It's almost on us.
(cue some Sky Sports whooshes)
Does anyone care?
We'll be hockeyed by Wicklow Sun week. Wicklow will then be ate by the Dubs in Aughrim.
I'm bored with it all.
I'd say Dublin have a good chance....
The year that Dublin finally doesn't win/get caught on the hop in Leinster? 1/10 suggests not. Louth,Kildare and Meath are all 14/1 to win the title.
Fixtures
April 5th
Wexford V Laois - Wexford Park 6.00pm
April 6th
Meath v Carlow Pairc Tailteann 3.00pm
Longford V Wicklow Pearse Park 3.30pm
Quarter finals
April 12th
Kildare v Westmeath - St Conleths Park
April 13th
Carlow/Meath v Offaly - Cullen Park/Pairc Tailteann
Longford/Wicklow v Dublin - Aughrim/Pearse Park
Louth v Wexford/Laois - St Conleths Park/Cullen Park
Semi finals 26th/27th of April
Offaly/Carlow/Meath v Dublin/Longford/Wicklow
Kildare/Wesmeath v Louth/Wexford/Laois
Final 11th of May
Could they not give Dublin a first seeding bye to the Qualfiers, and run the Leinster championship with the rest lol.
Dublin obviously arent the team they were and the pack have improved. Still obviously a huge gap and the new rules could leave scores even more ugly.
You'd actually have a fairly competitive Leinster without Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Offaly, Meath, Westmeath all on a similar level, good work being done in Laois, Wexford and Wicklow.
If you put Dublin in Munster there'd be 4 provincial competitions where the winners would change most years!
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 27, 2025, 05:19:03 PMCoukd they not give Dublin a first seeding bye to the Qualfiers, and run the Leinster championship with the rest lol.
Hadnt seen your reply, that works too lol
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 27, 2025, 01:59:45 PMThe year that Dublin finally doesn't win/get caught on the hop in Leinster? 1/10 suggests not. Louth,Kildare and Meath are all 14/1 to win the title.
They've actually been 1/6 to win Leinster on BoyleSports for 2 months. I know that's still extremely extremely short but who is stopping them realistically. A risky but sound investment perhaps
Whats the craic with Carlow? Lads went on the beer in London so he left?
Dublin are a monster in a pond Dublin have beatend everyone in this period.
Being a bit precious here, but not much is said of Munster where Kerry have won every title since 2010 bar one - with 2 All Irelands to show.
And Ulster may be competitive, but the Dubs have beaten many an Ulster Champ too.
But still there is no excuse for Meath and Kildare to be where they are. I would hope that things will gradually start to change, but it's too soon.
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on March 28, 2025, 03:44:49 PMDublin are a monster in a pond Dublin have beatend everyone in this period.
Being a bit precious here, but not much is said of Munster where Kerry have won every title since 2010 bar one - with 2 All Irelands to show.
Cork are useless, but Kerry do not have intrinsic advantage over them, they just try harder.
Quote from: armaghniac on March 28, 2025, 06:12:03 PMQuote from: Captain Scarlet on March 28, 2025, 03:44:49 PMDublin are a monster in a pond Dublin have beatend everyone in this period.
Cork are useless, but Kerry do not have intrinsic advantage over them, they just try hardest.
Obviously the hurling is a factor too, but with the size of Cork theres got to be a serious untapped potential there if they can get it right.
I hope that with the Dubs losing some aura at underage that teams like Kildare, Meath and Offaly have lads who have beaten them. But they still have serious players and an amazing structure.
I'd love if Kildare could finally topple them, but it may take time. Division 2 has a good few Leinster counties next year so hope it comes on in general.
The usual write-off this year mind.
Quote from: armaghniac on March 28, 2025, 06:12:03 PMQuote from: Captain Scarlet on March 28, 2025, 03:44:49 PMDublin are a monster in a pond Dublin have beatend everyone in this period.
Cork are useless, but Kerry do not have intrinsic advantage over them, they just try harder.
Cork footballers have a double inferiority complex - to the hurlers and to Kerry.
Not helped by 19,000 people rushing out of Páirc Uí Chaoimh after the hurling part of a double header.
Wouldn't do much for your self esteem!!
What Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Do most of them live in big towns where "gah" isn't 'cool"??
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
All ,bar Kildare, Division 2 teams. None of them will be in the semi finals. Meath are slowly making their way back.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
Ulster teams and the likes of Roscommon don't yap about unfair advantages, they put the heads down and maximise what they have.
Quote from: seafoid on March 28, 2025, 10:28:43 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
All ,bar Kildare, Division 2 teams. None of them will be in the semi finals. Meath are slowly making their way back.
Monaghan and Roscommon were promoted. Meath had a chance of promotion but hammered by Monaghan and well beaten by Louth. A late fightback made the score closer then it was. They are far away as ever. The best forward out will miss the championship too. Jordan Morris.
Martin Corey and Joe McMahon have left the Meath backroom team. https://t.co/RacdFUHflP
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 29, 2025, 05:56:30 PMMartin Corey and Joe McMahon have left the Meath backroom team. https://t.co/RacdFUHflP
Bad news. Just when dared get optimistic about Meath things go sour again. Would be good to know why but it'll left to the rumour mill. With Morris out and now this we could be dumped out sooner than we think.
Wicklow made us look like gossuns in the recent League fixture. All we can do is play for pride on Sunday. We are in a bad place.
Winners are prob the losers, except at the gate. Get 3-5k Dubs in your gate the following Sunday will improves the coffers.
But there prob is a point where the Dub supporter says, fuk this. I cannot bodder me hole. We may have crossed that point.
Surprised that Meath have shot themselves in the foot. No so much with Carlow. Had heard about the rows in the camp. We need a hard decent Meath. Kildare - forget about it.
Great to see my adopted Offaly (my late dad played for them in NY in the 50s, despite having no Offaly blood) doing well. Power in the rosaries lads.
Sensible move.
QuoteLeinster GAA has decided to switch both provincial SFC semi-finals outside of Croke Park, meaning that it will be the first occasion since 1995 that both provincial last-four encounters will not be played at GAA headquarters.
The semi-final fixture are down for decision at the end of April, making it likely that two standalone fixtures will be arranged at different regional grounds.
Last year's Leinster semi-final doubleheader attracted just over 21,000 at Croke Park making it the lowest attendance for that stage of the competition for 14 years.
Why has it taken this long to shake it up a bit? The life was gone ages ago. Dublin hhave won 14 in a row. They will win it handy again this regardless.
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
Ulster teams and the likes of Roscommon don't yap about unfair advantages, they put the heads down and maximise what they have.
Kildare haven't won the AI in nearly 100 years and still have twice as many as Armagh.
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 31, 2025, 03:37:04 PMWhy has it taken this long to shake it up a bit? The life was gone ages ago. Dublin hhave won 14 in a row. They will win it handy again this regardless.
Dublin will win it pulling up. You could argue that the populations in the counties surrounding Dublin are mostly Dubs after buying 'affordable' housing.
Quote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:02:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
Kildare haven't won the AI in nearly 100 years and still have twice as many as Armagh.
Perhaps previous generations in Kildare were of more use. However, your comment understates the challenges of playing GAA in the 6 counties in the past.
Quote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:02:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
Fairly embarrassing for Kildare given the population difference and the fact about half of what we do have wouldn't be too GAA inclined. And the fact we were abit busy with the Brits up here for most of the GAA's existence
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 31, 2025, 08:56:04 PMQuote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:02:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
Fairly embarrassing for Kildare given the population difference and the fact about half of what we do have wouldn't be too GAA inclined. And the fact we were abit busy with the Brits up here for most of the GAA's existence
If population is all that matters then Antrim are the GAAs greatest failures.
But it isn't and your just on the WUM.
Quote from: trileacman on March 31, 2025, 09:12:55 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 31, 2025, 08:56:04 PMQuote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:02:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
Wicklow are more watery than Antrim. Antrim clubs have won all Irelands in the last 15 years. Antrim hurlers are decent. Wicklow have no presence in either hurling or football.
Quote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:05:34 PMQuote from: rodney trotter on March 31, 2025, 03:37:04 PMWhy has it taken this long to shake it up a bit? The life was gone ages ago. Dublin hhave won 14 in a row. They will win it handy again this regardless.
Dublin will win it pulling up. You could argue that the populations in the counties surrounding Dublin are mostly Dubs after buying 'affordable' housing.
Hence why kildare and meath have improved at underage in last 10 years.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AMIt's almost on us.
Does anyone care?
We'll be hockeyed by Wicklow Sun week. Wicklow will then be ate by the Dubs in Aughrim.
I'm bored with it all.
I've read your posts for many years on GAA Board, but this is a very sad post.
For me, I'd like to ressurect the split Dublin idea with either a North Dub and South Dub, or Dub City and Dub County.
Quote from: Orior on March 31, 2025, 11:10:09 PMQuote from: Shamrock Shore on March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AMIt's almost on us.
Does anyone care?
I'm bored with it all.
For me, I'd like to resurrect the split Dublin idea with either a North Dub and South Dub, or Dub City and Dub County.
Feck me Orior. no way split Dublin. 4 behemoths instead of one. GAA is massive in capital. The fantasy 'Dun Laoghaire Rathdown' team on its own would give Leinster a good rattle.
I can handle despair. It's the little seeds of hope that kill you.
TBH being a Longford ultra gives me a certain respect in GAA circles here in Dublin. People nod heads...........there's yer man...........no hope...........still goes to all the games.........
Or else they think I'm a class of a simple bollix.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2025, 07:22:47 AMQuote from: Orior on March 31, 2025, 11:10:09 PMQuote from: Shamrock Shore on March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AMIt's almost on us.
Does anyone care?
I'm bored with it all.
For me, I'd like to resurrect the split Dublin idea with either a North Dub and South Dub, or Dub City and Dub County.
Feck me Orior. no way split Dublin. 4 behemoths instead of one. GAA is massive in capital. The fantasy 'Dun Laoghaire Rathdown' team on its own would give Leinster a good rattle.
TBH being a Longford ultra gives me a certain respect in GAA circles here in Dublin. People nod heads...........there's yer man...........no hope...........still goes to all the games.........
It's definitely the former sir!
Then they abolished the O'Byrne cup on ye.....
Quote from: Rossfan on April 01, 2025, 09:33:32 AMThen they abolished the O'Byrne cup on ye.....
BASTARDS
Quote from: armaghniac on March 31, 2025, 08:47:31 PMQuote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:02:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
Perhaps previous generations in Kildare were of more use. However, your comment understates the challenges of playing GAA in the 6 counties in the past.
Indeed. Two of Kildares titles were pre 1922. Challenging is right.
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 31, 2025, 08:56:04 PMQuote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:02:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
We were busy with the Brits pre 1922 as well.
