GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dunneroyal on April 05, 2026, 10:18:25 AM

Title: Leinster Senior Championship 2026
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 05, 2026, 10:18:25 AM
Perhaps the most competitive Leinster since the 90s. The contenders
Dublin, for years the stand out team not only in the province but in the country. Definitely in transition but rule them out at ur peril
Meath, a new lease of life after the disastrous tenure of CoR, to come from such a low ebb to been genuine contenders for Leinster and indeed Sam is some achievement in Brennans second year.
Louth , defending champions and probably a bit more effective than last year and you might even say better since the new manager arrived.
Wexford, should be div 3 champions, played better than Down but ran out of steam in ET
Westmeath, will wonder how they have another year in div 3, still looking like they could pose a danger
Kildare, how are they so lowly ranked, play in all ire anyway and surely all that talent from 20s has to make a impact at some stage
Offaly got a few lessons in div 2 but it may stand to them.
Longford, can't see them doing much
Wicklow just never compete in Leinster
Carlow again it's a no.

So what is your verdict?
Mine is that it's a Leinster final between Meath and ?? I can't split Dublin and Louth. If the semi is played outside croke park I give the nod to Louth. If not I give it to Dublin.
Winner ?  Meath. But I'm extremely biased.
Title: Re: Leinster Senior Championship 2026
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 05, 2026, 11:02:22 AM
I'm also biased but it is Meath's to lose.

Dublin will have enough to reach the final but that will be that.

Then we will talk about another Meath split
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 05, 2026, 12:19:59 PM
Ger Brennan to bounce back from his 12 week ban and regain the Leinster title for Dublin and it will be back to back Leinster titles for himself. 

Post by: The Boy Wonder on April 05, 2026, 12:57:33 PM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 05, 2026, 10:18:25 AMPerhaps the most competitive Leinster since the 90s. The contenders
Dublin, for years the stand out team not only in the province but in the country. Definitely in transition but rule them out at ur peril
Meath, a new lease of life after the disastrous tenure of CoR, to come from such a low ebb to been genuine contenders for Leinster and indeed Sam is some achievement in Brennans second year.
Louth , defending champions and probably a bit more effective than last year and you might even say better since the new manager arrived.
Wexford, should be div 3 champions, played better than Down but ran out of steam in ET
Westmeath, will wonder how they have another year in div 3, still looking like they could pose a danger
Kildare, how are they so lowly ranked, play in all ire anyway and surely all that talent from 20s has to make a impact at some stage
Offaly got a few lessons in div 2 but it may stand to them.
Longford, can't see them doing much
Wicklow just never compete in Leinster
Carlow again it's a no.

So what is your verdict?
Mine is that it's a Leinster final between Meath and ?? I can't split Dublin and Louth. If the semi is played outside croke park I give the nod to Louth. If not I give it to Dublin.
Winner ?  Meath. But I'm extremely biased.

Only 10 counties involved this year ?   ;)
Post by: Rossfan on April 05, 2026, 01:06:12 PM
Laois is irrelevant!
Post by: rodney trotter on April 05, 2026, 01:09:23 PM
Meath weren't convincing in the league final. Cork should have had another 2 or 3 goals. A few of the league games like against Cavan and Louth they scrapped by with late 2 pointers. They should be capable of winning Leinster.  The only Leinster team in Division 1 next year. It would be interesting to see them against Dublin in Croke Park. Beating Dublin last year was a help being in tullamore.
Post by: marty34 on April 05, 2026, 01:30:13 PM
The league and therefore last game doesn't matter. It's of no relevance.

The most important game is the next one. Teams will win games by 20pts and say they weren't tested. In other cases, they win by 1pt and it's like they aren't playing well and were lucky to win.

Every game is taken on it's own merits. Win it, in any fashion and move on to the next game.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on April 05, 2026, 02:02:39 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 05, 2026, 01:09:23 PMMeath weren't convincing in the league final. Cork should have had another 2 or 3 goals. A few of the league games like against Cavan and Louth they scrapped by with late 2 pointers. They should be capable of winning Leinster.  The only Leinster team in Division 1 next year. It would be interesting to see them against Dublin in Croke Park. Beating Dublin last year was a help being in tullamore.

The Roscommon Oracle advises that Laois is irrelevant (see above) but the history book shows that Meath beat Dublin in Portlaoise  ;)
Post by: rodney trotter on April 05, 2026, 02:27:23 PM
Quote from: marty34 on April 05, 2026, 01:30:13 PMThe league and therefore last game doesn't matter. It's of no relevance.

The most important game is the next one. Teams will win games by 20pts and say they weren't tested. In other cases, they win by 1pt and it's like they aren't playing well and were lucky to win.

Every game is taken on it's own merits. Win it, in any fashion and move on to the next game.
Yes but in a short season better to have some momentum. Not like 10 + years ago where teams had about 2 months to plan for championship
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 05, 2026, 02:35:22 PM
My sincere apologies. Thought I had already mentioned Laois. So I will now. Very hot and cold. Hard to see them make a impact
Post by: Blowitupref on April 05, 2026, 03:03:29 PM
(https://i.ibb.co/fYPQhpTc/Screenshot-20260405-145438-Chrome.jpg) (https://ibb.co/BVSwXZY1)
(https://i.ibb.co/kVTyLhxM/Screenshot-20260405-145816-Chrome.jpg) (https://ibb.co/V0GNFvt3)
Post by: moonster on April 05, 2026, 10:29:01 PM
Meath to get revenge and hammer Louth in Leinster final.

Should Leinster final be moved out of Croke Park with Meath unfair advantage of playing home games there?
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 07, 2026, 09:00:47 PM
I don't see Louth being hammered by anyone but I do think Meath have more gears in them this year. Dublin are in dire need of a fully fit Con O'C but that doesn't happen often these days.

Meath were on fire with 2-pointers last year and kinda lost the head when they didn't fly over against Donegal, but they seem to have grown a bit.

The rest, including my own county Kildare, will potter along for a bit without doing any real damage.

Meath v Dublin Final would have a bit of buzz about it in fairness.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 07, 2026, 10:14:17 PM
If Kilkenny and O'Callaghan are playing for Dublin i still say they got enough up front.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 07, 2026, 10:20:29 PM
Confirmed tonight Tullamore and Portlaoise will host Leinster SFC semi-finals.
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 07, 2026, 10:24:49 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 07, 2026, 10:20:29 PMConfirmed tonight Tullamore and Portlaoise will host Leinster SFC semi-finals.
That will be interesting.
Post by: Fogarty on April 08, 2026, 10:00:44 AM
Kildare at 14/1 may offer some value.
Post by: Armagh18 on April 08, 2026, 10:29:05 AM
Louth probably the best value there, surprised at the Dubs being favourites over Meath.

The distraction with Brennans ban won't be helping Dublin, apparently he's not even meant to be at training if that's upheld?
Post by: gallsman on April 08, 2026, 11:01:33 AM
Quote from: Fogarty on April 08, 2026, 10:00:44 AMKildare at 14/1 may offer some value.

Kildare looked absolutely terrible at times in the league. Would be very surprised if they laid a glove on Meath, Dublin or Louth. They'll be very thankful for their Tailteann cup win.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 08, 2026, 11:18:23 AM
Losing money at 14/1 is still the same end result! I think we will have too much for Laois/ Offaly at home, but Meath were so far ahead of us in the league and will only be better on harder ground. They missed a lot against us in the league.

Louth are a fine streetwise outfit and can't be written off but they are in big bother if Mulroy is not on it or shit down - easier said than done mind.

Meath are big and mobile. Even the elder lads like Keoghan still have some legs and Jack O'Connor is really flying. It's not all just down to one or two men up top.

Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 08, 2026, 11:29:12 AM
Them bans where never changed from the calendar change meaning alot of games were missed. Totally self inflicted but under the old Calendar he would seen some pitch time uf Dublin had progressed, now he sees nothing if they not in a semi.
Post by: Armagh18 on April 08, 2026, 11:41:34 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 08, 2026, 11:18:23 AMLosing money at 14/1 is still the same end result! I think we will have too much for Louth/ Offaly at home, but Meath were so far ahead of us in the league and will only be better on harder ground. They missed a lot against us in the league.

Louth are a fine streetwise outfit and can't be written off but they are in big bother if Mulroy is not on it or shit down - easier said than done mind.

Meath are big and mobile. Even the elder lads like Keoghan still have some legs and Jack O'Connor is really flying. It's not all just down to one or two men up top.

You think Kildare have too much for Louth? Bold enough take there I think. A big ask for Louth to go back to back, but don't see anyone other than Meath or Dublin if they get their shit together beating them. If I was to call it I'd say Louth to come up short in Leinster but make a far better stab at the All Ireland series.
Post by: Fogarty on April 08, 2026, 01:34:58 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 08, 2026, 11:41:34 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 08, 2026, 11:18:23 AMLosing money at 14/1 is still the same end result! I think we will have too much for Louth/ Offaly at home, but Meath were so far ahead of us in the league and will only be better on harder ground. They missed a lot against us in the league.

You think Kildare have too much for Louth? Bold enough take there I think. A big ask for Louth to go back to back, but don't see anyone other than Meath or Dublin if they get their shit together beating them. If I was to call it I'd say Louth to come up short in Leinster but make a far better stab at the All Ireland series.

I think he meant Laois.
Kildare are not pulling up trees, but I don't think Meath and Louth are on fire either.
There is probably too much hype in Meath as well.
Post by: gallsman on April 08, 2026, 03:29:46 PM
I'd say Meath are on fire, relatively speaking. Nobody smart will be predicting them to win the AI but they've backed up last year and kicked on.
Post by: Armagh18 on April 08, 2026, 03:46:47 PM
Quote from: Fogarty on April 08, 2026, 01:34:58 PM

I think he meant Laois.
Kildare are not pulling up trees, but I don't think Meath and Louth are on fire either.
I'd say Louth, Meath and Dublin are a good bit ahead in Leinster all 3 definitely capable of winning it. All 3 certainly capable of reaching a quarter final and beyond, Meath you'd say could maybe, maybe reach a final draw dependent, would be interesting to see them meet Donegal or Kerry to see how they'd get on in comparison to the absolute tanking Donegal gave them or if they can get another result against Kerry.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 08, 2026, 04:26:50 PM
I did mean Laois/ Offaly sorry. But yeah the main three are a good bit ahead.

At least it's a bit more interesting and I think there is a solid kick in the Dubs at some stage. Feck would Fenton anser an SOS?
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 08, 2026, 11:15:40 PM
Quote from: Fogarty on April 08, 2026, 01:34:58 PM

I think he meant Laois.

Don't think there is any hype in Meath. Actually I'd say there is more nerves than anything else, we on everyone's radar after last year and the league. There's not a cigarette paper between dublin Louth and Meath. Louth are too big of price maybe cause to win it they have to beat both Dublin and Meath. Louth may even have been fav if Meath and Dublin were on opposite side.
Confidence? Yes we will beat I believe the two team we play before final in Westmeath and Kildare. But our problem is we won't have had the test that either Louth or Dublin will have had, and that's a huge negative. I actually believe that Offaly gave a better account of themselves than Kildare did in league at least for 30 minutes, Kildare were hugely disappointing, and there is something seriously wrong there. What I don't know but they have the players to be better than they are.
So hype no, hope yes
Post by: Fogarty on April 09, 2026, 01:54:04 PM
We'll see. There are doubts about Meath because they didn't close the deal in the Leinster final last year.
Beating Dublin was the hard part.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 09, 2026, 02:54:18 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 08, 2026, 10:29:05 AMLouth probably the best value there, surprised at the Dubs being favourites over Meath.

The distraction with Brennans ban won't be helping Dublin, apparently he's not even meant to be at training if that's upheld?
Might not be a bad thing. Let Bastik run them ragged for a few weeks.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on April 10, 2026, 05:06:52 AM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 08, 2026, 11:15:40 PMBut our problem is we won't have had the test that either Louth or Dublin will have had

I understand Kildare aren't going well but is this side of the draw that much a foregone conclusion?

Louth squeaked past us last year with a bit of extra nous and scoring efficiency. But we dominated a lot of that game. With a bit of luck, the only one who played that day that we'll be missing for the championship is David Hyland.

Offaly would also be a different proposition with a couple key lads back.

Neither county are the favourites but I'm not sure Kildare and Offaly are as irrelevant as some think. 
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 10, 2026, 05:12:19 PM
Kildare were so flat in the league match and I know it's only the league, but they will be stronger and quicker on the harder ground. I'd call it to say they are 5+ a better outfit.

I don't know why I had it in my head that Fenton might come back, but the Sunday Game announcement was a curveball! With all the Ger Brennan craic and them not really flying, I'd fancy Louth a bit more.

They were missing a lot of lads in that last league game, so if they get them back they are a solid outfit who are more settled than the Dubs.

On second thoughts from an earlier post I'd prefer the Louth v Meath pairing again and the colour it will bring.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 11, 2026, 06:40:12 PM
Half time Offaly 0-8 Laois 2-7

Anothet 1-1 for Laois to lead by 9 points now. 2,841 the attendance

Result Offaly 0-12 Laois 3-12
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2026, 07:57:15 PM
Bad year to date for the Biffos!
That's them and London in the TC.
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2026, 08:22:13 PM
Great win. Always good to beat the BIFFOS.
Post by: pjm on April 11, 2026, 08:42:46 PM
Most famous Biffo getting a hole in one makes up for loss
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 11, 2026, 10:34:16 PM
Said Offaly were bad. Kildare may improve on better ground (if we get it ) but honestly I don't think they will bother this Meath team
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2026, 11:23:32 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 11, 2026, 08:22:13 PMGreat win. Always good to beat the BIFFOS.
Obviously not too  many of ye too bothered 2,841 attendance!
Post by: Armagh18 on April 12, 2026, 08:26:33 AM
Whats happened Offaly? Looked like a team ready to push on from what I saw of them in last years league, but results have ben awful since. Have injuries been that bad?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on April 12, 2026, 11:15:24 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 12, 2026, 08:26:33 AMWhats happened Offaly? Looked like a team ready to push on from what I saw of them in last years league, but results have ben awful since. Have injuries been that bad?

