Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Sky Blue on July 20, 2007, 08:15:20 AM

Title: Northern Ireland Civil Servants claim £24m in sick pay.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 20, 2007, 08:15:20 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/avdb/news/uk/video/107000/bb/107496_16x9_bb.asx (http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/avdb/news/uk/video/107000/bb/107496_16x9_bb.asx)

Do you guys get paid your full pay when you ring in sick? Unbelievable!! No wonder the 6 counties are bankrupt and everybody wants to work for the government rather than creating real wealth in the private sector.

You're probably better off on the sick what with not travelling to work an buying lunches etc and no child care costs. How do the public put up with it? Do they no realise they are paying for the lazy b**tards to lay about at home? Oh I forgot- Britain picks up the tab. So that's all right then.
Title: Re: Northern Ireland Civil Servants claim £24m in sick pay.
Post by: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 08:18:31 AM
The Civil Servants in the North are a complete joke - I mentioned before I have mates in the Civil Service who say they are taking next week off etc. as they have sick leave to use - hopefully with the merger of the Education and Library Boards and the other projects across the civil service most of the access baggage can be dropped.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 20, 2007, 08:21:24 AM
Quote from: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 08:18:31 AM
The Civil Servants in the North are a complete joke - I mentioned before I have mates in the Civil Service who say they are taking next week off etc. as they have sick leave to use - hopefully with the merger of the Education and Library Boards and the other projects across the civil service most of the access baggage can be dropped.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6907300.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6907300.stm)

Err no. The Tennis girl has called off the mergers. Doesn't want to upset the staff. Who runs the feckin show up there??  :-\
Post by: illdecide on July 20, 2007, 08:33:50 AM
I was in the Civil Service for 2 years and did not take one day off sick in that time and majority of the technical staff were the same.

The problem lay with the admin staff they were the lazy bas****s and the ones always off sick, obviously they are the least paid and therfore have the "don't give a fu**" attitude. I knew a guy who took 6 months off with stress (25 year old) and was away working in a bookies shop at the same time getting 2 wages, i don't know how they got away with it....
Post by: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 08:37:32 AM
Quote from: Sky Blue on July 20, 2007, 08:21:24 AM
Quote from: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 08:18:31 AM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6907300.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6907300.stm)

Err no. The Tennis girl has called off the mergers. Doesn't want to upset the staff. Who runs the feckin show up there??  :-\

Defies belief; God forbid these people have to get real jobs.  ::)
Post by: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 08:40:04 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 20, 2007, 08:33:50 AM
I was in the Civil Service for 2 years and did not take one day off sick in that time and majority of the technical staff were the same.

The problem lay with the admin staff they were the lazy bas****s and the ones always off sick, obviously they are the least paid and therfore have the "don't give a fu**" attitude. I knew a guy who took 6 months off with stress (25 year old) and was away working in a bookies shop at the same time getting 2 wages, i don't know how they got away with it....

Sums it up; what the f**k was he stressed about - having to get up everyday and go to work.  >:( The Unions have too much wack and therefore the employees just take the piss.
Post by: ludermor on July 20, 2007, 08:53:52 AM
Would the civil service be as bad in the north as in the south, cause there as some shower of wasters down here.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 20, 2007, 09:13:36 AM
So Peter 'The Punt' Robinson is gonna sort this all out - what, by probably outsourcing half of the services so they become someone else's problem.

I wouldn't say the north is bankrupt, thanks to our generous benefactors, but don't speak too soon - there could be plans to outsource the whole place onto someone else's lap - are ye ready, Bertie!
Post by: Spiritof98 on July 20, 2007, 09:22:07 AM
Sure even if they make it to work they do f**k all anyway. A mate of mine said his office was a joke, on his 1st day he was given some work to do, he completed it by the end of the day and went back on Tuesday and was told the work he was given on the Monday was to do him all week.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on July 20, 2007, 09:36:22 AM
I worked in the NI Civil Service for 2 years back in the early 1990s - Dundonald House in Stormont. Couldn't wait to get out. Absolutly no work to do. We were just keep on to manage the unemployment figures IMO. I was bored to death every day and sat counting the minutes. I eventually left when I got a real job but most of the rest will never leave because they'll lose their pension. That's a real big thing to most Civil servants, even younger ones.

