Armagh vs Doire has been confirmed for Saturday 24th May
🏆 All-Ireland Round Robin Series | Rnd 1
🆚 Doire
🗓� Sat 24 May
⏰ 5pm
🏟� BOX-IT Athletic Grounds
🎟� Ticket info to come as received
A very obvious potential banana skin for Armagh, Derry sitting in the long grass fresh as paint waiting to ambush us. Have the Derry injuries cleared up?
I get the feeling there'll be zero Ulster Final hangover and we'll be well motivated tho.
Hopefully at the Box-it ground there will be no boxing
I really hope Derry can muster enough in this group to knock Dublin out.
I have a sneaky feeling Dublin can go to Salthill and win this weekend though.
Have a feeling ourselves and Donegal will get it tight enough against our Ulster opposition in the first games.
Derry are fresh and well rested, I'd say they have plenty of bodies back from the league game, however both ourselves and Donegal are fecking hard to beat at home. Think if we have close to a full deck we'll have too much for them.
A huge ask for our lads to get themselves back at it again and get the minds and bodies right, a few lads definitely weren't 100% against Donegal, but Aaron, Joe and Rian could possibly feature against Derry.
Armagh were rather subdued in the last two years in the first game against Westmeath, but very much got their act together against Derry. This year they need to skip the easy going stage. Even score difference might become relevant so there should be no easing up.
Quote from: armaghniac on May 13, 2025, 11:10:05 PMArmagh were rather subdued in the last two years in the first game against Westmeath, but very much got their act together against Derry. This year they need to skip the easy going stage. Even score difference might become relevant so there should be no easing up.
Any type of win the first day out after another Ulster final loss will take, wouldn't be thinking too much about score difference at this stage. Armagh should not be taking Derry lightly and this is certainly not a game that they can ease into or they will get caught out. If Armagh bring the level of performance they brought to Westmeath game in 2023/2024 they will not win the game.
There's little talk about Derry and that will suit them. 2011 was similar story in Ulster semi final Armagh expected to win and Eoin Bradley gave Armagh the run around in emphatic Derry win. There will be a few scores to settle from a Derry perspective following recent league game also.
Quote from: statto on May 14, 2025, 08:03:22 AMQuote from: armaghniac on May 13, 2025, 11:10:05 PMArmagh were rather subdued in the last two years in the first game against Westmeath, but very much got their act together against Derry. This year they need to skip the easy going stage. Even score difference might become relevant so there should be no easing up.
Any type of win the first day out after another Ulster final loss will take, wouldn't be thinking too much about score difference at this stage. Armagh should not be taking Derry lightly and this is certainly not a game that they can ease into or they will get caught out. If Armagh bring the level of performance they brought to Westmeath game in 2023/2024 they will not win the game.
There's little talk about Derry and that will suit them. 2011 was similar story in Ulster semi final Armagh expected to win and Eoin Bradley gave Armagh the run around in emphatic Derry win. There will be a few scores to settle from a Derry perspective following recent league game also.
Big question after the final is what sort of state the Armagh (and Donegal) squad will be in with regards to injuries and knocks especially after the extra-time and the afters.
Quote from: statto on May 14, 2025, 08:03:22 AMQuote from: armaghniac on May 13, 2025, 11:10:05 PMArmagh were rather subdued in the last two years in the first game against Westmeath, but very much got their act together against Derry. This year they need to skip the easy going stage. Even score difference might become relevant so there should be no easing up.
Armagh hold all the cards here.
Derry have gone through a prolonged period of turmoil with managers and injuries, whereas Armagh have had stability, 2 teams worth of 1st team players on the bench and an AI title.
Derry haven't suddenly become a bad team, but the odds are heavily stacked against them in this group.
The expectation will be on Armagh to win.
The hope will be that Derry win ;D
Tickets just went on sale. No stand tickets.
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:02:27 PMTickets just went on sale. No stand tickets.
Just had an elderly relative message to say the same thing.
Will there be seating tickets available at a later date?
Quote from: Taylor on May 14, 2025, 03:07:02 PMQuote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:02:27 PMTickets just went on sale. No stand tickets.
Season ticket holders and corporate gigs will get the bulk of them.
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:02:27 PMTickets just went on sale. No stand tickets.
Only stand tickets on sale. I can't work out if I can get behind the goals. Ticketing system not helpful at all.
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:10:38 PMQuote from: Taylor on May 14, 2025, 03:07:02 PMQuote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:02:27 PMTickets just went on sale. No stand tickets.
Wouldnt have expected Derry to have many. Armagh must have plenty of ST
Quote from: Taylor on May 14, 2025, 03:57:44 PMQuote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:10:38 PMQuote from: Taylor on May 14, 2025, 03:07:02 PMQuote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:02:27 PMTickets just went on sale. No stand tickets.
These games are usually general admission, if you wish to sit in the stand then go early, before 4pm.
Quote from: armaghniac on May 14, 2025, 04:18:25 PMQuote from: Taylor on May 14, 2025, 03:57:44 PMQuote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:10:38 PMQuote from: Taylor on May 14, 2025, 03:07:02 PMQuote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 14, 2025, 03:02:27 PMTickets just went on sale. No stand tickets.
These games are usually general admission, if you wish to sit in the stand then go early, before 4pm.
No that's not right. Stand is reserved seating. Terrace is general admission
Quote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 06:21:12 PMNo that's not right. Stand is reserved seating. Terrace is general admission
So how many group games have you attended in the Athletic grounds, exactly?
Quote from: armaghniac on May 14, 2025, 06:52:36 PMQuote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 06:21:12 PMNo that's not right. Stand is reserved seating. Terrace is general admission
Seating is reserved for now. It is the same in ballybofey. Maybe some released closer to time
Quote from: armaghniac on May 14, 2025, 06:52:36 PMQuote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 06:21:12 PMNo that's not right. Stand is reserved seating. Terrace is general admission
None yet, because there haven't been any. Just bought one through my season ticket, and it's reserved. You are a bit of an angry individual
Quote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 07:13:50 PMQuote from: armaghniac on May 14, 2025, 06:52:36 PMQuote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 06:21:12 PMNo that's not right. Stand is reserved seating. Terrace is general admission
None yet, because there haven't been any. Just bought one through my season ticket, and it's reserved. You are a bit of an angry individual
I said that it was usually general admission and that the equivalent games in the last two years were. I could not have said how a ticket yet to be available would work. It seems a bit of a mess, if they have both reserved tickets and general admission tickets. It also seems odd that the discount 3 pack are general admission and the full price tickets are terrace.
Is the game definitely not on TV or is there a chance BBC might show it?
Quote from: screenexile on May 14, 2025, 11:14:29 PMIs the game definitely not on TV or is there a chance BBC might show it?
Should be on gaa plus I think.
Quote from: screenexile on May 14, 2025, 11:14:29 PMIs the game definitely not on TV or is there a chance BBC might show it?
If it isn't being shown live on TV, am I right in saying that the hooter won't be used?
Quote from: armaghniac on May 14, 2025, 07:41:58 PMQuote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 07:13:50 PMQuote from: armaghniac on May 14, 2025, 06:52:36 PMQuote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 06:21:12 PMNo that's not right. Stand is reserved seating. Terrace is general admission
I said that it was usually general admission and that the equivalent games in the last two years were. I could not have said how a ticket yet to be available would work. It seems a bit of a mess, if they have both reserved tickets and general admission tickets. It also seems odd that the discount 3 pack are general admission and the full price tickets are terrace.
I bought 4 x adult and 1 x juvenile 3 pack and they are allocated seating in the stand. Although I bought it through my account linked to our season tickets so not sure where match packages not linked to a ST will be allocated to
Quote from: RY93 on May 15, 2025, 09:45:54 PMQuote from: armaghniac on May 14, 2025, 07:41:58 PMQuote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 07:13:50 PMQuote from: armaghniac on May 14, 2025, 06:52:36 PMQuote from: seanaglis on May 14, 2025, 06:21:12 PMNo that's not right. Stand is reserved seating. Terrace is general admission
I bought 4 x adult and 1 x juvenile 3 pack and they are allocated seating in the stand. Although I bought it through my account linked to our season tickets so not sure where match packages not linked to a ST will be allocated to
Did the same, same email as ST account, just logged in there and see they've allocated me seats in Row C, block 102 ... down near the corner flag, not much advantage there. The ticketing system is very poor, they just take the choice out of your hands and stick you wherever.
We're in section 111, Row L. Not as bad but still not great. There were better seats in section 109 available yesterday if I bought the tickets as a single match but we'll be at all 3 Derry games anyways so the 3 match package was better value albeit you're taking a risk for decent seats.
Quote from: RY93 on May 15, 2025, 11:46:40 PMWe're in section 111, Row L. Not as bad but still not great. There were better seats in section 109 available yesterday if I bought the tickets as a single match but we'll be at all 3 Derry games anyways so the 3 match package was better value albeit you're taking a risk for decent seats.
Agree. I think if I was doing it again, I'd forgo the 3 package option and just buy for each match, at least you could pick a seat.
Derry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
Quote from: balladmaker on May 16, 2025, 12:02:36 PMAgree. I think if I was doing it again, I'd forgo the 3 package option and just buy for each match, at least you could pick a seat.
One imagines that there will not be a 3 match option next year, but even if there was then who knows what the system would be with seats as there is no consistent policy; sometimes you can pick a seat, sometimes it just gives you one. Sometimes you could have chosen a seat or a terrace (which might suit someone wanting to join other people), sometimes you cannot.
Quote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
I hear they gave a near full strength Monaghan a hiding last week in a behind closed doors match?
Quote from: David McKeown on May 16, 2025, 06:19:22 PMQuote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
I hear they gave a near full strength Monaghan a hiding last week in a behind closed doors match?
I heard Derry have been unstoppable on the challenge match circuit.
Beat a full strength Longford well too.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 16, 2025, 06:40:41 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 16, 2025, 06:19:22 PMQuote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
I heard Derry have been unstoppable on the challenge match circuit.
Beat a full strength Longford well too.
The over 40's also hammered Armagh, so 4/1 looks a good price
I've said this many times over the years and no matter how good or bad Armagh are they always do things the hard way...I'm expecting a very tough game on Sat evening from Derry and this Derry team are not finished by no stretch. 12 months ago people were talking about them winning SAM so for me they'll need Armagh to be at their best to beat them. They've had plenty of time to rest, train, tactics and get injured players back so they'll be very dangerous come Sat nite. Anyone who thinks this is gonna be easy or Derry or just gonna roll over are not right in the head...
The games at the weekend show that the teams that have been training for a few weeks away from the limelight and provincial finals are doing very well in the first round. I'd be very worried about Saturday evening.
