GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SLIGONIAN on August 06, 2007, 01:03:00 PM

Title: Sligo 07 review
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 06, 2007, 01:03:00 PM
Sligo 07 Report card
It all started against Galway in FBD league in tubber. Good display and then to GMIT where we won comfortably. Beat letrim in the park with a great goal from p gallagher.

Then to the league. Tipp game, we were poor but sweeney saved us when we were 4pts down. Showed character. Waterford game, did well with 14 men. Cavan game, hughes the ref enough said. Meath game, very flat and never got going. Wexford game I wasnt at. Antrim game, played poor but came good in the last 10 mins. Wicklow game, great performance outclassed them and played best stuff of the league. Overall was disappointed with league. The panel underperformed.

CSFC NY easy win,

Ros game, played poor for 50 mins then woke up and played good stuff outscoring them 9-1 in last 20 mins.

Connaght final Highlight of the year. Still in my opinion didnt play to our potential but backs saved us and we won.

Cork game, well what can I say. It felt weird in the sense of anti climax. Players just didnt perform. Full back line great again and egan very good. J davey very good when moved half forward. Itd be easy to have a go at the lads but I wont do that. For whatever reason the looked really tired and holding back. The forwards lacked penetration.

We won Connaght so fair play.

Tommy Breheny: I wouldnt say he is a good manager but he is a lucky one. Some of yee will think thats a crazy statement. Only for peter ford we would not be connaght champions and heres why. J Davey was getting roasted by n joyce and ford switched him off davey in to harrison and also taking off meehan saved us. 50+ mins yday for a change??????????? too slow on the line. Too indecisive. That is true and constructive. Something he needs to work on to make him a better manager.

I watched the warm up very closely yday and you could see who was up for it and not. Some of the players looked tired and lazy where as some looked sharp and fit. McGarty was flying, looked in great shape. I know its irrelavant but if I was manager these are things Id look out for because its all on the day.

Pat mceamney did us no favours yday. Was far too quick to award cork soft frees all day and we have to be battered to get one. That meant our defenders couldnt create any intensity in the tackle but cork could. A clear penalty aswell not given. S davey was clearly pulled back and mcemamy gave free for keeper picking ball on ground all the above is true.

We beat ourselves with easy wides and underperforming. Missed 3 goal chances in first 10 mins.

But anyways well done on winning connaght. Hopefully we'll learn and find some new talent and maybe play to our potential someday. Hopefully sloyan will get fit because hes strong and accurate from long range. All year we never played 70mins and never really played to our potential. McNamara isnt a chb and Jdavey is not a defender. Push them to forwards bring in martyn and phillips and I'll guarntee we'd better.

When you lose sometimes its a blessing in disguise. You learn alot more about the team. lets hope we can retain the nestor next year. We play london in qtrs and are guarnteed home draw if we get ros, leitrim or galway in semi. So great chance to get to a connaght final again. After the league this yr I didnt think in my wildest dreams we'd win connaght and I probably did get a bit carried away with thinking we'd win all ireland but one has to believe. Kinda dissapointed with our exit. Way too tame. But there is always hope and this team is young and a bright future lies ahead.

Sligeach abu.
Title: Re: Sligo 07 review
Post by: Shrewdness on August 06, 2007, 02:19:57 PM
and don't forget to mention the fact that O'Hara flopped as usual when the going got tough. He looked an absolute joke in those yellow boots. Only for the glare off them on the periphery of the action, we wouldn't have even known he was on the pitch.

At least he spared us the crocodile tears he ''shed'' when coming off in the Connacht Final.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 06, 2007, 02:25:52 PM
That's unfair on Eamon O'Hara. He delivered on a lot of big days for Sligo, and he delivered in the Connacht Final again. He's been dogged by injuries the past few years, but I remember him marauding up and down Croker around the time Sligo switched to the Black jerseys. Delighted he at least got his Connacht medal. Of course the media don't realise anyone else but him plays for Sligo, but he has been a warrior for a good few years for them now..
Post by: sligeach on August 06, 2007, 02:27:33 PM
Eamon was clearly not 100%, nowhere near it.
Post by: neutral on August 06, 2007, 03:12:12 PM
Hes a poser lads, The cork midfielders fed him farts the whole game.
Post by: paddypastit on August 06, 2007, 05:21:02 PM
I didn't see any FBD or League performances so can't argue with Sligonian's analysis of them and would agree with the takes on the NYC, Rosc and Conn finals