Yes and No. Injuries have been a big feature. A less depleted squad perhaps could have survived the Div 3 drop.

Other than that, I believe the Mickey Harte bounce of 2025 has worn off. The underlying issue was the unpopularity of 2024 manager Declan Kelly who had a poor stint that year - losing badly to London on top of growing disgruntlement in the dressing room.
He was untenable going forward as the sole manager, so appointing Harte as the joint manager put a lid on this bubbling saucepan.

Whatever sauce Mickey was bringing to the picnic last year is not being brought this year. The mood in the camp doesn't seem good.
Yesterday it came home to roost.

The defence looked in huge trouble at times. Ball watching, slow reactions. Players switching off and allowing Leix forwards steal several yards before any response. The margin could have been far worse. A more clinical opposition would have gone to town.

At the other end, Offaly had plenty of possession, but too many single man drives ending up in a square pass, or a turnover. There was little clever inter play.
Either advanced attacking play wasn't worked on in training - or it was and the players ignored the advice - or else the players have become very poor players in 2026?

Worryingly, some of the normally quicker Offaly players looked dead-legged and lethargic. Take pace out of a team already small in height and that spells trouble.

Right now my feeling is that it's a pity Offaly have to limp onwards into the TC. This would have been an appropriate time to sign off with a management set up that had a productive 2025, but has now reached the end of the road
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 12, 2026, 11:45:33 AM
Twice last year Offaly outplayed and outsmarted Kildare in the league, but by the time of the championship Kildare had some stronger men back and sat a lad on Egan who had destroyed us.
That did the trick and this year they were way off us. Teams have figured them out a bit more and you can't afford to lose anyone.
Good luck in the TC and hope to see you bounce back. Going by what you are saying if ye kept Mickey and got lads back there is still young team with potential there.

Post by: Blowitupref on April 12, 2026, 03:42:34 PM
Half-time Longford 1-8 Westmeath 5-9
Post by: imtommygunn on April 12, 2026, 04:13:40 PM
Big enough win for Wicklow. Goes against league form but thought they might win that one.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 12, 2026, 04:40:26 PM
Results

Longford 1-16 Westmeath 5-25
Carlow 1-7 Wicklow 2-15
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 12, 2026, 08:49:36 PM
Ahh the annexed part we play. Always love it.
Post by: thejuice on April 13, 2026, 03:44:13 PM
Westmeath can't be underestimated. While I fancy us to beat them, they can score goals and our full back line get exposed at times.

Ronan Jones is back fit and gives us another option off the bench. Costello not fit yet so won't feature.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 13, 2026, 04:52:10 PM
Westmeath manager Mark McHugh.

I actually feel that's a wee bit unfair.

All the teams that played this weekend have to play next weekend against one of the big four, if you want to call them that.

There should be a two-week break, because they can go and watch [their next Leinster opponent] today. I'm sure Robbie Brennan was out there...

We're looking at Longford since the league, so we need to get studying them [Meath] from tonight on and we'll see what we can bring.
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 13, 2026, 09:08:08 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 13, 2026, 04:52:10 PMWestmeath manager Mark McHugh.

I actually feel that's a wee bit unfair.

All the teams that played this weekend have to play next weekend against one of the big four, if you want to call them that.

There should be a two-week break, because they can go and watch [their next Leinster opponent] today. I'm sure Robbie Brennan was out there...

We're looking at Longford since the league, so we need to get studying them [Meath] from tonight on and we'll see what we can bring.

As he would have known that the winners play Meath it would be a bit odd and unprofessional not to look at them ahead of the game
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 15, 2026, 03:50:17 PM
Darragh O Se had an interesting article in The Times today. Dublin have fallen behind quite dramatically and don't have the squad to mount an AI tilt. That being said, they may be in the hunt for Leinster, which will be an exciting province. After years of Dublin cantering to victory, it is anything but a sure thing.
Post by: moonster on April 15, 2026, 07:44:39 PM
Guaranteed to be Meath and Louth Leinster final with Meath to get revenge.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 16, 2026, 02:38:05 PM
A bit harsh but fair here - https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0415/1568382-spursy-kildare-look-as-vulnerable-as-ever/

I am hearing that there are a good few lads in trouble/ likely missing with hamstring injuries. Beirne being a big one and a couple more.
Laois are not great, but could catch us on the hop if we don't show up. If rumours are true, then we are looking at a tighter game...
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 16, 2026, 02:54:09 PM
I don't like the term "Spursy" in a GAA context, but Kildare have been that side that would appear to be knocking on the door (and their fans would be vocal in agreeing with that) only for some disaster to befall them. There were times when you couldn't trust them to beat some of the weaker counties in Leinster.

My personal view is that in a Championship match Meath would beat them, Dublin probably would, as would Louth.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 16, 2026, 03:10:06 PM
Oh I think we will beat Laois and Meath will be 6-8 points better than us.
Bizarrely against better teams we can play better as the game might be more open. It's when it gets messy or cagey our lack of football IQ really shows up.
Post by: Fogarty on April 16, 2026, 11:13:48 PM
Dublin team named to face Wicklow.
There is not much to fear there and Wicklow really need to go for the jugular.

DUBLIN (v Wicklow): Evan Comerford; Eoin Murchan, Nathan Doran, David Byrne; Greg McEneaney, Charlie McMorrow, Eoin Kennedy; Brian Howard, Tom Lahiff; Seán Bugler, Niall Scully, Páidí White; Paddy Small, Killian McGinnis, Con O'Callaghan.

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 16, 2026, 11:25:14 PM
Dublin are a shadow of recent teams and nothing coming through, but they will have more than enough for Wicklow
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 17, 2026, 10:45:28 AM
Dublin also have a few experienced options from the bench. Costello is a good example. So even if the game was going south, they have more than enough to claw it back.

That being said, actually seeing the team on paper makes clear just how they have fallen in terms of player quality.

Kilkenny is a loss.
Post by: Lamps on April 17, 2026, 12:28:44 PM
Removing the imbalance in funding is really starting to bite Dublin now.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 17, 2026, 01:03:43 PM
Dublin were on the decline after the 5 in a row. They have also suffered from mass retirements within a short space of time. The alleged influence of the imbalance was expected to take years to redress. However, Dublin's decline has coincided with the concurrent loss of some of the best players ever to pull on the blue (or any other colour for that matter). 2023 was the last push, and after that this period was inevitable, as players were not coming through the ranks (even when the funding was still being provided).

Post by: Blowitupref on April 17, 2026, 01:29:35 PM
(https://i.ibb.co/RkwzcN18/Screenshot-20260417-132414-Chrome.jpg) (https://ibb.co/8LZ69bJk)
(https://i.ibb.co/ds2PXk2m/Screenshot-20260417-132402-Chrome.jpg) (https://ibb.co/bjBsYNBb)
(https://i.ibb.co/jv81mc1M/Screenshot-20260417-132354-Chrome.jpg) (https://ibb.co/hRgtbPtW)
(https://i.ibb.co/x8CH1Yys/Screenshot-20260417-132341-Chrome.jpg) (https://ibb.co/0VDtCKkX)
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 17, 2026, 11:11:44 PM
Unlike last year Meath have developed dept , can you imagine what Adam O'Neil Connor duke and in particular James Conlon could do to tired Westmeath legs. Conlon could put 1-6 on in a blink of a eye
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 17, 2026, 11:24:31 PM
Quote from: Lamps on April 17, 2026, 12:28:44 PMRemoving the imbalance in funding is really starting to bite Dublin now.
One thing is not linked to the other.

The problem is success on the pitch and punters going to games didn't translate into an increase in kids playing the game. That investment was to stand still versus the competition. The only lasting legacy was Cuala, who are an outstanding success especially in hirling, but eyewateringly expensive to set up.

Dublin happening to have a once in a generation quality senior team just happened to coincide with that funding.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 18, 2026, 10:25:24 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 17, 2026, 11:24:31 PM
Quote from: Lamps on April 17, 2026, 12:28:44 PMRemoving the imbalance in funding is really starting to bite Dublin now.
One thing is not linked to the other.

The problem is success on the pitch and punters going to games didn't translate into an increase in kids playing the game. That investment was to stand still versus the competition. The only lasting legacy was Cuala, who are an outstanding success especially in hirling, but eyewateringly expensive to set up.

Dublin happening to have a once in a generation quality senior team just happened to coincide with that funding.

And what is often forgotten is that the basis for Dublin's early success included two club titles for Dublin Clubs (Vincents in '08 and Crokes in '09), and a Junior All Ireland Title in 2008. Dublin also won an Under 20 title in 2010. Dublin had been knocking on the door between 2005-2007 and were one of the few sides (apart from Tyrone - who had their number) who could take on Kerry. Integrating a lot of those players, moving on from a number of longstanding nearly-men, and looking to other sources of footballers was critical.

The 'juggernaut' was only as robust as was the players that comprised it. And as they each retired or stepped away it becomes clearer that Dublin enjoyed a golden generation, which also drew from players across the grades and ages. The Dublin Senior Team have won two All Ireland Titles this decade, and the 2023 iteration was a particularly special effort.
Post by: thejuice on April 18, 2026, 04:04:56 PM
I think we'll have too much for Westmeath tomorrow but they'll give us something to think about for sure. Our full back line has been vulnerable and we gave up criminal amounts of space to Sherlock in the league final which we can't do again. We had the second worst record for conceding in the league if I'm not mistaken. Thankfully this are much better attacking wise and I think we have too much for Westmeath tomorrow handle up front and threats coming off the bench.

Laois have a decent chance of upsetting Kildare. While Kildare has plenty of potential they haven't shown much of it so far this year. Laois have had some positive performances though they're coming from a lower level than Kildare so it could be a close one.

Dublin should have too much for Wicklow but certainly The Garden should give it everything and who knows what will happen with Brennan not there, if they get rattled it might get sticky for a while at least down in Aughrim. That said Dublin should have the talent and experience to get through it.

Louth and Wexford will have a similar feel to Meath and Westmeath. Wexford will cause them trouble for periods but Louth will have too much firepower upfront for Wexford to handle.

Interesting weekend of football in Leinster for the first time in a long while. It's a shame none of it is televised.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 19, 2026, 01:28:44 PM
Brennan ban upheld. Dean Rock in the vest for the game today.

I'm not sure I have ever gone into a season feeling more defeatist about Dublin's chances of winning Leinster.
Post by: moonster on April 19, 2026, 01:32:44 PM
Routine wins for Kildare, Meath and Laois. Wicklow could give the dubs rattle.

We are waiting for Meath to bate Louth in Leinster final.
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 19, 2026, 01:35:32 PM
Louth to just get past Wexford.
Dublin to put down a marker
Kildare Laois could go either way
Meath Westmeath, Westmeath to keep it tight may even be ahead at HT. Meath to pull away in last 20 when empty bench.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 19, 2026, 01:50:23 PM
Teams that played last weekend to struggle against their rested opponents is what I'm expecting today.
Post by: weareros on April 19, 2026, 02:17:06 PM
Pity Westmeath/Meath not broadcast. Think it will be good game. Edit: delayed 10 mins due to traffic congestion. Game on.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 02:43:11 PM
After 27 minutes Westmeath 1-6 Meath 0-6

2nd goal for Wesmeath on 30 mins 2-6 to 0-8
Post by: weareros on April 19, 2026, 02:47:19 PM
Another goal for Westmeath.

2-6 to 9 after 30 mins.

2-9 to 9 at half time
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on April 19, 2026, 02:56:40 PM
Yes very poor form that the Meath Derby not broadcast.

Surely one Leinster games deserves a GAA plus slot.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 03:11:30 PM
Westmeath 2-11 Meath 0-09.  A two pointer the opening score of the 2nd half
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 19, 2026, 03:18:20 PM
The Meath poster that writes up essays on here will have to publish an novel after this game.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 03:25:38 PM
Westmeath lead by 7 with 18 minutes to play.  Sub bench options and fitness should be telling now.

A 3rd goal for Westmeath sub impact Rob Forde, 3-16 to 0-15
Post by: weareros on April 19, 2026, 03:28:28 PM
Another goal - Westmeath!
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on April 19, 2026, 03:29:06 PM
Whats that noise?

Is it the Meath bandwagon grinding to a halt?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 19, 2026, 03:32:57 PM
Meath Defence always looked open all year!
Post by: thejuice on April 19, 2026, 03:34:11 PM
Absolute shocker here. Westmeath dominating us everywhere. Forwards haven't got a sniff. Westmeath knew where we're vulnerable in the backline
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 19, 2026, 03:36:23 PM
Dublin and Meath both in difficulty. Dublin with a bit more time and less of a margin to work with.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 03:37:20 PM
Meath 0-19 Westmeath 3-17.  With 7 minutes left.

Wicklow 1-7 Dublin 1-11 at half-time.  Louth was 0-14 to 0-5 in front at the break a lead that is 1-19 to 0-9 now.
Post by: manwithnoplan on April 19, 2026, 03:43:19 PM
Are these games not being broadcast anywhere?
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 19, 2026, 03:44:31 PM
Two quick scores have turned the tide at Aughrim. McMorrow and McGinnis with a goal and two pointer. Dublin four up at the break.

Word from Aughrim is that Wicklow has been by far the better side, and that there is more than plenty for them to play for.

Meath have cut the deficit.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 03:46:06 PM
Meath have cut the gap to two points with two minutes to play.

A 4th goal for Westmeath on the hooter.  Full time Westmeath 4-18 Meath 0-25 what a win and performance by Westmeath.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 19, 2026, 03:49:39 PM
Jaysus didn't see that coming.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 19, 2026, 03:51:49 PM
Meath beginning to look a little like Kildare under Geezer. Looks great and then an unexpected result derails it. I didnt see that coming, but fair play to Westmeath. It backs up the high scoring in Longford last week.