Kildares population have huge interest in rugby and horse racing. As well as a decent percentage being Dubs.
Kildare and Meath used to draw teams from rural towns and villages years ago. The big commuter towns are a more recent phenomenon.
Dublin have a head start on them in getting people engaged in GAA in places that are anonymous and with less identity.
Meath used to thrive off an identity of being tough and (cave)manly. That's a harder sell in a commuter town where everyone speaks with a Dub accent.
Quote from: trileacman on March 31, 2025, 09:12:55 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 31, 2025, 08:56:04 PMQuote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:02:02 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.
Kildare has more people than the useful population of Antrim and a less challenging environment.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2025, 07:22:47 AMQuote from: Orior on March 31, 2025, 11:10:09 PMQuote from: Shamrock Shore on March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AMIt's almost on us.
Does anyone care?
I'm bored with it all.
You're right, and I can't understand how dubs don't get this, the huge numbers involved in underage gaelic football in Dublin mean that splitting Dublin (which I'm totally in favour of) would result in 3/4/5 teams equal in strength to the current team. I hear you though, it wouldn't improve longford's lot or chances of adding to that Leinster haul, but at least we'd have a third provincial championship worth tuning into.
Kildare haven't been a strong football County for 90 plus years.
Meath on the other hand went from a glorious 16 years to being a bang average at best mid ranking County for the next 24 years.
The only question about this year's Leinster SFC is who will Dublin play in the Final and what effect that will have on the Sam/TC lineup.
Its a real shame Offaly most likely will have to play Tailteann cup this year given Clares munster draw.
Will definitely fancy their chances at winning it though.
In fairness to Clare they were denied promotion on score difference despite beating the 2 promoted teams - Kildare and Offaly.
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on April 02, 2025, 06:11:48 PMIn fairness to Clare they were denied promotion on score difference despite beating the 2 promoted teams - Kildare and Offaly.
Fait enough.
I think a fairer way for a 3 way tie breaker is a mini league between the 3 teams and if they've all won one lost one then only take into consideration score difference in the games between the 3.
A wee moan.
Leinster and the provincials all "launched" this week. We get a few journos invited to various locations including the Gaints Causeway, few token soundbites given and few stock photos that could be 2025, 2015 or whenever.
Year in, year out, different competitions, same launch - player X in county jersey sitting in stand or on pitch togged out with cup/cup/ball/hurley etc.
When are the GAA going to actually think outside the box and come up with something different that might actually build a talking point particularly, get a marketing campaign that goes viral, go after the TicTok youth market, create something.
It mightn't generate much of the older generation but you'd be surprised and the youth need to be engaged to get wanting to attend games.
Rant over. Insert photo of Sam Mulroy with Delaney Cup here.
A bit like "Up for the match"
Quote from: Louther on April 03, 2025, 09:48:58 AMA wee moan.
Leinster and the provincials all "launched" this week. We get a few journos invited to various locations including the Gaints Causeway, few token soundbites given and few stock photos that could be 2025, 2015 or whenever.
Year in, year out, different competitions, same launch - player X in county jersey sitting in stand or on pitch togged out with cup/cup/ball/hurley etc.
When are the GAA going to actually think outside the box and come up with something different that might actually build a talking point particularly, get a marketing campaign that goes viral, go after the TicTok youth market, create something.
It mightn't generate much of the older generation but you'd be surprised and the youth need to be engaged to get wanting to attend games.
Yeah true but if it was competitive these problems would fix themselves. It was telling that there was no Dub at it. Not worth their while showing up for a forgone conclusion. As much as it saddens me and I know we're part of the problem but trust me the work is being done but we seem to be still selling ourselves short at senior level.
Quote from: thejuice on April 03, 2025, 11:24:40 AMQuote from: Louther on April 03, 2025, 09:48:58 AMA wee moan.
Yeah true but if it was competitive these problems would fix themselves. It was telling that there was no Dub at it. Not worth their while showing up for a forgone conclusion. As much as it saddens me and I know we're part of the problem but trust me the work is being done but we seem to be still selling ourselves short at senior level.
I probably should have added that it is same for everything. Provincials mean nothing but come the qualifiers and the knock out stages, finals it be the exact same. Rinse and repeat.
And rely on the Up for the Match the night before to dress it up a bit. Tiresome.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AMIt's almost on us.
Does anyone care?
I'm bored with it all.
Yes, Wicklow will have enough for Longford.
Dublin will find Aughrim a tricky assignment. Most of their supporters will get lost on the way.
Quote from: Fogarty on April 03, 2025, 01:37:43 PMQuote from: Shamrock Shore on March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AMIt's almost on us.
Does anyone care?
I'm bored with it all.
Yes, Wicklow will have enough for Longford.
Dublin will find Aughrim a tricky assignment. Most of their supporters will get lost on the way.
lol
Quote from: Louther on April 03, 2025, 09:48:58 AMA wee moan.
The four different provincials councils all having their own launch is just one of the most obvious bits of duplication of effort resulting in a waste of resources ending up with subpar results.
There's lot more stuff "under the hood" in term of administration where the provincial councils are wasting time and or money duplicating work and getting subpar results. Should be scrapped asap.
Result Wexford 2-11 Laois 2-21
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 05, 2025, 07:53:17 PMResult 2-11 Laois 2-21
Did Laois wipe the opposition off the field?
Handy one for Wicklow. Are they hosting the Dubs next week?
Wicklow making hard work but through to QF now against Dublin.
Meath 1-30
Carlow 0-19
Got the job done but can hardly read anything into it. Disappointing we only scored 4 two pointers given the space we had and possession. We're going to struggle if we can get more 2 pointers.
Offaly will be a big step up from today.
Wicklow made heavy work of Longford, but I was glad we got extra time to get ourselves right.
Dublin will be a big challenge. We never fear them and they won't like Aughrim!
How many can Aughrim hold?
It was our best performance of the year and coulda, shoulda etc.
Fogarty is right. Wicklow made hard work of it. 15 or so wides and prob had 60-65% of possession and yet we could have won. Wicklow equalised with more oe less the last kick of the game.
Longford had no stream left for extra time.
Not too disheartened, despite losing. Would have been nice to play the Dubs in an artistic sense. Madness in every other sense. I hope Wicklow keep pace. Your inside forward line is good (or made look good) so that's something.
Dubs' juggernaut will be nigh unstoppable.
Restricting to capacity to 7k when they could sell it out twice. Then playing games in Croke Park where there's 20k there and 60k empty seats. :-\ :-\
Wicklow to ambush Dublin in Aughrim as they did Laois in 86. I still don't think I've got over it. That loss ended the hopes of a golden generation of Laois footballer. Maybe Wicklow can put paid to this golden generation of Dublin's. Not sure Wicklow could get away with the tactics they used that day though today.
Kildare#s season is losing momentum. The two losses to Offaly have taken the buzz down a notch, and even though we were promoted they were body blows.
The worrying bit is that Offaly were let do the same thing to us and we didn't learn. Our subs made no impact and we are struggling with runners from deep.
Westmeath may have gone down, but they are not a bad team at all. Newbridge might help to swing it a bit...
Another injury blow for Meath with the news that Jack Kinlough has been ruled out for the remainder of the year with ACL.
Teams for this weekend games.
Wicklow:
Mark Jackson
Tom Moran, Craig Maguire, Malachy Stone
Joe Prendergast, Patrick O'Keane, Matt Nolan
Dean Healy, Jack Kirwan
John Paul Nolan, Padraig O'Toole, Darragh Fee;
Oisin McGraynor, Kevin Quinn, Mark Kenny.
Subs: Cathal Fitzgerald, Jacques McCall, Gavin Fogarty, Cathal Baker, Conor Fee, Christopher O'Brien, Liam O'Neill, Adam Arslan, Lorcan Smith, Eoin Darcy, Andy Maher.
Dublin:
Evan Comerford;
David Byrne, Theo Clancy, Conor Tyrell;
Brian Howard, Cian Murphy, Sean MacMahon;
Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne, Tom Lahiff;
Niall Scully, Sean Bugler, Ciarán Kilkenny;
Ross McGarry, Con O'Callaghan, Colm Basquel.
Subs: Stephen Cluxton, Cormac Costello, Davy Keogh, Kevin Lahiff, James Madden, Greg McEneaney, Killian McGinnis, Lorcan O'Dell, Eoghan O'Donnell, Brian O'Leary, Paddy Small.
Offaly:
Paddy Dunican;
Lee Pearson, Aidan Bracken, Daire McDaid;
Rory Egan, John Furlong, Cormac Egan;
Jack MeEvoy, Jordan Hayes;
Kyle Higgins, Cathal Flynn, Keith O'Neill;
Dylan Hyland, Jack Bryant, Shane Tierney.
Subs: Sean O'Toole, Cillian Bourke, Marcas Dalton, David Dempsey, Cathal Donoghue, Nigel Dunne, Shane O'Toole Greene, Aaron Leavy, Ruairi McNamee, Eoin Sawyer, Morgan Tynan.
Meath:
Billy Hogan;
Seamus Lavin, Seán Rafferty, Brian O'Halloran;
Eoin Harkin, Donal Keogan, Ciarán Caulfield;
Jack Flynn, Bryan Menton;
Conor Duke, Ruairi Kinsella, Keith Curtis;
Aaron Lynch, Matthew Costello, Eoghan Frayne.
Subs: Seán Brennan, Seán Ryan, Ronan Ryan, Adam O'Neill, Seán Coffey, Shane Walsh, Cathal Hickey, Diarmuid Moriarty, Thomas O'Reilly, Jason Scully, Cillian O'Sulivan.
Louth:
Niall McDonnell
Emmet Carolan, Dermot Campbell, Donal McKenny
Daire Nally, Peter Lynch, Conal McKeever
Tommy Durnin, Fearghal Malone
Paul Matthews, Ciaran Downey, Andy McDonnell
Conor Grimes, Kevin McArdle, Ryan Burns.
Subs: Tiarnan Markey, Liam Jackson, Leonard Grey, Craig Lennon, Ciaran Byrne, Dara McDonnell, Daire McConnon, Conor Branigan, Sean Reynolds, Dylan McKeown, Liam Flynn.
Laois:
Killian Roche;
Ben Dempsey, Trevor Collins, Patrick O'Sullivan;
Pa Kirwan, Simon Fingleton, Liam Knowles;
Conor Heffernan, Seamus Lacey;
Mark Barry, Kevin Swayne, Daniel O'Reilly;
Ronan Coffey, Niall Corbett, Brian Byrne.
Subs: Conor Brown, Ryan Brady, John Brennan, Benny Carroll, Jamie Conway, Josh Hogan, Fionn Holland, Jonah Kelly, Damon Larkin, Cathal Lee, Seán O'Neill.