I don't agree with the comment that TB is not a good only a lucky manager. I met a few of the Sligo players at the GPA Awards in Nov 2005 and was alarmed at the stories about the regime at the time - and this was a year after the whole Tommy Murphy Cup debacle and the meltdown of the management structure before that again. Anybody who then took a group that was clearly divided, gave them belief and brought back others that clearly were not motivated to stay in or join in during the previous 3 years and get them all pointed in the same direction as TB has done over the past four - six months is a good manager and I say that as somebody that has seen a variety of managers - good and bad -  up close and inside the dressing room over the years.

That is not to say that things could not have been managed better in this instance, but that is a whole pile away from calling TB lucky - he made the luck.  The 'failing' in this instance was not so much on the day but in the preparation of the forward line in advance.  It was pretty well articulated after the Connaught final that there was little or no movement out of the Sligo forward line and that this was an issue, and that's before you deal with the basic lack of scoring forwards.  The real disappointment of last Sunday was that there was no evidence of a game plan to overcome those well known and well flagged shortcomings.  That is indeed a management issue, but to be brutal, how much football knowledge is there in the backroom team after TB and Kent

I was the other side from the warm up - Hogan at the Hill end - so couldn't make a judgment on that but the point that you can see on a given day who is up for it and who is not is well made, but much more seasoned managers than TB miss that trick

We were way off the pace on Sunday and with such serious under performances up front, what all could be done from the line - not a lot I would suggest.

I wouldn't agree at all re the ref.. in fact I thought that he gave us the benefit of the doubt on numerous occasions. Some of the Sligo tackles were less than punctual and we were not pulled once.  Egan was I agree he was generally among the better players on the day but he was not once penalised for charging with the ball.  As a case in point that McEnaney did do us any harm, Sligo's point just before half time should have been pulled for Davey taking at least nine steps with ball in hand out under the Cusack and for the most blatant of frontal charges, ball in hand, by Egan just after.  The penalty you refer was no penalty or anything near it based on watching video replay.

I would agree though with your final point that you have to lose to win.  We have though to find a good few players to move up a notch. 1 to 4 we are in good nick.  I have reservations about all of the half backs.  O'Hara does a power of covering for McNamara which some don't see and the two work that well.  I'd not be afraid to persist with him as CHB as he has a presence but if you do, you can't afford the looser type of wing men.  Johnny Davey is a gem in many ways and he'd lift your heart with his guts and have a go approach, but he is not a top class defender.  For all his silkiness in Roscommon, neither is Paul McGovern.  For me, technically in terms of core defending ability, Conor McGowan and Karol O'Neill are two more natural 'destructive' wingmen and Johnny Martyn is a better defensive minded option across the line.  For all his qualities Doohan, while an option too across the line, and into MF, is also a point or too short of being top class and is running out of time to improve. In '02, Philips should really have had an All Star nomination, but if he plays, he has to be in the corner, as he is too fond of sallying up the field and not getting back.  I say that with reservations as he's not a guy that I'd be convinced is a team player and anyone that was around the team in the '01 to '03 era would know and understand.  There is also P Naughton as an option in there somewhere

As to MF.  Lets start with O'Hara and perhaps give a little learning to bitter little numbskulls like 'nuetral' and 'Shrewdness' who clearly know nothing about gaelic football.  Yes O'Hara was less than fit on Sunday - as would anybody who didn't train for four weeks and who seemed to get a knock on the affected area on his injury relatively early in the match.  So what if he was wearing yellow boots.  He is way more than a poser and although he may not have been as swashbuckling, he did a lot of hard graft last Sunday and over the past 13 + years he owes Sligo nothing.  The statement that he never delivers on the big day is so stupid and without basis that it is amusing - who set up the Connaught final win, who bossed MF in the Connaught semi, who drove the team in '01 and '02... need I go on.  Add in that this is a guy that has overcome a dislocated shoulder in the early years of his career and has had a cruciate and a Gilmore's groin in the past four years and has still despite being in his 14th championship season come back to deliver what he has this year??? Sure he plays on the edge and talks a big game but he has never not taken responsibility and he has never ever complained when the heavy stuff comes his way on the pitch. out there so in short, cut the cheap shots in that direction and if you have nothing better to add, take a hike.

