They're only back a couple of days and it's all kicked off again! God help the poor families living in the area.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7013688.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7013688.stm)
sounds more like the Ormeau road Contingent to me
I lived in the Holy lands for nearly a year so i did, it was clean mad :D :D but we didnt burn cars
I lived there for 3 or 4 years myself. Those were the good oul days, always a party to be found somewhere
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on September 26, 2007, 09:03:57 AM
I lived there for 3 or 4 years myself. Those were the good oul days, always a party to be found somewhere
:D :D :D are u sure it was only 3 or 4 years?
Quote from: Guillem2 on September 26, 2007, 08:33:15 AM
They're only back a couple of days and it's all kicked off again! God help the poor families living in the area.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7013688.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7013688.stm)
I would doubt if the students are responsible for this.
Quote from: BenDover on September 26, 2007, 09:33:36 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on September 26, 2007, 09:03:57 AM
:D :D :D are u sure it was only 3 or 4 years?
Quite sure, Wellesly avenue and Camden street also got a touch. From what i recall you were like the littlest hobo for a while, no fixed abode. ;) ;D
Quote from: parttimeexile on September 26, 2007, 09:58:26 AM
I would doubt if the students are responsible for this.
Like i said, sound smore like the ormeau hoods
you dont know how to party til ya roll wit da carmel street massive
Report mentions they broke windows then returned later to burn the cars.... ormeau rd dirt me thinks!!! Any student worth his salt would be at a party gettin tanked..... ;)
the holylands is a shit hole and plenty of the students there need to grow up, but the students are usually involved in petty vadalism/fighting/pissing on everything.
The spides of the ormeau are usually responsible for this sort of shite.
It seems its back to the good old days for the students - 10pints in renshaws and then mayhem in the Holylands
character building stuff !! ;D
El cuervo was it your house in camden street that had no lock on the door?? if i remember rightly it was "trashed" one nite.... :D
if i remember correctly there wasnt a lock on the front door on any of the houses
that were lived in during belfast
The front door of one of my houses was kicked through one night while we were all drinking our carryout before heading to Kellys on a Wednesday night. Everyone was well on by the stage we realised that the door wouldnt close and no one wanted to stay in the house all night, so we all went to Kellys and left the front door wide open from about 7 to half 3 in the morning.
Only in the holy holylands!
Umgola ur memory serves u well :D
what did ye need a lock for when the door never stopped with people looking for a session!
Yes El Cuervo the littlest Hobo indeed but then i fell in with a bad bunch and have been struggling to make up the ground ever since but I'm getting there.
I'd say them wee spides from that home @ d corner of Carmel St would be responsible for this sort of vandalism the students would be to wasted to do it right lol
Quote from: Candyman on September 26, 2007, 10:48:07 AM
El cuervo was it your house in camden street that had no lock on the door?? if i remember rightly it was "trashed" one nite.... :D
dont think u were ever there candyman. i was possibly the only house that did have a locked front door cuz it was an upstairs flat.
as for the rest of the houses lived in, the lock usually lasted for the entire 1st week. After that nobody cared
someone connected with the ogs had a house/flat just off agincourt and the door didnt close... Remember thinkin it had been broken into and wrecked but apparently the occupants had done it themselves!!! Classy... ;)
looks like it was the residents. can we expect a programme on them?
Quote from: Candyman on September 26, 2007, 01:32:04 PM
someone connected with the ogs had a house/flat just off agincourt and the door didnt close... Remember thinkin it had been broken into and wrecked but apparently the occupants had done it themselves!!! Classy... ;)
camden street is off the lisburn road, so i think you've got a bit mixed up there.
If it's a house just off agincourt i could possibly have been the house spirit lived in. there was a mix of og's and harps with a little bit of the Nab in it. I vaguely recall a few mental nights there.
Police said a man in his mid-30s had been arrested and is being questioned about the incident.
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 26, 2007, 02:14:55 PM
Is Jimmy still a student?!
Police said a man in his mid-30s had been arrested and is being questioned about the incident.
Quote from: full back on September 26, 2007, 02:18:40 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 26, 2007, 02:14:55 PM
Wouldn't surprise me. I he not a sports therapist now?
i remember at the start of last year first week back all student cars on Carmel Street had windows put in and were scraped (someone had obviously recorded which cars werent there over the summer). Probably the same people as Jerusalem Street is only 2 down.
rav i dont even think your car burning out would have tempted you to get up before lunch time.
How do you know someone from the country in Belfast?? They refer to the Holylands. Us native Sammys use the singular. A bit like news readers referring to trouble in "the" Ardoyne. Where the feck did the "the" come from??