Kildare:
Cian Burke;
Harry O'Neill, Mark Dempsey, Brian Byrne;
Kevin Flynn, David Hyland, James McGrath;
Kevin Feely, Callum Bolton;
Colm Dalton, Alex Beirne, Ben McCormack;
Niall Kelly, Darragh Kirwan, Brian McLoughlin.
Subs: Didier Cordonnier, Ryan Burke, Mick O'Grady, Jack McKevitt, Tommy Gill, Ryan Houlihan, Aaron Masterson, Cathal Hagney, Paddy McDermott, Darragh Swords, Ryan Sinkey.
Westmeath:
Conor McCormack;
Jamie Gonoud, David Giles, Conor Dillon;
Nigel Harte, Ronan Wallace, Sam McCartan;
Ray Connellan, Fionn O'Hara;
Kevin O'Sullivan, Danny McCartan, Matthew Whittaker;
Robbie Forde, Luke Loughlin, Brian Cooney.
Subs: Kieran Martin, Sam Smith, Brian Guerin, Joseph Moran, Eoghan McCabe, Brandon Kelly, Jonathan Lynam, Lorcan Dolan, Daniel Scahill, Stephen Smith, Shane Ormsby.
That is Kildare's strongest team of the year IF they are all fit and ready. Kevin Flynn and Kirwan have barely featured. Ben McCormack has been in and out.
Going in hope tomorrow as we are so open at the back and slow to pull the trigger up top it's not looking good. Grand evening for it mind...
Where Kildare good fballer go,at full forward, Daniel Flynn, he been retired a couple of yrs or just drop out.
Why did meath lose their coaches?
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 11, 2025, 08:44:41 PMThat is Kildare's strongest team of the year IF they are all fit and ready. Kevin Flynn and Kirwan have barely featured. Ben McCormack has been in and out.
Going in hope tomorrow as we are so open at the back and slow to pull the trigger up top it's not looking good. Grand evening for it mind...
Kildare will be beat Westmeath well. They took foot off the gas after qualifying for league final. The focus has always been on the game today. Kildare 25/1. A each way bet is great value as will beat Louth too.
Decent game so far, Kildare goal levels up the game 1-7 to 0-10 a few minutes before half time. Westmeath lead at the break 0-12 to 1-8.
Kildare have weathered the storm. Only one behind with Westmeath playing all the football. Expect them to hit a dominant patch on the scoreboard. Kirwan and Beirne are top range forwards. Kildare to win by 8-10 points.
Very enjoyable game in Newbridge. Connellan was lording it until injury. Westmeath have the legs on Kildare
Kildare great value now at 2/1. Connellan big loss to Westmeath.
2nd goal for Kildare 2-11 to 0-16 they lead.
Kildare now ahead by 2.
Enjoyable game this!
Westmeath down to 14 with a black. Kildare 2-16 Westmeath 0-18. 8 minutes left.
Kildare pulling away now.
Result Kildare 2-17 Westmeath 0-21. Semi-Final against Laois or Louth next for Kildare. Tailteann cup for Westmeath.
Kildare win 2-17 to 21 points
Decent game to watch between two teams of fairly similar standard.
The goals conceded by Westmeath were very cheap from a defensive standpoint.
Looked to be a pretty decent crowd at it.
Wicklow was leading Dublin 0-5 to 0-04 after 20 minutes. A quick 1-1 for Dublin put them three in front Wicklow respond with a two pointer. 0-7 to 1-5 after 25 mins.
Con O'Callaghan hits the net from the rebound after his penalty is saved. 2-5 to 0-7.
Half time Wicklow 0-11 Dublin 2-9
Some start for Offaly 0-8 to no score against Meath.
Obviously things not good in the Meath camp.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 03:01:21 PMObviously things not good in the Meath camp.
Offaly was in a worse place this time last year but are bouncing now under Mickey Harte. Half time Meath 0-5 Offaly 0-15
Result Wicklow 0-18 Dublin 2-21. Half time Laois 0-9 Louth 0-8.
20 minutes to play. Meath 0-14 Offaly 0-19
5 two pointers for Meath in the 2nd half. Offaly with a slender 0-19 to 0-18 lead.
Only a point in it now between Offaly Meath. Pity that game was not broadcast on GAA+.
Level 0-19 each.
Meath 0-22 Offaly 0-19 with 3 minutes to play.
Late goal seals the comeback win for Meath. 1-25 to 0-21.
8 2 pointers for Meath in second half.
Ten minutes to play Louth 1:13 Laois 0:15.
2nd goal for Louth with a minute of normal time to go 2-15 to 0-15.
FT Louth 2-16 Laois 0-17
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 13, 2025, 03:09:28 PMQuote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 03:01:21 PMObviously things not good in the Meath camp.
Offaly was in a worse place this time last year but are bouncing now under Mickey Harte. Half time Meath 0-5 Offaly 0-15
Indeed.... 8)
Thank God for the Leinster Championship 8)
Kildare came good in the end but didn't see it coming after the 1st half.
Leinster giving a few exciting games unlike the Ulster and Connacht strolls.
Teams of similar level playing each other will give you that.
That's why in every County you have graded Championships.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 08:29:06 PMLeinster giving a few exciting games unlike the Ulster and Connacht strolls.
Roscommon and Galway had a stroll after their opponents gave a competitive display in the 1st halves. Mayo 1st in Div 1 only ended up beating Sligo 5th in Div 3 by 3 points and any graded inter county championships probably wouldn't allow that match to happen similar with Meath v Offaly with 3rd in Div 2 faring off against 2nd in Div 3?
Ballinameen don't get to play St Bridgets.
Probably just as well.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 09:29:45 PMBallinameen don't get to play St Bridgets.
Probably just as well.
Leave the hurley stuff at home Pat
Meath and Kildare final. WAatch this space
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 08:29:06 PMLeinster giving a few exciting games unlike the Ulster and Connacht strolls.
Leinster would the most competitive of the provincials only for the obvious crowd.
Fair play to Wicklow, seems like a respectable enough scoreline?
Leinster semi finals
Sunday 27th
2pm in O'Connor Park Kildare v Louth
4pm in O'Moore Park Dublin v Meath
Quote from: LarryStiles on April 13, 2025, 10:18:55 PMQuote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2025, 09:29:45 PMBallinameen don't get to play St Bridgets.
Probably just as well.
Leave the hurley stuff at home Pat
Last time a hurley was seen round Ballinameen was back in 1918 - that famous day when the Brits banned hurling and of course there were thousands of games organised😁.
Meanwhile I see Tullamore and Portlaoise getting the 2 Leinster semis.
Wicklow had the first half wind and we didn't use it well enough. The 2nd half effort was better.
Wicklow are closing the gap on Dublin and others. Take out Con O'Callaghan and Wicklow had the measure of Dublin.
Great performance by Meath at the weekend. Some shocking injuries on the panel morris (one of best corner forwards in country ) jones , kinlough , mcentee , and on and on. Great to have Conlon and coffee back after injury. The 2 coaches departure while extremely disappointing hasn't affected the team as much as some would have thought or hoped . Duke has been a revelation and is showing standards beyond his early years .
I am actually looking forward to playing Dublin. First time in many years I believe we will not only give them a game but may just beat them. We have made huge strides since Brennan took over. Yes there has been hiccups and errors and mistakes. But we are 10 times better than we were last year. Definitely a coming team. I'm excited about heading to portlaois.
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 15, 2025, 10:09:47 PMGreat performance by Meath at the weekend. Some shocking injuries on the panel morris (one of best corner forwards in country ) jones , kinlough , mcentee , and on and on. Great to have Conlon and coffee back after injury. The 2 coaches departure while extremely disappointing hasn't affected the team as much as some would have thought or hoped . Duke has been a revelation and is showing standards beyond his early years .
I am actually looking forward to playing Dublin. First time in many years I believe we will not only give them a game but may just beat them. We have made huge strides since Brennan took over. Yes there has been hiccups and errors and mistakes. But we are 10 times better than we were last year. Definitely a coming team. I'm excited about heading to portlaois.
Whole country would love to see it. Don't know if yous are there yet but the gap isn't what it was. Would need everything going right for Meath and them hitting their full potential, if yous give the Dubs the start Offaly got forget about it.
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 15, 2025, 10:12:58 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on April 15, 2025, 10:09:47 PMGreat performance by Meath at the weekend. Some shocking injuries on the panel morris (one of best corner forwards in country ) jones , kinlough , mcentee , and on and on. Great to have Conlon and coffee back after injury. The 2 coaches departure while extremely disappointing hasn't affected the team as much as some would have thought or hoped . Duke has been a revelation and is showing standards beyond his early years .
Whole country would love to see it. Don't know if yous are there yet but the gap isn't what it was. Would need everything going right for Meath and them hitting their full potential, if yous give the Dubs the start Offaly got forget about it.
Definitely agree with giving dub the same start as Offaly an we would be goosed , can't just play for 35 minutes and expect them to win. Has to be 100% from start to finish
Looking forward to the weekend and great to be out of Croke Park.
Kildare v Westmeath was a little cracker in fairness, even if the quality was up and down. With a young Kildare team we'd hope that this would be a big boost and some of our key players like Feely and McCormack really stood up in the latter stages.
Our kickouts were ABYSMAL. I know it's not all on the keeper but he kicked 2 frees from his hands as high and hard as he could - it was Go Games stuff!
We are still very open at the back and our forwards do not demand the ball or pull lads out of position, which is a concern.
Only listened to Meath match on Midlands, but Offaly are a very good outfit and Meath did well in the end. I just hope they bring some noise and intensity to it.
Louth v Dublin the likely outcome mind.
You'd imagine for Meath to have any chance they need to be on song in the 2 point department.
The underdogs seem to be the only teams willing to take them on as we've seen with Antrim, Cork and Monaghan.
Meath should be able to beat Dublin. Wicklow exposed a lot of weaknesses in Dublin, but we didn't finish the job!
Odds on the Semi finals this weekend.
Louth 8/13 Kildare 13/8
Dublin 1/10 Meath 7/1
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on April 22, 2025, 02:21:35 PMYou'd imagine for Meath to have any chance they need to be on song in the 2 point department.
The underdogs seem to be the only teams willing to take them on as we've seen with Antrim, Cork and Monaghan.
Duke and Costello are the main getters of these for us since we without morris. Hopefully they on song
With Kilkenny and Con they still gave lads who can lead, but their aura is not as strong and sadly Leinster teams lay down for them for too long.
I don't see Meath winning but I don't see a beating either.
Louth to beat Kikdare by 5+, although I am hopeful. They are too along the line as a group.
I see reports of poor ticket sales?
And that LC is not expecting more than 20k in total.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 24, 2025, 10:48:40 AMI see reports of poor ticket sales?