Looking forward, MF as a whole is an area where we did better all year than might have been expected.  Quinner is no Daragh Se but he is still well worthy of a county MF berth as long as he is on for it and I think that he is generally in a better space in that regard right now.  It would be nice to see how T Taylor develops as he was beginning to show form by all accounts and am I right in assuming that Kevin Byrne was being brought along for the experience this year in the hope that he might develop in the future - he certainly has the physique.

Up front, now then we have issues.  Sean Davey has flagged retirement.  Brutal to say, but he will never get a better chance and he won't leave a warmer memory by hanging around another year - potentially brilliant but frustrating talent.  McNamara is an option for FF - physique and pace to get on the ball and th ability to play others in.  Up to this year M Breheny has played his best football at CHF but Egan may have more to offer there and Markie will still score out of a corner.  It would be nice to see Kelly develop and the team will always need a player like Curran in a ball winning and hod carrying capacity - what a man for the hits!!  After that though where can we get the scores. Is Dermot McTernan an option.  What about young Scanlon (St Johns) or is he gone the way of soccer.  I presume there  is little chance of attracting Gary Curran back?  Are there other options out there?

It will be interesting to see what the ambition is now.  I think it has to be to restructure the team around what we have and get out of Div 3.  In a partial agreement with Sligeach, I think that TB needs to add some guile to that management team, particularly in terms of planning forward play.  I would have though J Kent would have that but maybe he needs to be released from other work with the team to concentrate completely on coaching forwards and forward play.  Perhaps time for a switch of role for P Taylor?

Anyway on the whole, a year that will be remembered.  As I said elsewhere, thanks lads, enjoy the celebrations

Post by: sligeach on August 06, 2007, 06:08:50 PM
Lads i'm not going to base the following on last sunday but on the year as a whole.

The one thing i will say about last sunday is Eamon shouldn't have stayed on. The mans a legend and a brilliant footballer but he clearly was not fit and not recovered fully from that injury. It was as clear as day he wasn't to anyone who has ever seen him play before. Why TB left him on .. well, i don't know and i won't blame TB for it.

Anyways ...

Goalkeeper -> Very few problem, Philips one of the best shotstoppers in the country and has saved us from a cricket score several times. One thing i will say though which applies to the whole defence and is probably a tactical management decision not the players themselves is this short handpassing out of defence which nearly gives me a heart attack several times every match. He could also try and vary his kickouts a bit more.

Full back line -> Solid, can't ask for better for the talent we have available. McGuire and Donovan are as solid as rocks, Donovan could get an all-star nomination this year imo.

Half back -> Can be dodgy enough but again, who do we have to replace them ? I also think that Johnny Davey might be better suited to a roaming half forward line place. Hes one of the few players that is well able to run at defence and carry the ball from his relatively numerous excursions forward. McNamara again, maybe better suited to full forward if only for bringing a bit of height up there and he seemed well able to win a high ball this year when he wanted it.

MF -> Eamon is one of the best in the Country and if he was fit/uninjured Cork wouldn't have won half the possession in MF they had. Kierans a good ball winner and i don't see anyone else any better at our disposal anyways.

The "Attack" -> Well ... what can i say. Sean was a great player but its probably time to call it quits. Mark might benefit more from the corner, he can be very, very static at times and really needs to change that. David Kellys a great player but its just a matter of physique at the moment, i.e > Hes too small and not strong enough.

I think our major problem is a severe lack of height/ball winners around the square and a very very static attack. How many times last saturday were aimless high balls sent into Kelly ?? Kellys a small guy but hes fast so why wasn't he out around the corners waiting for a nice low ball into the space ?? What was the point of having him around the square and lobbing in high balls to him when his marker was a head taller then him ?