It was sad to see young graduates coming in full of enthusiasim only to end up bored out of their minds in a few months and sucked into the lazy civil service culture. The only people I ever saw do any work were the very senior guys who worked flat out with Ministers but never delegated anything. A strange place.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 20, 2007, 09:46:14 AM
A few of them may need this very shortly!

http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/layer?topicId=1079123792&r.li=1079363506&r.l1=1073858787&r.pp=11&r.pt=employingpeople&r.s=p
Post by: Blacksheep on July 20, 2007, 10:28:17 AM
There are 30,000 Northern Ireland Civil Servants for a population of 1.7m and 27,000 Irish (Free State) Civil Servants for a population of 4.1m. Says it all really.
A job creation scheme.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 20, 2007, 11:21:20 AM
excerpt from a CIVIL SERVICE ENTRANCE EXAM

Should you pass this exam and become a member of the civil service, you will enjoy a unique package of fringe benefits, including: an early retirement scheme which allows you to retire while still turning up for work; flexitime which enables you to decide when you don't want to work at work, plus free use of government stationery this has been facilitated by the introduction of eight-items-or-less lanes as you leave the building.

MULTIPLE CHOICE:

1. If you are about to take your lunchbreak and a female member of the general public comes with an inquiry, you should address her by saying:

a. Can I help you, madam?

b. A-huh?

c. What can I do you for, mate?

d. Who's next there (when there's only one person)?

The correct answer is: None of the above. This is a trick question.

If you are about to take your lunchbreak, you shouldn't talk to her at all.

2. If a member of the general public phones up with a complaint and you realise that the file on this matter has been lost, you should say:

a. We are looking into the matter.

b. Can I get back to you on this one?

c. The matters have been referred to another member of staff who's on holiday today.

d. Bear with me......then play some nice wee tune by The Corrs whilst they are on hold.

The correct answer is that you should tell them that they have the wrong telephone extension.

SPELLING:

1. Spell the following words:

a. Tea

b. Sickie

c. Lunchbreak

d. Go-slow

MATHEMATICS:

Please answer the following questions in the spaces provided on your answer sheet.

1. If you went to lunch at 12 noon and came back to work at 2.30pm how long have you had for lunch?

The answer of course, is half an hour.

2. If one civil servant takes 3 hours to process a 321/L3/MX1 form, how long would it take two public servants to process the same form?

The answer is, of course, is four days.

For those of you who failed the maths test, you will be eligible to become a income tax adviser.
Post by: Bacon on July 20, 2007, 11:26:38 AM
Robinson will talk big but do FA about it.

Sickness levels 'will be tackled' 

Mr Robinson said sickness levels need to be reduced
The problem of absenteeism in Northern Ireland's civil service will be tackled one way or another, Finance Minister Peter Robinson has said.
Mr Robinson said the executive had to carefully monitor the situation using existing procedures.

But public service union Nipsa insisted that comparisons with sick leave rates in the private sector were misleading.

They said civil service figures also include long-term illnesses, but sick leave levels were otherwise similar.

Union spokesman John Corey said the "big stick approach to addressing sick leave... just demoralises staff".

"Unfair treatment over pay, threats to their jobs from privatisation and expenditure cuts all contribute to stress and sick leave levels - these matters need to be addressed," he said.

However, Mr Robinson said the situation would be reviewed every three months.

He said 40% of civil servants never took a day off, but were being placed under great strain by a further 10 or 11% who, he said, were "frankly swinging the lead".

"Urgent action has to be taken," the finance minister said.

"We are talking about the equivalent of the whole of the Department of Education, the whole of the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure and the whole of the Office of the First and Deputy First Minister being absent for the complete year."