Which match?
The 2 Leinster SFC games.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 24, 2025, 11:02:27 AMThe 2 Leinster SFC games.
That's woeful. Anyone looking for an All Ireland final ticket later in the year, having not supported the early matches should be told where to go!
Quote from: Rossfan on April 24, 2025, 10:48:40 AMI see reports of poor ticket sales?
. Stand tickets sold out for Meath Dublin before last Sunday. Only terrace available.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 24, 2025, 11:02:27 AMThe 2 Leinster SFC games.
Meath v Dublin near seek out at this stage is what I'm hearing. I'd expect it to be full house by Sunday morning. Dubs leave everything to last second ;D
Not sure if it's too late...
https://leinstergaa.ie/leinster-gaa-group-pass/
To be honest until the Provinces are all competitive people will stay away till the latter stages of the championship.
Stand tickets (unreserved) still on sale for Dublin v Meath.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 25, 2025, 10:24:48 AMStand tickets (unreserved) still on sale for Dublin v Meath.
. Not on ticketmaster. As 4 of us tried on Saturday and told terrace only stand was full. Where is that from ?
Gaa.ie/tickets (ticketmaster in other words) at 10.15 this morning.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 25, 2025, 02:58:00 PMGaa.ie/tickets (ticketmaster in other words) at 10.15 this morning.
. Damn. When I tried on Saturday they only had terrace. I wanted the stand. What they playing at? Honestly that's a joke
Returns from Co Boards?
Dublin ST holders not taking up their ticket option?
Kildare:
Cian Burke
Ryan Burke, Mark Dempsey, Brian Byrne;
Ryan Houlihan, David Hyland, James McGrath;
Kevin Feely, Callum Bolton;
Colm Dalton, Alex Beirne, Ben McCormack;
Ryan Sinkey, Darragh Kirwan, Brian McLoughlin.
Subs: Didier Cordonnier, Niall O'Sullivan, Mick O'Grady, Jack McKevitt, Tommy Gill, Kevin Flynn, Aaron Masterson, Cathal Hagney, Darragh Swords, Niall Kelly, Jimmy Hyland.
Louth:
Niall McDonnell
Emmet Carolan, Dermot Campbell, Donal McKenny
Daire Nally, Peter Lynch, Conal McKeever
Tommy Durnin, Andy McDonnell
Paul Matthews, Ciarán Downey, Conor Grimes;
Kieran McArdle, Sam Mulroy, Ryan Burns.
Subs: Tiarnan Markey, Liam Jackson, Anthony Williams, Craig Lennon, Fearghal Malone, Dara McDonnell, Dan Corcoran, Conor Branigan, Seán Reynolds, Dylan McKeown, Bevan Duffy.
Meath:
Billy Hogan;
Séamus Lavin, Seán Rafferty, Brian O'Halloran;
Donal Keogan, Seán Coffey, Ciarán Caulfield
Jack Flynn, Bryan Menton;
Conor Duke, Ruairi Kinsella, Keith Curtis;
Mathew Costello, Shane Walsh, Eoghan Fryane.
Subs: Seán Brennan, Seán Ryan, Ronan Ryan, Adam O'Neill, Daithí McGowan, Cian McBride, James McEntee, James Conlon, Aaron Lynch, Eoin Harkin, Cathal Hickey.
Dublin:
Stephen Cluxton
David Byrne, Theo Clancy, Conor Tyrell
Brian Howard, Greg McEneaney, Tom Lahiff
Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne, Ciarán Kilkenny;
Niall Scully, Seán Bugler, Kevin Lahiff;
Ross McGarry, Con O'Callaghan, Colm Basquel.
Subs: Evan Comerford, Cormac Costello, Nathan Doran, Alex Gavin, Davy Keogh, James Madden, Killian McGinnis, Lorcan O'Dell, Brian O'Leary, John Small, Paddy Small.
Is Daniel Flynn injured or not part of the Kildare panel anymore?
Quote from: harryR on April 25, 2025, 09:39:04 PMIs Daniel Flynn injured or not part of the Kildare panel anymore?
On the panel but not making the 26. It's a fair call, his last season of decent form was 2022.
Sam back for Louth, should win that handy enough so
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 26, 2025, 01:27:34 AMSam back for Louth, should win that handy enough so
He's a big boost if fit to start.
Two stats on Louth.
They are looking to reach the Leinster final for the third year in a row and have only achieved this once before between 1912 and 1914. They have never won a Leinster semi-final outside of Dublin and Louth.
Meath great value at 7/1. Dubs will be out numbered support wise and don't play well outside of Croker. Kildare will beat Louth. Kildare were 35/1 to win Leinster before Westmeath game. Great value.
Kildare have too many if this lad plays well, or we can do this or that...Louth are better now and much more reliable.
Meath will need to go 2 point crazy if they have any hope...but the Dubs will take it up a notch.
Quote from: LarryStiles on April 27, 2025, 09:11:31 AMMeath great value at 7/1. Dubs will be out numbered support wise and don't play well outside of Croker. Kildare will beat Louth. Kildare were 35/1 to win Leinster before Westmeath game. Great value.
Dublin Louth final so.
Meath and Louth have some 2-point kickers that could potentially trouble Dublin, Kildare less so, so Louth may be the best bet for the final.
It would be some addendum to a legacy, if Jim Gavin's rule tweaks were responsible for breaking Dublin's dominance in Leinster.
Good start for Kildare 6-1 and 8-2 ahead.
Louth respond 8-6 now. Sam Mulroy 2nd two pointer puts his side in front for the first time 11-10. Goal for Louth right on half time 1-11 to 0-10
Is it only ulster where steps are policed??
Quote from: 5times5times on April 27, 2025, 02:39:00 PMIs it only ulster where steps are policed??
Only when you've a ref who thinks he's the star of the show like Gough
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 27, 2025, 02:44:12 PMQuote from: 5times5times on April 27, 2025, 02:39:00 PMIs it only ulster where steps are policed??
Only when you've a ref who thinks he's the star of the show like Gough
We either want the rules adhered to or we don't lol.
Just seen a clip of the Louth goal and not sure if it's a foul on the ball or not, it's not like he struck the ball but rather 'caresses' the ball in
50 minutes played Louth 3 points ahead. Lead cut to one point with 9 minutes left.
Kildare have this
Kildare level it, Louth lead by one again with 4 minutes left.
Level again 2 minutes left. Louth one in front again.
Two pointer seals the win FT louth 1-18 Kildare 0-18. 3rd Leinster final in a row
Quote from: LarryStiles on April 27, 2025, 03:24:28 PMKildare have this
And it's gone.
Would even Kildare supporters trust their team to now win the Tailteann Cup?
2010 Leinster Final repeat. Meath hammering the Dubs by 12
Quote from: LarryStiles on April 27, 2025, 04:28:43 PM2010 Leinster Final repeat. Meath hammering the Dubs by 12
Looked at that on Score Beo and thought it's a mistake surely...
Cmon Meath. Nervey second half ahead
Half time Meath 0-17 Dublin 0-5. Last time Dublin was 12 behind at half time in a Leinster game? The Dubs have the wind 2nd half.
Quote from: LarryStiles on April 27, 2025, 04:28:43 PM2010 Leinster Final repeat. Meath hammering the Dubs by 12
Stop trying to jinx things. Leinster championship needs Dublin finally beaten and hopefully Meath close it out 2nd half.
6,670 attendance at Kikdare v Louth.
About 1.75% of the combined populations....
Equivalent of Ros v Leitrim drawing 1,500.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 27, 2025, 04:48:17 PM6,670 attendance at Kikdare v Louth.
About 1.75% of the combined populations....
Equivalent of Ros v Leitrim drawing 1,500.
But Louth people will go to the final against Meath! Who is going to ref that one?
The Dubs have a strong wind 2nd half. A few 2 pointers and they're back in it.
John Heslin is the most Midlands sounding guy I've ever heard.
Let's hope Meath hold on but I feel Dublin by 4.
Dublin 2 pointer straight from the throw in.
Point from a free for Meath. 0-18 to 0-7 after 40 mins. Two more points for Dublin 0-18 to 0-9 now.
Dublin need to pick up the pace, a 10 point gap at half time is now a 9 point gap after 50 mins.
10 points between the sides. Bench impact and fitness important now.
Massive win for Meath. Up with Clare beaten kerry in 92
Goal for Dublin, bad turn over for Meath. Gap down to 6 points now. Another point for Dublin 1-13 to 0-21.
Big save by the Meath keeper to stop a 2nd Dublin goal.
Don't think Meath are going to hang on here.
Quote from: clarshack on April 27, 2025, 05:23:55 PMDon't think Meath are going to hang on here.
The keeper can't find his man which is causing a lot of their issues.
Meath keep running into trouble as well.
Quote from: clarshack on April 27, 2025, 05:26:09 PMMeath keep running into trouble.
They do another Dublin point from a turn over. 1-14 to 0-21. 10 mins left.
Quote from: clarshack on April 27, 2025, 05:26:09 PMMeath keep running into trouble as well.
Dublin going proper man to man which is making it exciting.
Two pointer for Dublin with 6 mins to play. 1-16 to 0-21.
2 pointer for Dublin after a Meath player kicked it straight to a Dublin man FFS.
Meath are making an awful balls of this.
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 27, 2025, 05:34:10 PMMeath are making an awful balls of this.
Decision making going to crap when the pressure is on, regardless of Dublins comeback Meath should be out of sight.
Handed the ball away a few times now. Hoping they hold on mind and Louth payback for 2010.
Just a few minutes to go and it's still Meath 0-21 Dublin 1-16. A much needed score for Meath they lead by 3.
One minute left Meath 0-23 Dublin 1-16. Dublin Leinster dominance over.
Happy days.
Unbelievable. Fair play Meath
Meath have done it by 4!
Well done Meath, thought they were going to throw that away!
That was seriously a tense second half! Fair fucks to Meath there to hold on
Think the commentators were saying earlier that's the first time Dublin have been beaten in the championship outside Croke Park since the Kerry All Ireland 1/4 Final game in Thurles back in 2001.
Fair play to them, great scenes. Emergency summit with government in morning to green light 50m of support to Dublin.
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeoooooooooooooowwww!
15 f**king years! My kids have never seen this happen in their lives!!
Great result for Meath and Leinster football. Provincial championships are dead they say? not on watching those end of match scenes!
Loving the pitch scenes.
All empires eventually fall
Quote from: clarshack on April 27, 2025, 05:42:09 PMThink the commentators were saying earlier that's the first time Dublin have been beaten in the championship outside Croke Park since the Kerry All Ireland 1/4 Final game in Thurles back in 2001.
In fairness, how many games have they played outside CP in that period?