I think TB needs to look around the county for options in attack. I'm not saying we have better players out there then he already has on the panel but surely there are some big ignorant bastards who can catch a ball and lay it off ?
Post by: orangeman on August 06, 2007, 07:56:02 PM
Fair play to Sligo for winning Connacht but how the hell did you do it ? Galway must have been shameful.
Post by: Dont Matter on August 06, 2007, 08:48:36 PM
I dont think ye Sligo people should be getting too dissapointed. Ye ended your long wait for a connacht title and it could be a long while before you win it again so enjoy it. But ye're right O'Hara did look like a bit of a tool wearing those boots and then hardly getting to kick the ball with them.
Post by: Mano on August 06, 2007, 09:16:17 PM
Shrewdness you bitter Rossie clown-still bitter about what he said on TV about Ross a few years ago perhaps!!

I think Paddypastit has defended Eamon well enough there so i have no more to say-apart from the above.
Post by: Shrewdness on August 06, 2007, 10:40:56 PM
Mano........what did he say about Ros on television?????? He's regarded by many as hugely over rated.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 06, 2007, 11:42:57 PM
QuoteHe's regarded by many as hugely over rated

By many who haven't a clue about football (by the way did O'Neill find his way out of Eamonn's pocket yet?). I can count on one hand the poor championship games he's had for Sligo and every one of them to my recollection were due to injury.

I will comment more tomorrow and the days to come on his thread. Would agree with a lot of the contributions here byt the Sligo folk.
Post by: paddypastit on August 06, 2007, 11:55:44 PM
Shrewdness, If you're from Rosc, then ye have plenty of hugely over rated so called footballers of yer own to be getting on with. Away and play with yer sheep.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 07, 2007, 12:04:23 PM
Shrednesss, if you were as good as ohara and offered a boot sponsorship would you wear them?? No..clown.

How important was his goal in the connaght final, he made oneill look like a sheep herder in the semi. People from outside Sligo always ask me is OHARA big headed? with them not even knowing the man. People seem to have this gripe against great footballers or successful people. He is a sound lad. If you go up to him he'll talk away to ya. He doesnt care what anyone thinks of him. Why should he.

O hara is an awesome footballer. Any county would love to have him. Only people who know nothing about football or never seen him play would think hes overrated.
Post by: orangeman on August 07, 2007, 12:07:30 PM
To be fair O'Hara didn't seem fit at all - he sat back and let others do the work.
Post by: mannix on August 07, 2007, 03:40:57 PM
Its over now folks,move along, nothing to see here.Any witnesses please give a statement please.
"Yes inspector, it looks like these guys walked in front of a herd of buffalo and managed to kill a few before getting trampled".
Post by: Shrewdness on August 07, 2007, 05:08:02 PM
O'Hara has often sat back and let others do the work. Look at his wreckless behaviour in getting sent off 3 times in the NFL, leaving Sligo to face the crunch game in Wicklow without him......and didn't they do very nicely without him.

Apart from his goal, he didn't do a lot more in the Connacht Final. His goal has been over hyped, just like he is.
He gathered possession, and soloed clear into open space, before blasting the ball past a helpless goalkeeper from a few yards out.. It's not as if he went on a jinking run, and beat 3 or 4 players like Eoin Mulligan did against Dublin a couple of years ago. Goals like O'Hara's are ten a penny and can be seen in junior club matches all over the country every weekend.

Paddypastit, i don't know who you think all the over rated players are in Roscommon, because most Rossies will tell you that a lot of our players are useless and not up to inter county standard.

What obsession do you Sligo people have with the Roscommon sheep.??
Post by: magpie seanie on August 07, 2007, 05:27:15 PM
Wow, you really have it bad!
Post by: heurebag on August 07, 2007, 06:51:11 PM
not good enough, no cutting edge up front
Post by: paddypastit on August 07, 2007, 08:35:21 PM
Shrewdness, I've spent the last 30 years listening to various Rossie heros being hyed up by their own...

but you know you're dead right, to the nuetral observer most of them are useless, it's just that it's so long since ye had a good one that ye don't know.

Post by: Rossfan on August 07, 2007, 09:23:17 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on August 07, 2007, 08:35:21 PM
Shrewdness, I've spent the last 30 years listening to various Rossie heros being hyed up by their own...

