Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: corn02 on October 27, 2007, 05:15:48 PM

Title: Irish League thread
Post by: corn02 on October 27, 2007, 05:15:48 PM
Any fans on the board. I have been following the results this year as Newry are doing quite well a good win away from home today.
Donegal Celtic held Glentoran 3-3 and Dungannon hammered Linfield.
Title: Re: Irish League thread
Post by: An Fear Rua on October 27, 2007, 05:53:50 PM
as a Dungannon man, Im mildly interested in todays result
Post by: stew on October 27, 2007, 06:18:03 PM
I have a mate that is mad into Armagh City so i check on them from time to time. I have went to dozens of Newry Town games as a kid and like them as well. Cliftonville are going well and i had an uncle that played fopr them for years so they are alright too. As for the rest of them............ ;)
Post by: ONeill on October 27, 2007, 06:49:19 PM
Cut my journalistic teeth at the Swifts in the B division. They've bled ever since.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 27, 2007, 06:50:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 27, 2007, 06:32:25 PM
I have always had a soft spot for Glenavon. I was at a wedding there once and the staff were very nice.
I like to see Coagh United and Harland & Wolff Welders doing well.

My brother was at Glenavon as a youth, and the fans and staff appeared very friendly anytime I was there. Dungannon's result today is unreal!
Post by: Puckoon on October 27, 2007, 06:57:27 PM
Since they broke down the institution that was OTFC, its hard to stay tuned in.
Post by: stew on October 27, 2007, 07:11:57 PM
I detest Portadown, their supporters were the scum of the earth (some of them)

Glentoran have a lot of scabby babbies supporting them as well and then there is lingfield. :-[
Post by: ziggysego on October 27, 2007, 08:44:37 PM
Don't follow the Irish League, but was pleased to see Linfield get hammered 4-0 by Dungannon Swifts.

Just as I would love seeing any big teams get beaten by the underdogs.
Post by: stew on October 27, 2007, 08:53:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 27, 2007, 07:13:41 PM
Quote from: stew on October 27, 2007, 07:11:57 PM
I detest Portadown, their supporters were the scum of the earth (some of them)

Glentoran have a lot of scabby babbies supporting them as well and then there is lingfield. :-[
You not a horsie man then, Stew?

Eh they get lingfield quite a bit.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 27, 2007, 10:11:29 PM
Cliftonville are top of the league by two points. Go on the Reds. Would be a regular visitor to Solitude - cheap beer in the social.
100% away record.
Donegal Celtic 3-2 up at half-time, just don't seem to be able to kill games off!
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 27, 2007, 11:29:54 PM
First time in my life I put Linfield in the football bet today.  Something to do every week from now on.

Would have more than a passing interest in the Irish League as I would have protégés at about half a dozen of the clubs and a former workmate at another.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 27, 2007, 11:58:21 PM
SS2 you a GAA trainer?
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 28, 2007, 12:28:39 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 27, 2007, 11:58:21 PM
SS2 you a GAA trainer?

Both gaelic and soccer, though don't have time for that much training anymore.  Would have had more success in the 11-a-side game, due to lack of requirements for any tactics.

The boys I am talking about would all have come up through the school I work in. Most (if not all) would have played both football and soccer.

The former workmate wouldn't be that far off the top of the league tonight. ;)
Post by: corn02 on October 28, 2007, 09:25:39 PM
It is a pity though, the standard of the Irish League is not as bad as people belive. There is a real marketing/promotion issue here. It has plenty of potential especially since sectarianism is diluted from years ago.
Post by: Orior on October 28, 2007, 11:26:17 PM
Saw a bit of the DC versus Glentoran on tv. Nice to see the tri-colour on display (and an anti-sectarianism banner at the opposite end of the ground.)

I remember is the late 70's (how the feck old are you orior?) going to a cliftonville game and the ss ruc wading in batons flying when a tricolour was produced by a reds fan.
Post by: MW on October 30, 2007, 03:34:45 PM
They've been present among the Reds support as far back as I can remember. (Think my first Glens-Reds match was both teams' very last match as the 80s).

DC tried to ban national flags at home games a year or two ago, but it didn't prove enforceable. I'm certainly no big fan of 'national' flags at club games but with a bit of maturity no-one needs to get too upset about them.

