4th February 2025, the day 4 were selected above all others and announced as brand ambassadors for Solgar UK & Ireland, the new vitamin partners of the GAA/GPA and title sponsors of the GAA museum.
Honest to God make it stop (https://www.gaa.ie/article/solgar-team-up-with-gaa-gpa-and-gaa-museum)
God doesn't care what the GAA do.
All that history twinned with a compound and filler in a tasty gelatin shell
I bet the canapés were just scrumptious
Ask not what you can do for your county, but what your county cartel can do for you
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2025/0212/1496237-county-players-incurring-financial-losses-says-report/
Current GPA members are projected to suffer a cumulative lifetime earnings reduction of €31 million
Sweet suffering Jesus
Anything to be said for a lay ministers association?
Gaa Volunteer Underage coaches estimated to sacrifice lifetime earnings of 1.7 billion, seems about right and as much relevance.
Quote from: tiempo on February 12, 2025, 10:16:10 AMAsk not what you can do for your county, but what your county cartel can do for you
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2025/0212/1496237-county-players-incurring-financial-losses-says-report/
Current GPA members are projected to suffer a cumulative lifetime earnings reduction of €31 million
Sweet suffering Jesus
I think the report is well put together and puts the pressure on the government to cough up. Can only be a good thing.
Quote from: samuel maguire on February 12, 2025, 10:26:00 AMQuote from: tiempo on February 12, 2025, 10:16:10 AMAsk not what you can do for your county, but what your county cartel can do for you
Sweet suffering Jesus
I think the report is well put together and puts the pressure on the government to cough up. Can only be a good thing.
Absolute bullshit, particularly in the successful counties.
They're all well looked after with endorsements and jobs that they would never get without their GAA profile.
Quote from: samuel maguire on February 12, 2025, 10:26:00 AMQuote from: tiempo on February 12, 2025, 10:16:10 AMAsk not what you can do for your county, but what your county cartel can do for you
Sweet suffering Jesus
Disagree (it is a good report) however it's an amateur game and this is the bedrock (although distorted)
Make choices on career vs GAA as suits the individual or not - up to them, being compensated for those choices is professionalism.
Alternative is to scale back the level of commitment needed - I don't see the GPA lobbying for that.
The modern club player puts in a huge shift - should they be compensated, juvenile coaches taking teams a couple if nights a week, leaving work early, giving up Saturdays, how about them? Should raffle ticket sellers get commission?
The GAA provides great opportunity as well as demands , the balance is out at the minute but loading more resource into the inter county game isn't the way to go.
Do the GPA think the facilities the players use at no cost just magically appear? Have they accounted for the tens of millions of volunteer hours that brought the players to this point? Its not like the players are having to fork out to participate, they are grant funded, cut your cloth accordingly
Many moons ago Michael Murphy said his inter-county lifestyle choices weren't putting his life on hold, its how he chose to live his life. It costs to live, it costs to do anything, the GAA has an amateur ethos, the GPA have a stick up their ass and peddle this to extort more money from any available source, its their raison d'être
A Trade Union exists to seek better pay and conditions for it's members.
It's time for a game of chicken with the GPA.
Give them a time window next season, say 5-6 weeks, and give them carte blanche to hire any GAA stadium they like, and organise any competition format they like. They can then divvy up the profits any which way they like.
I don't think there's a chance in hell they'd take up the offer.
And it might help them understand that GAA followers don't go to watch players. They go to watch their schools, parishes and counties.
Err...they go to watch players playing for parishes/areas, Counties or schools.
I don't think you'll get many people to stand watching a school for an hour ( unless.....)
They need to put these things out to crank up the pressure but what annoys me is that they NEVER speak out against the managers.
The boys in Croker don't have a big fuckin spreeadsheet where they plan trainings for early morning or other times. The 'GAA' are not demanding the time from lads, it's the managers and the players chose to be part of it.
Also, Educational losses when any decent lad gets plenty of scholarship perks. Car pooling and all claming the expenses too...
Like do they really want scrutiny. What was the rumblings re the Africa charity trip? They refused to take questions on it.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41556919.html
What's the issue with the Kenya trip? I know there has been a couple of Antrim ones went the last few years and they always seemed to be doing fundraising for it?
This was from the Examiner piece couple of weeks back.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41567956.html
As well as claiming the GPA's silence on the training breaches was "deafening but also troubling", Leinster Chair Derek Kent called for "an in-depth review" of their charity work in Africa.
I didn't see any follow up, but it's odd.
Probably thought 50 players and associates travelling to plant trees in Africa to raise awareness for climate change was a tad indulgent to day the least
Good Cahair O'Kane column in response to that disingenuous GPA self-pity fest...
https://www.irishnews.com/gaa/gpa-report-on-cost-to-players-should-be-taken-with-a-bucket-of-salt-LSNJVJYRV5E2BJBXEXPP57BAKQ/?fbclid=IwY2xjawIZ6WBleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHb3WdRPhULiRMtiDXmIzZbHhVapDQMxMhWBQUdTqtyUKCh4ddph7Qo46Hg_aem_7fG0jeQFw6-BtvhsaMEgHQ
Quote from: thewobbler on February 12, 2025, 11:07:21 AMIt's time for a game of chicken with the GPA.
Give them a time window next season, say 5-6 weeks, and give them carte blanche to hire any GAA stadium they like, and organise any competition format they like. They can then divvy up the profits any which way they like.
And it might help them understand that GAA followers don't go to watch players. They go to watch their schools, parishes and counties.
Exactly. If they went to watch the players as individuals then the Railway Cup would never have died and would be a massive crowd puller. People just aren't that invested in their province like they are with their county. The county and the club is where it's at.
Embarrassing, Niall Morgan tweeting how much it costs to play for Tyrone, how players are struggling and suggests if he was in their position he wouldn't be able to play now... response from Philip Jordan, "Is he actually serious?"
Myler (former county player?) of course up and running bout how much county players add to the Irish economy... take away supporters and thousands of club volunteers and see what they add.
If its such a chore.. don't play county.
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 12, 2025, 09:41:50 PMQuote from: thewobbler on February 12, 2025, 11:07:21 AMIt's time for a game of chicken with the GPA.
Exactly. If they went to watch the players as individuals then the Railway Cup would never have died and would be a massive crowd puller. People just aren't that invested in their province like they are with their county. The county and the club is where it's at.
True story
2013 all ireland intermediate final at Croke was the curtain raiser to the Railway Cup final, was a v modest crowd in for the AI club final, and I'd say less than 10% stayed for the 'main event' a total non event
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 12, 2025, 10:23:25 PMEmbarrassing, Niall Morgan tweeting how much it costs to play for Tyrone, how players are struggling and suggests if he was in their position he wouldn't be able to play now... response from Philip Jordan, "Is he actually serious?"
Myler (former county player?) of course up and running bout how much county players add to the Irish economy... take away supporters and thousands of club volunteers and see what they add.
They want to be like the rugger men
Centrally contracted - grant funded
Juiced up - nutrition endorsements
Relevant - media days to front their latest PowerPoint
Trending - coordinated, staying on brand, on message
Thon PowerPoint slide is embarrassing
They've literally just pulled random irrelevant trope statements and tried to equate them to why they should be given more money
Nauseating
https://x.com/muirtheimhne/status/1889636823321678278?t=TgNsuDtBuCr3uWENG1vgQw&s=19
Quote from: tiempo on February 12, 2025, 11:09:37 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on February 12, 2025, 10:23:25 PMEmbarrassing, Niall Morgan tweeting how much it costs to play for Tyrone, how players are struggling and suggests if he was in their position he wouldn't be able to play now... response from Philip Jordan, "Is he actually serious?"
They want to be like the rugger men
Centrally contracted - grant funded
Juiced up - nutrition endorsements
Relevant - media days to front their latest PowerPoint
Trending - coordinated, staying on brand, on message
Thon PowerPoint slide is embarrassing
They've literally just pulled random irrelevant trope statements and tried to equate them to why they should be given more money
Nauseating
https://x.com/muirtheimhne/status/1889636823321678278?t=TgNsuDtBuCr3uWENG1vgQw&s=19
What's nauseating is to see two Tyrone players there and all that is given by volunteers in clubs across this county... for many more years than county players give. (Although I don't think all county players are on board this clamour for pay for play.. the GPA's agenda).
People like Brian McEvoy and Derek Kent aren't going to be holding the fort forever, to paraphrase McGregor the GPA aren't here to take part, they're here to take over
The GAA will be in a far worse place as GPA types take up key strategic positions in the new integrated organisation, first it'll be a ball ache as they work for the few and not the many, then like politics the glaring lack of true capability will shine through with as many sides of shady expenses claims and nepotism that you can shake a stick at
The organisation as you might have known it from the 80s 90s 00s imperfect as it was is being well and truly hollowed out from within
Is every senior inter-county player a member of the GPA?
