The draw for the 1st Round of the 2026 Tailteann Cup will take place today and will be shown live as part of "The View", which gets underway at 1 pm on GAA+ YouTube channel.
QuoteThe teams involved in the draw are: Waterford, Wicklow, Sligo, Leitrim, London, Limerick, Laois, Fermanagh, Tipperary, Longford, Offaly, Clare, Antrim, Carlow, Wexford, TBC*
*Depending on results, the 16th team in the Tailteann Cup will either be Westmeath, Down or Cavan.
The draw will be an open draw, and in total, eight Round 1 ties will be drawn, with the first team drawn in each case enjoying home advantage.
The majority of the Round 1 fixtures will be played on the weekend of May 9th/10th.
However, any games involving a team knocked out of their provincial championship on the weekend of May 2nd/3rd will take place on the weekend of May 16th/17th
(https://www.gaa.ie/api/images/image/private/t_ratio16_9-size50/prd/cnsbl3q2sdfkfnkl1f7l)
I apologise to all neutrals in advance if Cavan retain a Sam Maguire place at the expense of Westmeath or Down.
Quote from: cavanmaniac on April 27, 2026, 01:39:25 PMI apologise to all neutrals in advance if Cavan retain a Sam Maguire place at the expense of Westmeath or Down.
Surely it is Kildare or Armagh that should apologise for that.
Quote from: armaghniac on April 27, 2026, 06:16:37 PMQuote from: cavanmaniac on April 27, 2026, 01:39:25 PMI apologise to all neutrals in advance if Cavan retain a Sam Maguire place at the expense of Westmeath or Down.
Surely it is Kildare or Armagh that should apologise for that.
We'd only be turning up to go through the motions and denying the championship two properly-organised football teams that would have a right cut at some of the big boys and provide some entertainment.
Fair play to you Cavanmaniac
What's the problem in Cavan? The manager or are the players not there?
Down to the end the intercounty season as the first ever two time Tailteann Cup winners.
Quote from: Laois Rising on April 28, 2026, 12:14:52 PMDown to the end the intercounty season as the first ever two time Tailteann Cup winners.
Surely you know that moonster has a monopoly on foolish predictions :)
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 28, 2026, 11:18:32 AMWhat's the problem in Cavan? The manager or are the players not there?
How long have you got?
"The players aren't there", however, is probably the least valid of the reasons you hear bandied about. The players are never there, in any county, until all of a sudden, they are. Like ourselves in 95-97 - first round losses in Ulster for five or six years prior, hence we "didn't have the players". McHugh arrives as boss, we make an Ulster final in his first year and then we're Ulster champions within three years. Oh, the players were actually there, it seems.
Likewise with say, Louth. The players likely "weren't there" until Harte raised their profile a few years ago, now they are. Meath too. Kildare and Galway around 1998. Countless examples. In reality, "the players aren't there" is simply shorthand for a lack of proper leadership, vision and inspiration that ensures full buy-in from the players available. Cavan's issues are a drifting county board who do everything performatively and don't seem even aware of the slippery slide we're on, much less have a plan to arrest it. The manner in which they currently appoint managers at senior and underage level attest to that - a case of who has a bit of name recognition or "deserves a go at it" or will do it cheap. It's very hard address a problem when you don't even acknowledge you have one. Far easier keep the heads down and rumble on, because nobody is calling it out or tackling them on it.
The general lethargy and acceptance of our lot is a small-county mentality, but then we'll ironically puff the chest and preen about record Ulster titles and five All-Irelands and the polo grounds and other comfort blanket shit like that, that'll only keep reality at arm's length and postpone proper change. The supporters have turned their backs, more or less - there's only so much you can take. I'm looking at Cavan a long time and I can never recall a time when we were as bad, and it's only going to get worse because we've a lot of half decent lads on the teams who will be retiring soon.
From looking in from the outside, Cavan haven't had too much success at underage in the last decade. Unlucky in an u20 final couple years back against Tyrone in a bit of a dogfight Ulster final. Outside of that, can't remember them being in any other finals. What is the underage like in Cavan these days. In Laois, our underage structures etc. fell miles behind other counties around us and we have been paying for it the last number of years as very few top level players filtering through to the senior ranks. For a county who always prided itself by being able to compete with anyone in Leinster at underage, we have taken some very bad beatings over the last 5/6 years and struggling to win games at minor and u20 level. Our underage success of 20 years ago was part of our undoing. Continue to do things as they were then when other counties were developing and building and putting long term structures in place. Before we woke up to it and now thankfully looking to rectify things properly with the likes of Shane Keegan on board, we as a county fell into apathy. I go to most underage and senior Laois games and it is no lie to say that you could possibly have as many if not more "away" supporters at some of these games. Despite all this, we have an excellent senior manager in Justin McNulty and with a respected former player in Ross Munnelly involved to we are maximising what can be achieved from a limited senior team and hopefully will be there in the shake up for this year's Tailteann Cup. Cavan v Laois make for a great sea of blue and white for the final (if Down and Westmeath do reach the provincial finals and put ye down)!!!!