Quote from: mackers on May 19, 2025, 10:18:23 AMThe games at the weekend show that the teams that have been training for a few weeks away from the limelight and provincial finals are doing very well in the first round. I'd be very worried about Saturday evening.
If Derry do manage to beat Armagh the group will be box office. Hard to see it though.
Ah lads, no point being cute hoors now.. Sure youse have 30+ starting 15 level players and everyone on here has stated we'll not win a game and finish bottom of the group. This is David v Goliath on a football pitch. I'm going just to get out of the house for the day
Quote from: illdecide on May 19, 2025, 10:12:47 AMI've said this many times over the years and no matter how good or bad Armagh are they always do things the hard way...I'm expecting a very tough game on Sat evening from Derry and this Derry team are not finished by no stretch. 12 months ago people were talking about them winning SAM so for me they'll need Armagh to be at their best to beat them. They've had plenty of time to rest, train, tactics and get injured players back so they'll be very dangerous come Sat nite. Anyone who thinks this is gonna be easy or Derry or just gonna roll over are not right in the head...
Derry have known that they would be playing one of Donegal or Armagh and will have had a good look at the teams at the Ulster final.
I just hope that recent results remove any sense of complacency, I don't think the talk is of it being easy. In some ways playing the likes of Cavan would have been more dangerous as we would not have seen a big performance coming from them, whereas most people do expect it from Derry.
The current forecast is rain on Saturday evening, this would be a pity after such good weather.
Quote from: JoG2 on May 19, 2025, 10:24:28 AMAh lads, no point being cute hoors now.. Sure youse have 30+ starting 15 level players and everyone on here has stated we'll not win a game and finish bottom of the group. This is David v Goliath on a football pitch. I'm going just to get out of the house for the day
No one is TBH, this will be a tight hard match that could go either way. In a way Derry have nothing to lose as they're expected to lose (except within Derry) so they have a free shot and they didn't become a bad team over night...
Yous Armagh lads are a good laugh I'll give yous that!
For about 3 years yous have been boasting about how strong the panel is, that yous have 2 maybe 3 first teams sitting on the bench.
You've now won an AI.
Some of the same posters would have scoffed at Derry's AI aspirations, even after 2 Ulsters and a near miss in an AISF, as we don't have the forwards or the depth and our injury crisis over the last year along with the managerial merry-go-round has backed yous up in that thinking.
Now all of a sudden, Derry are going to put it up to yous? ;D
Derry are still missing at least 2 of their of their best defensive players in McKinless and McCloskey with support players like Gilmore out for the year.
We're missing our first choice keeper with no obvious backup.
Glass was playing injured against Donegal last day out.
Murray, Loughlin, Rogers, McGrogan all returning from serious or long term injuries.
If Armagh don't win they may give up!
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 19, 2025, 10:48:16 AMYous Armagh lads are a good laugh I'll give yous that!
For about 3 years yous have been boasting about how strong the panel is, that yous have 2 maybe 3 first teams sitting on the bench.
You've now won an AI.
Some of the same posters would have scoffed at Derry's AI aspirations, even after 2 Ulsters and a near miss in an AISF, as we don't have the forwards or the depth and our injury crisis over the last year along with the managerial merry-go-round has backed yous up in that thinking.
Derry are still missing at least 2 of their of their best defensive players in McKinless and McCloskey with support players like Gilmore out for the year.
Murray, Loughlin, Rogers, McGrogan all returning from serious or long term injuries.
Is Lynch not fully fit & has played in the challenge games?
Quote from: illdecide on May 19, 2025, 10:42:58 AMQuote from: JoG2 on May 19, 2025, 10:24:28 AMAh lads, no point being cute hoors now.. Sure youse have 30+ starting 15 level players and everyone on here has stated we'll not win a game and finish bottom of the group. This is David v Goliath on a football pitch. I'm going just to get out of the house for the day
No one is TBH, this will be a tight hard match that could go either way. In a way Derry have nothing to lose as they're expected to lose (except within Derry) so they have a free shot and they didn't become a bad team over night...
Eh... yes they did.
hurson is the ref for this one
if either side has designs on going far this is a must win game otherwise it will be a short summer.
would like to see grimley start in the middle of the park for armagh
like others was shocked at how flat both galway amd mayo were last weekend so its essential Armagh are up for the fight
Quote from: David McKeown on May 16, 2025, 06:19:22 PMQuote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
All talk about Derrys recent form alright, have finally adjusted to the new rules and absolutely flying it. Hurson in charge makes this game a bit of lottery also.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2025, 01:36:07 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 16, 2025, 06:19:22 PMQuote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
All talk about Derrys recent form alright, have finally adjusted to the new rules and absolutely flying it. Hurson in charge makes this game a bit of lottery also.
Not sure being cute suits you boys ;)
Sure did Cork not beat us by 10 in a recent challenge game?
Expect Armagh to win by a similar margin.
Quote from: oakleaflad on May 19, 2025, 01:41:41 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2025, 01:36:07 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 16, 2025, 06:19:22 PMQuote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
:)
that's what the white smoke was @ Owenbeg, confirmation we've "finally adjusted to the new rules"...4/1 somebody said, Derry's to lose?? Might stay in the Armagh City Hotel on Sat night
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 19, 2025, 10:48:16 AMYous Armagh lads are a good laugh I'll give yous that!
You've now won an AI.
Don't think anyone said Armagh had had 2/3 first teams sitting on the bench? Plenty of Armagh posters would have said that they had alot of players of same ability from 16-30 which I believe is the case, something which Derry have not been able to achieve despite always being strong at underage consistently.
Is McKinless not the obvious back up now that the outfield player in goal wasn't fruitful in the league?
Quote from: JoG2 on May 19, 2025, 01:57:16 PMQuote from: oakleaflad on May 19, 2025, 01:41:41 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2025, 01:36:07 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 16, 2025, 06:19:22 PMQuote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
that's what the white smoke was @ Owenbeg, confirmation we've "finally adjusted to the new rules"...4/1 somebody said, Derry's to lose?? Might stay in the Armagh City Hotel on Sat night
Order a bottle of bubbly on ice you'll need to specify the brand, size, and which room number you'd like it delivered to.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2025, 04:07:49 PMQuote from: JoG2 on May 19, 2025, 01:57:16 PMQuote from: oakleaflad on May 19, 2025, 01:41:41 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2025, 01:36:07 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 16, 2025, 06:19:22 PMQuote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
Order a bottle of bubbly on ice you'll need to specify the brand, size, and which room number you'd like it delivered to.
Moet / magnum / honeymoon suite (in Armagh I'd say it's a bidet that is the difference between a honeymoon suite and a standard room)
Quote from: JoG2 on May 19, 2025, 05:58:54 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2025, 04:07:49 PMQuote from: JoG2 on May 19, 2025, 01:57:16 PMQuote from: oakleaflad on May 19, 2025, 01:41:41 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2025, 01:36:07 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 16, 2025, 06:19:22 PMQuote from: seafoid on May 16, 2025, 01:12:11 PMDerry are 4/1. Not a bad price if they are in the right mood after all that time off. Now the real championship starts.
Moet / magnum / honeymoon suite (in Armagh I'd say it's a bidet that is the difference between a honeymoon suite and a standard room)
Rose petals on the bed for herself? Derry to be a real thorn in Armagh's side this weekend.
Let's be honest, everyone knows that Armagh have this game sown up. It's their game to lose and would take a bottling of extreme magnitude not to seal the deal on Saturday.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 19, 2025, 07:18:04 PMLet's be honest, everyone knows that Armagh have this game sown up. It's their game to lose and would take a bottling of extreme magnitude not to seal the deal on Saturday.
Ah here you're right, Derry be as well not even show up..
Match not on TV?
If Cavan can beat Mayo, then Derry can beat Armagh.
Not seen us this year. We been awful since the Donegal game last year. The management and Goalkeeper situation never resolved to a point people be happy with. No. of players refusing invites, and panel members dropping out. Injury list. Derry season i think be dependant on Dublin attitude in the last game and trying get sthing out of the Home game. We go out zonal marking on kickouts Armagh will eat us alive like the league game.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 19, 2025, 08:58:08 PMNot seen us this year. We been awful since the Donegal game last year. The management and Goalkeeper situation never resolved to a point people be happy with. No. of players refusing invites, and panel members dropping out. Injury list. Derry season i think be dependant on Dublin attitude in the last game and trying get sthing out of the Home game. We go out zonal marking on kickouts Armagh will eat us alive like the league game.
You think Dublin might take their foot off the pedal if they're already qualified. That isn't likely in the least because it's so important to top the group and get a week off before the qfs. We need a massive performance this week even if we lose by only a few points. If we get a stuffing it'll be hard to compete in the last 2 games as the confidence is already shot to pieces.
Quote from: lenny on May 19, 2025, 09:21:54 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 19, 2025, 08:58:08 PMNot seen us this year. We been awful since the Donegal game last year. The management and Goalkeeper situation never resolved to a point people be happy with. No. of players refusing invites, and panel members dropping out. Injury list. Derry season i think be dependant on Dublin attitude in the last game and trying get sthing out of the Home game. We go out zonal marking on kickouts Armagh will eat us alive like the league game.
You think Dublin might take their foot off the pedal if they're already qualified. That isn't likely in the least because it's so important to top the group and get a week off before the qfs. We need a massive performance this week even if we lose by only a few points. If we get a stuffing it'll be hard to compete in the last 2 games as the confidence is already shot to pieces.
Bad job this game isn't being televised
Quote from: lenny on May 19, 2025, 09:21:54 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 19, 2025, 08:58:08 PMNot seen us this year. We been awful since the Donegal game last year. The management and Goalkeeper situation never resolved to a point people be happy with. No. of players refusing invites, and panel members dropping out. Injury list. Derry season i think be dependant on Dublin attitude in the last game and trying get sthing out of the Home game. We go out zonal marking on kickouts Armagh will eat us alive like the league game.
My maths isn't great, but I think the following is correct.
If Dublin beat Armagh, they'll be guaranteed to finish above both Armagh and Galway.
If that's the case, we'll have to have at least one point before the Dublin game otherwise we're already out.
I know feck all about football, but I think we might get something on Saturday.
Depending on other results Dublin could already have top spot by the last game.
Quote from: illdecide on May 19, 2025, 10:42:58 AMthey didn't become a bad team over night...
I'm not so sure about that! They've won one and drawn two competitive fixtures in the last 13 months after barely losing for 3 years!
Maybe not overnight, but maybe over a week in Portugal!!
Quote from: RandyDupree on May 19, 2025, 08:35:52 PMMatch not on TV?
No. If you listen to the many southern media podcasts, you'll quickly realise it's all about Dublin, Galway and Kerry. All Ireland champs starting the defence of their title at a packed home stadium in what has the makings of a great game, you'd have thought someone would carry it.