Is it just men's gaelic football or have the ladies and camogie have a 'union' also?
They are crossing a line with this nonsense.
Gaelic Football / hurling is a hobby. That's what it is. Many top players have very successful careers and combine the two.
Then you have others that want to make a career out of the sport and they want to change the rules to achieve this. They simultaneously complain about the demands but argue against a weekly cap on training. Why? Because of their agenda.
They are privileged to play county football etc but want you to think it is the other way round. If they don't like the terms, forget about it - no one is making you do it.
What do the GPA want? Do all players currently not get a grant of a few grand per year?
I entirely agree with the sentiments expressed on here but this is the natural next step.
Being honest, how long did we expect county players to stand back and watch almost every other hoor involved get a fistful of dollars for their role?
We've wilfully turned a blind eye to the undermining of our association's amateur status for many years now and are trying to draw a line on the players looking their slice of the pie.
We might kick it down the line for another few years but they're going to call our bluff....and they're eventually going to win.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on February 13, 2025, 09:16:15 AMI entirely agree with the sentiments expressed on here but this is the natural next step.
Being honest, how long did we expect county players to stand back and watch almost every other hoor involved get a fistful of dollars for their role?
We've wilfully turned a blind eye to the undermining of our association's amateur status for many years now and are trying to draw a line on the players looking their slice of the pie.
We might kick it down the line for another few years but they're going to call our bluff....and they're eventually going to win.
You can even see it in certain clubs now, that professional aspect and paying for services which would have been carried out previously by volunteers is killing the volunteer ethos across the board.
Slippery slope but those on the gravy train don't care, mercenaries every way you turn.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on February 13, 2025, 09:16:15 AMI entirely agree with the sentiments expressed on here but this is the natural next step.
Volunteer county treasurers having sleepless nights over raising yet more funds or balancing the books vs gross overspend don't fall into the every other hoor category, these and the legions of volunteers at club and county level nationwide are the true All Stars
Players do not need an ever increasing stipend, let the mercenaries go and leave behind those involved for the love of the game
I don't disagree with you but the volunteer county Treasurer has had his sleep problems made 10 times worse in recent times with expenditure on management "teams" without you or anyone else giving a single fcuk so it could be suggested that your concern there isn't particularly genuine.
Volunteerism is huge in the GAA but we have allowed it to be undermined and it is thinning out at the elite level. This is just the next step and it is coming whether we like it or not. I don't btw.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on February 13, 2025, 10:16:58 AMI don't disagree with you but the volunteer county Treasurer has had his sleep problems made 10 times worse in recent times with expenditure on management "teams" without you or anyone else giving a single fcuk so it could be suggested that your concern there isn't particularly genuine.
Volunteerism is huge in the GAA but we have allowed it to be undermined and it is thinning out at the elite level. This is just the next step and it is coming whether we like it or not. I don't btw.
Dont worry about my faux concern then, but Derek Kent Leinster GAA Chairman has outlined those precise concerns and I'm sure he gives more than a single f**k
Where does gombeen end and elite begin, Lory Meagher players in Britain who are GPA members and funded to the same tune - mileage and gear expenses, nutritional allowance - are they elite? Ironically at that level you're allowed to buy in ringers from Ireland to up the standard, by definition admitting its not elite. A mid rank club team in a hurling county would wipe the floor with a Lory Meagher team, but the club players aren't elite. Cuala would dispense of a few NFL D4 teams, but the D4 teams are elite
The reality is, remove the junket and the county teams would still field, the grounds would still be filled, this is because of the foundation-history-legacy of the GAA, not anything to do with the GPA, peddling a narrative that the 'elites' bring more than the underlings is elite level gaslighting
The GPA being cut in on a commercial deal for sponsorship of the Croke museum is a disgrace to the millions of volunteers and the hundreds of millions of volunteer hours given to create that history
I agree but we should be strong on calling out everyone who is a threat to volunteerism in the GAA. That's the large sums of money going to managers, coaches, stats men, fcukin life coaches, players who spend 4 weeks in America every summer.
But we don't. We accept it, facilitate it, encourage it. And then we go to town on players who are misinterpreting the blurred lines and believe that it is open season because.....it bloody well looks like open season!
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on February 13, 2025, 10:57:26 AMI agree but we should be strong on calling out everyone who is a threat to volunteerism in the GAA. That's the large sums of money going to managers, coaches, stats men, fcukin life coaches, players who spend 4 weeks in America every summer.
But we don't. We accept it, facilitate it, encourage it. And then we go to town on players who are misinterpreting the blurred lines and believe that it is open season because.....it bloody well looks like open season!
Spot on
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on February 13, 2025, 10:57:26 AMI agree but we should be strong on calling out everyone who is a threat to volunteerism in the GAA. That's the large sums of money going to managers, coaches, stats men, fcukin life coaches, players who spend 4 weeks in America every summer.
Might one challenge 50+ elites globetrotting on a vanity trip to plant trees in Kenya AND tackle the other issues simultaneously?
Control the controllables, limit the uncontrollables
As I said already. They claim their players are losing out on overtime and much more because of the demands of the GAA.
They should be screaming about training out of season. Screaming about the demands put on their members by managers. But no, let's blame 'The GAA' for all this.
Also, who gets paid what in their operation?
The Gaelic Players Association (GPA) turned over more than €7.5m in revenue in 2019 and the average salary for its 10 employees is just under €65,000, their annual report shows.
The GPA's Player Development Programmes / Player Welfare programmes (€2,604,632) accounted for 81% of total expenditure.
Player development inckludes those leadership days where they watch a few slides.
Was great to see that the reaction to this on social media was on point. GPA getting largely criticised over it. Some small pockets of support including those who seen the €600m figure and believed that was what the games actually generate. One such figure was Joe Sheridan of Meath, for someone who works in Financial services he grasped of figures aren't the best. Too much blows to the head playing "rugby" maybe ;)
Other comments and some here, largely dismiss the club player or club game not been as committed or at same level cause they don't fill Croke Park twice a year like the county game does.
But i can guarantee you on any given weekend in August through to October, Croke Park would be filled many times over if all those attending club games where totalled up. And ask any county board official where a significant part of their funding now comes from - it's their own club championships and this funds goes toward the county activities. It doesn't filter back to the clubs at all.
Tom Parsons is a very poor leader. An only imagine the funds that where thrown at this report.
It's always been a puzzle to me as to why any amateur sportsperson/hobbyist who chooses to dedicate their life to their pursuits, would expect any financial reward for doing so.
I mean do we really need to put "it's amateur" in shiny neon lights around our facilities? Or will those unwilling to separate hobby world from real world just find another message to vainly ignore.
——
That said, I also would like to see some genuine leadership from the GAA regarding trimming their employment levels, and altering the growth goals of the association.
Because until this happens, then the GPA - much as it frustrates me - kind of have a point.
Why do we need so many full time and part time coaches in the GAA? Why do we need to continually "grow the game"? Why do we need super 12s? Why do we shovel so many games into Croke Park? Why do we need 4 sets of paid provincial officers? Why do we need to benchmark against soccer and rugby, instead of ploughing our own furrow in terms of pricing and marketing? And so on and so on. All nearly summarised as "why have we allowed capitalist concepts to steer a community association?"
The problem inherent in the amateur ethos of Gaelic Games is that over the last 40 years, partly through over commitment to a hobby, and partly due to hustle and bustle, so many people have both inadvertently and knowingly turned voluntary roles of a few hours a week, into full time roles. Of courses players are going to want some of this action. It's only logical. So let's start a rollback.
IN article (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/gaa-at-important-juncture-on-amateur-status-says-gpa-chief-executive-tom-parsons/ar-AA1yVbWU?apiversion=v2&noservercache=1&domshim=1&renderwebcomponents=1&wcseo=1&batchservertelemetry=1&noservertelemetry=1)
Bizzare how this msn link gets you the Irish News article which has a paywall on the IN site but that aside ...
Players chief Tom Parsons says the GAA is at 'an important juncture' where its amateur status is concerned, suggesting that failure to provide a 'value proposition' for players now could ultimately lead to revolt.
Right so Tom, here's what ye do, way and create a Professional GAA league if thats what you want: the infrastructure, rules/regs, marketing, liabilities, etc. etc. etc. you can be the Turkey Al Sheik of Ireland, no bodger to ye, nothing stopping ya
But in the meantime the GAA funded GPA should absolutely not be issuing soundbites questioning amateur status or invoking revolt
He also responded to criticism from various provincial councils of the GPA's role in having pre-season competitions postponed for 2025, and the issue of some inter-county teams still apparently returning to collective training before the agreed December 7 date.
