GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: darbyo on August 05, 2007, 08:39:05 PM

Title: Waterford V Limerick
Post by: darbyo on August 05, 2007, 08:39:05 PM
One week to go to this novel pairing, can't see anything but a comfortable Waterford win. I've spoken to a good few Limerick lads over the past week and a few of them reckon that Limerick would beat Waterford (if they got there). I think they are being seriously delusional, remember to get to this stage Limerick have only beaten Tipp and Clare, and if you go through their form lines over the past 24 months it doesn't suggest that either team are up to much. Although Limerick will give it 100% and they should put it up to Waterford for 2/3 of the game I think Waterford will pull away in the last 15min. to win by at least 6 pts.
Title: Re: Waterford V Limerick
Post by: Balboa on August 05, 2007, 08:49:53 PM
Can only see one winner, the 2 games with Cork will bring Waterford on immensely. Previous Waterford teams would not have come back at Cork they way they did last week. Whether they are fit for the Cats is another story for another day.
Post by: darbyo on August 05, 2007, 08:57:53 PM
QuoteWhether they are fit for the Cats is another story for another day.

That's the real question alright, but Kilkenny are going into the AI with only one semi serious game under their belts. Regardless of how competitive their squad sessions are, they can't compare to the 3 Cork games or indeed the 2 Limerick games that Waterford will (probably!) have played.
Post by: glens73 on August 06, 2007, 08:47:29 AM
Waterford could easily lose this one if their heads aren't right.

They have lost games like this over the years (Clare in '02) Limerick have nothing to lose.

If Limerick happen to beat Waterford, the final probably won't be competitive enough.
Post by: darbyo on August 09, 2007, 10:49:26 PM
According to the lads over Anfearrua, the teams are as follows

Waterford team for Sunday:
C Hennessy, E Murphy, D Prendergast, B Phelan, T Browne, K McGrath, A Kearney, M Walsh, J Kennedy, S Molumphy,
S Prendergast, E Kelly, J Mullane, D Shanahan, P Flynn

Limerick team for Sunday:
Brian Murray Damien Reale Stephen Lucey Seamus Hickey
Peter Lawlor Brian Geary Mark Foley
Dodge Banger
Mike Fitz Ollie Moran Seanie O Connor
Andrew O'Shaughnessey Brian Begley Donie Ryan
Post by: Jimbobjnr on August 10, 2007, 12:17:01 AM
Limerick to upset the odds and beat wateford, kilkenny to beat either team relatively comfortably in final.
Post by: Lecale2 on August 10, 2007, 09:04:58 AM
I'm surprised Eoin McGrath doesn't get a start for waterford. I think this will be close but Waterford will win. Limerick +5 at evens on Paddy Power looks the business!
Post by: robinbanks on August 10, 2007, 01:22:35 PM
Limerick half back line looks slow.Think we will do alot of damage there with Shanahan/Molumphy/Kelly.Our half back line is probably srongest in the country.If limerick can get high ball into Begley we will probably leak a few goals , however expect us to pull through at the very end by the narrowest.No way are Kilkenny going to get a soft All Ireland this year.Who ever will get through semi will give Kilkenny a rude awakening!
Post by: johnneycool on August 10, 2007, 02:00:32 PM
Whilst Limerick are underdogs I'd not be surprised if they win it by the odd point. Waterford have had two high tempo games against Cork the last few sundays and that may leave a bit of tiredness in the legs and minds. Limerick will go into them at 100 miles an hour from the word go and if they get a bit of a run on Waterford at the start, they'll take some catching.

Limerick have to win the Ollie Moran/ Ken McGrath contest as the Limerick forwards can be quite wasteful and need a lot of possession to get up a big score unlike big Dan who is getting scores from little enough time on the ball.

I wonder if Waterford will plumb big Seamus Prendergast onto Mark Foley who had a bit of a tough time on the barrell who won most aerial possession off him that day.

All the signs suggest Waterford but the drive that Limerick has shown this year has gotten them through against supposed better teams.