Perhaps Meath caught on the hop?
Post by: shantygael on April 19, 2026, 03:53:21 PM
Quote from: moonster on April 19, 2026, 01:32:44 PMRoutine wins for Kildare, Meath and Laois. Wicklow could give the dubs rattle.

kept on predicting mystic Meg.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 19, 2026, 03:53:36 PM
Meath defence like a sieve a long while. Over rated team more than anything else and took a derby game for granted.
Post by: thejuice on April 19, 2026, 03:58:43 PM
Hard to know. Didn't show up at all anywhere today until the game was out of reach. Forwards all shackled. Midfielders didn't turn up at all till the end of the game. Defensive frailties well exploited by Westmeath. We've got the long break now to pick ourselves up again.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 04:08:00 PM
Defending champions Louth with a comfortable 1-25 to 0-11 win against Wexford.
Post by: moonster on April 19, 2026, 04:21:56 PM
Quote from: Fogarty on April 08, 2026, 10:00:44 AMKildare at 14/1 may offer some value.

Meath gone looks a great bet now.
Post by: thejuice on April 19, 2026, 04:23:23 PM
If Westmeath win Leinster what happens with the Tailteann Cup?
Post by: shark on April 19, 2026, 04:26:28 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 19, 2026, 04:23:23 PMIf Westmeath win Leinster what happens with the Tailteann Cup?

Only have to make Leinster final to make Sam Maguire. Down would drop to Tailteann unless they make Ulster final
Post by: imtommygunn on April 19, 2026, 04:26:34 PM
If they get to the final they're not in it and down are in it.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 04:28:12 PM
Kildare 1-10 Laois 2-7 at half-time
Post by: Armagh18 on April 19, 2026, 04:30:06 PM
Quote from: moonster on April 19, 2026, 01:32:44 PMRoutine wins for Kildare, Meath and Laois. Wicklow could give the dubs rattle.

Brilliant predictions again lol
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 04:32:54 PM
Dublin with a 3 point lead against Wicklow with 5 minutes to play.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 19, 2026, 04:34:45 PM
And just missed a kickable one to bring it to one point.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 04:40:14 PM
Dublin red card Liam Smith,  a two point lead they have.

All over Wicklow 2-14 Dublin 2-16
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 19, 2026, 04:45:14 PM
Injuries to Con and Colm, red card, gilt edged chances for Wicklow to win it. Louth will be licking their chops for the semi.
Post by: ArmaghTastic on April 19, 2026, 04:47:16 PM

Kildare and Laois are playing each other, how can they both win?
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 19, 2026, 05:01:17 PM
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on April 19, 2026, 04:45:14 PMInjuries to Con and Colm, red card, gilt edged chances for Wicklow to win it. Louth will be licking their chops for the semi.

For all the talk about Meath their neighbours Louth could go on to win back to back Leinster titles
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2026, 05:13:27 PM
6 mins left Kildare 2-20 Laois 2-11

FT Kildare 2-20 Laois 2-15

Semi-finals

Kildare v Westmeath
Louth v Dublin
Post by: moonster on April 19, 2026, 05:17:31 PM
Kildare could be the long grass against Louth
Post by: mup on April 19, 2026, 05:25:51 PM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 19, 2026, 01:35:32 PMLouth to just get past Wexford.
Dublin to put down a marker
Kildare Laois could go either way
Meath Westmeath, Westmeath to keep it tight may even be ahead at HT. Meath to pull away in last 20 when empty bench.

Mystic Megs job is safe for a while. 🤣
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 19, 2026, 05:34:20 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 19, 2026, 04:23:23 PMIf Westmeath win Leinster what happens with the Tailteann Cup?

Not good news for Down that Westmeath win.

If Westmeath beat Kildare, Down must beat Donegal then Armagh/Fermanagh to get into Sam Maguire.
Post by: thejuice on April 19, 2026, 05:46:14 PM
Westmeath vs Louth Leinster final
Post by: Rossfan on April 19, 2026, 06:26:14 PM
Th'oul Leinster threw up a bit of excitement today.
Well done the neighbours.
Post by: gallsman on April 19, 2026, 07:41:14 PM
Westmeath absolutely capable of beating a poor Kildare outfit too.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 19, 2026, 07:50:19 PM
The 2010 Leinster curse continues for Meath.
Post by: sans pessimism on April 19, 2026, 09:39:46 PM
Quote from: shantygael on April 19, 2026, 03:53:21 PM

kept on predicting mystic Meg.
mystic MUG!
Post by: rodney trotter on April 19, 2026, 09:51:33 PM
Meath were wide open in the league final. Westmeath have some good players so always had a chance.
Post by: AustinPowers on April 20, 2026, 12:08:07 AM
The Offaly man   behind  the goals  in Tullamore never misses  a game. He's in the same spot all  the time. He was there at the hurling  yesterday too.

What odds on Westmeath winning Leinster before this  weekend?
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on April 20, 2026, 06:05:47 AM
Good to see Meath getting a proper test before the Leinster final after all
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 20, 2026, 07:48:48 AM
Congratulations to Westmeath. Knew they'd be up for it. We weren't. It is that simple. Huge fan of RB but at end of the day sticking with the same 15 was a mistake. I said here after league final billy hogan should be in goal. Going forward that's what has to happen. Conlon not starting was also a huge error , and even worse to leave him on bench when things weren't going well,  Ryan has the be brought into backs. Wholesale changes needed from 1 to 8, McBride also very poor today. Still expect us to be in last 8. With Costello and jones to come back. But while RB says it's a hard 15 to get into it cannot be a hard 15 to get dropped from.
On Westmeath they will reach a Leinster final where they will play Louth. And id love them to win it. So best wishes to them going forward
Post by: mup on April 20, 2026, 08:23:44 AM
Will that finally be the end of the Meath hype machine?
Post by: Armagh18 on April 20, 2026, 08:29:45 AM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 20, 2026, 07:48:48 AMCongratulations to Westmeath. Knew they'd be up for it. We weren't. It is that simple. Huge fan of RB but at end of the day sticking with the same 15 was a mistake. I said here after league final billy hogan should be in goal. Going forward that's what has to happen. Conlon not starting was also a huge error , and even worse to leave him on bench when things weren't going well,  Ryan has the be brought into backs. Wholesale changes needed from 1 to 8, McBride also very poor today. Still expect us to be in last 8. With Costello and jones to come back. But while RB says it's a hard 15 to get into it cannot be a hard 15 to get dropped from.
On Westmeath they will reach a Leinster final where they will play Louth. And id love them to win it. So best wishes to them going forward
Fair play Dunneroyal, bound to be a tough one that to take. Westmeath certainly no bad side but Meath obviously would have been expecting to win that. Funny old team Meath, beating Dublin, Kerry and Galway against the odds last year, having a very good league this year but also losing a Leinster final they should have won plus that horror show against Donegal. Interesting to see how they bounce back and would expect them to have a big performance or 2 down the line.
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 20, 2026, 09:47:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 20, 2026, 08:29:45 AM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 20, 2026, 07:48:48 AMCongratulations to Westmeath. Knew they'd be up for it. We weren't. It is that simple. Huge fan of RB but at end of the day sticking with the same 15 was a mistake. I said here after league final billy hogan should be in goal. Going forward that's what has to happen. Conlon not starting was also a huge error , and even worse to leave him on bench when things weren't going well,  Ryan has the be brought into backs. Wholesale changes needed from 1 to 8, McBride also very poor today. Still expect us to be in last 8. With Costello and jones to come back. But while RB says it's a hard 15 to get into it cannot be a hard 15 to get dropped from.
Fair play Dunneroyal, bound to be a tough one that to take. Westmeath certainly no bad side but Meath obviously would have been expecting to win that. Funny old team Meath, beating Dublin, Kerry and Galway against the odds last year, having a very good league this year but also losing a Leinster final they should have won plus that horror show against Donegal. Interesting to see how they bounce back and would expect them to have a big performance or 2 down the line.

Ahh very hard to take. And I'm sure it will take a week or so for the lads to get over. Honestly after the league was a bit worried that we were too open at the back (think we had 2nd highest score against). Our forwards kept getting us out of trouble, it was the old adage we will score more than you. But that's a dangerous game when for whatever reason the forwards don't clock. Jordan Morris had his worst game in 18 months , frayne off, lynch didn't fire , McBride not shooting, probably better options on bench who came in too late. Flynn while doing a lot couldn't get into grove same as O'Connor. It will hurt them. But if we get a couple of lads back and a few changes in the back lines and gk I still feel we will have a good run. They need to dust themselves down and refocus. It isn't going to be easy but needs to be done
Post by: Fogarty on April 20, 2026, 10:03:28 AM
Quote from: mup on April 20, 2026, 08:23:44 AMWill that finally be the end of the Meath hype machine?

Meath can regroup from it. My feeling beforehand was that were getting ahead of themselves with the hype. A boot in the rear end may be the perfect tonic for them.
Post by: Fogarty on April 20, 2026, 10:07:41 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 17, 2026, 11:24:31 PMThe problem is success on the pitch and punters going to games didn't translate into an increase in kids playing the game. That investment was to stand still versus the competition. The only lasting legacy was Cuala, who are an outstanding success especially in hirling, but eyewateringly expensive to set up.

We had a Dublin juvenile officer giving us a talk in Wicklow and he said participation in juvenile GAA games had increased by 400% in Dublin since the turn of the millennium.
I wonder which one of you is wrong?

Post by: Fogarty on April 20, 2026, 10:31:02 AM
It's difficult to shake the feeling of "what if" after watching that display in Aughrim yesterday. While it's easy to point to the pride we feel in how the lads stood up to a Division 1 giant, it's honestly agonising to look back at how close we were to a historic result.

When Eoin Darcy punched in that second goal the atmosphere in the ground was unbelievable—you could see the Dublin players rattled and our boys playing with a belief that made you think the upset was truly on. The talent in this squad is undeniable, and they proved today that when they click, they can put it up to the best in the country. But that's exactly what makes it so hard to stomach. We had the momentum and we had the game right there for the taking, but we just couldn't deliver that final, clinical blow to get the win. Too many wides when Dublin were reeling cost us in the end.

It was a massive statement of intent, but another heartbreaking lesson that talent alone isn't enough—we have to find a way to close out those tight finishes when the stakes are at their highest.

To build on this, Wicklow need to go all out to win the Tailteann and move us to the next tier.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 20, 2026, 10:35:47 AM
I was justr saying to a lad yesterday it'll be very interesting to see how Meath build back from this.
Since Brennan took over it has been an upward curve and this is a first real kick in the stones apart from the Leinster Final, but I'd argue that had a life of it's own.

It's so nervous and negative in Kildare at the moment I was glad to see the back of Laois, but we were also expecting Meath to give us a trimming the next day and now it's Westmeath.

It'll be interesting to see if we have learned from the Championship last year or the O'Byrne Cup. Last year WH screened Feely really well and on the flip did the same to allow Connellan.
O'Loughlin DESTROYED us both times and the runs from deep from the likes of Wallaces are two other things we need to address.

The positive is that we should have more lads closer to fitness and Alex Beirne might be right.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 20, 2026, 10:37:51 AM
Quote from: Fogarty on April 20, 2026, 10:31:02 AMIt's difficult to shake the feeling of "what if" after watching that display in Aughrim yesterday. While it's easy to point to the pride we feel in how the lads stood up to a Division 1 giant, it's honestly agonising to look back at how close we were to a historic result.

When Eoin Darcy punched in that second goal the atmosphere in the ground was unbelievable—you could see the Dublin players rattled and our boys playing with a belief that made you think the upset was truly on. The talent in this squad is undeniable, and they proved today that when they click, they can put it up to the best in the country. But that's exactly what makes it so hard to stomach. We had the momentum and we had the game right there for the taking, but we just couldn't deliver that final, clinical blow to get the win. Too many wides when Dublin were reeling cost us in the end.

It was a massive statement of intent, but another heartbreaking lesson that talent alone isn't enough—we have to find a way to close out those tight finishes when the stakes are at their highest.

To build on this, Wicklow need to go all out to win the Tailteann and move us to the next tier.

The second Dublin goal was a flicker of what had been. It was a well worked move where Wicklow were unable to get to the ball, and that pushed the lead out to 4 at a crucial time.

It's a bit of a cliche but the "old dog for the hard road" was able to draw on recent experience to close the game out, and Wicklow don't have that just yet. With a bit more mental strength and improved decision making Wicklow would have won.
Post by: moonster on April 20, 2026, 11:30:51 PM
https://www.balls.ie/gaa/john-heslin-meath-westmeath-loss-653797?fbclid=Iwb21leARTh9pjbGNrBFOHhWV4dG4DYWVtAjExAHNydGMGYXBwX2lkDDM1MDY4NTUzMTcyOAABHjBf4q90SSppSa-AcW8O1cGtvv1FG7LMjRd48oeqZ4X6mSUbIFM0nABYcw2U_aem_xJTzlvNSrwSIM3tLSbs9Qw
Post by: moonster on April 20, 2026, 11:32:37 PM
Quote from: mup on April 20, 2026, 08:23:44 AMWill that finally be the end of the Meath hype machine?

Love the shitthousery. Kildare support starting to get giddy with a leinster final against Louth in sight.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 21, 2026, 12:05:00 AM
Thought u said u a wexford supporter?
Post by: mup on April 21, 2026, 08:27:58 AM
Quote from: moonster on April 20, 2026, 11:32:37 PM

Love the shitthousery. Kildare support starting to get giddy with a leinster final against Louth in sight.

Giddy? Gawd no. That Kildare team haven't a hope of getting to a Leinster final. Zero chance.
Post by: Armagh18 on April 21, 2026, 08:35:03 AM
Kildare have the ability to beat Westmeath but don't think they will. Still that flakiness or something with Kildare despite having talent. Westmeath have very good forwards, Luke Loughlin wouldn't look out of place probably on any team in the country, always that bit of doggedness in them too, gave us a big scare in Armagh in 2023 and weren't miles away in 2024, caused the other teams in the groups trouble as well as far as I remember .
Post by: shark on April 21, 2026, 10:42:14 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 21, 2026, 08:35:03 AMKildare have the ability to beat Westmeath but don't think they will. Still that flakiness or something with Kildare despite having talent. Westmeath have very good forwards, Luke Loughlin wouldn't look out of place probably on any team in the country, always that bit of doggedness in them too, gave us a big scare in Armagh in 2023 and weren't miles away in 2024, caused the other teams in the groups trouble as well as far as I remember .