Quote from: gallsman on April 27, 2025, 05:47:57 PMQuote from: clarshack on April 27, 2025, 05:42:09 PMThink the commentators were saying earlier that's the first time Dublin have been beaten in the championship outside Croke Park since the Kerry All Ireland 1/4 Final game in Thurles back in 2001.
In fairness, how many games have they played outside CP in that period?
Probably not a lot tbf.
Meath v Louth Leinster final will hopefully draw a strong crowd now. Would love to see it almost packed out, like the old days in Leinster.
Delighted for Meath. Fair fucks.
Well done to Meath. Survived the storm.
Well done to Meath. The beast has been taken down. At long last. And the Leinster final is a rerun of the 2010 final, the last time the Dubs lost in Leinster, between Meath and Louth.
It always been said
that Croke Park a serious advantage to Dublin. Would Meath won that in Croke Park, probably not.
It must be embarrassing for Monaghan supporters that they haven't won more Ulster titles despite the Clones advantage.
Untold damage done by the GAA for years giving Dublin a Procession of home games. They basically did not give a flying f€€€ about any other counties, because the coffers were filling up.
Thank god I've moved away from the inter county game.
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 27, 2025, 05:59:12 PMUntold damage done by the GAA for years giving Dublin a Procession of home games. They basically did not give a flying f€€€ about any other counties, because the coffers were filling up.
Methinks the county boards of most other leinster counties did not protest too much as they were looking at the revenue stream.
It is wonderful to see these games at provincial venues, with a real atmosphere.
What a win for Meath, super
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 27, 2025, 05:59:12 PMUntold damage done by the GAA for years giving Dublin a Procession of home games. They basically did not give a flying f€€€ about any other counties, because the coffers were filling up.
How many did the dubs play in Parnell Park?
Quote from: joemamas on April 27, 2025, 06:21:59 PMQuote from: From the Bunker on April 27, 2025, 05:59:12 PMUntold damage done by the GAA for years giving Dublin a Procession of home games. They basically did not give a flying f€€€ about any other counties, because the coffers were filling up.
Methinks the county boards of most other leinster counties did not protest too much as they were looking at the revenue stream.
It is wonderful to see these games at provincial venues, with a real atmosphere.
Likes of Laois, Kildare and Westmeath were spending big money on management teams.
Well done to Meath, great to see what it meant to so many young and old supporters on the field celebrating afterwards, lets not forget such on field celebrations are barred in Croke Park. Dublin's first defeat in Leinster for 5,418 days and looking at how things are going for them at U20 level they have a big period of transition now with not great underage teams to call on like before.
Well done Meath. I wouldn't have expected this from them at half time in Navan two weeks ago when Offaly were 10 ahead.
Taking Dublin out of Croke Park is the smaller factor. It's the new rules have thrown a cat among the pigeons.
Dublin being the best resourced county team, have been well ahead of the rest in implementing systems to dominate under the old system. The big reset has removed this, but there's a good chance Dublin will pull ahead again in the coming years once they suss out the best ways to win.
Maybe a Tyrone man reffing again 15 years later 🤔
Quote from: Fogarty on April 22, 2025, 10:26:47 PMMeath should be able to beat Dublin. Wicklow exposed a lot of weaknesses in Dublin, but we didn't finish the job!
Just as I predicted.
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 27, 2025, 05:59:12 PMThank god I've moved away from the inter county game.
Have you though. Liverpool have won the league yet you break away from the celebrations. #Triggered :o
Quote from: Fogarty on April 27, 2025, 08:37:11 PMQuote from: Fogarty on April 22, 2025, 10:26:47 PMMeath should be able to beat Dublin. Wicklow exposed a lot of weaknesses in Dublin, but we didn't finish the job!
Just as I predicted.
Have you the lotto numbers?
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on April 27, 2025, 08:21:03 PMWell done Meath. I wouldn't have expected this from them at half time in Navan two weeks ago when Offaly were 10 ahead.
Taking Dublin out of Croke Park is the smaller factor. It's the new rules have thrown a cat among the pigeons.
Dublin being the best resourced county team, have been well ahead of the rest in implementing systems to dominate under the old system. The big reset has removed this, but there's a good chance Dublin will pull ahead again in the coming years once they suss out the best ways to win.
Dublin's dominance at senior level was in no small part to their success underage level. In contrast this year has been their 5th year in a row to not win a Leinster U20 title. Today's Senior dominance coming to an end was sooner than expected but it was eventually going to happen regardless of rule changes.
Dublin took a couple of poor options at the end when they were getting momentum. The teans of the past always done the simple things well. Theo Clancy was lucky not to be red carded in the first half.
Holy mary mother of god. I'll be honest I thought we had a chance. Why ? I think for last two years we were very badly managed. The players were insulted by saying there wasn't a David Clifford or con O'Callahan in Meath. And the reason we weren't competitive was because the players weren't there. Forget about beating them but competitive?
Yeah get lost. We have a manager who players respect, we have a game plan and players who refused to play last couple of years back and putting everything on the line.
That all said I was worried 12 points wasn't enough at halftime. And when it went down to two I got a sinking feeling. But by jasus did we dig in. I was one of the oldest on the pitch. I went absolutely bananas. I can't believe it still. 15 bloody years of hurt and pain. Over in 70 minutes.
The dubs around me shook my hand they congratulated us they wished us well. And deep down while they are disappointed I think some were glad we finally got them. Call it grudging respect. Or they sick of the whole Leinster is crap stuff and split Dublin in two.
It's midnight and my adrenaline is so high I don't think I'll sleep a wink.
One final thing.
Hon the royal
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 28, 2025, 12:00:51 AMHoly mary mother of god. I'll be honest I thought we had a chance. Why ? I think for last two years we were very badly managed. The players were insulted by saying there wasn't a David Clifford or con O'Callahan in Meath. And the reason we weren't competitive was because the players weren't there. Forget about beating them but competitive?
Yeah get lost. We have a manager who players respect, we have a game plan and players who refused to play last couple of years back and putting everything on the line.
That all said I was worried 12 points wasn't enough at halftime. And when it went down to two I got a sinking feeling. But by jasus did we dig in. I was one of the oldest on the pitch. I went absolutely bananas. I can't believe it still. 15 bloody years of hurt and pain. Over in 70 minutes.
The dubs around me shook my hand they congratulated us they wished us well. And deep down while they are disappointed I think some were glad we finally got them. Call it grudging respect. Or they sick of the whole Leinster is crap stuff and split Dublin in two.
One final thing.
Hon the royal
Fair play to you's.
Meath have some impressive athletes that are massive in height but can move at serious pace which isn't that common.
Where were these guys in recent years it usually takes several years of the right training and conditioning to get up to the level some of them guys showed today.
It felt like this day would never come for Meath people. We've been through some awful times where we could have lost all hope.
Anyway, it's great to feel like we're back!
Pity it's Louth we're playing the Leinster final. Some people refuse to move on from 2010.
Quote from: Honda Royal on April 28, 2025, 12:21:27 AMIt felt like this day would never come for Meath people. We've been through some awful times where we could have lost all hope.
Anyway, it's great to feel like we're back!
Pity it's Louth we're playing the Leinster final. Some people refuse to move on from 2010.
Louth marginal favorites with the bookies at the minute.
50 50 game.
I'd like to think Meath have a better track record in closing out on titles. Louth will be under more pressure because of history. But then I look at the ages of the Meath team and plenty of them have no first hand experience of our great tradition.
I will avoid LMFM for a few weeks.
Hopefully Louth can win the Final and avenge what happened in 2010.
We've lost the last 2 games vs Louth which doesn't look good for us but at the same the way we played and achieved what we did yesterday without Flynn, Morris and a few others shows that there has been a shift in our mindset.
Yesterday we combined desire, physicality, tactical awareness and smartness on the ball which we only saw glimpses of over the last decade. It was all there today. Having said that we were clinging on at times and there is vulnerabilities in our team.
It's going to be a great final but we need to put yesterday aside now and focus on tightening up few things but the desire has to be maintained.
Is it about time we started being more positive about football and quit letting people put the game down.
All 4 provinces have been very competitive this year and not too many hammerings.
Hurling which apparently can do no wrong has seen no end of hammerings in the last couple of weeks even Munster seen a couple today.
We need to be more like hurling people and talk up the championships.
The two Leinster games yesterday were very good. The ulster one wasn't so good but you would hope for a good final. Munster had cork kerry which was exceptional. I don't think Connacht has set the world alight yet as well as ulster. The football has been very entertaining from what I have seen so far.
Munster hurling probably wasn't fantastic yesterday either.
It's the same in both - once the best teams (or teams at comparable levels) are playing each other it can be great.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on April 28, 2025, 08:11:08 AMIs it about time we started being more positive about football and quit letting people put the game down.
All 4 provinces have been very competitive this year and not too many hammerings.
Hurling which apparently can do no wrong has seen no end of hammerings in the last couple of weeks even Munster seen a couple today.
Kilkenny were (unfortunately) were always going to stuff us today and that is the reality of that, but in fairness to the Cork Tipp game, when you lose a player at the throw in, in Cork, then there was only going to be one out come.
The Dub Wexford game was pretty good though and Wexford will feel hard done by, Galway hammered Offaly and no one seen that coming.
But yeah, the football bar the Donegal game which I watch in parts was pretty good, the second half of the Dublin Meath game was pretty good..
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 28, 2025, 08:55:47 AMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on April 28, 2025, 08:11:08 AMIs it about time we started being more positive about football and quit letting people put the game down.
Kilkenny were (unfortunately) were always going to stuff us today and that is the reality of that, but in fairness to the Cork Tipp game, when you lose a player at the throw in, in Cork, then there was only going to be one out come.
The Dub Wexford game was pretty good though and Wexford will feel hard done by, Galway hammered Offaly and no one seen that coming.
But yeah, the football bar the Donegal game which I watch in parts was pretty good, the second half of the Dublin Meath game was pretty good..
Don't get me wrong i'm not trying to run down Hurling.
Why cant we be positive about sports instead of pitting them against each other.
Fantastic to see Dublin beaten, nothing against them but Leinster needed this and it will be great to see someone else win it for a change.
Wouldn't be ruling Dublin out of the All Ireland yet though.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on April 28, 2025, 12:13:39 AMQuote from: Dunneroyal on April 28, 2025, 12:00:51 AMHoly mary mother of god. I'll be honest I thought we had a chance. Why ? I think for last two years we were very badly managed. The players were insulted by saying there wasn't a David Clifford or con O'Callahan in Meath. And the reason we weren't competitive was because the players weren't there. Forget about beating them but competitive?
One final thing.
Hon the royal
Fair play to you's.
Meath have some impressive athletes that are massive in height but can move at serious pace which isn't that common.
