At a time when Croke Park are trying to keep the Croke Park Residents on side I was amused at their effort last Sunday as I made my way into the Cusack Stand from Clonliffe Road. Just down from Distillery Road where you turn in a resident had a little sign up in his garden with just four words on it. NO NOISE, NO LITTER. Nothing wrong with that.
Except that, and I want to be accurate here, about four yards from his front window/door there stood a galoot with a loud hailer, the battery operated yokes the cops use for "come out with your hands up". "This way for the Cusack stand, anyone going to the Cusack Stand please come this way" he roared over and over again. Considering I was in in time for the Christy Brown hurling final I would say yer man with the sign had a right pain listening to him and I would not be surprised if he came out and gave him a kick in the balls.
Surely to jaysus there is no need whatsoever for this, or if there is why nnot just hold a sign with Cusack Stand and an arrow on it.
Only in Ireland.
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 07, 2007, 12:10:14 PMOnly in Ireland.
That sounds suspiciously like racism, watch it Bud ;)
It's a bit Irish alright.
Leggit! :o
QuoteOnly in Ireland.
QuoteIt's a bit Irish alright.
Can open... worms everywhere!!!!!
Its like the guy on the hill who standard their for 3 hours saying hill 16 only over and over again sure they should just record it
Lads,
Don't click on the jokes link whatever ye do. Ye might find something like;
Why do the Health Service put cotton wool in the tops of prescription bottles for the blacks?
To remind them they were cotton pickers before they were drug dealers.
Lighten up or we wont be able to mention that there was no Coke on the Hill last weekend and it is only when the Dubs are there and we will all be cahrged with racism
This might be a good thread to add another little observation. A small incident on Saturday reminded me that the GAA, for all its embracing of modern ideas, the fancy stadium, the corporate culture, the hospitality suites, etc. still retains vestiges of the "institutional" culture that we still also see clinging to the other institutions, like CIE and the other former semi-states, the Catholic Church, RTÉ, Aer Lingus before they got their arses kicked by Ryanair, etc. It's a kind of corporate casual contempt for their patrons/clients/customers/victims, as the case may be, that is usually best manifested by their operatives that come into close contact with said victims.
I was lucky enough to be given premium tickets for Saturday by a friend in Cork (I'm getting a taste for it now, Bud!). At half time in the Sligo/Cork match, an officious looking character in his sixties, dressed as if he had stepped out of Louis Copeland's window, by the way, with an orange "tan" and with an ID card hanging around his neck (you probably know him, Bud) came down the steps, peering right and left along the rows of seats. He spotted a man of about thirty in front of me who had a pint glass of water on the floor beside him.
"Is that your glass?", he roared.
"Yes", said the man, meekly.
"Can you not read the sign on the door?", shouts Captain Mainwaring (but in a Dublin accent). "Take it out of here, and if I catch you again, you'll be outside the gate".
The lad said nothing, just took up the glass and went out to the bar area. He hadn't broken any rule I could see, by the way, as the sign on the door just says "no alcohol beyond this point" and this was water. But that's not the point.
Of course I couldn't let it go, so I took it upon myself to tackle Mr. Cordiality. "You can't speak to customers like that", I said to him. "What's wrong with 'excuse me, sir, but drinks are not allowed in this area'?". He was completely taken aback and stood there looking at me with his mouth opening and closing. Finally, all he could think of to say was "I don't know where you got your manners!". This from him! Anyway this led to general hilarity and everyone in the vicinity then got on his back, inviting him to depart in a fornicating fashion, stop hassling the people, etc., and we saw no more of him.
If I'd paid the thousands it costs for a premium seat, I'm sure I'd be very impressed by this particular brand of "hospitality" extended to me or my guests. Not that it would be acceptable in the plebs' seats I usually occupy either.
Fair dues Hardy, well done. Nothing worse than an aggressive goon but an aggressively ignorant goon.
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 07, 2007, 12:35:13 PM
Lads,
Don't click on the jokes link whatever ye do. Ye might find something like;
Why do the Health Service put cotton wool in the tops of prescription bottles for the blacks?
To remind them they were cotton pickers before they were drug dealers.
How is that relevant to anything. Head over to hoganstand good man with that immature shite.
Hardy, I think I know which buck you are on about. He looked like an east end gangster to such an extent that my pal elbowed me in the ribs to cop a look at the state of him. He also told us to slow down when we were walking a bit too briskly back to our seats for his liking. If I wasn't totally preoccupied with the game there may have been harsh words. >:(
Did you get his name? Irrespective of whether you did or not, you should report the incident to Croke Park. Let them deal with it.
good man hardy
lets give these jobsworth hitlers a blast of reality.
Maith thú Hardy; really enjoyed that story!