This game mightn'd have caught the media's imagination as much as the Cork/Waterford games but it'll be just as exciting as both teams go full out no matter what.
Roll on sunday
Post by: darbyo on August 10, 2007, 05:52:03 PM
QuoteWhilst Limerick are underdogs I'd not be surprised if they win it by the odd point

QuoteLimerick to upset the odds and beat wateford

Lads I know this is a two horse race and anything can happen in sport but I feel that anybody giving Limerick the nod are doing so simply because it is Waterford their playing. If they were playing Cork or Kilkenny nobody would give them a chance. But at the moment Waterford are on a par with both those teams yet it seems they are not getting the credit. Limerick are in the semi courtesy of wins over Tipp(who were beaten by a Wexford team hammered twice by Kilkenny) and Clare (who were well beaten by Cork). So Limerick have only beaten teams that have shown themselves to be below the top level teams, of which Waterford are one.
                  While again sport can throw up surprises ther is no form line to suggest that Waterford won't win this handy. 
Post by: Guillem2 on August 12, 2007, 09:02:24 AM
What was in it at the end last time in the Munster Final? 9 points? I think that says a lot. The bookies are doing Limerick no favors offering a spread of + 5. It should be at last 8. Having said that if there's the slightest bit of complacancy about Waterford, Limerick can take them.
My prediction is Waterfod to win by 8. Shannhan will be well marked so I'd take Mullane to score the first goal. He had a quiet day against Cork.

The Waterford half backs and forwards get all the attention but is it just me or is Clinton Hennessy having one hell of a championship? With possibly 2 game still to play he would be my All Star in the keepers position.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 12, 2007, 05:44:25 PM
Fair play to limerick, looked like waterford had them with 10 minutes left
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 12, 2007, 05:55:25 PM
Marvellous game. Intense the whole way through, mighty belts, great scores, heros everywhere.

Can sport get any better than this?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 12, 2007, 06:10:39 PM
Feel so sorry for Waterford, hope Limerick do the same to Kilkenny, just can't see that happening...

Best hurling Championship ever  8)
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 12, 2007, 06:13:25 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on August 12, 2007, 05:55:25 PM
Marvellous game. Intense the whole way through, mighty belts, great scores, heros everywhere.

Just to throw a spanner in the works, I thought it was poor from a hurling point of view! Error after error, Kilkenny will win the final and I think we could see a hammering on the cards
Post by: Hardy on August 12, 2007, 06:25:34 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on August 12, 2007, 05:55:25 PM

I thought the hurling match was great too, SS!.
Post by: muppet on August 12, 2007, 06:26:30 PM
 Was it just me or was that the filthiest game of the year.

Normally I'd have a go at the ref but its hardly his fault when one team are so intent on pulling on everything that moves, including their own players.

The hurling pundits are terrific for talking up their game and their football equivalents could do with a lesson from them. However they can ignore some obvious faults with the game.

I have never cheered on Kilkenny in a game, but I hope they hammer Limerick.  
Post by: agorm on August 12, 2007, 06:44:04 PM
I thought that it was a fantastic game of hurling. I feel gutted for Waterford. This really was their year. No one would have begrudged them the McCarthy cup and I feel that they deserved it.

I think however that the time is up for Justin McCarthy. He just makes too many unwarranted changes that could disrupt things more than improve things. Was he in his right mind taking off Mullane & Paul Flynn within a short period of time when they still had plenty of time to haul back Limerick's lead. The damage had been done more up the fireld especially in the full back line and Mullane got very little service. One of the two at least should definitely been on the field close to the end when Waterford got back to within a point. At the very end it was one of the subs (no. 20 i think) that fumbled the ball and could not pick it up and the ball was sent down to Begly to hammer it home.

Sport is cruel but this has been cruel to Waterford. I hope Limerick win it now. Previous Limerick teams have had to endure their fair share of cruel days.
Post by: thejuice on August 12, 2007, 06:51:41 PM
It was a fantastic game in terms of excitment but yes there were a considerable amout of mistakes but i enjoyed it alot. Best of luck to Limerick in the final, ill be rooting for them all the way. it was a physical game alright but i wouldnt say much of it was that dirty.
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 12, 2007, 06:54:14 PM
Fantastic? it was error ridden..... First time in years I'm not looking forward to the final!! Limerick are like the club team from the mountains that you hate playing because they just drag the game down to a poor standard and you know you will end up getting seven shades knocked out of you!! Come on guys you can't say that it was hurling at it's finest. Waterford looked tired and Limerick have just introduced us to new style of hurling - Puke hurling
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 12, 2007, 07:29:08 PM
Perhaps, being from Longford, I am naive in hurling. Perhaps I, subconsciously, like it primitive.