Last month Mr Robinson claimed urgent action was needed to tackle the problem of absenteeism in the civil service.

He said the problem cost the tax payer more than £24m last year - a figure that's expected to rise.

The executive will also hold an initial discussion on the Workplace 2010 initiative, a five-year programme to modernise and rationalise civil service accommodation.

Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 11:39:29 AM
civil servants down here are bad, and have similar traits to the ones in the 6 counties, but down here they are not nearly as bad.

When we go for the UI, we need to address this problem of too many , and poor quality of civil servants in NI.
Post by: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 11:40:48 AM
Quote from: Blacksheep on July 20, 2007, 10:28:17 AM
There are 30,000 Northern Ireland Civil Servants for a population of 1.7m and 27,000 Irish (Free State) Civil Servants for a population of 4.1m. Says it all really.
A job creation scheme.

The actual figures are

UK Civil Service - 543000 out of a population of 60 million = 0.95%
RoI Civil Service - 38700 out of population of 4.1 million = 0.94%

So hardly any difference but don't let that get in the way of your rant.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 11:51:30 AM
Quote from: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 11:40:48 AM
A job creation scheme.

The actual figures are

even taking your figures sammy
NI CS having 30,000 looks ridiculously high when compared to the 39,000 in southern Ireland
Post by: Bensars on July 20, 2007, 11:56:16 AM
Heard this interview on the radio.

Average Civil service sick days = 13.5

However 40% of the civil service never missed one days work.

Therefore if we take the example of 100 employees= average of 1350 sick days in total  and 40% dont take any it raises the num ber of sick days to 22.5.

Then add on holidays.

They're worse than fuckin teachers,  shower of workshy hoors.

Half them wouldnt survive in the private sector
Post by: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 11:57:00 AM
A job creation scheme.

The actual figures are

Complete bullshit argument Sammy - take it you're a Civil Servant - the 30,000 in the north - only deal with the North - not the rest of the UK.
Post by: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 11:58:00 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 11:51:30 AM
A job creation scheme.

The actual figures are

NI CS having 30,000 looks ridiculously high when compared to the 39,000 in southern Ireland
It would be if they were just looking after NI but they're part of the wider UK CS and administer a lot of centralised departments.
Post by: Blacksheep on July 20, 2007, 11:58:18 AM
The Northern Ireland Civil Service is separate from the UK or Home Civil Service. If you listen to the BBC Report the NIPSA President John Corey says there are 30,000 NI Civil Servants.

Here's a link to figures for the Irish Civil Service.
http://www.ireland-information.com/reference/civilser.html (http://www.ireland-information.com/reference/civilser.html)

Now get back to work Sammy G or are you off on the sick?
Post by: his holiness nb on July 20, 2007, 11:58:39 AM
A job creation scheme.

The actual figures are

Eh Sammy, you have given figures for the entire UK, he was comparing The North and the Republic.
But dont let that get in the way of your rant  ::)
Post by: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 11:59:51 AM
Quote from: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 11:57:00 AM
Complete bullshit argument Sammy - take it you're a Civil Servant -

Nope, never worked in the public sector
the 30,000 in the north - only deal with the North - not the rest of the UK.
Nonsense, they administer several centralised departments, as well as call centres etc for the whole UK.
Post by: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 12:00:12 PM
Quote from: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 11:58:00 AM
A job creation scheme.

The actual figures are

It would be if they were just looking after NI but they're part of the wider UK CS and administer a lot of centralised departments.

Go on Sammy name them?
Post by: Bensars on July 20, 2007, 12:02:32 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 20, 2007, 12:01:04 PM
DO the Civil Service run call centres now as well?

Crimestoppers
Post by: Blacksheep on July 20, 2007, 12:03:17 PM
The Northern Ireland Civil Service is separate from the UK or Home Civil Service. Staff can't even transfer between to 2 organisations.

That figure doesn't include UK Civil Servants based in the North such as Customs and Revenue and NIO.