Last 30 years ? Hmmm.... let me see   ..2 Earleys,Keegan, Lindsay,Jigger,Tony Mac,Connellan,Gavin,Junior Mac,Fergie, 2 Newtons, Killoran.......... want me to go on ?
Meanwhile Sligo had Kearns,Murphy, O'Hara and ....... that's right nobody else.
So maybe ye're the winners in the useless stakes eh?
Post by: paddypastit on August 07, 2007, 09:53:25 PM
If that's all ye've got, don't embarass yourself more by going further.
Post by: sligeach on August 08, 2007, 02:00:27 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on August 07, 2007, 05:08:02 PM
O'Hara has often sat back and let others do the work. Look at his wreckless behaviour in getting sent off 3 times in the NFL, leaving Sligo to face the crunch game in Wicklow without him......and didn't they do very nicely without him.

Apart from his goal, he didn't do a lot more in the Connacht Final. His goal has been over hyped, just like he is.

Ah right. I'd expect a comment like that from a teenager. O'Hara actually did a lot of covering for the half backs and a lot of defending, himself and Quinn dominated midfield togeather. It wasn't one of his best matches and in fairness he wasn't near himself in the Connacht final, that hardly makes him overhyped.

QuoteHe gathered possession, and soloed clear into open space, before blasting the ball past a helpless goalkeeper from a few yards out..

He had the vision to see the opportunity and the pace to solo run past younger Galway defenders and took the goal with the opposite foot to what he was solo'ing with. It was a great goal, nothing to rave about but still a great goal.

QuoteIt's not as if he went on a jinking run, and beat 3 or 4 players like Eoin Mulligan did against Dublin a couple of years ago.

Oh wow he outfoxed 2 Dubs with 2 dummys, hardly a huge achievement ;)

But seriously Mulligans goal was pure class, very well done. Do we all have to equal goals of that nature for it to be considered good ?

QuoteGoals like O'Hara's are ten a penny and can be seen in junior club matches all over the country every weekend

Bollox.

O'Hara's not over rated by a long shot. How many Sligo matches you seen shrewdness ? Cause we don't get on the telly that often. Eamon owes Sligo nothing because of what hes given us down the years and the man is a top class brilliant footballer.
Post by: paddypastit on August 08, 2007, 06:46:00 AM
End of.
Post by: stephenite on August 08, 2007, 06:56:52 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 07, 2007, 09:23:17 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on August 07, 2007, 08:35:21 PM

Last 30 years ? Hmmm.... let me see   ..2 Earleys,Keegan, Lindsay,Jigger,Tony Mac,Connellan,Gavin,Junior Mac,Fergie, 2 Newtons, Killoran.......... want me to go on ?
Meanwhile Sligo had Kearns,Murphy, O'Hara and ....... that's right nobody else.
So maybe ye're the winners in the useless stakes eh?

You were doing fine until you mentioned Fergie - Donkey ::)
Post by: Teeling Gael on August 08, 2007, 01:52:02 PM
Agree with what most of the Sligo posters are saying here with 2 small exceptions. Don't think its fair to say Brehony was simply a lucky manager Sligonian,  and Paddy the only thing I'd disagree with in your posts is that I actually thought McNamara was well beaten by O Neill. Dont think for the foreseeable future we have any problems with our backs. Add in Naughton , O Neill , Martyn and Phillips and we are well covered defensively. However its from there up we have problems. K Quinn is a very good option at midfield but whether T Taylor , f Horan or indeed K Byrne have what it takes to be competitive at All Ireland quarter final stage is very debatable.Think O hara is needed again next year but only as a forward. P doohan is hitting 33 in 2008 so again he is unlikely to be competitive at this level.  The only option I know of out there is P Cawley from Geevagh who from personal experience looks the business but him not playing with U21's this year suggests he isn't that interested in the commitment of intercounty football.