However in terms of excitement, tension, edge of seat stuff, (compared to that awful shite we commonly refer to as soccer - imagine I saw 6 clowns sitting down with pints ready to watch ManU v Some-shite-relegation-outfit in Paddy Cullens in Ballsbridge and ignored the Croke Park-fest, but, hey, that's their right, I spose), drama, etc etc...it couldn't be matched.

Did ye see Ollie Moran, after he was bandaged, gunning for Ken McGrath. Sooner him than me!

Post by: INDIANA on August 12, 2007, 07:43:13 PM
bloody awful game. I thought i was in Musgrave Park at times watching that rubbish. There more scrums today than you'd see between England and South Africa. Limerick have about 5 hurlers so they have to adapt their tactics to packing everything because they'd be destroyed in open hurling.
Waterford played about as badly as they could have played and it still took Limerick 70 mins to beat them. Waterford were tired but mentally they don't have it to land the big one. Allowed themselves to be mullocked and horsed out of it in the tight. Limerick only scored ten points. They'll be lucky to score one goal in the final. Kilkenny are going to win the softest all-ireland in living memory. Kilkenny by 10-15 pts.
As for Mullane and Flynn -they were playing very very poorly.Mc Carthy had no choice but to take them off- neither of them contributed anything to the game-what was he supposed to do? You can't leave players on the park because of their reputations.
Limerick make the absolute most of themselves and by turning it into a semi-rugby game they mask their limitations.  Kilkenny will mark O Shaughnessy(who is class) and that's it from what i can see.
Only problem is-it won't work against Kilkenny. Waterford -it's probably the end of the road. God almighty it's terrible to see such a talented team not land the big one. But they only have themselves to blame.
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 12, 2007, 07:57:18 PM
Indy, do you reckon they should re-name the final to the Super Bowl? Limerick packing the midfield and just jumping on any kilkenny guy with or without the ball ;)
Post by: muppet on August 12, 2007, 08:01:55 PM
QuotePuke hurling

I like it.  :D
Post by: Balboa on August 12, 2007, 08:27:34 PM
Just when you thought Wterford had conquered their demons in knocking Cork out last week they reverted back to type, shitting on the nest when it mattered most, they just dont seem to have the head for it. It looked as if they had already looked past Limerick and were preparing for an All Ireland Final, in fairness on the evidence of today if they got to the final Kilkenny would have beaten them out the gate, full back line is still as ropey as f**k. The 2 Cork games obviously took a lot out of them, the final will be an anti-climax now though, Kilkenny by a minimum of 8.
Post by: magickingdom on August 12, 2007, 08:55:18 PM
thought it was a  great game, feel very sorry for waterford tho they have been great all year..
Post by: Canalman on August 12, 2007, 09:27:42 PM
An average enough game imo and the best team lost. A cakewalk for KK in the final I fear. KK are well able to match Limerick's (ahem) physicality and hurl also.
Bit disappointed with Bennis' cheap shot at Dan Shanahan after the game. Shades of the Conor Mortimer trash talking after the 2006 semi final.
Post by: INDIANA on August 12, 2007, 09:34:14 PM
i think limerick will have delusions of grandeur come the final. only certainty is that their roughhouse tactics will cut no ice with kk who will if necessary dish out the timber if necessary.
Post by: Balboa on August 12, 2007, 09:35:16 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 12, 2007, 09:27:42 PM
An average enough game imo and the best team lost. A cakewalk for KK in the final I fear. KK are well able to match Limerick's (ahem) physicality and hurl also.
Bit disappointed with Bennis' cheap shot at Dan Shanahan after the game. Shades of the Conor Mortimer trash talking after the 2006 semi final.

Aye there was no need, Bennis comes across as a bit of a kn**ker. I hope the Cats tank them & i think they will.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 12, 2007, 09:39:18 PM
While I'm delighted for Limerick, I think Waterford would have given Kilkenny a better game in the final.
Limerick have great spirit and won't lie down, but I think Kilkenny have too many good hurlers.
You'd have to feel sorry for Waterford. It would have been great for hurling had they won an All Ireland.
It's now almost 10 years since a county outside of the Big Three won an All Ireland.