Where were these guys in recent years it usually takes several years of the right training and conditioning to get up to the level some of them guys showed today.
Some of them didn't make themselves available. Some were played out of position or a game plan that just didn't suit them. It really was a case of working on midfield the return of Menton and Flynn and jones and coffee was where we built from, some of these players have u20 and minor Leinster too
Ronan Jones has completely transformed as a player under Brennan. He was decent under McEntee and O'Rourke but was limited. Seems to have moved up a level in a short space of time. Same could be said of James Conlon.
Quote from: thejuice on April 28, 2025, 12:47:13 PMRonan Jones has completely transformed as a player under Brennan. He was decent under McEntee and O'Rourke but was limited. Seems to have moved up a level in a short space of time. Same could be said of James Conlon.
Agree on both. Conlon just needed a little longer to transform into the player he is. Dogged by injuries both of them. Two of those fit would walk onto most counties in the country.
I'm at work but I'm banjaxed. Have to book the 11th off. Jesus m on such a high. But nothing won yet. Need to hammer Louth.
Will the Leinster Final see the 2 biggest bandwagons of all time at 1 match?
Assuming a 50/50 split yesterday
Louth had 3,300 fans and Meath 5,100.
How many times 8,400 will attend the Final?
Quote from: Rossfan on April 28, 2025, 04:04:37 PMWill the Leinster Final see the 2 biggest bandwagons of all time at 1 match?
Assuming a 50/50 split yesterday
Louth had 3,300 fans and Meath 5,100.
How many times 8,400 will attend the Final?
Same as any team unfortunately Meath will bring 20k Louth about 15k and a sizeable crowd of neutrals too. As you know Roscommon face the same often , a few years ago huge crowds. Could count the amount that turned up to Navan in league. We all have them but once the 5k of Meath there yesterday get tickets is all that matters. (And they all will )
Meath v Louth is what it's all about now. By this time two weeks there will be 26 players from outside Dublin with Leinster medals. Not since Graham Reilly and the chap from Laois retired has there been a player other than from Dublin with a Leinster medal.
Inniskeen better cash in while it can
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2025/0429/1510015-louth-secure-funding-for-new-stadium-development/
Quote from: Rossfan on April 29, 2025, 06:51:56 PMInniskeen better cash in while it can
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2025/0429/1510015-louth-secure-funding-for-new-stadium-development/
The basic groundworks have already been done here, so it won't take too long to get something useable. Depending on results on Sunday week, Louth support might significantly increase in the meantime.
Over 25,000 tickets sold so far.
Over 48,000 were at the 2010 final. Would hope we get a bigger crowd this time but hard to see it.
Quote from: thejuice on April 29, 2025, 10:21:22 PMOver 25,000 tickets sold so far.
Over 48,000 were at the 2010 final. Would hope we get a bigger crowd this time but hard to see it.
40 euro for seated tickets I see and 30 for Hill 16.
Any self respecting Meath person should attend this game.
8 days. Hurry up please
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 30, 2025, 06:36:48 PMAny self respecting Meath person should attend this game.
That's a very small subset of the Meath population.
Quote from: Fogarty on May 03, 2025, 07:51:42 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on April 30, 2025, 06:36:48 PMAny self respecting Meath person should attend this game.
That's a very small subset of the Meath population.
Ahh there is plenty of us.
7 days. Can't wait
The closer this one gets the more Louth's fear of losing is becoming apparent. Meath much more relaxed. Leaning to the Royals on this basis.
Not long now. From what I've heard Jack Flynn still won't be fit for Sunday. It'll be the same team again most likely except Jones in for O'Neill if he's fit to start.
Quote from: Angus MacGyver on May 06, 2025, 12:51:07 AMThe closer this one gets the more Louth's fear of losing is becoming apparent. Meath much more relaxed. Leaning to the Royals on this basis.
What's that based upon on?
As someone living in Meath with 2 kids in the Colmcilles academy, it is noticeable the level of interest and the number of Meath jerseys that showed up at hurling training, the Monday night after the win against Dublin. It doesn't hurt that we are beside Drogheda and a good local rivalry exists. My 6 year keeps asking is he a Royal now, I have been trying to tell him he is one since birth but its starting to impact on his consciousness.
The lack of flags up etc is a still strange for me coming from Roscommon but its not a huge surprise none of my kids friends parents are from Meath originally and my wife considers herself a Dub even if she lived in Bettystown since she was 11!.
Quote from: thejuice on May 06, 2025, 06:38:45 AMNot long now. From what I've heard Jack Flynn still won't be fit for Sunday. It'll be the same team again most likely except Jones in for O'Neill if he's fit to start.
yeah heard same. Flynn maybe on bench
Quote from: GoldCoastRossie on May 06, 2025, 10:51:33 AMAs someone living in Meath with 2 kids in the Colmcilles academy, it is noticeable the level of interest and the number of Meath jerseys that showed up at hurling training, the Monday night after the win against Dublin. It doesn't hurt that we are beside Drogheda and a good local rivalry exists. My 6 year keeps asking is he a Royal now, I have been trying to tell him he is one since birth but its starting to impact on his consciousness.
The lack of flags up etc is a still strange for me coming from Roscommon but its not a huge surprise none of my kids friends parents are from Meath originally and my wife considers herself a Dub even if she lived in Bettystown since she was 11!.
It will take a bit to gain traction a win on Sunday and the whole thing takes off. That been said looking at it unbiased Louth would and should be favourites. They have hammered Meath twice in a year , last time without some of their best players who are back now. If I was having a bet with my head only I'd lump on Louth to win. The odds are about evens. However with me heart ruling everything I can only see a royal victory by 6/7.
Tickets flying out the door for Sunday!! Gonna be great atmosphere... only tickets left in a few upper levels now
Has been reported over 50,000 tickets sold for Sunday's final for comparison, the 2010 Leinster Final between Louth and Meath drew a crowd of 48,875.
I am not sure why Louth are being tipped in some quarters. Meath had a better year and that win will have them buzzing. Kildare left the game behind them and missed goals chances and were unwilling to shoot from the fringes, even when it was on.
Meath will let rip and the Louth keeper got fairly rattled for spells and put his team under fair pressure.
If Meath are winning by a fair bit they should throw the ball into the net for the craic!! :o
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 07, 2025, 04:39:04 PMI am not sure why Louth are being tipped in some quarters. Meath had a better year and that win will have them buzzing. Kildare left the game behind them and missed goals chances and were unwilling to shoot from the fringes, even when it was on.
Meath will let rip and the Louth keeper got fairly rattled for spells and put his team under fair pressure.
If Meath are winning by a fair bit they should throw the ball into the net for the craic!! :o
Last two meetings Louth won is probably why.
At the end of March. Louth 1-19 Meath 0-17
May last year in the All-Ireland group stage. Louth 3-10 Meath 0-9
Of course Meath now have the huge confidence of taking out Dublin and will strongly fancy themselves on Sunday though those two results should keep them focused.
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 07, 2025, 04:39:04 PMI am not sure why Louth are being tipped in some quarters. Meath had a better year and that win will have them buzzing. Kildare left the game behind them and missed goals chances and were unwilling to shoot from the fringes, even when it was on.
Ok throwing the ball in the net is hilarious. :) That been said it's the last two meetings in past year. Where to be honest Louth destroyed us. Now both those games were in inniskeen and croke park will be entirely different. If we get banty on form and get low ball to him he could have a field day. I'm very hopeful but certainly not over confident
Ger Brennan will be shown to be a better manager than Robbie Brennan.
History will also show that Dublin under Dessie Farrell are in a massive decline.
Is the Dublin decline due to Dessie Farrell or lack of quality players coming in to replace the all conquering ones?
Previous experience of last two finals, Morris being out for Meath and being a right bit better in most recent meeting would be reasons to give them a right chance. There would also be the fact that when a team wins a big semi final against the odds and knocks out the raging hot favourites that the team has already played their final narrative. Louth have also some great momentum in the county at the moment with u20 side going well. Should be a right game.
Quote from: Rossfan on May 08, 2025, 08:41:00 AMIs the Dublin decline due to Dessie Farrell or lack of quality players coming in to replace the all conquering ones?
He was a poor manager at underage.
I wonder how could anyone perform listening to his moaning droning monotone in the dressing room!
They're not out yet. I don't think they'll win it but they'll ruffle a few feathers I would imagine.
Bugler coming back and Costello playing more will make a big impact for them. John Small has got more game time too now which will be a big help.
I feel I nearly should take back my opening line...but I think Meath last year is irrelevant and even the league is something else at times.
I just think that Louth looked much poorer v Kildare than other recent meetings. They bamboozled us with running at times recently but they'd less cut and the keeper was 100% rattled when we put pressure on.
Then I watched Meath v the Dubs and it was a big difference.
Hard to lay it on Dessie when the likes of Fenton, Fitzsimons and McCarthy go. Like there are lads like in Dublin who have multiple All Irelands, but you never really fancied them to take the game by the scruff of the neck.
It's great to see tickets flying out the door for Sunday and I wouldn't begrudge either team.
Quote from: Fogarty on May 08, 2025, 09:15:23 AMQuote from: Rossfan on May 08, 2025, 08:41:00 AMIs the Dublin decline due to Dessie Farrell or lack of quality players coming in to replace the all conquering ones?
I wonder how could anyone perform listening to his moaning droning monotone in the dressing room!
Jim Gavin is shocking hard to listen to as well and he done alright.
Quote from: Fogarty on May 08, 2025, 09:15:23 AMQuote from: Rossfan on May 08, 2025, 08:41:00 AMIs the Dublin decline due to Dessie Farrell or lack of quality players coming in to replace the all conquering ones?
Not so sure about poor, At underage he was Dublin manager when they won the Minor 2012 and U21 2014,2017 All Ireland titles. The former is what I'd reckon to answer Rosfan.
Reports are now that 50k tickets sold. Plus corporate around 8k. All lower sections sold out. Hill almost sold out nally still not on sale not sure. Upper cusack over half sold. Still lots of tickets for upper hogan and upper davin could easily top 60k by Sunday and maybe get close to 67+ of 2017. Either way it will be a great atmosphere and proves what a different pairing can do to the provincial games
One more sleep
Hope Louth win tomorrow , preferably with a last minute Try.
Any late changes expected?
MEATH:
Billy Hogan
Seamus Lavin, Seán Rafferty, Brian O'Halloran
Jack Flynn, Bryan Menton
Conor Duke, Ruairí Kinsella, Keith Curtis
Matthew Costello, James Conlon, Eoghan Frayne.
Subs: Seán Brennan, Shane Walsh, Ronan Ryan, Adam O'Neill, Daithí McGowan, Cillian O'Sullivan, James McEntee, Ronan Jones, Aaron Lynch, Eoin Harkin, Cathal Hickey.