Quote from: balladmaker on May 20, 2025, 08:19:19 AMQuote from: RandyDupree on May 19, 2025, 08:35:52 PMMatch not on TV?
No. If you listen to the many southern media podcasts, you'll quickly realise it's all about Dublin, Galway and Kerry. All Ireland champs starting the defence of their title at a packed home stadium in what has the makings of a great game, you'd have thought someone would carry it.
Any of you lads be able to work your magic by getting a live link to the game?
Heard Wooly on the Smaller Fish Podcast saying someone sent him a link for a game before that wasn't televised; presume there was no commentary or that though.
Quote from: balladmaker on May 20, 2025, 08:19:19 AMQuote from: RandyDupree on May 19, 2025, 08:35:52 PMMatch not on TV?
Totally agree, it's a game between the 2024 AI champions and the 2024 league champions. Derry have been in freefall ever since but how it hasn't been picked for tv is staggering.
Quote from: lenny on May 20, 2025, 09:58:05 AMQuote from: balladmaker on May 20, 2025, 08:19:19 AMQuote from: RandyDupree on May 19, 2025, 08:35:52 PMMatch not on TV?
Totally agree, it's a game between the 2024 AI champions and the 2024 league champions. Derry have been in freefall ever since but how it hasn't been picked for tv is staggering.
In the era of GAA+ what exactly is the policy on showing games? There is no real limit on the number that you can show, showing games does not greatly reduce actual attendance (look at the Munster hurling games). Is GAA+ to make money? Is GAA+ to promote the games? Might GAA+ have a role showing games for older people etc who cannot go (it does not seem to have this role)?
Even if it has a role making money then a popular game would bring in money. In these groups people from other counties in a group might watch a game in the group.
They need a coherent plan about what they are at.
Is Derry's position within the top tier in Ulster on the line this weekend.
If they suffer another defeat this weekend would be hard to make a case for them to be within the top 6 in Ulster.
1. Donegal
2. Armagh
3. Tyrone
4. Monaghan
5. Down
6. Cavan
7. Derry
8. Fermnanagh
9. Antrim
Above is the way i'd see it unless Derry can muster something on Saturday.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 20, 2025, 10:33:59 AMIs Derry's position within the top tier in Ulster on the line this weekend.
If they suffer another defeat this weekend would be hard to make a case for them to be within the top 6 in Ulster.
1. Donegal
2. Armagh
3. Tyrone
4. Monaghan
5. Down
6. Cavan
7. Derry
8. Fermnanagh
9. Antrim
Derry would beat Down and Cavan out the gate.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 20, 2025, 10:33:59 AMIs Derry's position within the top tier in Ulster on the line this weekend.
1. Donegal
2. Armagh
3. Tyrone
4. Monaghan
5. Down
6. Cavan
7. Derry
8. Fermnanagh
9. Antrim
If we aren't beating Armagh at half time there is a case for Antrim to be above us as well.
It's a strange call. Only what 4 senior games that weekend? U20 final as well? Sure TG4 covered plenty in the past. Likely not on due to greed.
Match not even on the Beeb? Maybe RTE / GAA+ not covering it for this reason?
Chances are game was going to be near a sell out anyway - at the very least a very big crowd. Of all the games to choose, there is little logic in not televising it.
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 11:01:39 AMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 20, 2025, 10:33:59 AMIs Derry's position within the top tier in Ulster on the line this weekend.
1. Donegal
2. Armagh
3. Tyrone
4. Monaghan
5. Down
6. Cavan
7. Derry
8. Fermnanagh
9. Antrim
Derry would beat Down and Cavan out the gate.
Only half messing; I reckon they'd beat Cavan by 4 or 5 the way they are now; I'd say they'd struggle over Down if they played them this weekend; Derry needed a game against the likes of a Clare to get the confidence going again.
Quote from: mouview on May 20, 2025, 11:41:55 AMMatch not even on the Beeb? Maybe RTE / GAA+ not covering it for this reason?
Quote from: APM on May 20, 2025, 11:50:32 AMChances are game was going to be near a sell out anyway - at the very least a very big crowd. Of all the games to choose, there is little logic in not televising it.
The BBC had rights to the Ulster championship, but not to these games. Again there wouldn't have been any flexibility in this, clearly the games on Saturday between Ulster counties would have been of particular interest to them.
Celtic park was not sold out last year, as I recall.
Maybe it's punishment for the Armagh antics at the end of the Ulster final? ;D ;)
Did any suspensions follow that? Really surprising if nothing was done about it.
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 20, 2025, 12:24:15 PMMaybe it's punishment for the Armagh antics at the end of the Ulster final? ;D ;)
Did any suspensions follow that? Really surprising if nothing was done about it.
would be gobsmacked if there were any suspensions. While the players throwing the punches (cat IV 2 game suspension) would be known to people, unless footage clearly shows them striking, it'll be dropped imo...four or 5 men piling into a man with his hands held out isn't a good look , but as I say, they'll live to fight in the next round.
Quote from: JoG2 on May 20, 2025, 12:47:25 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 20, 2025, 12:24:15 PMMaybe it's punishment for the Armagh antics at the end of the Ulster final? ;D ;)
would be gobsmacked if there were any suspensions. While the players throwing the punches (cat IV 2 game suspension) would be known to people, unless footage clearly shows them striking, it'll be dropped imo...four or 5 men piling into a man with his hands held out isn't a good look , but as I say, they'll live to fight in the next round.
Isn't there a rule where they can't used mobile phone footage? Anyway, no way to tell who did what from that video, would expect it to be either a fine or nothing. Derry and Tyrone ones seem to be worried about it
The Armagh and Tyrone match not on tv was a strange call as well.
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 01:38:20 PMQuote from: JoG2 on May 20, 2025, 12:47:25 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 20, 2025, 12:24:15 PMMaybe it's punishment for the Armagh antics at the end of the Ulster final? ;D ;)
Isn't there a rule where they can't used mobile phone footage? Anyway, no way to tell who did what from that video, would expect it to be either a fine or nothing. Derry and Tyrone ones seem to be worried about it
We cant all have the president of the gaa protecting us.
Fines only.
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 03:21:33 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 01:38:20 PMQuote from: JoG2 on May 20, 2025, 12:47:25 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 20, 2025, 12:24:15 PMMaybe it's punishment for the Armagh antics at the end of the Ulster final? ;D ;)
Now now manys the Tyrone man got away with suspension overturned and stuff through the years.
And really, do you think Jarlath is sending emails out telling the CCC or whoever it is not to be handing out band because it's Armagh?
Wouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were thrown out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
If RG was involved in the management of that, then I'd be very surprised there wasn't bans handed out ;)
Ban all of their "supporters" for one match. That would put manners on them. It's clearly not safe for our players to go to Armagh on Saturday evening.
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 20, 2025, 07:33:46 PMBan all of their "supporters" for one match. That would put manners on them. It's clearly not safe for our players to go to Armagh on Saturday evening.
If they are not coming would they please tell us, as I do not want to get wet.
Quote from: armaghniac on May 20, 2025, 07:37:37 PMQuote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 20, 2025, 07:33:46 PMBan all of their "supporters" for one match. That would put manners on them. It's clearly not safe for our players to go to Armagh on Saturday evening.
If they are not coming would they please tell us, as I do not want to get wet.
The c***ts didn't turn up the last 2 times we played them either!
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 04:59:17 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 03:21:33 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 01:38:20 PMQuote from: JoG2 on May 20, 2025, 12:47:25 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 20, 2025, 12:24:15 PMMaybe it's punishment for the Armagh antics at the end of the Ulster final? ;D ;)
Now now manys the Tyrone man got away with suspension overturned and stuff through the years.
And really, do you think Jarlath is sending emails out telling the CCC or whoever it is not to be handing out band because it's Armagh?
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 04:59:17 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 03:21:33 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 01:38:20 PMQuote from: JoG2 on May 20, 2025, 12:47:25 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 20, 2025, 12:24:15 PMMaybe it's punishment for the Armagh antics at the end of the Ulster final? ;D ;)
I don't remember tyrone players getting of for a group of them assaulting a single player before.
Also dont remember the guards having to come on the field to break a fight up before.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
In all seriousness good luck to the gaa trying to enforce retrospective action again in future when they clearly turned a blind eye to what can only be described as assault to a donegal player.
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
In all seriousness good luck to the gaa trying to enforce retrospective action again in future when they clearly turned a blind eye to what can only be described as assault to a donegal player.
Cry me a river.
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
The heat of the redners from the 4 or 5 Armagh hard men sprinting and striking a single Donegal man standing still should dry that river sharpish
Quote from: JoG2 on May 20, 2025, 11:04:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
The heat of the redners from the 4 or 5 Armagh hard men sprinting and striking a single Donegal man standing still should dry that river sharpish
https://youtu.be/jpHa9DZETpk?si=8Klip8mspsVC0YMK
Reminds me of this old classic
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 20, 2025, 11:13:15 PMQuote from: JoG2 on May 20, 2025, 11:04:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
https://youtu.be/jpHa9DZETpk?si=8Klip8mspsVC0YMK
Reminds me of this old classic
Have to admit that was funny tho Peter had the last laugh that summer 🏆
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Immature reponse. I personally dont believe any action would make any difference to Armagh's season but I think it is ridiculous that nothing is being done here. It was assault in broad daylight. I dont believe its a conspiracy that Burns isnt looking into it just because its Armagh. But it does make you wonder where his priorities lie
Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Immature reponse. I personally dont believe any action would make any difference to Armagh's season but I think it is ridiculous that nothing is being done here. It was assault in broad daylight. I dont believe its a conspiracy that Burns isnt looking into it just because its Armagh. But it does make you wonder where his priorities lie
Is Burns expected to personally over see all cases of rows at games?
Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Setting aside the teams involved for a minute we all have heard numerous stories over the years of lads killing each other with one punch. If this ever happened on a GAA pitch I think it would have serious repercussions for the GAA. I know of at least 2 incidents where young lads were killed by one punch never mind that punch coming from a 13-14 stone athlete.
Before Burns was voted in I had hoped that the GAA would clear up the rule book and close the numerous loop holds where players were getting off with technicalities, unfortunately he seems to have other priorities although I have not a clue what they are supposed to be.
Cry me a river.
maybe he is looking into the comments by said Donegal player????
The reality is
1 the ref nor linesmen saw it
2 it was a poor quality mobile phone video
3 people weren't even sure who actually struck as 2/3 names bandied about
A fine was the only thing that could stick as a good lawyer would have certainly gotten any suspensions revoked .
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Another silly response. All cases? No. Major ones like this in the intercounty championship? Yes.
Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:41:48 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Another silly response. All cases? No. Major ones like this in the intercounty championship? Yes.