Agree with general point , but not much point talking about 2023/24 when it comes to Westmeath. Had double figure retirements after 2024.
Just looked at the team from 2023 game, which Armagh won by a point. Used 19 players. 12 gone, and 2 more long term injured. 5 remain. Very young team now , with the notable exceptions of Loughlin, Connellan, and Daly in goals.
Post by: clonian on April 21, 2026, 11:41:03 AM
Quote from: mup on April 21, 2026, 08:27:58 AM

Giddy? Gawd no. That Kildare team haven't a hope of getting to a Leinster final. Zero chance.

If Kildare get beat they should have to play off with Meath for a place in the All Ireland - it's the only fair outcome
Post by: moonster on April 21, 2026, 03:54:49 PM
Quote from: mup on April 21, 2026, 08:27:58 AM

Yerra ;D
Post by: moonster on April 21, 2026, 03:57:39 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 21, 2026, 12:05:00 AMThought u said u a wexford supporter?

Yes but you to admire the kikdare buck coming out of his sabbatical to have a pop at Meath.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 21, 2026, 03:58:32 PM
Nationally and locally we hear about Kildare having talent, but from following them for years it's often overblown. We are great when things are going well but make horrible mistakes under pressure.

And I know underage success is brilliant, but these lads often flounder at senior level. We have lads who can do it in Div 3 or against a lower league outfit, but then can't get the shot away or cough up the ball once a team is at or above their level.

It's not purely down to flakiness or mentality, it's just they are not as good as people think. Players who are good do the right things more often than not.
I still think that if we get some key men back in and get more closer to 100% we can beat Westmeath, but we just don't have a lad like O'Loughlin or a Wallace for that matter.

On the other side I fancy Louth to beat the Dubs as they just seem to trust each other and have great control. Plus they were missing so many who got a run out the last day.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 21, 2026, 05:41:19 PM
Met a couple of Westhmeath men since the weekend and I wouldn't be surprised if the entire county was the happiest place in Ireland the last few days if the rest of the place are as happy as these lads - they were just floating around the place with joy and delight.
Post by: mup on April 22, 2026, 12:11:21 PM
Quote from: moonster on April 21, 2026, 03:57:39 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 21, 2026, 12:05:00 AMThought u said u a wexford supporter?

Yes but you to admire the kikdare buck coming out of his sabbatical to have a pop at Meath.

You call it a pop. I call it the truth. I just don't think they are as good as some make out. They got a bounce out of Robbie Brennan and imo they will fall back into the pack somewhat.

As for Kildare - I don't believe they have the footballers to compete at the moment. They lack football intelligence. As Captain Scarlet said up above, I don't understand why people think Kildare should be better than they are showing. Two Leinster titles since 1956 - thats 70 years!! No AI title since 1928 - nearly 100 years!! They are woeful stats.
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on April 23, 2026, 02:29:05 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 21, 2026, 05:41:19 PMMet a couple of Westhmeath men since the weekend and I wouldn't be surprised if the entire county was the happiest place in Ireland the last few days if the rest of the place are as happy as these lads - they were just floating around the place with joy and delight.

There's certainly a buzz around the place. The recent underage performances, along with the school results have raised morale.
The game on Sunday has turned things up a notch.
Post by: moonster on April 26, 2026, 08:28:14 AM
Quote from: mup on April 22, 2026, 12:11:21 PM
Quote from: moonster on April 21, 2026, 03:57:39 PM

You call it a pop. I call it the truth. I just don't think they are as good as some make out. They got a bounce out of Robbie Brennan and imo they will fall back into the pack somewhat.

As for Kildare - I don't believe they have the footballers to compete at the moment. They lack football intelligence. As Captain Scarlet said up above, I don't understand why people think Kildare should be better than they are showing. Two Leinster titles since 1956 - thats 70 years!! No AI title since 1928 - nearly 100 years!! They are woeful stats.

When Louth beat the Dubs Kildare will be waiting in the long grass. Watch this space.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on April 26, 2026, 10:08:24 AM
I expect Louth to beat Dublin. But if Dublin were to overcome it, I would give them a better chance of beating Kildare.
Post by: Armagh18 on April 27, 2026, 10:29:13 AM
Surely the Louth Dublin game is televised? Maybe score beo not updated.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 27, 2026, 11:15:37 AM
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on April 26, 2026, 10:08:24 AMI expect Louth to beat Dublin. But if Dublin were to overcome it, I would give them a better chance of beating Kildare.

I don't trust us to beat Westmeath. Luke O'Loughlin destroys us every time and we are very open to deep runners - Wallace did seriious damage in the O'Byrne Cup and we haven't addressed that.
Last year we let Egan from Offaly kill us, until the 3rd game when we put a wing back named Gill on him

So much will depend on who is fit for us. If Feely has 70 minutes in him and Beirne is near 100% then those two make a massive difference. Harry O'Neill is another man to add in and Colm Dalton is class, but picking up a lot of niggles.

The Dubs will surely have a kick in them but Louth are a very solid outfit who manage games so well these days.  Personally I'd like to see Louth v Kildare as the poxy blue jersey has us beaten before we line out.
Post by: JWF54 on April 28, 2026, 10:36:09 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 27, 2026, 10:29:13 AMSurely the Louth Dublin game is televised? Maybe score beo not updated.

GAA + I think
Post by: imtommygunn on April 28, 2026, 10:49:03 AM
It seems to have both leinster semi finals.
Post by: JWF54 on April 28, 2026, 01:38:27 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 28, 2026, 10:49:03 AMIt seems to have both leinster semi finals.

It has.
Post by: moonster on April 29, 2026, 10:40:36 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 21, 2026, 03:58:32 PMNationally and locally we hear about Kildare having talent, but from following them for years it's often overblown. We are great when things are going well but make horrible mistakes under pressure.

And I know underage success is brilliant, but these lads often flounder at senior level. We have lads who can do it in Div 3 or against a lower league outfit, but then can't get the shot away or cough up the ball once a team is at or above their level.

It's not purely down to flakiness or mentality, it's just they are not as good as people think. Players who are good do the right things more often than not.
I still think that if we get some key men back in and get more closer to 100% we can beat Westmeath, but we just don't have a lad like O'Loughlin or a Wallace for that matter.

On the other side I fancy Louth to beat the Dubs as they just seem to trust each other and have great control. Plus they were missing so many who got a run out the last day.

O'Loughlin out for Westmeath.  It kildare leinster now to lose.
Post by: mup on April 30, 2026, 06:53:37 AM
Quote from: moonster on April 29, 2026, 10:40:36 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 21, 2026, 03:58:32 PMNationally and locally we hear about Kildare having talent, but from following them for years it's often overblown. We are great when things are going well but make horrible mistakes under pressure.

Yerra
Post by: shark on April 30, 2026, 09:27:38 AM
Quote from: moonster on April 29, 2026, 10:40:36 PM

Loughlin.
Massive blow for Westmeath. Their one top bracket player. Irreplaceable.
Post by: gallsman on April 30, 2026, 10:44:32 AM
Grade 4 hamstring at training for Loughlin apparently. Enormous blow.
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on April 30, 2026, 03:29:46 PM
Losing Luke is a big setback.  We don't have anybody to fill that gap.
It goes beyond this weekend's match.  There's potentially lots of football available to Westmeath this summer.  The team is very young and the possibility of gaining significant experience and growth is there.
Loughlin would have been pivotal to that. This makes the hill a lot steeper.
It remains to be seen how the lads will respond.
Post by: statto on May 01, 2026, 10:11:34 AM
What are the thoughts on Dublin Louth?

I have changed my mind a number of times this week as to who I think will win the game.  Strange place for Louth going into a games as favourites.  Brennan will know them inside out but momentum is certainly with Louth. 
Post by: imtommygunn on May 01, 2026, 11:25:21 AM
I think Dublin will win.

I really hope I am wrong...
Post by: statto on May 01, 2026, 11:32:59 AM
Quote from: Iarmhí Abú on April 30, 2026, 03:29:46 PMLosing Luke is a big setback.  We don't have anybody to fill that gap.
It goes beyond this weekend's match.  There's potentially lots of football available to Westmeath this summer.  The team is very young and the possibility of gaining significant experience and growth is there.
Loughlin would have been pivotal to that. This makes the hill a lot steeper.
It remains to be seen how the lads will respond.

Should Westmeath not still be well placed to win this game? Kildare have not been pulling up too many trees this year and the manner of the win against Meath should give Westmeath massive confidence. Was very surprised to see Kildare favourites to win this.   
Post by: Blowitupref on May 01, 2026, 05:31:35 PM
(https://i.ibb.co/TBNX1QY4/Screenshot-20260501-171923-Facebook.jpg) (https://ibb.co/FbdvXQm5)

(https://i.ibb.co/jvX1R92T/Screenshot-20260501-171913-Facebook.jpg) (https://ibb.co/qMQP5Lfd)

Odds Paddy Powers

Dublin  10/11 Louth 11/10 Draw 15/2

Westmeath 6/4 Kildare 4/6 Draw 15/2
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 02, 2026, 02:05:12 PM
I always remember in 2010 Dublin played Louth and Louth went into the game as marginal favourites. Dublin played the off the park in the first half (Louth may have scored nothing from play?). That was the early days of the Dublin train chugging into action.

16 years later Dublin are reliant on a small number of players who were involved in the 8 years of success after, and some who were around in 2023. On the other hand Louth look slick and confident.

This will come down to Louth's mental strength. Like I said, I would back Dublin to beat Kildare simply on the basis of mentality. But Louth are a different proposition.
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on May 02, 2026, 02:29:24 PM
I expect a big reaction from Dublin - they could win this game pulling up.

Would be shocked if Louth pull this off.

But would be great to see it and Devlin is definitely getting the most out of them, but beating Dublin in championship might be a step too far for them.
Post by: moonster on May 02, 2026, 04:33:17 PM
Louth by 8. Have 50 on Louth to win and Mulroy MOTM.

Louth could dominate for rest of decade with their u20/minor teams coming through.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 02, 2026, 04:48:41 PM
Quote from: moonster on May 02, 2026, 04:33:17 PMLouth by 8. Have 50 on Louth to win and Mulroy MOTM.

Louth could dominate for rest of decade with their u20/minor teams coming through.
FFS. Fancied Louth but thats the curse on them now
Post by: Armagh18 on May 02, 2026, 05:01:13 PM
Quote from: moonster on May 02, 2026, 04:33:17 PMLouth by 8. Have 50 on Louth to win and Mulroy MOTM.

Post by: moonster on May 02, 2026, 05:12:17 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 02, 2026, 05:01:13 PM

Dublin are no use outside of Croker.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 02, 2026, 05:15:38 PM
Quote from: moonster on May 02, 2026, 05:12:17 PM

Dublin are no use outside of Croker.

Dublin won outside of Croker last week. And in Derry and Galway in last year's championship.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 02, 2026, 05:15:54 PM

Should Louth lose today then mooster will need to delete his account and run.
Post by: moonster on May 02, 2026, 05:45:34 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 02, 2026, 05:15:54 PM

I be deleting the powers account
Post by: shantygael on May 02, 2026, 06:48:24 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 02, 2026, 04:48:41 PM

I second that
Post by: shantygael on May 02, 2026, 06:50:08 PM

Could  moonman not just delete his account anyway even if louth win
Post by: Blowitupref on May 02, 2026, 07:06:10 PM
Costello started instead of Con O'Callaghan.

Half-time Dublin 0-8 Louth 0-6
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 02, 2026, 07:44:11 PM
Dublin have shown a bit of a flicker there. Scully, Kilkenny, Byrne all played well. As did Nathan Doran.

Louth have certainly tried to play on the front foot but they have been forced into errors and poor shooting decisions.

Two point gap though, so nothing actually between the teams.
Post by: gallsman on May 02, 2026, 08:08:21 PM
Ref is excellent in this game. A lot of lads moaning at him and getting nothing for it. Just before the late hit on Costello (who's having a bit of a 'mare) Mulroy knew he was boxed in and basically decided to just fall to the ground. Cards he's giving out are all clearly cards too.
Post by: oakleafgael on May 02, 2026, 08:13:45 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 02, 2026, 08:08:21 PMRef is excellent in this game. A lot of lads moaning at him and getting nothing for it. Just before the late hit on Costello (who's having a bit of a 'mare) Mulroy knew he was boxed in and basically decided to just fall to the ground. Cards he's giving out are all clearly cards too.

Commentators curse, missed a really obvious 2 pointer.
Post by: thebigfullforward on May 02, 2026, 08:14:04 PM
Christ Louth are poor. Why are they standing 10/15m off their men when down by 5?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 02, 2026, 08:14:46 PM
50 minutes played Dublin 0-15 Louth 0-8.  Dubs with the momentum and on top in midfield.
Post by: gallsman on May 02, 2026, 08:15:11 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on May 02, 2026, 08:13:45 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 02, 2026, 08:08:21 PMRef is excellent in this game. A lot of lads moaning at him and getting nothing for it. Just before the late hit on Costello (who's having a bit of a 'mare) Mulroy knew he was boxed in and basically decided to just fall to the ground. Cards he's giving out are all clearly cards too.

Commentators curse, missed a really obvious 2 pointer.