Waterford lost it themselves though. After getting back in touch, they conceded a killer goal. They had too many glory shots at goal from outfield that didn't come off. Playing it in to Mullane and co. would have been the better option. I would have left Mullane and Flynn on as Waterford don't really have a strong bench anyway.
Hopefully Limerick can do the business in the final, but I can't see it happening.
Post by: Midman on August 12, 2007, 09:42:27 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 12, 2007, 09:27:42 PM

Missed that, what did Bennis say?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 12, 2007, 09:44:03 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 12, 2007, 09:34:14 PM
i think limerick will have delusions of grandeur come the final. only certainty is that their roughhouse tactics will cut no ice with kk who will if necessary dish out the timber if necessary.
I think any team that wants to beat Kilkenny needs to stand up to them physically and not be bullied.
Limerick will be grand in that regard, but in terms of stickwork, I think they'll come up short.
Limerick's best hope is to exploit any weaknesses in the Kilkenny full back line and get about 4 goals. Which could conceivably happen I suppose...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 12, 2007, 10:39:58 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 12, 2007, 09:39:18 PM
While I'm delighted for Limerick, I think Waterford would have given Kilkenny a better game in the final.
Limerick have great spirit and won't lie down, but I think Kilkenny have too many good hurlers.
You'd have to feel sorry for Waterford. It would have been great for hurling had they won an All Ireland.
It's now almost 10 years since a county outside of the Big Three won an All Ireland.

Waterford lost it themselves though. After getting back in touch, they conceded a killer goal. They had too many glory shots at goal from outfield that didn't come off. Playing it in to Mullane and co. would have been the better option. I would have left Mullane and Flynn on as Waterford don't really have a strong bench anyway.
Hopefully Limerick can do the business in the final, but I can't see it happening.

It will be just as good for hurling if Limerick win it..Was delighted for them and really enjoyed the match
Hurling has definatly been the better of the two codes this year
Post by: neilthemac on August 12, 2007, 10:46:19 PM
Bennis said "eight goals scored and none from Dan Shanahan" fair play to him. did his homework on the opposition and it paid off
Post by: didlyi on August 12, 2007, 10:50:32 PM
Im gutted for Waterford but dont want to take from Limerick win by saying that the system beat waterford today. Playing the same teams twice in succession says it all while KK stroll to the final. I sincerely hope that there is another year in these WF players but they may look back on today as being the darkest day of all. They would give KK a better game than LK in final but I still feel Limerick could still do it. I  hope so for the sake of hurling it would be awfull if KK win a one sided final after all the great games this year.

Neutral today
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 13, 2007, 08:32:57 AM
One thing is certain is that if Limerick apply the same rugby tactics in the final Kilkenny will be able to match them and will pick off points from long range for fun.. If you take out the goals Limerick only scored 5 points from play - Junior teams would score more than that! I know I will be betting on KK to win by 15 points
Post by: stnessan on August 13, 2007, 09:27:37 AM
True, LK went very long periods (esp. in 2nd half) without any score. I will travel more in hope than expectation in September but glad to see a bit of pride restored in the green and white.
Post by: GY Joe on August 13, 2007, 09:31:34 AM
Delighted for Limerick.. Gutted for Waterford. They have brightened this awful summer with their brand of all action hurling.

Limerick, 31 counties are hoping you can put in the same effort only better for the Cats... 'cos thats what it will take.

Lads, the game was a good one yesterday. The first half especially was played at a frightening pace. The ground was wet so there was always going to be some mistakes and scrums but the passion and commitment and the sheer excitement more than made up for that..

The pluses for Limerick? - The full forward line made some hay against the Deceis full backs. Ollie Moran was back to his Tipp form. Hickey, Reale fantastic at the back. Definately a real good team performance whan you find it hard to pick a MOM from the whole team. Who got the Sunday Game vote anyway?
Post by: stnessan on August 13, 2007, 09:49:12 AM
Saughs I think. I thought Hickey was super, I don't think he is even 20 yet.
Post by: maxpower on August 13, 2007, 10:24:28 AM
I thought Hickey was very much the MoM yesterday, Shaughs was incredibly accurate and tormented waterford esp in the first 25mins but Hickey hurled a blinder all through out.

feel very sorry for Waterford, i do think the better team lost, i really fancied waterford to make it an all ireland final to remember, i hope and pray limerick can still do that but i fear the cats will be too much for them.