Quote from: Jinxy on August 07, 2007, 01:26:57 PM
Hardy, I think I know which buck you are on about. He looked like an east end gangster to such an extent that my pal elbowed me in the ribs to cop a look at the state of him. He also told us to slow down when we were walking a bit too briskly back to our seats for his liking. If I wasn't totally preoccupied with the game there may have been harsh words. >:(
That's him Jinxy - well described.
Quote from: JBM on the 21 on August 07, 2007, 01:29:33 PM
Did you get his name? Irrespective of whether you did or not, you should report the incident to Croke Park. Let them deal with it.
Maybe I will - at least it will be interesting to see what response, if any, I'll get. Anyone know the appropriate contact?
events@crokepark.ie - I would think that they would want you to complain - it helps them to improve their services
Thanks Jimmy.
Some of stewards are arseholes - I remember last year at match I was in early and there might have been 3000 people in the stadium at the time - there were friends I knew and I wanted to go and speak to them - So I went over to thier section and I was stopped by one of these stewards 9 a fair age of a man - he said let me see your tickets - I said I wasn't sitting here but just wanted to go and talk to some friends - he tld me that under no circumstances could I go to another section of the ground and sit down or speak to anyone - I explained that I only wanted to speak to some friends - he insisted that I couldn't and that If I gave any more "hassle" I'd be put out of the ground !!!!! Can you believe that ?
Jobsworth or what ? There must be a few of them about then -
by the way,do all these boys get paid for stewarding these matches ?
there was another little observation I made on Sunday which for me anyway was very emotional. Before the Cats v Wexford game down at Hill 16 James McGarry was playing a game of hurling between himself and his son. Then James went away and the young lad was pucking the ball well out to the centre of the field to Henry who was rifling it back at him. Makes all our worries little ones and I hope things like this and the support they are getting from the GAA will help them both to get over their recent tragedy. I got the ould lump in the throat watching them anyway.
QuoteI said I wasn't sitting here but just wanted to go and talk to some friends - he tld me that under no circumstances could I go to another section of the ground and sit down or speak to anyone - I explained that I only wanted to speak to some friends - he insisted that I couldn't and that If I gave any more "hassle" I'd be put out of the ground !!!!! Can you believe that ?
If that be the case they break their own rules because two lads who looked all important were sitting in the front row of the Premium in front of me and the Chef, dressed in what chef's dress in, came out and stood there, aye, standing, talking to them and as we used to say, blocking our light, or, they were in my light for a few minutes while they exchanged "is everthing ok" type sayings.
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 07, 2007, 03:35:30 PM
...The Garda he brought back to evict me from my seat was my brother!!
Clasic moment and the steward went off with his tail between his legs
Nice one RLL ;D
Let us know how you get on. As they would say in the States, the man needs to retake the orientation!! (Even though its probably too late for that)
Seriously, I think it is very important for any of ye to complain - a similar thing happened to me a few years ago at Croker - soured the whole experience for me and I didn't do anything about it. afterwards. Regretted it.
He tries that on in front of a few important clients of the GAA and it will hurt them.
Is this thread for us poor Derry lads who are so bad we dont know how to get to Croker?
Quote from: Jinxy on August 07, 2007, 01:26:57 PM
In all seriousness, there's nothing worse than brisk walkers, especially with pint glasses of water lying all over the joint in the premium.
Sure if the guy wasnt there telling people where the hoganstand was you boys would think the 8th of Dec came early and head for the shops ;D
Quote from: Tankie on August 07, 2007, 09:18:47 PM
Sure if the guy wasnt there telling people where the hoganstand was you boys would think the 8th of Dec came early and head for the shops ;D
Maybe they should have someone in the Pubs around Croke Park to get ye out of them and to make sure your shower turn up for a match early for once
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 07, 2007, 10:23:02 PM
Maybe they should have someone in the Pubs around Croke Park to get ye out of them and to make sure your shower turn up for a match early for once
Your in no position to be giving abuse LL, you can up for a match a few years ago and ended up shacking up with a dub ;)
Quote from: Tankie on August 07, 2007, 10:45:48 PM
Your in no position to be giving abuse LL, you can up for a match a few years ago and ended up shacking up with a dub ;)
Actually met her in Kilkenny when she was living there while training to be a Vet.She's not your typical Dublin girl she has a bit of class and a education :D :P
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 07, 2007, 10:47:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 07, 2007, 10:45:48 PM
Actually met her in Kilkenny when she was living there training to be a Vet.She's not your typical Dublin girl she has a bit of class and a education :D :P
That much education she had to study in Kilkenny ;D if she got that much class what she doing with you ???