And Costello kicked a monster  ;D
Post by: gallsman on May 02, 2026, 08:19:56 PM
Louth insisting on turning into trouble and getting bottled up.
Post by: square_ball on May 02, 2026, 08:21:45 PM
Is Marc O'Se watching the same game? Praising how Louth are set up defensively. Dublin have been toying with them this half so far.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 02, 2026, 08:24:47 PM
Dublin are toying with them. Miles ahead of Louth(currently anyway unless there is a very dramatic change)
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on May 02, 2026, 08:25:16 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 02, 2026, 02:29:24 PMI expect a big reaction from Dublin - they could win this game pulling up.

Would be shocked if Louth pull this off.

But would be great to see it and Devlin is definitely getting the most out of them, but beating Dublin in championship might be a step too far for them.

Think i was the only one seen this coming. Louth never going to beat Dublin in championship.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 02, 2026, 08:25:21 PM
0-9 for Costello as Dublin lead 0-18 to 0-8.  10 minutes to play, very flat showing by Louth.
Post by: square_ball on May 02, 2026, 08:27:58 PM

Only been watching the 2nd half but very impressed with this ref.

Louth has been shocking here.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 02, 2026, 08:31:43 PM
Dublin still look a bit average to me. This one has more to do with how bad Louth have been.

Pity about Luke Loughlin's injury. Westmeath could have had a right pop if he was healthy.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 02, 2026, 08:33:14 PM
Dublin still top handful of teams though Louth are very poor here and nothing going for them.
Post by: gallsman on May 02, 2026, 08:36:04 PM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 02, 2026, 08:31:43 PMDublin still look a bit average to me. This one has more to do with how bad Louth have been.

Pity about Luke Loughlin's injury. Westmeath could have had a right pop if he was healthy.

Louth have missed a LOT of chances. Other teams will punish Dublin for giving up those opportunities.

Their tackling has been absolutely ferocious though. Scully has had the best game I've seen from him in years.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 02, 2026, 08:38:52 PM
Full time Dublin 0-20  Louth 0-10.  13 Wides and many other shots that dropped short or saved for Louth
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 02, 2026, 08:41:21 PM
Dublin far better than I expected. 0-20 is a great return, and in many ways forced Louth into a very paltry 0-10. Costello was superb in the second half, and Scully was immense throughout. There was a turnover in the second half where you could see the passion and desire is back, having been gone for the last two years.

There is no AI in this team. But a performance like that will frighten Westmeath and Kildare.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 02, 2026, 08:55:20 PM

Post by: J70 on May 02, 2026, 09:14:04 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 02, 2026, 08:55:20 PM

Post by: Armagh18 on May 02, 2026, 09:56:42 PM
Thats a fair big shock. Didn't get seeing the game, but Louth have been flying and Dublin have been shite bar the odd sting in the tail for a good while. Did Louth have a few injuries during the week?
Post by: moonster on May 03, 2026, 12:27:36 AM
You have to fancy Kilare against the Dubs in 2 weeks. Surely final will be played in Tullamore?

Have 100 on Kildare and Limerick tomorrow to make uo for today.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 03, 2026, 12:37:16 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 02, 2026, 09:56:42 PMThats a fair big shock. Didn't get seeing the game, but Louth have been flying and Dublin have been shite bar the odd sting in the tail for a good while. Did Louth have a few injuries during the week?

Dublin's old heads really showed up and were instrumental in controlling the game. They forced a lot of turnovers and were very efficient in shooting. While McGinnis and Small had goal chances, Dublin were sensible in terms of taking one pointers when they were on offer. Louth preferred to play around the edge of the two point arc, and over played or took a punt that went well wide.

The way Dublin played was interesting. Rather than adapting to the new rules they tried to control the ball and force Louth to respond in kind
Post by: Sideline12 on May 03, 2026, 12:49:09 AM
Dublin is not gone away, will win leinster, not sure after that.
Post by: Rossfan on May 03, 2026, 11:55:10 AM
Hard to call today's game.
Westmeath's need the greater so might just drive them to win.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2026, 02:20:31 PM
Midway through the 1st half Kildare 0-6 Westmeath 0-3. With Luke Loughlin out Westmeath could have done without losing Matthew Whittaker to injury after 12 minutes

Five points in a a row for Westmeath to lead 0-8 to 0-7. A goal for Westmeath now.

Half time Westmeath 1-8 Kildare 0-10.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 03, 2026, 02:41:51 PM
Quote from: moonster on May 03, 2026, 12:50:23 AMWill the Louth senior players heap the blame on Gareth Devlin for today loss?

Heard they were taking credit for last year Leinster title win.

Ger Brennan wasn't good enough for the set up by all accounts.

Who the hell is Gareth Devlin.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2026, 03:06:43 PM
Westmeath with a 4 point lead again, 1-12 to 0-11.
Kildare respond with a two-pointer and another point.  1-12 to 0-14

Level game 15 minutes to play.  Westmeath into a 3 point lead with 9 minutes left.

Westmeath lead cut to one point with 4 minutes left.

Level game.  Westmeath take lead again on 68 minutes.  Level game seconds left.

Result Westmeath 1-16 Kildare 0-19
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2026, 03:15:12 PM
Some terrific turnovers in this game. Good to see ref not penalising good tackling and pressure.
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2026, 03:35:41 PM
Cracking equaliser. Westmeath have had an awful lot of chances to wrap this up.
Post by: moonster on May 03, 2026, 03:45:59 PM
Kildare will coast this in ET. The fitter team.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2026, 04:02:39 PM
Half time in extra time Kildare: 0-22
Westmeath 2-18

Westmeath with a 3 point lead with 4 minutes left.  A point for Kildare with 2 minutes to play.

Three point lead again. Out to 4 with a minute left.

Result Kildare: 0-23 Westmeath 2-21

Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2026, 04:22:05 PM
Deserved win for Westmeath. Not much between them but they had more on the line and they wanted it more. Some of them defensive work was terrific.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 03, 2026, 04:44:58 PM
Quote from: moonster on May 03, 2026, 03:45:59 PMKildare will coast this in ET. The fitter team.

You are still at it. And thinking a Westmeath team managed by McHugh would be less fit than Kildare  ;D
Post by: Rossfan on May 03, 2026, 05:22:07 PM
He/she is pure comedy.
That game while exciting lacked quality.
Post by: shantygael on May 03, 2026, 06:42:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 03, 2026, 04:44:58 PM
Quote from: moonster on May 03, 2026, 03:45:59 PMKildare will coast this in ET. The fitter team.

You are still at it. And thinking a Westmeath team managed by McHugh would be less fit than Kildare  ;D
If Moonman predicted it would be dark at midnight guaranteed it  would  turn out to be daylight
Post by: Dunneroyal on May 04, 2026, 11:38:10 AM
Love to see Westmeath go on and win now. Be great for football
Post by: mup on May 04, 2026, 01:48:07 PM
Can't see anything but a Dublin victory in the final. Westmeath beat an overhyped Meath team and were taken to et by a very poor Kildare team.

Leinster football is in a poor place.
Post by: Dunneroyal on May 04, 2026, 02:04:10 PM
Quote from: mup on May 04, 2026, 01:48:07 PMCan't see anything but a Dublin victory in the final. Westmeath beat an overhyped Meath team and were taken to et by a very poor Kildare team.

Ahh no overhype. We be long in championship after the Lilly's have tamely raised the white flag.
What's white and parked up 9 month of the year. ?
Post by: mup on May 04, 2026, 02:12:36 PM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on May 04, 2026, 02:04:10 PM
Quote from: mup on May 04, 2026, 01:48:07 PMCan't see anything but a Dublin victory in the final. Westmeath beat an overhyped Meath team and were taken to et by a very poor Kildare team.

Ahh no overhype. We be long in championship after the Lilly's have tamely raised the white flag.

Not a peep out of you last week. Did you hurt yourself when you fell off the hype train?

The difference between Kildare and Meath is that in Kildare we knoware not good enough to win provincial or AI titles at the moment. While in Meath you think you are. Deluded.
Post by: Dunneroyal on May 04, 2026, 02:18:24 PM
Quote from: mup on May 04, 2026, 02:12:36 PM

Not a peep out of you last week. Did you hurt yourself when you fell off the hype train?

The difference between Kildare and Meath is that in Kildare we knoware not good enough to win provincial or AI titles at the moment. While in Meath you think you are. Deluded.

I hope I don't have to shout so you can hear me all the way down in division 3. But happy with our progress, division one status achieved have beat Kerry , Dublin Galway in last 12 months and a tough but still a winnable draw in round one. We move on. You should too
Post by: Dunneroyal on May 04, 2026, 02:20:35 PM
Onto the actual draw. Every game will be competitive and could go either way with the exception of Galway v Kildare which will be a little more than a training exercise for the tribesmen.
Post by: mup on May 04, 2026, 03:02:14 PM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on May 04, 2026, 02:18:24 PM

I hope I don't have to shout so you can hear me all the way down in division 3. But happy with our progress, division one status achieved have beat Kerry , Dublin Galway in last 12 months and a tough but still a winnable draw in round one. We move on. You should too

You haven't moved on since your hoganstand days unfortunately. Still hyping Meath up and falling flat on your face. You'll learn eventually.

Choo choo.
Post by: Dunneroyal on May 04, 2026, 04:11:46 PM
Quote from: mup on May 04, 2026, 03:02:14 PM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on May 04, 2026, 02:18:24 PM

You haven't moved on since your hoganstand days unfortunately. Still hyping Meath up and falling flat on your face. You'll learn eventually.

Choo choo.

Love to know where you get hype out of what I wrote. But sure there's no pleasing some people ted
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on May 04, 2026, 05:05:26 PM
What a difference a few days makes.  The mood music around the Dubs is a lot different this morning.  Are they back in the conversation for Sam Maguire or is it a counter attack, temporarily delaying a slide into the pack?  Cormac Costello and co have certainly added life to the debate. A few of my Dub friends are feeling a lot better about their prospects.

The Westmeath adventure gathers further momentum.  The post League gloom is now history.  It's a valid argument that WH derived great benefit from the Longford match and it allowed them steal a march on Meath who took time to find their feet in Tullamore.  We'll take that bit of luck and feel we were due it.

The energy generated by that has started to solidify the team.  Beating Kildare will add additional layers.  It appeared that we had done enough to win an arm wrestle of a game, before allowing Kildare back.  The lillies certainly looked happier before extra time but McHugh worked the oracle and it was WH that powered over the line. 

I was worried that Luke's injury would really cost us.  The removal of the focal point of the attack was evident with some of our decision making. While Kildare's wayward shooting yesterday has been well documented, the analysis shows similar mistakes from WH. However the ninety minutes of pressurised football forced lads to back themselves, step up and find another way.  The team has had difficulty closing out important matches in recent times.  That's a function of relative inexperience and new players.  The last two games in Tullamore should benefit greatly in that area.

The Dubs in the final will be a whole new experience.  The lads are in bonus territory at this stage.  McHugh will be crucial here.  There are limited opportunities in a player's career to really make a mark.  That's especially true to date for Westmeath teams. They need to ask questions of Dublin and see what they have.  It's a free shot, but they need to really have a cut.  Paidí got them to believe all those years ago.  McHugh will hopefully get them into a similar mindset.  It stings that Luke won't be there.  We'll be long odds with the bookies but we'll travel with much more hope than in 2015/2016.  It promises to be a great day out.

Any chance it could be fixed for Tullamore? 😀
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 04, 2026, 06:12:45 PM
Quote from: Iarmhí Abú on May 04, 2026, 05:05:26 PMWhat a difference a few days makes.  The mood music around the Dubs is a lot different this morning.  Are they back in the conversation for Sam Maguire or is it a counter attack, temporarily delaying a slide into the pack?  Cormac Costello and co have certainly added life to the debate. A few of my Dub friends are feeling a lot better about their prospects.

The Westmeath adventure gathers further momentum.  The post League gloom is now history.  It's a valid argument that WH derived great benefit from the Longford match and it allowed them steal a march on Meath who took time to find their feet in Tullamore.  We'll take that bit of luck and feel we were due it.

The energy generated by that has started to solidify the team.  Beating Kildare will add additional layers.  It appeared that we had done enough to win an arm wrestle of a game, before allowing Kildare back.  The lillies certainly looked happier before extra time but McHugh worked the oracle and it was WH that powered over the line. 

I was worried that Luke's injury would really cost us.  The removal of the focal point of the attack was evident with some of our decision making. While Kildare's wayward shooting yesterday has been well documented, the analysis shows similar mistakes from WH. However the ninety minutes of pressurised football forced lads to back themselves, step up and find another way.  The team has had difficulty closing out important matches in recent times.  That's a function of relative inexperience and new players.  The last two games in Tullamore should benefit greatly in that area.

The Dubs in the final will be a whole new experience.  The lads are in bonus territory at this stage.  McHugh will be crucial here.  There are limited opportunities in a players career to really make a mark.  That's especially true to date for Westmeath teams. They need to ask questions of Dublin and see what they have.  It's a free shot, but they need to really have a cut.  Paidí got them to believe all those years ago.  McHugh will hopefully get them into a similar mindset.  It stings that Luke won't be there.  We'll be long odds with the bookies but we'll travel with much more hope than in 2015/2016.  It promises to be a great day out.

Any chance it could be fixed for Tullamore? 😀

To answer the first question, no, there is no way Dublin will be operating at the sharper end of the AI. Westmeath will be a challenge. Louth will surely regroup after last week. There are also a plethora of teams up North that I would back to beat Dublin, and that doesn't include Kerry as well. A Leinster Title would be a good return after a hard year, and Westmeath are the best equipped team in Leinster to stop them. Kildare are still a couple of steps behind where they need to be, and Meath completely dropped the ball in the first game.

Dublin's big guns stepped up on Saturday. Scully was particularly influential, as was Kilkenny. Costello scored well. One of the things I noticed about Dublin was that they have become smarter about playing the new rules. They struggled big time last year.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 12, 2026, 10:45:28 AM
Heslin back in with Westmeath?
Post by: gallsman on May 12, 2026, 10:52:38 AM
Now that's a surprise. I was briefly chatting to him with some mates in Mullingar after our match in November and, while clearly still in shape, didn't strike me as a man who was overly missing the grind.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 12, 2026, 11:21:50 AM
didnt realise Loughlin was out. Thats a shame. Maybe the reason Heslin is back? Dublin be favourites I would say
Post by: imtommygunn on May 12, 2026, 11:40:24 AM
Would be a massive shock if Westmeath won - particularly with how easily Dublin beat Louth.

