1. tomato (sprinkling of salt) / extra mature cheddar with salad cream on fresh plain bread
2. BLT with a little cream cheese and brown sauce
:P
Taco chicken, cheese, bacon toasted with bit of lettuce and coleslaw added after toasting.
Fond of an auld foot long Italian BMT as well with cheese, toasted.
*Pulls up seat*
50 points to the first person who mentions luke warm hang sandwiches, with loads of butter from the boot of the car along with a flask of tae.
Tayto cheese and onion. Hard to beat
Or if you're feeling adventurous, add some salad cream instead of butter. You can thank me later 8)
Egg, onion and tomato, white soft bread, salt pepper, loads of butter.
Denny old style ham
Mature cheese
Tomato
Spring onion
Newells coleslaw or Helmans Mayonnaise
All on 50/50 bread
Quote from: RedHand88 on October 10, 2025, 11:17:00 AMDenny old style ham
Mature cheese
Tomato
Spring onion
Newells coleslaw or Helmans Mayonnaise
All on 50/50 bread
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 11:16:06 AMTayto cheese and onion. Hard to beat
Or if you're feeling adventurous, add some salad cream instead of butter. You can thank me later 8)
Did a crisp sandwich leaving do for a fella at work, had 10 people reliving their youth through the medium of sticky white bread, butter and a walkers multipack. Something to behold
Needs to be broke down on age...
Millfield tech, 1988, bakery across the road used to do the Belfast bap with ham and tomato, the layers of ham were never ending and fresh tomato's yum
But I'm all sourdough bread if having a sandwich which be rare enough as I don't eat bread during the week now at work.
But if I'm pushed it would be Sourdough bread, turkey breast wafer slices, mayo, and fresh tomato..
Toasted or not depending on how I'm feeling
On a sidenote belfast baps are stinking burnt mountains of dough.
Quote from: tiempo on October 10, 2025, 11:31:46 AMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 11:16:06 AMTayto cheese and onion. Hard to beat
Did a crisp sandwich leaving do for a fella at work, had 10 people reliving their youth through the medium of sticky white bread, butter and a walkers multipack. Something to behold
Ahh, you had me enthralled up until you mentioned Walkers.
Quote from: RedHand88 on October 10, 2025, 11:43:32 AMOn a sidenote belfast baps are stinking burnt mountains of dough.
Stomach fillers back in the day for us street urchin's growing up.. You lads had spuds and carrots to fills yas!
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 10, 2025, 11:40:15 AMNeeds to be broke down on age...
Millfield tech, 1988, bakery across the road used to do the Belfast bap with ham and tomato, the layers of ham were never ending and fresh tomato's yum
But I'm all sourdough bread if having a sandwich which be rare enough as I don't eat bread during the week now at work.
But if I'm pushed it would be Sourdough bread, turkey breast wafer slices, mayo, and fresh tomato..
Well la-de-f**king-da! It's far from sourdough you were reared!
The MIL grows the best tomatoes you can find and it's hard to beat them and strong cheddar on fresh white bread with heart attack levels of salt on them. Having that with a bowl of home made potato and leek soup now shortly....
Salt and vinegar Farmer Browns crisps on a fresh McCann's loaf with Kerry Gold butter
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 10, 2025, 11:45:30 AMQuote from: RedHand88 on October 10, 2025, 11:43:32 AMOn a sidenote belfast baps are stinking burnt mountains of dough.
Stomach fillers back in the day for us street urchin's growing up.. You lads had spuds and carrots to fills yas!
All irelands are built on spuds and carrots, not carb rich bread!
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 10, 2025, 11:40:15 AMNeeds to be broke down on age...
Dined in there manys a day myself.
The old Belfast baps were indeed well filled and you got your moneys worth, messy auld eat and some amount of crumbs from the black crust flying everywhere.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 10, 2025, 11:46:33 AMQuote from: Milltown Row2 on October 10, 2025, 11:40:15 AMNeeds to be broke down on age...
Well la-de-f**king-da! It's far from sourdough you were reared!
The MIL grows the best tomatoes you can find and it's hard to beat them and strong cheddar on fresh white bread with heart attack levels of salt on them. Having that with a bowl of home made potato and leek soup now shortly....
Have a bag of my father's on the go atm.. Night and day compared to the supermarket ones. A highlight of holidaying in Spain, the tomatoes, so good
It would depend on the time of day surely.
Sausage, bacon and egg in the morning. Red sauce not brown yis dirty brutes. I've always thought the soda had too much packing, you're busted after a filled soda.
Hard to beat a proper cooked ham with a good strong cheddar. Add what ever you like, stuffing coleslaw, mustard... if the hams good you'll not need much. As long as the breads soft and fresh you can whatever you want.
Cheese & onion or salt & vinegar in cheap white bread with butter in the evening. The chip butty is just the next step up from that.
Tomatoes are crap in sandwiches lads - too wet. You're right that it's probably the bad quality tomatoes that are the problem.
If you put grated cheese between the tomato and the bread it soaks it up, bread stays dry.
I am sad.
Was gonna add similar
The knack's in the stack ;D
Layer of ham either side of the tomato sorts all ills
After that, fill yer boots
Quote from: RedHand88 on October 10, 2025, 12:27:33 PMIf you put grated cheese between the tomato and the bread it soaks it up, bread stays dry.
I am sad.
No no, that's quality input. Good smoked cheese is a nice addition to a sandwich.
Good bakery bread that is only fresh on the day of purchase is much much easier on an ageing belly too
Quote from: clonian on October 10, 2025, 12:26:06 PMIt would depend on the time of day surely.
Sausage, bacon and egg in the morning. Red sauce not brown yis dirty brutes. I've always thought the soda had too much packing, you're busted after a filled soda.
Hard to beat a proper cooked ham with a good strong cheddar. Add what ever you like, stuffing coleslaw, mustard... if the hams good you'll not need much. As long as the breads soft and fresh you can whatever you want.
Cheese & onion or salt & vinegar in cheap white bread with butter in the evening. The chip butty is just the next step up from that.
Tomatoes are crap in sandwiches lads - too wet. You're right that it's probably the bad quality tomatoes that are the problem.
Not just time of the day. Seasons matter too. From now onwards the turkey, ham, cranberry starts to look very attractive.
Turkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
There's nothing like it. And usually more enjoyable than the dinner itself on Christmas Day.
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 01:04:19 PMTurkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
There's nothing like it. And usually more enjoyable than the dinner itself on Christmas Day.
So close. So so close. You lost me at white bread.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 10, 2025, 12:53:48 PMQuote from: clonian on October 10, 2025, 12:26:06 PMIt would depend on the time of day surely.
Not just time of the day. Seasons matter too. From now onwards the turkey, ham, cranberry starts to look very attractive.
Agreed - you can have my share of cranberry sauce though.
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 01:04:19 PMTurkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
Left over roast potatoes (if there is any) squished on top too. Especially if you go for a toastie
QuoteQuoteTurkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
So close. So so close. You lost me at white bread.