Waterford looked out of sorts, possibly a tired team, some of their shooting was dire at times and that can possibly be attributed to 3 huge games in 3 weeks just taking a little to much out of them,

its been a great year for hurling, here hoping for a great final
Post by: INDIANA on August 13, 2007, 07:13:14 PM
just listening to newstalk- bennis still crowing about dan the man not getting any goals. it's shite like that that makes me start to wish kk knock the bollox out of them in the final.
Post by: agorm on August 13, 2007, 07:48:35 PM
To be honest I wont be as "up" for Limerick as I would have been for Waterford, I just dont know enough of the players and Bennis isnt the most endearing of personalities. That said he probably wont care what the neutrals think if they win the final. I am sure that the vast majority of neutrals will want them to win but with less passion than if Waterford were there.

I heard Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh say that he also thought it was a fantastic game. I think that it must be the hurling purists that did not like the game as it was edge of the seat stuff in my mind. Waterford seemed to panic and make rash changes when in reality they were welll able to catch Limerick if they kept their cool and took their points. I know that Mullane & Flynnwere not having the best of days but it would have been a huge boost to Limerick to see both these boys being replaced. The guys coming on were not guaranteed to be better and imo no more than one of those two guys should have been replaced by McCarthy.

Can anyone give the age profiles of the Waterford players? How many will go? Hopefully they are able to give it another lash, maybe a new manager who is not as trigger happy with the changes both before and during games will help them over the line.
Post by: Balboa on August 13, 2007, 07:52:43 PM
I think it is set up for someone like Donal O'Grady to come in & replace Mc Carthy, the team isnt that old with the exception of Browne (who does not seen to be slowing down) & Flynn.
Post by: INDIANA on August 13, 2007, 10:35:23 PM
heard Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh say that he also thought it was a fantastic game. I think that it must be the hurling purists that did not like the game as it was edge of the seat stuff in my mind.

it's just that i was very close to the action and from my position  i didn't like some of the stuff i saw from limerick. i like good physical hurling but i felt limerick crossed the line on sunday. i won't be shouting for them in the final. I've lots of time for o shaughnessy and seamus hickey and even someone like donie ryan who's worked his balls off to get onto that team but certain others i'd have no time for with their antics.
Post by: neilthemac on August 14, 2007, 10:04:18 AM
sure Kilkenny are more physical in tackling than any other team and you don't hear people moaning about them

up Limerick and feck the begrudgers
Post by: bottlethrower7 on August 14, 2007, 10:12:43 AM
Quote from: didlyi on August 12, 2007, 10:50:32 PM
Playing the same teams twice in succession says it all while KK stroll to the final.

what does it mean that they played Cork twice in succession (sucessive sundays?) ? They wouldn't have had to if they beat them the first day.

Kilkenny had to play the same team twice also, though not on successive sundays. Had they drawn I'm sure they would have had to though.

Its a weak point either way.

Kilkenny may have had what looked to many to be an easier passage to the final. On their way they played Wexford twice. Wexford beat Tipp, who it took Limerick 3 games to get over. That Tipp team beat Cork who it took Waterford 2 attempts to get over. Kilkenny also beat Galway. Can anyone here say for sure that Galway wouldn't have beaten Cork, Limerick or Waterford?

So please explain to me how that is an easier passage. Is it just because of the margin of victory of their games? On paper these teams are as tough a proposition as any out there. That Kilkenny overcame them relatively easier may say more about Kilkenny than it does about the opposition.
Post by: mouview on August 14, 2007, 10:13:16 AM
Jeez, is this thread populated by pro-KK fanatics? Sure, Limerick were tough - that's the type of game it is. W'ford, mores the pity couldn't up the ante on Sunday, but that's the nature of sport. KK are no angels either, remember Noel Hickey's near-decapitation on Eugene Cloonan a couple of years back? I would have taken off Mullane on Sunday because, as in the Cork replay, he was doing nothing; Flynn, I may have left on for longer.

Limerick, if they play as well as they did in the first half, will give KK loads of it and they will be well up for the final - they have every chance. A badly-organised and prepared Galway team gave the cats well enough of it for the hour and may have ran them closer but for a raw full-back and an injury to Fergal Moore. KKs forwards aren't super either; Shefflin didn't score from play against Galway, Comerford won't beat a team on his own and Fogarty and Brennan are hot and cold. Where they are superior to Limerick is in the quality they can bring in off the bench, Limerick have less options there I feel. However at 3/1 + the latter are a great bet in a two-horse race.
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 14, 2007, 10:21:14 AM
Quote from: neilthemac on August 14, 2007, 10:04:18 AM
sure Kilkenny are more physical in tackling than any other team and you don't hear people moaning about them

up Limerick and feck the begrudgers

They are physical but they don't assault the other team! The pull across Dan's head was assault, the off the ball hitting by Limerick players was shocking, the constant rugby tackling of Waterford players which the ref refused to punish. I can see how people enjoyed the game as the intensity was on a different level. I just think Limerick really crossed the line between intensity and filth. Hurling is a mans game but by God Limerick took it to Criminality levels. I for one along with probably quiet a few neutral hurling fans will be praying that Kilkenny show Limerick what real hurling champions are made of.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 14, 2007, 10:45:25 AM
Fergal, are you not from Wexford?
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 14, 2007, 11:11:07 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 14, 2007, 10:45:25 AM
Fergal, are you not from Wexford?