He said the GPA had 'evidence' of various teams breaching the rules 'but not facts' and that they will 'do a full review after the league'.
On GAA Director General Tom Ryan's remarks last week that there is 'a gathering mood to shuffle the (All-Ireland) finals back by a week or two' into August, Parsons said this would require 'a mandate from players'.
"I think what would be a disaster is reinstating the pre-season competitions, stretching to August, putting more load on players again, taking three steps backwards," he said. "The key stakeholder here has to be the players that are involved in this."
An absolute charlatan talking out of both sides of his mouth
The GPA lobbied for the pre-season competitions to be scrapped from a welfare point of view, teams then didn't adhere to the shutdown and trained away and arranged challenge games, losing the pre-season competitions cost the provincial councils revenue that would have been reinvested at grassroots, but the mileage, gear, medical, nutrition gravy train continues into the pockets of the 'elite' players regardless, welfare is secondary when being a county player is a quasi career choice in itself it seems
The Wobbler. You summed it all up very well.
The only people who can stop the train are the grassroots.
Central Council, GPA, the gurus and the media are in cahoots to get as much money out of the game as possible.
And in doing so wrecking the best amateur sport in the world.
There is no rolling it back. It's only going one way so we need to buckle up.
There is no real appetite from anyone, top to bottom, to stop those milking the game for their own financial gain.
The harrowing thought of a player getting some of the gravy has thrown up the suggestion but there is zero more depth to it than that.
We have a threshold of tolerance of this stuff. It is completely hypocritical. It is completely odd. Our cognitive dissonance is hitting the top level. But, we'll hold on to it tight.
Manager, coach, guru....fill your boots.
Player going to America....fill your boots.
——————————
Player in Ireland.....ungrateful bastid, trying to cash in on the backs of all the wonderful volunteers the length & breadth of the country.
As I say, that line will eventually move. Not for the better but at least we'll be consistent.
A union of select players is literally calling themselves elite while espousing
- that a unique sporting heritage is contingent on them, but its everyones and not theirs to own
- the importance of retaining elite players, but its a hobby, involvement/retention is a simple matter of choice
- to support rural Ireland (rural Kenya too it seems), but thats in no way relevant
Brian McEvoy and Derek Kent have been very clear in recent weeks of their concern regarding the direction the GPA is headed in, custodians of their ilk won't be around forever, they are at the forefront of challenging issues wholesale, it so happens the GPA are duplicitous in their endeavours
We want the best sport in the world, run in a professional manner that continues to grow and improve but we want someone to run those things for nothing or at the very least cut dramatically the paid people doing it, we also want people to go into schools/clubs/communities and carry out top sessions with kids from all backgrounds and different levels and do it because they are passionate about it, doing for the love of the game
We also want our coaches to have the best ammunition to succeed be it at club or county level and we assume that there should be little or no cost for that
We want to know every game that is on and want to watch every game possible and if we can watch it for a cheap as it can be
There are a mountain of other stuff that goes on also but can't be bothered to post it.
Well its not the 70's anymore, where the club minibus picked ya up twice a week, when local clubs to schools helped with the ferrying around the primary school lads to school games and even used their jersey's to play games in the hope that they would attach themselves to that club. Heading to Croke Park for finals and provincial finals wasn't a clean fortune.
We still have thankfully the people in clubs that do it all for the love of the game, but times have changed and the demands are far greater and people have less time to but in the work, for some clubs never mind counties the extra hours that go into running a club would be nearly as much as their working week.
All that said above my own view is we do need to strike a balance, for me no one should be outta pocket, travel and food and the likes of gear and other stuff for county teams is a bare minimum, but getting paid to play for your county, if you are missing out that much try something else..
As for managers, again, they shouldn't be out of pocket but some of the sums you hear are eye watering
Quote from: tiempo on February 13, 2025, 01:11:39 PMA union of select players is literally calling themselves elite while espousing
- that a unique sporting heritage is contingent on them, but its everyones and not theirs to own
- the importance of retaining elite players, but its a hobby, involvement/retention is a simple matter of choice
- to support rural Ireland (rural Kenya too it seems), but thats in no way relevant
Brian McEvoy and Derek Kent have been very clear in recent weeks of their concern regarding the direction the GPA is headed in, custodians of their ilk won't be around forever, they are at the forefront of challenging issues wholesale, it so happens the GPA are duplicitous in their endeavours
Indeed, and has been pointed out, we have made it easy for them to peddle such, and eventually win, through our own inconsistencies in relation to our amateur status.
MR2.
I don't know if I'm any more than a single voice of objection to continual progress, but I do expect I've thought about this more than most.
I personally have:
No interest in it being the best sport in the world.
No interest in coaches going into schools.
No interest in creating pathways for anyone to becoming better at coaching.
No issue with the sport not being televised to death.
——
Am I just being controversial? Perhaps.
But deep down I just don't understand this yearning for constant growth. The GAA is a parish based organisation for the people of Ireland. I do not understand the need to be bigger than that.
Quote from: thewobbler on February 13, 2025, 01:27:25 PMMR2.
I don't know if I'm any more than a single voice of objection to continual progress, but I do expect I've thought about this more than most.
I personally have:
No interest in it being the best sport in the world.
No interest in coaches going into schools.
No interest in creating pathways for anyone to becoming better at coaching.
No issue with the sport not being televised to death.
——
Am I just being controversial? Perhaps.
But deep down I just don't understand this yearning for constant growth. The GAA is a parish based organisation for the people of Ireland. I do not understand the need to be bigger than that.
I thought I was the contrary cnut on the board, but you have taken my title lol
No, I get what you are saying and the points I made are general things we pick up on from chatting with our clubmates, they are varied like yours. But Growth is inevitable as it has done since its beginning and that genie is not going back into the bottle.
It is a past time sport and it should be viewed like that too
I agree again the wobbler. Milltown you are contradicting yourself a bit but feel your heart is in the right place.
Does everything getting bigger and costing more make it better? The GAA is almost totally an Irish based sport so who are we competing against? What makes it so special is the community based aspect which should be cherished in this modern world.
A wee comparison. 30 years ago I played GAA and soccer.
For GAA you trained twice a week and played on a Sunday.
For soccer you trained twice a week and played on a Saturday.
Soccer has stayed the same almost, nothing too fancy just play your game and go for a few beers if you fancy it. A manager to pick the team, no frills attached really. Facilities basic enough but get to play a competitive game.
Gaelic is now train on the pitch and gym 5 times a week at club level, have loads of backroom people, sponsors etc.
And all for what?
A game that has now had to change the rules because people aren't entertained.
Question for people
What does the GAA mean to you? Think back to your youth and see the difference.
Because it is an intrinsic part of our culture and itentity. The desire to compete and represent your place is central to many GAA people's way of life and the club offers you a community of like minded people and a place to pour your enegery into those passions.
Interesting video from back in the day
McGeeney (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1qbXGuuHQs)
Recent Meyler quote
"I was told to retire, to just pack it in, that my knee was bucked. But it's my body, my call. I don't think anyone will ever understand how much I threw at it last year to try and get back - to the detriment of everything outside of football'
Pulling the 2 soundbites together, I'm not sure grassroots are asking for people to pursue a hobby to the detriment of everything else - but thats what routinely happens
The players want to be semi-pro/pro, its a common justification for lads accepting AFL contracts, the lifestyle, thats the top 0.000001%
In terms of Meyler, who you would want to see back playing, a player given medical advice to stop playing then continues to play, insurance-wise thats a nightmare, long term medical implications and quality of life thats a nightmare, its the opposite of player welfare the GPA bang on about - again where does management come in, does Mal O'Rourke just burn through Meyler til he crocked, is that what winning Sam is all about, any means necessary, would he not consider calling time on the player even if the player doesn't want to, do the managers need training/directive on that, and on welfare in general?
I think the funding gravy train has to be curtailed for players and managers, its easier for team managers who are driving the gravy train, they aren't breaking their hole in a gym or on a pitch, plus they're often remunerated well beyond a good liveable salary, thats where much of the schism lies
Quote from: thewobbler on February 13, 2025, 12:00:15 PMIt's always been a puzzle to me as to why any amateur sportsperson/hobbyist who chooses to dedicate their life to their pursuits, would expect any financial reward for doing so.
Probably a perception that they deserve some sort of monetary reward for all the effort they put in. Not something you'll see from participants in other sports like cycling or athletics who put in just as much time and effort. The difference is they aren't big crowd-pullers like intercounty GAA matches are. So the sight of the big crowds coming out to see them probably makes them feel like they should be paid, especially when there are professional soccer matches drawing smaller crowds.