Sorry I meant 'la-de-f**king-da sourdough bread ' :D
A nice hot rasher (straight from the pan, after being fried in butter) on soft white bread. The contrast between the soft fresh bread and a well done Irish rasher is a thing of beauty. With hot tae of course.
It it's not soft white, it can be a brilliant filling but you can forget about it being a sandwich.
So many basic bitches on the board.
Not even a mention of something as remotely exotic as Ballymaloe?
Quote from: gallsman on October 10, 2025, 01:56:21 PMSo many basic bitches on the board.
Ballymaloe on scrambled eggs...you'll thank me later!!
Egg & onion is my go to, salad cream / Mayo in the mixture.
I've about five. Won't bore yous.
This would be one but it needs stuffing and plain bread and it needs ate on Xmas night or the night after, whatever ye call it 😜
I would usually be a seeded bread man but have to admit a sandwich much better on soft white. My current favourite is chicken and chorizo if ye don't mind. Far from that I was reared
Heated panini or ciabatta with ham, cheese, tomato and some greens, oil and balsamic. Top class. Tastes especially great on holidays but not bad at all home made
When you rock up to an oul buffet or platter, increasingly the sambo that cant be skipped is the egg and onion. Sometime the combinations in some of the others can let you down, but not with the old faithful egg and onion.
Quote from: lenny on October 10, 2025, 02:44:52 PMHeated panini or ciabatta with ham, cheese, tomato and some greens, oil and balsamic. Top class. Tastes especially great on holidays but not bad at all home made
When making them myself, I'd agree with something like this. Throw in a couple of herbs
Fresh French baguette, lashings of butter and a full wedge of young brie[sliced up].
If feeling fancy can add Sun dried tomatoes. Never a fan of brie until I tried one of these.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 10, 2025, 02:06:37 PMQuote from: gallsman on October 10, 2025, 01:56:21 PMSo many basic bitches on the board.
Ballymaloe on scrambled eggs...you'll thank me later!!
I'm with you.
Quote from: lenny on October 10, 2025, 02:44:52 PMHeated panini or ciabatta with ham, cheese, tomato and some greens, oil and balsamic. Top class. Tastes especially great on holidays but not bad at all home made
Balsamic. The notions! ::)
Mature cheddar and Apple sandwich, soft white bread with loads of butter.
Hard to go past the tuna & onion with salad cream/mayo mix.
Corned Beef and Colemans mustard - this is a weird one. Hated as a kid when I got it in a packed lunch for school. But now I love it. Not sure if it's nostalgia or if my taste has changed.
***BEST THREAD IN AGES!
Utter woke nonsense.
Leftover Christmas turkey/ham on batch loaf with coleslaw, stuffing and cranberry jam also an all timer
Correct.
Hard to bate just the old white bread, ham and butter sandwich...they have to be triangles though....many's a sandwich was downed during the half time tea at the church badminton league. They would stick to the roof of your mouth...ah the memories
Close the thread we have our winner. Cuppa tea with it and fire roaring, no beating it
My Dad (god rest him) made the lunches the night before work for us 'workers' and traditionally on a Monday it was whatever the Sunday roast was, beef, chicken or Gammon (f**king hated gammon days)
Things got worse as the week went on, thin slices of ham, corn beef brown sauce with some tomato, Thursday started hitting it bad with a jam sandwich and Friday was what was left over! I remember loads of times he made the sandwich look good but when you opened it up there was only ham around the edges lol! nothing in the middle !
I would be happy with every sandwich mix mentioned so far. The only thing that I avoid in a sandwich is cucumber. Yeuk.
I worked as a painter with a guy from home in New York in 89. I was tasked with going to the deli everyday and making the sandwiches.
When I left the brother worked with him. He told him that he missed me more for my sandwiches than my painting...
QuoteQuoteTurkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
I've about five. Won't bore yous.
This would be one but it needs stuffing and plain bread and it needs ate on Xmas night or the night after, whatever ye call it 😜
Jaysus, can't believe I left out the stuffing!
Top three in no particular order.
Turkey, ham, stuffing.
Corn beef, brown sauce.
And finally. Sausage roll, ham and pickled beetroot 😍
Thread of Dreams/Nightmares as an exile to be fair. Nothing comes close to an Irish sandwich in Mam's kitchen. Soft white bread: Hellmans on one side, Colemans on the other. Fresh sliced limerick ham, bit of coleslaw.
Current American ingredient favourites
The Saturday Morning Special
Soft White Bap
HP Sauce one side, Colemans on the other
Thick cut American bacon
Slice of Cheddar
Soft White Bap or Bread
Good Quality Peanut Butter
Strawberry Jam
Could easily live on a PB&J daily.
Quote from: Mourne Red on October 10, 2025, 04:16:01 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 01:04:19 PMTurkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
Close the thread we have our winner. Cuppa tea with it and fire roaring, no beating it
Don't tell me you heathens cook the turkey and gammon on Christmas Eve?
Ah jaysus I knew it was going too well. Afore it all kicks off I'll just add
Bacon and egg
Egg and onion esp at wakes and buffets
Chicken cheese and coleslaw on baguette
Tuno mayo goes well with salt and vinegar. Or cheese and onion tbh. Have had neither in ages
Cheese baguette. Melt said cheese in microwave for 20secs then fire in the ham or whatever
Prawn mayo
Italian bmt from subway
I'll stop now
The BLT is obviously the King. Triple deck version.
Speaking of King's , I made one of Elvis' favourites for a family gathering once.
Peanut butter, Grape jam and streaky bacon in a sub roll.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fool%27s_Gold_Loaf
Quote from: Puckoon on October 10, 2025, 04:54:11 PMCould easily live on a PB&J daily.
Get away to feck with ye!
What is it bout the egg and onion. Would never entertain the idea of making myself one, but when the buffet or platter comes out, t'is one of the first I'll go for.
Okay 2 more...fresh, warm baguette smothered in golden cow with carvery ham.
For a toastie...bacon, chicken/turkey, fried onions, crispy stuffing, a drizzle of gravy, on Pat's pan
Quote from: gawa316 on October 10, 2025, 06:12:34 PMQuote from: Puckoon on October 10, 2025, 04:54:11 PMCould easily live on a PB&J daily.
Get away to feck with ye!
It's not like I fuckin added marshmallows or somethin!
Quote from: gawa316 on October 10, 2025, 04:09:03 PMHard to bate just the old white bread, ham and butter sandwich...they have to be triangles though....many's a sandwich was downed during the half time tea at the church badminton league. They would stick to the roof of your mouth...ah the memories
A beautiful triangle sandwich still very much enjoyed when visiting a bereaved neighbour the night before a funeral. Always a plentiful supply as other kindly neighbours bring over trays of them. You'd be ayten away while reminiscing about the poor man who has just passed, who incidently is also in the room lying motionless in an exposed coffin.