Anyhoo, great result for Dungannon, unfortunately the Glens weren't fully able to capitalise given some poor defending at DC. Minor diversion from IPL action tonight in the form of the Co Antrim Shield final :)
Post by: T Fearon on October 30, 2007, 04:35:41 PM
I too have a passing interest no more. Harry Fay, Dungannon manager, is an old mate of mine as we grew up more or less beside each other and would have played together. Also David Scullion, Glentoran, plays for my GAA Club in Portadown.

Standard is pretty poor though I have to say, as are the facilities. You only have to look at the European results up against shite teams. I am old enough to remember Linfield getting to the quarter finals of the European Cup in 1967 and Linfield beating the likes of Man City (Colin Bell Francis Lee ) and Glentoran beating Arsenal  ;D in home legs of European ties. Now they can't even hold their own against pub teams from Latvia etc
Post by: ziggysego on October 30, 2007, 07:50:07 PM
I was watching BBC Newsline tonight at 6.30pm. They were interviewing Irish FA president Raymond Kennedy about the IFA's stance on the Olympic GB Team. Good God, that man can't string a sentence together. He seemed really uncomfortable in front the camera. At least Jim Boyce had a bit of screen presence.
Post by: corn02 on November 03, 2007, 08:49:07 PM
Newry sat briefly at the top, probably a few years since that has happened.

Going to be the usual two horse racew with Dungannon, Newry and Cliftonville fighting for 3rd.
Post by: Shortso79 on November 07, 2007, 09:54:53 PM

Latest: Linfield v Newry City 

CIS Insurance Cup semi-final

LINFIELD 1 (Thompson 74)

NEWRY CITY 1 (King 46)

Extra-time being played.

Love to see Newry win ....

Post by: Shortso79 on November 07, 2007, 10:32:57 PM
Linfield win 4 - 3 on Penalties

Post by: J70 on November 24, 2007, 05:21:04 PM
On a happy note just across the border, Finn Harps are back in the "big time", after beating Waterford in the promotion/relegation play-off. Just have to figure out how to stay there, and how to beat those wankers by the Foyle! :P
Post by: Tonto on November 25, 2007, 12:18:00 AM
Great result for the Ports today.

We started off badly, going 1-0 down, but pulled it together and looked quite solid at the back and dangerous enough going forward.

At the minute, though, it's just baby steps but hopefully we can put a bit of a run together. I can't see us getting near Cliftonville, Linfield or Gl**toran in the league this year but hopefully with a bit of luck in the 2nd half of the season, the cup is not out of our reach and we can salvage something from what has been the Ports worst start to a season for probably 7 years.
Post by: ONeill on February 02, 2008, 12:27:03 AM
Glentoran 5-1 Donegal Celtic
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 02, 2008, 01:36:58 AM
The Reds only drew tonight!
Post by: Chrisowc on February 03, 2008, 10:34:41 AM
Congratulations to Glen Ferguson.  Goal number 500 and 501 yesterday in the CIS cup final.

Post by: stephenite on February 03, 2008, 10:38:06 AM
Quote from: Chrisowc on February 03, 2008, 10:34:41 AM
Congratulations to Glen Ferguson.  Goal number 500 and 501 yesterday in the CIS cup final.

Can't believe he's still playing - pretty certain I would've seem him playing at Solitude back in 1990? Would that be possible Chris?
Post by: Chrisowc on February 03, 2008, 10:41:37 AM
He's 38 so every chance.  He's a bit slower nowdays and a bit bulkier too!

He came on as sub yesterday for about the last 10/12 mins.  Linfield were losing 2-1 and he scored 2!  Some player.
Post by: stephenite on February 03, 2008, 10:43:13 AM
He was a good goal scorer alright
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 04, 2008, 10:33:12 AM
Newry City v Coleraine is on Skysports tonight so if you want to see any sacar-supporting neucky mates on the box, tonight might be the night!
Post by: ONeill on February 12, 2008, 08:57:09 PM
Wonder does McAree know this exists? - http://rodneymcaree.blogspot.com/

Rodney McArce?

Rodney McAree is a legend. As the song goes, 'He scored that goal in the Carlisle game'.

For the confused reader, I'm talking about football (soccer to yanks). And specifically Fulham FC, who Rodders helped on the road to promotion to the third tier of the League in 1997, which may have given them enough publicity to attract Mohammed Al Fayed. 'Big Mo' bought the club, saving them from years of near fatal financial and ownership problems. They now play in the Premiership and today managed to guarantee another season.