Police and Prison Officers are not included in these figures. It's pen pushers.
Post by: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 12:03:25 PM
Quote from: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 11:59:51 AM
Complete bullshit argument Sammy - take it you're a Civil Servant -

Nope, never worked in the public sector
the 30,000 in the north - only deal with the North - not the rest of the UK.
Nonsense, they administer several centralised departments, as well as call centres etc for the whole UK.

And the % of 30,000 who do that is?  Face facts the Civil Service in the North is a f**king Joke - its is a job creation scheme full of people doing little or nothing week in week out - people talk about lay abouts on the dole at least they don't get as much of the tax payers money as the civil servants do.
Post by: Blacksheep on July 20, 2007, 12:09:26 PM
"they administer several centralised departments, as well as call centres etc for the whole UK."

No they don't.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 20, 2007, 01:12:18 PM
If Blacksheep's figure are correct it's far worse than even I imagined! The fact that Sammy G comes on to defend them shows you how the work ethic has complety disappeared in the North. Very sad.
Post by: GweylTah on July 20, 2007, 01:18:20 PM
The Ciivil Service figures look worse than they are becuase they include long-term sick leave as well as short-term. With tens of thousands of staff, you are bound to have many genuine cases of long-term sick caused by cancer, cardiovascular problems, depression, stress, accidents, etc, but the figures do not look good and people are bound to be annoyed because it is taxpayers money at the end of the day.

But it's a pretty open secret that civil servants do tend to regard some sick leave (maybe two weeks here and there every year) as something to take in addition to annual leave - and what they will admit to each other and in private is rather different to the offence taken when outsiders suggest that they are swinging the lead.
Post by: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 01:26:40 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on July 20, 2007, 01:12:18 PM
If Blacksheep's figure are correct it's far worse than even I imagined! The fact that Sammy G comes on to defend them shows you how the work ethic has complety disappeared in the North. Very sad.
WTF are you on about when did I defend anybody?
Post by: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 01:28:09 PM
Quote from: Blacksheep on July 20, 2007, 12:09:26 PM
"they administer several centralised departments, as well as call centres etc for the whole UK."

No they don't.

??? Are you sure? As I've already said I've never worked in the public sector but my understanding was that a lot of departments had been 'out sourced' to the regions from London.
Title: Northern Ireland Civil Servants claim £24m in sick pay.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 20, 2007, 03:01:37 PM
Its not often I would agree with anything Sammy says but he is right on this count...the Belfast Benefit Centre on Chichester Street deals exclusively with London "broo" claims etc.....there must be a couple of thousand staff in there as well....I think the famous Ger Reid used to work there....and I am certain there are other offices in the north doing the same sort of thing.

Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 03:12:51 PM
Quote from: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 12:00:12 PM
A job creation scheme.

The actual figures are

Go on Sammy name them?
LOL
yeah sammy

'give us a link to them'

:D :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2007, 03:33:55 PM
The CSA in Belfast covers Eastern England also.
Post by: Boolerhead Mel on July 20, 2007, 04:13:02 PM
Mr Sammy G is correct

12OO civil service staff in the CSA are contracted to work on Cases in the East of England a large amount of staff in Castlecourt do the same for the Broo. I suppose all you hardworking Bullroots are emailing on your own time and not your employers. Some of you try working in the CSA for a week you would not be long going on the sick having to listen to every w**ker under the sun abusing you verbally every day.    
Post by: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 04:17:34 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 03:12:51 PM
Quote from: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 12:00:12 PM
A job creation scheme.

The actual figures are

Go on Sammy name them?
LOL
yeah sammy

'give us a link to them'

:D :D

Just spoke to a mate, in the know and he reckons that DVLA, CSA and some of the benefits departments all do work UK wide.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 20, 2007, 04:50:08 PM
You always manage to twist things Sammy G!!  It doesn't matter a feck what work they are supposed to be doing. This thread is about the fact that the NI Civil Service has a very high absence rate. Probably the highest in Europe & North America, certainly higher that England or Ireland.
40% of the staff take no sick leave but the rest of the feckers are swing the lead.