Has any president ever previously? Genuine question, is there not a whole separate committee who deal with incidents like that? Would you be expecting Jarlath to get involved if it was Cork and Clare in a row?
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:43:37 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:41:48 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Has any president ever previously? Genuine question, is there not a whole separate committee who deal with incidents like that? Would you be expecting Jarlath to get involved if it was Cork and Clare in a row?
Anytime the guards have to get involved in a match the president should be looking into it. This wasnt some flash in the pan row on the pitch during a game. This was a large group of players going at it at the end of a match with supporters on the pitch as the same time. The potential for serious injury was huge due to kids being on the pitch.
Yes in this instance I would expect the GAA president to speak out as this was a seriously poor reflection on Gaelic games in general.
We can poke a bit of fun at our neighbors now and again but I would have expected some response given how bad it looked.
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:43:37 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:41:48 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Im not sure if there was ever a precedent for the president telling clubs who they should and shouldnt hire, so maybe thats not the best angle to approach this form.
Regardless if it is Jarlath himself or some separate committee, incidents like this need to be investigated. "Cry me a river" is a ridiculous response to assault.
Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:51:06 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:43:37 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:41:48 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Im not sure if there was ever a precedent for the president telling clubs who they should and shouldnt hire, so maybe thats not the best angle to approach this form.
Regardless if it is Jarlath himself or some separate committee, incidents like this need to be investigated. "Cry me a river" is a ridiculous response to assault.
Knew that would be mentioned and for the record Jarlath was 100% wrong there imo but he had his reasons and is sticking to them in fairness to him.
"Assault" Jesus it was a boy mouthing off getting a deserved box, nothing more to it, the world would be a better place if more got it.
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 09:01:05 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:51:06 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:43:37 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:41:48 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Knew that would be mentioned and for the record Jarlath was 100% wrong there imo but he had his reasons and is sticking to them in fairness to him.
"Assault" Jesus it was a boy mouthing off getting a deserved box, nothing more to it, the world would be a better place if more got it.
And i knew this would be mentioned.
The victim was 100% acting the fool and I dont defend his actions, but that doesnt warrant an assault. I really dont know how anyone could defend this.
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 21, 2025, 08:48:50 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:43:37 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 08:41:48 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Anytime the guards have to get involved in a match the president should be looking into it. This wasnt some flash in the pan row on the pitch during a game. This was a large group of players going at it at the end of a match with supporters on the pitch as the same time. The potential for serious injury was huge due to kids being on the pitch.
Yes in this instance I would expect the GAA president to speak out as this was a seriously poor reflection on Gaelic games in general.
We can poke a bit of fun at our neighbors now and again but I would have expected some response given how bad it looked.
When Casement re-opens will the Guard's scoot up the road to manage the Armagh crew?
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 08:10:25 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
I've seen this narrative gathering legs and I'm calling bullshit on it. I know 2 Derry men v close to the player, both army men based in Finner. OMF is surrounded daily by men from Derry and Tyrone and has served overseas with these men.
He goaded the Armagh bench, much like Armagh men had during the game on several occasions. Did the Donegal men assault these Armagh players, no, they behaved like adults.
The defending of this thuggery has to stop, it's an absolute blight on the game
Quote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:13:00 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 08:10:25 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
I've seen this narrative gathering legs and I'm calling bullshit on it. I know 2 Derry men v close to the player, both army men based in Finner. OMF is surrounded daily by men from Derry and Tyrone and has served overseas with these men.
He goaded the Armagh bench, much like Armagh men had during the game on several occasions. Did the Donegal men assault these Armagh players, no, they behaved like adults.
There was no need for him to celebrate in front of the bench go celebrate with your team mates and be a good winner if he does this the incident doesn't escalate simple. Because he works with people from Derry/Tyrone does that mean he wouldn't be capable of saying something inappropriate?
Armagh players should have not reacted and used that as fuel should they meet Donegal later on in the year.
Looking forward to the game should bring a good crowd especially with no TV coverage. Probably difficult at this stage to know where Derry are at and who they have/haven't available. The results and performances of teams last weekend against the provincial losers should give them confidence,
Quote from: statto on May 21, 2025, 10:41:26 AMQuote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:13:00 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 08:10:25 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
There was no need for him to celebrate in front of the bench go celebrate with your team mates and be a good winner if he does this the incident doesn't escalate simple. Because he works with people from Derry/Tyrone does that mean he wouldn't be capable of saying something inappropriate?
Armagh players should have not reacted and used that as fuel should they meet Donegal later on in the year.
Looking forward to the game should bring a good crowd especially with no TV coverage. Probably difficult at this stage to know where Derry are at and who they have/haven't available. The results and performances of teams last weekend against the provincial losers should give them confidence,
Join the club! We'll know shortly after throw in
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Possibly not - but he did take it on himself previously to get involved in a case of alleged wrongdoing, whereas in this case there was obvious televised assault which you could argue tarnishes the reputation of the organisation. Why should he not get involved this time to call out how unacceptable this is?
It's absolutely ridiculous that nothing has been done about this. As someone else said, if it's not clear how the players were the counties should be asked for their names, and should be kicked out if they refuse to comply. As it is now, its ok for subs to run on and deck someone if they don't like what they're doing on the pitch.
Quote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:45:37 AMQuote from: statto on May 21, 2025, 10:41:26 AMQuote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:13:00 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 08:10:25 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Join the club! We'll know shortly after throw in
Can it go to penalties? ;D
I'd find it hard to call bullshit on it considering what I heard from multiple Donegal supporters on the day. But I'd be willing to give the lad the benefit of the doubt in terms of what exact words he used.
I'm very surprised that action hasnt been taken. I can only conclude that they dont have decent footage and officials didnt see it... which again, is astonishing.
I can understand him getting a box, but there still should be consequences for that action.
Quote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:13:00 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 08:10:25 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
this sound very much like the "I have black friends" argument
FWIW, I have no idea what was actually said and I was being tongue in cheek with my comment in response to the previous posters about Burns priorities
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 11:02:10 AMQuote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:13:00 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 08:10:25 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
FWIW, I have no idea what was actually said and I was being tongue in cheek with my comment in response to the previous posters about Burns priorities
I'll take your argument and raise it with Armagh players' 'convenient' argument
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 21, 2025, 10:48:12 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Possibly not - but he did take it on himself previously to get involved in a case of alleged wrongdoing, whereas in this case there was obvious televised assault which you could argue tarnishes the reputation of the organisation. Why should he not get involved this time to call out how unacceptable this is?
It's absolutely ridiculous that nothing has been done about this. As someone else said, if it's not clear how the players were the counties should be asked for their names, and should be kicked out if they refuse to comply. As it is now, its ok for subs to run on and deck someone if they don't like what they're doing on the pitch.
As I understand it's a fine only for Armagh. No idea about Donegal.
That said surely the obvious answer to your first point is he shouldn't have gotten involved in RG and to get involved here would be to undermine a quasi independent body within the association.
On the second point there are admittedly very restrictive procedures in place to deal with these. Following those procedures the appropriate body made a ruling. If that determination is unpopular then the appropriate response is to petition club reps to change those procedures in the correct manner. It's not for the President to get involved on an ad hoc basis.
Back to the football sure.
I reckon this is a tough game for Armagh to begin with. Pressure is on them to secure a result, as on paper, this is probably the only one were they would be out and out favorites.
Having beat Derry convincingly twice in the past 12 months, Derry in theory should be chomping at the bit to get at Armagh and try and restore some pride.
Realistically, it may be the only game where they could secure a result also. Although its the first of three games, its probably the most important for both.
Quote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 12:09:31 PMQuote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 11:02:10 AMQuote from: JoG2 on May 21, 2025, 10:13:00 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on May 21, 2025, 08:10:25 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
I'll take your argument and raise it with Armagh players' 'convenient' argument
you are still using the "I cant be racist, I have black friends argument." Deflect all you want.
Armagh players should have ignored the ejit IMO but they didnt and will have to deal with the consequences.
The whole thing is very strange. The red card given to the Cork player in the extra time game against Kerry has been upheld. FFS it was at most a yellow however CCCC has upheld it and the player now misses a game.
Make it up as you go along.
Quote from: David McKeown on May 21, 2025, 12:34:10 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 21, 2025, 10:48:12 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
That said surely the obvious answer to your first point is he shouldn't have gotten involved in RG and to get involved here would be to undermine a quasi independent body within the association.
On the second point there are admittedly very restrictive procedures in place to deal with these. Following those procedures the appropriate body made a ruling. If that determination is unpopular then the appropriate response is to petition club reps to change those procedures in the correct manner. It's not for the President to get involved on an ad hoc basis.
I hadn't actually realised there had been a fine issued - at least that's something.
Fully agree with you on what you said here though. He shouldn't have go involved in the first instance, but once he did he set himself up for scrutiny for his response on issues around assault, breaking the law or even allegations.
So you're right, JB shouldn't get involved in an adhoc basis, but that is what he's done previously. Now when he doesnt get involved I think its fair to ask the question as to why....and in this case the obvious question is around his allegiances to his home county. It taints him with nepotism that he hasn't condemned the actions which break the rules. He can do that without getting involved in the process directly and that would have been more in line with the standard he has set himself.
For what its worth, if the Donegal player said the things he's supposed to have said then it's disgusting. But that too should be handled through the appropriate process and condemned.
There's no place for, reason for, or excuse for any player running onto a pitch to attack another player and manys a player has had very long bans for doing likewise.
Cry me a river.
Call bullshit all you want:
- He has previous with Armagh, he started the row in LK in league match couple years back.
- Some of the biggest west Brits going are army men.
- I doubt any footballer would react to goading when the game is still on-going (I love how Mcquillan being caught once on camera all of a sudden is Armagh players plural)
- No one is defending "thuggery" but if players from the 26 counties want to engage in sectarian trash talk they should be properly sanctioned. A box to the face should be the least of their worries.
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on May 21, 2025, 01:04:24 PMBack to the football sure.
I reckon this is a tough game for Armagh to begin with. Pressure is on them to secure a result, as on paper, this is probably the only one were they would be out and out favorites.
Having beat Derry convincingly twice in the past 12 months, Derry in theory should be chomping at the bit to get at Armagh and try and restore some pride.
Realistically, it may be the only game where they could secure a result also. Although its the first of three games, its probably the most important for both.
Based on form, this can only be an Armagh win and an easy one at that.
It seems there are concerns because Derry 2 years and 2 managers ago deservedly beat Armagh.
If the current AI champions don't have confidence in themselves to win this game, especially given the much touted strength of their bench and the return of Rian O'Neill then there's something wrong.