White bread butter cheddar cheese and HP sauce.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 10, 2025, 06:13:51 PMWhat is it bout the egg and onion. Would never entertain the idea of making myself one, but when the buffet or platter comes out, t'is one of the first I'll go for.
Jacket potato cheese and onion does this, greater than the sum of its parts
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 10, 2025, 06:13:51 PMWhat is it bout the egg and onion. Would never entertain the idea of making myself one, but when the buffet or platter comes out, t'is one of the first I'll go for.
Making your own batch of egg and onion is both a doddle and one of life's pleasures. Just buy the right bread in advance.
Does it have to be bread? Couple slices of boxty with crispy bacon and a fried egg in between.
My opinion could change multiple times on this.
Wheaten bread only. Preferably homemade, if not, Genesis.
Good thread lads. Platters of sandwiches at work today and had the first turkey, stuffing and cranberry of the season. Tasty but not as good as the real thing at home on *Boxing Day* :P . Also, why are youse cooking turkey and ham on Christmas Eve.
Would be a fan of corned beef and brown sauce although it's a rare treat as the wife wouldn't let the stuff into the house.
This one is gonna run to 100 pages
Used to do the Christmas Eve sandwich, but it's now been replaced by a full Christmas dinner.
Anyhow, either:
Sliced flat iron steak with peppered sauce and onions in Lidl Italian style baguette.
Or
Plain, or batch, loaf depending on where you're from, with bacon and tomato ketchup.
The turkey ham and stuffing sandwich would usually end up being after midnight on Christmas Eve. So, it's technically Christmas day
I'll cast another vote for a cheese and onion sandwich. Plenty of butter and Tayto. Particularly nice with a pint of Guinness.
Sausage roll wrapped in a slice of buttered bread, sauce of your own choosing.
Egg and onion or a tuna sandwich but only if they are triangles. Can be a bit windy the next day is the only draw back.
Left over roast chicken and stuffing, heated in buttered bread.
Getting hungry now
Glad I'm not cleaning out some of you boys cages !
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 10, 2025, 05:06:44 PMQuote from: Mourne Red on October 10, 2025, 04:16:01 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 01:04:19 PMTurkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
Ham is better the day after it's cooked. Ham Christmas eve. Turkey Christmas day.
At a normal wake, the egg and onion. Or eggs and cress.
At a fancy wake, salad sandwich.
At a formal function, probably chicken mayo.
For myself at home, tuna and mayo.
All with the brown bread.
Quote from: snoopdog on October 11, 2025, 09:07:28 AMQuote from: trueblue1234 on October 10, 2025, 05:06:44 PMQuote from: Mourne Red on October 10, 2025, 04:16:01 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 01:04:19 PMTurkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
Ham is better the day after it's cooked. Ham Christmas eve. Turkey Christmas day.
That's what St Stephen's Day is for!!
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 11, 2025, 01:00:46 PMQuote from: snoopdog on October 11, 2025, 09:07:28 AMQuote from: trueblue1234 on October 10, 2025, 05:06:44 PMQuote from: Mourne Red on October 10, 2025, 04:16:01 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 01:04:19 PMTurkey and ham , straight out of the oven, late on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of white bread.
That's what St Stephen's Day is for!!
Correct.
Coronation Chicken also another tasty one.
Hovis granary, microwaved bacon, spinach, butter, hp sauce.
Quote from: BigGreenField on October 11, 2025, 02:32:15 PMHovis granary, microwaved bacon, spinach, butter, hp sauce.
Say what now?!
Nice and simple, Superquinn sausages on Brennans bread with Heinz red sauce.
Quote from: laoislad on October 11, 2025, 03:19:51 PMNice and simple, Superquinn sausages on Brennans bread with Heinz red sauce.
You're a sick man. Red for bacon, brown for sausages. You were nearly right though, sausage sandwich with butter and brown and a mug of tea is hard to beat.
Quote from: BigGreenField on October 11, 2025, 02:32:15 PMHovis granary, microwaved bacon, spinach, butter, hp sauce.
Excuse me?
Chicken fillet roll, coleslaw, onion, cheese. Job's oxo.
If Jim Gavin had run on a message of microwaved bacon (4 mins dependent on number of slices and wattage), he'd still be in the race.
Fish fingers, fried egg and ketchup
Fish fingers and vinegar nowt else needed
*Chefs kiss*
Quote from: maddog on October 11, 2025, 04:56:00 PMFish fingers, fried egg and ketchup
A fried egg with a fish finger sandwich? Not slating it just more intrigued
Quote from: maddog on October 11, 2025, 04:56:00 PMFish fingers, fried egg and ketchup
Dunno about that. Fish fingers with a bit of red sauce - Yes, Fried egg with red sauce (on toasted, buttered white bread) - big Yes, together - No
Fish fingers, vinegar and beans is my preference of that variety.
Quote from: gallsman on October 11, 2025, 05:48:27 PMFish fingers, vinegar and beans is my preference of that variety.
This is acceptable 🤝
Nah, a fried egg inside a sandwich is carnage. A runny one anyway
Fish fingers? Just no...
Remember having one when the kids used to get them, pure muck
Take them off the table
McCoys or Tayto or a good kettle chip are best for adding to sandwiches
Supernoodles* between two slices of cheap white bread
*choose your own flavour
Have enjoyed these between two slices of bread in my time:
Lasagne
Bolognese
Fish, chips, mushy peas (with red sauce)
Curry and rice
Tayto Crisps with ham or tuna
Fish fingers (with red sauce)
Done the super noodles as well. Put a poached egg in with it , even better
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 12, 2025, 12:00:09 AMHave enjoyed these between two slices of bread in my time:
Lasagne
Bolognese
Fish, chips, mushy peas (with red sauce)
Curry and rice
Tayto Crisps with ham or tuna
Fish fingers (with red sauce)
Done the super noodles as well. Put a poached egg in with it , even better
Add Bikers to a tuna sandwich. Thank me later.
Done most the above
I've done pizza too. Don't ask
I've said too much
This is better than confessions
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 12, 2025, 12:16:36 AMDone most the above
I've said too much
A piece of white buttered bread is a great vehicle for all manner of fillings - cold beans from the tin, hot chips, mince in gravy.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2025, 12:21:08 AMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 12, 2025, 12:16:36 AMDone most the above
I've said too much
A piece of white buttered bread is a great vehicle for all manner of fillings - cold beans from the tin, hot chips, mince in gravy.
Tony we are kindred spirits 🤝
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2025, 12:15:14 AMAdd Bikers to a tuna sandwich. Thank me later.
Bikers are crisps for kids with a few coins in their pocket to buy after school in a petrol station.
Eat some real crisps, you sap.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 11, 2025, 02:53:30 PMQuote from: BigGreenField on October 11, 2025, 02:32:15 PMHovis granary, microwaved bacon, spinach, butter, hp sauce.
Say what now?!