How did you twist it round to which Departments they work in?

Do you think it is acceptable for tax payers to to put up with those sickness levels? A simple yes or no will do.
Post by: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 05:02:36 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on July 20, 2007, 04:50:08 PM
You always manage to twist things Sammy G!!  It doesn't matter a feck what work they are supposed to be doing. This thread is about the fact that the NI Civil Service has a very high absence rate. Probably the highest in Europe & North America, certainly higher that England or Ireland.
40% of the staff take no sick leave but the rest of the feckers are swing the lead.

How did you twist it round to which Departments they work in?

Do you think it is acceptable for tax payers to to put up with those sickness levels? A simple yes or no will do.

FFS I haven't twisted anything. I commented on the post about how many there where in the NICS compared to the RoI CS.

As far as the sickness record as with all things it depends how you measure it. The NICS record also includes things like long-term sickness etc, which a lot of private sector firms don't include. I've no doubt that there are a sizeable percentage that are sciving but having said that if I was getting paid £9-11K a year to deal with sh1te day in and day out, I'd probably want to scive as well.
Post by: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 05:04:24 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 20, 2007, 04:51:05 PM
Quote from: SammyG on July 20, 2007, 04:17:34 PM
Just spoke to a mate, in the know and he reckons that DVLA, CSA and some of the benefits departments all do work UK wide.

The DVLA is based in Swansea. The DVLNI is based in Coleraine, so no taigs get jobs there and it deals exclusively with NI.

Happy to bow to your superior knowledge, as I've said I don't work in the public sector and never have.
Post by: Bacon on July 20, 2007, 05:05:13 PM
I know a couple who work in that CSA and they use sick leave like everybody else uses annual leave. They have it worked out how many days they can take without getting a medical or what ever and milk the system for all its worth. Both young men in their 20s but they've had months of on "stress leave". Stop paying them full pay when they are sick and watch their health improve.

BTW avoid GT Victoria St at 3.30 in the afternoon or you'll be caught in the stampead as they all piss off early. What ever happened to 9 to 5?
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 05:18:11 PM
Quote from: Boolerhead Mel on July 20, 2007, 04:13:02 PM
Mr Sammy G is correct

12OO civil service staff in the CSA are contracted to work on Cases in the East of England a large amount of staff in Castlecourt do the same for the Broo. I suppose all you hardworking Bullroots are emailing on your own time and not your employers. Some of you try working in the CSA for a week you would not be long going on the sick having to listen to every w**ker under the sun abusing you verbally every day.    

no bother
I work for myself and save whoever my clients and customers are a lot of money.
From what you say, I feelsorry for you already. Not my cup of tea listening to that kind of carp

however, the plus side is the perm pensionable job, with little work to do.
Cant have it all your own way - though no one should have to listen to or take abuse etc.
Post by: Long time dead on July 20, 2007, 07:15:56 PM
Quote from: Boolerhead Mel on July 20, 2007, 04:13:02 PM
Mr Sammy G is correct

No us hard working bullroots have a brain and get a proper job.  ;)
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on July 20, 2007, 11:13:51 PM
Someone pointed out once - nobody self-employed takes sick... CS is a joke - try Local Government as a bigger one - its a stick and carrot thing - six months full pay and six months half...... great incentive not t o have a month under the duvet..... :-\
Post by: Balboa on July 20, 2007, 11:24:20 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on July 20, 2007, 11:13:51 PM
Someone pointed out once - nobody self-employed takes sick... CS is a joke - try Local Government as a bigger one - its a stick and carrot thing - six months full pay and six months half...... great incentive not t o have a month under the duvet..... :-\

