 2011, 02:38:27 AM
Father Ted is something I can get bored of watching but if I dont watch it for a bit then go back to it I still find it funny even though I know what is going to happen.

Never found fawlty towers in any way funny.

Scrubs gets very boring the second/third time round.

Only fools and horses is brilliant...anybody can watch it and find it funny even todays youth, quite simply its timeless.

Friends is pure dung.

How I met your mother was ok at first was just something to pass the time but now bored - Same as everybody loves raymond. Both are kind of repetitive where the characters go through the same routine.

I can see the funny side to fraiser and to a degree The big bang theory and Fraiser are alike.

Vicar of dibley does have some very good scenes.

Steptoe and son was worth a watch.

Use to watch My Name is Earl every night on E4 and then asked myself Why am I watching this every night? It isnt even funny.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 09, 2011, 10:11:37 AM
The Big Bang Theory is a current favorite.
Post by: maldini on September 09, 2011, 11:24:54 AM
I'm Alan Partridge
Father Ted
Post by: 5 Sams on August 01, 2013, 12:11:23 AM
Catching up on some Sky + stuff tonight.
Jimmy Carr = Superb
Mario Rosenstock = Dung  :(

Post by: BennyCake on August 01, 2013, 12:54:02 AM
Quote from: maldini on September 09, 2011, 11:24:54 AM
I'm Alan Partridge
Father Ted

Father Ted, genius. Alan Partridge, terrible terrible show. Especially the first series where he had the chat show. Brutal stuff.
Post by: LeoMc on August 01, 2013, 08:39:31 AM
Watching re-runs of S2 of The Thick of It. Just as good second time round.
Post by: NAG1 on August 01, 2013, 11:17:01 AM
Arriving late on this thread dont know if I'm repeating but Fraiser was always a good watch for me!

Still would watch some of the classic episodes now.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 01, 2013, 11:20:15 AM
I really enjoy Moone Boy.
Post by: ziggysego on August 01, 2013, 12:06:29 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on August 01, 2013, 11:17:01 AM
Arriving late on this thread dont know if I'm repeating but Fraiser was always a good watch for me!

Without a doubt. I was sick at the start of the week and was watching some old episodes on Channel 4. Still as funny as ever.
Post by: Cold tea on August 01, 2013, 12:10:54 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 01, 2013, 12:11:23 AM
Jimmy Carr = Superb

He is as funny as a kick to the bollocks. The most hateful **** on TV.
Post by: BennyCake on August 01, 2013, 01:37:15 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on August 01, 2013, 12:10:54 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 01, 2013, 12:11:23 AM
Jimmy Carr = Superb

He is as funny as a kick to the bollocks. The most hateful **** on TV.

Don't find him funny at all. He has one of those faces I'd love to slap.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 01, 2013, 02:03:27 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 01, 2013, 12:06:29 PM

Without a doubt. I was sick at the start of the week and was watching some old episodes on Channel 4. Still as funny as ever.
Don't rub it in cnuts. I had pretty much every episode on my Sky+ box and was slowly making my way through them til the box got fried at the weekend  :'(
Post by: theticklemister on August 01, 2013, 04:40:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 01, 2013, 02:03:27 PM

Don't rub it in cnuts. I had pretty much every episode on my Sky+ box and was slowly making my way through them til the box got fried at the weekend  :'(
YOutube have alot of them lad.

Only started watching Frasier about 2 years ago as it was the kind of program I would avoid but I watched wan episode and now hooked. I missed so many years that I could have been watching Frasier.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 01, 2013, 04:50:08 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 01, 2013, 04:40:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 01, 2013, 02:03:27 PM

YOutube have alot of them lad.

Only started watching Frasier about 2 years ago as it was the kind of program I would avoid but I watched wan episode and now hooked. I missed so many years that I could have been watching Frasier.
Watched them on tv first time round. No doubt they will continue on a loop with 'Raymond'.
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2013, 06:10:58 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 01, 2013, 12:54:02 AM
I'm Alan Partridge
Father Ted

Father Ted, genius. Alan Partridge, terrible terrible show. Especially the first series where he had the chat show. Brutal stuff.

It was beautifully observed comedy. Almost all Iannuci shows are likewise.

If you're the right age Girls is a very good comedy.
Post by: screenexile on August 02, 2013, 10:43:10 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 01, 2013, 06:10:58 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 01, 2013, 12:54:02 AM
I'm Alan Partridge
Father Ted

It was beautifully observed comedy. Almost all Iannuci shows are likewise.

If you're the right age Girls is a very good comedy.

Never got Partridge to be fair but Brasseye was good and The Thick of It is better than any British Comedy in my opinion.

Malcolm Tucker is just a fantastic character and the one liners are exceptional. They tried to export it to America (Veep) but it doesn't have the same appeal.