QuoteI mean do we really need to put "it's amateur" in shiny neon lights around our facilities? Or will those unwilling to separate hobby world from real world just find another message to vainly ignore.
My theory is that as they get older and more mature, and more involved in the administration and coaching of the game, they might come to appreciate the amateur ethos better. But there's always a new cohort of angry young men coming through who have yet to reach that level, so the GPA will always have its base from which to recruit.
QuoteThat said, I also would like to see some genuine leadership from the GAA regarding trimming their employment levels, and altering the growth goals of the association.
Couldn't see it. More growth means more work, meaning limited volunteer capacity, meaning more full-time roles filling the gap.
QuoteBecause until this happens, then the GPA - much as it frustrates me - kind of have a point.
Why do we need so many full time and part time coaches in the GAA?
Only so many volunteers available with the time to commit to it.
QuoteWhy do we need to continually "grow the game"?
I'm surprised to see this question being asked. If you don't grow the game, other sports will grow around you and you'll stagnate.
QuoteWhy do we need super 12s?
Fun games in a structured environment that help young players learn the skills. A hell of an improvement over youth training in the 1980s when you ran a few laps of the field and then threw in the ball to play a match, without actually teaching anyone how to play it.
QuoteWhy do we shovel so many games into Croke Park?
I'm with you there. It's not financially viable to play so many lower-grade competitions in Croke Park, and it makes for a dead atmosphere when the place is mostly empty. But apparently the "honour" of playing on the hallowed turf means that just about all All-Irelands have to be played there no matter how low the grade. By all means play the All-Ireland final in Dublin, but put it in a smaller arena that's more appropriate for the crowd size.
QuoteWhy do we need 4 sets of paid provincial officers?
Are provincial council officers paid?
QuoteWhy do we need to benchmark against soccer and rugby, instead of ploughing our own furrow in terms of pricing and marketing?
Because we're competing against soccer and rugby whether we like it or not. One thing the GAA is good at the other sports are not is forming local community identities, but other sports are good at things like marketing. There's no harm in learning from them.
QuoteAnd so on and so on. All nearly summarised as "why have we allowed capitalist concepts to steer a community association?"
Depends which "capitalist concepts" you're talking about. If you mean taking a more professional approach to marketing and games promotion, that can only be good. The flow of money has a big effect on everything whether we like it or not. There's no point in pretending otherwise. There are limits to what volunteers are willing and able to do, and money is going to flow into the gaps.
QuoteThe problem inherent in the amateur ethos of Gaelic Games is that over the last 40 years, partly through over commitment to a hobby, and partly due to hustle and bustle, so many people have both inadvertently and knowingly turned voluntary roles of a few hours a week, into full time roles. Of courses players are going to want some of this action. It's only logical.
Yup.
QuoteSo let's start a rollback.
King Canute demonstrated how hard that is to do.
The GAA was boasting about how much money they made last year.
If the GPA are only in it for the money they should just come out and say it
Ironically the GAAs amateur ethos is enshrined in the GPA constitution, the GPA shouldn't even be asking their members for a view on amateur status
If Tom and others want a professional GAA competition they should break away and get it done
Quote from: Rossfan on February 14, 2025, 06:33:40 PMThe GAA was boasting about how much money they made last year.
Who do you think they do with it ? Buy yachts ?
Quote from: tiempo on February 14, 2025, 12:53:41 PMInteresting video from back in the day
McGeeney (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1qbXGuuHQs)
Recent Meyler quote
"I was told to retire, to just pack it in, that my knee was bucked. But it's my body, my call. I don't think anyone will ever understand how much I threw at it last year to try and get back - to the detriment of everything outside of football'
Pulling the 2 soundbites together, I'm not sure grassroots are asking for people to pursue a hobby to the detriment of everything else - but thats what routinely happens
The players want to be semi-pro/pro, its a common justification for lads accepting AFL contracts, the lifestyle, thats the top 0.000001%
In terms of Meyler, who you would want to see back playing, a player given medical advice to stop playing then continues to play, insurance-wise thats a nightmare, long term medical implications and quality of life thats a nightmare, its the opposite of player welfare the GPA bang on about - again where does management come in, does Mal O'Rourke just burn through Meyler til he crocked, is that what winning Sam is all about, any means necessary, would he not consider calling time on the player even if the player doesn't want to, do the managers need training/directive on that, and on welfare in general?
I think the funding gravy train has to be curtailed for players and managers, its easier for team managers who are driving the gravy train, they aren't breaking their hole in a gym or on a pitch, plus they're often remunerated well beyond a good liveable salary, thats where much of the schism lies
I wonder will there come a time say, in 25 years, that a players sues a county board of the GAA for injuries while playing and suffering with hip replacements and them in there 50's and 6o's.
Seems mad but could happen.
Quote from: Kidder81 on February 14, 2025, 07:22:17 PMQuote from: Rossfan on February 14, 2025, 06:33:40 PMThe GAA was boasting about how much money they made last year.
Who do you think they do with it ? Buy yachts ?
I can see Prenty sailing around Clew Bay on a yacht right enough😁.
Quote from: marty34 on February 14, 2025, 07:35:06 PMI wonder will there come a time say, in 25 years, that a players sues a county board of the GAA for injuries while playing and suffering with hip replacements and them in there 50's and 6o's.
The GPA once fought the cancellation of the O'Byrne Cup as it could be detrimental to player welfare, then lobbied for the 2025 pre season competitons to be cancelled on welfare concerns, so yes, not outlandish to think of them pushing for some sort of class action
Should rugby set the ball rolling, the GPA won't be long following suit, where there's blame there's a claim
Quote from: tiempo on February 14, 2025, 09:34:20 PMQuote from: marty34 on February 14, 2025, 07:35:06 PMI wonder will there come a time say, in 25 years, that a players sues a county board of the GAA for injuries while playing and suffering with hip replacements and them in there 50's and 6o's.
The GPA once fought the cancellation of the O'Byrne Cup as it could be detrimental to player welfare, then lobbied for the 2025 pre season competitons to be cancelled on welfare concerns, so yes, not outlandish to think of them pushing for some sort of class action
Should rugby set the ball rolling, the GPA won't be long following suit, where there's blame there's a claim
It's in soccer already with heading the ball.
I'd accept it's not impossible, given that judges seem quite happy to open up litigious angles wherever they look.
But if someone's personal participation in an experience/opportunity is wholly discretional, wholly optional, non transactional and non contractual, then how could they later find the grounds for a lawsuit?
I'll put it like this. Should a GAA player win a claim against the association (rather than a civil claim against another competitor), well that's team sport finished in Ireland. Not GAA, but all team sport.
I don't think that kind of thing gets to court. It's not constitutional, but nor is it in public / government interest.
Quote from: thewobbler on February 15, 2025, 12:57:55 AMI'd accept it's not impossible, given that judges seem quite happy to open up litigious angles wherever they look.
But if someone's personal participation in an experience/opportunity is wholly discretional, wholly optional, non transactional and non contractual, then how could they later find the grounds for a lawsuit?
I'll put it like this. Should a GAA player win a claim against the association (rather than a civil claim against another competitor), well that's team sport finished in Ireland. Not GAA, but all team sport.
I don't think that kind of thing gets to court. It's not constitutional, but nor is it in public / government interest.
Yeah I can't see it being an issue for the GAA - a key difference for rugby and soccer is the professionalism issue - there's a lot more protection if it's a case of working in conditions that are exteremely likely to cause long-term injury as opposed to an activity where an individual is just voluntarily taking part.
Obviously the GAA still needs to do what it can in terms of minimsing injuries and dealing with them properly when they occur i.e - blood and concussion subs but I really can't see the GAA being affected the way professional rugby is likely to be at some point- where basically if you play the sport professionally there is an extremely high likelihood that you are going to end up just physically destroyed.
Solicitors and judges might see it differently.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 14, 2025, 06:33:40 PMThe GAA was boasting about how much money they made last year.
Where?
Official GAA/GPA ready meals
https://www.gaelicplayers.com/nutriquick-partners-with-gaa-gpa-to-launch-new-range-with-brand-ambassadors-brian-howard-and-nicola-ward/
Generate money for those already grant funded in the elite bubble by marketing to the grassroots (overwhelming majority) outside the bubble
Textbook cognitive dissonance
Make it stop
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 18, 2025, 05:37:40 AMQuote from: Rossfan on February 14, 2025, 06:33:40 PMThe GAA was boasting about how much money they made last year.
Where?
Annual Report.
I'm delighted they're going well financially.
We'd be lost without QUANGOs
https://www.gaelicplayers.com/gpa-meet-with-the-taoiseach-on-indecon-report/
Shameless attempt to interfere with delegate voting intention
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41588071.html
Quote from: tiempo on March 06, 2025, 09:41:59 PMShameless attempt to interfere with delegate voting intention
Am i missing something? GPA are dead right.