T Brehony has came in for some criticism for tactics on Saturday and have to say it looked bad. However all our Sligo posters know that the he is had to taylor his plans to the resources available and our gameplan is based on the forwards inability to win hard ball. You made an excellent point Paddy regrading whether Brehonys backroom team was sufficient and perhaps it looks sparse in hindsight. Keeping back to forward line , we have major problems here. Brendan Egan is not a forward , B Curran is a grafter , S Davey ( talk of retirement ?? ) notoriously unpredictable , Mc Partland's best days look behind him , Kelly has question marks over whether he is more that a speed merchant who can't shoot with as mano suggests no sidestep.Brehony is an excellent intercounty footballer but will never be top ten in the country type player. What options are there out there ?? Sweeney deserves his chance but too date looks unpredictable. McGowan , P Taylor aren't options any more. Marren again has had his chances. Mc Garty has barely kicked a ball competitively in 3 years so it has to be doubtful whether he will ever be competitive again at this level. Sloyane wont be back. Is P Gallagher a back or a forward ?? . ALL in all lots of doubts about our forward line. Are there any options outside the panel ?? Stephen Coen is the player that jumps out at me but again he is a small fast player. Hopefully the club championship will throw up new names.
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2007, 02:25:44 PM
Quote from: stephenite on August 08, 2007, 06:56:52 AM
Fergie - Donkey ::)

The teams he managed put ye're Minors in their place the last 2 years anyway  ;D

As the Examiner said all those years ago " not bad for Donkeys"
Post by: paddypastit on August 08, 2007, 03:01:15 PM
Teeling, I'd need to watch it again re McN on Sat but you might be right because the more I reflect on it, what I recall of his contribution was more attacking than defending whereas O'Neill did handle a fair bit of ball.  Also I noted O'Hara dropping off to cover on a number of occasions (the kind of solid unselfish teamwork that amazingly doesn't get noticed, even with yellow boots).

More to the point, your mail paints a dismal if very true picture of the immediate future potential.  I'd agree too with you re Cawley, although I haven't seen him in action since '05.  One thing for sure - if he's anything like his oul fella, he's hard, seriously hard.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 08, 2007, 03:30:22 PM
Cawley is an exceptionally good footballer. I often think its gas that Geevagh have 3 lads on the county panel and none of the 3 are the best footballer in Geevagh! Word about the place seems to be that Cawley isn't too bothered with the county after getting fucked over when he was a minor (I remember him coming on early in Carrick and being one of the best players on the field only to be dropped the next day).
Post by: paddypastit on August 08, 2007, 04:13:55 PM
Given that Breheny's old man is from Geevagh (his and Cawley's home places would be less than a mile aprt as the crow flies) perhaps an opportunity to connect may be possible? 
Post by: sligoman2 on August 19, 2007, 11:03:01 PM
Based on what Cork did today to Meath without Masters, maybe things aren't so bad after all.

I wouldn't waste my breath on the O'Hara begrudgers...
Post by: From the Bunker on August 19, 2007, 11:50:27 PM
Look don't base a year on what other did! Base it on what you did. You won a provincial title for the first time in 32 years. That is yours,. That is success.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 21, 2007, 09:52:53 AM
SM2 - I was pretty down in the immediate aftermath of the Cork game but after I watched it back I realised Cork were a damn good team and better than I'd thought. All the good aspects of our play they were able to match and they have the best midfield in the country and better forwards.

For '08 we could do with a few new faces but only if they're better. I think ewven with the personnel we had on board this year we can improve. I'd be looking at roles in the forwards for McNamara and J. Davey. As Paddy has said Martyn and O'Neill can defend and will do a good job in the HB line in their place. We need McGarty to come into the team. Doohan will have a bigger role. We've plenty of good hard working half forwards like Curran/Egan/McPartland - all deserving of a place in their own right - but can we play all 3 in the same team? Can someone more creative/able to beat a man fit into the team system? It's Tommy Breheny and John Kent's task to get the tactics and balance right and if anyone can it will be them.

I don't worry too much about the league. The nature of our team means that we need the dry pitch and hard sod to prosper as speed is one of our major assets. That's why in my view we tend to underperform in the league in recent years. We should still be in the mix for promotion though.
Post by: Star Spangler on August 21, 2007, 11:16:08 AM
How come a Sligo-only thread isn't dumped into the Local section like the Tyrone one?  :P
Post by: Shrewdness on August 21, 2007, 07:53:38 PM
This thread is turning into a load of shite. It's over, let it go.......Cork beat Sligo without leaving first gear, men against boys. Fair play to Sligo for winning Connacht, but that's all it was. Anyone confident enough to put their money down, and say Sligo will win it again next year?????. No., didn't think so.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2007, 10:38:33 AM
QuoteAnyone confident enough to put their money down, and say Sligo will win it again next year?