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on September 26, 2007, 05:47:44 PM
How do you know someone from the country in Belfast?? They refer to the Holylands. Us native Sammys use the singular. A bit like news readers referring to trouble in "the" Ardoyne. Where the feck did the "the" come from??
Simply an indication that they are speaking the wrong language. More bastardisation of the English language by the Irish and should be encouraged at every opportunity.
I have always referred to it as the Holylands, Ardoyne is Ardoyne, and I am a local
Quote from: Donagh on September 26, 2007, 05:56:16 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on September 26, 2007, 05:47:44 PM
Simply an indication that they are speaking the wrong language. More bastardisation of the English language by the Irish and should be encouraged at every opportunity.
It is Donagh, its called Ulster Scots
Some of the carry on by students in South Belfast is a disgrace. I don't condone violence but if this action was taken by locals you can't help but understand their frustration at the lake of action by the authorities over many years.
Quote from: hardstation on September 26, 2007, 06:07:00 PM
Perhaps they are just following a pattern.
The Falls
The Shankill
The Holyland
The Markets
The Short Strand
The Braniel
and therefore..........The Ardoyne
I don't know.
You must be a relative youngster, hardstation, it was always just Short Strand to me :-\ Maybe it's language evolving but being reared in North Belfast "The Ardoyne" always sounds odd to me. Anyone ever notice the BBC referring to "Glentoran" as "Glenturran"?? Only sports presenters and that halfwit Jim Rogers seem to use this pronunciation.
"The" Ardoyne, "The" short strand, "The" Falls. You both may be right, and yet wrong. I believe the increasing use of "the" in front of these comes from the news broadcasters. They always refer to it as "The ardoyne area of belfast". Its just led to that being shortened to simply, the ardoyne.
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on September 26, 2007, 06:22:05 PM
Some of the carry on by students in South Belfast is a disgrace. I don't condone violence but if this action was taken by locals you can't help but understand their frustration at the lake of action by the authorities over many years.
Aye, the students make a bit of noise, lets go breaking windows and burning random cars, that'll teach them! ::)
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 26, 2007, 09:37:58 PM
Aye, the students make a bit of noise, lets go breaking windows and burning random cars, that'll teach them! ::)
POG, we got into this in a similar vein a few weeks back in the scum of the earth thread. Unfortunately its a mindset in south belfast.
(http://tvpresenters.thetvroomplus.com/images-news/donna-traynor.jpg)
I blame her.
A lesson in the Vernacular: The Falls and Shankill always had "THE" in front... Ardoyne - never... ie.. "I got my fu*k kicked in in Ardoyne" - Short Strand - "He's that stupid bastard from from Short Strand - steal the eye out of your fuckin head!" -- Ballymurphy never had a The .... i.e. "That dirty shower of c**ts from Ballymurphy" ... The MARKET (s) IS NOT PLURAL - "She's a dirty tr**p from the Market - suck an orange through a garden hose so she could" ..... Braniel is THE BRANIEL as it is The Braniel Estate "That dirtbag at Milltown was from The Braniel - pity they didn't do him right on the M1" ALSO in Belfast if somebody says "Your Ma's an owl H" - that means WHORE pronounced 'hure' .... Class dismissed!
No shit! Ask anyone from THE MARKET where they are from and that is what they will say ... it's another Army / bbc invention like THE ARDOYNE (Paddy Ashdown was great at this on old clips of the Troubles ...(best clipped English accent for this - "we were in THE ARDOYNE DISTRICT when a sniper opened up on our platoon from THE BOGSIDE ... We immediately sought cover in THE CROSSMAGLEN AREA until we called in reinforcements from our base in NEWRY ....... Markets? Only is one Market area - historically and physically .....
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on September 26, 2007, 10:25:50 PM
No shit! Ask anyone from THE MARKET where they are from and that is what they will say ... it's another Army / bbc invention like THE ARDOYNE (Paddy Ashdown was great at this on old clips of the Troubles ...(best clipped English accent for this - "we were in THE ARDOYNE DISTRICT when a sniper opened up on our platoon from THE BOGSIDE ... We immediately sought cover in THE CROSSMAGLEN AREA until we called in reinforcements from our base in NEWRY ....... Markets? Only is one Market area - historically and physically .....