Yeah Loughlin missed Kildare game too.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2026, 02:59:25 PM

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2026, 10:45:28 AMHeslin back in with Westmeath?

Out of retirement and back in training ahead of Leinster SFC final against Dublin.  Be interesting to see will he feature Sunday, quality player but surely other forwards training since November should be ahead of him in the pecking order.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 12, 2026, 03:12:45 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2026, 02:59:25 PM

Out of retirement and back in training ahead of Leinster SFC final against Dublin.  Be interesting to see will he feature Sunday, quality player but surely other forwards training since November should be ahead of him in the pecking order.
Who knows, might be a chance off the bench. Would be good to see him get a provincial medal some player!
Post by: shark on May 12, 2026, 03:40:11 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2026, 02:59:25 PM

Not many of them left. Had a lean panel to begin with and now have a number of injuries. I think there were just 2 available forwards who didn't feature against Kildare, and they have no intercounty experience.
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on May 12, 2026, 09:23:47 PM
Luke Loughlin is out for the season. He'll require surgery. Damaged hamstring and tendon rupture.

John Heslin will probably be sprung from the bench, most likely at full forward.  It's a bit of a gamble, probably worth it considering the injury situation.

Dublin are heavily favoured by the bookies.  Croker will help them, you'd imagine.  It will be very interesting to see what version shows up on the day.  Will they resemble the outfit that overran Louth, will they be able to kick on from there or will they struggle to replicate the same intensity?

Westmeath are in bonus territory and will feel they have little to lose.  McHugh will be working to ensure that they seize the opportunity to put in a performance.  He'll challenge them to believe.  The proliferation of upsets so far this year will be highlighted.

The players are too young to have witnessed the bedlam that ensued in 2004.  They will be aware of the legacy left by Dessie, Shaugho, Rory, Mitch, Willow, Healy, etc. It's a shot at immortality for them and they'll be keen to seize it.  Composure is paramount and they'll need to stay in the fight.

Dublin will have a different type of energy.  They'll seek to quell the enthusiasm and grind Westmeath. We might see periods of retaining possession.

The new rules allow leads to be whittled away.  Hopefully it will go down to the wire.  The 6th ever final for Westmeath, it will be an occasion to relish.

Post by: thejuice on May 12, 2026, 11:14:16 PM
It would be great to see a Westmeath win but without Loughlin it's hard to see it happening. Dublin seem to have found a bit of form and if they hit it again they could have an easy enough win. I hope I'm wrong though. WM will have to bring the same intensity they brought to the Meath game.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on May 13, 2026, 02:57:07 AM
Can't see less than 10 points in it myself. The Westmeath/Kildare semi-final was low on quality.
Post by: Laois Rising on May 13, 2026, 02:35:03 PM
It would be better to have Heslin start. Oisin McGraynor and Eoin Darcy got plenty of joy out of Dublin in the few forward line for Wicklow a few weeks back. Having Heslin in there from the start brings an unknown and if he starts well would give Westmeath a serious lift and support other inside forwards. Westmeath need a good start. I know Dublin faded in a couple of league games this year in the second half but if Westmeath are to pull an upset they will want to stick with Dublin all the way through and hope that when they do get a purple patch that the scores go over. It's incredible to think that Dublin got so fortunate to beat Wicklow and had Wicklow been more clinical they would have been out of Leinster and in bit of crisis mode. One game on and a very good victory over Louth its almost like normal service has resumed. Strong favourites this weekend and home venue. 
Post by: Fogarty on May 13, 2026, 02:36:45 PM
A massive mistake by Westmeath to bring back Heslin. The Dubs will be laughing at this.
Post by: shark on May 13, 2026, 03:46:22 PM
Quote from: Fogarty on May 13, 2026, 02:36:45 PMA massive mistake by Westmeath to bring back Heslin. The Dubs will be laughing at this.

They won't , as they'll be paying no attention to it.
Heslin scored 2-9 for his club in division 1 league game last week. Outside of Loughlin, who is injured, he's still the next best forward in the county.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 13, 2026, 06:49:47 PM
Quote from: shark on May 13, 2026, 03:46:22 PM
Quote from: Fogarty on May 13, 2026, 02:36:45 PMA massive mistake by Westmeath to bring back Heslin. The Dubs will be laughing at this.

They won't , as they'll be paying no attention to it.
Heslin scored 2-9 for his club in division 1 league game last week. Outside of Loughlin, who is injured, he's still the next best forward in the county.

club league football is a bit of step down on a Leinster final v Dublin.  Heslin hasn't played for Westmeath for two years and didn't score in his last match.

Post by: Blowitupref on May 14, 2026, 06:48:47 PM
Estimated Attendance  according to Croke Park themselves for this Sunday is 35,000 

Attendance for the Leinster final the last four years

2025 - Louth v Meath  65,786
2024 - Dublin v Louth  22,113
2023 - Dublin v Louth 40,115
2022 - Dublin v Kildare  33,328

Last two finals between the two
2016 - 38,885 (Dublin vs Westmeath)
2015 - 47,840 (Dublin vs Westmeath)
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 15, 2026, 10:29:47 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 14, 2026, 06:48:47 PMEstimated Attendance  according to Croke Park themselves for this Sunday is 35,000 

Attendance for the Leinster final the last four years

2025 - Louth v Meath  65,786
2024 - Dublin v Louth  22,113
2023 - Dublin v Louth 40,115
2022 - Dublin v Kildare  33,328

Last two finals between the two
2016 - 38,885 (Dublin vs Westmeath)
2015 - 47,840 (Dublin vs Westmeath)

Glad to see if could be an improvement on the abysmal 2024 Final attendance. Even for a hardcore Dublin fan, that entire final couldn't help but rattle you. Awful attendance, Dublin going through the motions (albeit Louth showed good fight), almost emotionless at full time.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 15, 2026, 12:40:42 PM
Heslin named in the 26 so you'd assume he'll definitely feature.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 15, 2026, 03:41:44 PM
The two published teams.

DUBLIN

Evan Comerford

Theo Clancy
Nathan Doran
David Byrne

Seán MacMahon
Charlie McMorrow
Eoin Kennedy

Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne
Brian Howard

Seán Bugler
Niall Scully
Ciaran Kilkenny

Paddy Small
Killian McGinnis
Cormac Costello.

Subs: Hugh O'Sullivan, Tom Lahiff, Liam Smith, Cian O'Connor, Cian Murphy, Seán Guiden, Ethan Dunne, Páidí White, Niall O'Callaghan, Luke Breathnach, Greg McEneaney.

WESTMEATH:

Jason Daly

Daniel Scahill
Charlie Drumm
Tadhg Baker

Ronan Wallace
Shane Allen
Matthew Whittaker

Brían Cooney
Ray Connellan

Kevin O'Sullivan
Sam McCartan
Conor Dillon

Shane Corcoran
Jack Duncan
Brandon Kelly.

Subs: Jack Connaughton, Adam Treanor, Tom Molloy, Robbie Forde, Ian Martin, TJ Cox, Shane Ormsby, Danny McCartan, Eoghan McCabe, Senan Baker, John Heslin.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 16, 2026, 09:43:53 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 15, 2026, 03:41:44 PMThe two published teams.

DUBLIN

Evan Comerford

Theo Clancy
Nathan Doran
David Byrne

Seán MacMahon
Charlie McMorrow
Eoin Kennedy

Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne
Brian Howard

Seán Bugler
Niall Scully
Ciaran Kilkenny

Paddy Small
Killian McGinnis
Cormac Costello.

Subs: Hugh O'Sullivan, Tom Lahiff, Liam Smith, Cian O'Connor, Cian Murphy, Seán Guiden, Ethan Dunne, Páidí White, Niall O'Callaghan, Luke Breathnach, Greg McEneaney.

WESTMEATH:

Jason Daly

Daniel Scahill
Charlie Drumm
Tadhg Baker

Ronan Wallace
Shane Allen
Matthew Whittaker

Brían Cooney
Ray Connellan

Kevin O'Sullivan
Sam McCartan
Conor Dillon

Shane Corcoran
Jack Duncan
Brandon Kelly.

Subs: Jack Connaughton, Adam Treanor, Tom Molloy, Robbie Forde, Ian Martin, TJ Cox, Shane Ormsby, Danny McCartan, Eoghan McCabe, Senan Baker, John Heslin.
Real shame about Loughlin, he'd do harm against that defence. Too much quality in that Dublin forward line if they're on it unfortunately, but wouldn't write Westmeath off. Love to see Heslin coming in and firing a goal or 2.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 02:13:35 PM
Opening ten minutes Dublin 0-1 Westmeath 0-2

Dublin lead 0-5 to 0-4 after 20 minutes.
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2026, 02:28:14 PM
Beginning to look inevitable
Post by: thebigfullforward on May 17, 2026, 02:29:20 PM
Westmeath lost when the Dubs stand back and defend the arc
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 02:42:40 PM
Half time Dublin 0-11 Westmeath 0-9
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 17, 2026, 02:43:33 PM
If Luke Loughlin was fit, he would have probably scored one of those goal chances.

Dubs should have enough with Con coming off the bench for the second half.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 17, 2026, 02:44:58 PM
You can still see a little glint of Old Dublin there. And it is Scully, Costello, Byrne, Howard and Kilkenny that are responsible for that. The turnovers and defence of the arc are a way of approaching the new rules if they feel they cant score two pointers.

That being said, Westmeath opened up Dublin for two goal opportunities and are circling for two pointers. The first ten in the second half will be big.
Post by: Fogarty on May 17, 2026, 02:47:47 PM
Dublin need to up their intensity. They're showing too much respect to a poor team.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 17, 2026, 02:59:10 PM
Quote from: Fogarty on May 17, 2026, 02:47:47 PMDublin need to up their intensity. They're showing too much respect to a poor team.

Did that against your own Wicklow and just fell over the line.
Post by: thebigfullforward on May 17, 2026, 03:03:23 PM
Don't think I've seen a stupider decision than that. No need to force that shot at all
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:07:53 PM
After 45 minutes. Dublin 0-15 Westmeath 0-14
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 17, 2026, 03:09:06 PM
Interested to see when he decides to unleash Heslin. Could be a genius move from McHugh.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:11:25 PM
Westmeath 0-16 to 0-15 ahead on 48 minutes.
Post by: Brendan on May 17, 2026, 03:12:01 PM
To think the Leinster championship was dead only 2 years ago now look at it!
Post by: thebigfullforward on May 17, 2026, 03:12:31 PM
Thought we wanted physicality back in the game?
Post by: Gael85 on May 17, 2026, 03:12:37 PM
Westmeath will win this. Dublin are gassed.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:15:45 PM
Westmeath into a 3 point lead. After 53 minutes. 
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2026, 03:18:01 PM
Lane still having eyesight problems....
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 17, 2026, 03:19:07 PM
It's there to be won for Westmeath if good enough in the final 14 minutes.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:20:41 PM
58 minutes played Dublin 0-17 Westmeath 0-21
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 17, 2026, 03:20:48 PM
Dublin outside of the usual suspects (Costello, Scully, Kilkenny, Howard, Byrne, Bugler) not up to much. Not much coming though at underage either.
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 03:21:04 PM
This is terrific. And fully deserved.

Hope they can see it out.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:25:25 PM
Heslin on 9 minutes to go Dublin 0-18 Westmeath 0-21

Post by: Brendan on May 17, 2026, 03:25:46 PM
Surely the Dublin 3 needed a black card there, calls going Dublins way but Westmeath still looking strong
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:29:46 PM
Bad miss from that free and from play soon after, lead stays at 3 points. Five minutes left.
Post by: tyroneStatto on May 17, 2026, 03:29:57 PM
Are Westmeath going to bottle this.
Post by: AustinPowers on May 17, 2026, 03:32:32 PM
Westmeath should have had this killed off
Post by: thebigfullforward on May 17, 2026, 03:33:04 PM
Yep Heslin should have put 4 between them then just keep possession and kill the clock
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:33:10 PM
Those Westmeath misses proving more costly now.  68 minutes played Dublin 0-21 Westmeath 0-21

Dublin in front and Westmeath level it up 0-22 each.
Post by: thebigfullforward on May 17, 2026, 03:34:17 PM
That's the difference. Dublin will kill this off now. Took the right options
Post by: thebigfullforward on May 17, 2026, 03:35:52 PM
Left it too long to get set up Westmeath
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2026, 03:36:32 PM
Coldrick doing Westmeath no favours
Post by: AustinPowers on May 17, 2026, 03:36:38 PM
Surely a foul that last kick?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:37:08 PM
Full time Dublin 0-22 Westmeath 0-22.  Westmeath will be kicking themselves if they end up losing in extra time.
Post by: OakLeaf on May 17, 2026, 03:37:38 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 17, 2026, 03:36:38 PMSurely a foul that last kick?

Looked like it to me.
Post by: shantygael on May 17, 2026, 03:39:00 PM
Small couldn't buy a free the whole game
Post by: Fogarty on May 17, 2026, 03:40:26 PM
Westmeath tied up with fear when they could have pulled away. Dublin to win this easily now.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 17, 2026, 03:43:03 PM
Hope Westmeath aren't left to rue it. 4 points ahead and a number of big opportunities to close the game out. Heslin substitution wasn't needed and was distracting.
Post by: AustinPowers on May 17, 2026, 03:45:40 PM
QuoteHope Westmeath aren't left to rue it. 4 points ahead and a number of big opportunities to close the game out. Heslin substitution wasn't needed and was distracting.
I agree
Post by: shantygael on May 17, 2026, 03:46:46 PM
Westmeath will win this, they looked fitter and Dublin emptied the tank to get back in front in normal time.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 03:53:26 PM
Good start to extra-time for Westmeath as they lead by four points.