Southerners have a fascination with superquinn sausages.decenet yess but either they've never been to a real butcher or their sausages are shite.
Ive been living south for 30 years now and none are a patch on the northern beef sausages. Not to mention the seriously underrated vegetable roll. Put that in between 2 slices of fresh pan with your sauce of choice.
Quote from: gawa316 on October 11, 2025, 10:40:29 PMMcCoys or Tayto or a good kettle chip are best for adding to sandwiches
Real Tayto, not that Temu Nordie Tayto..
BLT
Smoked bacon, Iceberg lettuce and sweet tomato on brown bread with a touch of mayo.
Quote from: laoislad on October 12, 2025, 08:43:42 AMQuote from: gawa316 on October 11, 2025, 10:40:29 PMMcCoys or Tayto or a good kettle chip are best for adding to sandwiches
Northern Tayto > Free Stayto
Quote from: laoislad on October 12, 2025, 08:43:42 AMQuote from: gawa316 on October 11, 2025, 10:40:29 PMMcCoys or Tayto or a good kettle chip are best for adding to sandwiches
Now, now...don't be divisive!
Both are great in a ham sandwich!
Quote from: gawa316 on October 12, 2025, 04:13:47 PMQuote from: laoislad on October 12, 2025, 08:43:42 AMQuote from: gawa316 on October 11, 2025, 10:40:29 PMMcCoys or Tayto or a good kettle chip are best for adding to sandwiches
This Tayto debate is going to be a sticking point in a United Ireland
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 12, 2025, 06:30:35 PMQuote from: gawa316 on October 12, 2025, 04:13:47 PMQuote from: laoislad on October 12, 2025, 08:43:42 AMQuote from: gawa316 on October 11, 2025, 10:40:29 PMMcCoys or Tayto or a good kettle chip are best for adding to sandwiches
This Tayto debate is going to be a sticking point in a United Ireland
I don't think so.
My guess is most freestaters have never had Tayto NI.
Once they do, they'll know it's a much better, any doubts they've had about unification will disappear.
I foresee pilgrimages from Munster to Tandragee.
No NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
What rumours were they?
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 12, 2025, 07:19:15 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
What rumours were they?
They were supplying the men on the front line. Allegedly.
Coming back on this, had the young fellas christening today. Egg and Onion sandwiches as part of the platter - Jesus unreal, 2nd behind Christmas sandwich for definite.
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 10, 2025, 05:28:34 PMAh jaysus I knew it was going too well. Afore it all kicks off I'll just add
Bacon and egg
Egg and onion esp at wakes and buffets
Chicken cheese and coleslaw on baguette
Tuno mayo goes well with salt and vinegar. Or cheese and onion tbh. Have had neither in ages
Cheese baguette. Melt said cheese in microwave for 20secs then fire in the ham or whatever
Prawn mayo
Italian bmt from subway
I'll stop now
Ah here, the BMT would be my subway go to. Most of the salad added and southwest sauce. Had done the other day for the first time in a while. Subway used to be value, not anymore. Scandalous
Hot chilli sauce was the dogs balearics. Now discontinued possibly
Aye crazy price nowadays....
Quote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 04:03:40 PMSubway used to be value, not anymore
As I said, basic bitches everywhere on this thread. For that statement to be true, you'd have to get something of ANY value back in return for your cash.
Everything in Subway is absolutely f**king rotten.
Quote from: gallsman on October 15, 2025, 04:54:08 PMEverything in Subway is absolutely f**king rotten.
Amen to that.
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
They do have a big ad in Irish in the Athletic grounds.
If someone served egg and onion sandwiches at an event I was at, I'd leave.
Quote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 05:45:59 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
You must leave many an event so
I think I'd rather eat some of that shite of I'm a Celebrity than an egg & onion sandwich...the smell of them alone is enough
Quote from: gallsman on October 15, 2025, 04:54:08 PMQuote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 04:03:40 PMSubway used to be value, not anymore
As I said, basic bitches everywhere on this thread. For that statement to be true, you'd have to get something of ANY value back in return for your cash.
Gone to shite, maybe its nostalgia but it used to be decent years ago. Horrible and expensive lately!
Quote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 06:04:37 PMQuote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 05:45:59 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
Perhaps I only aim to go to a better class of event in the first place.
Prosciutto crudo and rucola for me.
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 15, 2025, 06:44:08 PMQuote from: gallsman on October 15, 2025, 04:54:08 PMQuote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 04:03:40 PMSubway used to be value, not anymore
Gone to shite, maybe its nostalgia but it used to be decent years ago. Horrible and expensive lately!
Subway was always shite. It had a novelty factor when it first hit our shores, long since replaced by an understanding that forking out for over-processed, bland food make no sense.
Surely Egg & Onion has to go down as the absolute worst!?
Disgusting!
That smell.....boke....
Quote from: thewobbler on October 15, 2025, 08:48:59 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on October 15, 2025, 06:44:08 PMQuote from: gallsman on October 15, 2025, 04:54:08 PMQuote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 04:03:40 PMSubway used to be value, not anymore
Subway was always shite. It had a novelty factor when it first hit our shores, long since replaced by an understanding that forking out for over-processed, bland food make no sense.
Is it shite? Quality of some of the meat wouldn't be great but if loading up with veggies i would have thought it was one of the less processed fast food options. Price rises definitely take the value out of it a bit.
Ah jees a nice feel good thread, a rarity on here, has been taken over by the doom and gloomers.
Let's not talk about our favourite sambo let's talk about the shit ones
Well done lads 🤣
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 15, 2025, 09:43:49 PMAh jees a nice feel good thread, a rarity on here, has been taken over by the doom and gloomers.
Well done lads 🤣
Totally on brand for the board ;D .
Baloney Sandwich?
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 15, 2025, 09:43:49 PMAh jees a nice feel good thread, a rarity on here, has been taken over by the doom and gloomers.
Well done lads 🤣
And don't forget LL going down the old divisive Tayto route!!
Quote from: gawa316 on October 15, 2025, 10:21:40 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 15, 2025, 09:43:49 PMAh jees a nice feel good thread, a rarity on here, has been taken over by the doom and gloomers.
Well done lads 🤣
I must do a blind taste test in the house this weekend. I'll post the results.
Quote from: gawa316 on October 15, 2025, 10:21:40 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 15, 2025, 09:43:49 PMAh jees a nice feel good thread, a rarity on here, has been taken over by the doom and gloomers.
Well done lads 🤣
Both a pale imitation next to a packet of Brannigans Ham & Mustard. That is a crisp made for bread and butter.
Quote from: BigGreenField on October 15, 2025, 10:56:52 PMQuote from: gawa316 on October 15, 2025, 10:21:40 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 15, 2025, 09:43:49 PMAh jees a nice feel good thread, a rarity on here, has been taken over by the doom and gloomers.
Well done lads 🤣
Both a pale imitation next to a packet of Brannigans Ham & Mustard. That is a crisp made for bread and butter.