The GPA has a stick up its ass trying to run an IRFU style centralised elite programme for amateur enthusiasts with nothing better to do than cry wolf (wellbeing/victims) at every opportunity.
Wall to wall drivel
The nature of elite-level sport means players are constantly carrying physical load from one environment to another. A strain sustained in a gym session could stem from cumulative fatigue built up in training. A player completing a running session on a track or road may already be managing soreness from a previous pitch session. The complexity of injuries in a high-performance setting is broad.
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 06, 2025, 09:49:07 PMQuote from: tiempo on March 06, 2025, 09:41:59 PMShameless attempt to interfere with delegate voting intention
Am i missing something? GPA are dead right.
I'd say if you get injured in the gym or running track it's because the individual has exceeded their knowledge or capacity, ie their own fault. Particularly this applies for elite sports folk which is what the GPA tell us applies.
Tiempo is also right, it's an amateur hobbysport, full time medical care for a grade 2 hamstring for a lad who sits in an office is an unnecessary drain on resources that could be better applied elsewhere.
Lads in their 30s in full time employment picking up student grants, on top of mileage, nutrition and gear
Student teachers aye why not, but lads doing post-grad, cop on
Laughing all the way to the bank
https://www.gaelicplayers.com/32-education-champion-scholarships-announced-by-the-gaelic-players-association-and-the-irish-american-partnership/
Quote from: tiempo on March 07, 2025, 08:25:44 AMLads in their 30s in full time employment picking up student grants, on top of mileage, nutrition and gear
Student teachers aye why not, but lads doing post-grad, cop on
Laughing all the way to the bank
https://www.gaelicplayers.com/32-education-champion-scholarships-announced-by-the-gaelic-players-association-and-the-irish-american-partnership/
$4,000 each (£3,095 or €3,680) isn't exactly making out like bandits.
Having a teacher who is a GAA player in a school can be absolutely massive.
My nephew and niece were telling me that P.E. in their school had gone rubbish in their primary school since the one male teacher who was on staff (who was a handy club player, but nothing more) headed away to Dubai during the summer. It's only a small country school and none of the other staff are anywhere near to as sporty. I definitely wouldn't be begruding this to any of them. You sure you don't have any Cavan ancestry?
To award a student grant to a full time paid teacher doing CPD makes a mockery of the grant, their uplift will come via their salary if/when they successfully complete the CPD
x2 A list county men in their 30s there clearly chosen to give the GPA the sxe appeal and medja exposure they crave - awarded to full time professionals because of their profile (top 1% of the top 1%) - therefore denying a legitimate grant to another undergraduate candidate with a greater need i.e. not on a full time professional teaching salary
The GPA is a face fits line yer pockets model
Jases "tiempo" are you able to sleep at night at all worrying about the GPA and perks for County players
I dunno, this week alone
- interference with LGFA delegate voting intention (anti-democratic)
- overly liberal application of the term elite sportsperson to the point they're pursuing a funding scam (that they're already knee deep in)
- issuing statements to apply pressure on provincial councils regarding the selection of venues for provincial competitions
- masquerading as a QUANGO
- issuing student grants to full time paid professionals on CPD training
Recent past
- overseas junket dressed up as a tree planting expedition
- issuing a report that peddled so much bull that to call it napkin maths would be a compliment, and used this as a basis to seek increased grants
- successfully lobbied for cancellation of (provincial) pre-season competitions for player welfare reasons but silent over training ban breaches, having previously lobbied that cancelling pre-season competitions was a player welfare concern
- vested in the GAA and amateur ethos but polling their members on amateur status
You could say my interest is piqued and it merits discussion from time to time
Did Donal og eat your cornflakes Tiempo?
Corn pops
Usual twisty nonsense from the GPA
Must be expecting a windfall
https://www.rte.ie/sport/womens-football/2025/0512/1512350-gpa-calls-for-update-on-non-negotiable-integration/
Quote from: tiempo on May 23, 2025, 05:56:08 PMUsual twisty nonsense from the GPA
Must be expecting a windfall
https://www.rte.ie/sport/womens-football/2025/0512/1512350-gpa-calls-for-update-on-non-negotiable-integration/
I'd honestly love to see their suggestions / proposals for balanced fixture integration.
Fixture integration???????
Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2025, 06:12:47 PMFixture integration???????
Yeah in terms of how club fixtures are divvied up in an even way across the week.
Up until recent years in Down, football and hurling took their preferred slots, then Camogie and LGFA slotted in around.
This arrangement obviously isn't perfect, and harks back to GAA owning all the facilities. But I can't help sensing it's a more efficient approach than everyone being equal in every way, when all are GAA.
It will be an absolute clusterfuck
I personally think the GPA should be cut loose, if they want to create their own governing body with their own administration, stadia, marketing, etc let them at it
Funny the GPA has no press release on 5 Mayo bucks pretending to live in a Dublin warehouse to milk fake mileage expenses
I am afraid to go down the rabbit hole, but is that the case. Lads living in a unit but the Mayo GAA people had an issue with someone telling on them?
Like if we were being strict and carpooling was going on and all 5 claiming then that's dodgy...
The GPA seem to be throwing their weight around recently particularly with the skorts row showing the power they hold.
The skorts issue was up before congress last august why didn't they campaign for it then instead of dragging through the dirt the officials who keep the organisation running.
Its great it has been changed now, but come on how was that fair on the hard working people who were getting abuse.
Quote from: Riseagain on May 31, 2025, 10:48:29 AMThe GPA seem to be throwing their weight around recently particularly with the skorts row showing the power they hold.
The skorts issue was up before congress last august why didn't they campaign for it then instead of dragging through the dirt the officials who keep the organisation running.
Its great it has been changed now, but come on how was that fair on the hard working people who were getting abuse.
The officials had no role in this issue, except obviously to enforce the rules that were in place. It was congress delegates that determined this. If the officials or the "GAA" were getting abuse on social media etc then that simply showed the ignorance of the posters.
Quote from: tiempo on May 30, 2025, 03:26:20 PMFunny the GPA has no press release on 5 Mayo bucks pretending to live in a Dublin warehouse to milk fake mileage expenses
Or were they living in it?
Quote from: Fogarty on June 01, 2025, 12:30:26 AMQuote from: tiempo on May 30, 2025, 03:26:20 PMFunny the GPA has no press release on 5 Mayo bucks pretending to live in a Dublin warehouse to milk fake mileage expenses
Or were they living in it?
Like i said 5 GPA members claiming false mileage expenses, but no shortage of statements on the latest populist bandwagon, skorts/shorts
That's some accusation.
Hope you don't hire the BBC's Barrister!!
Lads have the hand out again this morning.
Inter-county players drive over €600M into the Irish economy & create 4,200+ jobs, yet, on average, they're €4,600 out of pocket annually.
Think about that when you are one of the lucky 83,000 to attend the All-Ireland final or are one of the 1 million plus who tune in on television.
It's time to meaningfully invest in the players who give their everything for our National sports.
🎥 Watch why we're calling on government to enhance the grant for inter-county players
Quote from: BigGreenField on July 23, 2025, 11:57:41 AMLads have the hand out again this morning.
Inter-county players drive over €600M into the Irish economy & create 4,200+ jobs, yet, on average, they're €4,600 out of pocket annually.
Think about that when you are one of the lucky 83,000 to attend the All-Ireland final or are one of the 1 million plus who tune in on television.
It's time to meaningfully invest in the players who give their everything for our National sports.
🎥 Watch why we're calling on government to enhance the grant for inter-county players
Who is 'we' ? The GPA.. just wondering who you are speaking on behalf of.
Quote from: Truthsayer on July 23, 2025, 01:04:57 PMQuote from: BigGreenField on July 23, 2025, 11:57:41 AMLads have the hand out again this morning.
Who is 'we' ? The GPA.. just wondering who you are speaking on behalf of.
Ah yes, sorry - was lifted from a GPA post on the monstrosity of LinkedIn including a video from Big Tom. Got my goat a bit.
Anything to be said for a club chairpersons association? Nevermind the out of pocket, they must be driving billions into the economy
Quote from: BigGreenField on July 23, 2025, 11:57:41 AMInter-county players drive over €600M into the Irish economy & create 4,200+ jobs, yet, on average, they're €4,600 out of pocket annually.
How do they drive it into the economy? There's no external investment into the GAA, bar a couple of flutes like yer man O'Leary and JP McManus.
Why don't you ask them?