"Hey you two... make like a tree and go f**k yourselves!!!"
Post by: J OGorman on August 02, 2013, 10:45:41 AM
Modern Family and Boston Legal are some steam
Post by: ziggysego on August 02, 2013, 11:54:12 AM
Heard a lot of great stuff about Modern Family, but never gotten around to watching it yet J OGorman.
Post by: johnneycool on August 02, 2013, 12:25:45 PM
Phoenix nights and Max and Paddy series were very good.

Kaye won't release either as he doesn't want them played to death like Father ted etc on those Dave type channels.

Post by: ONeill on August 02, 2013, 01:02:37 PM
Parks and Recreation.

Count Arthur Strong fairly grew on me.
Post by: J OGorman on August 02, 2013, 01:20:56 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 02, 2013, 11:54:12 AM
Heard a lot of great stuff about Modern Family, but never gotten around to watching it yet J OGorman.

got the old netflix in there and watched the 1st two series, it is some craic sir  :)
Post by: ONeill on August 02, 2013, 01:22:58 PM
Modern Family is brilliant.....although maybe going stale now
Post by: J OGorman on August 02, 2013, 01:23:07 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 02, 2013, 12:25:45 PM
Phoenix nights and Max and Paddy series were very good.

Kaye won't release either as he doesn't want them played to death like Father ted etc on those Dave type channels.

The Max and Paddy scene in the jail with the tray is some craic  :)
Post by: Minder on August 02, 2013, 01:50:06 PM
Trailer Park Boys is good
Post by: Sandino on August 02, 2013, 03:06:57 PM
Just love the Big Bang Theory at the minute, great show once you get to know the characters.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 02, 2013, 04:07:21 PM
Quote from: Sandino on August 02, 2013, 03:06:57 PM
Just love the Big Bang Theory at the minute, great show once you get to know the characters.

Very good show, particularly Howard and Sheldon. In my opinion, the main protagonist (Leonard) isn't funny at all.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 17, 2013, 11:06:34 PM
Mario Rosenstock's new series started last night and Im afraid to say it is pure muck.pity really because he is a really talented and funny guy. Some of his stuff on Gift Grub is ingenious. Doesn't translate to telly though.

After it the Damo & Ivor show was mildly amusing. Bit of a rip off of Ross O'Carroll Kelly though.
Post by: Hardy on September 17, 2013, 11:12:15 PM
Anyone see Dave Gorman's 'Modern Life Is Goodish' on Dave tonight? Refreshingly different, quite intelligent and, best of all, funny.
Post by: ziggysego on September 18, 2013, 09:34:49 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 17, 2013, 11:12:15 PM
Anyone see Dave Gorman's 'Modern Life Is Goodish' on Dave tonight? Refreshingly different, quite intelligent and, best of all, funny.

Yeah, I really enjoyed it. Something different to the usual nonsense.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 27, 2013, 08:21:59 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 02, 2013, 01:22:58 PM
Modern Family is brilliant.....although maybe going stale now

Just getting into this recently...really, really sharp. Plus Al Bundy's in there ;D Legend.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 01, 2015, 09:12:30 PM
Just watched the Jolly Boys Outing episode from Only Fools. Brilliant.
Post by: mikehunt on July 01, 2015, 10:37:04 PM
Haven't seen Early Doors mentioned. Simple but funny. The two coppers in it are class. Craig Cash from  The Royle Family fame wrote it I think.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 01, 2015, 11:00:13 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 01, 2015, 09:12:30 PM
Watched a bit myself and watched the whole thing a few months ago. For me it's the benchmark British comedy.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 01, 2015, 11:49:13 PM
Quote from: mikehunt on July 01, 2015, 10:37:04 PM
Haven't seen Early Doors mentioned. Simple but funny. The two coppers in it are class. Craig Cash from  The Royle Family fame wrote it I think.
Craig Cash is a genius. Early Doors totally under rated.
Post by: theskull1 on July 02, 2015, 08:24:07 AM
Yeah Early Doors was very good. Still Game was another brilliant comedy this time set in Glasgow. Would have to say The League of Gentlemen is my all time favourite though.
Post by: topcuppla on July 02, 2015, 08:42:01 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 01, 2015, 11:00:13 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 01, 2015, 09:12:30 PM
Watched a bit myself and watched the whole thing a few months ago. For me it's the benchmark British comedy.

It and Porridge are ruined on sky with political correctness and whole scenes are now cut from episodes to the detriment of the shows.
Post by: Canalman on July 02, 2015, 09:24:35 AM
Quote from: mikehunt on July 01, 2015, 10:37:04 PM

Yep, the two policemen are brilliant in it.

Have to say I have a soft spot for Married with Children from back in the day. Porridge very watchable still.............. brilliant actors in it.

In recentish years Phoenix Nights, Trailer Park Boys and Modern Family come to mind.
Never really warmed to Fr Ted or Only Fools and Horses.

Plenty of rubbish also unfortunately.