LOUTH:
Niall McDonnell
Daire Nally, Dermot Campbell, Donal McKenny
Conal McKeever, Peter Lynch, Craig Lennon
Paul Matthews, Ciaran Downey, Conor Grimes
Kieran McArdle, Sam Mulroy, Ryan Burns
Subs: Tiarnan Markey, Liam Jackson, Anthony Williams, Emmet Carolan, Ciaran Byrne, Dara McDonnell, Dan Corcoran, Conor Branigan, Ciaran Keenan, Dylan McKeown, Bevan Duffy.
Odds
Meath 6/5 Louth 11/10 Draw 9/1
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 11, 2025, 01:24:16 AMAny late changes expected?
MEATH:
Billy Hogan
Seamus Lavin, Seán Rafferty, Brian O'Halloran
Jack Flynn, Bryan Menton
Conor Duke, Ruairí Kinsella, Keith Curtis
Matthew Costello, James Conlon, Eoghan Frayne.
Subs: Seán Brennan, Shane Walsh, Ronan Ryan, Adam O'Neill, Daithí McGowan, Cillian O'Sullivan, James McEntee, Ronan Jones, Aaron Lynch, Eoin Harkin, Cathal Hickey.
LOUTH:
Niall McDonnell
Daire Nally, Dermot Campbell, Donal McKenny
Conal McKeever, Peter Lynch, Craig Lennon
Paul Matthews, Ciaran Downey, Conor Grimes
Kieran McArdle, Sam Mulroy, Ryan Burns
Subs: Tiarnan Markey, Liam Jackson, Anthony Williams, Emmet Carolan, Ciaran Byrne, Dara McDonnell, Dan Corcoran, Conor Branigan, Ciaran Keenan, Dylan McKeown, Bevan Duffy.
Odds
Meath 6/5 Louth 11/10 Draw 9/1
Hear Jordan Norris may be included in subs for Meath,
Up Louth.
I really hope the wee county win this today.
Great to see such a big crowd full of noise and colour in a Leinster final again
Hope this huge crowd today and yesterday serves as a clear rebuke to the argument that the provincials are dead.
If the GAA would help give a leg up to the smaller counties and stop pandering to the 8 big teams then the football scene would be lot healthier.
Forward mark, didn't take it. Then kicks a wide
But gets another go at it
What a stupid rule ::)
Both sets of fans enjoying the occasion. Both realise this could be their one chance of a Leinster crown for a long time.
Cagey and nervy affair in the opening 15 minutes. Meath 0-3 Louth 0-2
Penalty for Louth and scored level game on 20 mins.
Clear penalty. What planet is Dessie Dolan on?
Quote from: trileacman on May 11, 2025, 04:38:06 PMClear penalty. What planet is Dessie Dolan on?
Yeah, two hands push on the chest and he's says that there was little contact, despite the replays
Another goal for Louth should the keeper have kept it out? 2-3 to 0-6 Louth lead.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 11, 2025, 04:41:58 PMAnother goal for Louth should the keeper have kept it out? 2-3 to 0-6 Louth lead.
Good low hard shot, but he didn't make much of a shape at it.
Quote from: trileacman on May 11, 2025, 04:38:06 PMClear penalty. What planet is Dessie Dolan on?
Dessie and Ger The pair of them are clueless.
Another two pointer for Meath and follow it up another point to lead on 30 mins 0-10 to 2-3. A real purple patch for Meath to now lead 0-13 to 2-3.
Louth respond with a fine goal. Half time 3-3 to 0-13.
Louth be like: Who needs points?
Good game so far!
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 11, 2025, 04:44:45 PMQuote from: trileacman on May 11, 2025, 04:38:06 PMClear penalty. What planet is Dessie Dolan on?
Agreed, but they are not as bad or annoying as
Marty, Eamon or Mark O Se
Quote from: OakLeaf on May 11, 2025, 04:56:00 PMGood game so far!
Took about 15 minutes to get going. Bit of a mad half. Level game 2-3 to 0-6 on 28 minutes. By the 32nd minute Meath led 0-13 to 2-3 and last score of the half the top goal by Lennon brought it back to a one point game
Quote from: joemamas on May 11, 2025, 04:59:16 PMQuote from: Cunny Funt on May 11, 2025, 04:44:45 PMQuote from: trileacman on May 11, 2025, 04:38:06 PMClear penalty. What planet is Dessie Dolan on?
Agreed, but they are not as bad or annoying as
Marty, Eamon or Mark O Se
If a co-commentator thinks a two-handed push to the chest is minimal contact, then he really doesn't know what he's on about.
Big Sean had been pushed like that, he done a skydive with twist!
Another two pointer from a free from the Meath keeper. Meath 0-16 Louth 3-3 after 42 minutes. Sam Mulroy not having one of his better days on placed balls.
This is all set up for a late dodgy goal/winner..
Louth and Meath are both playing with great skill and determination...
Joking aside great contest but think Meath can hit another purple patch.
Some decent looking female talent in the crowd. 8)
54 minutes played level game 3-9 to 0-18
Goal for Meath from a big turnover. They lead 1-18 to 3-11 62 minutes.
Another two pointer effort for Mulroy can he nail it? Yes he can they lead by 1. 5 mins left.
Questionable foul for that two pointer but I thought a previous one was a free. Good tight game. Meath defense is not easy to break down.
Also both teams are busted.
FT Louth 3-14 Meath 1-18. Louth Leinster champions and revenge for 2010.
👏 👏 well done Louth a lot of hurt over the years especially 2010 and losing the last 2. Very little in it today they just about deserved it.
Well done Louth.
Fair play to Louth.
Congratulations to the wee county, some night in Ridleys
Fair fucks to Louth the team every neutral wanted to win that final did the business. Grown men crying in the crowd should be some celebrations Louth tonight.
Best of the Provincial finals this year.
Up Louth. 🔴⚪🔴
Thought the ref gave Louth a lot of soft frees in possession in the last 5 minutes. Louth played keep ball for the last 5 minutes, it was a very ugly, anti-climatic end to a otherwise great game.
Congrats to Louth, it seemed like a lot of veterans on that team
Well done Louth. From Division 4 to Leinster champions in record time. A lesson for the likes of Cavan looking on with all our delusions of grandeur. Well done, wee men, enjoy it.
Fair play to Louth. Great performance and massive character to concede that goal near the end and yet settle themselves and go and get the scores to win it.
Fantastic! Delighted for Louth. Hard lines Meath. Great game.
Quote from: trileacman on May 11, 2025, 05:56:28 PMThought the ref gave Louth a lot of soft frees in possession in the last 5 minutes. Louth played keep ball for the last 5 minutes, it was a very ugly, anti-climatic end to a otherwise great game.
Ah stop would ya, 70 years since they have won anything they done what they had to do.
Brilliant for Louth, great to see the joy football brings to people
Well done Louth!
Can we stop talking about getting rid of Provincials now?
Look at what this means to Louth..don't take this chance of silverware away!
Rugby tactics won out in the end.
Quote from: Sheedy on May 11, 2025, 06:01:41 PMBrilliant for Louth, great to see the joy football brings to people
Reminded me of Laois in 2004. Today is a very special day in the wee county. It will be remembered for a very long time.
Hard luck to Meath. Beidh arís ann.
Congratulations Louth
Thought Durnin should have got motm.
Delighted for them, such emotion all through. Thinking of all the older Louth GAA folk that would have been thinking they might never see the likes, and all that soldiered through tough times, and how happy and proud club underage, schools, and development squad coaches back the years since these lads all started playing must feel now. A mighty wee win!!
Congrats to Louth. Delighted for them. Some on here predicting a Meath win by 6/7. Did Meath fans think all they had to do was turn up?
Some win from Louth and what a year for the provincial championships. Imagine if Cork had have put Kerry away when they had them on the ropes.
Sam Mulroy pulled out a quality speech, short and full of emotion. Wasn't expecting it after his RTE MOTM interview where you'd think he's just won an O'Byrne Cup game 😂
And to think some people want rid of the provincial championships.
Delighted for Louth.Celebrate hard and we will see you in Newry in a few weeks. ;D
Quote from: snoopdog on May 11, 2025, 06:28:42 PMAnd to think some people want rid of the provincial championships.
Delighted for Louth.Celebrate hard and we will see you in Newry in a few weeks. ;D
Grey haired men in suits in HQ was among those people thankfully they didn't get their way. Well done Louth.
Quote from: seafoid on May 11, 2025, 06:09:37 PMQuote from: Sheedy on May 11, 2025, 06:01:41 PMBrilliant for Louth, great to see the joy football brings to people
Reminded me of Laois in 2004. Today is a very special day in the wee county. It will be remembered for a very long time.
Hard luck to Meath. Beidh arís ann.
Laois lost the Leinster final in 2004.
Quote from: mrdeeds on May 11, 2025, 06:10:22 PMThought Durnin should have got motm.
Mulroy had 4 wides in a row midway through the first half. He nailed the 2 point free at the end that put Louth 1 point ahead. Ice cold.
Match stats.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GqrzwlMWcAAmpu8?format=jpg&name=medium)
Quote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
The problem with the provincials isn't what they mean to those involved it's the disproportionate impact they have on the All Ireland. With the greatest amount of respect to Clare and Meath they aren't in the top 8 in the country and therefore don't deserve to be seeded second. For me they should be a standalone competition between the league and the all Ireland. Or the calendar should be reshuffled.
You have far easier routes for some counties to Sam than for others. It's inherently unfair.
Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
The problem with the provincials isn't what they mean to those involved it's the disproportionate impact they have on the All Ireland. With the greatest amount of respect to Clare and Meath they aren't in the top 8 in the country and therefore don't deserve to be seeded second. For me they should be a standalone competition between the league and the all Ireland. Or the calendar should be reshuffled.
You have far easier routes for some counties to Sam than for others. It's inherently unfair.
They would never mean as much without the link to the all Ireland.
The seeding doesn't mean much in the current format anyway. Every team still has to get through the round Robin. (And 1st and 2nd seed are likely getting through these anyway)
Agreed I don't think the groups should be seeded either. It's shite if every group had 2 Div 1 teams and 2 Div 2 teams. You know the outcome of those groups before a ball is kicked.
Also with 3 teams progressing from a group of 4 no-one should be complaining about seeding. All you've to do is win 1 match ffs.
Well done the Wee County.
No disrespect to Meath but most neutrals would be happy with the result today.
Well done Louth.
Back in the 1970's ( :o ) when Louth beat Armagh my Dad would say "They couldn't even beat Louth".
Different story now!
Louth in the Minor and U20 finals too. The likes of Dundalk and Drogheda would bd more soccer towns but success can change that.