Nobody can't really say what ferry said outside of him and the Armagh players. Funny we can pick him out but not the Armagh subs. Bit like ole Gerry in court there, somebody saying stuff about him but the bbc can't proof it. What can be proofed is somebody been physical assaulted. That phone evidence be enough to get u in court, but not enough for the GAA to find the players responsible.
If you look at what happened after Ulster final the first thing thing you would say,there will be a few suspended out of this,then upto now not mentioned since,a bit biased I would say by Mr Burns.
Quote from: Gazboy on May 21, 2025, 02:50:53 PMIf you look at what happened after Ulster final the first thing thing you would say,there will be a few suspended out of this,then upto now not mentioned since,a bit biased I would say by Mr Burns.
Why would Mr Burns mention it? Derry getting desperate calling for suspension of Armagh players... or you miss Rory? 😭
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 21, 2025, 01:49:53 PMThe whole thing is very strange. The red card given to the Cork player in the extra time game against Kerry has been upheld. FFS it was at most a yellow however CCCC has upheld it and the player now misses a game.
I think that actually demonstrates consistency and adherence to precedence. I've been involved in these hearings where the relevant committee has concluded that whilst they didn't support the red card it was within the discretion of the referee. The question in effect being could the referee have awarded a red not should the referee have awarded one. Such an approach upholds the integrity of the referees decision and prevents re refereeing of matches.
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 21, 2025, 02:20:19 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 21, 2025, 12:34:10 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 21, 2025, 10:48:12 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
I hadn't actually realised there had been a fine issued - at least that's something.
Fully agree with you on what you said here though. He shouldn't have go involved in the first instance, but once he did he set himself up for scrutiny for his response on issues around assault, breaking the law or even allegations.
So you're right, JB shouldn't get involved in an adhoc basis, but that is what he's done previously. Now when he doesnt get involved I think its fair to ask the question as to why....and in this case the obvious question is around his allegiances to his home county. It taints him with nepotism that he hasn't condemned the actions which break the rules. He can do that without getting involved in the process directly and that would have been more in line with the standard he has set himself.
For what its worth, if the Donegal player said the things he's supposed to have said then it's disgusting. But that too should be handled through the appropriate process and condemned.
There's no place for, reason for, or excuse for any player running onto a pitch to attack another player and manys a player has had very long bans for doing likewise.
Obviously I'm not privy to the presidents thoughts but I do think though we have to consider a number of factors which may relevant to his non engagement on this.
Firstly this was until this morning (and possibly may still be an active disciplinary matter. He may not wish to be drawn in to comment until it's resolved.
Secondly RG was a safeguarding issue which is different from that.
Finally he may be once bitten twice shy about being publicly vocal again. Particularly given the ongoing legal action.
All that said. If he were to comment on future matters serious questions would have to be asked.
Quote from: David McKeown on May 21, 2025, 03:50:52 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 21, 2025, 02:20:19 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 21, 2025, 12:34:10 PMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 21, 2025, 10:48:12 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 21, 2025, 08:02:28 AMQuote from: jmcgdoire on May 21, 2025, 07:44:14 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2025, 09:35:02 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 20, 2025, 09:32:33 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2025, 07:02:26 PMWouldn't think it, he's too busy running after RG. On a serious note, we can run onto the field and bury a man and nothing is done about it. Sure it straight in front of the lineman.I remember a underage game I played in many years ago where players were struck in a row during the game. Anyway it ended up with the county board requesting the name of the offenders. We didn't give it and were throw out. So am suprised the GAA does not ask Armagh to name the offenders.
Cry me a river.
Obviously I'm not privy to the presidents thoughts but I do think though we have to consider a number of factors which may relevant to his non engagement on this.
Firstly this was until this morning (and possibly may still be an active disciplinary matter. He may not wish to be drawn in to comment until it's resolved.
Secondly RG was a safeguarding issue which is different from that.
Finally he may be once bitten twice shy about being publicly vocal again. Particularly given the ongoing legal action.
All that said. If he were to comment on future matters serious questions would have to be asked.
Yeah would agree with all that
Quote from: David McKeown on May 21, 2025, 03:41:37 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 21, 2025, 01:49:53 PMThe whole thing is very strange. The red card given to the Cork player in the extra time game against Kerry has been upheld. FFS it was at most a yellow however CCCC has upheld it and the player now misses a game.
I think that actually demonstrates consistency and adherence to precedence. I've been involved in these hearings where the relevant committee has concluded that whilst they didn't support the red card it was within the discretion of the referee. The question in effect being could the referee have awarded a red not should the referee have awarded one. Such an approach upholds the integrity of the referees decision and prevents re refereeing of matches.
But that means the player gets wrongly punished twice. Gets an incorrect red card, then instead of saying ref made a mistake which is fair enough he has to miss another game as they upheld the clearly incorrect call by the ref.
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 21, 2025, 05:04:11 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 21, 2025, 03:41:37 PMQuote from: tyrone08 on May 21, 2025, 01:49:53 PMThe whole thing is very strange. The red card given to the Cork player in the extra time game against Kerry has been upheld. FFS it was at most a yellow however CCCC has upheld it and the player now misses a game.
But that means the player gets wrongly punished twice. Gets an incorrect red card, then instead of saying ref made a mistake which is fair enough he has to miss another game as they upheld the clearly incorrect call by the ref.
It's not that it's necessarily incorrect. It's recognising that is one that is open to interpretation. Therefore they won't interfere with the referees interpretation unless there is clear evidence that the referees interpretation was outside the range of possible interpretations. There's good reason for such an approach and it's very common across sporting bodies.
How is it that the Armagh v Derry thread is polluted by an anorak from Tyrone complaining incessantly about an incident in the Ulster Final
He spends all his time on the Derry threads anyway.
Him and South Dublin Bro have a very very similar polluting style. In the oul days I'd have blamed O'Neill.
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on May 21, 2025, 01:04:24 PMBack to the football sure.
I'd disagree that this is our best chance of getting a result, I'd be reasonably hopeful we can raise a good performance in Celtic park against our bogey team Galway, which might put the pre-dublin game all Ireland favs almost out of the competition.
It's hard to see us improving to the degree needed to get anything from this Armagh game though, and if we don't, as others have noted, if we lose our first two, the Dublin game is a dead rubber.
This game is set up perfectly for Derry. They were far better in the league than their points total showed.
Both of the last two games against Armagh had elements of the ridiculous and unfortunate about them as far as Derry were concerned. Yes Armagh were good, but almost all of the goals they scored across both games were either caused by Derry mistakes or lucky breaks. Plus Derry had sending offs in both games with McGuigan's sending off the the league game being critical.
The teams are a lot closer than people think and that is before you take into account the recent context with Derry waiting in the long grass and Armagh like a (potentially wounded) sitting duck after the Ulster Final defeat.
Quote from: APM on May 22, 2025, 07:47:50 AMThis game is set up perfectly for Derry. They were far better in the league than their points total showed.
Both of the last two games against Armagh had elements of the ridiculous and unfortunate about them as far as Derry were concerned. Yes Armagh were good, but almost all of the goals they scored across both games were either caused by Derry mistakes or lucky breaks. Plus Derry had sending offs in both games with McGuigan's sending off the the league game being critical.
The teams are a lot closer than people think and that is before you take into account the recent context with Derry waiting in the long grass and Armagh like a (potentially wounded) sitting duck after the Ulster Final defeat.
That's what I've been saying earlier (if that other shite talk about Donegal game would feck off), Derry have not been pumped by anyone (that i remember). Their games have all been fairly close until last 5-10 mins and that's how i see this game going too, I think Armagh could just pull away in last 5-10 mins and win by 3,4 to 5pts. Derry have a few injury problems of their own and will be missing a few players for Sat nite, Armagh will still be down a few too but from what i gather their making progress in light training.
I expect to see Rian O'Neill getting last 10 mins and bringing him and Soupy on could be the difference along with the home support, I see Armagh getting stronger and stronger the longer they can stay in the Championship so winning this first game is vital. Realistically the loser on Sat nite is sucking a hind tit.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cn4g1g4ev1jo
Did Jarlath get him a ticket for Saturday evening?
Will Rian get any game time on Saturday?
I don't suppose radio ulster will have the game live?
Quote from: Armagh_Ball on May 22, 2025, 02:45:19 PMWill Rian get any game time on Saturday?
If he is going to be of benefit to us this season would say he will
Quote from: APM on May 22, 2025, 07:47:50 AMThis game is set up perfectly for Derry.
It certainly is, ambush is coming and Armagh need to be ready for it.
After walking into several lamposts, Gordon Lyons will be attending on Saturday.
Bets taken that he arrives after our National Anthem.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 22, 2025, 06:00:35 PMQuote from: APM on May 22, 2025, 07:47:50 AMThis game is set up perfectly for Derry.
It certainly is, ambush is coming and Armagh need to be ready for it.
Was set up for an ambush this time last week, but Dublin and Cavan have reduced the odds of that happening.
Derry team up on Twitter.
McKinless
P mcgurk mcevoy baker
Forbes rogers McGrogan
Glass C Doherty
McFaul Cassidy e Doherty
Laughlin mcguigan toner
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GrlaqJ7XYAA6f9C?format=jpg&name=900x900)
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GrlXKnIWUAALNd8?format=jpg&name=large)
You'd have to fear for Derry if that's all we have available!
No Murray a massive miss, lad always injured. M Bradley not there either. Is Murphy injured or not on the panel anymore? Some Derrys best young footballers always seem to be long term injured, when if fit and a no.of games behind them, McWilliams and M Downey be on that panel. Take it Gilmore out for the year, as McCloskey and Lynch. Panel got very young on it, just Rodgers and McFaul over the 30 mark.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 22, 2025, 11:05:25 PMNo Murray a massive miss, lad always injured. M Bradley not there either. Is Murphy injured or not on the panel anymore? Some Derrys best young footballers always seem to be long term injured, when if fit and a no.of games behind them, McWilliams and M Downey be on that panel. Take it Gilmore out for the year, as McCloskey and Lynch. Panel got very young on it, just Rodgers and McFaul over the 30 mark.
Maybe we're setting up the ambush of Galway the following week?
Hard to see us getting within double digits of that Armagh side, literally men against boys!
Quote from: onefineday on May 23, 2025, 02:43:38 AMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on May 22, 2025, 11:05:25 PMNo Murray a massive miss, lad always injured. M Bradley not there either. Is Murphy injured or not on the panel anymore? Some Derrys best young footballers always seem to be long term injured, when if fit and a no.of games behind them, McWilliams and M Downey be on that panel. Take it Gilmore out for the year, as McCloskey and Lynch. Panel got very young on it, just Rodgers and McFaul over the 30 mark.
Maybe we're setting up the ambush of Galway the following week?
Hard to see us getting within double digits of that Armagh side, literally men against boys!