Goal for Westmeath, awful goalkeeping they lead by 7 points

Half-time in extra time Dublin 0-22 Westmeath 1-26
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 17, 2026, 04:01:26 PM
Ger Canning had to be told it was a goal, and can't add thinking the lead is nine points instead of 7.  How is he still doing commentary after all these years?
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 04:01:27 PM
Comerford just lose it in the sun?

Fair play to Westmeath. They've come out of the traps with far more energy and have been utterly dominant in the air.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 17, 2026, 04:03:02 PM
A huge contribution from the Baker brothers
Post by: square_ball on May 17, 2026, 04:03:16 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 17, 2026, 04:01:26 PMGer Canning had to be told it was a goal, and can't add thinking the lead is nine points instead of 7.  How is he still doing commentary after all these years?

He should have been put out to pasture about 10 years ago. He still be's in total shock when a corner back is anywhere near the opposition goal.
Post by: Brendan on May 17, 2026, 04:06:30 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 17, 2026, 04:01:26 PMGer Canning had to be told it was a goal, and can't add thinking the lead is nine points instead of 7.  How is he still doing commentary after all these years?

Raiding his favourite word of the day
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 04:07:19 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 17, 2026, 03:45:40 PM
QuoteHope Westmeath aren't left to rue it. 4 points ahead and a number of big opportunities to close the game out. Heslin substitution wasn't needed and was distracting.
I agree

:o  :o  :o
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 04:09:35 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 17, 2026, 04:03:02 PMA huge contribution from the Baker brothers

Tadgh might as well have been carried off on shoulders after his work to set up the Heslin score.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 04:16:47 PM
Full time in extra time. Dublin 0-26 Westmeath 2-28.  Leinster champions and fully deserved for Westmeath.
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2026, 04:17:23 PM
Well done neighbours.
What a day for ye!
Post by: Schkite on May 17, 2026, 04:17:44 PM
Could have given me all day to predict Leinster final outcomes at the start of the championship, and I wouldn't have come up with this

Mad altogether, huge congrats to Westmeath
Post by: Gael85 on May 17, 2026, 04:19:43 PM
Congratulations to Westmeath.  Well deserved.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 17, 2026, 04:19:57 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 04:07:19 PM
I agree

I'd agree with both above without that substitution then Westmeath probably win in normal time.  Doesn't matter now as got the win and well done Westmeath enjoy the celebrations.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 17, 2026, 04:20:19 PM
Brilliant stuff and if they get Luke Loughlin back fit, Westmeath won't be easy opposition in the AI series.
Post by: mrdeeds on May 17, 2026, 04:21:09 PM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 17, 2026, 04:20:19 PMBrilliant stuff and if they get Luke Loughlin back fit, Westmeath won't be easy opposition in the AI series.

He's out long term?
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 04:22:09 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 17, 2026, 04:19:57 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 04:07:19 PM
I agree

I'd agree with both above without that substitution then Westmeath probably win in normal time.  Doesn't matter now as got the win and well done Westmeath enjoy the celebrations.

First thing he did when he came on was win a ball. He made one mistake. That's not what cost them it in normal time.
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 04:22:34 PM
Loughlin is done for the season. Dreadful hamstring tear.
Post by: Schkite on May 17, 2026, 04:23:43 PM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 17, 2026, 04:20:19 PMBrilliant stuff and if they get Luke Loughlin back fit, Westmeath won't be easy opposition in the AI series.

How long will they be on the beer, and how's the motivation now. That's always the main question when a team wins the province for the first time in ages
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 17, 2026, 04:27:10 PM
Congratulations to Westmeath. Mark McHugh has them in serious shape and mindsets good shape also after leaving the win behind them in normal time.

As for Dublin in transition for a few years and could be a few years before they win Leinster again, big opportunity for others in the years ahead.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 17, 2026, 04:33:36 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 17, 2026, 04:27:10 PMCongratulations to Westmeath. Mark McHugh has them in serious shape and mindsets good shape also after leaving the win behind them in normal time.

As for Dublin in transition for a few years and could be a few years before they win Leinster again, big opportunity for others in the years ahead.

Westmeath worth their win 100 times over. They ought to have won it in normal time. McHugh has done a massive job and scalped Meath, Kildare and Dublin along the way. The real way to win Leinster. Heslin looked magnificent any times and Wallace in the half-back line looks as accomplished as any player in the country.

I'm actually quite concerned by just how big Dublin's transition job is. When you think of times the side could spring Bernard Brogan or Michael Dara McCauley or Kevin McManamon from the bench. Today the whole game plan seemed reliant on not having to go to the bench.

And one that really stings is how outnumbered Dublin support was today. The Senior Game is undoubtedly in crisis as much as transition.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 17, 2026, 04:36:29 PM
f**k talking about the Dubs today.

What a performance from Westmeath. Their fitness was amazing and they could have blown it a few times but got going again.

Great scores at crucial times and fairytale for Heslin.

Ronan Wallace would be an addition to any county.

Post by: seafoid on May 17, 2026, 04:38:40 PM
Great win for Westmeath. Their second Leinster and they did it in style. Winning the Tailteann and now Leinster. 
Post by: OakLeaf on May 17, 2026, 04:42:28 PM
Great performance from Westmeath. Ran Dublin ragged for long periods of that game.
Post by: pjm on May 17, 2026, 04:47:36 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 17, 2026, 04:03:02 PMA huge contribution from the Baker brothers
Remake of the classic movie The Fabulous Baker Brothers (without Michelle Pfeiffer)
Post by: Dunneroyal on May 17, 2026, 05:44:43 PM
Huge congratulations to our neighbours. Well deserved. I said after you beat us I hoped you went on and won. 
Well done again. Great for Leinster football
Post by: thejuice on May 17, 2026, 06:11:43 PM
Hats off to Westmeath they could have won that in normal time and looked very comfortable in extra time.

Dublin had little of the intensity that they showed against Louth. They never lifted their game when the occasion required it. Not that I'm worried for them but the trajectory of them at all levels doesn't bode well for their future.

I said that Westmeath wouldn't win without Luke but they've shown that there's a lot more to them than myself and others have given them credit for.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 07:09:28 PM
Today was Dublin's first Leinster final defeat since 2001.  20 Leinster finals they have won since then.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 17, 2026, 07:34:02 PM
Fair play to Westmeath. Didn't see that coming g
Post by: befair on May 17, 2026, 07:55:42 PM
When Dublin went 5 pts up early in the second half I thought it was all over, another cricket score. But Westmeath kep their composure, worked their way back into the game and were desreved winners
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 09:48:51 PM

They changed the audio of this for TSG  ;D
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 17, 2026, 10:09:02 PM
Just seeing the Westmeath goal, what the hell was the goalkeeper at,
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 10:10:00 PM
Presumably lost it in the sun.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 17, 2026, 10:21:25 PM
Westmeath enjoying the celebrations

https://m.facebook.com/westmeathindependent/videos/westmeath-leinster-champions-homecoming-scenes/2176970109823781/
Post by: Main Street on May 17, 2026, 10:36:53 PM
Is that Dessie Dolan's missed sitter free kick v Dublin to win Leinster consigned to the back pages now?
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 17, 2026, 10:47:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 17, 2026, 10:36:53 PMIs that Dessie Dolan's missed sitter free kick v Dublin to win Leinster consigned to the back pages now?

Are you thinking of Dessie Dolan's missed free against Meath ?
That was a Leinster Quarter-Final in 2003.

Congratulations to Westmeath - they won it twice today.
Post by: SCFC on May 17, 2026, 11:38:11 PM
Leinster looks wide open for the next few years.
Dublin will improve with O'Callaghan, Murchan, Boylan back.
Meath, Kildare not a million miles away.
Westmeath and Louth will both be out to prove they weren't one hit wonders.
Kinda think we (Laois) aren't terrible either (we hammered Westmeath a couple of months ago!) but terribly inconsistent.
Post by: armaghniac on May 18, 2026, 01:16:07 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 17, 2026, 10:10:00 PMPresumably lost it in the sun.

No risk of that in Clones.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 18, 2026, 07:05:19 AM
Not that I give a shite about any other world events outside Clones but fair play to Westmeath, enjoy it anyone on here. Special special feeling
Post by: Dunneroyal on May 18, 2026, 07:42:29 AM
Fantastic scenes in Westmeath last night. Great for football. Hurling gets all the talk but football is truly the crown jewel of the gaa
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 18, 2026, 07:49:09 AM
Well done to the neighbours. I cannot help but wonder, had they not scored 5 lucky goals in the first half agin us, would the story be somewhat different?

Post by: Doyler1 on May 18, 2026, 11:18:42 AM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on May 18, 2026, 07:42:29 AMFantastic scenes in Westmeath last night. Great for football. Hurling gets all the talk but football is truly the crown jewel of the gaa
Hardly. Football pays the bills with gate receipts though.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 18, 2026, 11:20:47 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 18, 2026, 07:49:09 AMWell done to the neighbours. I cannot help but wonder, had they not scored 5 lucky goals in the first half agin us, would the story be somewhat different?

Post by: mup on May 18, 2026, 12:50:26 PM
Apologies to all the Westmeath fans on here. I wrongly thought the Dubs would beat ye handy.

Congrats on the win. Very refreshing watching you play.
Post by: joemamas on May 18, 2026, 06:13:18 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 17, 2026, 10:47:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 17, 2026, 10:36:53 PMIs that Dessie Dolan's missed sitter free kick v Dublin to win Leinster consigned to the back pages now?

Are you thinking of Dessie Dolan's missed free against Meath ?
That was a Leinster Quarter-Final in 2003.

Congratulations to Westmeath - they won it twice today.

Also think it was against Meath.
Post by: Joeythelips on May 18, 2026, 06:41:47 PM
It was a great occasion and well deserved win for Westmeath but was very surprised at the poor standard especially in the first half.

Westmeath were wide open at the back and a ruthless team would have put a few goals on them. I was shocked how poor Dublin were also, they kicked passes straight to Westmeath men and we hitting wides with fisted efforts. The likes of Kerry would murder them.

In fairness to Westmeath it was a huge occasion for them so that probably had a effect and the win will bring them on a lot. I was very impressed with their No 5 who is a very tidy footballer who read the game very well.

Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 18, 2026, 06:49:19 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on May 18, 2026, 06:41:47 PMIt was a great occasion and well deserved win for Westmeath but was very surprised at the poor standard especially in the first half.

Westmeath were wide open at the back and a ruthless team would have put a few goals on them. I was shocked how poor Dublin were also, they kicked passes straight to Westmeath men and we hitting wides with fisted efforts. The likes of Kerry would murder them.

In fairness to Westmeath it was a huge occasion for them so that probably had a effect and the win will bring them on a lot. I was very impressed with their No 5 who is a very tidy footballer who read the game very well.

Wallace looked as good as any half-back in the country as he marauded forward. Senan Baker was also a game changer for them. And Heslin was the "old dog for the hard road". Connellan also won the midfield battle.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 18, 2026, 07:42:19 PM
At the game yesterday. Could not believe the fall off of support for the Dubs. The official attendance was down for 36,536. And the vast majority of the fans were from Westmeath.

For a game on their doorstep - it is an incredible fall off in support.
Post by: rodney trotter on May 18, 2026, 08:29:43 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 18, 2026, 07:42:19 PMAt the game yesterday. Could not believe the fall off of support for the Dubs. The official attendance was down for 36,536. And the vast majority of the fans were from Westmeath.

For a game on their doorstep - it is an incredible fall off in support.

Dublin should go back to playing league games in Parnell Park next year. No need for them to be in Croke Park. They could sell Parnell in the future and develop a bigger ground. No room to expand at Parnell.
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on May 19, 2026, 01:40:13 AM
Where to start after all that drama?

The 2026 Leinster Championship was certainly memorable, for a variety of reasons.  It's fair to say that the competition has received a massive shot in the arm, last year and now, from the novelty of Louth and Westmeath ending Dublin's hegemony.

Westmeath's ascent to the summit is scarcely believable, even for ardent Westmeath fans.  It started with an excellent performance over Longford, which primed us for the stunning ambush of Meath, for just the second time ever.  Momentum was built with the battling victory and resilience demonstrated in overcoming Kildare, for just the third time ever.

The bookies offered 11/2 for the final with Dublin 1/7.  The consensus was that Dublin had reignited the flame against Louth and would prevail.  A Westmeath victory would be our fourth over Dublin. A pattern was emerging.

The mood in Westmeath was a bit different to the perceived wisdom.  The level of confidence on the ground was quietly growing.  Our status in the League wasn't reflected in the opinion that we could have a real shot at Dublin.  In many ways it was a free hit for Westmeath and the narrative was that the team was going to really turn up.  The public responded in a similar fashion.

Mark McHugh has done an incredible job in changing the mindset.  The team was on a mission.  2004 was used as a positive motivation.  It was time to create a new story.  The loss of Luke Loughlin allowed/forced others to step up.  McHugh seemed to take inspiration from Paul Galvin and John Heslin came back into the setup.  This was agreed by the group and reflected Heslin's sensational scoring rate at club level. 
The brittleness in evidence during the League has diminished and the team has demonstrated incredible resolve and adherence to the plan.  The contrast with the mood before the finals in 2015/2016 could not have been greater.  The momentum, within the team and among the general public, was very strong.

The final was a truly wonderful occasion for Westmeath.  Croke Park was a sea of maroon as the Dublin support never materialised. It seemed that there were at least twice as many Westmeath fans as Dubs.  The players seemed to feed off this energy and the intensity was immense.

I thought Dublin were really hindered by the loss of Ó Cofaigh Byrne.  The balance changed in the middle.  Brian Howard battled incredibly hard but eventually ran out of steam.  This gave Westmeath a platform.  Dublin showed glimpses of their previous excellence but couldn't push on.  Westmeath kept them close and then then slowly squeezed Dublin.  The late switch in momentum was temporary as Westmeath wrested back the initiative in extra time.