Glens of Antrim have Roast Beef and Mustard and excellent Gammon and Pineapple. I'd say the latter are my favourite crisps on the market.
QuoteQuoteQuoteBaloney Sandwich?
A cheap cut!
Pastrami beats a baloney all day!
Joey Tribbiani is on the board now.
Well , he does love his sandwiches
Catalonian I lived with used to eat crusty baguette with cured meat and cheese only. Absolutely raw dogging it, no butter or even olive oil for lube.
Quote from: DaleCooper on October 15, 2025, 11:48:49 PMCatalonian I lived with used to eat crusty baguette with cured meat and cheese only. Absolutely raw dogging it, no butter or even olive oil for lube.
I love nothing more for the odd weekend than a range of cured meats some cheese bread olives some spreads like red and green pesto and a lovely glass of wine or 6...
Quote from: DaleCooper on October 15, 2025, 11:48:49 PMCatalonian I lived with used to eat crusty baguette with cured meat and cheese only. Absolutely raw dogging it, no butter or even olive oil for lube.
He'd likely be used to wetting the bread by rubbing a slice of fresh tomato across it instead, although there'd usually be a light drizzle of oil as well. I assume you're talking about in Ireland, so he was probably (correctly) quite sniffy about tomatoes, no matter how good BCB thinks his mother in law's are.
Quote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 08:33:39 PMQuote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 06:04:37 PMQuote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 05:45:59 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
WTF is wrong with people on here? Egg and onion is the dogs bollix. A man's man sandwich.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2025, 11:13:38 PMQuote from: BigGreenField on October 15, 2025, 10:56:52 PMQuote from: gawa316 on October 15, 2025, 10:21:40 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 15, 2025, 09:43:49 PMAh jees a nice feel good thread, a rarity on here, has been taken over by the doom and gloomers.
Well done lads 🤣
Glens of Antrim have Roast Beef and Mustard and excellent Gammon and Pineapple. I'd say the latter are my favourite crisps on the market.
O'Donnell's salt & vinegar are one of the best crisps about. Gluten free too so must be good for you
Quote from: Look-Up! on October 16, 2025, 09:12:50 AMQuote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 08:33:39 PMQuote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 06:04:37 PMQuote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 05:45:59 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
WTF is wrong with people on here? Egg and onion is the dogs bollix. A man's man sandwich.
Tell me this. What's the binder? Mayo; salad cream; mixture of both? I do enjoy the odd egg and onion but just not same when I make them at home
Mayo all the way.
Quote from: Ulrich on October 16, 2025, 10:22:21 AMQuote from: Look-Up! on October 16, 2025, 09:12:50 AMQuote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 08:33:39 PMQuote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 06:04:37 PMQuote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 05:45:59 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
Tell me this. What's the binder? Mayo; salad cream; mixture of both? I do enjoy the odd egg and onion but just not same when I make them at home
Salad cream *obviously*.
QuoteMayo all the way.
The only thing Mayonnaise should be on is a chicken burger.
Shouldn't be anywhere near a sandwich
Quote from: Ulrich on October 16, 2025, 10:22:21 AMQuote from: Look-Up! on October 16, 2025, 09:12:50 AMQuote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 08:33:39 PMQuote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2025, 06:04:37 PMQuote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2025, 05:45:59 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on October 12, 2025, 06:47:00 PMNo NI Tayto for me ever since the Drumcree rumours....
Mayo, small bit of mustard and black pepper. Top tier
Well done lads 🤣
TBH if I had to pick a crisp for a sandwich it would be Hunky Dory Buffalo flavour. Goes well with ham, cheese and Ballymaloe Relish
Butter and then mayo with a few cracks of black pepper as back up
Quote from: laoislad on October 16, 2025, 02:09:45 PMQuote from: gawa316 on October 15, 2025, 10:21:40 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 15, 2025, 09:43:49 PMAh jees a nice feel good thread, a rarity on here, has been taken over by the doom and gloomers.
Well done lads 🤣
TBH if I had to pick a crisp for a sandwich it would be Hunky Dory Buffalo flavour. Goes well with ham, cheese and Ballymaloe Relish
Mum sent over a go of Hunky's, McCoys and Taytos recently and I couldn't bring myself to put them in a sandwich...had to savour them on their own
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 16, 2025, 10:50:32 AMQuoteMayo all the way.
Even if you don't get them cut up nicely into triangles at a wake or in your packed lunch, a burger is a sandwich.
Quote from: GTP on October 16, 2025, 02:40:16 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 16, 2025, 10:50:32 AMQuoteMayo all the way.
Even if you don get them cut up nicely into triangles at a wake or in your packed lunch, a burger is a sandwich.
Controversial.
Minds me back in the day coming home for training the chat comes round to what everyone has ate that day, one boy says aye a chicken sandwich, hallion had had two chicken burgers from Julie's kitchen 🤣🤣
Tuna, onion, mayonnaise, pickles and mustard. Toasted on brown bread with a bit of cheese.
HARD TOPPED
Quote from: bringbackdregish on October 16, 2025, 03:10:47 PMTuna, onion, mayonnaise, pickles and mustard. Toasted on brown bread with a bit of cheese.
HARD TOPPED
Ah Jaysus, that's enough to make you boke.
Tuna, onion and Salad cream is the way to go. Same for egg and onion/scallion. Salad cream all day long.
Good tomato, scallions and salad cream on crusty white 😋
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 16, 2025, 04:01:24 PMQuote from: bringbackdregish on October 16, 2025, 03:10:47 PMTuna, onion, mayonnaise, pickles and mustard. Toasted on brown bread with a bit of cheese.
HARD TOPPED
Ah Jaysus, that's enough to make you boke.
Tuna, onion and Salad cream is the way to go. Same for egg and onion/scallion. Salad cream all day long.
I can't get on board with hot tuna. Hoors in work heat fish in the microwave at lunchtime and it is rank.
Must be some constipated hoors on this board. Everyone seems to like white bread. Can't eat that stuff at all or it totally binds me up.
Salad cream if I'm making but never really thought about what other people use. So I've probably eaten loads of different versions but I've never had a bad egg and onion sandwich. Ever.
It's the raw onion I can't have
I'll happily have a soft (not runny or hard) egg on a fresh toasted soda.. plenty of proper butter, oh!
Quote from: lenny on October 16, 2025, 06:14:24 PMMust be some constipated hoors on this board. Everyone seems to like white bread. Can't eat that stuff at all or it totally binds me up.
I have tried all types to get away from white bread; wholemeal, the one with seeds, 50/50, sourdoughs etc , and I just don't get it.
I'm in the same club as Billy Connolly when it comes to brown bread - it's a f**kin frisbee.
White bread is dung... but, unless it's trapped some delicious chips, melted butter and little bit of red sauce and hint of vinegar
But as said.. bread is your enemy!