We'll do well to keep within 10 points, I agree. Very inexperienced squad.
Haven't seen CD in midfield in some time, twice the footballer of tohill though he's barely 6ft
I hope to god Paddy Hamstring is marking McGuigan and not McCambridge.
Still looks like an Armagh team missing a few, but the Derry side doesn't look overly strong either.
You Derry men are some craic...Sometimes the younger men coming in with no fear is exactly what is needed, you do need experience and you have that in some key positions but it's the young lad bursting onto the scene who sometimes can just give you that wee bit extra that is required. This is gonna be a tough match, I do fancy Armagh but I think it'll be 3-4pts
Quote from: screenexile on May 22, 2025, 11:04:33 PM(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GrlXKnIWUAALNd8?format=jpg&name=large)
You'd have to fear for Derry if that's all we have available!
That Derry team a shadow of its former self.
Is Forbes an U20 graduate?
Lads, please stop with the codology. If Armagh don't win this by 10 plus points it'll have been a bad performance.
The last 2 times you've played us you've won by 15 and 11 points respectively and we're worse now. It's a total foregone conclusion!!
would that be 13 starting players Derry have named ;)
only 2 newbies are Forbes and McGurk?
Is the game on the wireless??!
Quote from: screenexile on May 23, 2025, 10:20:59 AMLads, please stop with the codology. If Armagh don't win this by 10 plus points it'll have been a bad performance.
The last 2 times you've played us you've won by 15 and 11 points respectively and we're worse now. It's a total foregone conclusion!!
Yeah be very surprised if Derry can mount a challenge.
A bit of Mayo about that team; light up front with one exceptional forward in McGuigan.
Toner and Loughlin wouldnt make most teams in Ulster.
Quote from: screenexile on May 23, 2025, 10:28:05 AMIs the game on the wireless??!
Radio Ulster used to have a lot of games on MW 1341 . I'm not even sure if that frequency exists anymore , but they don't have any games on FM anyway.
Plenty of Irish league soccer though
Quote from: jb77 on May 23, 2025, 07:20:09 AMHaven't seen CD in midfield in some time, twice the footballer of tohill though he's barely 6ft
He's nowhere near it. Wouldn't be convinced he won't switch with Rogers.
Quote from: Onthe40 on May 23, 2025, 10:24:07 AMwould that be 13 starting players Derry have named ;)
Ben McKinless played 1 league game I think.
Forbes is u20.
McGrogan just back from a long term ACL injury. Loughlin was also back from a long term injury.
Last game out Rogers, McEvoy, McFaul all returning from injury.
Baker is in his 2nd season in corner back.
Forward line has a reasonably familiar look about it, but Murray would have been starting if fit.
Bench is seriously light.
So I'd say we have 13 established players across the entire panel - 5 of which are returning from injuries.
If Armagh don't win by 10+ they need to start worrying.
Serious differences in the sub benches.
No doubt as the games enters the final stretch, if not sooner, Armagh will be able to put on Turbo or Soupy who are game changers.
Looking like this could be a bad day at the office for Derry tomorrow and that is with Galway and Dublin still to come.
Score difference could be a big thing at the end of the group so suffice to say if Armagh tomorrow or even the other teams get their noses in front they will keep the foot on the pedal.
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 23, 2025, 11:41:54 AMQuote from: Onthe40 on May 23, 2025, 10:24:07 AMwould that be 13 starting players Derry have named ;)
Forbes is u20.
McGrogan just back from a long term ACL injury. Loughlin was also back from a long term injury.
Forward line has a reasonably familiar look about it, but Murray would have been starting if fit.
So I'd say we have 13 established players across the entire panel - 5 of which are returning from injuries.
We rarely win by 10 or more in the championship.
Harsh enough on Greg McCabe getting the chop, but Forker named at 6 could be bluff anyway as he was in a moonboot after the UF. Calum O'Neill dropped as well. Could see a few switches b4 the off.
Quote from: Armamike on May 23, 2025, 11:51:19 AMQuote from: tbrick18 on May 23, 2025, 11:41:54 AMQuote from: Onthe40 on May 23, 2025, 10:24:07 AMwould that be 13 starting players Derry have named ;)
Forbes is u20.
We rarely win by 10 or more in the championship.
You rarely play a team in as big as mess as we are. And you're rarely concerned about score difference either.
Can't see us getting within 15. Paddy Power handicap of Armagh -5 evens is the free-est of free money.
I'm rarely right.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 23, 2025, 10:31:12 AMQuote from: screenexile on May 23, 2025, 10:20:59 AMLads, please stop with the codology. If Armagh don't win this by 10 plus points it'll have been a bad performance.
A bit of Mayo about that team; light up front with one exceptional forward in McGuigan.
The 6 forwards named have played regularly over the past two or three seasons. Murray will be a loss but the rest have been regular starters and Derry should have more concerns about other areas of pitch. For all their complaints about injuries Derry full out would expect 12 of their players to either start or play a big role from the bench, outside the keeper and the 2 newbies.
Quote from: screenexile on May 23, 2025, 10:20:59 AMLads, please stop with the codology. If Armagh don't win this by 10 plus points it'll have been a bad performance.
The last league game is masked over by the fact Derry played over a half with 14 men and without their talisman. Think there was only a couple of points in it when McGuigan was sent off.
Quote from: statto on May 23, 2025, 12:43:37 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 23, 2025, 10:31:12 AMQuote from: screenexile on May 23, 2025, 10:20:59 AMLads, please stop with the codology. If Armagh don't win this by 10 plus points it'll have been a bad performance.
The 6 forwards named have played regularly over the past two or three seasons. Murray will be a loss but the rest have been regular starters and Derry should have more concerns about other areas of pitch. For all their complaints about injuries Derry full out would expect 12 of their players to either start or play a big role from the bench, outside the keeper and the 2 newbies.
This is exactly the point, our first 1-17 are much better than 18-25, the drop off is enormous so any injuries means the level of the team drops significantly. That's not the case for Armagh or Donegal. Our success came during a 2 or 3 year period where we barely had an injury.
Going to be a real Ulster championship final feel to this game. 11 of the Derry starting 15 are the same fellas that won back to back Ulster titles meanwhile Armagh players only know heartbreaks in Ulster finals. A real banana skin that Armagh will do well to avoid slipping on.
Quote from: Mario on May 23, 2025, 01:47:06 PMQuote from: statto on May 23, 2025, 12:43:37 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 23, 2025, 10:31:12 AMQuote from: screenexile on May 23, 2025, 10:20:59 AMLads, please stop with the codology. If Armagh don't win this by 10 plus points it'll have been a bad performance.
This is exactly the point, our first 1-17 are much better than 18-25, the drop off is enormous so any injuries means the level of the team drops significantly. That's not the case for Armagh or Donegal. Our success came during a 2 or 3 year period where we barely had an injury.
I thought at the time that Derry missed a trick not blooding players when in Division 2 playing the like of Limerick, who with all due respect Derry should be beating with abit to spare. That should have been an opportunity to play 10/11 senior players and get some younger lads some exposure and their panel may have been the better for it now. Derry and Dublin would have been a right bit ahead of the rest of Division 2 at the time.
I understand your point about panel depth, but that's a decent Derry starting team who shouldn't be just going to Armagh to make up the numbers. Armagh's bench may prove the difference, but don't see the 10/15 point difference that some Derry ones are predicting on here.
It's easy to say that with hindsight. The first year in D2 under RG we narrowly missed out on promotion due to a controversial decision v Roscommon. The second year it was the main goal for the year, we needed to get promoted for the teams development and that meant picking a strong side for the opening league game v Limerick after Glen just lost the AI final.
The only way to blood players these days is win a few games in D1 so you don't get relegated then play them after that, like Donegal did this year. If you are in D2 you want to get out of it asap. I can't think of many games were Armagh didn't pick the strongest team available to them in D2.
Hope Derry don't line out like that, Rogers not a good fit at CHB, CD not a midfielder, Think McFaul has too much of a tendency to slow things down when he is playing up front.
Quote from: Mario on May 23, 2025, 02:10:21 PMIt's easy to say that with hindsight. The first year in D2 under RG we narrowly missed out on promotion due to a controversial decision v Roscommon. The second year it was the main goal for the year, we needed to get promoted for the teams development and that meant picking a strong side for the opening league game v Limerick after Glen just lost the AI final.
The only way to blood players these days is win a few games in D1 so you don't get relegated then play them after that, like Donegal did this year. If you are in D2 you want to get out of it asap. I can't think of many games were Armagh didn't pick the strongest team available to them in D2.
Yeah true, but we also got game time into young lads like Conaty and McGrane, who were both very good finds for us come championship time.
Derry not likely to win any of there 3 games. Key players are still injured and what has already been said we have a very young and inexperienced squad. I also doubt if we have enough tactical experience in in our backroom team.
We have only won ONE of our last 14 competitive games and that was against Westmeath.
Moral in the camp has to be low - so who in the team Management has the charisma to turn this around and get us a win the Group stages ??
There will be no hooter at this game if it's not on TV?
Quote from: Mario on May 23, 2025, 07:02:02 PMThere will be no hooter at this game if it's not on TV?
In place for this game and making it up as they go along for games not covered.
QuoteClock/hooter set to feature in remaining Sam Maguire Cup games
Previous policy stated technology would only apply to broadcasted matches.
The GAA's Central Competitions Control Committee (CCCC) have confirmed to the Irish Examiner that this weekend's Meath-Cork and Armagh-Derry matches will also be subject to the technology.
The clock/hooter was only in use for televised or streamed provincial matches due to logistical and financial reasons. Last weekend's two All-Ireland matches which weren't broadcasted – Mayo v Cavan and Clare v Sligo – didn't feature the countdown clock or siren either.
"Central Council are proposing now – voted on by the counties on Monday night – only venues where matches are broadcast or streamed live. That ground will have to be ready."
However, a CCCC spokesperson said they are going to try and have the clock/hooter in place for all of the remaining Sam Maguire Cup games irrespective of whether they are broadcasted or not, subject to hardware personnel availability.
Couldn't get any worse than the league game. That was brutal, we were in the game to McGuigan got the road. There's a mentality in Derry over the yrs that alot of really good club fballers Warnock Dougan, etc, dont want try county fball unless they thought they def be starting, wouldnt stay and fight it out on a panel. Other younger players have declined invites who potential to be very good fballers. Donegal,Armagh,Kerry,Galway are able to carry big panels of the strongest players in their counties. I say guys on here only be fit to name 1 or 2 players not on their county panel, they think should be. It's all down to attitude.
Quote from: Mario on May 23, 2025, 07:02:02 PMThere will be no hooter at this game if it's not on TV?