She studied in UCD but her work experience was in Kilkenny coz there aren't too many farms up in the auld concrete jungle that is Dublin.. ;)
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 07, 2007, 10:54:10 PM
She studied in UCD but her work experience was in Kilkenny coz there aren't too many farms up in the auld concrete jungle that is Dublin.. ;)
Well atleast she bagged herself a farmer anyway ;D
Quote from: Tankie on August 07, 2007, 10:55:16 PM
I'd say you wouldn't know what a Round Baler was if it drove over your pimped out Nissan Micra that all the Dublin youngfellas seem to be driving
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 07, 2007, 11:00:40 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 07, 2007, 10:55:16 PM
I'd say you wouldn't know what a Round Baler was if it drove over your pimped out Nissan Micra that all the Dublin youngfellas seem to be driving
In that suppose to be an insult ? I dont know what a Round Baler is and dont care
f**k off Gnevin,Tankie and myself were having a laugh and you have to come on here with your shite
I wasn't insulting anyone jaysis your one sensitive individual
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 07, 2007, 11:04:32 PM
f**k off Gnevin,Tankie and myself were having a laugh and you have to come on here with your shite
I was having a laugh too Jesus LL relax , i just forgot to put in the :p . To quote a famous word smith "jaysis your one sensitive individual"
Quote from: Gnevin on August 07, 2007, 11:10:59 PM
I was having a laugh too Jesus LL relax , i just forgot to put in the :p . To quote a famous word smith "jaysis your one sensitive individual"
Mmm i have my doubts but sure i'll give you the benifit of that doubt...
And just to show there is no hard feelings here is a little info on Round Balers for you
The most frequently used type of baler is a round baler. It produces cylindrically shaped 'round' or 'rolled' bales. The hay is simply rolled up inside the baler using rubberized belts, fixed rollers, or a combination of rollers and belts. When the bale reaches a determined size, the twine or mesh wrap that binds the bale is wrapped around the outside but not knotted. The back of the baler is opened up and the bale is discharged. Variable chamber balers typically produce bales from 48 to 72 inches in diameter (about 180 cm) and up to 60 inches in width. The bales weigh from 1100 lb (500 kg) to 2200 lb (1000 kg).
Early round balers were sold by Allis Chalmers as the Roto Baler. These bales were roughly 16 inches in diameter and 48 inches wide. The concept was first pioneered by Ummo Luebbens as early as 1910. Introduced in 1947 and discontinued in 1960, Allis Chalmers was a pioneer in supplying machinery that would form cylindrical bales during a period where rectangular bales were most common.
And heres a picture of one in action... :)
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/Rundballenpresse.gif)
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 07, 2007, 11:15:38 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 07, 2007, 11:10:59 PM
Mmm i have my doubts but sure i'll give you the benifit of that doubt...
And just to show there is no hard feelings here is a little info on Round Balers for you
The most frequently used type of baler is a round baler. It produces cylindrically shaped 'round' or 'rolled' bales. The hay is simply rolled up inside the baler using rubberized belts, fixed rollers, or a combination of rollers and belts. When the bale reaches a determined size, the twine or mesh wrap that binds the bale is wrapped around the outside but not knotted. The back of the baler is opened up and the bale is discharged. Variable chamber balers typically produce bales from 48 to 72 inches in diameter (about 180 cm) and up to 60 inches in width. The bales weigh from 1100 lb (500 kg) to 2200 lb (1000 kg).
Early round balers were sold by Allis Chalmers as the Roto Baler. These bales were roughly 16 inches in diameter and 48 inches wide. The concept was first pioneered by Ummo Luebbens as early as 1910. Introduced in 1947 and discontinued in 1960, Allis Chalmers was a pioneer in supplying machinery that would form cylindrical bales during a period where rectangular bales were most common.
And heres a picture of one in action... :)
Wow you learn something some unless everyday :D What ever happen to the the day farmer worked no wonder the Laois team is so weak
Thats a nice action.
He's pulling you legs, Dubs. That's a female Weetabeast giving birth to Weetabix.
Wrong baler.
In Meath they use ones that make bigger bales. The wrapping is always in black and not clear like the ones shown. The bales can then only be stacked in a line near the side of the road but always where they can be seen. Then, in "Crown" (as in Royal) Paints they write on each bale. M-E-A-T-H F-O-R S-A-M, with a few big X's on the side to keep the crows away. Any left over wrapping is taken to an improvised sheep dip and treated in green and gold emulsion and its wrapping features can be seen on every roadside ESB and Telephone pole throughout the county.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 08, 2007, 12:17:05 AM
Thats a nice action.
no lads its a " transformer" doing a promo for the new film, they do exist ;) ;)
What Peter the Great was doing behind it we'll never know.
O'Neill, I was looking at a cruiser that was for sale up your neck of the woods yesterday and it said contact Shane O'Neill. Is that yerself??
Decommissioned the last warship when it was clear Kernan's men were not a threat anymore. So not me. I'm East of the lough now.