Venues and throw in times.
Saturday May 9
Clare v Offaly,Ennis, 4pm
Wexford v Limerick,Wexford Park, 6pm
Sunday May 10
Sligo v Tipperary, Markievicz Park, 12.45pm
Carlow v Antrim,Cullen Park, 1.30pm
Laois v Wicklow,O'Moore Park, 2pm, GAA+
Waterford v London,Fraher Field, 2pm
Fermanagh v Longford, Brewster Park, 3pm
Saturday/Sunday May 16/17
Westmeath/Down/Cavan v Leitrim, TBC
Quote from: Laois Rising on April 29, 2026, 10:15:41 AMFrom looking in from the outside, Cavan haven't had too much success at underage in the last decade. Unlucky in an u20 final couple years back against Tyrone in a bit of a dogfight Ulster final. Outside of that, can't remember them being in any other finals. What is the underage like in Cavan these days. In Laois, our underage structures etc. fell miles behind other counties around us and we have been paying for it the last number of years as very few top level players filtering through to the senior ranks. For a county who always prided itself by being able to compete with anyone in Leinster at underage, we have taken some very bad beatings over the last 5/6 years and struggling to win games at minor and u20 level. Our underage success of 20 years ago was part of our undoing. Continue to do things as they were then when other counties were developing and building and putting long term structures in place. Before we woke up to it and now thankfully looking to rectify things properly with the likes of Shane Keegan on board, we as a county fell into apathy. I go to most underage and senior Laois games and it is no lie to say that you could possibly have as many if not more "away" supporters at some of these games. Despite all this, we have an excellent senior manager in Justin McNulty and with a respected former player in Ross Munnelly involved to we are maximising what can be achieved from a limited senior team and hopefully will be there in the shake up for this year's Tailteann Cup. Cavan v Laois make for a great sea of blue and white for the final (if Down and Westmeath do reach the provincial finals and put ye down)!!!!
I'd love to see Paraic Clancy in his pomp playing these new rules. He'd be landing two-pointers for fun. I'll never forget the boomer he landed against the Dubs at Croke PArk one year, a scarcely believeable point.
Results Clare 1-14 Offaly 1-17. Offalys first win this year in league or championship.
Wexford 2-19 Limerick 1-11
Is this the same set up as sam maguire. Loser gets 1 more chance against another 1st round loser? Winner moves.
Quote from: snoopdog on May 10, 2026, 06:43:03 AMIs this the same set up as sam maguire. Loser gets 1 more chance against another 1st round loser? Winner moves.
Its the same as Sam Maguire and the Down Sfc.
Quote from: ardtole on May 10, 2026, 07:33:14 AMQuote from: snoopdog on May 10, 2026, 06:43:03 AMIs this the same set up as sam maguire. Loser gets 1 more chance against another 1st round loser? Winner moves.
Its the same as Sam Maguire and the Down Sfc.
Still trying to pick myself uo for Lietrim in Newry next sat night. ;D
Won't be much bother getting a seat anyway.
Impressive win for our lads. Ben Brosnan rolling back the years.
A result Sligo 1-12 Tipperary 0-17
I hope they had cameras in Carlow, sounded like some game. Antrim won 6-17 to 2-26 with a last gasp goal deep into extra time.
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on May 10, 2026, 04:07:10 PMI hope they had cameras in Carlow, sounded like some game. Antrim won 6-17 to 2-26 with a last gasp goal deep into extra time.
The Sunday game will give it 90 seconds if any. They are all about promoting the secondary competition. ;D
What has happened to Sligo?
Great win for us. All the sweeter getting it so late.
Real strong second half performance from Fermanagh after a slack first 15 minutes.
We are still far too open at times defensively but good to see Ultan Kelm on as a sub .
Much much better up front .
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 10, 2026, 06:01:54 PMWhat has happened to Sligo?
Great win for us. All the sweeter getting it so late.
They had a good man in Tony McEntee and replaced him with Eamon O'Hara
Quote from: moonster on May 10, 2026, 12:22:45 PMImpressive win for our lads. Ben Brosnan rolling back the years.
I take it you put 50 on Limerick then, easy money
Tailteann Cup Round 2A
Antrim v Tipperary
Fermanagh v Wexford
Offaly v Winner Down/Leitrim
London v Laois
Tailteann Cup Round 2B
Wicklow v Limerick
Clare v Longford
Waterford v Sligo
Loser Down/Leitrim v Carlow
The Round 2A & 2B fixtures will be played on the weekend of May 23-24