Yep
Post by: AZOffaly on August 14, 2007, 11:17:04 AM
I thought so. And you slag Limerick for their physical approach ;)
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 14, 2007, 11:18:40 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 14, 2007, 11:17:04 AM
I thought so. And you slag Limerick for their physical approach ;)

Wexford even in their hard hitting days never approached a game like Limerick did on Sunday!
Post by: Balboa on August 14, 2007, 11:21:07 AM
You obviously dont remember the start of the All Ireland 96 final before the ball was even thrown in, George O'Connor basically assaulted Limericks Sean O Neill.........
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 14, 2007, 11:22:37 AM
Nothing compared to 70 mins of assault on Sunday
Post by: AZOffaly on August 14, 2007, 11:25:06 AM
That's the game I was thinking of exactly Balboa. Wexford that day decided to lower the blades.
Post by: INDIANA on August 14, 2007, 11:26:07 AM
S
Post by: INDIANA on August 14, 2007, 11:30:30 AM
Sean O Neill was a dirty bollox- who knoced the shite out of Tommy Kehoe in a league game earlier that year. I attended the 1996 All-Ireland Final and Sean O Neill hit O Connor first and O Connor hit him back. The fact that O Connor was better able to hit wasn't his fault because O Neill started it. That was a physcial Wexford outfit but i never saw them pull across people'es heads like i saw two of the limerick players doing at the weekend. Gary Kirby never put his hurl up behind his hand a skill you learn at juvenile level- what did he expect. I read somewhere he broke 4-5 fingers in his time. Limerick have always sailed close to the wind but they could always hurl but this crowd go beyond it because they can't hurl.
Post by: Balboa on August 14, 2007, 11:48:17 AM
Indiana.......How do you get to an All Ireland Final not "being able to hurl"? I am no fan of Limerick but everyone has the knives out for them because everyone outside Limerick had their dream final scuppered. If Limerick had stood off Waterford and let them hurl they would have been soundly beaten. If Waterford had beaten them by 6 or 7 with big Dan getting a couple of goals Limerick & Bennis would have been berated for not learning anything from the Munster Final.
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 14, 2007, 12:04:24 PM
Quote from: Balboa on August 14, 2007, 11:48:17 AM
Indiana.......How do you get to an All Ireland Final not "being able to hurl"? I am no fan of Limerick but everyone has the knives out for them because everyone outside Limerick had their dream final scuppered. If Limerick had stood off Waterford and let them hurl they would have been soundly beaten. If Waterford had beaten them by 6 or 7 with big Dan getting a couple of goals Limerick & Bennis would have been berated for not learning anything from the Munster Final.

Who have they played, 3 games against Tipp (Tipp who a poor Wexford bet) Clare who probably are the weakest team in Munster (exculding Kerry). They didn't exactly hurl on Sunday, 5 points from play!! Use the goals argument but we all know that Limerick will never score that many goals again.. They just went out and used their hurls as weapons.
Post by: mouview on August 14, 2007, 12:23:19 PM
Who have KK played? Galway are the only team that have given them a semblance of a game. Wexford were rubbish. Limerick have scored 1-19, 1-24 and 0-22 in the 3 games v Tipp and 1-23 v Clare. Consistent enough scoring by any standard.
Post by: Tubberman on August 14, 2007, 12:34:53 PM
Can't believe how little credit Limerick are getting here.
I know most people had a soft spot for Waterford (I did myself), but Limerick deserved their win on Sunday.
I was at the game, and I didn't think Limerick were particularly dirty. The intensity was unbelievable and they were 100% committed, but I wouldn't be going overboard like INDIANA.
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 14, 2007, 12:55:54 PM
Quote from: mouview on August 14, 2007, 12:23:19 PM
Who have KK played? Galway are the only team that have given them a semblance of a game. Wexford were rubbish. Limerick have scored 1-19, 1-24 and 0-22 in the 3 games v Tipp and 1-23 v Clare. Consistent enough scoring by any standard.