Is that like Sinn Fein/IRA? :D
By any chance was this girl au fait with the history of Belfast? The MARKET referred to is St George's Market... You may find references to MARKETS but I insist that the area is THE MARKET ...
lads i know the students aren't innocent of fcukin about but the residents take advantage of the situation to get damage property or get a scrap going. a friend of mine witnessed a fella and a girl walkin home from night/day out and walked past group of wee spidey bastids about 15-17years old, one of them stepped out and stood in the way of them but the couple walked around them only for the wee bastard to dig the fella in the back of the head and when he fell put the boot in him and as the girl tried to stop she got a slap in the mouth. now that was totally unprovoked attack.
also was present in a house party one night, and will admit it wasnt the quietest, got a knock at the door from local heavies and after that the party finished, as revellers walked up the street one fella was opened with a bat of some sort and a girl got a slap too...later that night the house in question got a gas cylinder through the window. and the locals say their tortured by students, they just love getting a chance to assault the 'culchies'...pure scumbags!
Maybe this could have a thread of its own??
Take your point - however the defining point would be to ask somebody - from 40 upwards - who lives opposite St George's Market where they live and the answer will be THE MARKET... I get the train with a lady who has taught in the area for thirty years and she told me that the plural is not how the natives see themselves...
Also ask yourself the question "What would Jesus or Elvis have said and I tell you that Jesus would have said MARKET (Hebrew) and Elvis would have said MARKET AH HUA"! (deep south for Market) - THAT SOLVES THAT THEN AS WE WERE GETTING INTO THE BORING BIT!
RU serious? Understand their frustration? Torching student's cars, catch a grip would ye! If there was a problem then the residents should have done what any 'normal' person would have done and that is to phone the police....the shit that went on last year with vandalism to cars with paint stripper in the first week of term was bad enough but to set cars alight is not understandable at all!
On the topic of them spidey b*stards that hang around the place should the peelers not be doing more with these wee knackers? Constantly breaking into houses and hanging around street corners threatening people, launching glass bottles and sniffing glue! Would you understand the students frustration Aristotle if a group of students gave these wee shit bags a beating some night?
Some residents get on fine with the students and go out of their way to do so..........a few other i.e. the oscar winners from spotlight are hell bent on stirring it up (aswell as some students). To have an grown man follow students around at 2am with a video camera and threatening them is stirring shit imo!
Someone set out last nite to put a marker down for the rest of the year by torching cars- f**k me, what would have happened if the houses had caught fire?! No excuse.
Agree with Hurler on this one, its the Market from the natives and the Markets from the outsiders, trust me on this one, me da was one!
Na ya ballox ya a native of the markets!! :D
See I called it the markets, I am not a native
Sorry - this MARKET / MARKETS debate has moved on in the last fifteen minutes without me - I was up stairs with the girlfriend "discussing the state of affairs in the Middle East" ;) :o and may I add that the GAZA STRIP was looking splendid!!!!! Look it is MARKET and Christ! I'm knackered...
Quote from: hardstation on September 26, 2007, 11:03:15 PM
Are Holyland Patrol still on the go? A jumped up shower of dicks who started more rows than enough.
Don't even start with them boyos! Couldnt walk down the street without them sticking their noses in. No call for them at all. The biggest joke about the whole thing was/is the police would happily book you for having a bottle out the front while the spides in the alley sniffing glue and drinking their bucky from the bag were laughing at you getting 'done'!
I remember a frankie calling to the door one night asking for a donation! He was told to hit the road running and we were told our windows were gna be put in and when we went home for xmas the place was gona be robbed!
It says "
I am a bomb technician, if you see me running try and keep up!
gonna change it again seeing no one can read it.
Neither the students nor the residents are to blame for the current situation. The Holylands have been turned into a slum by the developers with the cooperation of whatever unaccountable Quango allowed whole streets of houses to be converted into flats and Houses of Multiple Occupancy. A small area which once contained several hundred residential houses is now home to a transient population of thousands. The only solution is to force the slum landlords to convert the houses back to residential use or at the very least restrict each street to a maximum of 30% HMOs, as I believe is now the case in the rest of Belfast. This would soon disperse the student population throughout the rest of the city were they would soon learn to respect their neighbours.
The Holyland Patrol was the biggest waste of taxpayers money ever invented...they couldn't even do anyting to you as long as they didnt know where you lived...You could give them all the abuse of the day and they can only call the police...Hence when the police are on the way all you had to do was run away!!
Sounds like they deserve each other.
Anyway, if it is THE Ardoyne, what's an Ardoyne? What's a Moy? Or a Creggan?
Quote from: Hardy on September 27, 2007, 09:55:18 AM
Sounds like they deserve each other.
Anyway, if it is THE Ardoyne, what's an Ardoyne? What's a Moy? Or a Creggan?
moy = a plain
creggan = little rock/rocky place
i think ardoyne is eoins heights