I blame the system more than the people, if you were self employed and were gonna get full pay would you take a few days? And as for Peter the Punt bringing this issue up im sure his missus had a few sickdays in her time from the hidings he "allegedley" gave her......
Post by: Pangurban on July 24, 2007, 02:06:23 AM
Do Civil Servants, Teachers,Nurses etc. in the non-occupied part of Ireland not get paid when they are off sick. Wind your Necks in Lads,jealously is an awful trait, rejoice in the fact that some workers have decent conditions
Post by: ludermor on July 24, 2007, 10:48:54 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 24, 2007, 02:06:23 AM
Do Civil Servants, Teachers,Nurses etc. in the non-occupied part of Ireland not get paid when they are off sick. Wind your Necks in Lads,jealously is an awful trait, rejoice in the fact that some workers have decent conditions

Jeasously my hole. For a start teachers and nurses (guards and prison officers) are public servants not civil servant. If you are sick you are entitled to sick pay yes, but it is still no excuse to abuse the system. And for what its worth id say the civil servants in the non-occupied part are just as guilty for abusing the syatem. Why do you say they have decent condition? the fact they can skive off whenever they can? The fact that most of them have switched off their brain for the rest of there lives is no reason to be jealous. Mind me asking what job you work in Pangarban?
Post by: Balboa on July 24, 2007, 11:18:13 AM
Ludermor.......My mother broke her wrist at work and was off for 2 mths, she was getting £60 quid a week sick pay when she was off. Would you prefer if everyone had conditions like that?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 24, 2007, 11:18:39 AM
Whilst the likes of the CSA are being completely restructured thanks to 'central' (sic) government for this part of the world, the future plans for our wee councils (all 26 of them) are being scandalously watered down.

Instead of the highly appropriate number of just 7 councils, which was only supported by one political party, the Assembly is now recommending 15 for the north, with a roll-out date of 2013, not 2009.

What a joke. The gravy train continues.
Post by: ludermor on July 24, 2007, 02:18:13 PM
Balboa,
No i would'nt like everyone to have conditions like that, but surly she knew the condition while she worked there. Did she get any reimbursment at all? She would surely be entitled to some if she broke it at work So do you agree with the system being abused? do you like these gimps in 'jobs for life'.
I work for a builder and when we want to put in a footpath in dublin we have to apply to dublin corporation for them to give us a quote for the footpath. Now we could do this for say 5k but we are not allowed, we have to accept the corop quote of say 15k. they will then send in a crew of 10 and do the work over a bank holiday weekend so they can all claim overtime. of course they will never finish it in one day. the whole system if fucked. if it could be privatised it should.
Post by: Balboa on July 24, 2007, 02:22:46 PM
Ludermor......Everyone is f**king the system. Our Air conditioning needed fixed in our office (government office) we had 2 fellas came in, one held a ladder and the other scratched his head for a while and then got it going. The companys bill was £297 for 45 minutes "work"  ;)
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on July 24, 2007, 02:41:44 PM
The unions come into to Stormont to tell the civil servants how the negotiations for the new pay deal were going. The shop steward stands up and says to the masses: "Well, we've negotiated a good deal as everyone will be getting a £20,000 bonus every year." The mass ranks nod their heads in appreciation. The shop steward continues: "Also, we have agreed that everyone will get a 70 per cent pay rise backdated for five years." Again the appreciative nods are seen throughout the room. "Finally," he goes on, "all staff will have to work only seven hours a week, which means that you are required onlt to turn up to work on Wednesdays." At that, silence is the reaction in the room until a voice pipes up from the back: "What? you mean every f**king Wednesday?"
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 24, 2007, 02:52:09 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on July 20, 2007, 11:13:51 PM

Maybe the north and south isnt that different after all. There is plenty of that shit going on down here too,not just in the civil service but in the semi-state companies as well.
Post by: ludermor on July 24, 2007, 06:49:52 PM
Balboa,
That seems very cheap!!! £297 for 2 fellas and parts for a call out seems very reasonable. Every trade has a minimum call out charge. How would you expect to pay these lads? Im sure Laoislad has a minimum charge for his works!
And if all it took was head scratching then when didnt you hop on the ladder on sort it out?
Post by: stiffler on July 24, 2007, 09:49:46 PM
I know a lad who works for the housing executive in the north, it must be the handiest number ever. Every thursday they go and play indoor football at lunchtime for an hour, then take their lunch after they get showered up and changed. the worst thing about it is they only clock out for half an hour!
Post by: imtommygunn on July 24, 2007, 10:35:18 PM
Not trawling through 5 pages of an argument so sorry if I repeat myself...