Well they hammered Offaly who should have beaten Tipp, Hammered Wexford twice - the same Wexford who really should have had 10 points on Tipp (if they had of taken their goal chances). This is the same Tipp side who beat Cork and lets be honest threw it away twice against Limerick. You can't use Clare as an argument because they are just so poor that it beggers belief.

I think what we will realise after the final is that KK are 10+ points ahead of the rest.
Post by: INDIANA on August 14, 2007, 12:57:32 PM
i'm not going overboard- i know what i saw-it's the typical Sunday game pundit attitude towards foul play in hurling here. As long as no-one is stretchered off  we can gloss over it Seamus Roche is a dreadful referee at the best of times and they got away with it. I think KK will now have been forewarned about what sort of hurling they'll have to play to win- no better men.
What you have here is the myth that hurling is back to the halycon days of the 90's. The media are anxious to push that theory along-so nobody is allowed criticise limerick in any fashion. But the truth is this is a distinctly average Limerick team who i believe go overboard on the physical stakes and who i think will provide us with a very one-sided contest in the final.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on August 14, 2007, 01:01:40 PM
Quote from: mouview on August 14, 2007, 12:23:19 PM

Kilkenny have played the team that beat Tipp twice (who in turn beat Cork), Offaly and Galway.

Again, is the margin of victory in Kilkenny's games a reflection of them or their opposition? Whats to say that if Kilkenny came the route that Limerick did to the final that they wouldn't have been winning games the same way?
Post by: bottlethrower7 on August 14, 2007, 01:04:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 14, 2007, 11:30:30 AM
Sean O Neill was a dirty bollox- who knoced the shite out of Tommy Kehoe in a league game earlier that year. I attended the 1996 All-Ireland Final and Sean O Neill hit O Connor first and O Connor hit him back. The fact that O Connor was better able to hit wasn't his fault because O Neill started it. That was a physcial Wexford outfit but i never saw them pull across people'es heads like i saw two of the limerick players doing at the weekend. Gary Kirby never put his hurl up behind his hand a skill you learn at juvenile level- what did he expect. I read somewhere he broke 4-5 fingers in his time. Limerick have always sailed close to the wind but they could always hurl but this crowd go beyond it because they can't hurl.

way harsh. While no angel, you're going way overboard in relation to Sean O'Neill. He may have been involved in the incidents you mentioned, but his hurling was never dirty. I never really rated him that highly as a hurler, but never thought him in the least bit dirty.

Now, his one time midfield partner Mr.Houlihan, thats a different story altogether...
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on August 14, 2007, 01:07:51 PM
Have to agree with Tubberman, The hurling i saw on sunday was nothing more than 100% intensity and not foul play as indiana is saying, You must have never watched munster hurling before, it was hard but fair.Limerick are in the all ireland final on merit, because all year they have stood up and have been counted and the management have used the whole squad very effectively.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on August 14, 2007, 01:09:23 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on August 14, 2007, 12:34:53 PM
Can't believe how little credit Limerick are getting here.
I know most people had a soft spot for Waterford (I did myself), but Limerick deserved their win on Sunday.
I was at the game, and I didn't think Limerick were particularly dirty. The intensity was unbelievable and they were 100% committed, but I wouldn't be going overboard like INDIANA.

Limerick played the ref, as a lot of teams do these days. You see what you'll get blown for. Anything short of that is fair game. If Limerick crossed the line from time to time, we can thank Mr.Roche for that.

I don't think they were especially dirty. Donie Ryan was constantly in Aidan Kearney's ear mouthing off. Reale and Lucey both have their little repertoir of tricks that they do get up to when the ball is not around. Foley is very physical, but has to be to compensate for lack of pace. I think Geary and Lawlor are fair enough, as are dodge and Mike O'Brien. I wouldn't call any of their forwards particularly dirty either.

Waterford could have been doing the same things as Limerick. They chose not to. In the case of their fullback line, that proved a poor decision.