Quote from: Cortoon on July 24, 2025, 05:39:00 PMQuote from: BigGreenField on July 23, 2025, 11:57:41 AMInter-county players drive over €600M into the Irish economy & create 4,200+ jobs, yet, on average, they're €4,600 out of pocket annually.
How do they drive it into the economy? There's no external investment into the GAA, bar a couple of flutes like yer man O'Leary and JP McManus.
Hotels , pubs ,restaurants , Chippys , trains , busses, o neills etc all gain from the intercounty season
Quote from: naka on July 25, 2025, 08:59:19 AMQuote from: Cortoon on July 24, 2025, 05:39:00 PMQuote from: BigGreenField on July 23, 2025, 11:57:41 AMInter-county players drive over €600M into the Irish economy & create 4,200+ jobs, yet, on average, they're €4,600 out of pocket annually.
Hotels , pubs ,restaurants , Chippys , trains , busses, o neills etc all gain from the intercounty season
Everybody but the players to a greater extent.
GPA flexing its muscles but I don't mind that. Kind of a union for them.
Fun fact - hotels pubs restaurants chippys trains busses o'neills etc existed before the GPA
The GPA have paid for a report to justify funding and frame the GPA as indispensable
This is not an independent study, its advocacy economics/napkin maths 101 inflated by multipliers, assumptions, and the notion that every euro spent on a big match day somehow owes its existence solely to elite players
The GPA is sitting on the roof of a house built entirely by clubs and their leaders
The GPA has been strategically embedding itself, shifting from a "players' union" to an influential stakeholder inside GAA governance i.e. classic intuitional creep, its why they are so steadfast for integration, it creates holes and cracks for them to exploit and fill. Start as advocates, become embedded, shape policy, effectively co-govern: thats the vision
The GPAs latest pitch more money for elite amateurs is apparently about securing the future of Gaelic games for everyone - no harm Tom but thats an inverted pyramid of piffle
Big Tom in the Irish Times yesterday on this
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2025/07/25/tom-parsons-intercounty-players-give-us-something-money-cant-buy-so-why-are-they-out-of-pocket/
As the players "Union" perhaps they might be better pushing back on county manager demands that are seeing their members out of pocket
The association is jammed packed with volunteers giving up their time and sacrificing opportunities elsewhere to do so, it is literally the ethos of the Gaa, if the GPA members want something different other sports with a professional payment framework are available.
If the current level of elite performance is requiring too much of a sacrifice then the union should work to lower the level of demands on their players.
Wasn't banty calling for €1000 a week "officially" for managers.
It's inevitable when large sums are bandied about in Croker that those involved in producing those sums will feel entitled to a slice.
Professional creep wasn't nipped in the bud and here we are.
That's the issue.
Where does it stop?
I man journey men/spoofers 'managers' at clubs are getting a fortune at it every year.
The following season, they're at a club 5 miles up the road.
More fool to the clubs that are handing it out instead of investing it in their youth set-ups.
Has anyone been able to map out these moves? That would be interesting.
You could generate data heat maps etc
Quote from: BigGreenField on July 25, 2025, 11:10:36 AMBig Tom in the Irish Times yesterday on this
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2025/07/25/tom-parsons-intercounty-players-give-us-something-money-cant-buy-so-why-are-they-out-of-pocket/
As the players "Union" perhaps they might be better pushing back on county manager demands that are seeing their members out of pocket
The association is jammed packed with volunteers giving up their time and sacrificing opportunities elsewhere to do so, it is literally the ethos of the Gaa, if the GPA members want something different other sports with a professional payment framework are available.
If the current level of elite performance is requiring too much of a sacrifice then the union should work to lower the level of demands on their players.
Nail on the head
Tom and the GPA lobbied for removal of the pre-season competitions on player welfare grounds, while county teams trained out of season, against the rules - Tom hasn't anything to say on that, you can be sure in-season expenses were provided for these off-season activities
Jim McGuinness was giving out about playing weekly, not because they can't (with a panel of 40+ there's more than enough available lads), but because he'd rather a ratio of 6 trainings to every game, but he was only getting 1 or 2 sessions to prepare for a game
The current split season and the thick and fast nature of it is ideal, drop the guru-model, the game is about players playing not sessions on a training field
As of next week every club in the country will harmonised in respect to playing off their league and championship in tandem - in relative terms, providing the club players (99.7%) with a reasonable window to prepare and conclude their season
0.3% of players, thats who Tom speaks for - tail wagging the dog springs to mind
That 0.3% play in Club Championships too.
I will take the GPA much more seriously when they come out and talk about the demands INTER COUNTY MANAGERS put on their members.
They will however come out constantly talking about the demands of 'the GAA'. It gives the impression that Jarlath & 'the suits' has a tracker for every county man in the country, he has then up at 6am. He makes sure they don't touch a sup...
They have not got a leg to stand on until they tackle that. Even looking at that Mayo GAA housing situation. Why were they not screaming about that?
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 25, 2025, 02:15:39 PMI will take the GPA much more seriously when they come out and talk about the demands INTER COUNTY MANAGERS put on their members.
They will however come out constantly talking about the demands of 'the GAA'. It gives the impression that Jarlath & 'the suits' has a tracker for every county man in the country, he has then up at 6am. He makes sure they don't touch a sup...
They have not got a leg to stand on until they tackle that. Even looking at that Mayo GAA housing situation. Why were they not screaming about that?
Just on the housing suituation were they actually living there or just using it as an address to cheat the expences system?
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 25, 2025, 02:15:39 PMI will take the GPA much more seriously when they come out and talk about the demands INTER COUNTY MANAGERS put on their members.
That story doesn't fit with the GPAs polished national advocacy narrative, there was no national policy win to be had, they pick their battles, they claim to fight for players but ignore them when its inconvenient
Selective advocacy and upward loyalty (Croke and sponsors), their real energy is spent on strengthening their seat at the top table - the next generation of suits and would be execs
Quote from: tiempo on July 25, 2025, 09:20:34 AMFun fact - hotels pubs restaurants chippys trains busses o'neills etc existed before the GPA
The GPA have paid for a report to justify funding and frame the GPA as indispensable
This is not an independent study, its advocacy economics/napkin maths 101 inflated by multipliers, assumptions, and the notion that every euro spent on a big match day somehow owes its existence solely to elite players
The GPA is sitting on the roof of a house built entirely by clubs and their leaders
The GPA has been strategically embedding itself, shifting from a "players' union" to an influential stakeholder inside GAA governance i.e. classic intuitional creep, its why they are so steadfast for integration, it creates holes and cracks for them to exploit and fill. Start as advocates, become embedded, shape policy, effectively co-govern: thats the vision
The GPAs latest pitch more money for elite amateurs is apparently about securing the future of Gaelic games for everyone - no harm Tom but thats an inverted pyramid of piffle
I won't be reading any of that as i'm not in the slightest but interested but if you don't think hotels, pubs, etc. don't benefit significantly from the IC season then you really shouldn't be in this conversation.
The GPA was established in 1999, there is a downward trend in attendances in recent years, therefore hotels pubs etc must be less well off, I trust the GPA are owning this?
Should the players retain their grant funding, kit allowance, medical provision, mileage expenses and courses-training-advice via the GPA: yes
Should the GPA government grant be reviewed and increased to match inflation or more: yes
However, in my view the economic boost attributed to the IC game comes from the GAA as a whole, a product of the games themselves and the underpinning structures, and not any GPA intervention, they are a contrived sub-set being afforded too much influence
Rent-free.
Go out for a walk, the fresh air chill do you good.
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 25, 2025, 02:57:55 PMQuote from: tiempo on July 25, 2025, 09:20:34 AMFun fact - hotels pubs restaurants chippys trains busses o'neills etc existed before the GPA
I won't be reading any of that as i'm not in the slightest but interested but if you don't think hotels, pubs, etc. don't benefit significantly from the IC season then you really shouldn't be in this conversation.
I'm drawn to argue here.
Do these businesses profit more because IC players choose the live the life of "indoctrinated slaves", or not?
I'm guessing their turnover (allowing for interest) is negligibly different to what they gained in 1995.
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 25, 2025, 02:57:55 PMQuote from: tiempo on July 25, 2025, 09:20:34 AMFun fact - hotels pubs restaurants chippys trains busses o'neills etc existed before the GPA
Not to the tune of €600m though.
And your trip to Croke Park is just you spending money in Dublin versus at home. The GAA season simply doesn't generate €600m and the point is the GPA are deluded enough to think this bought report will open doors, let's talk magic beans
Ask the owners of the Clonliffe house or those pokey pubs in Clones if they benefit from intercounty football. Have spent a fecking fortune in them this last few years.