Is the CSA not about being remote from it's clients? If NI look after eastern england then it's likely some part of england look after ni CSA?

The political argument is ridiculous on this one. I dunno about the south but up here there are far too many. I've known too many people who go into these jobs and just get sucked in go nowhere and become,well or maybe they already are, lazy b******s. Don't get me wrong - I know a few in management who have done wellll but in quite a few cases the civil service makes lazy peoples lives easy because it can be the easy option for them. There should be a lot less up north and then that would not happen. That said this board would be a lot quieter without them!

People can train and play indoor football at lunch in their jobs. It's whether they make up the time which indicates how lazy they are / easy their job is...
Post by: Balboa on July 25, 2007, 08:41:11 AM
If you play football at lunchtime ie take 2 hrs you have to make it up somewhere else.Ludermor as to why i "didnt go up the ladder" myself i wouldnt liked to have fallen and had to take 6 months off on the sick & additionally put in a compensation claim  ;)
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 25, 2007, 11:57:30 AM
I have seen it myself in the Dept. of education in Athlone where the company i work for built new offices for the staff,there was tears from some when they moved in becuase they used to have a window seat and now didnt. But it didnt seem to bother them too much on a Saturday morning when they arrived in with their kids for some"overtime" mainly coffee and a chat with the girls. Also we carry out a lot of refurbishment work in hospitals around the country and yes people get disturbance money to move down a corridor to a new office,sometimes up to 5 grand....Finally de-centralisation.... civil servants should have no say in this,if they worked for a private company they would have the choice, move to the new location or be replaced..its high time the taypayer in this country got value for money and some of this deadwood who are just waiting for retirement be shipped out.
Post by: ludermor on July 25, 2007, 12:09:36 PM
Im working in the ERSI building at the minute and the staff here take the biscuit, literally. Every second day there is lunch reception for the workers which takes half a day, good day out for the lads.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on July 25, 2007, 02:17:26 PM
Sam McAughtery worked in the cs for years and tells the tale that he used to be invited along to meetings to make up the numbers as if you had 4 or more there you were entitled to tea, coffee and scones.... By the way, a mate was telling me that in order to change a lightbulb in a certain well-known building it costs £160.00 by the time all those who "take the call, prioritise it, code it, charge it, journal it, order new supplies, - and then finally the two men with the ladder arrive to change it... administration and "internal administration" is keeping these people in jobs....
Post by: Bensars on July 25, 2007, 03:00:10 PM
Recently heard a good one while having a pint with friends.

An individual  in the civil service and knows every trick going. He recently went to them and told them his wife couldnt get off work during the summer months and he would have to take the school holidays off to child mind.
This was rejected by his immediate management. he then stated that he felt the decision was sexist, the manager shit themselves and hes now off for the summer .

Any Jobs going in the CS ?
Post by: Balboa on July 25, 2007, 03:16:33 PM
Quote from: Bensars on July 25, 2007, 03:00:10 PM

An individual  in the civil service and knows every trick going. He recently went to them and told them his wife couldnt get off work during the summer months and he would have to take the school holidays off to child mind.
This was rejected by his immediate management. he then stated that he felt the decision was sexist, the manager shit themselves and hes now off for the summer .

He will be happy enough as long as he does not mind not getting paid when he is off. It called "term time".
Post by: Long time dead on July 25, 2007, 03:17:10 PM
Quote from: Bensars on July 25, 2007, 03:00:10 PM

Bet he isn't getting paid though.