White sliced pan is for toasting unless it's fresh fresh. Although I'm not a big lover, a ham cheese sandwich from freshly cut ham and fresh sliced pan is very nice. Can't beat a fresh batch loaf either. Loads of butter with some lamb cutlets. Delicious. You usually end up dumping most of the loaf after though. Not the same the next day. At least the pan can be kept a few days for toasting.
In terms of white bread, the Brennans loaf in the waxy paper is yer best option. All the rest are poor enough.
Not a sandwich, but when white bread goes stale, it can be repurposed for Irish bread pudding. Add some custard and you have one tasty desert. The older generations were great for making food last. Any unused jacket potato turned up in a fry the next morning. The last of the Christmas Ham and turkey sprung back into life in the pan too, or for the adventurous in a pot-pie.
Quote from: weareros on October 17, 2025, 12:41:19 PMNot a sandwich, but when white bread goes stale, it can be repurposed for Irish bread pudding. Add some custard and you have one tasty desert. The older generations were great for making food last. Any unused jacket potato turned up in a fry the next morning. The last of the Christmas Ham and turkey sprung back into life in the pan too, or for the adventurous in a pot-pie.
Stale white bread great for breadcrumb recipes
Next day potatoes are the best fried. Garlic, onion, LOADS of butter and pour a few whipped eggs over. You'll have to mind the heat you don't burn the butter.
Even better if left over bacon and cabbage. Same recipe. Fry your onions and garlic. Fry in the cabbage and chopped spuds. Then add the chopped left over bacon. Pour over your eggs. Salt and pepper to suit but generally shouldn't need to as you'll have the flavour of the butter. A meal for the Gods.
Bacon? Left over?!
Nah not round here mate, sorry
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 17, 2025, 03:50:06 PMBacon? Left over?!
Nah not round here mate, sorry
Try cooking the whole pig next time
Quote from: Look-Up! on October 17, 2025, 03:31:08 PMNext day potatoes are the best fried. Garlic, onion, LOADS of butter and pour a few whipped eggs over. You'll have to mind the heat you don't burn the butter.
Even better if left over bacon and cabbage. Same recipe. Fry your onions and garlic. Fry in the cabbage and chopped spuds. Then add the chopped left over bacon. Pour over your eggs. Salt and pepper to suit but generally shouldn't need to as you'll have the flavour of the butter. A meal for the Gods.
🤤
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 16, 2025, 11:10:15 PMQuote from: lenny on October 16, 2025, 06:14:24 PMMust be some constipated hoors on this board. Everyone seems to like white bread. Can't eat that stuff at all or it totally binds me up.
I have tried all types to get away from white bread; wholemeal, the one with seeds, 50/50, sourdoughs etc , and I just don't get it.
I'm in the same club as Billy Connolly when it comes to brown bread - it's a f**kin frisbee.
Try hovis granary. Tasty bread. Stands up to a good run of cold kerrygold too.
Quote from: Look-Up! on October 17, 2025, 03:31:08 PMNext day potatoes are the best fried. Garlic, onion, LOADS of butter and pour a few whipped eggs over. You'll have to mind the heat you don't burn the butter.
Which part of that is a sandwich though?
Quote from: laoislad on October 17, 2025, 07:29:31 PMQuote from: Look-Up! on October 17, 2025, 03:31:08 PMNext day potatoes are the best fried. Garlic, onion, LOADS of butter and pour a few whipped eggs over. You'll have to mind the heat you don't burn the butter.
Which part of that is a sandwich though?
Which part of that is a post though?
Serve Look-ups dish on a nice piece of toast and you've got yourself a bacon and cabbage hash sandwich. Sounds mouthwatering to be fair.
Onion sandwich. Two slices of white bread, mayo and raw onion. Don't knock it etc
Quote from: DaleCooper on October 17, 2025, 09:30:18 PMOnion sandwich. Two slices of white bread, mayo and raw onion. Don't knock it etc
Cheese and onion maybe..that there is savagery my friend
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 17, 2025, 09:33:41 PMQuote from: DaleCooper on October 17, 2025, 09:30:18 PMOnion sandwich. Two slices of white bread, mayo and raw onion. Don't knock it etc
Cheese and onion maybe..that there is savagery my friend
Definitely from Tyrone with that sort of carryon.
Me or dale 😜
Me deffo not 😘
Actually a fancy affair. Served as tiny round yokes decorated along edges with parsley. You soak the onions to take edge off
The steak sandwich can also be a thing of beauty. Onions fried low and slow for 30 mins; pinch of sugar; a well cooked rested steak sliced thin. Tut tut tut
Quote from: Ulrich on October 18, 2025, 07:46:08 AMThe steak sandwich can also be a thing of beauty. Onions fried low and slow for 30 mins; pinch of sugar; a well cooked rested steak sliced thin. Tut tut tut
But it needs to be in a panini type bread, lightly toasted with proper fillet sliced beef, sliced mushrooms with fried onions, cheese and pepper sauce
Every time I come on here I'm hungry as f**k
Quote from: DaleCooper on October 17, 2025, 09:30:18 PMOnion sandwich. Two slices of white bread, mayo and raw onion. Don't knock it etc
f**k your mayo...brown sauce and we are on!
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 18, 2025, 03:46:34 PMQuote from: Ulrich on October 18, 2025, 07:46:08 AMThe steak sandwich can also be a thing of beauty. Onions fried low and slow for 30 mins; pinch of sugar; a well cooked rested steak sliced thin. Tut tut tut
But it needs to be in a panini type bread, lightly toasted with proper fillet sliced beef, sliced mushrooms with fried onions, cheese and pepper sauce
eating that is like a punishment.
What is it with people and pepper sauce? Horrible stuff
Nah... pepper sauce has its place!
It does. Inside a sandwich is not it.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 18, 2025, 03:46:34 PMQuote from: Ulrich on October 18, 2025, 07:46:08 AMThe steak sandwich can also be a thing of beauty. Onions fried low and slow for 30 mins; pinch of sugar; a well cooked rested steak sliced thin. Tut tut tut
Ciabatta. If your feeling posh. All good additions; but no id draw the line with pepper sauce or gravy inside the sambo.
I find for a steak sandwich, a nicely oiled ciabatta is probably more important than the steak.
There must be oestrogen in the water supply of you fellas.
Quote from: thewobbler on October 18, 2025, 07:55:43 PMI find for a steak sandwich, a nicely oiled ciabatta is probably more important than the steak.
Rubbish.
I had a steak sandwich for dinner in The Golden Nugget outside Killarney over the summer (Fossa's sponsor). I knew from the look of the place that the food would be dreadful but we had to get the kids fed and it was on the way home. I figured they couldn't make too much of a balls of a steak sandwich. Was literally served an entire sirloin steak, complete with unrendered fat inside a ciabatta with some onions.
Only reason you'd put a steak between two bits of bread is because it's the shitest cut of meat ever or you have more money than you know what to do with.