It seems not? This is mad, if it is close and one team had the ball when the whistle goes then they do not get the chance when other games in the group would just because they are TV. It isn't as if Armagh does not have a hooter.
It does seem that there will be rain to some extent and enough of a breeze for two pointers to be an option toward the city end.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 23, 2025, 08:02:51 PMCouldn't get any worse than the league game. That was brutal, we were in the game to McGuigan got the road. There's a mentality in Derry over the yrs that alot of really good club fballers Warnock Dougan, etc, dont want try county fball unless they thought they def be starting, wouldnt start and fight it out on a panel. Other younger players have declined invites who potential to be very good fballers. Donegal,Armagh,Kerry,Galway are able to carry big panels of the strongest players in their counties. I say guys on here only be fit to name 1 or 2 players not on their county panel, they think should be. It's all down to attitude.
Maybe they just don't want to commit to a county set up, which is completely understandable and nothing to do with starting places and attitude
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 23, 2025, 08:02:51 PMCouldn't get any worse than the league game. That was brutal, we were in the game to McGuigan got the road. There's a mentality in Derry over the yrs that alot of really good club fballers Warnock Dougan, etc, dont want try county fball unless they thought they def be starting, wouldnt start and fight it out on a panel. Other younger players have declined invites who potential to be very good fballers. Donegal,Armagh,Kerry,Galway are able to carry big panels of the strongest players in their counties. I say guys on here only be fit to name 1 or 2 players not on their county panel, they think should be. It's all down to attitude.
Can't speak for any other county but to the best of my knowledge theres very few lads in Armagh not on the county panel who should be. Possibly Shea Heffron Clann Eireann but as far as I know he couldn't commit. Not much outside that.
Is there any radio commentary for this game
Quote from: dec on May 24, 2025, 02:47:34 AMIs there any radio commentary for this game
The million dollar question we have all been asking, but no definite answer
Armagh tv has audio of the game
There is a link on orchard fans forum
Not technically proficient enough to copy the link sorry
Quote from: naka on May 24, 2025, 11:13:28 AMArmagh tv has audio of the game
There is a link on orchard fans forum
Not technically proficient enough to copy the link sorry
https://tv.armaghgaa.net/video/audio-armagh-v-derry/
Sold out... must be big Derry support 😳😳
Still tickets
Derry PRO published these appearance stats.
(https://i.ibb.co/qFX9sJPd/Screenshot-20250524-133057-Chrome.jpg) (https://ibb.co/S7W0nf9P)
What time will it be announced Rian is playing?
Quote from: p3427977 on May 24, 2025, 02:15:21 PMWhat time will it be announced Rian is playing?
He has replaced Aidan Forker. Will wear #6
More than likely Greg McCabe back in at CHB. Rian gets 20 minutes
No panel changes noted for Derry as yet... We could do with 2 or 3 really!
Armagh for Sam boys.
Good luck to the boys today. Huge Armagh crowd here in the windy cold Athletic Grounds. 🧡
Quote from: Armagh Girl on May 24, 2025, 04:25:50 PMGood luck to the boys today. Huge Armagh crowd here in the windy cold Athletic Grounds. 🧡
LOL have you ran out of Aliases again
Who has the wind?
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 24, 2025, 05:26:21 PMWho has the wind?
You and all your aliases have a ton of it.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 24, 2025, 05:26:21 PMWho has the wind?
Armagh
Armagh 0-12 Derry 0-6 after 25 minutes.
Sounds like Derry struggling to stay in touch.
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 24, 2025, 05:28:20 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 24, 2025, 05:26:21 PMWho has the wind?
Armagh
Is it a 4 point wind or a 10 point wind we talking about?
Derry doing rightly against the breeze but the lack of options off the bench is going to cost them
Half time Armagh 0-12 Derry 0-9.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 24, 2025, 05:34:25 PMQuote from: twohands!!! on May 24, 2025, 05:28:20 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 24, 2025, 05:26:21 PMWho has the wind?
Armagh
Is it a 4 point wind or a 10 point wind we talking about?
Don't know - I'm only listening to it but it sounds more like a 4 point wind than a 10 point one.
Derry with a good spell to close the gap to 3 at HT
Armagh by 3
Derry playing well but can they keep it up
Very poor game. Derry will be the far happier. Armagh standing far too far off and very lethargic. Derry with a great chance second half.
Derrys tactic of standing back and letting Armagh get a short kick out for most of that first half made no sense
Derry players,management and supporters delighted to be only 3 points behind. A real banana skin for Armagh as I expected.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2025, 05:49:38 PMDerry players,management and supporters delighted to be only 3 points behind. A real banana skin for Armagh as I expected.
I fear we will see a different Armagh in rt second half
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2025, 05:49:38 PMDerry players,management and supporters delighted to be only 3 points behind. A real banana skin for Armagh as I expected.
Yerra
Armagh ended any Derry hopes pretty quickly there :o
Sin é
Derry be aswell concede the next two games after this and book the holidays to Tenerife.
Looks as good as done Armagh 1-16 Derry 0-10
Armagh 2-19
Derry 0-13
Has the Govt passed the assisted dying bill yet?
We need put out of our misery!!
Armagh 2-20
Derry 2-13
Quote from: Solo_run on May 24, 2025, 06:28:19 PMArmagh 2-20
Derry 2-13
Derry not going down without a fight.
Never seen such a demise of a team.. looked like they were closing in on an All Ireland then whole thing went totally pear-shaped... ah well 🤷 😊
5 points in it
Derry have had three other goal chances
Armagh's 13 point lead in the 59 minute has narrowed to a 4 point lead with 4 minutes left.
Paddy tally will take another morale victory from this no matter what
FT Armagh 2-21 Derry 2-17. 6 goal chances for Derry in that 2nd half.
Jesus what happened to Armagh that second half??
Quote from: jb77 on May 24, 2025, 06:38:02 PMPaddy tally will take another morale victory from this no matter what
The thing is that if you do lose your first group game, it's vital not to lose by a wide margin as it really makes thing much more difficult to get out of the group, especially if the other team in the group only loses by a few points.
A win is a win for Armagh with two points on the table however if that performance especially defensively is repeated against Dublin,Galway it will be two certain defeats for Armagh.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2025, 06:43:12 PMA win is a win for Armagh with two points on the table however if that performance especially defensively is repeated against Dublin,Galway it will be two certain defeats for Armagh.
Have Derry any hope v Galway?
Got a bit squeaky bum there but deserved winners, the score really flatters Derry imo, when it got a bit harem scarem anything could have happened but overall I thought Derry were pretty poor. Glass superb in 1st, Ethan Doherty in 2nd the only 2 I would have noticed tbh.
Armagh very leggy looking, good to get that first one on the board. I'd say very little discussion on MOTM - has to be Darragh McMullan, best game in an Armagh jersey to date. Great to see Rian back at it, didn't think he'd be fit for that much. Oisin o'Neill out after 15 mins with an injury tho a huge blow.
Very concerning second half from Armagh when the game was over looked in trouble when Derry ran at them.
Derry really struggled throughout game competing on breaks around middle and Armagh were much better side outside the last 5 mins of first half and last ten minutes.
Thought Glass fought a gallant battle on own at times in game Higgins improved things in second half. Glass took on a two pointer late on when Derry had momentum and was the wrong choice had 4/5 men to his left, this was just after mcguigan had missed a chance for a two pointer which expected him get.
Positives for Armagh was Rian getting 55 mins and some minutes for Grimley and McElroy. 2-21 is good scoring.
All Derry problems start with a goalkeeping issue, his kickouts are so easy to read. Tally zonal marking
Allowing Armagh the easy kickout all first half. Derry just do not get a scoring return from their forwards.
Quote from: statto on May 24, 2025, 07:29:13 PMVery concerning second half from Armagh when the game was over looked in trouble when Derry ran at them.
Derry really struggled throughout game competing on breaks around middle and Armagh were much better side outside the last 5 mins of first half and last ten minutes.
Thought Glass fought a gallant battle on own at times in game Higgins improved things in second half. Glass took on a two pointer late on when Derry had momentum and was the wrong choice had 4/5 men to his left, this was just after mcguigan had missed a chance for a two pointer which expected him get.
Positives for Armagh was Rian getting 55 mins and some minutes for Grimley and McElroy. 2-21 is good scoring.
I thought the first half was close to 50 50, McGuigan gave a soft ball after after the 3 man infringement free touching it on the ground and Armagh got a 2 pointer. Tohill missed a sitter on the buzzer that was the difference in the first half. Third quarter Armagh blew us away. 4th quarter we were excellent but gave ourselves too much to do. We missed enough to get something from that game. Armaghs first goal was very lucky too.
The difference is in the goalkeepers, 80% of Armaghs kickouts are uncontested. Ours are 50/50 battles. If Rafferty is in nets for Derry we win that game. Need lynch back for Galway.
Glad to see a bit of fight and something to take into the next game. I don't think we are far away if a few things go our way.
As poor as Derry were they could and probably should have won that game and may be kicking themselves.
Armagh were for long periods abject, indecisive and most worryingly badly organised.
That said Armagh were very good for 20 minutes in the second half so hopefully they can build on that as big improvements needed for the rest of the year.
Quote from: Mario on May 24, 2025, 07:37:41 PMQuote from: statto on May 24, 2025, 07:29:13 PMVery concerning second half from Armagh when the game was over looked in trouble when Derry ran at them.
I thought the first half was close to 50 50, McGuigan gave a soft ball after after the 3 man infringement free touching it on the ground and Armagh got a 2 pointer. Tohill missed a sitter on the buzzer that was the difference in the first half. Third quarter Armagh blew us away. 4th quarter we were excellent but gave ourselves too much to do. We missed enough to get something from that game. Armaghs first goal was very lucky too.
The difference is in the goalkeepers, 80% of Armaghs kickouts are uncontested. Ours are 50/50 battles. If Rafferty is in nets for Derry we win that game. Need lynch back for Galway.
Glad to see a bit of fight and something to take into the next game. I don't think we are far away if a few things go our way.
McKinless didn't seem to want to look at any shorts first kickout went long a Derry supporter behind me started giving him abuse.
Found the Derry kickout strategy strange kicked alot right on top of the touchline which even if win ball makes it difficult to get out of the area or if kick it too long it goes out of play.
Would disagree think Armagh were much better side for 25 mins of first half then Derry got last three scores to keep them in game. While Derry did well last quarter have to ask if this was because Derry were excellent or did Armagh go to sleep, probably a bit of both.
This was going to be a tricky game for Armagh after the ulster final loss. The Jekyll and Hyde characteristics are coming back out and it is concerning. That is not to take away from Derry they were able to expose our complacency and took full advantage - if it was not thanks to Rafferty that could have easily been a defeat despite building up a comfortable lead - or can we not say that now considering how quickly they are wiped out
I agree that Darragh McMullan has his best game so far.