And Rodney? I'm sure he was a competent player, but I don't recall him ever playing at a higher level than with Fulham. A few years ago he surfaced at Crawley Town, where he stayed for a while and was immortalised in the Crawley News as 'Rodney McArce'. I bet he doesn't have that cutting up on his wall. Still, it's over 90% accurate, which is pretty good for the Crawley News.

Right, so having read all that, what does it have to do with me?

Well, I'm a Fulham supporter, and I was privileged to watch Rodney play, although not in the aforementioned game against Carlisle. I live in Crawley, pretty close to their stadium (yes, I said stadium). I was born in Crawley, and after escaping to Manchester for five years, I was drawn back like a struggling fish on a line. The magnetic pull of this town is so great I even managed to persuade my girlfriend to move here from Birmingham. And she hates Crawley.

Rodney will probably have little more part in this blog (although if I hear any more about him, I'll be sure to slide it into a post). What will is Fulham, Crawley, and my other passions, politics and books.

The clip - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QzwDQMy_VAw
Post by: slow corner back on February 23, 2008, 07:49:05 PM
Was there any bother at the match? I heard it was all ticket
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2012, 12:15:41 AM
Was reading about a piece of fine sportsmanship tonight by Dungannon's player Darren Murphy, bearing in mind that the Swifts are battling relegation. At 0-0, they received a penalty when the Ballymena player caught the ball in his own box because he thought one of his own players needed treatment. The ref pointed to the spot as he hadn't ordered play to stop. The Swifts' Murphy just rolled the ball back to the keeper. They went on to lose 4-2.

Swifts' manager said after - "What happened today was right, anyone who thinks we should've scored the pen is dishonest, it'd be better world with less dishonest people."
Post by: JUst retired on April 11, 2012, 08:01:01 AM
Makes a nice change from all the diving and cheating that goes on. Fair play to him. :)
Post by: Lecale2 on April 11, 2012, 08:09:23 AM
Fair play to him indeed!
Post by: Denn Forever on April 11, 2012, 09:29:52 AM
Heartening start to the day.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 11, 2012, 07:19:29 PM
Unusually sporting and classy for a Tyrone based team.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2012, 07:30:29 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 11, 2012, 07:19:29 PM
Unusually sporting and classy for a Tyrone based team.
Would be a low scoring match if Tyrone returned the ball from all their ill-gotten gains
Post by: ONeill on April 12, 2012, 01:43:52 AM
Away a that.

We have a history of it - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rdzS-kK_F9E
Post by: here comes 6 on April 12, 2012, 10:48:53 AM
In all the times Canavan dive not once did yous give the ball back, so total bullshit from Tyrone people
Post by: spuds on April 12, 2012, 11:07:01 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 11, 2012, 12:15:41 AM
Was reading about a piece of fine sportsmanship tonight by Dungannon's player Darren Murphy, bearing in mind that the Swifts are battling relegation. At 0-0, they received a penalty when the Ballymena player caught the ball in his own box because he thought one of his own players needed treatment. The ref pointed to the spot as he hadn't ordered play to stop. The Swifts' Murphy just rolled the ball back to the keeper. They went on to lose 4-2.

Swifts' manager said after - "What happened today was right, anyone who thinks we should've scored the pen is dishonest, it'd be better world with less dishonest people."
Load of c**k. Players stopping play constantly and expecting to get the ball given back to them and now this. Players feigning injuries and getting to stop the game progressing when they are back up on their feet in seconds, would be embarrassed myself. Shake hands before and after game but while game is on be as competitive as you can and not be prancing about the place looking for applause from the fans.
Post by: ONeill on April 12, 2012, 11:26:11 AM
Quote from: spuds on April 12, 2012, 11:07:01 AM

Load of c**k. Players stopping play constantly and expecting to get the ball given back to them and now this. Players feigning injuries and getting to stop the game progressing when they are back up on their feet in seconds, would be embarrassed myself. Shake hands before and after game but while game is on be as competitive as you can and not be prancing about the place looking for applause from the fans.

Read that a few times and still a bit in the dark as to what you're saying here. If it is that the Ballymena player was faking it - he was stretchered off. Looking applause - don't get that reference at all.