Had the players and GPA built the stadiums, set the fixtures, printed the tickets, etc etc there might be a point
The GAA as a whole is worth billions to the Irish economy, underpinned at grassroots via club committees, without this you have nothing
https://www.shu.ac.uk/news/all-articles/latest-news/gaelic-games#:~:text=28%20November%202024-,New%20study%20finds%20economic%20and%20social%20value%20of%20Gaelic%20Games,society%20is%20almost%20%E2%82%AC3bn&text=Independent%20analysis%20of%20the%20economic,2.87%20billion%20to%20Irish%20society.
The GPA are not the IC game
London and New York contested the Junior final at Croke 2 weeks ago, these players aren't grant funded and it didn't stop them giving their all
Glad I don't spend any time thinking about it - unlike some...
I used to coach underage teams; our training ground was a council pitch, and our first job before every session was to lift the dog shite from around the goalposts. Perhaps the GPA would like to include it in their report
Players from the four Munster counties 'marginalised' by the decision to introduce a seeded draw for the province's football championship in 2026 could escalate their opposition, GPA chief executive Tom Parsons has suggested.
Such is the strength of feeling among the groups that Parsons has refused to rule out withdrawal from the competition at this time. The counties are due to meet the provincial council to discuss the issue which sees Kerry and Cork kept apart for the 2026 draw, based on last season's league placings.
Considering Kerry cant get a ticket to the Munster hurling championship would Tom not be as well to put a sock in it and let Provincial councils run competitions as they see fit?
He's representing his members.
The 4 small Counties are pissed off with the MC.
I wonder did the other 3 Provinces put pressure on to stop Munster Finalists leap frogging higher League teams?
Quote from: tiempo on September 26, 2025, 01:23:03 PMPlayers from the four Munster counties 'marginalised' by the decision to introduce a seeded draw for the province's football championship in 2026 could escalate their opposition, GPA chief executive Tom Parsons has suggested.
Such is the strength of feeling among the groups that Parsons has refused to rule out withdrawal from the competition at this time. The counties are due to meet the provincial council to discuss the issue which sees Kerry and Cork kept apart for the 2026 draw, based on last season's league placings.
Considering Kerry cant get a ticket to the Munster hurling championship would Tom not be as well to put a sock in it and let Provincial councils run competitions as they see fit?
Doubt anyone would notice..
Quote from: Rossfan on September 26, 2025, 03:28:57 PMHe's representing his members.
The 4 small Counties are pissed off with the MC.
I wonder did the other 3 Provinces put pressure on to stop Munster Finalists leap frogging higher League teams?
The Munster Council would have told the other 3 Provinces to take a running jump if any of the other Councils had tried to put any pressure on. T
The fact that the Limerick Munster Council delegate went against the wishes of the Limerick team and management and was so blatantly bought off with promises of extra funds for coaching definitely helped footballers from the 4 counties feel like they are getting screwed over.
An unseeded provincial championship makes a mockery of the all Ireland group stages if it means weak provincial are routinely coming through and getting slaughtered in all three games. Tom Parsons and the GPA should stay out of it.
Again on the preseason competitions, which should have been played last year to roll in the rule changes. Instead teams probably played the same number of challenges games but that's no problem for the GPA. It seems to be about getting headlines and creating the sense that the GPA (not players) has a veto on everything - they should be wound up.
Extra €1.6m in Budget for Inter Co players.
Parsons thinks (https://share.google/7ecMSDuOOZxOIJRBz) GPA members should be at the heart of the integration discussion
Quote from: gallsman on October 16, 2025, 09:27:05 AMParsons thinks (https://share.google/7ecMSDuOOZxOIJRBz) GPA members should be at the heart of the integration discussion
Lots of words in the quotes,
No actual suggestions by GPA as to what should be done different or to speed up matters.
This quote stood out
"The GPA members, the players who give so much of their time freely, their energy, their love to these games, have every right to help shape that future."
They do but so does every other Gaa, LGFA and Camogie member. Real first among equals crap waving an entitlement flag in the air.
Have the integration cmtee published anything on what the hold ups are?
Like any other union leader, Parsons is looking out for his membership, but this continued nonsense has to be called out. Micheál Carrigy hit the nail on the head:
QuoteLongford-Westmeath TD and former Longford GAA Central Council delegate Micheál Carrigy took exception with the GPA's calls to be at the centre of the integration process.
"I don't agree that the GPA should be sitting at the table with the three associations. The three associations represent the membership across the entire country and internationally.
"And in my view, every member is equal within the association. But you (GPA) don't seem to think so by coming in here and asking us to put you at the table that represents 0.66% of the entire membership of the organisation."
Integration is about the fundamentals of the entire organisation, from which springs/will continue to spring the IC game across all four codes. Parsons is simply looking for more wherever he can get it. They've spied what they think is an opportunity, so they're making a lot of noise around it.
Quote from: gallsman on October 16, 2025, 09:41:47 AMLike any other union leader, Parsons is looking out for his membership, but this continued nonsense has to be called out. Micheál Carrigy hit the nail on the head:
QuoteLongford-Westmeath TD and former Longford GAA Central Council delegate Micheál Carrigy took exception with the GPA's calls to be at the centre of the integration process.
"I don't agree that the GPA should be sitting at the table with the three associations. The three associations represent the membership across the entire country and internationally.
"And in my view, every member is equal within the association. But you (GPA) don't seem to think so by coming in here and asking us to put you at the table that represents 0.66% of the entire membership of the organisation."
Integration is about the fundamentals of the entire organisation, from which springs/will continue to spring the IC game across all four codes. Parsons is simply looking for more wherever he can get it. They've spied what they think is an opportunity, so they're making a lot of noise around it.
Absolutely, like the BMA and doctors the positioning odd the GPA as an altruistic organisation is annoying. Fair play to that TD.
The reimagined/integrated GAA will be a new organisation complete with quotas and new avenues for the union to monetise, the GPA is a Trojan horse looking to take over from within. Personally I think integration will be a huge fail, it'll be more divisive and political than ever, less about games, more about agendas
To me, equality is a commitment to a direction, rather than a moment in time. Speaking loosely, I don't know if there's any organisation in the world that we could say is exactly gender equal, because how do we define it? How do we determine it?
How do you even compete with this drivel, the GPA are in total fake it til ye make it territory
They've gone full Bradford (https://youtu.be/8_qXjyACBh4)
https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gpa-survey-majority-of-male-inter-county-players-in-favour-of-manager-payments-but-split-over-amateur-status/a1001500669.html?errorCode=0
GPA in the papers again.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41728032.html
As Tom would say 'there's evidence, not proof' that the players want a 7 month season
€30,000 to DJ in 2022, how queer
In the absence of a club players association, I would be happy for the GPA to represent the interests of players. It was the presence of the GPA that brought the top table of the Gaa to start respecting players and making sure they got looked after, whether you like it or not.
You make a great point, in whose interests was €30,000 given by the GPA to DJ in 2022, under what guidance/procedure, and who signed off? Ironically the Leinster council rejected his advances in 2020, what changed between 2020 and 2022, was it just that the GPA felt a former player was disrespected
If the GPA seeks the status and access that comes with a place at the top table - that they keep going on about, it must accept top-table standards of transparency and accountability. The GAA as governing body should insist on reciprocal oversight, representation from the GAA's top tier at the highest levels of GPA governance, full access to financial arrangements and routine auditing.
If the GPA is to appear before the Oireachtas, that opportunity should not be a PR exercise. It should mean full clarity on payments, procedures and governance, so that players, members and supporters can be confident there are no hidden arrangements and not an RTE-type slush fund culture operating in the shadows of what is supposed to be a representative body for amateur players
Quote from: Dunsilly King on November 06, 2025, 11:57:13 AMIn the absence of a club players association, I would be happy for the GPA to represent the interests of players. It was the presence of the GPA that brought the top table of the Gaa to start respecting players and making sure they got looked after, whether you like it or not.
Yes this is true, and players are looked after much better. But do we still need the GPA now? As tiempo says, it's all cloak and dagger with the GPA and that leads to serious distrust. Think it might have been in here years ago re GPA salaries.. The average salary was in or around €70k / year, but the vast majority of the staff were admin.
Imo, and not knowing the ins and outs, who does (?) , the current role of the GPA could surely be done inhouse?
Quote from: JoG2 on November 06, 2025, 01:24:33 PMQuote from: Dunsilly King on November 06, 2025, 11:57:13 AMIn the absence of a club players association, I would be happy for the GPA to represent the interests of players. It was the presence of the GPA that brought the top table of the Gaa to start respecting players and making sure they got looked after, whether you like it or not.
Yes this is true, and players are looked after much better. But do we still need the GPA now? As tiempo says, it's all cloak and dagger with the GPA and that leads to serious distrust. Think it might have been in here years ago re GPA salaries.. The average salary was in or around €70k / year, but the vast majority of the staff were admin.