At half time I thought that we didn't have a big enough lead but then after a blistering start to the second half the result was safe.
I thought that the ref was very good.
Plenty to work on fur Armagh
Would have preferred a bigger win but think it will keep Armagh grounded
Think Derry could beat Galway
Armagh have never lost when Gordon Lyons has been in attendance
Quote from: dec on May 24, 2025, 09:36:55 PMArmagh have never lost when Gordon Lyons has been in attendance
He's a Derry man, surprised he left early with the comeback on
Derry have a good team coming but they 3/4yrs away, most of the subs coming in were 19-22 who played barely any league ball. Hopefully they can blood alot of younger players in Division 2 nxt yr. Need find a consistent right sided free taker.
Quote from: Mario on May 24, 2025, 09:40:06 PMQuote from: dec on May 24, 2025, 09:36:55 PMArmagh have never lost when Gordon Lyons has been in attendance
He's a Derry man, surprised he left early with the comeback on
He likely wanted to get home in time for the Saturday Game highlights
Hurson decided to abandon the blood substitution rules today. It seems the current rule to is stop the play and treat the player on the field for however long it takes. Must say the announcement of that rule change had escaped me.
Quote from: smelmoth on May 24, 2025, 11:14:20 PMHurson decided to abandon the blood substitution rules today. It seems the current rule to is stop the play and treat the player on the field for however long it takes. Must say the announcement of that rule change had escaped me.
I noticed Shane McGuigan telling the N25 to get tae f**k when he tried to come on to blood sub replace Glass. Tally hasn't got 100% control of that operation
Derry bound to be regretting not going all out for Mal O'Rourke
Strange game today- I don't know if it was a case of Armagh running their bench and becoming disorganised or Doire saying fek it and letting the shackles off - hoping it was the latter and for more of the same next week against the tribesmen.
You severely reduce your chances of winning a game if you can't even win your own kick out - be that short, long or dirty ball.
Quote from: Bro Jolly on May 24, 2025, 11:53:48 PMStrange game today- I don't know if it was a case of Armagh running their bench and becoming disorganised or Doire saying fek it and letting the shackles off - hoping it was the latter and for more of the same next week against the tribesmen.
You severely reduce your chances of winning a game if you can't even win your own kick out - be that short, long or dirty ball.
Armagh eased up so as to ensure that Derry were still confident enough to give hard games to Galway and Dublin. ::)
Quote from: armaghniac on May 25, 2025, 12:08:26 AMQuote from: Bro Jolly on May 24, 2025, 11:53:48 PMStrange game today- I don't know if it was a case of Armagh running their bench and becoming disorganised or Doire saying fek it and letting the shackles off - hoping it was the latter and for more of the same next week against the tribesmen.
Armagh eased up so as to ensure that Derry were still confident enough to give hard games to Galway and Dublin. ::)
Armagh eased up but Ethan Rafferty didn't get the memo....
Sure O'Rourke wouldn't come, he been approached a few times. Different driving 2hrs to Derry each way, and then 15mins up the road for Tyrone training.
Quote from: bennydorano on May 24, 2025, 11:18:42 PMQuote from: smelmoth on May 24, 2025, 11:14:20 PMHurson decided to abandon the blood substitution rules today. It seems the current rule to is stop the play and treat the player on the field for however long it takes. Must say the announcement of that rule change had escaped me.
I noticed Shane McGuigan telling the N25 to get tae f**k when he tried to come on to blood sub replace Glass. Tally hasn't got 100% control of that operation
Id say Tally was happy enough not to have to sub Glass. Id doubt he'd be annoyed by that intervention by McGuigan
The most important thing about that game for Armagh was winning, off the back of the UF loss. In a game like that the nature of the win doesn't matter.
The winning of that game was on Armagh's kickout & midfield. Between that and Derry's poor shot selection they managed to restrict Derry to 13 points in 59 mins.
Armagh looked a bit open at the back at different times throughout that game and McKay is missed in there. But during that 10 min period at the end the defence was wide open and particularly for the second Derry goal.
The Glass injury reminded me of the ref stopping the game for Murphy cramping in the Ulster Final.
It was clearly a head injury not a blood stoppage, although there was plenty of blood too
Quote from: Mario on May 25, 2025, 08:18:18 AMIt was clearly a head injury not a blood stoppage, although there was plenty of blood too
Ref stopped the game, quite rightly for a potential head injury to 2 players. But the protracted stoppage was to address the blood scenario. That is supposed to happen off the field.
Quote from: smelmoth on May 25, 2025, 08:27:10 AMQuote from: Mario on May 25, 2025, 08:18:18 AMIt was clearly a head injury not a blood stoppage, although there was plenty of blood too
Ref stopped the game, quite rightly for a potential head injury to 2 players. But the protracted stoppage was to address the blood scenario. That is supposed to happen off the field.
After receiving treatment, is he not supposed to leave the field of play?
Quote from: smelmoth on May 25, 2025, 08:27:10 AMQuote from: Mario on May 25, 2025, 08:18:18 AMIt was clearly a head injury not a blood stoppage, although there was plenty of blood too
Who was the other injured player?
https://youtu.be/BDbUEydkuR8?si=8CfRf2YsPsMKtLpB
Murphy wasn't injured during play and didn't receive any treatment so they aren't really comparable incidents.
Quote from: APM on May 25, 2025, 08:06:52 AMThe most important thing about that game for Armagh was winning, off the back of the UF loss. In a game like that the nature of the win doesn't matter.
The winning of that game was on Armagh's kickout & midfield. Between that and Derry's poor shot selection they managed to restrict Derry to 13 points in 59 mins.
Armagh looked a bit open at the back at different times throughout that game and McKay is missed in there. But during that 10 min period at the end the defence was wide open and particularly for the second Derry goal.
The Glass injury reminded me of the ref stopping the game for Murphy cramping in the Ulster Final.
I thought we played without a proper CHB for long spells as it was very zonal defending, picking up whoever came your way (apart from Burns who shadowed McGuigan), McCabe coming in to sit at CHB when the shit was hitting the fan changed it. A flaw was exposed either way, tactically or personnel wise. I also thought McGeeney looked like was seething talking to RTE on the SG - was partially of his making as Derry's purple patch came after a raft of substitutions.
Was it a case of Armagh running the bench in the last 10 mins or so that created what was basically a collapse of epic proportions? Or was it another example of Armagh struggling to close a game out? Derry wouldn't have deserved to win the game, if it wasn't for Ethan Rafferty then they would have won with some to spare ... and all within a 10 minute period.
Lots to work on for Armagh, but it isn't a bad place to be. Add in the return of Rian O'Neill, Joe McElroy and others who look not to be far away fighting for places, I think Armagh are in a good place. Dublin next Sunday will be interesting.
I think Derry have every chance of beating Galway in Celtic Park, their fighting spirit was there for all to see last night, no reason why they can't give the Tribesmen a good rattle.
Derry going nowhere this year. players are there, i don't think the attitude previously under Gallagher is. Players. like supporters are bound to be questioning why we give away opposition kickouts, plus the mess of the goal keeper situation been Tally biggest fault from early in the league. The Derry kickouts are absolutely killing us, no set pattern, none short, easy to read and tend to be one sided.
I said it would be closer than you all think but it was a very strange game as Armagh could easily have won that game by 15pts yet Derry had chances for goals that could have put us in trouble. Hard game to analyse tbh but what I do know is that won't do next Sunday in Croke Park as the Dubs will score most of them chances. Derry have young lads in their panel and young guys have no fear, get them in the team and get them game time and it will pay dividends. Experience is great but you can't do nothing without the youth coming thru.
The great thing about following Armagh is you always get your money's worth, we all know winning by 13pts with 10-12mins to go the game is not over as we always find the hardest way to win. Some of the best games in the Championship have involved Armagh in recent years and majority have ended in defeat but have been epic games. Armagh just don't do easy no matter who they play...
Quote from: illdecide on May 25, 2025, 04:34:36 PMI said it would be closer than you all think but it was a very strange game as Armagh could easily have won that game by 15pts yet Derry had chances for goals that could have put us in trouble. Hard game to analyse tbh but what I do know is that won't do next Sunday in Croke Park as the Dubs will score most of them chances. Derry have young lads in their panel and young guys have no fear, get them in the team and get them game time and it will pay dividends. Experience is great but you can't do nothing without the youth coming thru.
The great thing about following Armagh is you always get your money's worth, we all know winning by 13pts with 10-12mins to go the game is not over as we always find the hardest way to win. Some of the best games in the Championship have involved Armagh in recent years and majority have ended in defeat but have been epic games. Armagh just don't do easy no matter who they play...
This year Armagh have had games that they were up for and games that they were not. They did not lose sleep over away games in Ballybofey and Tralee, they very much came out determined to win against Tyrone and Dublin the league. They eased up against Mayo in the league. I'd hope that Dublin in Croke Park is a game where they come out determined to win. As Dublin have beaten Galway there will be no complacency. They still might not beat Dublin but they will not be far away.
I wouldn't over analyse the last 10 mins of that game. We lost control at midfield when the changes were made and Derry went for goals. There are things the team can learn from that, but better it happened in a game that was basically done than getting mugged in a closer one. Happy enough where Armagh are at the minute.
Quote from: Armamike on May 25, 2025, 10:46:06 PMI wouldn't over analyse the last 10 mins of that game. We lost control at midfield when the changes were made and Derry went for goals. There are things the team can learn from that, but better it happened in a game that was basically done than getting mugged in a closer one. Happy enough where Armagh are at the minute.
The changes shouldn't have had that big an impact on the last ten minutes when you consider that the Armagh subs probably had more AI Final appearances between them that the Derry subs had C'ship appearances between them.
Thought Derry threw off the shackles and went for it whilst Armagh disjointed in last ten minutes .
Looking at the game again I would say that Ethan Doherty is simply a fabulous footballer just a pleasure to watch him.
Fancy both northern teams to win at the weekend
Quote from: Estimator on May 25, 2025, 11:49:58 PMQuote from: Armamike on May 25, 2025, 10:46:06 PMI wouldn't over analyse the last 10 mins of that game. We lost control at midfield when the changes were made and Derry went for goals. There are things the team can learn from that, but better it happened in a game that was basically done than getting mugged in a closer one. Happy enough where Armagh are at the minute.
The changes shouldn't have had that big an impact on the last ten minutes when you consider that the Armagh subs probably had more AI Final appearances between them that the Derry subs had C'ship appearances between them.
Maybe not, but the changes coincided with a bit of a collapse. As Naka says, Derry also threw caution to the wind and went for it. Should be noted though that they weren't finding space like that in the previous 60 mins.