Steak is for the plate, to be savoured and not rushed. Rare medium rare. Fried onions, mushrooms and a baked potatoe. And pepper sauce.
Quote from: Look-Up! on October 18, 2025, 09:00:22 PMOnly reason you'd put a steak between two bits of bread is because it's the shitest cut of meat ever or you have more money than you know what to do with.
Steak is for the plate, to be savoured and not rushed. Rare medium rare. Fried onions, mushrooms and a baked potatoe. And pepper sauce.
A good juicy steak doesn't need a sauce, but I'd favour bearnaise over pepper if I had to choose.
Tri tip sandwiches are all the go in California.
Don't know why you can't get that cut of meat around the world
Are there special cows in California?
Steak sandwiches are mostly crap as they use rubbish tough steak[minute]
The authentic chilly cheesesteaks use rib eye v finely sliced
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2025, 09:18:50 PMQuote from: Look-Up! on October 18, 2025, 09:00:22 PMOnly reason you'd put a steak between two bits of bread is because it's the shitest cut of meat ever or you have more money than you know what to do with.
A good juicy steak doesn't need a sauce, but I'd favour bearnaise over pepper if I had to choose.
Whats a bernaise sauce? Why not gravy?
I'm not a steak eater , so I'm not well up on these things
"What's a bearnaise sauce" ffs.
BASIC
BITCHES
Quote from: lenny on October 16, 2025, 06:14:24 PMMust be some constipated hoors on this board. Everyone seems to like white bread. Can't eat that stuff at all or it totally binds me up.
Brown bread also tastes of something.
But you could fill the two slices of white with Avocado & Black Beans, to keep things moving.
Quote from: Look-Up! on October 18, 2025, 09:00:22 PMOnly reason you'd put a steak between two bits of bread is because it's the shitest cut of meat ever or you have more money than you know what to do with.
In my 50s I've finally started going medium....😬🤤
Back on track, don't think there's been much love for the 'club'. A good 'club' is hard to beat. There's a couple of spots in Derry serve a club up (all the correct ingredients) but as an open sandwich. A jailing offence imo
Chicken and bacon or just bacon Jog
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 18, 2025, 11:38:35 PMChicken and bacon or just bacon Jog
In a club? Can't be a serious question surely :o ;D
Quote from: gallsman on October 18, 2025, 10:38:55 PM"What's a bearnaise sauce" ffs.
BASIC
BITCHES
To sort of quote someone earlier, "tis a long way from Bernaise sauce that I was reared" .
What's wrong with gravy ffs? ;)
Quote from: JoG2 on October 18, 2025, 11:53:43 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 18, 2025, 11:38:35 PMChicken and bacon or just bacon Jog
I suppose bacon only is a BLT. Don't mind me, I've had a drink lol
If you're ever in Japan get a KatsuSando. Pork cutlet in milk bread
Quote from: DaleCooper on October 19, 2025, 12:09:03 AMIf you're ever in Japan get a KatsuSando. Pork cutlet in milk bread
Do they deliver?
Most big cities will have a place but couldn't be as good as Maisen in Tokyo. Dublin has two at least.
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 18, 2025, 11:54:42 PMQuote from: gallsman on October 18, 2025, 10:38:55 PM"What's a bearnaise sauce" ffs.
BASIC
BITCHES
To sort of quote someone earlier, "tis a long way from Bernaise sauce that I was reared" .
What's wrong with gravy ffs? ;)
Gravy for roast beef. Wouldn't ruin a steak with it. As Tony said a good steak doesn't really need a sauce but I like a bit of pepper sauce if only to soak in the roast potatoe. But a bit of butter or garlic butter would do just as good.
Back to the topic of sandwiches, love a good BLT. Proper bacon though, not that shite that shrinks on the pan and oozes white muck.
Quote from: DaleCooper on October 19, 2025, 12:09:03 AMIf you're ever in Japan get a KatsuSando. Pork cutlet in milk bread
Have you tried the Wagu out there. Had it here, wouldn't be trying it again.
Quote from: armaghniac on October 19, 2025, 12:43:00 AMQuote from: DaleCooper on October 19, 2025, 12:09:03 AMIf you're ever in Japan get a KatsuSando. Pork cutlet in milk bread
Do they deliver?
Just Pork I'd say no liver.
https://vm.tiktok.com/ZNd7vw7Ua/
Anyone ever had the franceshina sandwich in Portugal? Definitely not a sandwich in traditional sense as cutlery needed. Sausage, steak, cured meats; stacked with 2 or 3 slices bread covered in cheese; topped with an egg. Drowned in a spicy beer tomato sauce. A great feed.
Quote from: laoislad on October 19, 2025, 07:30:27 AMQuote from: armaghniac on October 19, 2025, 12:43:00 AMQuote from: DaleCooper on October 19, 2025, 12:09:03 AMIf you're ever in Japan get a KatsuSando. Pork cutlet in milk bread
Do they deliver?
Just Pork I'd say no liver.
https://vm.tiktok.com/ZNd7vw7Ua/
😀 now there's a blast from the past! One of the funniest things I've heard on the radio.
Quote from: Ulrich on October 19, 2025, 08:30:21 AMAnyone ever had the franceshina sandwich in Portugal? Definitely not a sandwich in traditional sense as cutlery needed. Sausage, steak, cured meats; stacked with 2 or 3 slices bread covered in cheese; topped with an egg. Drowned in a spicy beer tomato sauce. A great feed.
Yeah I've tried it. You'd want to have the weetabix ate in the morning to be tackling that for lunch.
Quote from: Look-Up! on October 19, 2025, 06:58:35 AMQuote from: DaleCooper on October 19, 2025, 12:09:03 AMIf you're ever in Japan get a KatsuSando. Pork cutlet in milk bread
Have you tried the Wagu out there. Had it here, wouldn't be trying it again.
Authentic Kobe beef can be had in some western cities but for stupid money. For main course there its £60 for a small-medium size steak. The wagyu is v cheap vs the rip off here and lots of what is labelled wagyu is sly marketing.
Some restaurants who serve " aged beef" just use fresh and rub a blue cheese compound butter on it after.
Quote from: gawa316 on October 18, 2025, 09:22:21 PMTri tip sandwiches are all the go in California.
You can't even get tri tip East of Boise which is surprising because done properly it's one of the best steak variations out there and will feed plenty. It's just the bottom sirloin/rump.
Cousin is a butcher back home and he will cut us a tri tip once we told him where specifically it was in Irish butcher terms.
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 18, 2025, 11:59:22 PMQuote from: JoG2 on October 18, 2025, 11:53:43 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 18, 2025, 11:38:35 PMChicken and bacon or just bacon Jog
I suppose bacon only is a BLT. Don't mind me, I've had a drink lol
Life is for living and sandwiches are for eating 👏
As we seem to have moved onto steaks here, the auld Cowboy butter is hard to bate.
Quote from: Puckoon on October 19, 2025, 05:32:42 PMQuote from: gawa316 on October 18, 2025, 09:22:21 PMTri tip sandwiches are all the go in California.