Imo, and not knowing the ins and outs, who does (?) , the current role of the GPA could surely be done inhouse?
There is nothing conceptually wrong with, for want of a better expression, a players union. I don't think it would be a good idea for the GAA itself to take on the role of negotiating with itself.
The salaries of staff are between the union and it's members. But. The GPA funding model stinks. The GAA funds it (42%), they have sponsors (18%) and state grants (38%) with 1% from subs. Would you join a union in work that was mostly funded by your employer? Are they really going to kick up knowing their jobs are literally at stake?
The GPA have moved far beyond their remit and are totally bought and paid for. Running interference for the GAA re professionalism. Getting on committees to do things for the GAA at arms length. Shady shit.
I wouldn't say the GAA and GPA are in lockstep, the GPA are militant, amateur status is enshrined in their constitution but they continue to ballot players for their contentment with amateur status and speak of amateur status being at risk, a fundamental conflict of interest with their stated purpose, the GPA are actively asking for a seat at the top table with respect to commercial deals, competition structure, fixtures and integration while paying ex members tens of thousands on a nod and a wink - Tom really has some explaining to do
Quote from: tiempo on November 06, 2025, 04:08:47 PMI wouldn't say the GAA and GPA are in lockstep, the GPA are militant, amateur status is enshrined in their constitution but they continue to ballot players for their contentment with amateur status and speak of amateur status being at risk, a fundamental conflict of interest with their stated purpose, the GPA are actively asking for a seat at the top table with respect to commercial deals, competition structure, fixtures and integration while paying ex members tens of thousands on a nod and a wink - Tom really has some explaining to do
I would. The GAA have them by the bollocks. They can bankrupt them tomorrow. The GPA can publish all the consultants reports they want. It achieves nothing and goes nowhere. Meanwhile they get exactly what the GAA give them.
Should make Tiempo's day....
https://www.gaa.ie/article/joint-gaa-gpa-statement-welcoming-agreement-of-a-new-recognition-protocol
Quote from: tiempo on November 06, 2025, 04:08:47 PMI wouldn't say the GAA and GPA are in lockstep
See post above
https://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2025/1219/1549902-gaa-to-retain-allianz-as-sponsor/
GPA needs to man up here. This is not over by a long shot. Disgraceful decision by the GAA keeping Allianz on board. Driven by £££
Is there anything to be said for interrupting another mass?
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 10:40:24 PMIs there anything to be said for interrupting another mass?
The Pope who exchanged gifts with Herzog President of Israel during their genocide mightn't appreciate that... Vatican bought off too?
And the GAA fiddled....
With zero protest. But these old women at mass need to feel the wrath........ aye 100%.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 10:50:54 PMAnd the GAA fiddled....
With zero protest. But these old women at mass need to feel the wrath........ aye 100%.
Over 100,000 civilians massacred, including old women and children, and your abiding gripe is one incident 12 months ago when Mass was interupted.. which shouldn't have happened. You maybe need to get over it. I'm sure the old women have.
Amazing take.
Alternatively I could use....
Over 100,000 civilians massacred, including old women and children, and your abiding gripe is Allianz sponsor the GAA.
But that would be ridiculous.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 10:58:22 PMAmazing take.
Over 100,000 civilians massacred, including old women and children, and your abiding gripe is Allianz sponsor the GAA.
I've many gripes top of which is 100,000 civilians massacred...
I have a few too.
One is that activists haven't the balls to tackle the GAA (perhaps interrupting big games) but go for mass goers and shop workers.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:08:03 PMI have a few too.
One is that activists haven't the balls to tackle the GAA (perhaps interrupting big games) but go for mass goers and shop workers.
Watch this space. Allianz won't be sponsoring the league... or there will be no league.
As I said the Mass thing was wrong and happened once, a year ago.
Quote from: Truthsayer on December 19, 2025, 11:14:30 PMQuote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:08:03 PMI have a few too.
Watch this space. Allianz won't be sponsoring the league... or there will be no league.
Twice. And the Catholic Church in Ireland has done great work for Palestine.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:17:20 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on December 19, 2025, 11:14:30 PMQuote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:08:03 PMI have a few too.
Twice. And the Catholic Church in Ireland has done great work for Palestine.
Twice! Wow! Pity their American leader won't call out 'genocide'... Vatican bought off too.
Would endorsing Allianz be supporting genocide in your opinion? And would that be worse than not calling it out?
Yet....zero protest for how many years now?
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:22:02 PMWould endorsing Allianz be supporting genocide in your opinion? And would that be worse than not calling it out?
Yet....zero protest for how many years now?
I recall we did this debate before. Full Allianz facts only emerged this summer... do you work for them?
Seems to be the only issue about Gaza that concerns you.
No. I work for Home Bargains and I'm being intimidated and abused on a daily basis because my employer stocks a certain product.
Anyway, any protests since the summer?
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:32:19 PMNo. I work for Home Bargains and I'm being intimidated and abused on a daily basis because my employer stocks a certain product.
I very much doubt you personally are being intimidated.
Good luck with your Allianz campaign.
And you with a lot to say about another person suffering abuse and intimidation in their workplace on another thread.
But not when the narrative doesn't suit.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:43:23 PMAnd you with a lot to say about another person suffering abuse and intimidation in their workplace on another thread.
That case was reported and proven. You do the same... if it's true.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 20, 2025, 12:02:27 AMBut not when the narrative doesn't suit.
Repetition doesn't strengthen argument. Shop workers should not be intimidated. This is the first time I've heard a shop worker make that claim. I don't believe you. Simple as that. You've gone from old women at Mass to you being victim. Give me a break.
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:32:19 PMNo. I work for Home Bargains and I'm being intimidated and abused on a daily basis because my employer stocks a certain product.
Just don't handle that product then, good lad..
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 10:58:22 PMAmazing take.
Allianz are the biggest institutional funder of the war.
For the GAA to say the UN are wrong, that it's a holding company of Allianz funding the genocide, not the entity that sponsors them so all os good, is actually more offensive than the sponsorship deal.
But ultimately if the GAA can't/won't pull out of a deal at the recommendation of the Ethics committee, why have an ethics committee?
Quote from: Truthsayer on December 19, 2025, 11:14:30 PMQuote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:08:03 PMI have a few too.
Most people don't really care or aren't bothered about the tenuous link. Otherwise where would it end? The list of companies you're supposed to avoid seems to be getting bigger and bigger.
I know this sort of stuff feels really big in the twitter bubble but if you ask the average person on the street, most will be indifferent.
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 20, 2025, 04:55:29 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on December 19, 2025, 11:14:30 PMQuote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:08:03 PMI have a few too.
Most people don't really care or aren't bothered about the tenuous link. Otherwise where would it end? The list of companies you're supposed to avoid seems to be getting bigger and bigger.
I know this sort of stuff feels really big in the twitter bubble but if you ask the average person on the street, most will be indifferent.
UN Special Rapporteur Francesca Albanese, a legal scholar and expert on human rights has called the GAA out on this ... so maybe not so tenious. Someone is bullshitting.
You're right bout the 'average person' on the street.. sure we seen that during 'The Troubles' when people in the 26 counties couldn't have cared less what happened here. "I'm alright fuc you Jack..."
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 20, 2025, 04:55:29 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on December 19, 2025, 11:14:30 PMQuote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 19, 2025, 11:08:03 PMI have a few too.
Tenuous link?
Quote from: Truthsayer on December 19, 2025, 09:55:49 PMhttps://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2025/1219/1549902-gaa-to-retain-allianz-as-sponsor/
GPA needs to man up here. This is not over by a long shot. Disgraceful decision by the GAA keeping Allianz on board. Driven by £££
disgraceful but no surprise
Quote from: Truthsayer on December 20, 2025, 11:19:20 PMUN Special Rapporteur Francesca Albanese, a legal scholar and expert on human rights has called the GAA out on this ... so maybe not so tenious. Someone is bullshitting.
I bet she had never heard of the GAA until a week ago.
Quote from: Gallybander on December 22, 2025, 10:56:13 AMQuote from: Truthsayer on December 20, 2025, 11:19:20 PMUN Special Rapporteur Francesca Albanese, a legal scholar and expert on human rights has called the GAA out on this ... so maybe not so tenious. Someone is bullshitting.
But knows when a company is complicit in funding genocide...
Quote from: Gallybander on December 22, 2025, 10:56:13 AMQuote from: Truthsayer on December 20, 2025, 11:19:20 PMUN Special Rapporteur Francesca Albanese, a legal scholar and expert on human rights has called the GAA out on this ... so maybe not so tenious. Someone is bullshitting.
The minute Burns said the UN were wrong and he was right you can be sure she was briefed