Dublin were unable to reproduce the energy of the Louth game.  The general performance was muted at times.  Dublin were outfought in some situations. This will be a concern if it's not eradicated quickly.  The loss of Con and Murchan was obvious.  I think Ger Brennan's ban has really hurt the team.  Leadership was provided by the older players, but it seemed at times as if Westmeath had more players on the pitch.

Westmeath had heroes all over the field.  Thirteen players scored.  The defence was incredible, aided by really impressive fitness. The willingness to work was astounding.  This comes down to the spirit instilled by McHugh.  Players took responsibility continuously.  In the endgame, Wallace, McCartan, Heslin and Allen showed real composure. Connellan's departure was not an issue.  The team at last managed the clock down properly.

Heslin's cameo was a success. An error in front of goal was forgotten as he started claiming marks, winning dirty ball, providing a constant outlet and arching over a fabulous two point score.

When the dust settles, a few interesting stats emerge.

Westmeath scored 13 goals in the four matches, with seven players contributing. Amazingly we conceded just one goal during this sequence.  That occurred after five minutes in the Longford game.    Westmeath subsequently played another five hours and fifteen minutes without conceding a goal.  There's obviously an element of luck involved, but this gives an insight into the concentration and commitment to keep the goal intact.

Similarly six players hit nine 'two point' scores in these matches.  We conceded 14 of these, although Longford scored six of that total.

Luke Loughlin has been our talisman, however the load has been shared in his absence.  The team has grown remarkably.  13 players scored against Dublin, similar to the Kildare game.  It had been 12 against Longford and nine against Meath.  Others filled the void.

The tight battles will prove invaluable in terms of lessons learned and experienced gained.  Players that have low numbers of games have come through high pressure moments.  It's exciting to see what can be achieved as the team develops in the next few campaigns.

The release of emotion after the achievement was immense.  This is understandable when one considers the history of Westmeath GAA.  These lads have achieved immortality in our little patch.  The celebrations are ongoing.  McHugh's next significant task will be to refocus for the All Ireland series.  It will be interesting to see how he manages.  The energy will change again, subtly, but definitely.  How will this manifest itself?  Will the manic effort be sustained?  How will the team fare as they reset and start again?  Interesting times.

Dermot McCabe will no doubt have a strategy to ask some hard questions.

Post by: delgany on May 19, 2026, 11:57:11 AM
Quote from: Iarmhí Abú on May 19, 2026, 01:40:13 AMWhere to start after all that drama?

The 2026 Leinster Championship was certainly memorable, for a variety of reasons.  It's fair to say that the competition has received a massive shot in the arm, last year and now, from the novelty of Louth and Westmeath ending Dublin's hegemony.

Westmeath's ascent to the summit is scarcely believable, even for ardent Westmeath fans.  It started with an excellent performance over Longford, which primed us for the stunning ambush of Meath, for just the second time ever.  Momentum was built with the battling victory and resilience demonstrated in overcoming Kildare, for just the third time ever.

The bookies offered 11/2 for the final with Dublin 1/7.  The consensus was that Dublin had reignited the flame against Louth and would prevail.  A Westmeath victory would be our fourth over Dublin. A pattern was emerging.

The mood in Westmeath was a bit different to the perceived wisdom.  The level of confidence on the ground was quietly growing.  Our status in the League wasn't reflected in the opinion that we could have a real shot at Dublin.  In many ways it was a free hit for Westmeath and the narrative was that the team was going to really turn up.  The public responded in a similar fashion.

Mark McHugh has done an incredible job in changing the mindset.  The team was on a mission.  2004 was used as a positive motivation.  It was time to create a new story.  The loss of Luke Loughlin allowed/forced others to step up.  McHugh seemed to take inspiration from Paul Galvin and John Heslin came back into the setup.  This was agreed by the group and reflected Heslin's sensational scoring rate at club level. 
The brittleness in evidence during the League has diminished and the team has demonstrated incredible resolve and adherence to the plan.  The contrast with the mood before the finals in 2015/2016 could not have been greater.  The momentum, within the team and among the general public, was very strong.

The final was a truly wonderful occasion for Westmeath.  Croke Park was a sea of maroon as the Dublin support never materialised. It seemed that there were at least twice as many Westmeath fans as Dubs.  The players seemed to feed off this energy and the intensity was immense.

I thought Dublin were really hindered by the loss of Ó Cofaigh Byrne.  The balance changed in the middle.  Brian Howard battled incredibly hard but eventually ran out of steam.  This gave Westmeath a platform.  Dublin showed glimpses of their previous excellence but couldn't push on.  Westmeath kept them close and then then slowly squeezed Dublin.  The late switch in momentum was temporary as Westmeath wrested back the initiative in extra time.

Dublin were unable to reproduce the energy of the Louth game.  The general performance was muted at times.  Dublin were outfought in some situations. This will be a concern if it's not eradicated quickly.  The loss of Con and Murchan was obvious.  I think Ger Brennan's ban has really hurt the team.  Leadership was provided by the older players, but it seemed at times as if Westmeath had more players on the pitch.

Westmeath had heroes all over the field.  Thirteen players scored.  The defence was incredible, aided by really impressive fitness. The willingness to work was astounding.  This comes down to the spirit installed by McHugh.  Players took responsibility continuously.  In the endgame, Wallace, McCartan, Heslin and Allen showed real composure. Connellan's departure was not an issue.  The team at last managed the clock down properly.

Heslin's cameo was a success. An error in front of goal was forgotten as he started claiming marks, winning dirty ball, providing a constant outlet and arching over a fabulous two point score.

Westmeath scored 13 goals in the four matches, with seven players contributing. Amazingly we conceded just one goal during this sequence.  That occurred after five minutes in the Longford game.    Westmeath subsequently played another five hours and fifteen minutes without conceding a goal.  There's obviously an element of luck involved, but this gives an insight into the concentration and commitment to keep the goal intact.

Similarly six players hit nine 'two point' scores in these matches.  We conceded 14 of these, although Longford scored six of that total.

Luke Loughlin has been our talisman, however the load has been shared in his absence.  The team has grown remarkably.  13 players scored against Dublin, similar to the Kildare game.  It had been 12 against Longford and nine against Meath.  Others filled the void.

The tight battles will prove invaluable in terms of lessons learned and experienced gained.  Players that have low numbers of games have come through high pressure moments.  It's exciting to see what can be achieved as the team develops in the next few campaigns.

The release of emotion after the achievement was immense.  This is understandable when one considers the history of Westmeath GAA.  These lads have achieved immortality in our little patch.  The celebrations are ongoing.  McHugh's next significant task will be to refocus for the All Ireland series.  It will be interesting to see how he manages.  The energy will change again, subtly, but definitely.  How will this manifest itself?  Will the manic effort be sustained?  How will the team fare as they reset and start again?  Interesting times.

It is an incredible emotional feeling to see your own team win against the expectation of others. Such a buzz. Congratulations on an amazing game.
Post by: Joeythelips on May 19, 2026, 02:22:05 PM
Quote from: Iarmhí Abú on May 19, 2026, 01:40:13 AMWhere to start after all that drama?

Westmeath had heroes all over the field.  Thirteen players scored.  The defence was incredible, aided by really impressive fitness. The willingness to work was astounding.  This comes down to the spirit instilled by McHugh.  Players took responsibility continuously.  In the endgame, Wallace, McCartan, Heslin and Allen showed real composure. Connellan's departure was not an issue.  The team at last managed the clock down properly.

McHugh can just sit them down and look at the match once again. I could not believe how poor Dublin were, Westmeath should have beaten them out the gate, Ciaran Kilkenny was carrying them on his own it seemed along with the midfielder who went off injured. I recall a Dublin lad playing a kick pass directly to an unmarked Westmeath player 15 yards away, the goalkeeper was practically on his line and still let a highball go in for a goal and one Dublin lad went to hand pass a point and hit it well wide (at least he was under pressure) to mention 3 examples. That is the type of mistakes you'd see at u-12 level, I could not believe what I was watching.

This is a plus though as McHugh can use this to highlight to the panel there is a still an awful lot of room for improvement. Having a good bench is vital in modern day inter county football and Westmeath have that. They are in bonus territory now so a dangerous opponent for any side.
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2026, 02:40:39 PM

What a fabuluous read. I thought the celebrations after the Tailteann meant a lot but a Leinster is  completely different
Post by: thejuice on May 21, 2026, 01:12:12 AM
Not to take any shine off Westmeaths championship but what is really the matter with Dublin. I don't feel sorry for them by any means but it's a question that is going around. After a decade of total dominance their fall off has been dramatic to say the least.

I watched the Minor vs Meath game last week and Dublin were totally bereft of stand out players. They were also rans in U20 again this year.

I suppose the simplest answer is that the talent isn't there BUT the real question is why.

If you ask me I've seen it with Meath in the early 2000's when the hunger for success was gone and it affected us as a county right down to the lower levels and I think it makes a difference.

I think, when you're not desperately hungry for a trophy, it effects the enthusiasm for f the kids playing the game and the time they put into it, it affects their parents and their willingness to give time to it. And it trickles down on to the field when you have players not willing to give their very last ounce of energy to win. And it shows in the stands as well.

And it affects management too. There is the poor preparation; their lack of 2 pointers and adaptable kick out strategy is hard to fathom.

The likes of Kilkenny who was imperious not long ago, looks ordinary. Fair enough POCB getting injured didn't help but still. Taking their season as a whole the game against Louth in the previous round was an aberration.

While a lot of factors play into the performance on Sunday but I think ultimately it's that lack of hunger that underpins everything.
Post by: Look-Up! on May 22, 2026, 10:58:14 AM
It's easy to forget just how good Cluxton was. His kickouts were so accurate, it gave the Dubs nearly guaranteed ball on their kickouts and platform for attacks. Coupled with great and workaholic midfielders it set a tone, un-nerved opposition, and panicked opposition GK's on their own kickouts. You'd often see a team live with the Dubs for a while but get completely pinned down and lose the game in 5 minutes flat, conceding couple of goals and a few points without every laying hands on the ball in that period.

That confidence is no longer there, plenty of current Dub players have never experienced this. GK looks extremely nervous. Still good players there and some great players to return which should improve them but that aura of impending doom is gone, especially for Leinster teams. WH on Sunday dominated the middle for long periods, but it still took a time for the penny to finally drop with them and realise Dublin were there to be battered.

Dublin with a full squad to pick from are still a very dangerous opponent but have serious problems until they sort their GK out. The confidence will stem out from that.
Post by: JollyGreenGiant on May 22, 2026, 01:57:24 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on May 22, 2026, 10:58:14 AMIt's easy to forget just how good Cluxton was. His kickouts were so accurate, it gave the Dubs nearly guaranteed ball on their kickouts and platform for attacks. Coupled with great and workaholic midfielders it set a tone, un-nerved opposition, and panicked opposition GK's on their own kickouts. You'd often see a team live with the Dubs for a while but get completely pinned down and lose the game in 5 minutes flat, conceding couple of goals and a few points without every laying hands on the ball in that period.

That confidence is no longer there, plenty of current Dub players have never experienced this. GK looks extremely nervous. Still good players there and some great players to return which should improve them but that aura of impending doom is gone, especially for Leinster teams. WH on Sunday dominated the middle for long periods, but it still took a time for the penny to finally drop with them and realise Dublin were there to be battered.

Dublin with a full squad to pick from are still a very dangerous opponent but have serious problems until they sort their GK out. The confidence will stem out from that.

2024 saw the departure of a number of key figures (Fitzsimons, Fenton, McCarthy, McCaffrey, Mannion). This bookended a gradual period of retirements of key players who were critical to the glory days. Shortly after Cluxton (a key leader on the pitch) and John Small went to. With Con injured, Dublin look leaderless on the pitch.

Equally, Ger Brennan's absence has probably been critical. The tactics employed from the kick-out last Sunday were mind-boggling and what was worse, they were persisted with. Given the concentration of Dublin's players centrally, it would have been better to lose the ball there and challange with numbers as opposed to relying exclusively on Brain Howard and offering up 10 yards if he didn't win the kick out.

The underage issue also needs to be addressed, and whether it's a numbers or a hunger thing (I think talent is more important that both - although hunger is needed)
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 22, 2026, 02:13:16 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on May 22, 2026, 10:58:14 AMIt's easy to forget just how good Cluxton was. His kickouts were so accurate, it gave the Dubs nearly guaranteed ball on their kickouts and platform for attacks. Coupled with great and workaholic midfielders it set a tone, un-nerved opposition, and panicked opposition GK's on their own kickouts. You'd often see a team live with the Dubs for a while but get completely pinned down and lose the game in 5 minutes flat, conceding couple of goals and a few points without every laying hands on the ball in that period.

Sort GK out is easier said than done. As you say, Cluxton was far more than a shot stopper. He redefined the position in terms of sweeping and kickouts. A once in a generation talent country wide
Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2026, 05:09:48 PM
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on May 22, 2026, 01:57:24 PM

2024 saw the departure of a number of key figures (Fitzsimons, Fenton, McCarthy, McCaffrey, Mannion). This bookended a gradual period of retirements of key players who were critical to the glory days. Shortly after Cluxton (a key leader on the pitch) and John Small went to. With Con injured, Dublin look leaderless on the pitch.

Equally, Ger Brennan's absence has probably been critical. The tactics employed from the kick-out last Sunday were mind-boggling and what was worse, they were persisted with. Given the concentration of Dublin's players centrally, it would have been better to lose the ball there and challange with numbers as opposed to relying exclusively on Brain Howard and offering up 10 yards if he didn't win the kick out.

The underage issue also needs to be addressed, and whether it's a numbers or a hunger thing (I think talent is more important that both - although hunger is needed)

If you're not hungry for success the talent will go elsewhere, to other sports or just not make the required effort, that's more my point. It's more of a macro-scale issue. It's about drawing in a critical mass from which you can pick the best talent. Hence there was a "blue wave" in the 2010's that has now dissipated.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 28, 2026, 02:53:08 PM
Just stopping by to see if anyone has checked on Billy's Boots?