You can't even get tri tip East of Boise which is surprising because done properly it's one of the best steak variations out there and will feed plenty. It's just the bottom sirloin/rump.
Cousin is a butcher back home and he will cut us a tri tip once we told him where specifically it was in Irish butcher terms.
Either cut as steaks or as a joint to feed a hape of you, picanha is your best friend.
Quote from: gallsman on October 19, 2025, 06:37:09 PMQuote from: Puckoon on October 19, 2025, 05:32:42 PMQuote from: gawa316 on October 18, 2025, 09:22:21 PMTri tip sandwiches are all the go in California.
Either cut as steaks or as a joint to feed a hape of you, picanha is your best friend.
I wouldn't be what you'd call a steak aficionado, but a few years back after a very successful valentine's day steak dinner, with, ah hem, all the trimmings, we decided to have a regular Friday steak night. No idea re cuts etc, in the supermarket with a friend on the way home from work, picking out steaks. Some nosey hoor said go for the blah blah blah cut. In InBetweeners fashion we quietly called him a 'steak w4nker'. Low and behold, he was right.. The fillet, a cut above 🤤
(https://images.nightcafe.studio/jobs/qA984TXNaFQiYXmLw72q/qA984TXNaFQiYXmLw72q--0--165op.jpg?tr=w-1600,c-at_max)
Beef, yes, soft eggs, definitely, squashed testicles though, not knocking, bit of a left field filling....Tasty?
Whitefish, sable[smoked fish], cream cheese, capers, onions inside a Bagel.
Jewish Deli classic
A good French dip is hard to beat
Purple monster munch in white bread with cheese and red sauce
Had one yesterday for the first time and it was delightful
Surely when you pushed the two slices together they just turned to powder!
I was in Copenhagen last year and their Smørrebrød are pretty good. Dear for what you get but usually really good fresh fish etc. Not the usual stuff I'd go for but they were really tasty.
Quote from: Munchie on October 20, 2025, 08:50:17 AMSurely when you pushed the two slices together they just turned to powder!
Had to be gentle with it just
Quote from: bringbackdregish on October 20, 2025, 08:42:08 AMPurple monster munch in white bread with cheese and red sauce
[/Quote from: bringbackdregish on October 20, 2025, 08:42:08 AMPurple monster munch in white bread with cheese and red sauce
Dirty hallion.
Quote from: bringbackdregish on October 20, 2025, 08:42:08 AMPurple monster munch in white bread with cheese and red sauce
Oh no, he's made it out of the Tyrone club thread
Any of you guys in your 50s? You need to ditch the obsession with bread as a staple, same goes for spuds, rice, pasta and sadly for many.....Guinness. Your ticker will thank you.
Quote from: Last Man on October 20, 2025, 11:25:35 AMAny of you guys in your 50s? You need to ditch the obsession with bread as a staple, same goes for spuds, rice, pasta and sadly for many.....Guinness. Your ticker will thank you.
Awk would ya quit. Rather die happy :D
Quote from: Last Man on October 20, 2025, 11:25:35 AMAny of you guys in your 50s? You need to ditch the obsession with bread as a staple, same goes for spuds, rice, pasta and sadly for many.....Guinness. Your ticker will thank you.
You come on to the sandwich thread to warn us about bread? I knew a wee man had bread every day lived to 110. Nj
Christ. What's left to sustain us?
Quote from: lurganblue on October 20, 2025, 12:27:16 PMQuote from: Last Man on October 20, 2025, 11:25:35 AMAny of you guys in your 50s? You need to ditch the obsession with bread as a staple, same goes for spuds, rice, pasta and sadly for many.....Guinness. Your ticker will thank you.
Christ. What's left to sustain us?
Its the habit we find ourselves getting into. I don't eat bread during the week in so much as I can but I'd be at a loss for not having the spuds, rice and pasta in my foods
I get the gut health and how it leads to other medical issues but, we all going to die at some point.
Working with the elderly its not much fun when you are 80 plus so going early aint a bad thing ;D
Everything in moderation, you sound like one of those boys that love to video themselves in a supermarket telling everyone seed oils are going to kill you.
Triangles or squares?
I never understood sandwiches being cut diagonally. Maybe the smaller triangulars for a wake or something, but a big triangle for the lunchbox. What the frig is that all about?
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2025, 10:56:44 PMTriangles or squares?
I never understood sandwiches being cut diagonally. Maybe the smaller triangulars for a wake or something, but a big triangle for the lunchbox. What the frig is that all about?
My missus says the triangles taste nicer. No rectangles in this house.
QuoteQuoteTriangles or squares?
My missus says the triangles taste nicer. No rectangles in this house.
The filling doesn't fall out of rectangles like it does with triangles .
Plus, how do you put Tayto crisps into a rectangular cut sandwich? You have to think about these things
I'd not even cut them at all most times.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 20, 2025, 10:51:24 PMQuote from: Last Man on October 20, 2025, 11:25:35 AMAny of you guys in your 50s? You need to ditch the obsession with bread as a staple, same goes for spuds, rice, pasta and sadly for many.....Guinness. Your ticker will thank you.
Everything in moderation, you sound like one of those boys that love to video themselves in a supermarket telling everyone seed oils are going to kill you.
If thats working for you who am I to argue against it, but I will admit I am inclined to agree with your man about the seed oils, for the majority of folk. Butter and lard all the way for me!
There's just not enough evidence to back it up and that's where I'll generally go. If strong enough evidence came out to back it up then I'm open to changing but haven't seen enough yet to suggest that,
Some would say the processed ham between the sliced white bread is even worse again for the auld ticker but there's many who lived a good long life on a daily lunch of a toasted ham and cheese, washed down with a glass of Guinness.
I do put a knob of butter on the aul pan when she's not looking ;)
Ya can't beat it and I think she knows I'm doing it ;D
not sure how this will look :o
Quote from: weareros on October 21, 2025, 02:38:58 PMSome would say the processed ham between the sliced white bread is even worse again for the auld ticker but there's many who lived a good long life on a daily lunch of a toasted ham and cheese, washed down with a glass of Guinness.
Funny I'm a big fan of ham and what we do is buy proper ham and slow cooker it once a week. Much more economical and tastier. Not sure if it is better but certainly seems it.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 21, 2025, 02:04:44 PMThere's just not enough evidence to back it up and that's where I'll generally go. If strong enough evidence came out to back it up then I'm open to changing but haven't seen enough yet to suggest that,
Yip, if you can still fit into the jeans you had at 18 and aren't on long term medications its working for you, I cant argue with that.
Jesus that is a strange mix.
Saw brie earlier in the reduced items bin and reminded of this thread so had to make one for dinner.
Fresh baked baguette out of oven, lashing of butter and 90g of brie. By time you make tea the brie melts.
675 -700 calories. Good if you're famished but not for everyday consumption.