Lets see who gets named to ref. Odds-on it'll be Roche. Its 2 years since he got one, and I'm sure is on the list for another (how though is beyond me). Roche was very much against Limerick on sunday. He also hates Kilkenny, so it'll be interesting who gets his favour, if anyone, come all-Ireland day.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on August 14, 2007, 01:11:03 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 14, 2007, 12:57:32 PM
But the truth is this is a distinctly average Limerick team who i believe go overboard on the physical stakes and who i think will provide us with a very one-sided contest in the final.

time will tell, but I truly hope you are correct
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 14, 2007, 01:11:11 PM
Quote from: youbetterbelieveit on August 14, 2007, 01:07:51 PM
Have to agree with Tubberman, The hurling i saw on sunday was nothing more than 100% intensity and not foul play as indiana is saying, You must have never watched munster hurling before, it was hard but fair.

Munster hurling... you sure you shouldn't be on munsterfans.com posting that??
Post by: TBT on August 14, 2007, 02:17:07 PM
An awful lot of sh1te be sprouted all around this place.

You can spin it all you want but the fact is things fell into place beautifully for KK this yr. It's pretty hard to think of an easier way of picking up an All Ire under the current format  than the route they had this yr.
Waterford were undone just as much by the luck of the 1/4 final draw/semi schedule as by the innocence in the fullback line.
Limerick are no more physical/dirty than KK.
The All Ire final willbe the most negative, dull imaginable. Expect both halfforward lines to spend most of theday back in their own defense. Expect frees, expect scrums/throw ins, expect plenty of flair ups, expect Tommy Walsh and Donie Ryan to lose the head. Expect KK to win .
WEXFORD ARE AN EMBARRASSMENT. They stumbled over a Tipp side givng possibly the worst ever performance by a Tipp senior side and they  take encouragement from this.  ::)
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on August 14, 2007, 02:20:30 PM
Quote from: TBT on August 14, 2007, 02:17:07 PM

WEXFORD ARE AN EMBARRASSMENT. They stumbled over a Tipp side givng possibly the worst ever performance by a Tipp senior side and they  take encouragement from this.  ::)

No more embarrasing than Tipp or Clare ::)
Post by: INDIANA on August 14, 2007, 02:27:20 PM
WEXFORD ARE AN EMBARRASSMENT. They stumbled over a Tipp side givng possibly the worst ever performance by a Tipp senior side and they  take encouragement from this. 

my God what are Tipp then? Bit of a clanger there mate. Take a cold shower ::) ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 14, 2007, 02:33:58 PM
while I was devestated for Waterford, you have to say that Limerick came out of the blocks and tore shreds of the blah boys.
Thought the ref was a little harsh on waterford and a touch generous to limerick, but it didnt matter. Limerick were sharper and took their scores.
While not 'Dirty' Limerick played an abrasive brand of hurling that was in the faces of their waterford markers.
I still think that limerick will have to play out of their skins to beat Kilkenny.
It could happen, Galways perf has shown that keeping it tight and aggressive can slow Kilkenny down, and if they have an off day, it is possible that Limerick could win.
I think it is unlikely though, but at least if the cats dont win it, Limerick are a deserving recipient and wouldnt begrudge them a win if they managed it.
Post by: belleaqua on August 14, 2007, 02:40:06 PM
Some people very bitter towards Limericks 'physical' approach. Seems they witnessed things not many others did. Ollie Moran seemed to get some rough treatment himself when he givin Ken McGrath the run around......not many whingin about that.

Limerick were the better team and will give Kilkenny a right good go. They have two brilliant corner backs who can keep Brennan and co quiet. Lucey is suited to Comerford and two passionate wing backs who will concede little. Although he's enjoying a great year I reckon Geary could struggle on Shefflin.

Midfield is a consistent line for Limerick and I think Derek Lyng is in big trouble this year, very hard to recover his form after being subbed 2 games in a row. However, Cha will need serious watching and no scores from play.

Half forward line is where Limerick may well win it. Hogan is better full back than at 6. Ollie Moran will take him. Tommy Walsh is Tommy Walsh so best leave him alone, JJ could still be vulnerable.

Donie Ryan wont score 2 goals again but Shaugnessy and Begley will give Hickey and Begley serious problems. Personally I think man for man, Limerick are best equipped to take on Kilkenny.

Wouldnt be in a rush to write them off.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on August 14, 2007, 06:30:55 PM
The Waterford guy beside me said 'we are the jimmy white of hurling' - thought it was a classic . As a neutral really enjoyed it - savage atmosphere
Post by: the procastenator on August 17, 2007, 05:39:18 PM
waterford shafted by the gaa fixtures, 3 games in 2 weeks is too much