Well Roscommon won't win it anyway.
Post by: Rossfan on August 22, 2007, 08:10:45 PM
Jasus Seanie no need to rub it in :'(
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 23, 2007, 11:51:36 AM
Why would anyone outside Sligo look at this thread in the first place???? Are we that important to yee...I see rossfan has double all ireland champions this yr (nicky rackard cup+...) Are you using the internet in a mental home? ::)

Anyway this is a year review not just the cork game. Ive certainly got it out of my system. I underestimated Cork big time. Alot better than I thought especially in defence.

My Sligo team next year presuming everyone is fit: GREENE DONOVAN MCGUIRE HARRISON MCGOVERN EGAN MARTYN MCGARTY QUINN J DAVEY OHARA MCPARTLAND SWEENEY BREHONY MCNAMARA...

Only really the full back line is guarnteed half backs could be anyone. We just need to bolster the forwards and I hope breheny swallows his pride on using mcanamara at chb. Try him in the forwards in the league with j davey. Both cant defend in my opinion. Lots of players left out and I wouldnt argue with anyone. I look forward to our league agianst decent teams so hopefully we'll progress.

I will be putting my money down on SLIGO for connaght 2008. As everyone says the rest are sh*te and if we get handy draw again like this year why not. We play london in qtrs and are guarnteed home semi final. ;D good times ahead. because I know this team can play alot better than they did this yr.

i heard s davey is retired...

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2007, 12:02:39 PM
QuoteAs everyone says the rest are sh*te

Well the rest were shite this year but even at that Sligo struggled to put them away. However Galway and Mayo do have an ability to resurrect themselves quickly certainly in comparison to the rest of Connacht and it's hard to see both of them being as bad again next year although it is possible.

Overall Sligo would have a decent chance I imagine to retain Connacht although it depends on how they react to winning it this year and a few other factors.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 23, 2007, 12:15:08 PM
No disrespect Sligonians, but shouldn't this thread be in the local section, Admin?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 23, 2007, 12:24:33 PM
Well I think the atitude towards connaght and the rest of the connaght belittling us winning as merely its because everyone else was so poor will hopefully focus and motivate the lads more. Listen I know it was poor standard this yr but I dont really care. We were the best team in it.

Also though we didnt play well all year and i know people think T brehony is genius but hes not got the best of alot our players and that is fact. But he deserves huge credit from what he inherited the state of team from 1.5yrs ago. But can push us to next level I dont know but I hope so. He made so many huge mistakes this year in my opinion. I have lost alot of confidence in him.

The hope I have for next year is we this Sligo team hit there full potential. We didnt even come close this yr. Some great players and good subs.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 23, 2007, 12:30:37 PM
I think GAABOARD Admin are right not to have this local section because its county team related only. A review of our year for the county team not anything to do with clubs.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 23, 2007, 12:37:08 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 23, 2007, 12:30:37 PM
I think GAABOARD Admin are right not to have this local section because its county team related only.

And? It relates only and specifically to Sligo, county team or not, that's of no relevance. Or do you want to be treated differently to every other county?
Post by: Rossfan on August 23, 2007, 08:31:26 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 23, 2007, 11:51:36 AM
rossfan has double all ireland champions this yr (nicky rackard cup+...) Are you using the internet in a mental home? ::)

Nicky Rackard and the U 21 Hurling - both All Ireland Championships :D :D :D :D
And of course I havent mentioned our U16 Footballers who won the Manning Cup and our U21s who won the Hastings Cup. ;D
I hope the top table at the Co Board annual dinner doesnt collapse with the weight of all the trophies. ;D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 24, 2007, 12:20:09 PM
Id be a sad man to take you seriously...I see the fun in it..When times are bad you got to make the best of it ;).

Post by: Rossfan on August 24, 2007, 08:39:16 PM
You'd be well used to doin' that  ;)