Quote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
The seeding doesn't mean much in the current format anyway. Every team still has to get through the round Robin. (And 1st and 2nd seed are likely getting through these anyway)
They do mean a lot though. First of all they allow teams in the All Ireland ahead of potentially better teams, then they skew the groups which provides easier routes for some counties. That's the issue I have with the link between the provincials and the All Ireland. Happy enough if you seeded the provincial champions and left the other 12 spots open draw I think that would go along way.
Kerry and Louth will likely make it to the knock out stages without playing a division 1 team. Armagh will have played 5 if they make it that far
Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
They do mean a lot though. First of all they allow teams in the All Ireland ahead of potentially better teams, then they skew the groups which provides easier routes for some counties. That's the issue I have with the link between the provincials and the All Ireland. Happy enough if you seeded the provincial champions and left the other 12 spots open draw I think that would go along way.
Kerry and Louth will likely make it to the knock out stages without playing a division 1 team. Armagh will have played 5 if they make it that far
Clare, Louth, Monaghan and Down doesn't even have 1 division 1 team. Galway, Armagh, Dublin and Derry has 4. #Arseways
Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
Armagh have Derry relegated to Div 2 for next year are they really much different to having Monaghan or Roscommon in your group who are promoted to Div 1 for 2026? As you said Meath aren't a top 8 team yet they earned a 2nd seed by taking out Dublin. Taking that into account the Dubs shouldn't bring the same fear they once did for Armagh either.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 08:33:57 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
Armagh have Derry relegated to Div 2 for next year are they really much different to having Monaghan or Roscommon in your group who are promoted to Div 1 for 2026? As you said Meath aren't a top 8 team yet they earned a 2nd seed by taking out Dublin. Taking that into account the Dubs shouldn't bring the same fear they once did for Armagh either.
The difference is Derry are the worst team in their group, Monaghan and Roscommon are in the top 2 of their groups. So yes the groups are highly unbalanced because of the provincial championships
Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:41:13 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 08:33:57 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
The difference is Derry are the worst team in their group, Monaghan and Roscommon are in the top 2 of their groups. So yes the groups are highly unbalanced because of the provincial championships
Provincial winners should be number 1 seeds but 2,3 and 4 seeds should be decided by league position. With the right draw in Connacht a team like Leitrim could be a number 2 seed. Even Clare being a 2 seed is ridiculous. I don't even think provincial losers should be guaranteed a place in the same maguire, only provincial winners along with the next top 12 based on the league.
Seeds smeeds...
To win Sam you've got to be the best and beat the teams in front of you.
Group stages at this point means the best teams generally get through to the knockout stages..
It's just a bitta revenue boost to Croke in my opinion
Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:41:13 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 08:33:57 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
That's the luck of the draw and things balance themselves out with three teams in each group progressing to the knock out stages and if you happen to be in a weaker group you are more likely to face elimination in the 12 round tie.
I was there in 2010 and it felt like Louth missed a once a generation chance to snatch a Leinster.
I was delighted for them today. They hung on in the first half when Meath were scoring easier. Towards the end they got a couple of refereeing calls in their favour, especially when the Louth ball carrier had played himself into trouble.
Not that I'm complaining.
60k in Croke Park is a great fill up for the provincials and the Leinster council. 20 years the GAA strategy became to pump huge resources into Dublin to keep the blue wave moving and fill Croke Park to pay off the debt. It eventually backfired.
Now it looks like the next strategy should be to feed the angel dust to the commuter belt counties and have Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow.
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on May 11, 2025, 09:26:44 PMI was there in 2010 and it felt like Louth missed a once a generation chance to snatch a Leinster.
I was delighted for them today. They hung on in the first half when Meath were scoring easier. Towards the end they got a couple of refereeing calls in their favour, especially when the Louth ball carrier had played himself into trouble.
Not that I'm complaining.
60k in Croke Park is a great fill up for the provincials and the Leinster council. 20 years the GAA strategy became to pump huge resources into Dublin to keep the blue wave moving and fill Croke Park to pay off the debt. It eventually backfired.
Now it looks like the next strategy should be to feed the angel dust to the commuter belt counties and have Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow.
65,786 today was the Largest for a Leinster final since 2017 Dublin v Kildare 66,734
Fair play to Louth. Totally deserved. Our big lads didn't perform.
Sad to lose but a brilliant day in Croker. Atmosphere was fantastic. Great to witness it.
As of this evening Sam Mulroys wikipedia page gives him a height of 10 ft 6 inches (3.2 metres).
He is also listed as having the nickname of Meat Beater.
Could the Meath keeper have done a bit better for two of those goals?
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 11, 2025, 10:10:19 PMCould the Meath keeper have done a bit better for two of those goals?
I don't think so. The 2nd was drilled low along the ground, yes it was close to him but he made the best of it that he could. Lennons was a top corner classic.
So many "great saves" in GAA are drilled straight at keepers about 2-3 foot off the ground. They're relatively straightforward saves that look better than they are.
Quote from: Estimator on May 11, 2025, 04:40:18 PMQuote from: trileacman on May 11, 2025, 04:38:06 PMClear penalty. What planet is Dessie Dolan on?
Yeah, two hands push on the chest and he's says that there was little contact, despite the replays
Very harsh I thought.
Delighted for Louth.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 09:17:55 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:41:13 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 08:33:57 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
That's the luck of the draw and things balance themselves out with three teams in each group progressing to the knock out stages and if you happen to be in a weaker group you are more likely to face elimination in the 12 round tie.
On what basis is that accurate. Kerry and one of Clare, Louth, Monaghan and down will be in the last 8? Yet Armagh could end up meeting Tyrone and Dublin could meet Mayo in the last 12.
The groups matter and the imbalance in them is for me a farce. It's not luck of the draw. It's a badly weighted system.
That all said it's always been a badly weighted system and the concept of the sport is badly weighted to begin with.
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 11, 2025, 10:10:19 PMCould the Meath keeper have done a bit better for two of those goals?
Definitely on the Ryan Burns goal. Goalkeepers nowadays are picked on their kicking ability than shot stopping.
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 11, 2025, 10:19:45 PMQuote from: Estimator on May 11, 2025, 04:40:18 PMQuote from: trileacman on May 11, 2025, 04:38:06 PMClear penalty. What planet is Dessie Dolan on?
Very harsh I thought.
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 11, 2025, 10:19:45 PMQuote from: Estimator on May 11, 2025, 04:40:18 PMQuote from: trileacman on May 11, 2025, 04:38:06 PMClear penalty. What planet is Dessie Dolan on?
Very harsh I thought.
What was harsh about it? A clear penalty.
Was nothing harsh about the penalty. The goal Meath got should have been a free to Louth for a similar foul when turned over but Ger and Dessie didn't pick up on that either.
Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 10:27:19 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 09:17:55 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:41:13 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 08:33:57 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
On what basis is that accurate. Kerry and one of Clare, Louth, Monaghan and down will be in the last 8? Yet Armagh could end up meeting Tyrone and Dublin could meet Mayo in the last 12.
The groups matter and the imbalance in them is for me a farce. It's not luck of the draw. It's a badly weighted system.
That all said it's always been a badly weighted system and the concept of the sport is badly weighted to begin with.
It's the luck of the draw as Armagh could easily have got the group that Clare did as 2nd seeds. Regardless having a provincial championships with three well attended finals and matches decided on fine margin is good to have before the All Ireland series in my opinion.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 11:29:35 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 10:27:19 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 09:17:55 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:41:13 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 08:33:57 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
It's the luck of the draw as Armagh could easily have got the group that Clare did as 2nd seeds. Regardless having a provincial championships with three well attended finals and matches decided on fine margin is good to have before the All Ireland series in my opinion.
I don't think it's an either or. A small amendment could easily facilitate both.
By seeding in the way it is that it will always favour the smaller provinces.
Meath lads are quiet
Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 10:27:19 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 09:17:55 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:41:13 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 08:33:57 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PMQuote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PMQuote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!
It's the luck of the draw.
Euro 2021 had a group with France, Germany, Portugal and Hungary. The same tournament also had one with Netherlands, Austria, Ukraine and North Macedonia.
It happens in sport.
You've got to remember that for some people, all they want is a path cleared for their team to succeed with minimum fuss. It's not fairness or consistency they're actually seeking, it's for the rub of the green to go their way. And when it doesn't - whether in the form of competition format, or refereeing decision - it upsets them.
That was an enjoyable game for a neutral.
I was actually in Navan the morning of the match and a few people I was chatting to were hopeful but not confident, it seems Louth's slight favourites tag was merited.
In saying that, I felt Meath were the better side for the majority of the match, but goals win matches as they say and Louth got them at key times.
I think both teams are better than they've been given credit for in the big picture. They could both put it up to anyone from an attacking pov, but both could do with tightening up at the back to be contenders. Costello from Meath is some footballer and Mulroy is class.
For what it's worth, that was as clear cut a penalty as you'll see imo. Blatant push just as he was about to kick the ball.
I was looking back at Sunday Game and I didn't realise there were 5 mins left when Mulroy scored.
Meath we're getting eaten around the middle and their keeper booted long after the 2 Louth scores.
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 12, 2025, 09:35:39 AMI was looking back at Sunday Game and I didn't realise there were 5 mins left when Mulroy scored.
Meath we're getting eaten around the middle and their keeper booted long after the 2 Louth scores.
Thought Meath kick out strategy was woeful
That amazing goal before half-time really changed the match.
Disappointed with result. Felt we should have been out of sight by halftime. Free for the 2 pointer excellently taken by mulroy was never a free. But we won't whine. All in all still a good year. Heartbreak for keoghan and Menton not to get the Leinster medals they so deserve. On to cork. Can't wait.
Hon the royal
Delighted for Louth. Congrats to them.
I was very nervous for them in the 1st half as I felt Meath were well on top and threatened to pull away. Louth were so ruthless with the goal chances, not many players go for those chances. They needed them too. It was a stone wall penalty, I still cant understand the commentary or Sean Cavanagh debating it. Whelan shut him down fair quickly. Huge pressure on the ref given 2010 but he did well. The last few mins was insanely intense as Meath chased Louth players down and were just a bit aggressive to give away those free's which were imo but I've seen go the other way.
The composure of Louth to run the clock down and Mulroy after he missed a few deserves great credit. Meath are fine young team who will learn from this too. You'd be hoping both can keep Dublin at bay for a while and Kildare and Westmeath join the mix too. Looking at Kildare, Louth and Meath's underage results last 5 yrs they all should be around for a while. \
A great weekend of football.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 12, 2025, 08:28:06 PMIt was a stone wall penalty, I still cant understand the commentary or Sean Cavanagh debating it. Whelan shut him down fair quickly.
It was the fool Dessie Dolan on commentary who didn't see it was a penalty.